BBB Accredited Business since

Rushton Tree Service

Phone: (303) 739-9000 Fax: (303) 739-4024 PO Box 202348, Denver, CO 80220 http://www.rushtontreeservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rushton Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rushton Tree Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rushton Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 1986 Business started: 08/09/1988 Business started locally: 08/09/1988 Business incorporated 08/09/1988 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence "Larry" Rushton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence "Larry" Rushton, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 202348

    Denver, CO 80220

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Broke a section of the fence while trimming tree and will not fix the damage. Rushton came out to trim all the limbs from my tree that hung over in my neighbors yard. They put off coming out for months and then when they finally did, while trimming the tree a section of the fence between the yards was knocked down. I sent them several emails about the issue and was told a foreman would come out to see the damage. But, no one ever came out and all emails since the original one have been ignored. My neighbor has also called them and all her calls have been ignored as well. My neighbor and I don't want a refund, we just want the section of fence they broke to be fixed.

Desired Settlement: I want the section of fence that was broken to be fixed and the remaining limbs they left in the neighbors yard to be hauled off as promised.

Business Response: I'm sorry for the problems you had. Rushton Tree Service will have someone out to assess the damage and will have it repaired. Please forgive our lack of communication in the matter.

8/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Rushton to do a full trim on two large trees on my property. They left a ton of dead branches and are unwilling to come back. I got a written estimate from Rushton to do a full trim on two very large 60+ foot tall trees on my property. I was concerned about them trimming the trees in February as you can't tell the dead branches from the living branches as there are no leaves on the tree. They assured me that their guys can tell when they are up in the tree. So after getting the quote, I hired them to do the work in February. Initially the tree looked great after they were done but after a very rainy April/May, the leaves finally came in during June (which I was out of the country for 5 weeks). When I got back, I noticed a large amount of dead branches. I called Rushton multiple times to try to get them to come back and trim off the dead branches they missed. After a month they finally came out and told me that the tree is dying and that the large amount of dead branches has happen since then and they would not do any thing without an additional charge. I have talked to several other tree experts and they have told me that you shouldn't trim off more than 1/3 of a tree's branches at a time. Well Rushton trimmed off more than half of my tree branches and is mostly likely the cause of why my tree is dying. So not only are they unwilling to trim off the dead branches, they are most likely the cause!!

Desired Settlement: I not only want a full refund for possibly killing my trees but also would like for them to come back and trim the dead branches off my trees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/13) */ In answer to this complaint from ***** ******** we did a full trim of the two large trees on February 19, 2015, ***** paid for the service on February 25, 2015. He then calls on July 13, 2015 to state that we missed some branches. Denver experienced a polar cold front in November of 2014 that killed or severely damaged over a thousand Siberian Elm Trees in the Denver metro area. When the trimming was done in February all the dead wood as well as a full trimming one the elm was accomplished and paid for. In Denver urban forest the severe damage to the Elm Trees did not present itself until late May or early June. We did the work we were contracted to do. We can't be held responsible for an act of god that no one could predict. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response seems like a complete and total cop out. It stands to reason that any damage from a cold front in November would be visible 3 months later in February. This is completely unacceptable and really shows that Rushton Tree Service does not want to do the right thing. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You over trimmed and possibly killed my two trees that are over half a century old and you offer me $200?! I'm sorry but only a full refund or you coming out to complete the job you where hired for will be acceptable. It has also come to my attention that since these trees are in the city's right of way, that you were suppose to get permission from the City of ********* **** ******** BEFORE you trimmed my trees. Did you get his permission? Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/08/28) */ In answer to the rebuttal from ***** ******** we didn't kill the two trees from properly trimming them. As we said previously noted, ****** experienced a polar cold front in November of 2014 that killed or severely damaged over a thousand Siberian elm trees in the ****** metro area. We had offer a $200 refund and at this point we will not be offering this. We did the work properly. When a tree or trees are in the public right of way, we only have to get permission for removal not trimming. With all this being said we will not answer any more rebuttals on this matter as we are done. Sincerely ***** ******* Owner Rushton Tree Service XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rushton Tree Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)