BBB Accredited Business since

DLC Arbor Services LLC

Phone: (303) 378-8000 123 Vallejo St, Denver, CO 80223

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


DLC Arbor Services provides quality tree trimming and tree removal services. DLC is a highly rated Angies List Tree Services company and an Accredited BBB business. DLC Arbor is licensed to provide tree services in the Denver metropolitan area.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DLC Arbor Services LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on DLC Arbor Services LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 14, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 09/27/2006 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Naes, Principal
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Naes, Principal
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning

Service Area
Denver, Evergreen, Parker, Thornton
Products & Services

Licensed and insured to provide the following arbor services: Tree Trimming, Tree Removal, Tree Services, Stump Removal/Grinding, Insect Control, EAB Treatment, Tree Health, Trunk Injections, Tree Spraying, Tree Evaluations, Broom/Rake Clean-up.

Additional Locations

  • 123 Vallejo St

    Denver, CO 80223 (303) 378-8000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired DLC to trim one large tree at my home. The tree overhangs my house and overhead utilities. I hired DLC because I was assured the arborist was qualified to climb the tree and perform the work safely. The arborist that came to do the work on 2/26/16 actually dropped several large limbs directly on the roof and onto the electrical service line. I'm do not fully know what sort of damage might have been done, however when I pointed out the damage to the rain gutter he offered to 'straighten' it with pliers. The end result is ugly and the gutter no longer drains effectively. At about 3:30 the arborist and his helper began cleaning up and said they'd have to come back to finish the job, which should have easily been a 1-day job. The tree was half trimmed and the quality was very poor. The arborist did what is called lion tailing: where all the smaller interior limbs are removed and nearly nothing on the tips is thinned, the exact opposite of what was supposed to be done. Considerable dead wood was left in the tree. It's a 50-year-old tree that is disfigured now. I have all sorts of suckers growing on the parts that he trimmed. When I emailed *** the estimator, and later **** the owner, to explain my dissatisfaction with the overall work and damage to my house caused by their employee, my concerns were disregarded. ***'s solution was to send the same arborist 'with another guy.' And I was given no commitment on replacing the gutter. ***'s solution was to straighten it with pliers. When I emailed **** to express my dissatisfaction, I was told he 'would look into it.' I heard nothing more. I emailed again, and no response. I gave *** the opportunity to send a different, more-qualified trimmer to finish the work, but only if he'd meet me at my house to discuss the earlier workmanship and repair the damage to my house. He seemed to think I was being unreasonable. Subsequent calls and emails have gone unanswered.

Desired Settlement: Repair my rain gutter. No other services are desired.

Business Response:

I will start off by responding to each sentence in "Customers Statement of the Problem"

Sentence 1,2,3.  All statements are true.

Sentence 4 I was not present when the work was done but our foreman states that he did not drop any large limbs on the roof or electrical lines. He does acknowledge that when he was throwing a limb off the roof it clipped the gutter.

Sentence 5 This is correct, our foreman did attempt to straighten with a pliers.  

Sentence 6 This is not true. The gutter has a small dent and still functions properly.

Sentence 7 Mostly true, this was estimated at a half day job.

Sentence 8 We do not agree with any part of this sentence except that the tree was not complete.  The scope of the job changed significantly when the customer instructed us to remove the branch over the power line instead of "reducing the length/height long and tall lateral branches growing over power line", as is stated in the estimate. Also, the customer had use remove a large pile of bush,  it appeared that this bush was generated from trimming the other trees on our estimate that were not approved.  I don't believe the customer has any experience or training to determine quality.

Sentence 9  Not true

Sentence 10 We acknowledge the tree was not complete.  This is due mainly to the scope of the job changing.

Sentence 11 I am not sure how old the tree but am am sure that it did not receive much care or attention in those year.  The status of the tree is/was very bad and is not something that can fixed at this point. The 2  The trimming that was done prior to DLC was lions tailing. 

