BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/07/2002

Swingle Lawn, Tree & Landscape Care (Headquarters)

Phone: (303) 337-6200Fax: (303) 337-0157

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Swingle's arborist missed a very large dead tree on our property as part of a pre-purchase home inspection. I feel Swingle should be responsible.
As part of a home inspection prior to purchasing a home Swingle's arborist claimed that the 5 mature trees only needed trimming. We trusted his professional opinion and let the sellers off on responsibility for the trees. The arborist gave us a written estimate for the trimming. He was there only a couple of weeks ago and the trees were leafed out when he was there. When I returned to the house yesterday, I saw that there was a very large crack in the bark of one of the mature trees which stands at least 60 ft tall and the top 2/3's of the tree has no leaves - it's dead. I spoke with *** the arborist's supervisor who said the arborist "was so impressed by a large Ohio buckeye in the backyard that he was distracted and missed the other tree. I find this unacceptable. I am requesting that Swingle trim the trees and remove the dead tree for the price they quoted in the written estimate I was given. *** offered to have the same arborist come out again and give me an estimate as to how much it would cost me to have them take the dead tree down. This is also completely unacceptable. I have been a customer of Swingle for 6 years. They have sprayed my trees each year and often done aeration. I certainly expected a professional opinion from one of their arborists and this was far from it. It was Swingle's responsibility to identify problems with the trees during the inspection period. This was the purpose of the arborist's inspection which they understood. As demonstrated above they are failing to take responsibility for their mistake.

Desired Settlement
I want Swingle to stand by their estimate for trimming the trees including removing the dead tree they missed.

Business Response
Director of Sales & Marketing, **** *********, talked with customer (****) at length. The misunderstanding stems from his expectation that we were providing a full tree risk analysis for all trees on property vs. our standard "eye ball" review and subsequent estimate. We finally agreed the total price for initial pruning of all trees per ***'s estimate plus the removal to total no more than $5,200. *** has recreated the estimate for all pruning/removal services and provided details to customer. This estimate was emailed to **** Tuesday, 6/3/14. Customer is closing on house this Friday and will authorize services once the closing is finalized. Customer hopefully is satisfied with final outcome and solution to his issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
teh reposne is partially accurate but mischaracterizes the requested service. We were buyign a house and wanted the trees looked at to see if we needed to make an inspection objection wiht the seller since there were a lot of large, older trees on teh property. We were told no tree needed to come dwon and a large tree , at least twice the hight of the 3 story house is dead. This failure of Swingle to identify this problem left us wiht a substantial addional cost. I still have quesitons about what work is covered and
until the work is performed it remains to be seen if this situation is properly handled.

Final Business Response
We have moved the removal and the pruning work up to Thursday 7/3. Our Routing Manager, **** ******* called ***** and confirmed this with her and she seemed very happy to have the earlier date. We will have the stump removed the following week. We had to deal with the city on lane closures which limited our availability to get the job done but the customer is happy with the 7/3 date. Hopefully this will be a closed issue.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We received a call from Swingle Friday saying they could come and do the work the following Monday. We returned the call Saturday saying this was short notice for us as we were out of town and want to be there when the work is done. We have since received a call from Swingle saying they could do the work on the 17th of July. I am concerned that the tree could fall on the house before then. I have hoped that Swingle could perform the work sooner. If no other date is available, we would take the 17th.
Sincerely, *********************.

Consumer Response
I appreciate the BBB's efforts in our regard. I do not, however, feel the matter is resolved. In doing the work discussed, Swingle broke a flagstone as they were unwilling to tip the flagstones up on the path they were using to remove sections of trunk. This they eventually replaced. In grinding the stump they cut a sprinkler line as a result, I had a geyser. They did fix it - sort of - however, the ground around the area stays damp. I am having a qualified sprinkler repair man come and check the lines they supposedly fixed. I want Swindle to cover this. Also,
I did not sign for stump removal, and I assumed it was covered in the tree removal. Later, I receive a bill for approx. $500 for stump removal for the one tree their arborist, **** ****** misdiagnosed and another he also missed in their assessment of the trees. Swingle, beginning with the arborist's assessment,
seems to make one major blunder after another.
The workers, who indicated a second tree was dead - another one missed by **** ****** did so by putting a tree saw well into the trunk at the lowest fork of the tree. Until they had cut down to about 5 or 6 feet the trunk was still partly hollow. They said **** ***** was known as **** ****** I just wish Swingle, if they are going to stay in the landscaping/tree business would hire competent, reliable people - they might save themselves some grief, not to mention the grief and trouble they cause the homeowners and BBB. I would like the charge for the stump removal dismissed and for Swingle to pay for the sprinkler repairs.


Business Response
We have agreed to credit the entire job for almost $3000. The customer has agreed to contact the BBB to remove the personal commentary about our Sale Reps in exchange for getting this job credited in full. Per ***** ******, this complaint should be closed.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As requested by Swingle, I would like to delete the comment made by Swingle employees regarding **** ***** which I included in my response. I do agree to settle because I am tired of dealing with Swingle; however, it should be noted that because Swingle's
repairs of my sprinkler system were far from adequate, it resulted in a significant bill from a reputable sprinkler company to clean out the lines and fix their repair which still leaked.

06/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Swingle performed services on my property without my request, approval or consent, then had the gall to invoice me for said services.
In 2013 Swingle Lawn, Tree and Landscape Care called my home phone and stated that they were going to spray a tree on my property, and to call their office if I did not want them to perform this service. I called and advised them to not spray my tree, and to never perform any service on my property unless I specifically request it.
On 4-7-14 I came home from work and found an invoice on my door from Swingle, billing me for spraying a tree on my property. I did not request or approve this service, and sent the invoice back to their office with a letter stating that I was not going to pay for a service that I did not request, and to never enter my property again. Yesterday I received another invoice in the mail from Swingle stating past due. This is the type of business practice is unprofessional, unscrupulous, and a lawsuit waiting to happen. I am not paying for a service that I did not request, approve or schedule.

Desired Settlement
Void the invoice and avoid court action.

Business Response
Customer treated his pine tree in 2013 and was satisfied with the results. We advised him that we set our customers up on a continual service basis. On 3/12/14 our Inside Sales Team followed up with Mr. ****** and left a message that we had not received his proposal back so services were as they were in 2013. On 4/7/14, we went to his property to perform the IPS spray on his tree. Due to the BBB complaint being sent to the wrong contact at Swingle, I was not aware of the issue. I have credited Mr. ******'s service in the amount of $130 and have changed his account to be continual service=NO so no service will every be completed on his property without his prior verbal consent. We apologize for the misunderstanding and hope Mr. ****** is satisfied with our resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do accept Swingles response since they deleted the charge for unapproved work performed on my property, and they stated that they will not perform any other work in the future without my verbal approval.

05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Swingle aerated our lawn without permission and then charged us $62.50.
On Thursday, April 24, when my husband came home, there was a truck blocking the driveway. He asked the driver to move. The man told him he had just aerated our lawn.

I asked him who had requested this service. He did not answer, but left us a bill for $62.50.

Neither of us had asked for this service. We had not called them. They had not called us.

We are seniors and do not like being preyed on.

Bill No. XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
We want Swingle to tear up the bill and take us off their list of customers.

Business Response
Our Inside Sales Supervisor spoke with **** about her complaint with the aeration. She was upset about the continuing service but more upset about price. We immediately credited the service. He explained how our programs are set up as continuing service and that it was done last year which was noted in the proposal we mailed her the first of January. We also reminded her that we do guarantee our work 100% and if we hit any sprinkler heads we replace them for free. If we did hit one, we offered to send out a supervisor. She refused and requested that we just remove her from our customer list. This has been done so we feel we have met her expectation.

04/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pre ordered and payed by phone for services on a one time basis and swingle showed up again this year claiming their services "roll" over.
I have ordered carrying services from Swingle each of the past two years. This was done by phone and pre paid. I had not had any issues with Swingle and was generally happy with their services until this year, when they showed up, on Saturday the 5th of April, 2014 when I wasn't home and sprayed my pine trees, which was a portion of the services that I paid for last year. I called first thing this morning and explained that I have hired another service and had not ordered Swingle services for this year. I was told that it was a "roll over" service and that it was on the paperwork when I signed up. I explained that I had never seen a contract as I ordered over the phone and had not had any services roll over in the past two years when I ordered different services each of those years. They sent me to a man to cancel my services, his name was ***** He also explained that because they left paperwork on my doors showing the services that had been completed in the past that those items included language which said that services continue from year to year unless otherwise canceled. I explained that I had never signed a contract or even been told when I ordered services that that was the case. **** told me he would credit the charges and then remove me from all services going forward and then hung up on me. I am posting this complaint only because I saw other complaints on BBB with people having problems with Swingle saying they canceled their services and then showing up again and again. I am simply requesting to have Swingle provide a letter or email that affirms that the $187 has been credited as they stated on the phone and that I will have no further un-requested services in the future. I had no issues with Swingle and assumed this to be an honest mistake until after being repeatedly told that yes they could charge for services even though I was never told or agreed to a roll over contract for services. I simply stated that it was not likely legal, and certainly not honest, then I was told, we'll credit your charges and take you off of our lists and then a hang up. Please just confirm the services are canceled going forward and affirm my credit and I will be done with Swingle. Swingle order number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I simply want to have an email to affirm what **** had stated on the phone. that the services which were in no way ordered are in fact credit to my account and that all future services going forward are canceled, that I am taken off any lists that might result in any more headaches like this.

Business Response
Email immediately sent to confirm cancellation and credit:

Mr. *********, please consider this proof of cancellation and rejection of all services through Swingle as per your request. Please also note that we have changed your account to never be a continuing service account so nothing would automatically re-authorize from year to year like most of our accounts prefer.

The service that was completed has been fully credited and you should not have any further attempts at our doing a service on your property without your complete authorization. We apologize for the misunderstand and hope you consider this issue closed.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you for your prior service and we hope you will trust Swingle again in the future to help protect your landscape.

***** ****
Director of Administration

Consumer Response
From: ***** ********* (mailto:******@baileysallied.com)
Sent: Tuesday, April 08, XXXX X:XX AM
To: ******* ********
Subject:

*******,
I received an email this morning from Swingle confirming that they had credited the unrequested services and have placed a no further services without request notation on my account. They have apologized for the problem. This is everything that I requested and I consider them to have closed this complaint satisfactorily.

Thank you,
*****

03/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have by phone, by form,by snail mail repeatedly tried to stop all Swingle services for many months. They keep calling
two or three years ago they performed services we refused and we spent hours on the phone with **** handling that. He promised to stop all contact, but Swindle continues to call and to write. They do everything BUT stop. And when they call, they have refused to drop us from their lists.

Desired Settlement
Take us off all contact lists

Business Response
We completed an IPS service on his pine trees on 3/4/13 and another on 7/1/13. He said he sent a note to cancel that second service so we reimbursed him the full amount as we wanted to ensure he was happy. We also removed him from "continual service" and any new service would have to be authorized by him. Communication with his Rep from our CRM system, he said "I found someone who would spray both trees for under $100." He told his Rep that he was not or is not unhappy with Swingle. Money speaks. Therefore, we definitely did credit IPSM application and the Telemarketing team was calling to see if he wanted to resign up with us for 2014. I have now deactivate his account so there will be no mailing or calls going forward. Mr. ******** will be contacted today to discuss and reassure him that he is removed.

Final Consumer Response
From: *** ******** (mailto:*************@gmail.com)
Sent: Tuesday, March 04, XXXX X:XX AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)

We did receive a satisfactory response from Swingle yesterday , March 3. Thank you!!! *** ********

Page 1 of 4
08/02/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tree Service, Pest Control Services, Landscape Maintenance, Lawn Maintenance, Weed Control Service, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Christmas Lights & Decorations

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.