BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/07/2000

J & J Tree Care, LLC

(303) 753-0029View Additional Phone Numbers1311 S Glencoe St, DenverCO 80222-3547

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/07/2000

BBB has determined that J & J Tree Care, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised J & J Tree Care, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on J & J Tree Care, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/17/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
08/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
J&J tree care ruined our trees from their "service" because they were unable to identify what trees we have and improperly treated them.
We have been using J&J tree care for several years now. After having them come out and service our trees again this summer, we found that not only did they not understand what trees we do have (indicating our apple tree is a crab apple tree) but we also noticed out trees were unhealthy and dying as a result of their improper treatment. We have contacted J&J directly on several occasions to resolve this and have not received any cooperation. They have stopped returning our calls, we have spend $1000's on their services, and our trees are worse off before they were treated this year.

Desired Settlement
I'd like to see J&J Tree care refund all of their services paid for during the 2012 and 2013 season.

Business' Initial Response
Everything in this complaint is a completely false. They have not spent thosands.They never call during business hours, they call at 8 at night, when we our gone. All there calls are returned. We also go right out and inspect the trees when they call and leave notes for them explaining tree issues.They have two apple trees that have a little fireblight. The fireblight in the trees is very common in fruit trees in the Denver area and has nothing to do with the service we have provided them. We told them we can't do anything about it till the fall when trees are dormant.We will then cut it out, both trees need much more trimming then that. As soon as they call we are out there. We have gone above and beyond for them.

Consumer's Final Response
Based on their statement that we are THE ONLY customer they are unable to make happy, I took a moment to do a quick google search just to see, and right away came across several complaints on the first site I clicked on:

************************************************

Business' Final Response
Again as stated before, most of what is being said by *** is false. We have identified the trees multiple times for them. We know what types of trees they have and have know since we first worked for them. We have provided them with great knowledge and service. Due to there false repetitive complaints we will no longer provide them with our services. We have been in business for 21 years and have thousands of customers. And they are the only customer we can't make happy. We have gone out of our way to make them happy and can't.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tree Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/05/1993Business started: 05/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Hetzel (Member)Mr. John Hetzel (Member)
Business Category

Tree Service


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J & J Tree Care, LLC has received 4.72 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for J & J Tree Care, LLC

1311 S Glencoe St

Denver, CO 80222-3547

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1311 S Glencoe St 

    Denver, CO 80222-3547

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*J & J Tree Care, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 910-0829
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tree Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.