Sentence 12 Suckers were not caused by DLC trimming. The 2 large items that we accomplished during our visit was to remove the branch hanging over the power line and removing the bush pile.

Sentence 13 *** spoke to the customer on numerous occasions.  **** never did speak to the customer because *** was handling it. After these emails *** made several offers to remedy the situation and the customer told *** he "would have to think about it."

Sentence 14 That was only part of ***'s solution, *** also offered to repair the gutter with the proper tools, we did not agree to replace the gutter as the first step in the process, it seemed reasonable to us to attempt repair first.  The implication here is that there is something wrong with the foreman on this job.  We do not agree, the foreman to totally qualified and very experienced.

Sentence 15 *** offered to attempt repair with the proper tools.

Sentence 16 This is true, **** called *** and *** indicated to him that he was negotiating with the customer.

Sentence 17 *** and the customer have spoken several times.  As was stated before our last communication, before we received the BBB complaint, with the customer he stated he needed to think about it.  During this last conversation the customer indicted that he wanted us to come back and finish trimming his tree, he also wanted us to replace his gutter and he indicated that he not not think he should have to pay anything. 

Sentence 18 If this offer was made *** would not have agreed to it.  As stated before our foreman is totally qualified.  Bob would have been happy to meet the customer when he was repairing the gutter.

Sentence 19 Agreed *** did think you were being unreasonable because you indicated that you did not think you should have to pay for services rendered.

Sentence 20 We cannot locate any subsequent emails.

**** indicated on several occasions that he did not want the foreman back on this job.  He also indicated that the only solution to the gutter problem was to replace the gutter. We cannot accept these conditions.  Our foreman is qualified to do this work.  Also what wrong with attempting a repair?  The customer has also indicated in this complaint that he does not want to pay for the work he has received, he only wants us to replace his gutter.


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I was glad to see acknowledgement of most of my complaint comments.  I am quite disappointed by the challenge to my account of the work at my house.  Specifically the following:


Large limbs were in fact dropped on my roof and gutter, multiple times.  The characterization that the gutter damage is insignificant is inaccurate.  There are multiple dents where the gutter is disfigured and it now holds water in a low point caused by the damage.  It also leaks at the corner of the house.  A large limb DID become hung up in my electrical line.  The helper, James, struggled to get it dislodged from the line.  I would have expected to see this only from amatures.  Pulling on branches in the power lines is quite dangerous if not potentially deadly.  Perhaps ask for James' recollection of the event.  I watched this unfold from my deck.  

I did ask the crew when they got there if they would give me a price for chipping a slash pile created from trimming I had done earlier.  I did not receive a quote and they DID NOT chip the slash pile.  I disposed of it myself later.

I did not ask the trimmer to alter the scope of work.  The quote clearly states they were to trim the branch hanging over the power line.  An exact location of that cut was discussed with the salesman and that is how that branch was trimmed.  Nothing here was different than expected other than the limb that was cut landed on the power line.

I have copies of all subsequent emails if DLC has interest in seeing them.

I take particular exception to the statement that "I have no experience or training to determine quality."  In fact I am an ISA Certified Arborist with a Horticulture Degree from CSU and have worked in the landscape industry for over 30 years.  How many people other than arborists know what the term "lion tailing" means?  

DLC mentioins several times I refused to pay for the work.  That is true.  Who would?  It's poor work that is unfinished and they damaged my house.  The way I see it, I should be billing them.


**** *******

Business Response:

It seems we are at an impasse.  Mr ******** has requested that we repair his gutter.  Even though he used the term repair in the complaint he has indicated to us that he wants it replaced.  He does not want to pay for the work that was done and he does not want our trimmers to return to complete the job.  It is our understanding that his desired settlement is to repair (replace) the gutter and not pay for any services rendered.

I assume the disputed amount of $300 is the cost replace the gutter, his complaint does not make this clear.  We offered to forgo all payment in exchange for the damage to the gutter.  This seems more than fair considering the work is valued at $913 and is at least 50% complete if not more.



**** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on DLC Arbor Services LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)