BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Globus Family of Brands meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Globus Family of Brands include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Globus Family of Brands
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Nisbet, President & CEO Mr. Steve Born, VP Mktg & CC Ms. Nona Jaramillo, Traveler Services Supervisor Ms. Sandy Seliga, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Nisbet, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Sandy Seliga, Manager
Business Category

Tours - Operators & Promoters

Alternate Business Names
Avalon Waterways Cosmos Globus Globus & Cosmos Group Voyagers Monograms

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Globus Family of Brands has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5301 S. Federal Circle

    Littleton, CO 80123 (303) 703-7000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My boyfriend and I attended a tour with this company (under Cosmos within the family brand) to Italy. We booked an extra excursion in Venice to go on a Gondola ride, and were entirely mislead by the tour guide (speaking on behalf of the company) as to what to expect versus what we received. We have brought this complaint up to the tour guide and to the company requesting compensation- the tour guide did nothing and after several emails with Globus, we were refunded half the money (with no explanation as to why we should only get half). We feel as though we were mislead and taken advantage of-- and at the very least should be entitled to a full refund of this excursion ($90.00 USD- it is not like we are asking for a full refund of our tour or being unreasonable).

Desired Settlement: At the very least should be entitled to a full refund of this excursion ($90.00 USD)

Business Response: The excursion that *** ***** refers to was a Gondola ride in Venice.  We clearly stated in all of our material and documentation that: “Note - the gondola is to be shared with other Cosmos guests (maximum 6 participants on each gondola).” The Gondolier placed the couple on separate seats as he needed to balance out the boat according to weight.  As a gesture of goodwill, we already refunded *** ***** $45 which was half of the excursion as she was given all services as promised and we generously gave her $100 in vouchers to be used on another tour with us.  In order to satiate *** *****’s grievances we will, as goodwill, issue her a refund of the remaining $45 to make her whole. We expect that this will resolve the issue.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. My only ask was to be fully reimbursed for the excursion.


I would, however, just like to note for the record that nothing about the way the company handed this issue was "gracious" or in "good will". The fact that I had to involve the BBB and the company still tries to hide behind a pathetic footnote is ridiculous. The referenced vouchers they provided are just as valuable to us as Monopoly money.

As I told the contact at Globus, there was no mention by our tour director of any printed description of any of the excursions-- I even asked for one at one point. I looked through the materials I have related to this package on hand and I cannot find anything related to excursions printed anywhere. Furthermore, I'm not sure why the company would imagine that I would have a copy of this description readily on hand to reference when we booked this during the tour (on the tour bus). To cite this tiny excerpt as a scapegoat for providing sub par service after a misleading description was provided verbally by the tour director is petty and reflects poorly on this company, how they do business, and how they value their customers.

Sincerely,

********* *****

 

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Globus family failed to refund for air tickets that I HAD to purchase to return home when they abandoned me in ***** ****** Hello, I was unfortunate to purchase a vacation with Globus family for me and my husband ******* booking# XXXXXX) for 05/24-06/06. I paid around $9500 for this vacation that included hotels, air tickets, some local tours, etc. ON 06/06 we arrived to **** international airport for return flight to *** ******** We've been waiting on the line in front of the *** ****** desk for registration for 3 hours, finally one of the representative ladies came over and informed that the flight is delayed until 5 pm (the original flight was scheduled on 11:30 am). Later on without making any announcements they accommodated couple of people (I guess, the once who were more insisting) to fly through ******** We waited for another 2 hours, from time to time approaching the desk, but no information was given. Soon they told us that it is totally canceled for unknown duration. Instead, right before my eyes, some passengers were rebooked through other airlines and successfully left to their destinations. After being totally abandoned by ********* I approached to ****** ******** and asked if they have available seats to *** They told me that all I need is to ask *** ****** to rebook me and my husband for ****** airlines. Without having any information from *** ******, I asked them to rebook me, and what they told me is "You are on your own, madam, go head , purchase your tickets and later call to ask refund from *** ********* We bought the return tickets, in total of $2269.40 and boarded at the very last minute. Starting from that day my nightmare has started. After couple of exchange emails from *** ****** I was informed that it is the responsibility of "Globus Family" to refund my money since I book my flight through THEM however, within 10 weeks, Globus didn't do anything; they gave me more due dates every time I called, no guarantee and just refuse to refund for SERVICE THAT WAS NOT PROVIDED.Extremely disappointed from Globus, spoke to 2-3 representatives, the last ************* just told me that IT may take several months and still NO GUARANTEE that it will be resolved. I respectfully ask you to review this situation. Thank you very much, **** *******

Desired Settlement: I am expecting refund for $$2269.40, that I paid to United for my return flight to *** ********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/17) */ 08/17/2015 We are responding to case number XXXXXXXX We have been in contact with Mrs. ******** travel agent, regarding our client Mrs. ******** unfortunate issue with Air Canada airlines. It does seem that Mrs. *******, was not treated well at the gate during her return flight. Please find below the documentation that we have in regards to this issue. Her Travel Agent emailed us on 06/11/2015 On 06/12/2015 I emailed our Ticketing Department in regards to this situation. When dealing with airlines it can take up to 3 to 6 months before we can hear anything in regards to this situation. On 6/22/2015 I did receive a response from ticketing stating they are checking on this issue and will get back when they receive a response. On 07/02 I responded to the Travel Agent apologizing for the length of time and letting her know that it can take a while for all responses from the airlines. Then I asked for a copy of the receipt showing the purchase of the new airline tickets. On 7/10 I did receive a copy of the receipt for the airline. On 08/05 I did check back in with ticketing and emailed them again, even though it does take a while to hear anything from the airlines. In our brochures and documents it does clearly state: "All air carriers are independent operators and are not owned, managed or operated by Globus. Your airline ticket is a contract between you and the sir carrier only, even if you purchase through Globus. By purchasing your air services through Globus you waive all liability of Globus for such air service." We do sincerely wish to help our client that is why we are getting in touch with the airline to see what actually happened. This is actually an Air Canada issue, not a Globus issue but our clients are extremely important to us so we are trying to help our client to get some sort of information or perhaps a refund from the airlines directly. Our client is more than welcome to contact Air Canada and see if perhaps they will have better information. Until then we will be waiting for contact from the airlines. Again unfortunately this can take up to anywhere from 3 to 6 months. We will be more than happy to keep in contact with our client until then, but we cannot answer any questions until we hear from the airlines directly. Best Regards, ****** **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for your response. Unfortunately, Air Canada representative was the one who told me that I have to contact my travel agent whom I purchased the tickets from. My travel agent is SVH travels and Tours, Los angeles, CA and the amount I have paid for my tour (including Air tickets) have been charged on my Credit card BY YOUR COMPANY (Globus Family of Brands), therefore; it is your responsibility to be accountable for the service that hasn't been provided. Not to mention, that I was expecting a Globus representative in Rome International airport, who should make sure that the Globus customers have successfully and safely left the country . Thank you **** ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/09/08) */ Unfortautely Globus can only provide a refund if we recieve one from the air carrier. When and if we recieve one from *** ****** we will certainly refund you any monies that are owed. However we must wait until we recieve a response from the airline.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had booked Jewels of the Baltic with the above company from May 9-24/15 in Dec., 2014. ********, my booking agent assured me that people were booking this trip so I need not worry. I told ******** that I had no flexiblity with the dates because I was taking another tour prior to this one, from 4/23 to 5/9/15 . I booked the air on my own. I came home from work on 2/27/15 and received a voicemail from ********, telling me that the 5/9 tour was cancelled and that I was moved to the 5/16 tour. I called on Globus/Cosmos on 2/28/15 to ascertain the facts. ******** was not there but a woman (***) assured me of this fact and said that perhaps they could perhaps place me in an "uncertain" tour of France from 5/12-24/15. It would take several days to find out if this would occur. I said that we would both do research and see what happens. I was also nervous about the change fees because my flight leaves from Stockholm on 5/24/15. I have been doing business with the Globus/Cosmos company for over ten years, sometimes booking two tours in one year. I told *** that nothing like this has ever happened and she said that. "I was lucky." I sent ******** the following email on 3/1/15: "Needless to say, I was shocked and disappointed when I heard your voicemail the other nigh on 2/27/15. I was given the impression that people were in the process of booking this tour for 5/9/15 and I need not worry. At the time of the booking, I stressed the fact that I had no flexiblity with the dates because I was beginning this tour after finishing another tour, something Ihad never done. I had already made the airline reservations, which have me leaving from Stockholm on 5/24/15. This works because I need to be back to work on 5/26/15. I am taking a month off, so consequently, the latter departure of 5/16/15 is not effective. I spent a good part of that weekend doing research on another trip in the area that would work in the original timeframe. I found a cruise in the Baltic Sea frin May 13-24, but for my purposes, departing on 5/22/15 in order to make the flight schedule work. Consequently, this means that I have to book a hotel in Copenhagen from May 9-12 and in Stockholm from May 22-24, six additional nights that I did not plan incurring as an added expense. I will also have the added expense of meals/incidentals and transportation. Specifically, in Copenhagen, I will be responsible for getting myself from the airport to the hotel, and in Stockholm, from the cruise ship to the hotel, then to the airport. Globus/Cosmos would have mitigated this burden had the trip occured as scheduled.

Desired Settlement: The purpose of a vacation is to relax and to have stress removed. At this moment, the stress has been exacerbated by this snafu. I called Globus/Cosmos on 3/2/15, informing them that I had found a replacement and to refund my deposit. I am paying more than $1,000 extra for said cruise, hotels, and added expenditures in lieu of originally scheduled trip referenced above. I emailed Globus/Cosmos to this effect, stating that if they would compensate the cost of these expenses, or comparable refunds/travel vouchers with their company, perhaps my confidence would be reinstated. I asked for a reponse by 3/9/15 to come to an agreement. I received a letter in the mail, stating that in the early part of the season, tours don't always fill up. They look forward to serving me in the future. I would hardly call this an agreement nor in any way a confidence builder.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/04/29) */ April 29, 2015 ******** ***** Denver Better Business Bureau Email: ******@denver.bbb.org BBB Case #XXXXXXXX RE: XXXX XXXXX, Inv. #XXXXXX, ******* *X-XXXXXXXXX Dear ********* Thank you for the notice about a complaint registered by ****** ******* regarding a recent Cosmos tour which was cancelled by Cosmos due to a lack of participation. I received your notice this morning. We sincerely regret having to make such decisions, but Ms. *******'s original tour date of May 9 was cancelled due to a lack of participation and the client was re-protected on the May 16 departure for her land-only travel package. A written reminder was sent to her about this change on February 15 and a revision letter was sent to her on February 27. Ms. ******* called our office on March 2 and advised that she was cancelling her tour. Her deposit of $529.00, the only money paid to Cosmos by the client, was refunded to her credit card on March 3. Payment of the deposit indicates the client has read and accepted the Terms & Conditions. As we note in the brochure in the Terms & Conditions, Cosmos reserves the right to cancel or reschedule any vacation departure for any reason, including insufficient demand or force majeure. If a vacation is canceled prior to departure, Cosmos' only responsibility will be to refund the amount received for the reservation. Cosmos will try to rebook the same vacation with a different departure date or a similar vacation, but there is no guarantee of availability of offering. Cosmos cannot assume responsibility for any additional costs or any fees relating to the issuance and/or cancellation of air tickets or other travel arrangements not made through Cosmos. Therefore, Ms. *******'s desired resolution that Cosmos should pay her for travel arrangements not with or made through the Globus family of brands is unreasonable. Should there be further concerns expressed regarding this complaint, please direct them to ***** ****** or **** *********. Sincerely, ****** ***** Traveler Services - Globus family of brands Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 23, 2015/07/13) */ Document scanned. Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2015/07/20) */ We appreciate the clients viewpoint, however I would like to point out that the client only paid the deposit on her invoice. The tour was cancelled on 2/06/15, over 90 days before the departure date with alternatives offered. *** ******* did not decline the alternatives we offered until 3/2/15. Secondly the arrangements she made outside our company to replace our cancelled tour, is not equivalent to what was purchased with Cosmos. Per our Terms and Conditions: Globus reserves the right to cancel or reschedule any vacation departure for any reason, including insufficient demand or force majeure. If a vacation is canceled prior to departure, Globus' only responsibility will be to refund the amount received for the reservation. Globus will try to rebook the same vacation with a different departure date, or a similar vacation but there is no guarantee of availability of offering. For air-inclusive vacations, Globus will try to confirm air schedules for the selected new dates, subject to availability. Globus cannot assume responsibility for any additional costs or any fees relating to the issuance and/or cancellation of air tickets or other travel arrangements not made through Globus. In an attempt for resolution,I will be mailing the client vouchers in the amount 150.00, which can be used on any of our world-wide tours or independent vacations, and are redeemable for two years. Best Regards, **** ********* Supervisor of Traveler Services

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On a tour, an advertised triple room discount was denied; we also had to pay a single room up-charge. Another triple discounted group was on the tour. In June of this year I booked an Italian tour through Globus (travel code: ** **** Booking reference number: XXXXXX, Booking agent: **** at XXX-XXX-XXXX, Date of tour: Sep 29 to Oct 10, 2014). As I was traveling with two companions, I requested a triple room, with a triple room discount of $59 per person. All three of us must watch our expenses closely. **** told me that the triple room option was not available for this tour; she told me she guessed it was because at least one of the hotels involved could not accommodate a triple room. I took her word on this, and booked a double and a single for the three of us. This included a $395 single room up-charge in addition to the loss of the discount. On the tour, we were quite surprised to meet another group of three who were allowed the triple room accommodation and discount. They had a triple room in all of the hotels involved in the tour. I asked them how they got this accommodation, and they said they simply asked for it. Today I called Globus to inquire about this. **** told me I had no formal request on file for a triple accommodation. I HAD SIMPLY TAKEN ****'S WORD THAT THIS TOUR DIDN'T ACCOMMODATE A TRIPLE, AND I HAD NO KNOWLEDGE OF A FORMAL REQUEST FOR A TRIPLE. I also talked to Globus Travelers Services; Sherry (not sure of spelling) also said we did not file the form, and that we had the comfort of having more room. Again, I didn't realize I needed to file a request for an advertised discount. This discount should not have been denied initially, and it should not be allowed to only some customers. The refund I am requesting should not be denied because of not filing a formal request; we had no knowledge of this secret form. Also, as we would have without-question preferred a discount over having two rooms, I cannot accept that we have no refund due because we had the accommodation of two rooms.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $572.00. This is the $177 triple discount we were denied ($59 for each of us), plus the additional $395 up-charge for a single room. Another group on the tour was allowed this advertised arrangement without filing a request, so this should have been available to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/15) */ I am uncertain as to why the client filed this claim ad I spoke to Ms. ******* yesterday morning 10/14/14 and the issue is resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We received the refund requested. Thanks.

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked for Stonehenge and bath excursion for 3 persons amounting to 195 pounds(65 pounds/person), for Aug. 7, 2014, but the bus did not pick us up. On August 6, 2014, I purchased a Stonehenge and bath excursion for 3 persons amounting to 195 pounds, payment via my mastercard ending with nos.*****, from a Cosmos Representative, *****, ticket no. XXXXXX, indicating excursion to be held Aug. 7, 2014 at 7:40 a.m.The bus Premier Tour, which the co. negotiated with, never came by to pick us up. One Cosmos rep. by the name Levi, instructed us to take a taxi to go to Victoria Coach Station gate 17, to catch up with the tour, adding, they will reimbursed the amount of taxi fare, which came down to 10.60 pounds.The place was a busy public transport system and we don't what to do, no contact person given.Due to this, we were constrained to go to Stonehenge on our own, asking people directions and spending the total of 290.20 pounds. Upon arrival at the Kensington Close Hotel, I confronted the Cosmos Rep. ***,about the non-delivery of service and demanded to be reimbursed with the money I paid plus the taxi fare (one way only), which **** promised to pay. Said rep. verbalized she would ask her manager, but until the morning came, I again reiterated my complaint, and she said she did not ask her manager. This is very upsetting, so I decided to address this issue to this bureau for resolution.

Desired Settlement: For the Stonehenge and bath excursion for 3 persons, the amount was 195 pounds plus 10.60 taxi fare (LTDA receipt), totalling to 205.60 pounds. We also spend the total of 290.20 pounds by taking several public transportations (all receipts intact)due to the bad decisions made by Cosmos Reperentatives, sending us to catch up with the bus in a foreign place?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/28) */ August 28, 2014 Denver Better Business Bureau Attn: ******* ****** Email: ***********@bureaudata.com Case ID#XXXXXXXX Consumer: ********* ******* RE: XXXX XXXXX, Invoice #XXXXXX, ******* *X-XXXXXXXX Dear *******, Thank you for sending the clients' complaint regarding an optional excursion they missed while they were in London. Unfortunately, the clients did not contact our office with their concerns to give us a chance to address them before they sent their complaint to the Better Business Bureau. We have investigated the situation as to why the clients missed the optional excursion pick-up at the hotel. It was not that there was no one to pick them up because another couple was picked up, but that they either did not hear or did not understand that Premier Tours was the company offering and providing the optional excursion to Stonehenge and Bath. Even though they were told this and information was on their tickets, they apparently ignored the driver's announcement in the lobby. When the clients complained to the local host, he reported the problem to our main office in London. He was advised to tell the clients to take a taxi to Victoria Coach Station Gate 17, the specific gate for this excursion, and to save their taxi receipt for reimbursement the next day. He also wrote this information down for them regarding the gate. Despite this, the clients did not get to the gate to do the excursion through Cosmos and were reported as no-shows. Premier Tours graciously agreed to refund the clients for the unused optional excursion. Cosmos is refunding the clients for their taxi ride to get to Victoria Coach station. The total amount for the three of them including the taxi fare is $340.75. A check in that amount will be sent directly to the clients along with a letter. The same decision would have been reached if the clients had contacted Cosmos first. We do hope the clients brought home pleasant memories from the rest of their vacation. Their patronage is appreciated and a warm invitation is offered to travel with us again. Sincerely, ****** ***** Traveler Services - Globus family of brands Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) How about the hardship we have encountered while finding our way to Stonehenge and the additional expenses we have incurred, due to the faulty decisions made by the company's representative? They are making it appear that we did not understand their instructions.They claimed the bus has come but we were there on time and has not seen it. If the driver came and announced his presence in the lobby, why did they not ring us up in our room-surely they know the phone number there. Second, when I went outside the hotel inquiring about the Stonehenge excursion from people outside, the company representative ushered me inside and told us to wait for the bus.In few minutes, he came back to tell us that the bus has left, so, he, himself had not seen the bus come to the hotel. It is also very inconsiderate and unscrupulous to send us to catch our own ride in a place that is new to us.My idea of a paid land excursion is to be pick-up in my hotel, sit in the comfort of the bus and not sent somewhere, running here and there to catch up with what? What is wrong here is that they presumed we can read their minds and know exactly what to do. That is why we engaged in their business because we are relying on their expertise to show us around not to grope our own way around. When we complained about the failed excursion from their representative in London, they even told my son to address the complaint to Premier Tours, which is the server. To me, that is not right because we did not deal with them, but Cosmos. Cosmos should take the responsibility and accountability to solve the problem because they were the ones who negotiated with Premier Tours. I am not a troublemaker and all I want is a rightful compensation for all the troubles we have undergone. Because of their faulty decision making, we incurred additional expenses in the amount of 290.20 pounds, beside being stressed with the unpleasant chain of events. By the way, we addressed our issue with their representatives in London but they did not offer us any solution and started denying all their previous statements. Also, I wanted to contact Cosmos about this problem the moment we arrived home but I could not find in their website the place for issues and concern or complaints. In my desperation, I decided to write to BBB for help because they are more conspicuous and neutral and such company is indispensable in matters such as this. I'm confident their purpose is for the resolutions of all problems that are brought to their attention. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/09/16) */ September 16, 2014 Denver Better Business Bureau Attn: ******* ****** Case ID#XXXXXXXX Consumer: ********* ******* RE: XXXX XXXXX, Invoice #XXXXXX, ******* *X-XXXXXXXX Dear *******, Thank you for the additional information about the above client's complaint. We sincerely regret the continuing disappointment and welcome the opportunity to respond. The brochure notes that air carriers, accommodations, and other suppliers such as optional excursion vendors are independent contractors and are not agents, employees, servants, or joint venturers of the Company or its affiliates. Globus is the company who sold the tickets but Premier Tours is who operated the optional excursion to Stonehenge and Bath. The suggested time for arrival prior to an excursion is 10 minutes, not 3. The announcement in the lobby was made since others got on their coach when they were supposed to. It should be noted that there were possibly several excursion groups leaving the hotel lobby around the same time. The directions were provided by the host so the clients could still join the excursion, albeit they unfortunately had to make their own way to the Victoria Coach Station and find gate 17 to do so since they missed the pick-up at their hotel. Perhaps the clients did not realize at the time the green tickets they were issued when the excursion was purchased were the tickets needed to travel with. It is unknown whether or not they had them when they arrived at Victoria Coach Station. Premier Tours has no record of the clients making contact with them at the Coach Station. We sincerely regret any inconvenience and disappointment this may have caused. The clients have already been refunded the cost of the optional excursion purchased through Cosmos as well as the taxi fare to get to the Coach Station. Getting the vendor to refund the cost of the tickets was due to the efforts of Cosmos. Independent arrangements are at the clients' own expense. Cosmos was not paid for the clients' independent arrangements. However, as an attempt to resolve this matter and as a goodwill gesture, Cosmos will send the client a check for $235.68, equal to 50% of their reported independent cost. Sincerely, ****** ***** Traveler Services - Globus family of brands Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/09/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received a check in the amount of $235.68, from Globus, representing 50 per cent of my claimed independent expenses due to their mishandling of the situation. I could sense a very great effort on the part of their representative to meet me halfway, although they still insist on their own opinion. However, this is not a grave problem and since the representative aimed to display an act of goodwill, I accept their resolution. My purpose in reporting this incident is for them to improve their services so customers will continue to patronize them. They should view their program or services from a third person 's standpoint so that they could analyze their flaws. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Better Business Bureau for their great help in solving this problem. Also, I appreciate Globus/Cosmos for the actions they have taken to resolve the issue.

9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Globus failed to deliver on their promises to use a motorcoach with more leg room and the use of experienced professional driver on our tour. I paid a premium for the Globus tour because of they advertise the use of motorcoach with more leg room by installing fewer seats (see extract from their website below). However, the motorcoach that they used on our 20 days "The Best of the British Isles (GL)" tour that started on 7/20/2014 was the standard 53 seats motorcoach without any extra leg room. It was extremely uncomfortable during the ride when the fellow passengers in front recline their seats. Globus failed to deliver the product that they promise. In addition, we had 2 relieve drivers during our trip and they both were horrible drivers with constant braking that made a bunch of us sick. One of the relieve drivers even hit something when he backed up the motorcoach. Globus again failed to deliver on their promise on the use of "Experienced & Professional Drivers". Extracts from Globus website ************************************************************************** Limited Group Size for Extra Comfort The length and width of modern motorcoaches is standard, prescribed by law. The difference among tour operators is in the number of seats installed and actually sold. While it is customary to install and sell 53 seats, Globus installs fewer seats for extra leg room, and limits group size to a maximum of 44 tour members (Europe vacations only). The extra space contributes enormously to your comfort. For airport and port transfers in Britain we generally use motorcoaches with 53 seats. Experienced & Professional Drivers Globus drivers take pride in driving and in their vehicles, keeping them in great shape and spotlessly clean. Your driver will help you on and off the motorcoach with a smile and load your bags with care. Our travelers consistently lavish the highest praise on the person behind the wheel!

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund of our tour as Globus did not deliver on the following products that they promised. 1. Extra leg room on motorcoach 2. Use of experienced & professional drivers

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/22) */ August 22, 2014 Better Business Bureau Attn: Heather ******* Trade Practices Specialist Email: ***********@bureaudata.com Case # XXXXXXXX RE: GL XXXXX, Invoice #XXXXXX, **** *X-XXXXXXXX Dear *******, Thank you for sending the consumer's complaint regarding issues they had during their recent travel with us to the British Isles. Unfortunately, the clients did not contact our office with their concerns to give us a chance to address them before they sent their complaints to the Better Business Bureau. As a service industry, we recognize customer feedback as an important tool in determining the success of our programs. Based on client recommendations, our tours are monitored for possible improvements and we appreciate the client's contribution to our quality control efforts. Upon a review of the brochure as well as the documented website, both do indeed state what the client reported regarding seating on the motorcoach. The operations office and the motorcoach company have confirmed that the coach used for the clients' tour was equipped with 53 seats rather than a lesser number as promised. However, the motorcoach used was 1.2 meters longer than a standard coach. There were only 33 clients in this tour group which provided tour members with the opportunity to sit in a seat by themselves if they wanted, giving them more room. Surely the client does not work 20 days straight without a day off. Motorcoach drivers throughout Europe are strictly regulated on how many hours a day they may work, their break times, and how many days they can work without a day off. The operations office and tour director's report only confirm one relief driver. Perhaps the client confused one of the excursion drivers for a relief driver. The tour director confirms in his tour report that the relief driver in Exeter was not up to Globus standards. It is also fair to say that none of the clients mentioned this in their questionnaires. The group was very pleased with the regular driver, including these clients. We do hope the clients brought home pleasant memories from their journey in spite of the concerns mentioned. As a goodwill gesture for the conflicting information about the motorcoach seating and the unsatisfactory relief driver, a check for $1030.81 will be forwarded to the client along with a letter. Sincerely, ****** ***** Traveler Services - Globus family of brands Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The partial refund is fair and I am glad that Globus investigated and confirmed the "conflicting information". However, I am disappointed with the response letter which focused primarily on why it was fine for Globus to not deliver what they advertised. I would rather hear about reassurance that both of these items (extra legroom and better screening for relief drivers) will be corrected in the future. I will give Globus' competitor a try for my next European vacation as I am not comfortable that Globus will correct any of these items.

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Noise level at hotel unacceptable-unable to sleep more than a few hours On 8/6/14 my travel partner and I were booked into the El MaPi Hotel in Peru as part of a travel package booked through Monograms Tours, a division of the Globus Family. We were booked into Room 431 which is an end room which lets onto the street. Because of the design of the hotel, the only thing between us and the bar across the street was the hotel room door. The sound system of the bar was blasting at full volume until 2 AM, and, because the hotel is still under construction, workmen began sawing and hammering at 7 AM. We feel we did not get adequate value for the amount charged for the night's stay, so we contacted Travelers Services and requested a refund. They summarily dismissed our request and ignored repeated requests to speak to a supervisor or the next level of authority.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a refund of the amount charged as part of the travel package for one night's stay at El MaPi Hotel as the conditions were unacceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/29) */ To whom it may concern, Below is the letter I sent to the passenger with a check and tour credit. Please let me know if there is anything you need. Thank you. ******** ***** Traveler Services Better Business Bureau Case# XXXXXXXX ****** ***** *** ******** st *** ********** ** XXXXX RE: ISM XXXXX, XXXXXX, SR X-XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. *****, Thank you for taking the time to contact the BBB for your discomfort that you experienced on your tour to Peru. We always want our passenger's experience on our tours to be as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We welcome the opportunity to respond and possibly give a little more information. We sent a response on August 18, 2014 for your complaint; we regret that you were not satisfied with our response and that it was escalated. We remain sorry for your discomfort at the at the El Mapi hotel in Machu Picchu, we always anticipate that our passengers will receive a quiet and comfortable hotel room during their stay. We sincerely apologize this was not the case for you. Unfortunately when we contract with a hotel room for a certain number of rooms per season, we don't get to pick the hotel rooms that our passengers will be staying in. Being that you had a hotel room that was close to a popular area was entirely out of our control. However passengers are always welcome to communicate with their local host and go to the hotels front desk to attempt to get a different room. An alternate hotel room cannot always be guaranteed but it can always be requested. While we understand your frustration, we unfortunately cannot offer a full refund for the hotel room being that all services with the hotel were used. After further review and as a gesture of goodwill we will refund you 100% of an unused night credit. An unused night credit is $80 per person per night. Being that you stayed at the hotel for one night, we will give you a combined check for $160, as well as $100 in touring dollars to be used on a future tour with us. We hope this resolves your frustrations and we have the pleasure of welcoming you on another one of our worldwide vacations in the future. Sincerely, ******** ***** Traveler Services Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I believe this is a fair settlement. We have used the Globus brand many times in the past and wish to maintain a good relationship

8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On a 2014 Globus tour of Italy, advertised hotels were switched to inferior hotels. A prepaid optional excursion was also switched without warning. My wife and I took her brother on a Globus tour to Italy in May, 2014 to see the country and take a side trip to their mother's birth place. We were really looking forward to this trip. However, Globus's antics while on the tour made the trip much less enjoyable. Two days into the tour, our Tour Director informed us that two hotels were being switched. The hotel switch in Sorrento was from the very nice Cesare Augusto to the filthy Conca Park. The Conca Park is so bad that we were provided with cheap, unwrapped plastic cups to use in the bathroom. Other nasty features included hot temperarures in the rooms with no air conditioning available (it would not be turned on until after our departure), no television listings and my brother-in-law was given a room between two elevators, which the front desk would not change. Further, the mob scene at the breakfast buffet was a disgrace. That Globus would use such a hotel on their tours is worse than unfortunate. Besides the hotel switches, we also experienced an optional excursion "bait and switch" tactic, which was also unfortunate and avoidable. Before departing for Italy, we had purchased an optional excursion to Isola Bella. It was sold as a 3½ hour morning excursion. However, the Tour Director changed this excursion the day before it was scheduled. He switched it to a 2½ hour afternoon excursion, which was followed imme-diately by the included excursion to Isola del Pescatori for dinner. Then, we waited on the Isola del Pescatori for the others who did not participate in the optional excursion to arrive separately. This switch not only left us with nothing to do in Baveno, Italy all morning and half the afternoon until 3 pm., and, as a result, there was no break for rest between the optional tour and the included dinner. With only short notice given, we could not sign up for a local tour to Lake Como in the morning because there were no available tours from the hotel. Had we known that this would be an afternoon tour directly preceding the dinner excursion, we would have made our own arrangements for the day. We do not understand or appreciate the "bait and switch" tactics while on the trip. Other complaints include frequesnt late lunches with no daily warnings, crowds in the breakfast lines because so many tour groups were staying at the Conca Park Hotel in Sorrento and some very late dinners that some participants skipped because they could not wait. The tour Tour Director, ******** ****** did not add anything of value to this tour. Globus should be ashamed for having him on their staff. He told us more about his rugby experiences than he did about Italy. Hia main intent was to secure generous tips at the end of the tour. Frankly, we were not amused by his tactics. Finally, after the farewell dinner, the tour director subjected us to listen to a dirty joke on the bus back to the hotel. What a "fitting" ending to an extremely poorly led tour. So, besides being subjected to a very bad and offensive tour director, we are disgusted with Globus's "bait and switch" tactics, primarily for switching to worse hotels, but also for switching previously paid optional excursions. Globus's integrity was certainly compromised on this Italian Mosaic t-our and we deserve to be significantly compensated.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking justice from Globus. 1) We expect Globus to acknowledge that the hotel switches were made to inferior hotels despite their claim to the contrary. 2) We expect Globus to acknowledge that previously paid optional excursions should not be switched after payment has been accepted. 3) We expect Globus to apologize for the hotel switches and the optional excursion switch made on this Italian Mosaic Tour. 4) We expect a refund of $1,000 payable to ****** R. **********. Globus has pereviously offered a refund of approximately $500 in total payable to my wife and me and including my briother-in-law. Globus knows full well that my wife and I paid for my brother-in-law's tour expense. The $500 previously offered by Globus represents a 5% refund of the land tour cost of this tour. However, Globus knows full well that my wife and I were already entitled to a 5% discount because this Italy tour was the second Globus tour we took in 2014. For some unknown reason (not even our travel agent knows why), Globus denied this 5% discount when we booked this tour. To offer a 5% refund now is disingenuous and virtually dishonest. We expect a full $1,000 refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ August 21, 2014 Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX ******* ****** Trade Practices Specialist Better Business Bureau Dear *******, I want to thank you for sharing the letter to the BBB from our clients. I will just reiterate a little of my response to our clients, that we sincerely do apologize for the two hotel changes while they were on tour. As I stated in my previous response to them (attached), it does occasionally happen that a contracted hotel that we use notifies us of unforeseen circumstances that require us to find alternate accommodations for our clients. Although the possibility for hotel changes is noted in our pre-tour literature, this does not happen very often, and we do regret that it happened to them on their vacation. I am sorry that they did not feel these hotels were not of equal value than those they had previousely. Also, the optional excursion did have a time change from morning to afternoon, but only to accommodate the group and give them more free time. This is what the majority of the group wanted, but regretably not the clients. We do apologize for the inconvenience that caused them and did not allow them to sign up for the local tour to Lake Como. The tour was 3 hours, not the 3 1/2 that was planned originally. The tour director, Fabrizio Barba has been with the Globus family of brands for many years. In checking the reports last year, Mr. Barba only had one documented concern brought to our attention...but also had a couple of positive compliments as well. I am sorry their perception of him was not a good one. As their patronage is very important to us, along with the $524.85 we have already passed ***** to them, which was 5% of the land cost of the tour, I have requested the $1,000.00 that they requested on top of that for their inconveniences. It will be sent to their home adddress. They have traveled with us before and again, we do sincerely apologize for the disappointments expressed. We hope they will travel with us again in the future. Sincerely, **** ********** Traveler Services Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While Globus has now apologized for the hotel switches and offered additional compensation, we are disappointed that Globus is still defending their switches and supporting their crude tour director, Mr. Barba. Globus fails to acknowledge that the Conca Park in Sorrento, Italy, is a very dirty hotel to which we were subjected without recourse. We have also stayed at the scheduled hotel, Cesare Augusto, and visited that hotel while in Sorrento on this trip. The Conca Park is horrible compared to the Cesare Augusto, which was even confirmed by the independent driver we hired while in Sorrento. Further, the two block long walk from the front desk to the street at the Conca Park is depressing. We toured with Globus in Germany in 2013 and a hotel switch to an inferior hotel also occured on that tour. When hotel switches have to be made, they must be upgrades and Globus has not yet learned to do that. Hopefully, after two consecutive mistakes, they will make improvements. And Mr. Barba must be replaced if Globus seeks to retain their integrity. He was awful and did not offer anything on the tour. He would joke around with a few couples and have them laughing while we wanted to hear more about the sights. And to end the tour with a dirty joke was a nasty insult. Globus must take action and not condone such antics. Should we receive the compensation as stated, we will consider this matter closed and thank BBB for intervening. ** **********

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company lied to us about what the package offered and we didn't know it until we were denied many things on our vacation. It began with speaking to ***** ********** <***********@globusfamily.com> through the Monograms branch of Globus. She became our "travel agent" who was looking into booking a trip from NYC to Washington DC for us. When we received the quote it was just a lump sum. We asked for a broken down itemized list so we knew exactly what we would get because it seemed pricey. She said she did not have the authority to send us an itemized list but she did list what we got. This is the response: "If you take the total price of the twin room ($2,658.00) and divide it by 6 nights, it may look a little pricey. However, please keep in mind that this is not the price of only the rooms per night. Included in this price is professionally guided sightseeing tours in both New York & Washington, first class rail travel between the two cities along with transfers between your hotel and the train station, a Local Host service in each city (i.e. an expert to assist you with your immediate travel needs while enjoying your stay) and daily buffet breakfast. Monograms hotels are also 4-star in a city center location." We thought that this sounded like a better deal so we decided to book with them. It wasn't until we were about to leave that we started encountering problems. We had asked for travel from the airport and to the airport at the beginning and end of the trip and realized that we didn't have any confirmation for this. When talking to Globus they basically said it was too late. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was referred to ******* ******** I was impressed with his thoughtfulness because he had me book my own travel and said he would reimburse me which happened. I thought everything would be okay after that. I was wrong. The hotel room was the size of a closet and we were woken up everyday by jackhammers being used on the side of the hotel for maintenance. When we talked to our "local host" he laughed about us thinking we had breakfast as a part of our package when we asked how we go downstairs for breakfast. Part of the reason we booked with them was because we thought that was one less meal we had to worry about and it would be very convenient. We thought this cost would be a part of the package we purchased. Since we were on a budget, we just got a bagel every morning instead of the buffet we were lied to about. I let ******* ******* know about this and he said he would reimburse us if we sent him the receipts. Since this was by the third or fourth day, we had not been keeping them. Not to mention, we were eating as cheap as possible for breakfast. Our "professionally guided tours" were a hop-on-hop-off bus ride that was supposed to be our transportation around the city. Our ticket was good for 48 hours BUT it stops at 5pm. We planned on this being our transportation so we had a LOT of extra expense on taxis and the subway. Next was our "first class" trip to Washington DC. It was NOT first class. We were told to sit in coach that our ticket does not allow us to sit in the first class section. When we got to DC, we went to get our 48 hour pass for the hop on hop off and they said that we would only get one day and the bus only ran 10am-5pm. Since it was already 4 pm at this point, it was only good for one hour. That pass was completely useless to us. Again, we had to pay for taxis when we were not planning on the added expense. We also did not get a Local Host in this town like we were promised. Another waste... we had to look everything up last minute because we were hoping the host would give us tips and information. We ended up booking our own tour around town because we didn't get one with the bus that was supposed to be provided to us for 48 hours. I emailed ******* ******* about this and how disappointed I was in all the lies in order for a sale and was not provided any response. I am extremely upset that we are out so much money because of their lies. I have all emails as proof to my claim.

Desired Settlement: My husband and I sat down and added up everything that was accounted for (hotel $229, COACH class train ride $168 for both of us, NYC bus $53 for both of us, DC trolly $39 for both even though we could not use this one). Everything came out to $1623. With taking that away from the $2658 we were charged, I would like a refund of $1035. While I understand the company may charge a little more so that they can make money, I think the amount is ludicrous. This will cover all the extra money we had to spend that was not budgeted for because this company had promised us it was included in our package when it clearly was not. They completely lied about what was offered so that we would book with them. Being an accredited company, we trusted them. I have never felt so ripped off by a company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ July 15, 2014 Better Business Bureau Attn: ******* ****** ***********@bureaudata.com Case ID: XXXXXXXX RE: JNW XXXXX, Invoice #XXXXXX, ****** *X-XXXXXXXX Dear *******, Thank you for the Complaint Activity Report sent to our office on July 7. Since the clients have not written us directly, Traveler Services has had no previous experience with the client. The clients did book their land only package directly through our Customer Sales department. The clients purchased an independent travel package with Monograms, our brand that offers independent packages worldwide. From the complaints noted, it would appear the clients were not fully familiar with what the brochure said about the inclusions for their itinerary and what the package included as many of their complaints are inaccurate. The clients purchased a land only package for $1329 per person. A pre-tour hotel night for the night before the tour started was provided free of charge. Had it been charged, it would have been an additional $169 per person. The clients also received a goodwill gesture of $50 per person pre-tour. The actual total amount paid to the Globus family of brands, after the credit, was $2558 for the two clients. There was nothing else to show on an invoice. Neither travel arrangements nor transfers were purchased from the Globus family of brands. The transfers to/from the train stations were included per the brochure. Tour package prices are not broken out for the exact separate costs for hotels, meals, included sightseeing, etc. because many are inter-dependent. The clients purchased a package; it was not Free Independent Travel where they separately purchase the components such as hotels, meals, included sightseeing and so forth. The daily itinerary notes the types of sightseeing and tours that were included, such as the double-decker buses on 4 different tour loops in New York City. As noted in the brochure, all were hop on, hop off, just as the brochure notes for the one-day trolley tour in Washington DC. The brochure says nothing about professionally guided sightseeing tours. The brochure also notes the inclusions of the tour such as meals if there are any. With this particular itinerary, no included meals are noted. The brochure notes the AMTRAK train service between New York and Washington, DC as being coach class, not first class as stated in the client's complaint. The brochure also notes there will be a local host only in New York. That said, the clients were not lied to. They simply did not read the itinerary well enough to understand what was and was not to be provided. I will try to send a copy of the brochure pages as reference. As a goodwill gesture, the clients will be refunded 20% of the cost of the tour, $511.60, even though all services were provided as outlined in the brochure. Thank you for bringing their concerns to our attention. Sincerely, ****** ***** Traveler Services - Globus family of brands Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, yes, I did write to the company about this. I was speaking to ******* ******* and that was written in my previous complaint. He stopped communication with me which is why I resorted to BBB. I am extremely offended that it makes us seem like we don't know how to read when in fact, the brochure is not our complaint. While I understand that the brochure stated all of these things,I was complaining that the sales representative promised us more which is why we agreed to purchase with this company. You do not get the brochures until you pay for the entire packet. We purchased thinking we were getting much more than we got. The fact is that the sales people lie to get a sale and you do not realize it until it is too late. THAT is my complaint. Since the sales representative gave false advertisement we are still asking for a partial refund to make up for all that they "sell" but don't live up to. What they offer their customers to get a sale is a complete lie and false. If we were told the truth about what we actually got (or given the brochure before purchasing), we would have never purchased with them. I have attached the email where Sasha, the representative, listed everything we were supposed to receive proving the lie. The quote is a little more because this is before she added a promotion that gave us the free extra night. I had to scan the emails which is why it is two separate attachments. As for the travel, she was supposed to add it to our package but never did. With that said, no, we do not accept the response. I am so disappointed with how we are played out to basically be incompetent. I hope she can go back a reread the first complaint to truly understand why we are so upset. We would still like the refund of $1,000 to offset everything their sales representative said we would get. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/08/06) */ August 6, 2014 Better Business Bureau Attn: ******* ****** ***********@bureaudata.com Case ID: XXXXXXXX RE: JNW XXXXX, Invoice #XXXXXX, ****** *X-XXXXXXXX Dear *******, Thank you for the response from the client. We have investigated this further regarding the people Mrs. ****** spoke to during the booking process as well as after the start of the tour. I have now reviewed the statement sent to the clients by the booking agent here, Sasha, as well as her response sent to the clients regarding what was promised. Mrs. ****** quoted from it but I did not realize that until I actually saw the email sent by Sasha. Unfortunately, the agent the clients spoke to was new at the time, and we deeply regret that she did in fact misinform the clients about the tour inclusions. Still, if they had checked the itinerary pre-tour, they would have known this. Potential travelers can always call and request a brochure to be sent to them. They do not have to already have a reservation. Or even simpler, they can simply go online to check the website for the tours they are considering to see what is or is not included. Would the clients buy a car for instance without checking to see in writing what features that particular vehicle included before they bought it? Mike validated the breakfast issue in his July 2 response to the client that no breakfasts were included but they should send in receipts for reimbursement. It still appears the clients never verified online or with the brochure what their independent Monograms package actually included before traveling. They also never contacted Traveler Services either by phone or in writing nor did they send us any receipts for reimbursement after travel as instructed by Mike Herrera. It appears that most of the communication between Mike and the clients was by phone. Mike Herrera, a supervisor in reservations at the time, does not work in Traveler Services, which handles on-tour and post-tour issues. We sincerely apologize if no one here advised the clients to contact Traveler Services regarding their issues. The client is asking for a total refund of $1035. $511.60 has already been refunded to the clients. An additional check for the balance, $523.40, will be sent directly to Mrs. ****** as soon as it is processed. We hope this satisfies the clients. Again, we apologize that the booking agent did not provide accurate information to the clients about the travel package under consideration. Sincerely, ****** ***** Traveler Services - Globus family of brands Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for finally understanding why we were so upset. I hope future customers are guided to where they could find this information that you say is on the website. We never could find anything that was detailed which is why most of our contact was through email. Being a supposed great travel company, one would assume their employees are knowledgeable and trustworthy. The average person believes this and is why they make their purchase. Customers shouldn't have to go through so many hoops to verify whether your employees tell the truth or not. I also hope that you are no longer condescending to your customers. While I am grateful that you have understood our complaint and gave the partial refund we asked for, your backhanded comments solidify my decision to never come back to your company as a customer. The remarks about not being able to read a brochure in your previous response and now extreme downgrading in the comment about purchasing car insurance were not necessary. In fact, saying they were insulting is an understatement. I hope the BBB chooses to publish all of these responses by you so that future customers can see how they will be treated. Please work on this in the future. It is a poor representation for "customer service." Thank you.

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service provided by tour guide was rude, disrespectful and degrading. Service given was not given in the fashion or level as promised by company. In December 2013, a Cosmos guided tour (part of the Globus family), Jewels of Morocco-6780 was purchased (invoice ******). Unfortunately, the tour guide did not give service that was to be provided, was very rude and disrespectful. Also, tour guide manipulated additions for tour to get extra money from patrons.

Desired Settlement: An amicable resolution to this complaint/dispute would be a refund of some form, a certificate for future travel,also a formal apology or acknowledgement of me as a customer and the service that should have been provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/19) */ To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to present to you our research findings based on Ms. *****'s complaints. Ms. ***** did write in to us several times and all of her issues were thoroughly examined with our international tour office, and recently revisited when Ms. ***** wrote back unhappy with the findings. Our department, Traveler Services is the tour quality control area for the Globus family of brands in the United States. Our employees here research and respond to issues of all magnitudes. ************ initially responded to Ms. ***** in her earlier correspondence. Please let us know if you need copies of those responses. We take every complaint from all of our passengers very seriously and especially when allegations are made regarding the tour directors. While, we do empathize with Ms. *****'s feelings or perception of the tour director, we see no evidence that the tour director was rude, disrespectful or degrading to Ms. ***** throughout the duration of the tour. Through reports from the tour director, hotels, and comments from other passengers, however, we did find aggression toward the tour director, hotel personnel and even other passengers from Ms. *****. All of the services promised, were given at the utmost professional level by the tour director, and the Globus family of brands. In fact, on several occasions, ****** (the tour director) assisted Ms. ***** at a hotel with a pre-paid calling card she had problems with (several times), she arrived early at the hotel in Casablanca, so ****** assisted her with her extra night and got her a better rate for that night, he also tried to assist her with changing her return flight home (per airline regulations he was unable to do so, causing complaints from Ms. *****), and also provided a transfer to the airport that was not purchased due to more complaints by Ms. *****. We also have some information from Ms. *****'s fellow travelers that states how "****** (tour director) has been extremely accommodating and helpful throughout the whole trip." We do recognize that Ms. ***** did not personally get along with ****** and regret her personal dislike of him; however that does not validate any lack of performance on his part. The tour members (43 in total) were given questionnaires after the tour and the total number of questionnaires filled out was 42. For the Opinion of the Tour Director; 36 were "Very Good" and 6 were "Good" ratings. Ms. ***** did not turn her questionnaire in. We do respectfully apologize for Ms. *****'s concerns and feelings during the tour, but stand by our first consideration and feel no compensation is warranted at this time, based on the research completed. Sincerely, *************** Traveler Services Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is sad that the company states that they take complaints from all customers seriously when in fact that is not true in any form. The facts of improper treatment, aggression and degrading comments were not addressed properly but instead reasoned to have been appropriate treatment by the tour guide! To respond directly to this BBB complaint and point out the false statements and direct lies 1. ****** never purchased or assisted me (Ms. *****) with a pre-paid calling card at the hotel. (pre-paid cards were not able to be used at any hotels during tour). As a matter of fact I used a phone of another person on the tour. 2. As yes I did arrive to Casablanca a day before the tour my travel arrangements had been set up prior to even meeting ****** and a discount rate was secured by Myself via the internet! But ****** did ask about my rate and even quoted me a HIGHER rate, unaware that I had already made arrangements! 3. The additional half day and evening tours for additional costs were manipulated by ******, where he received additional funds (not the charges paid with credit cards) for items that were to be included. He cushioned costs to receive additional monies. (can be proven) 3. As for the Airline changes, again done by me without any assistance from ****** (or whatever his name may be) I traveled with two other persons on the trip to the airline office to change my arrangements while others including ****** were on a tour or some sort! These lies and way of reasoning for providing poor service to a paying customer traveling in another country is horrible! The service and treatment was noticed by staff at two hotels as ****** yelled at me in a lobby and made me cry uncontrollably!! ****** then pleaded for me to go in back area but had to apologize in the lobby, as I did not trust to go in backroom of hotel by myself with him. As he also yelled and made rude comments towards me as passengers were getting off bus for a break. This was done several times during the trip in front of group and while I was away from group. ****** was very aware of his treatment and disrespect towards me! "I have been rude and I apologize but you played a part also," stated by ****** in hotel lobby. 4. I was not given a questionnaire during the trip. Again, ****** said the reason for this was he did not have enough questionnaires and since I was added at the last minute the company did not have one sent with the rest for me (I believe questionnaires may have had name of traveler preprinted on them, something of the sort) So this proves another statement in the response is just a lie! And by the end of the trip I am sure ****** did not want me to complete a questionnaire as my thoughts and score could have been assumed from the treatment I received. The fact that I have made a complaint with the BBB, shows I would like to have been given a questionnaire and gave an honest review of the tour and the tour guide. The Irony is ****** didn't want me to complete one and didn't attempt to make sure I got one either! Neither did the company. Regardless of what other customers stated in their questionnaire about ******, my concerns and treatment are very much valid and should be addressed properly! I believe ******s treatment of disrespect, rudeness, and degrading comments were very unprofessional and I am even more concerned that it has been stated by me clearly and can even be proven by other passengers on the trip that I was treated in a rude manner but yet the company thinks reasoning or excuses for such treatment is OK! Why? Why is half service, obnoxious and rude behavior supposed to be enough to a full paying customer? Is it because I am a minority? Is it because I did not laugh at the jokes of the tour guide? Is it because he knew I recognized the swindling going on during the trip? Is it because Globus doesn't care, since they have already been paid? What Happen? What happen to the customer is always right. What happen to strive to give the customer the best service and trip in this case, possible? In no way or form has Globus or the representative of the company been sympathetic, offered a remedy to the situation or any of the sort. The bottom line is there was a tour booked and paid by me for two weeks in Morocco. The tour guide and the company are responsible for making sure customers are happy, safe and taken to the places stated in itinerary and treated in a respectful, professional, dignified manner, etc.! This is not what happen with or for me! Period. Globus should rectify this and appease the customer. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 3-31-14 I'm promised by **** at ************ that he will return my call, the same day, after he speaks with airberlin regarding my seat assignment. he even asked me what seating I desired. never heard back from him. 4-12-14 from **** at ************ am advised that there are no seats from airberlin until 24 hrs ahead of departure, but he will call **** to see what happened. he said globus is lucky that all calls are recorded and I agreed how lucky I was, too. then he changed his story to "calls with supervisors are not recorded and only calls to representatives are recorded". I don't mind what calls are recorded or not. nor do I want his own clarification with his own associates. am wanting my assigned seats for 2, as promised in my original booking with **** the agent at ************ on march 6. I know better than to go to the airport without an assignned seat or wait and hope for a seat assignment 24 hours ahead. this is not how to travel, an experience with which I am well familiar. Product_Or_Service: tour Order_Number: ******* Account_Number: ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) desire the seat assignment for 2 as promised; can not travel without a seat assignment. truthful agents would be a benefit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/15) */ On 3/31/2014 we spoke with Mrs. ********* who had multiple questions and requests for her reservation. We were able to answer all questions and advised that we will need to work with the airlines directly. She received a call back regarding the seat assignments the same day advising would need more time to get a response for something that is not standard request with the airline. After research with airlines they will not allow tour operator to make seat arrangements and only will assign at time of check in. We have advised by voicemail 4/15/2014 after speaking with all involved parties that she will be able to make the requests directly on the airlines website for a fee. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) finally receiving a call back by voicemail on 4-15 (no other calls ever received). no explanation from business about "change in story" about recordings. my view is that this is just intimidation. caller on 4-15 actually left me a message to go on line and buy my own seat. am alleging fraud now. certainly, the sale of an airline ticket by globus without disclosing the need for further payment for a seat is a sale that is misrepresented and not what it appears to be. have also learned that no on line check-in is offered as suggested to me previously by mike on 3-31. check in is only 3 hrs. ahead of time at the airport. globus again relying on a perversion of the truth to get a sale. will accept $46.60 from globus which is the charge for a seat reservation along with a written apology.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Waiting for Refund This refund/credit owed was due to some other previous issue and not included in this complaint. My travel buddy and I am due a refund of $25 each on a tour that I booked for March. I know this doesn't appear to be a large amount but I recommended Globus to my friend and feel responsible for getting her this refund/credit. I previously spoke with a Globus rep (***********) about a month ago and it was approved. She stated that she also contacted my travel agent. I have to date not yet received this refund and have left several voice messages to my travel agent and Ms ******* without anyone returning my calls. I would like to know the status and like to receive this refund as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I would like refunds of $25 each to both myself and my travel buddy as soon as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ We truly apologize that the clients were not refunded for the transfer cost as promised. We have refunded $25 to both Ms. ******* and her traveling companion Ms. ******. The refund is being processed today(3/3/2014) back to the credit card we have on file. We are very sorry for the frustration this caused. Best regards, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/03/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Relentless and extreme rude unprofessional behaviors from the Tour Director. Other sub-par product and service elements. Tour Director: *In Coimbra and in Seville, your Tour Director publicly raised his voice and chastised your customer at the receptionist desk in the hotel lobby. *He did not care that he was poorly representing Cosmos in front of your business partners (the hotels) or in front of the entire group of customers. *His words and his actions were out-of-sync. He told me he would ensure that the hotels separated the beds (as part of the shared room) and provide two keys. However, that did not happen for the remaining three hotels. *He was a problem creator, not a problem solver. He could have easily asked the hotels to separate the beds. Instead, he let your customer repeatedly move furniture on their vacation. In every one of the five hotels in which we stayed, I moved beds, nightstands, desks, chairs and tables in order to separate the twin beds. While my roommate and I agreed to share a room, we did not agree to share a bed. Two twin beds completely touching each other are the equivalent of sharing a bed. *Commencing in Coimbra (our second hotel), the Tour Director knew this was an issue. Instead of trying to help, he virtually yelled at your customer in the lobby and physically got "in my face" while doing so. He displayed a complete lack of professionalism, courtesy and good judgment. *A very similar situation occurred at the front desk at the hotel in Seville. He again displayed a complete lack of professionalism, courtesy and good judgment. *In Coimbra, he promised me he would 'start the process' of a formal complaint to Cosmos. However, I did not hear anything beyond that and can only presume that he never did what he said he would do. *When I paid for my optional excursion in Seville, the Tour Director refused to answer my questions. He simply looked at me with a blank stare. He finally said something like you are nothing and I don't need to answer your questions. *That behavior completely upset me, resulting in my crying for the rest of the night. Despite my being pleasant and polite and trying to put our previous differences behind us, he pursued with his mean-spirited behaviors. He just could not give it up and pushed and pushed until I was crying. *Right up to our last interaction when I handed him my survey, he still had to be relentlessly snarky and unprofessional. He just could not give it up and seemed to have a personal vendetta against your customer. *Here are some of the ways your customers described the Tour Director: inexperienced, "he is what he is", unprofessional, short-tempered, "not good", disappointing, over his head, combative, feisty and rude. *Based on my experience, I also add: sassy, confrontational, relentlessly mean, evil-spirited, and a disgrace to his profession. *He repeatedly displayed behaviors which showed he had an aversion to customer service and did not have any professional pride or decorum. *Every other Tour Director I have met has been friendly, fun, professional and helpful. This Tour Director was the complete opposite. *He was clearly just there for a paycheck and not to provide any type of good service to your customers. *Cosmos entrusted the Tour Director with 41 of your customers. He was a despicable representative of your organization and negatively affected your brand and bottom line. There were many other negative aspects to the trip, including: the welcome reception, the hotel in Lisbon, the attire and speech of the Tour Director, the optional excursion in Sintra, the lunch en route to Seville, the restaurant recommendation from the Tour Director, the Tour Director sleeping on the job, the Tour Director refusing to provide confidentiality stickers to the survey, the Seville hotel change, the group picture debacle, the lack of bus service, the unfair practices of the Tour Director, the too political and too personal commentary from the Tour Director and being required to go to the airport way too early. I'm glad to elaborate on all of these. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Refund based on lack of delivery of professional product and services

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/17) */ Below is the response sent to Ms. ******* on 10/10/13.A 25% refund,in the amount $500 was issued on 10/14/13. the amount represented a 25% refund of the land cost of the tour. We are still looking into the matter further. It is hour hope we will be able to fully resolve this mattter. Dear Ms. *******, Thank you very much for your time and effort providing us with information regarding your recent tour. Please know that Group Voyagers takes your concerns very seriously. I will personally be researching the points you raised and will in communication with our Europe office ensuring all issues are addressed and documented. This process will at the very least take a few weeks. Tour directors are such an important part of a journey that it is especially disappointing when any of our tour members express concern. We recognize that at times there are personality differences that can affect the interaction between guides and clients. These instances may or may not be connected to sub-par performance, and must be reviewed to understand everyone's point of view. We truly apologize that your travel experience concerning the tour director was far below your expectations, and that it had such a negative impact on your personal enjoyment of the tour. Please be assured a copy of your email will be shared with my Operational Headquarters in Europe, for intense review. Tour directors are contracted employees, whose continued service with us is based on customer satisfaction, and we appreciate the time that you have taken, to make us aware of your concerns. It is with sincere regret that we were unable to completely satisfy your expectations on this occasion. We normally do not extend compensation until all research and documentation is received from all parties, however we would like to extend to you a gesture of goodwill for your overall disappointments that you have expressed, in order to resolve the matter for you in a more timely matter. Therefore we will be requesting a check to be issued early next week in the amount of $500, which represents a 25% refund of the land cost of your tour. The used services such as hotels, transportation, sightseeing and all other elements of the tour package were taken into consideration when determining this resolution. Thank you once again for sharing your impressions. Please know that we will continue to research and make any necessary adjustments for future tours. We appreciate your personal contribution to our quality control efforts. Please feel free to email me directly should you have any additional questions or concerns. Regards, **** ********* Supervisor of Traveler Services Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2013/11/27) */ Dear Ms. *********, Thank you for your note and for all of your time, effort and communication. With all due respect, the total compensation has been $800. As I noted, I'm not sure about trusting Cosmos/Globus again based on this situation. The $250 in vouchers has not been realized and may never be realized. As you/Globus probably realize, pursuing arbitration or legal action in Colorado does not make sense in this case. I could do so on principle but this was never about principle; it has been about real situations -- primarily your relentlessly rude and unprofessional Tour Director -- that ruined my vacation. Although this does not seem resolved from my perspective, I will consider it so and also close the Better Business Bureau case. The legal clause in your terms and conditions is forcing this closed and is something for your clients to be aware of. Again, thank you for all of your help and for Globus' partial compensation. Indeed, it was a very unfortunate situation and I sincerely hope your Tour Director and organization have learned something valuable, as I have. Best regards, ***** ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/11/26) */ We truly regret that the client feels the matter is not completely resolved. Both parties feel that they were disrespected by the other. The guide is supposed to carry himself in a professional manner despite any personal differences with clients. The issue was addressed directly with him and action was taken. All surveys and reports were reviewed and the guide received high ratings. We also reviewed his rating for the entire season, which were all favorable. The total amount paid by the client for her 9 day tour was $2179 which included airfare. The land cost of the tour was $1189,and we have provided the client compensation totaling $1050 which is the majority of her land cost which included, guide services, included sightseeing in 4 different cites, 5 different hotels, transportation services with driver, breakfast every day and 3 included dinners. All these services were provided and used by the client. All things taken into consideration, we feel that the refund issued is more than fair.No further consideration will be given.I will forward the additional correspondence that was sent to the client. **** ********* Supervisor of Traveler Services

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I booked a tour (Old Trails of the West)with Globus which was leaving Oct. 5th.We were to see National Parks and Monuments along with some other sightseeing. Almost all promotion pictures were of the parks we were suppose to see. Before the government shutdown, Globus knew the road inside of the Rocky Mt. National park had flooded so we couldn't go there. Also, the Royal Gorge suspension bridge had burned and we couldn't go there either. Then the government on Oct. 1st shut down the National parks and monuments so we couldn't see them! This all happened BEFORE we left on Oct. 5th. At no time did Globus contact us. All contact with the company started with us. Nothing was posted on their website to indicate what was happening. If all this happened WHILE we were on tour, they should not be held responsible. But they were well aware of the circumstances before Oct. 5th. We had travel insurance but it didn't cover "every instance". Many conversations we had with the company prior to Oct. 5th proved fruitless. They merely said "well, you're going to see other things. However, the big draw were the national parks as they advertised. We did receive $42 pp cash refund for the national parks.But when you spend over $5300 plus airfare, that's hardly compensation.We did not expect a refund but instead a credit to take a trip with Globus at a later date. The tour director tried to substitute other things which were quite inferior to what we were suppose to see. In short, we didn't get what we paid for and it was a situation they were well aware of before the start of the trip.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund If a refund is not possible, then a credit for the full amount of the trip to be used on another Globus tour by the end of 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/23) */ October 23, 2013 Better Business Bureau RE: *** *****, ******, ** ********** To whom it may concern, We appreciate being made aware of the concern of the passengers; we received their formal complaint on 10/23 and welcome the opportunity to respond. We sincerely regret that their tour was interrupted by the government shutdown and impacted their overall enjoyment of the tour. We also apologize that their tour was impacted by the Royal Gorge bridge burning as well as the flood in Rocky Mountain National park. We had no prior knowledge that these situations would occur. These unfortunate events were beyond our control and we did the best we could to continue to make the tour enjoyable for all passengers by coming up with new arrangements for multiple tours in the National Park sites. There were no modifications to meals or accommodations, all contacted services were used. The tour director also refunded the group on tour for any park entrance fees or inclusions that were not provided. We truly apologize that the clients were affected by these unfortunate situations and that it affected their overall enjoyment of the tour. As a gesture of good will, we would like to extend $200 per person in touring dollars to be used on a future tour with us. It is our hope that with this gesture of goodwill, this will restore the client's faith in our company. Sincerely, ********* ***** Traveler Services Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company is wrong. They did know the Royal Bridge had burned prior to Oct. 1st. They also knew the Rocky Mountain Park road was closed due to the floods. Then Oct. 1st the National Parks closed. Our tour started Oct. 5th. They had all that information prior to the start of the trip so they definitely controlled the situation. They chose to have their clients get on a plane to see things they would not have a chance of seeing. The $200 vouchers were a slap in the face. It doesn't appear that they understand that none of the National Parks could be visited on the tour. We did visit one state park that was planned but the other was not worth the time to get there. In the area, if you don't see the national parks, there's nothing else to do but ride the bus around. We're very disappointed with the Globus response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Globus Family of Brands
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart