BBB Accredited Business since

Donovan Arborists, LLC

Phone: (303) 623-8733 4067 S Bannock Street Unit B, Englewood, CO 80110 http://www.denvertrees.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Donovan Arborists, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Donovan Arborists, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Donovan Arborists, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 17, 2014 Business started: 10/19/2012 Business started locally: 10/19/2012 Business incorporated 01/30/2013 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Adams County Building Department
12200 Pecos St, Westminster CO 80234
http://www.co.adams.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 453-8700

Colorado Agriculture Department Plant Industry DIV
700 Kipling St Ste 4000, Lakewood CO 80215
http://www.colorado.gov/ag
Phone Number: (303) 239-4140
barbara.rosenbach@ag.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Paul Donovan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Donovan, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Arborist


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Donovan Arborists, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4067 S Bannock Street Unit B

    Englewood, CO 80110 (303) 623-8733

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Awful! It took them several weeks to even contact us from our *****'s list purchase. Then we approved the bid, late June and they didn't even come to do the work until the first week of August. We agreed to have the tree removed and the stump grinder so we could lay new sod, and fix the area up. Only after the tree was removed did they notice we had a utility box right by the tree (which I'm really not sure how they missed it the two other times they came over). They are now refusing to grind the stump and get rid of it. If we knew this was going to be an issue, we would have never agreed to take the tree out in the first place, we would have just kept trimming it. Now we have a large stump consuming an entire large corner of our home, and a bunch of wood shavings they never cleaned up. Paul the owner was uncooperative and unprofessional the entire time, and said it is my problem. Now I have to seek a legal remedy to recoup the money I spent on this horrible service!

Desired Settlement: To complete project or refund payment in full.

Business Response:

Hi ****,

 

You purchased an *****'s List Coupon on June 9th.  We called you on June 9th at 1:49 pm and set a date for me to come out and give you an estimate.  At that time I was 2-3 weeks out on giving estimates.  We scheduled the estimate for June 22nd between 3-4 pm.  I showed up to your property at around 3:30.  You then called to authorize the work to be done and we scheduled the work for Aug. 5th.  At that time, I was 4-6 weeks out on work.  We came and removed the tree as scheduled and promised.  These time frames all within normal times for a busy tree service during the summer months.

 

After we removed the tree, I explained to your wife that your plastic shed needed to be moved so that we can access the stump with the machine.  The machine is about 35.5 inches wide.  As company policy, we do not move things like this because it opens us up to liabilities that are outside the realm of our normal operating duties.  I also explained that we needed to have the utilities located because there was a utility box right next to the stump.  I did not see this box because you had stuff surrounding the box on all 4 sides and on top.  It's also not within my operating procedure to move things while looking at a tree while giving an estimate.  At that point, I was just looking at the tree and you had not hired me yet.

 

After we took down the tree, we called for the utilities to be located.  We called you and let you know exactly the date when they would be there.  We then scheduled the stump.  When the stump grinder showed up, the shed was not moved so we could not access the stump to complete the job.

 

I spoke with you the next day and you immediately went into threatening me with legal action within 30 seconds into our phone conversation.  You never gave me an opportunity to finish the job.  When a customer threatens me with legal action, our working relationship ends at that point.  The stump can be ground out but I do not feel comfortable having anyone associated with my business on your property.  

There was an easy solution to this problem.  All you had to do was move the shed and schedule a date for us to come back out and grind the stump.  Even with the utility box nearby, we would have been able to grind the stump.  But since you went immediately into threatening legal action against me and my company, we no longer feel that it's in our best interest to have anyone on your property.  I feel your actions ruined a perfectly fine working relationship and that we did everything as promised.  You are not stuck with a stump and you can easily hire another company to grind it out for you.

 

I am sorry that your experience with my company was less than great.  I work really hard to make all my customers feel like I went the extra mile for them.  You did not give me the opportunity to do that for you.  

 

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I have expressed numerous times that we just want the work done.  If the work gets done we do not have to seek a legal remedy, we can just go on with our lives.  This business owner is coming up with every excuse known to man to not complete the work.  I have no problem with them coming to finish the work, I even encourage a sign of good customer service to complete what was agreed upon when we hired them to do the job.  

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: The customer has repeatedly threatened legal action and created a hostile work environment.  I stand firm, that under these conditions, I do not feel comfortable having anyone associated with my company to enter the customer's property.  My offer still stands for the customer to hire another company to remove his stump.  If there is a price difference, I will cover that difference, minus the $200 that he has been credited back by *****'s List and that the customer pays for tree removal.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Donovan Arborists, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart