BBB Accredited Business since

Mountain High Tree, Lawn & Landscape Company

Phone: (303) 232-0666 Fax: (303) 232-0711 5717 W 11th Ave, Lakewood, CO 80214 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mountainhightree.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Tree and shrub pruning/trimming and removal, stump removal, tree planting, fertilizer for trees, tree and shrub insect control, tree and shrub disease control, grass/lawn fertilization, grass/lawn disease control, grass/lawn insect control, aeration, perimeter pest control, border and bed weed control, weed killer/control, holiday lighting, organic mulch for pick up or delivery.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mountain High Tree, Lawn & Landscape Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mountain High Tree, Lawn & Landscape Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

33 Customer Reviews on Mountain High Tree, Lawn & Landscape Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 32
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 33

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1975 Business started: 06/01/1974 in CO Business started locally: 06/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ralph Bronk, President Kristina MacLean
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ralph Bronk, President
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Christmas Lights & Decorations Lawn & Tree Care Lawn Maintenance

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Alternate Business Names
Mountain High Tree Service, Inc. Supreme Organic Mulch Supreme Organic Mulch

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mountain High Tree, Lawn & Landscape Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted company to spray 3 evergreen trees. Only 1/2 of one tree sprayed in front yard. I had good service from Mountain High Tree (MHT), until the last service, which was to spray my evergreen trees. When I arrived home on the day of spraying, my neighbor, who lives directly across the street from me, asked how many trees in the front yard I paid to be sprayed. I indicated 2 in front and 1 in back. He then told me that he observed the technician get set up and then only spray one side of 1 tree in front, and that the technician didn't spray the other tree in front at all. The service truck was blocking my neighbor's view of the entrance to my back yard so he couldn't comment on what did or did not happen in the back yard. Contacted MHT and was told that my neighbor must be mistaken. I trust my neighbor who had absolutely no motive to get involved other than to make sure I got the service I paid for, as he thought it strange only 1/2 of a tree would be sprayed.

Desired Settlement: I paid the bill in full to avoid getting sent to collections, but feel a refund of $79 is due as I believe if only 1/2 of one tree up front was sprayed, then it is quite likely the tree in the back yard did not get sprayed at all either, especially since it is located at the back of the property and would have required a fair amount of time to get the hose ran.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/11) */ After receiving call from Ms ****** we interviewed our applicator who was very clear that he did a through application on all the listed trees. Ms ****** concern that the application may have been deficient was based on a neighbors observations. He could see the front tree, but was unable to see the tree in the back, so their assumption that we may not have sprayed that tree is totally speculative. She wanted us to respray, but we assured her that we did the job correctively, and that we would guarantee the effectiveness 100%, to the extent that if any of the trees died in the next year due to the insect infestation that we were spraying for, we would remove the tree and plant a new tree at no cost. We would not do this if we had any doubt what so ever. Again we are totally confident that we did a good application. In addition, to respray the tree is environmentally not a good practice, and could actually be harmful to the tree. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 3 trees in total were to be sprayed, which I clearly outlined in my original complaint. My neighbor can clearly see the 2 trees in front his living room window is huge and directly across the street. Also, in my original complaint I clearly spelled out my neighbor was only commenting about what did and did not take place in the front yard, and I made special note that he indicated he could not comment on what did or did not happen in the back yard, so the response about anything being speculative is completely out of context. Furthermore, at no time was I ever told if the trees died that new trees would be replaced at no cost. These are all fully mature trees so even if they had told me that I would have not felt that in any way would make me whole should the trees die. And now that bring up what I was told ... after calling in the second time to speak with someone, I was told and I'm paraphrasing here "one of our technicians spoke with you personally and came out and resprayed your trees". No one ever spoke to me about any respraying nor was there any sign in my yard during this time to indicate a respraying. Later I was told the information I was given was all a mistake and that someone mistakenly noted my account with another customer's information. It is hard for me to understand why it is so hard for the company to believe that the technician didn't complete the work, when he has a motive to tell them it was done, and my neighbor has absolutely no motive to try and get a worker in trouble for no reason. Baffling to say the least. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/11/16) */ Ms. ****** Since it is too late in the season to respray yours trees at this point, We will refund the entire $95 we charged for the application to your 3 trees. Since you do not appear to trust what we do, we feel it best to give you money back and suggest that we part ways. My reference to it being spectulative that we did not spray the tree in the basck was directly related to you comment, not your neighbors that "then it is quite likely the tree in the back yard did not get sprayed either" We are always sorry to loose a client, but feel under these circomstances it is best. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2015/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate the additional clarification on the reply and the full refund, when I was only asking for partial. And yes, sadly, I agree it is better to part ways. Best regards, ****

11/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The man who installed my water feature turned a valve off in my basement. My basement flooded. They refused to accept responsibility. I hired this company to do some landscaping in my front yard which included a water feature. The man who installed the water feature went down into our basement and turned the valve going to the outside hose off. He then realized that he wasn't going to need to do this and turned it back on but not all the way. My daughter was doing laundry and noticed that the floor was wet. When we opened the Christmas decoration storage closet there was mold going up the walls and around the floor and the valve was leaking. The drywall is ruined and needs to be replaced. The racks in my wine closet are moldy and need to be replaced. I called the company and Garrett was sent out on Friday, September 5 to check it out. When he looked at the problem he told my daughter and I that it was not their fault. That the man that installed the water feature had no reason to turn that off and told us that we were lying. No one has been in that closet. We cannot even reach the valve. We did not turn it on. The only person that did was the man that installed the water feature. The plumber said that it leaked because it was not turned back on all the way which caused the packing nut in the shut off valve to leak behind the wall to the floor. He tightened the packing nut and stopped the leak. Mountain High Landscape refused to accept responsibility for this and basically told my daughter and I that we were lying about the man being down in our basement. My daughter was standing next to the man when he turned the valve on and then off.

Desired Settlement: I am wanting them to at least share the cost. I am willing to cover half the cost without seeking additional damages, however, because this was caused by them and if they refuse to share the cost, I will have no choice but to hire a lawyer and sue the company to recover the expenses. This was their fault and they should accept responsibility. And I do not like being called a liar.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/23) */ Customer Service is our #1 Priority. We have filed a claim with our insurance company to represent both the company and the customer fairly. The insurance company is much better trained to handle this type of situation fairly and impartially. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have been contacted by their insurance company and one adjuster has come out and taken pictures. Because of the mold and mildew factor, I had to hire a contractor to remove the effected drywall and have paid out-of-pocket all of the expenses that this has cost. Fortunately, when the drywall was removed, it was found that the water feature that the company had installed and was splashing onto my foundation, the water had been seeping into my home and down the inside of the foundation wall. Had the valve not leaked we may never had found the seepage and who knows what damage that might have caused to the ground around the foundation and eventually my home. Luckily it was caught and the contractor is going to apply silicone and flashing to the area so that the water feature will not have to be moved. This would have all been prevented had Mountain High Landscape done what was needed in the first place. I have not yet been reimbursed for damages and until I am, this issue has not been resolved. I will let the BBB know if and when I have been reimbursed for all out-of-pocket expenses caused by their carelessness. I have also filed a case with the Small Claims Court and the court date has been set for Oct. 21, 2014. Unless this issue has been resolved by then, I will see them in court. By resolution, I mean if I have been reimbursed all out-of-pocket damages caused by them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/11/05) */ Mountain High Tree has reached a mutually agreeable resolution with the consumer regarding the alleged issues. We have successfully provided our services to customers for over 40 years, and we take pride in our customer service and the quality of our work product. We will continue to strive to give our customers the very best landscaping services available. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The case has been settled in court. According to the Release, I have been forbidden to disclose the settlement amount or to discuss this case. Just glad it is over and life is good again.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

33 Customer Reviews on Mountain High Tree, Lawn & Landscape Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart