BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Denver & Boulder, Colorado

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Arbor Pro Tree Experts Co Inc

Phone: (303) 935-0005Fax: (303) 935-2568View Additional Phone Numbers6405 W Mississippi Ave, LakewoodCO 80226-4632View Additional Email Addresseshttp://www.arborprotree.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 11/19/2014 the accreditation was suspended due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB and failure to maintain minimum BBB Rating. The matter will be reviewed by the BBB's Board of Directors at its next meeting.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service14
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Arbor Pro Tree Experts Co Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services quoted in estimate were not provided. Poor work quality. Continued to bill for services after contract was cancelled.
Arbor provided us with an estimate to trim, remove, grind stumps and treat trees and bushes. Based on the estimate we requested Arbor to provide the services as quoted. We requested that we be notified when they were coming out to do the work so that we could be home to watch the work be done and ensure it was done appropriately. Arbor did not call prior to coming out and we got home the day they had been there dead branches and debris was left all over our yard and roof. Additionally half of the services quoted were not provided, primarily the stump grinding. The company was called immediately and the owner was to come out and resolve the issues and instead nothing was done. Were told the stumps couldn't be ground because there were rocks around the base that could have been easily pushed away to grind the stumps. No mention of the rocks being a problem was noted in the quote. Based on the poor service we received on the initial visit I called the owner again and asked that he call me and that the remaining spray treatments on our trees be cancelled because we were unhappy with the company. Rather they continued to come while we were not home and left invoices on our door. We could not verify that any spaying was done and again we requested that Arbor cancel any remaining work at our home. Never got a returned call from the owner to discuss and rather received threats of placing our account in collection. We were forced to pay for services we didn't want, not sure we even received and with no apologies, reduced fees or even a courtesy call from the owner.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund for the services that we were forced to pay for that we had requested be cancelled and that we do not believe we received as no one was present at our home to confirm.

Business Response
Ms. ****** called our office on 4/8/2013, to spray an apple tree in her back yard, to have 2 aspen trees in her backyard removed & 1 lg. tree in her backyard removed. We sent out an arborist out to Her house on 4/10/13.
On 4/18/13 she called and authorized her contract, which consisted of:
1. Complete Trim 1 ft. Maple $264.00
2. Remove 3 Aspens 1 ft. 2 back $398.00
3. stump grind 3 stumps $232.00
(we could not do the stumps because the equipment needed was too large to get in her backyard and would have cause damage to her front yard)
4. Deadwood Prune
1 front remaining Aspen $66.00
Total for tree-work $728.00
Section II of the contract INSECT CONTROL/FERTILIZATION
1. Micro Inject 1 back apple to treat fire-blight
$86.00
2. SDR Fertilize front Maple & Aspen
$138.00
3. Vertical Mulch 1 front Maple
$136.00
4. Spray all Trees & Shrubs 3 times to control insect population
(Dormant oil, Aphids, Mites)
$276.00
Grand Total of $1364.00
Late fee of $12.00
(after no payment for 6 months)
She finally paid $1376.00 on 9/27/13

Ms. ******'s Tree-Work was completed 4/19/13
the day after she called it in, all of her Sprays, etc were done on time per the Department of Agriculture. NOTE* We call the day before any Sprays are done! So after reviewing our PHONE LOG of CALLS into & out of OUR BUSINESS. We had call Ms.****** each time we went out to spray her trees, and not once did she call us to tell us she WANTED TO CANCEL. Every call is documented and will stand up in a Court of Law. I have spent over 6 hours of my time reviewing this records.
Ms. ****** finally paid after 6 months, with ONLY a $12.00 late fee charged. 6 Statements sent to her home, 14 calls for collections, and 1 Threat to take her to court for NON-Payment! If we didn't go out to SPRAY she would NOT have had an invoice in her door SIGNED BY the Spray Tech with the date & time he was out there.
We had to pay our Tree Trimmers for the work done at Ms. ****** home that following Friday after the work was completed. We PAY WORKERS COMP INSURANCE EVERY MONTH, THE INSURANCE ON OUR EQUIPMENT & VEHICLES, THE FUEL IT TAKES TO SEND AN ESTIMATOR, TREE-CREW, & SPRAY TECHS OUT. THE SECRETARIES TO ANSWER THE PHONES AND ANSWER FRIVOLOUS COMPLAINTS LIKE THIS.
MS. ****** WILL NOT RECEIVE ANY REFUNDS TO WORK PROVIDED TO HER.
SHE IS LUCKY WE DID NOT TAKE HER TO COURT FOR NON-PAYMENT OF SERVICES RENDERED, WE WERE ENTITLED TO
OVER $180.00 IN LAKE FEE'S (SHE PAID 12.00) 1.5% IN FINANCE CHARGES, and IF WE WOULD HAVE SENT IT TO COLLECTIONS, those charges would have been more then doubled.
WE HAVE BEEN MORE THEN UNDERSTANDING.
NOT TO MENTION APPALLED BY HER COMPLAINT & LIES.
SHE WAS NEVER CHARGED FOR HER STUMPS, AS THE FOREMAN TOLD HER, WE WERE UNABLE TO DO THE STUMP GRINDING.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had not paid the bill because of the service issues I had with Arbor. And yes only paid when collections was threatened because I care about my credit and was forced into a corner to pay for services I didn't want and the services I did receive were not performed in a satisfactory manner. I made repeated calls to the Foreman to discuss the problem so I could pay the bill. I have saved messages from **** and **** with Arbor confirming that I had called to cancel service for spraying and to again speak about the problems with the poor service received. I would LOVE to take this issue to court (which I may just do) to show my evidence vs. Arbors to see who is lying. The charges for spraying should be refunded from the time that I can confirm I cancelled the service. Again, I have a voicemail from **** with Arbor wherein she acknowledges that I called to cancel the service. Also, NEVER was it mentioned to me that the stump grinding equipment could not fit into my backyard. This is ridiculous because we have had landscape work done in our back yard wherein large equipment was used and fit into the yard just fine! Rather the voicemails and documents from Arbor again catch them in a lie as they state in voicemails and documents that the stumps couldn't be ground because their were little rocks around the area. When they came out to estimate the job you would think they would have known that rocks would be a problem. Had they said they couldn't do ALL of the work as estimated, I would have gone with another company. WISH I HAD!!! Do your homework before hiring Arbor. Check out their other complaints with the BBB.

Final Business Response
We will not refund Ms. ****** for services rendered.

08/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The service agreement has not been completed. Poor costumer service and workmanship. Billing before the work has been completed.
On July 3rd Arbor Pro Tree was scheduled to cut down a willow tree, trim an ash tree, grind the stump of the willow and remove the tree. After the tree was cut down, most of the stump was ground and the ash was mostly trimmed, I was informed by one of the workers that the could not finish the job because they had to go trim another customers tree. I was told they would be back on Friday (July 5th) to finish the job. I explained to the worker I had to work Friday so could they make it Monday instead. I was told he would talk to the supervisor. I then asked if I needed to call the supervisor to schedule it . I was told by another worker, " no , he would take care of it." The workers left behind the trunk of the tree (which was infested with carpenter ants)scattered across my lawn (to which I have pictures), dead branches in the ash tree and stump was not completely ground down. On Friday afternoon I called the company, explained the work had not been completed and I wanted to confirm someone would be back Monday to finish the work. The owner of the company, in a loud and aggressive voice, told me, " You don't run this company. You don't schedule my workers." I tried to explain the situation but was continually interrupted. He then told me, " You had an appointment but you cancelled it." I told him I was unaware of any scheduled appointment. After a minute of heated discussion I was told, they would finish the job when they finish it and then he hung up on me. I then called back and was put on hold until I had to hang up. On July 6th I received in the mail a bill for the completed work. On Monday I called **** the office manager. She told me she would be out to my house to inspect the work. Later that day, workers returned to my house. They moved the infested tree trunk from my back yard to my front yard, then told me they couldn't take it today because the truck was full. I asked when they were going to take it and was told he didn't know. I also pointed out branches in the ash tree that were dead but not removed. The worker took the tree pruner and was throwing it up at the dead branch to knock the brach out of the tree. On Tuesday I called the company to talk to **** because she hadn't come to inspect the job as I was told she would Monday evening. I was told she was out sick and would be back to work Wednesday. Wednesday July 10th I was left a voice mail by **** that she had a death in her family which was why she didn't come by and stated it was her understanding **** came out and finish the work. I called back that afternoon from my work and told her the trunk was not removed, the stump had not been completely ground down to 6-12 inches and I still had dead branches in my ash tree. **** told me the owner of the company had just got back from removing the tree trunk from my house. She would talk to him and call me back. I had also explained to her I had received a bill from her company on July 6th for the completed job (which was dated July 4th) and at the bottom of the bill it states there will be interest of 18% annually if not paid in 30 days and I didn't feel comfortable paying it until the work was completed. She did tell me I did not need to pay until the job was completed. Today is July 17th, a week later, I still have not heard back from ****. I have called and they have not returned my calls. The work has not been completed. I had to call out an exterminator to spray for the carpenter ants because I was concerned they would move on to one of my other trees or house due to this company cutting down the part of the tree that was infested and then leaving that part of the tree behind. Not only in my back yard but then coming back and moving that part of the tree to my front yard 5 days later.

Desired Settlement
I want the work that was agreed upon to be completed in a timely manor. This includes the stump completely ground 6-12 inches below grade, not just part of the stump. The ash tree pruned back 3 to 5 feet to reduce weight and balance crown as well as the dead branches removed after the tree has been pruned not just left in the tree.
Or I want the $396.00 billed for stump grinding removed from my bill so I can hire a reputable company to finish the incomplete job.
I would like the company to agree to stop the practice of billing customers with the threat of charging interest prior to the completion of the work.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. **** is totally out of control, he wanted additional work done, and when he found out that he would be charged for additional work, not on the contract. He became very upset.
We were scheduled to go out the following day to pick up the logs that were stacked neatly towards the front of the house. Mr. **** canceled us coming out the following day (Friday), and then wanted us to go out the next Monday.
He called that Monday, and wanted to know why we hadn't been out to pick up the wood.
I was trying to explain that there was only 1 person that could operate the log loader, and he
would have to wait because we had Monday already scheduled & we could not drop what we were doing.

I did go by Dustin's home to see for myself what the issues were, what I did see was that our crew, did a beautiful clean up job. there is a surface root still showing, & i will make sure that it is ground down.

As far as billing goes, I always invoice the same day as the service. It's been done for 31 years, as Mr. **** stated " I told him not to pay us until the work is completed" There was NEVER a threat of charging him any fee's.
As all my other customers could tell you. I rarely
ever charge, and that is only if they are several months without communication.
Again Mr. **** has been very difficult to work with, the foreman had to spend over 35 mins with Mr. ****, instead of doing his job detail. this greatly effects the time frame we allot to complete a job of this size. There is a surface root remaining, and I will send out our top trimmer to look at the ash in detail and to correct anything if needed

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Arbor Pro Tree is not only disappointing but blatant lies. Their response demonstrates the type of costumer service and workmanship that is given by Arbor Pro Tree. As for the comment about me being "out of control" , this demonstrates the type of respect shown to its costumers by this company.
At no point did I want, request, demand or attempt to get additional work done from this company. Therefore no discussion of additional cost was never discussed. As for my canceling a scheduled appointment, as stated before there was no appointment scheduled to cancel. If an "appointment" is "scheduled" it may be a good idea to communicate this to the costumer. In response to the "beautiful" clean up job done by your employees, I have pictures that prove that statement to be incorrect. And the service root was not my complaint. At the time of my complaint the stump had not been completely ground down.
As for the billing. As stated before, the bill was sent out 2 days after the work had been started. Not after the work had been completed. And as I stated before, it is printed on their bills that if the bill is not paid within 30 days they will charge 18% interest. So What you say you do and what is done are 2 totally different things. Is that correct?
And at no point did your "foreman" spend 35 minutes discussing anything with me.
The lies, lack of responsibility, poor workmanship and horrific customer service is impressive. This is why I can not accept their response.

Business' Final Response
I am in awe over the above statements made by Mr. ****. All the work has been completed, and Mr. **** has paid in full. Thank you.

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dropped a tre limb through my garage roof- damaged my $1,700 road bike, leather chair, and landlords roof. Solution offered- "Sue me"
My landlord hired this tree service to remove a tree that I would guess was 50 feet tall because it was pushing into the side of my garage and damaging the brick wall.

I left, came back and noticed there was considerable debris on the yard, sidewalk, garage roof, and neighbors roof.

I went in my garage to grab something and there was a tree limb on the floor (10 feet long, 6" diameter) that had crashed through the roof and damaged my aluminum framed road bike (it's totalled) and scuffed & punctured my leather chair (totalled).

Apparently per the owner and manager... the company was aware of this but found it unimportant to tell me or my landlord since they thought the garage was being torn down. They just left like nothing happened. There was

I got a few estimates are they range from $2,300 - $2,900 for the bike and $1,700 for the chair with shipping. Also, the roof is in the range of $750 per my landlord.

The owner came to my house to view the damage, was incredibly confrontational and made me feel very uncomfortable. He accused me of trying to take advantage of him and suggested that if he filed an insurance claim they would give me 50 for the chair and a few hundred for the bike.

I showed the owner two estimates I had gotten for the bike and he wanted to take my bike elsewhere. I was not comfortable with him taking my bike since he was so unprofessional so I offered to go with him and his response was- I am trying to help you, sue me.

I got him to calm down, he tried to convince me to let him take the bik but I wouldn't since I didn't think I'd ever see it again.

after he left, I e-mailed him the chair estimate and he ignored that e-mail. I e-mailed him again offering to use his insurance if he pleased since I am not worried about them screwing me. again, he ignored me.

I finally got a hold of him on the phone and he refused to give me his insurance informations phone number since he "didn't want me to call them 30-40 times"

I am yet to hear from the insurance company.

Desired Settlement
replace my bike

replace my chair (plus the secondary matching chair since they do not stock them anymore)

pay to have a PROFESSIONAL roofing company fix the roof



Business' Initial Response
THERE WAS AN ACCIDENT AT THE JOB SITE, AND WE ARE FULLY AWARE OF THE DAMAGE TO MR. ******'S PROPERTY. WE HAVE TURNED THIS OVER TO OUR INSURANCE COMPANY. WE HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THE HOME-OWNER, BECAUSE MR. ******ON WHOM IS THE "RENTER". WE HAVE SENT EVERYTHING TO THE INSURANCE, AND UNFORTUNATELY WE NO MATTER HOW MANY PHONE CALLS HE MAKES TO US (30) WITHIN A 3 DAY PERIOD HAVE TO FOLLOW THE PROPER PROCESS, THE OWNER HAS BEEN OUT TO SPEAK WITH MR. ******ON WHO EXPECTED HIM TO PULL OUT HIS WALLET AND GIVE HIM 4 OR 5 THOUSAND DOLLARS FOR HIS BIKE, HOWEVER IT HAS TO GO THROUGH THE PROPER CHANNELS. THE HOMEOWNER UNDERSTANDS AND UNDERSTANDS THAT SOMETIMES THINGS HAPPEN THAT ARE OUT OUR HANDS. WE SINCERELY ARE SORROWFUL FOR THE DAMAGE TO MR. ******ON'S BIKE & CHAIR, BUT AS WE HAVE TOLD HIM IT IS IN THE HANDS OF THE INSURANCE WE HAVE DONE WHAT WE WOULD DO FOR ANY CLAIM.

10/22/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company destroyed my lawn, cut the top off a tree they were not suppose to and when asked to fix these things they would not do so.
When asked to fix my yard back to its previous condition the company refused and stated they would only fill holes with top soil, no grass seed as promised before, and they would not replace my tree that was chopped in half, as also promsied by the owner. When I attempted to speak with a mananger numerous times she hung up on me and then front desk refused to transfer me to the owner to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement
25$ for grass seed and fertilizer mix, $200 for decorative tree replacement and 50$ for time and energy to replace and buy new tree.

Business' Initial Response
THIS IS NOT TRUE, MS. ******* CALLED STATING THERE WERE HOLES IN HER LAWN, THE SIZE OF HER DOG. SHE WAS GIVEN MY CELL PHONE NUMBER TO SEND PHOTOS TO, I CALLED HER AND ASKING THAT SHE PUT SOMETHING NEXT TO IT SO I COULD DETERMINE THE SIZE, SHE OVER EXAGGERATED THE HOLES & THE SIZE. THE OWNER WENT TO HER HOME PERSONALLY TO SEE IF THERE WAS DAMAGE. WE HAD *** GO OUT & FIX. THEN THE FOLLOWING DAY SHE SAID THERE WAS DAMAGE TO HER FENCE. AGAIN WE WENT OUT TO AURORA, SAW NO DAMAGE. THERE ISN'T ANY DAMAGE TO HER TREE, THIS IS THE 1ST TIME I'VE HEARD OF THAT. SHE IS ATTEMPTING TO GET OUT OF PAYING HER BILL. WE HAD A TREE CREW OF 3 MEN OUT THERE WITH OVER 1/2 MILLION IN EQUIPMENT..
THERE IS NOTHING WE HAVE DONE, I STAND BEHIND MY MEN, THE JOB WAS DONE VERY WELL. SHE NEEDS TO PAY HER BILL & MOVE FORWARD. WE HAVE BEEN OUT TO HER HOME 3 TIMES & WHEN WE FIXED THE LAWN, THEN IT WAS SOMETHING ELSE. SHE WILL CONTINUE TO THINK OF NEW WAYS TO GET OUT OF PAYING. WE HAVE TO PAY ALL THE OVER HEAD, WE HAD TO PAY THE EMPLOYEES WAGES, NOT 1 TIME BUT 3 PLUS THE ESTIMATORS & THE OWNER OF THE COMPANY. NO WONDER SMALL BUSINESS'S ARE CLOSING THERE DOORS.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Paying the bill is not the issue. It's the principle of the matter, that if a company causes damanges to a persons home, they fix it. That's how good business operate. This company claims it's insured, well then make an insurance claim for the damages. I have multiple picures of before and after and am happy to submit them. I would like the company to respond to the omplaint I filed-none of my complaints we addressed rather just a topic change as to how I apparently don't want to pay my bill. My tree and grass seed were promised by the owner but never completed. After quick research on this company claims like this are very common and commonly ignored by this complany. Very sad. I am prepared to get our Attorney involved and will at that point ask for more than just my tree replaced and grass seed placed, as promised. PS I do not live in Aurora, so maybe that's why you claim there were no damages to my fench. I also have those images. The young guy who came out also noted the damaged tree and stated he would get it "taken care of". So, twice I notifed your company of the damage. Maybe if the manager wouldn't continually hang up on clients (also a problem per other clients complaints) when they try to reach her, I would have been able to ALSO communicate the problems with her.

Business' Final Response
Ms. ******* can contact me anytime during business hours. No one has ever hung up on Ms. *******. Fact!

11/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
01/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Drove man lift truck (Cherry Picker) onto my back driveway. Broke 12' x 5' section of concrete
Arbor Tree crew drove there big cherry picker truck onto my driveway and broke the concrete in the back yard. This is something that should never have been done and if so premission should have been asked. they could have very well climbed the tree to complete the job. The tree is not very big and cherry picker was not needed in back yard. I have contacted *** on 3 different occasions but he will not call back or come over to resolve issue.

Desired Settlement
I would like *** to have the section of concrete repaired that his crew damaged from the weight of there truck or refund me my $792 payment for the tree service. This driveway is just over a year old.

Business Response


Our tree crew went out to do tree work, the foreman went to the front door and knocked to let the customer know they were there to do the "Tree Work", A woman answered the door, and said she was expecting them. He then asked if they could put the high-ranger back. She said "yes of course, that is why we moved everything out of the way for you".
When they were done with the work, he again went to the front door & knocked. The lady then came out; speaking to Mr. ****** on the phone & referring to him as "her husband" She said she would send him photos of the trees. She then proceeded to take photos of the trees, called her husband back over 20 minutes. Then went inside wrote a check for the tree work they had just done.
We received a call the following day, about the driveway. He was told we would speak to the foreman, & send **** (estimator back out the following day to take photos of the driveway since he had been out to the property before, and would notice any damage.
**** did go back out to the property, and took photos of the driveway, it did have hair-line cracks that had obviously been there for some time, because they were filled with dirt, and were raised as if it had been settling for some time. We then had a concrete professional to go out to the property and take a look. It was his expert opinion that those hairline cracks were due to the concrete had drying too fast, and occurred within the 1st month that the driveway was poured. These small cracks in the joints can be treated with either the Polyurethane Self Leveling Sealant or Non-Sag Sealant. We have had customers like Mr. ****** before, that want "SOMETHING FOR NOTHING",
They are try to get out of paying & think they're going to get a "New driveway out of the deal".
Bottom line is that, OUR FOREMEN WOULD NEVER USE SOMEONES DRIVEWAY WITHOUT PERMISSION. I could have hundreds of letters written by our customers stating that fact, but will save that for a court date. Mrs. ****** gave them permission, and even stated; "yes of course, that is why we moved everything out of the way for you".
We have been in business for 31 years; this isn't anything new for us unfortunately.
We will not be entertaining anymore of Mr. ******'s frivolous.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your company had never stated that you would bring cherry pick to job site. The only reason we moved our car before you showed up was so you your guys could get to the back yard in order to work and this includes them dragging tree branches back to the front so you could load into truck for disposal. You were never giving permission to bring cherry picker to back drive way but you were giving permission to go into back to start job. Why would you even drive on any residential driveway knowing the weight of your truck could possibaly damage a driveway.

Final Business Response
Again we are not responsible for his driveway, Our crew was given permission to use the driveway. The "homeowner" moved everything out of the driveway so the crew could drive the high-ranger closer. Yes we do climb trees, however if the homeowner gives us permission to drive on the property with equipment, the job is more cost effective, and saves the homeowner money because the crew isn't doing everything by hand. (which is very time consuming, and results in a bigger bill)
Jobs are estimated on time not the size.
If you have a HUGE Cottonwood in your backyard with no access. The crew will be there for at least a day if not longer, but if the same tree is in a customers front yard with access we are able to remove limbs, back right up to it & drop it on a log loader. The price would drastically be cheaper because the crew could be out of there in a manner of a couple of hours and on to the next job. As I said before, we will not refund, nor will we replace. Cement cracks within the hours after it is poured (heat/cold, water, soil or clay beneath it,the ground shifts) We never would have pulled our equipment onto the driveway without 1st getting consent.

09/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company came out 2.5 months after work was complete and "provided" another service and charged us without asking. Endangered our dog.
We hired the company mid-march to trim our trees. We were given other options to fertilize and spray. Those were not agreed to. Estimates were not left, but I spoke to someone asking for the trees to be trimmed. tree trimming was complete 3/27/13. Invoice said pre-paid Spray $86.40. On 6/10/13 the company had another technician come out and "fertilize our trees". It says nothing about fertilizations on any paperwork that I have in my possession. No one informed us this was being done even though the technician says he contacted us. Our Rottweiler was in the back yard and they entered the property and placed our home and our dog in danger. If someone had been bitten or attacked or the dog had escaped the back yard we would have been held liable. The company does not want to produce a signed contract because it does not exist. I spoke with 3 people in the office this week. none would let me finish a sentence and express my concerns or the fraudulent services and bill they all just talked over me. I will be getting a lawyer involved to review the contract and will never use the company again.

Desired Settlement
Waive $198 due to services rendered without request and 2.5 months after project was completed and billed for.

Business Response
********************** call our office to authorize a contract dated 3-26-13.
She spoke with ************ who is an arborist & approved everything on her contract. The contract is split up in 2 sections 1.) TRIMMING & PRUNING
AS WE DID & EVEN DISCOUNTED THE WORK ORIGINALLY $864 DISCOUNTED TO $777.60
RIGHT UNDER TRIMMING & PRUNING
IS A SEPARATE SECTION FOR 2.)
INSECT CONTROL & FERTILIZATION. MS. ******* AGREED TO HAVE FRONT HAWTHORN, LOCUST & BACK MAPLE DEEP ROOT FERTILIZED TO RELIEVE DROUGHT STRESS,& SUNSCALD . This is done by a Tech, There is no mention on the contract of having dogs. In most cases our customers will tell you at the time of the estimate, or when the Arborist comes out he will notice the dogs & make notes right on the contract.
When ******* first contacted the office, she screamed that we "sprayed her dog in the face & mouth with a pesticide . I said let me find out what we went out there for & i would call her back. I pulled the contract & a DEEP ROOT FERTILIZER. I reassured her that we always call a day ahead if we were going to spray, but on deep root fertilization we do not unless the homeowners have asked to do so.
I have attached her contract & copy of her deep root fertilization. I also received notice from our back that she canceled her payment made on 5/23/13 in the amount of $777.60 for a total amount of $975.60. her trees are now beautiful & will be healthy because of the work we have done. We have to pay our employees for the work that was done, workman's comp, insurance on the equipment that was used, and so on...This is the reason that so many business have gone under, why no one can find employment. It's because so many people like ***** want something for nothing, no matter the cost to others...if we closed our business due to all the unpaid work that we have done 15 or more employee's wouldn't be able to feed their children, make there mortgage & are just a paycheck from being homeless. Bottom-line we did the work, did a great job, AND NOW SHE DOESN'T WANT TO PAY. SHE WAS HAPPY WITH THE TREE WORK, PAID FOR IT BEFORE WE EVEN SENT HER AN INVOICE. OUR TECHS DEAL WITH DOGS EVERY DAY. IF HE FELT THREATEN BY HER DOG HE WOULD HAVE NEVER ENTERED THE YARD. DEEP ROOT FERTILIZATION IS WHERE 500LBS OF PRESSURE SHOOTS UNDER THE ROOT BALL OF A TREE IN ORDER TO FEED THE TREE. IT IS INJECTED DEEP IN TO THE SOIL, THERE IS NO RESIDUE FOR THE DOG TO BE HARMED IN ANY MANNER, HE COULDN'T DIG A HOLE IN THE SAME SPOT DEEP ENOUGH TO EVEN FIND MOISTURE.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did not send a check. The payment for the services were paid for via credit card. That bill has been paid for tree trimming. The problem is currently the servies authorized by the signer of the contract, whom i believe to be a sales person paid on commission. Not my self.

Final Business Response
WHEN SHE AUTHORIZED THE CONTRACT, SHE AUTHORIZED US TO ENTER HER PROPERTY, AND I WILL SEND IN A COPY OF THE CONTRACT, AND THE STOP PAYMENT ON HER CHECK.
HER ACCOUNT IS NOW IN COLLECTIONS. HER ATTORNEY CAN DEAL WITH THE COLLECTIONS ATTORNEY.

10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tree Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/26/1985Business started: 03/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1990, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy Shannon (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Shannon (Complaint Contact)
Business Category

Tree Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Arbor Pro Tree Experts Co Inc

6405 W Mississippi Ave

Lakewood, CO 80226-4632

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6405 W Mississippi Ave 

    Lakewood, CO 80226-4632(303) 935-0005
    (303) 936-5288

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Arbor Pro Tree Experts Co Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 936-5288
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tree Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.