BBB Accredited Business since

Aamco Transmission of Brighton

Phone: (303) 287-5181 Fax: (303) 287-5187 10500 Havana Ct Unit A, Brighton, CO 80601 http://aamcobrightonco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aamco Transmission of Brighton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aamco Transmission of Brighton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aamco Transmission of Brighton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2007 Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated 01/02/2007 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Edsall Jr., co-owner Mrs. Patricia Edsall, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Edsall Jr., co-owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Differentials - Automobile Car Service Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Sheltie Ent Inc
Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair Transportation: Limousine, Party Bus, Taxi or Shuttle Service

Additional Locations

  • 10500 Havana Ct Unit A

    Brighton, CO 80601 (303) 287-5181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refusing to honor the warranty on a replacement transmission for our 98 Dodge Ram 1500 They replaced our transmission in our 98 Dodge Ram . It was not shifiting right but they told us they had tested it and it was fine. The transmission would down shift 2 to three gears at random and spike the rpms to between 4000-5000. It ended up cracking two cylynders in the engine. The Manager of the Aamco says it wasn't the transmission even though he hasn't tested it and wanted another $3100 to replace the engine. He won't honor the warrenty or give us our money back on the clearly defective transmission that we have asked for. Another thing that we had done at the time of the transmission replacing was to have the rear main seal replaced and the oil changed. When we talked to another mechanic that works at the shop who was trouble shooting the engine he told us it didn't look like it had been done and the oil was sludge. Don't trust these guys with your car. I'm out my work truck and the money for the transmission.

Desired Settlement: We just want our money back for the faulty transmission.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/16) */ We installed a factory remanufactured transmission that had been tested and proven for performance. When the vehicle was brought back to us after the problem occurred, we checked the vehicle and found the transmission 4 quarts low of fluid. We added the 4 quarts of fluid to the recommended manufacture fill level. At that point we test drove the vehicle and the transmission worked fine. What we did find is a leak in the transmission cooler lines, in an area that was untouched by us at the time of the initial repair. It is very obvious where the leak is, as there is fluid everywhere. In the initial repair of the vehicle we did replace the rear main seal and changed the oil. Our conclusion is that the transmission line leak caused the random shifting and the spike in RPM's due to insufficient transmission fluid level to operate properly. Our assessment is that the engine damages are a direct result of the leaking transmission lines and low fluid level. As for the extent of engine damage "cracking two cylinders" we have not validated the extent of engine damage, as the customer declined further repair and requested a quote on a used engine replacement. We located a used engine and provided a quote, to the customer, of $3,100.00 for the replacement amount. The customer declined engine replacement and we have been storing the vehicle ever since. Additionally, we have been actively seeking other clients that might possibly need the same transmission that is in the customers vehicle in an attempt to help them recover some of their initial cost. To this point we have not found a client in need of the same transmission. It is very unfortunate that this has happened to the customer, but we feel we have done everything for them to this point. We would like to find a resolve to this issue so that we may retain our good name along with regaining our storage space the vehicle is currently occupying. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We were told that the cylinders were cracked and the engine would have to be replaced by the shop. They have not given us any other options for repair and expect us to pay them another $3000 for it. They also told us that the transmission could not be tested since the truck is not drive-able in it's current condition. And why were all the lines for the transmission fluid not checked when they installed the new transmission? As for the main seal, one of the mechanics told us it looked like it hadn't been done. Bottom line is we asked for our money back since it was the transmission that caused the issue. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/10/01) */ As stated in our previous reply, the transmission was 4 quarts low on fluid when it arrived at our shop on July 15th. We added 4 quarts of fluid to the manufacture fill level then test drove the vehicle for a short distance and the transmission worked fine. What we did find was a leaking transmission cooler line, see attached pictures. Prior to installing the transmission we flushed the cooler lines, this procedure is done at the opposite end of where the leak is and there was no leak at that time. With the transmission starving for fluid, as a result of being 4 quarts low, the symptoms the customer experienced would be the result of low fluid level caused by the leaking line. Note: The customer drove almost 800 miles during a two and a half week period without complaint. As the vehicle sits here today the transmission fluid has a good pink color and no burnt odor. As for the extent of engine damage "cracking two cylinders" we have not validated the extent of engine damage, as the customer declined further repair and requested a quote on a used engine replacement. The customer is welcome to get a quote from another repair facility for the engine repair. The main seal and oil pan gasket were replaced at the same time the transmission was replaced. Please see attached copies of the invoices for the parts that were purchased and installed. We would like to find a resolve to this issue so we can retain our good name and regain the space this vehicle has been occupying since July 15th. As it relates to the sludge in the engine: the sludge in the engine has many variables, the engine has over 295,000 miles on it and 6 owners over its live span - it is hard to say what the maintenance records are like given the many times it has changed ownership and could very well be a combination of poor maintenance over the years and the breakdown of bearing particulate from the current engine failure. In conclusion: The transmission is not the cause of the problem, the leaking transmission cooler line is the root cause of the failure. The transmission cooler line is not part of any repair we did as it is in an area that was untouched by us. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The 800 miles we drove was in one trip and was acting up the entire time. Improper shifting of the transmission caused my engine to red line. And again, we were told by their own mechanics that the work we were charged for didn't get done with regards to the oil pan and rear seal. They were the ones who told us the damage to the engine was not repairable, if they have not fully investigated the problem then why would they tell us this. And no I didn't authorize further repair to the vehicle because I'm not going to pay him another $3000 for this, the truck is not worth that much. The space the truck is taking up at his shop was offered until he could find a solution which hasn't happened.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aamco Transmission of Brighton
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)