BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Transmission Center

Phone: (303) 922-4102 Fax: (303) 912-1229 View Additional Phone Numbers 1194 S. Pierce St., Lakewood, CO 80232 http://www.advancedtransmission.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Transmission Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Transmission Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advanced Transmission Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 06, 1988 Business started: 07/01/1986 Business started locally: 07/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Danny Moyle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Danny Moyle, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Additional Locations

  • 1194 S. Pierce St.

    Lakewood, CO 80232

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To the Better Business Bureau: This is for a record of accounts regarding*********************** and me, *********** (previous owner of *************************). 3 months prior to August 4th, 2014, I called and talked to a gentleman that identified his name as*****. He seemed reasonable and very apt to handling my problem, which was just identifying a rattling noise inside of a transmission. I explained to him that the transmission was already removed from the car, but still in whole and readily drivable. What I wanted to know is if whether or not maybe a shaft bearing, input/output bearing, or racer was worn. I explained the situation that my client was disabled and unable to pay for anything expensive. I asked if they had a computer or camera/scope, that could identify the problem without disassembly, and***** said "yes, bring what you have and my guys will take a look at it we can let you know what is going on." I performed all of my telephone calls on speakerphone so that my wife could hear what was being conversed, in case there were any mishaps. Due to the lengthy drive and my current injury of a torn ACL, I waited till the next day to drive there. Upon arriving, a man in the front identified himself as*****; I had loaded the transmission into the trunk of my Honda and drove it from ********* to his shop on ***********. He had me drive around to the back with my car and instructed me to unload the transmission and place it on to a cart that he was holding still. I painfully lifted it out of my car and loaded it onto his cart gently. He hastily pushed it into the back and shoved into a room full of transmissions on hangers. This seemed like a reputable place due to the volume of cars there, but I was noticing that they were mostly lower end models. The fact that they advertise with Better Business Bureau and were accredited, had been in business since 1986, and has 2 locations, was starting to elude me. I felt uneasy, primarily due to the location of this particular shop and the hastiness that was already being treated towards my client's transmission. I have always been apprehensive to use other shops with my past life experiences of getting surprise charges, and actually had lead me to learn mechanics on my own, in a school, and apprenticed as a mechanic. This is my reason that I have been very honest with myself, clients, and always passed *** savings onto my clients, also, why I always tried to take before and after pictures of my work (hence the name *************************). I left my transmission there in the hands of***** at*********************** and was expecting a call that day, to let me know if whether or not the computer or scope revealed a bearing being out. He did call me back with an astronomical fee of somewhere in the ball park of $980. Saying that my third and fifth gear looked ground down, and that my servos needed to be replaced, a bearing pack needed to be ordered, as well as, gaskets needed to be replaced, I was blown away. I said "is there any way that you can work with me on this because my client wasn't expecting to have to pay this much at all." "Let's leave out the third and fifth gear being ground down and the gasket kit as well as some other stuff and see if we can get this down to a more reasonable price." He called me back and stated that the price could be lower and closer to $780. Again, my jaw hit the floor. My wife gave me a look that I was getting swindled. So I said, "I would call him back but most likely I would not be going through with this and that I would probably get the transmission back, and just reinstall it." This was occurring on a weekend coming up and they do not have business hours during that time so I arranged, to pick it up the following Monday. I've been trying to contact my client who has problems with insomnia, as well as, dealing with stressful situations, PTSD, and handicap with a disability check to prove it. Therefore I was expecting to be able to just pick up the transmission and pay for the diagnostics fee and in return receive a full transmission. However that following Monday I made the trip back to the store and received a transmission inside of a box that was mounded with all of the components inside of a Ziploc bag, in the gears, as well as, other shafts linked around a loop made from a coat hanger. I was completely shocked that my transmission had been disassembled and that they were giving it back to me in this condition ***** acted as if it was normal business practice to give back a fully disassembled transmission, and said "have a nice day". Then promptly shut the garage door, in order to not have any further contact with me. No paperwork was provided to me in order to see anything, no receipt on their actions or what needed to be done, and I was left there feeling as if I needed to call the police. Therefore, I called the non-emergency contact line, and they explained to me that it was a civil matter and that I needed to contact my lawyer, so I immediately hung up with them and called my lawyer. He informed me the best steps were to try to have the man (Sean) reassemble the transmission and work out a deal where I could pass ******** that normally comes my way on to him for transmissions to be repaired, as a bargaining chip. I feel as if I needed to do other things so I research of what I needed to do; I finally called back***** 2 months later, after meeting with my client and finding out her finances, meeting with my lawyer, and contacting the Better Business Bureau. The Better Business Bureau informed me to try to call and find out if whether or not they could work with the circumstances that are at hand and to try to resolve this matter on my own. I took the pieces of the transmission to a machine shop to have them inspect the areas that were of raised concern. They called me back and told me that the racer looked worn on the shaft of maybe the input or differential shaft and that it should most definitely be replaced, however they don't see any signs that the servos needed to be changed or the bearings needing to be replaced, in fact they thought it looked to be like new condition after a simple polish. I picked up the transmission from the machine shop and then contacted***** immediately, I explain to him the direness of my situation, and wanting to resolve the problem of my disassembled situation, having learned my rights and what I should do, and the proper steps that I should take; I pleaded my case to***** and he openly accepted to have it reassembled over the phone. I took the transmission back to his shop with my injured leg still needing to have surgery performed, (mind you this is one of the projects I was trying to finish up before I had surgery and it did not get done in time, nor does it look as if it will be completed before it snows.) This is the time that I brought my son with me and recorded the conversation for my own protection.***** asked me to drive around to the back again and drop off what I had, I gave him all of the components back to him, and explained again that I had tried to reassemble the transmission using charts, a PDF, and some assembly lube, and wanted him to "please have it inspected by his serviceman" and let me know if they can just reassemble it and how much that would cost. I took my son with me to be a witness, as well as, recorded the conversation.***** gave me contradicting information from what another person that worked there had said, that he had been in the business for over 20 years, and so I pointed that out contradiction in the recording which I currently have. This seems to be about the shape of where servos should be worn and aren't. It took well over a week for me to call them back, because I figured it was during a time that they could be busy, and this project is most likely put on the back burner. I called him on a Monday and wanted to find out about my clients transmission he said that "he had lost my number," which isn't surprising because I don't think he ever had it. And that he had tried to call a few different numbers in order to try to get in touch with me but to no avail and that he was glad that I had called because he had information about my transmission. This is when he told me it would be close to $480, and then accused me of trying to put new parts into the transmission or something and I again repeated then I had not tried to do anything of that nature and then I wanted to just try to see if I could piece together the transmission parts and make sure they were all there and I wanted to try to reassemble it myself but could not find any information through my resources as mechanic through All data, as well as, contacting the Nissan dealership these parts where are obsolete. Now the fact that I didn't disassemble the transmission myself I had no idea how to reassemble it, and the time that I had tried to reassemble it I used lubrication in order not to mar any more of the surface because my client had only used synthetic oil inside of the transmission which left most of her components looking brand new. We ended up getting into a shouting match over the phone and I have not been in contact with him since. This is when I decided to redirect to a simpler channel of trying to have the Better Business Bureau step in on my behalf as a consumer. All that I am asking for is my transmission to be reassembled like it was and to have no problems with it other than the rattling noise that was in there previously, I would like it to be refilled with synthetic transmission oil, plugged and ready for reinstallation. I am willing to pay no more than $100. I do not wish to have any further contact with*****, other than having my transmission giving back to me in operable condition and a receipt for the services rendered. Thank you for taking the time to read this and have a wonderful day. -*********** (***)********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/25) */ I have called ********** and left a message. I am waiting for his response. ***********

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: $**** repair on my transmission and 2 trips back for problems with work and not repaired still on 11/12/2013 my transmission in my 2004 Chrysler town and country van went out and needed to be replaced. I looked on bbb's website and *** ******** network to find a reliable shop that had great reviews. Those actions lead me to advanced transmission center on Pierce street in Lakewood. I was told that for my work needed to rebuild my transmission and a 3year warranty my total would be close to $****. When my van was ready I arrived to pay and was told my total was $******* and that I had a 2year ******* mile warranty. I informed a man I think named Larry that my warranty was supposed to be for 3 years ******* miles as told on the phone quote. He said that would cost $**** so as disappointed as I was I paid what was due and was thankful my van was fixed...so I thought!! On 03/06/2014 I had a routine oil change at Kens auto in Aurora, Co and was informed there was a leak near my solenoid from the transmission so I called Advanced Transmission and they had it toed there and with the transmission under their warranty they said they fixed the leak. On 6/29/2014 my transmission slipped and jerked me and my children while driving and my check engine light came on. I took it to autozone and the codes that came up were all problems with my transmission. So on Monday 6/30/2014 I had Advanced transmission tow my van to their shop on Pierce in Lakewood because my van is still under warranty for their transmission work. I talked to George I believe his name was and explained my transmission slipped and was not shifting into gear properly. He said they would look at it and call me back. When he called they said there was a short in the connection that communicates with the computer and so my transmission was not working because of that and that they had fixed the problem. I picked my van up in Lakewood and drove home. Now today 7/2/2014 while driving my van jerked and a boom happened just like the 1st time my transmission went out and the check engine light came on and the codes are transmission issues again!I feel like im being jerked around. I paid more to Advanced Transmission because of their reputation and reviews and rating with the Better Bussiness Bureau and feel like I could of just went to AAMCO here in Aurora,co for less and less travel time and have a working van. I am now less than ***** miles away from their warranty expiring and want my transmission fixed properly or replaced properly as it should had been the first time. I don't know that I can trust that they are truly fixing my transmission. It should not have 3 return visits for $2459 of mine without resolution. I thought I did my research and found a reliable place but im feeling let down. Please help

Desired Settlement: I want a rebuilt transmission like I paid for that works. It is not safe for me and my children when my transmission slips while were driving. We all jerk violently forward.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/07) */ There have been a few problems with this vehicle. None have been major problems however I understand that every problem is major when you have to find the time, rides and everything else that goes with all of that. We towed the vehicle in and repaired it. The problem has been the connector that connects the transmission to the wiring to the transmission control module. Being intermittent these are sometimes hard to correct. We have replaced the connector at no charge. If our procedures were followed the warranty should have been made clear well before she came to pick up her vehicle. I cannot say for certain that they were. I have changed her warranty. I sincerely apologize for the problems. Feel free to ask for me, ***** ***** if you have any further concerns.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although they stopped a transmission leak severe body damage occurred on vw van. I have pics of vw van with no damage. blames damage vw van shop hahah My vw eurovan now has body damage caused by advanced transmission. The mgr blamed wolfsberg Autowerks or the towing co for the damage. **** at wolfsberg has be working on vw vans for well over 30 yrs. he has been working on said eurovan for 10yrs. I spoke with mark and we both had a laugh because working on at least 10 vans per day mark is aware of body damage caused by lifting these camper vans. Next, Sean at advanced blames his towing company. Towing companies do use lifts to tow a vehicle. There is fresh marring on the metal directly under the damage. Lastly, advanced had the same model eurovan sitting out back with the exact same damage.

Desired Settlement: Advanced needs to fix my body damage. I paid in full....almost $1000 to stop some leaks. I should not have to pay my insurance deductibles because of lack of integrity and craftsmanship. If not they should at least refund my money so I can fix the van myself.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/02) */ I have discussed this with Mr. *****. He is going to call me when he can bring the vehicle in so I can see the damage. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/02/13) */ Consumer's voice mail indicated the dispute has been resolved Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/02/04) */ I understand the weather has been bad the last few weeks however I need to see the Eurovan. Mr. ***** told me he would call me when he could bring the Eurovan in and that hasn't happened. As I have told Mr. ***** I am sure we can work this out. I need to see the Eurovan. As soon as he brings it in, it is my hope that we will resolve this. If my employees did something wrong I will do what is necessary to correct it.

