BBB Accredited Business since

Swingle Lawn, Tree & Landscape Care

Phone: (303) 337-6200 Fax: (303) 337-0157 View Additional Phone Numbers 8585 E Warren Ave, Denver, CO 80231 http://www.myswingle.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Colorado Landscaping, Lawn Care, and Tree Services

Since 1947, Swingle Lawn, Tree & Landscape Care has been a very well-respected landscape care service company along Colorado's Front Range.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Swingle Lawn, Tree & Landscape Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Swingle Lawn, Tree & Landscape Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Swingle Lawn, Tree & Landscape Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1947 Business started locally: 01/01/1947
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Agriculture Department Consumer Services
2331 W 31st, Denver CO 80221
www.state.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 477-0086

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John E. Gibson, President Mr. Kelly Gouge, Director of Ops Mr. Eric Gunderson, Director of Sales Vicki Pine, Director of Admininstrative Services Mr. Paul Reimers, Director of Finance Mr. Thomas R. Tolkacz, Owner/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John E. Gibson, President
Customer Contact: Vicki Pine, Director of Admininstrative Services
Business Category

Tree Service Weed Control Service Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Christmas Lights & Decorations Pest Control Services Landscape Maintenance Lawn Maintenance

Refund and Exchange Policy
What Sets Swingle Apart?
At Swingle, we provide quality customer service and hire experienced employees. Swingle employs certified arborists. We also have nationally respected plant pathologists on staff. And to ensure you're fully satisfied with every job we do, we offer free follow-up visits. Our dedication to quality work and exceptional customer service are clear.
Alternate Business Names
Swingle Tree & Landscape Care Swingle, Inc.
Products & Services

Residential & Commerical:
Lawn Fertilization & Weed Control
Trees & Shrubs Pruning
Emergency Storm Damage
Planting
Tree Cabling
Tree Stump Removal & Grinding
Tree Fertilization
Plant Health Care
Holiday Lighting
Home Insect Defense


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they sprayed trees and now 3 of them are dying and will not send someone that is qualified to see them and say what is wrong Not sure if this is a duplicate of trying to fill this out yesterday or not- never did get a confirmation it was finished. Began doing business with Swingle in 2005 - spraying trees (approx 32 of them) for engraver, mountain pine and *** ******* All trees have been fine and healthy. Also in 2005- they put on a service card to water the trees- which I had a drip irrigation put in to accommodate this. On 4/28/15 they came and sprayed for the *** ****** with ******* and ******** On 5/13/15 they came again and sprayed - what I can determine was one tree- for *** **** with ******* and ******** which did not take care of the *** **** issue. I took care of the tip moth issue myself with another product bought over the counter. (this tree is not one of the 3 dying right now. On 7/12/15 they again came and sprayed for ******** **** ****** with the same two products- ******* and ******** I questioned this spray as too close and why same products and they explained it was for a different beetle. The one tree started turning brown shortly after that spraying. By 8/1/15- when I sent in the payment, I put on the bill that someone needed to come out and look at the trees asap. On 8/10/15 2 guys came out and took picture and samples of trimmings of 3 trees and said they would take back to a chemist or a specialist and someone would get back with me. I called them again on 8/7/15. Never received a call but on 8/14/15 did find a note left on my gate from *** **** (the sales rep) that said no exact indications why pinyons are failing. Also said not to water them too much and there is no remedy for this. Said roots crowding may be causing problem. This was not the specialist that came and saw the problem- this was a guy with no knowledge or credentials and that they should have sent the specialist for their 100% guarantee they advertise. On 8/24/15- I sent an e mail to them about contacting the BBB and their 100% guarantee Web site ad and that they show a ***** *********** on site. They never sent the specialist to look or called on the pictures taken and trimmings sent. Also on 8/24/15 I made contact with the ******* ****** ****** ******** through their Web page. Sent them pictures, and told of history and they got right back to me for a free service. They said they have no concrete answers and that they were too busy and short staffed to come out and look at trees but to contact a ********* ********* Guess who was on the list of ********* ********* they sent me Swingle Tree- a ***** ***** with phone number of XXX-XXX-XXXX. This is the same phone number I have been using to call and pay for the past 10 years and yet they will not send that person or a QUALIFIED person to see these drying trees!

Desired Settlement: I want good answers- not the answer they have given me of "don't know why your trees are dying". This is their business to know why and find out through process of elimination using the specialist they claim to have on staff. They advertise they are qualified and 100% guarantee seems only to work on paper and advertisements until you have an issue and then they leave you and do not guarantee anything unless it is how to bill you for their services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/31) */ We are well aware of the issues with *** ************'s trees and our Director of Operations, ***** *****, will be contacting her this week to discuss resolution options. The number she called is our main corporate number and applies to all departments including our Arborists which *** ***** is certified as well. More details will be sent by end of week after the discussion to help close this complaint. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Swingle came out yesterday 9/1/15 with two qualified people to address my issues with the trees. While the follow up has not been set up- I believe at this time my issues will be resolved.

8/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swingle's arborist missed a very large dead tree on our property as part of a pre-purchase home inspection. I feel Swingle should be responsible. As part of a home inspection prior to purchasing a home Swingle's arborist claimed that the 5 mature trees only needed trimming. We trusted his professional opinion and let the sellers off on responsibility for the trees. The arborist gave us a written estimate for the trimming. He was there only a couple of weeks ago and the trees were leafed out when he was there. When I returned to the house yesterday, I saw that there was a very large crack in the bark of one of the mature trees which stands at least 60 ft tall and the top 2/3's of the tree has no leaves - it's dead. I spoke with *** the arborist's supervisor who said the arborist "was so impressed by a large Ohio buckeye in the backyard that he was distracted and missed the other tree. I find this unacceptable. I am requesting that Swingle trim the trees and remove the dead tree for the price they quoted in the written estimate I was given. *** offered to have the same arborist come out again and give me an estimate as to how much it would cost me to have them take the dead tree down. This is also completely unacceptable. I have been a customer of Swingle for 6 years. They have sprayed my trees each year and often done aeration. I certainly expected a professional opinion from one of their arborists and this was far from it. It was Swingle's responsibility to identify problems with the trees during the inspection period. This was the purpose of the arborist's inspection which they understood. As demonstrated above they are failing to take responsibility for their mistake.

Desired Settlement: I want Swingle to stand by their estimate for trimming the trees including removing the dead tree they missed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ Director of Sales & Marketing, **** *********, talked with customer (****) at length. The misunderstanding stems from his expectation that we were providing a full tree risk analysis for all trees on property vs. our standard "eye ball" review and subsequent estimate. We finally agreed the total price for initial pruning of all trees per ***'s estimate plus the removal to total no more than $5,200. *** has recreated the estimate for all pruning/removal services and provided details to customer. This estimate was emailed to **** Tuesday, 6/3/14. Customer is closing on house this Friday and will authorize services once the closing is finalized. Customer hopefully is satisfied with final outcome and solution to his issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) teh reposne is partially accurate but mischaracterizes the requested service. We were buyign a house and wanted the trees looked at to see if we needed to make an inspection objection wiht the seller since there were a lot of large, older trees on teh property. We were told no tree needed to come dwon and a large tree , at least twice the hight of the 3 story house is dead. This failure of Swingle to identify this problem left us wiht a substantial addional cost. I still have quesitons about what work is covered and until the work is performed it remains to be seen if this situation is properly handled. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/06/30) */ We have moved the removal and the pruning work up to Thursday 7/3. Our Routing Manager, **** ******* called ***** and confirmed this with her and she seemed very happy to have the earlier date. We will have the stump removed the following week. We had to deal with the city on lane closures which limited our availability to get the job done but the customer is happy with the 7/3 date. Hopefully this will be a closed issue. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We received a call from Swingle Friday saying they could come and do the work the following Monday. We returned the call Saturday saying this was short notice for us as we were out of town and want to be there when the work is done. We have since received a call from Swingle saying they could do the work on the 17th of July. I am concerned that the tree could fall on the house before then. I have hoped that Swingle could perform the work sooner. If no other date is available, we would take the 17th. Sincerely, *********************. Consumer Response /* (3000, 23, 2014/07/28) */ I appreciate the BBB's efforts in our regard. I do not, however, feel the matter is resolved. In doing the work discussed, Swingle broke a flagstone as they were unwilling to tip the flagstones up on the path they were using to remove sections of trunk. This they eventually replaced. In grinding the stump they cut a sprinkler line as a result, I had a geyser. They did fix it - sort of - however, the ground around the area stays damp. I am having a qualified sprinkler repair man come and check the lines they supposedly fixed. I want Swindle to cover this. Also, I did not sign for stump removal, and I assumed it was covered in the tree removal. Later, I receive a bill for approx. $500 for stump removal for the one tree their arborist, **** ****** misdiagnosed and another he also missed in their assessment of the trees. Swingle, beginning with the arborist's assessment, seems to make one major blunder after another. The workers, who indicated a second tree was dead - another one missed by **** ****** did so by putting a tree saw well into the trunk at the lowest fork of the tree. Until they had cut down to about 5 or 6 feet the trunk was still partly hollow. They said **** ***** was known as **** ****** I just wish Swingle, if they are going to stay in the landscaping/tree business would hire competent, reliable people - they might save themselves some grief, not to mention the grief and trouble they cause the homeowners and BBB. I would like the charge for the stump removal dismissed and for Swingle to pay for the sprinkler repairs. Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2014/08/05) */ We have agreed to credit the entire job for almost $3000. The customer has agreed to contact the BBB to remove the personal commentary about our Sale Reps in exchange for getting this job credited in full. Per ***** ******, this complaint should be closed. Consumer Response /* (2000, 27, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) As requested by Swingle, I would like to delete the comment made by Swingle employees regarding **** ***** which I included in my response. I do agree to settle because I am tired of dealing with Swingle; however, it should be noted that because Swingle's repairs of my sprinkler system were far from adequate, it resulted in a significant bill from a reputable sprinkler company to clean out the lines and fix their repair which still leaked.

8/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gentlemen: On April 21 I called Swingle Lawn and Tree Service to talk about one of my pine trees that had been badly bent by one of the early snow falls. A Swingle representative told me that they would have the looked later that week. I called them again on the 24th or 25th and said that I hadn’t been called. I gave them my cell number so I could talk before I got home and retrieved the message. On Friday the 25th I got a call from ****************, a Swingle representative. He said that he had left me a bid on my front door for my review. He also said the tree should be removed. During our conversation I told him that I was in a car and couldn’t talk about the bid since I hadn’t seen it. During our conversation we talked about the tree, cutting it down stump removal, and possibly installing a new tree. WE COULDN’T AGREE on what kind of a fir tree we were looking at. He asked about getting started on the job and I said that I hadn’t even seen his Proposal. On Monday at about 8:00 am April 27lh I called Mr ********’s cell phone and left a message that said I had questions about the proposal. He never returned my call. I returned home on Friday May 2nd to find the tree cut down and a invoice for the tree cutting on my door. I sent a note to Swingle saying that I never authorized the tree cutting and I was angry that they cut the tree. I NEVER gave Swingle a credit card number, a check, or any acknowledgement of their proposal. I said that I had questions and they were never answered. On May 8th I receiver a call from Mr. ********. I asked him why he NEVER returned my call. He couldn’t answer the question. I then asked him why he cut my tree down, he told me that I had told him to do the job. When I told him that I had NEVER signed his proposal, verbally accepted the proposal, given him a check or credit card number. He started spinning tales about our May25th conversation. I told him to stop telling tales. But he continued and I finally called him a liar. He hung up. Obviously I am angry with Swingle and their representative. *********************************************

Desired Settlement: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/02) */ Our Landscape Care Consultant, ******* ******** spoke w/*** on 5/8/14. *** disputed having the conversation with him on April 28th, where they spoke for quite some time about removing and replacing his storm damaged **** tree that was completely horizontal in a very narrow bed area with no where to cable or ground anchor the tree properly. He agreed we could not save, and we spent several minutes about what kind of **** to replace it with. He now states he did not discuss the **** replacement with ******* after he insisting on a price to remove the tree. ******* told him he would go to car to get Landscape catalog to quote him the price on largest tree we could install. He claims to never have had this conversation, when he specifically told me he wanted the removal and replacement as soon as possible! He now claims he had a "landscaper" over who said he could save the tree. This was never brought to my attention until the discussion on 5/8. Customer hung up on ******* after he was asked to not use verbal threats and cussing. To satisfy the complaint with the customer and honor our 100% guaranteed satisfaction for any of our services, we will credit the $195.00 removal fee and deactivate his account. We hope this will resolve his complaint. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/06/09) */ CASE # ******** Gentlemen: THE $ 195.00 has nothing to do with my problem with Swingle and Mr ********. I did talk at lenghh with Mr ******** on April 25, about many topics.. Mr. ******** referenced his proposal that he left on the front door of my home. Since I was in my car and on my way home I told him that I would have to get back to him when I had a chance to read his proposal. I called him on Monday April 28 at 8:00am and had to leave a message on his voice mail. I told him that I had Questions about the proposal that needed answering. He DID NOT call me back on the 28th. as he claims. He did call back on Friday May 2, by then the treee was removed. When I asked him why he hadn't returned my call of the past Monday he didn't answer. During the CIVIL conversation I had to ask him to stop telling tales [telling lies]. The next time he lied I called him a blank lier. There were NO raised voices. There was only one cuss word and there was NO threats. And it was Mr. ******** that hung up the phone. Mr ******** needs to get his facts streightened out. If you lie enough someone is going to call you a lier. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/08) */ Case # ******** Gentlemen: There has never been a question about Mr ******** and I having a discussion about my storm damaged pine tree. That discussion was April 25 th. We even talked about a replacement tree. We could not agree on what kind tree he would be replacing. During the discussion he kept refering to the PROPOSAL he had left on my front door. I told him that I was in my car on my way home and hadn't seen the PROPOSAL. He even told me how I could start the work on the damaged tree. I told him that I wouldn't committ to anything until I had a chance to review his PROPOSAL. After reviewing his PROPOSAL on the weekend, I called Mr ******** at 8:00 am Monday morning April 28 th. I got his voice mail. I told him that after the review I had some questions that needed answering. There were also things in his PROPOSAL that hadn't anything to with the damaged tree. I NEVER got a call back. I had to leave town for a couple days. When I got back I noticed that the tree was removed. Mr ******** called on May 2 nd. When I asked him why he cut the tree down without my permission he could only stammer and avoid the question. Companies give PROPOSALS every day. I would guess that the majotity are never accepted. Swingle is not the only tree company in the area. I will say again that I NEVER gave Swingle any induication that I wanted them to do the work. They told me how I could start in their PROPOSAL. I gave them no credit card number or verbal committment. Those were the only dates I talked with Mr ******** If he is saying othetrwise he is mistaken or telling lies again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/07/15) */ We are to a point that we do not know what else we need to do to close this complaint. We have credited the service and deactivated Mr. ***** account in our system after several conversations with our Director of Sales, **** *********. Yet, he continues to reopen the case stating that our sales rep lied to him about the date they talked. Knowing that Mr. ***** will not let this go, we now ********** to show proof that our rep INDEED talked with Mr. ***** on ******* at 4:00 pm for 16 minutes which Mr. ***** states is a "****. Attached is the ******* bill showing Mr. ***** phone number connecting to our Rep, ******* ********* This is fact and not a lie. If he wants to deny this, he should contact ****************. If there is anything we can do to resolve this matter, we would appreciate a call from Mr. ***** to Mr. *********. We have done all that we can in this matter from apology to credit and deactivation - yet it doesn't seem to be enough. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2014/07/25) */ GENTLEMEN; Case # ******** Ask mr. ******** what my first sentence was when he called Friday May 2nd. WHY HAVEN'T YOU RETURNED MY CALL FROM MONDAY MORNING? That doesn't sound like I had a 16 minute conversation with him after I talked to his voice mail at 8:00 am. I told him on thje vioce mail that I had questions about his proposal. My phone records don't indicate that I ever had the 16 minute call that he and Mr ********* refer to. I don't know who he talked to but it wasn't me.

6/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swingle performed services on my property without my request, approval or consent, then had the gall to invoice me for said services. In 2013 Swingle Lawn, Tree and Landscape Care called my home phone and stated that they were going to spray a tree on my property, and to call their office if I did not want them to perform this service. I called and advised them to not spray my tree, and to never perform any service on my property unless I specifically request it. On 4-7-14 I came home from work and found an invoice on my door from Swingle, billing me for spraying a tree on my property. I did not request or approve this service, and sent the invoice back to their office with a letter stating that I was not going to pay for a service that I did not request, and to never enter my property again. Yesterday I received another invoice in the mail from Swingle stating past due. This is the type of business practice is unprofessional, unscrupulous, and a lawsuit waiting to happen. I am not paying for a service that I did not request, approve or schedule.

Desired Settlement: Void the invoice and avoid court action.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/04) */ Customer treated his pine tree in 2013 and was satisfied with the results. We advised him that we set our customers up on a continual service basis. On 3/12/14 our Inside Sales Team followed up with Mr. ****** and left a message that we had not received his proposal back so services were as they were in 2013. On 4/7/14, we went to his property to perform the IPS spray on his tree. Due to the BBB complaint being sent to the wrong contact at Swingle, I was not aware of the issue. I have credited Mr. ******'s service in the amount of $130 and have changed his account to be continual service=NO so no service will every be completed on his property without his prior verbal consent. We apologize for the misunderstanding and hope Mr. ****** is satisfied with our resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do accept Swingles response since they deleted the charge for unapproved work performed on my property, and they stated that they will not perform any other work in the future without my verbal approval.

5/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swingle aerated our lawn without permission and then charged us $62.50. On Thursday, April 24, when my husband came home, there was a truck blocking the driveway. He asked the driver to move. The man told him he had just aerated our lawn. I asked him who had requested this service. He did not answer, but left us a bill for $62.50. Neither of us had asked for this service. We had not called them. They had not called us. We are seniors and do not like being preyed on. Bill No. XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: We want Swingle to tear up the bill and take us off their list of customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/01) */ Our Inside Sales Supervisor spoke with **** about her complaint with the aeration. She was upset about the continuing service but more upset about price. We immediately credited the service. He explained how our programs are set up as continuing service and that it was done last year which was noted in the proposal we mailed her the first of January. We also reminded her that we do guarantee our work 100% and if we hit any sprinkler heads we replace them for free. If we did hit one, we offered to send out a supervisor. She refused and requested that we just remove her from our customer list. This has been done so we feel we have met her expectation.

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pre ordered and payed by phone for services on a one time basis and swingle showed up again this year claiming their services "roll" over. I have ordered carrying services from Swingle each of the past two years. This was done by phone and pre paid. I had not had any issues with Swingle and was generally happy with their services until this year, when they showed up, on Saturday the 5th of April, 2014 when I wasn't home and sprayed my pine trees, which was a portion of the services that I paid for last year. I called first thing this morning and explained that I have hired another service and had not ordered Swingle services for this year. I was told that it was a "roll over" service and that it was on the paperwork when I signed up. I explained that I had never seen a contract as I ordered over the phone and had not had any services roll over in the past two years when I ordered different services each of those years. They sent me to a man to cancel my services, his name was ***** He also explained that because they left paperwork on my doors showing the services that had been completed in the past that those items included language which said that services continue from year to year unless otherwise canceled. I explained that I had never signed a contract or even been told when I ordered services that that was the case. **** told me he would credit the charges and then remove me from all services going forward and then hung up on me. I am posting this complaint only because I saw other complaints on BBB with people having problems with Swingle saying they canceled their services and then showing up again and again. I am simply requesting to have Swingle provide a letter or email that affirms that the $187 has been credited as they stated on the phone and that I will have no further un-requested services in the future. I had no issues with Swingle and assumed this to be an honest mistake until after being repeatedly told that yes they could charge for services even though I was never told or agreed to a roll over contract for services. I simply stated that it was not likely legal, and certainly not honest, then I was told, we'll credit your charges and take you off of our lists and then a hang up. Please just confirm the services are canceled going forward and affirm my credit and I will be done with Swingle. Swingle order number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I simply want to have an email to affirm what **** had stated on the phone. that the services which were in no way ordered are in fact credit to my account and that all future services going forward are canceled, that I am taken off any lists that might result in any more headaches like this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/08) */ Email immediately sent to confirm cancellation and credit: Mr. *********, please consider this proof of cancellation and rejection of all services through Swingle as per your request. Please also note that we have changed your account to never be a continuing service account so nothing would automatically re-authorize from year to year like most of our accounts prefer. The service that was completed has been fully credited and you should not have any further attempts at our doing a service on your property without your complete authorization. We apologize for the misunderstand and hope you consider this issue closed. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you for your prior service and we hope you will trust Swingle again in the future to help protect your landscape. ***** **** Director of Administration Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/08) */ From: ***** ********* (mailto:******@baileysallied.com) Sent: Tuesday, April 08, XXXX X:XX AM To: ******* ******** Subject: *******, I received an email this morning from Swingle confirming that they had credited the unrequested services and have placed a no further services without request notation on my account. They have apologized for the problem. This is everything that I requested and I consider them to have closed this complaint satisfactorily. Thank you, *****

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have by phone, by form,by snail mail repeatedly tried to stop all Swingle services for many months. They keep calling two or three years ago they performed services we refused and we spent hours on the phone with **** handling that. He promised to stop all contact, but Swindle continues to call and to write. They do everything BUT stop. And when they call, they have refused to drop us from their lists.

Desired Settlement: Take us off all contact lists

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ We completed an IPS service on his pine trees on 3/4/13 and another on 7/1/13. He said he sent a note to cancel that second service so we reimbursed him the full amount as we wanted to ensure he was happy. We also removed him from "continual service" and any new service would have to be authorized by him. Communication with his Rep from our CRM system, he said "I found someone who would spray both trees for under $100." He told his Rep that he was not or is not unhappy with Swingle. Money speaks. Therefore, we definitely did credit IPSM application and the Telemarketing team was calling to see if he wanted to resign up with us for 2014. I have now deactivate his account so there will be no mailing or calls going forward. Mr. ******** will be contacted today to discuss and reassure him that he is removed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/04) */ From: *** ******** (mailto:*************@gmail.com) Sent: Tuesday, March 04, XXXX X:XX AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX) We did receive a satisfactory response from Swingle yesterday , March 3. Thank you!!! *** ********

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: failure to adjust bill after not providing the service I requested I contracted with Swingle to trim a tree which had limbs that infringed on my neighbors property and one that could fall on my car in case of a heavy snowfall. I met with the sales person at my house and showed him what I wanted done. He gave me a price and scheduled the cutting. He apparently told his crew just to prune the tree instead of what I requested. When questioned about it he said it was a miscommunication. After reiterating what I wanted done his said "it wasn't proper tree cutting procedure and would not cut the limbs I requested. We agreed to half the bill which I prepaid for an amount of $220.67 half of the $441.35 I paid. They have not issued a refund for the $220.67 which they agreed upon.

Desired Settlement: refund of $220.67.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/21) */ A credit was issued for $227.50 on 10/29/13. Mr. ***** will be contacted to day to inquire if he would like us to send him a refund check or retain the credit on his account.

11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document
Click Here to Get the File
https://odrcomplaint.bbb.org/bureaus/files/complaints9778377Complaint - Swingle Lawn.pdf

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) see Attached document

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/04) */ Our President, John Gibson, has left two phone messages - no response. We plan to talk with Ms. ***** and resolve this issue to her complete satisfaction. Just waiting to connect - did see a note on her documentation that indicates she is on vacation possibly through November 14th. We will keep trying.

6/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Services provided were not authorized. On May 31 a Swingle employee applied an insecticide treatment to plants in the back yard. There was never any contact from the company to authorize the treatment. The sales practices are intrusion, aggressive, and unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of the invoice, and no further contact from any representative of Swingle, for any reason, from this time forward.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/07) */ ****** ****** has been a long time Swingle customer utilizing our continuing service process for many years. We are disappointed and saddened that there is a rebuttal to our long-time business practice when we have had a strong relationship with them for so long. We are committed to the satisfaction of our customers, and we will credit the $74.50 for this service in good faith and cancel his other services per his request. We will also ensure that this account is re-classified as NO continuing services. The Sales Rep tried calling Mr. ****** to inform him that this would be credited, but his wife said that he refuses to talk with us. We hope this resolution meets his approval.

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have clearly stated my intention to discontinue services, but continue to get messages that services are scheduled for my property. Swingle has not complied with my clearly stated wish to discontinue services. It is as if once you use their service you have to opt out every season. The latest was a voice mail from "*******" 3/29 informing me that a crew will be at my home on Monday morning. I never asked for any services this season.

Desired Settlement: I only ask for Swingle to respect my request to discontinue and to stop calling or scheduling services.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/02) */ Upon our call to Mr. ******** on 3/29/13, our Routing Dept. advised us immediately that he did not want any services and that he wanted his account deactivated. All recommended services were removed and his account was closed. No further communication from Swingle should occur. We apology that he did not understand our continuing service process that our customers are on. This should be a closed issue. Thank you.