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner and workers got into an argument in front of me. They are disrespectful and unprofessional. The owner told my husband to "go **** himself" I took my car in for a rebuilt transmission on 7/5/13. Since then I have had to take it back multiple times. I have had to miss work every time I take it in and the owner doesn't seem to care. The owner doesn't call me to tell me what's going on with the parts ordered for my car. I left work early today to take my car back in and have a leak repaired and when I got there, I was told the part hadn't come in today so he said " oh I probably should of called you, but I was too busy." Also, The owner and an employee got into an argument in front of me, due to the fact that I'm questioning their repairs. The owner has had an argument with my husband and has told him "To go **** himself." My car is still not repaired, is still leaking all over my driveway and the owner keeps telling me to come back the next day. These people are so unprofessional and unethical, I don't know how they are still in business. The only reason I picked them to fix my transmission in the first place is because their add and the sign on their building states- proud member of *** ******* and the troubleshooters, so I assumed they were ligit. I would like a refund, so I can take my car to people that actually know what they are doing and have better customer service skills. If I have to, I will call *** ******* myself and tell him about this situation. I don't think he would want his name on a business that has poor customer service skills.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund. I do not want to do business with these people any longer. I would like to take my vehicle somewhere else, to people that are actually competent and know how to treat their customers with respect. I will do whatever it takes to make this happen, even if I have to take this to the television news stations. This whole situation has been a nightmare.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/14) */ I would agree that this has not gone as most repairs go. It has been back a few times however the first had nothing to do with the transmission. The vehicle had some sway bar links that were broken. They were causing a clunking when you went over bumps. The other problem was that the manual shift function was not working. This was in the shifter, not the transmission. This was not discussed or brought to our attention until after the transmission work was done. We repaired this at no cost. Our mistake here was we should have informed her of these problems when we did the repair. Then it would have been her decision to repair them or not. Because she was not informed we repaired them for free. She has been talking to ***** (our manager). I am the owner, Danny Moyle, and I am aware of the argument that happened between ***** and one of the technicians. I have taken steps so that will never happen again or someone will not have a job. I knew that this vehicle was going to be there yesterday at 4:30 so I was there to make sure this problem was corrected once and for all. ***** told me that the seal did not come in as it was supposed to the day before and that he didn't call her before she came in. I don't know what to say about that other than that should never happen. The work to her vehicle was expensive and I have tried to be fair by repairing things that were not part of the repair. It is not fair to give a full refund for a minor problem. I will do whatever I need to do to get this repaired. I am the owner of the shop, I will oversee this personally. She can call and ask for me, Danny Moyle, if I am not in I will leave word to contact me and I will call her right back. We will pick up her vehicle, repair the leak and deliver it back to her. I would welcome any help from BBB as far as arbitration if you do not feel I am being fair. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Now that you see I was not exaggerating about this whole situation, I feel I should be compensated for the 5 trips I had to make to the shop, leaving work early and for the insurance I have to pay on the rental car. I would not have had to pay for rental car insurance, if the work had been corrected the first couple times I came in. I am requesting $600.00 be reimbursed to cover these costs. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/08/20) */ I apologize for your inconvenience however first and foremost is the leak needs to be repaired as low fluid is the worst thing for a transmission. We need to get the vehicle in and get that repaired. I will be involved personally to make this happen in the most timely manner. If you continue to drive this vehicle and it gets low on fluid it will damage the transmission. I cannot warranty abuse to the transmission. Your transmission is not 50% repaired it has a minor leak that will become a major problem if not repaired. I want to get this resolved as quickly as possible. As I said before I will get your vehicle picked up get it repaired and deliver it back to you. I am the only one you will need to talk to. I will make sure I am there while the vehicle is repaired and keep you informed as to what we are doing. Please call me (Danny Moyle) at 303-922-4102. If I am not there, leave a message and I will call you right back.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Advanced Transmission Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)