Click for BBB Rating on Firestone Tire and Serv (Bridgestone-Firestone)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firestone Tire and Serv (Bridgestone-Firestone) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company's headquarters and company owned locations throughout the country participate as members of the BBB. This means they support the BBB's services to the public and meet our membership standards.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Firestone Tire and Serv (Bridgestone-Firestone). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Firestone Tire and Serv (Bridgestone-Firestone).


Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1900 Business started locally: 01/01/1900
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Scheer, District Manager Mr. Ian Bartoli, Store Manager Mr. Joel Carlson, Store Manager Mr. Christopher Cooley, Store Manager Mr. Mark Craig, Store Manager Mr. Bob Cunningham, Store Manager Mr. Anthony Dionese, Store Manager Mr. Charlie Estep, Store Manager Mr. Gary Farmer, Store Manager Mr. George Garcia, Store Manager Mr. Chris Garner, Customer Service Mgr Mr. Dean Gavin, Store Manager Mr. Grahm Hanavan, Store Manager Mr. W. Hollinger, Store Manager Mr. Kevin Howe, Assistant District Manager Mr. Kevin Lasley, Store Manager Mr. Art Martinez, Store Manager Mr. Stephen Masters, Store Manager Bobbie Lene Miller, Store Manager Bureau Network Division Mr. Wayne Nguyen, Store Manager Mr. Paul Ortiz, Store Manager Mr. Richard Orton, Store Manager Mr. Raymond Steele, Store Manager Mr. Patrick Sullivan, Store Manager Mr. Patrick Sullivan, Store Manager Mr. Patrick Thomas, Store Manager Mr. Murray Tyler, Store Manager Mr. Glenn Warner, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Scheer, District Manager
Business Category

Tire Retread & Repair Battery Supplies Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Shock Absorbers Tire Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems

Alternate Business Names
Bridgestone - Firestone Inc Expert Tire GCR Tire Center GCR Tire Centers Mark Morris Tire Tire Station
Products & Services

According to information in BBB files, this company operates a chain of more that 1,600 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.

Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Additional Locations

  • 10160 Grant St

    Thornton, CO 80229

  • 10380 W. Colfax Ave.

    Lakewood, CO 80215 (303) 238-6343

  • 10501 S.Parker Rd.

    Parker, CO 80134 (720) 851-8100

  • 10525 Melody Dr.

    Northglenn, CO 80234 (303) 452-5924

  • 10955 E. Mississippi Ave.

    Aurora, CO 80012 (303) 341-4120

  • 1244 State Hwy 74

    Evergreen, CO 80439 (303) 674-2447

  • 13511 Huron St

    Westminster, CO 80234

  • 16380 E Arapahoe Rd

    Foxfield, CO 80016 (303) 627-9105

  • 1800 Coalton Rd

    Broomfield, CO 80021 (303) 486-1383

  • 18701 E. Hampden Ave.

    Aurora, CO 80013 (303) 693-7374

  • 18761 Ponderosa Dr

    Parker, CO 80134

  • 2000 Broadway

    Denver, CO 80205 (303) 292-0914

  • 2060 Main Street

    Longmont, CO 80501

  • 25515 E Smoky Hill Rd

    Aurora, CO 80016

  • 2996 West 104th Ave.

    Denver, CO 80234 (303) 466-3313

  • 3120 S. Peoria

    Aurora, CO 80014 (303) 696-8190

  • 3395 30th St.

    Boulder, CO 80301 (303) 443-3661

  • 3501 S. Fox St.

    Englewood, CO 80110 (303) 761-0940

  • 3710 Quebec St

    Denver, CO 80207

  • 3720 E. 120th Ave.

    Thornton, CO 80233 (303) 457-1415

  • 38 E. Allen St.

    Castle Rock, CO 80108 (303) 688-8223

  • 4392 Eaton St.

    Denver, CO 80212 (303) 422-3406

  • 4405 Chambers Road

    Denver, CO 80234

  • 5170 W 120th Ave

    Westminster, CO 80020

  • 5325 Olde Wadsworth Blvd

    Arvada, CO 80002

  • 575 S Vance St

    Lakewood, CO 80226

  • 635 S. Colorado Blvd.

    Denver, CO 80222 (303) 744-7086 (303) 790-7488

  • 6783 W. Canyon Ave.

    Littleton, CO 80123 (303) 973-3100

  • 7810 W 80th Ave

    Arvada, CO 80005 (303) 422-9188

  • 796 S Abilene St

    Aurora, CO 80012

  • 7980 S. Broadway

    Littleton, CO 80122 (303) 797-9660

  • 8201 S. Holly

    Littleton, CO 80122 (303) 773-1011

  • 8555 W. Belleview

    Littleton, CO 80123 (303) 973-6284

  • 8660 E. Arapahoe

    Englewood, CO 80112 (303) 773-6555

  • 8669 S. Quebec

    Highlands Ranch, CO 80124 (303) 346-9042 (303) 346-9042

  • 9000 Park Meadows Dr

    Lone Tree, CO 80124

  • 920 E 120th Ave

    Northglenn, CO 80233

  • 940 S. Hover Rd.

    Longmont, CO 80501 (303) 776-6460

  • Bldg. 1, Stop 17

    Buckley AFB, CO 80111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the same Firestone for an oil change the past two times. At the middle of the oil life (50% or 2,500 miles) I've had to pour extra oil into my engine both times. It wasn't until the second time that I knew there was a leak somewhere. On the Firestone website they say the following quote in regards to an oil change/leak, "When we perform an oil change service, our tire and auto service professionals will check your engine for oil leaks." Now back to the times I brought my car in for service, I would bring it in for an oil change and tire rotation or new tires all together. While my car was in the shop I was given the impression that the services I asked for to be taken care of and anything related to the area in question that doesn't look, work, or feel right to be brought to my attention. Both times my car was in the shop for oil changes, I was called with additional items that was said should be a concern of mine. So a $50 oil change turned into a $700 tuneup to things unrelated to my original service request. I couldn't afford everything they added sometimes too. Where I feel this complaint comes to light is when I have been coming here for the past two oil changes with not one word being mentioned on the condition of my engine in regards to leaks, even though it's what they advertise on their website half way ****************************************************************/). They did however, during that "oil change service", investigate other areas of my car that weren't originally on the ticket, and whether it's due to incompetence or lack of good practice, the safety net that they clearly talk about on their website linked above, was not provided to me and in turn has left me with an engine oil leak 12,000 miles later to deal with. Which, of course they are unwilling to recognize any involvement or connection and don't even know what I'm talking about when I refer them to their website quoting the service that should be provided. Product_Or_Service: oil change

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Repair A free full diagnostics done on the oil leak. Depending on the dollar amount required to fix the leak, I would like 50% off the parts. I would pay up to 50 in full on my own but I would like compensation for a more expensive part because of the potential & exponential increase in cost when driving on an oil leaking engine. Labor should come out of their pocket because this was something I was willing to pay for when I dropped off my car originally and preventative checks weren't done

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2015/09/17) */ He states he didn't know about the oil leak BUT as he shows he actually looked up oil leak not oil change. I offered him to do a free diag and 10% off any services he would like us to perform. He said "Its going to cost me 2K and I don't have that type of money" I asked him how he knows what it would cost, no answer. I also offer a refund for oil changes. I also went over our actual Oil Change advertisement and it doesn't state we look for oil leaks on this service. Other recommendations were made based off Maint suggestions and miles. Below is what he is referring to and sent me. Sorry I can copy and past the add but it states he looked up Car Oil Leak Repair NOT and Oil Change. Under the Car Oil Leak repair we charge a Diag fee and YES recomend doing an oil change with this service. All this was explained and this was based off the add he sent me. ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came in wanting to have my car diagnosed. After i had my repairs they created another issue for them to repair. I went in to get my car checked since it was not passing ********* they said i would be two things i needed but if i did one of them i was sure to be good enough to pass ********** I replaced what they said i needed and it was very expenisve but i was willing to do it because i wanted to get my car to pass ********** I went in had the work done and when i picked up my car i test drove it and told them it had a horrible squeak when i would brake and the mechanic **** told me that they replaced some parts and the plastic would be melting as it gets adjusted to the new parts so i would be hearing some noise for a while and to not be concerned about that noise. I went off and for two whole weeks i heard that loud noise every time i brake. I am a women a 22 year old who knows nothing about cars and i believe they took advantage of that. I went back told them to please check why it is still making such a loud noise and they said it was my brakes that my brakes were so bad it literally had no pad left and that is why my car was squeaking so loudly everytime i braked. I am not a car expert but i know that my car did not make any noises previous to getting it repaired by them and after i left they specifiaclly told me to be warned by the nolse and that with time it would go away. When i went back and they said it was my brakes i told them that why is it that jon the mechanic said it would make a noise and now magically the noise if from the brakes. He denied saying it would make noises and they quickly wanted to quote me on a new brake pads for my car. I left because i felt like they were thinking i was a joke they didnt take me serious and for a long time i felt very upset that they took advantage of me as a customer causing another issue to my car. I took my car to another shop and i was so upset that my car brake had been altered with. They assured me that the plug for the brake would not be unplugged unless someone did that and i never have done anything to my car so i know that was something done by this firestone shop. I am upset that they do this to customers and i am sure it happens more often and people never report it. I took a long time to come forward because I wasnt sure if i wanted to deal with talking about it. I am a single girl who cant afford these type of repairs and the brakes being altered with is so upsetting because i could have crashed and they would have been at fault but they thought i would repair it with them right away after they caused the issue but i am glad i didnt go back and i will never go back there.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund the amount they charged to repair my car in the first place since they violated my rights and caused more issues on my vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ Because a central location is used for our address I sent her an email to ask what store she visited. I did not hear back. I'll try again Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** *** *********** */ I tried to call the phone number provided but it said the phone number i was calling has not been assigned? Please email me a better number to talk to or call me and leave a voicemail. I do not have a full voicemail. Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */ I would like to talk to the customer to work out a resolution. Please call ***** Utter, Area manager at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for a front end alignment on my f150 truck. When I picked it up Nic told me it was fixed. He then handed me the paperwork from the alignment machine which DOCUMENTED the fact that the alignment was not done at all. Product_Or_Service: front end alignment Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund A full refund plus for wasting my time. They might as well take the machine out of the store. It's just wasting space because they don't use it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ The customer came in for an alignment. we performed the alignment best as possible. To complete the alignment it needed a shim, shim couldnt be found on this day. Customer was advised. After hearing about complaint through our 1-800 number store manager called and spoke to the customer and went over this and at that time also offered to refund his credit card the same one he used to pay for it. customer said no that he already disputed this charge with his credit card company. Customer was supposed to call store manager Travis back and never heard back from him. we have no problem with refunding his purchase only but cant with a dispute as he will get double credit back. **** L Dexter Area Manager DVLT Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) THAT IS A LIE! I checked with the NAPA store next door to Firestone to see if they had camber bushings in stock.(Before I took the truck in. And YES the store was open on Sunday.) NAPA has stocked camber bushings for F150's for decades. I also told Nic that I had adjustable camber bushings installed years earlier. He had NO clue what I was talking about. If you don't have the competence to align the number 1 selling vehicle in the nation, why do you have a machine in the store? I used a credit card and they pulled the money back for me. Firestone had no choice in the matter. Mike ******* Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ This has ben looked into. The customer as he has stated above did have his credit card company dispute the charges and customer as he stated did pay for services. I will address the part issue and adreess the service issue in house. I/We appoligize .

8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car into Firestone on Thursday morning at 7:00 a.m., and did not have an appointment. I wanted them to change the oil and to check my check engine light, and I authorized them to do anything that would be less than $500. I received a call around noon telling me that I needed my catalytic converters (plural because my car seems to have two), changed which would cost $850; the O2 sensors changes at $300; my ball joints changed at $700. I told him that when I took the car in, that I authorized $500 worth of work done, but lets go ahead with the catalytic converters for $850. On Friday, I get a phone call telling me that they are having issues getting the right catalytic converter as there are 5 different types, and they have so far ordered the wrong one twice. They have two more on order, but if they want to be guaranteed to get it right, the last one would take a week to get there (not good as I need my car to get to work). I get called later on in the afternoon saying that they have the right one and will be done either Friday night or Saturday morning. On Saturday at 11:30, they called and told me that the car was ready.My friend *** took me to get my car at 3:00 and they start to rattle off what they have done to my car: they changed the oil (good), they did the catalytic converters (good), they did the O2 sensors STOP RIGHT THERE!!! I said. Wait a minute. I had only wanted them to do the catalytic converters. I TOLD the guy on the phone I only wanted those done and nothing else. The guy I had talked to was standing right there. His reply was Well, if you do not get the O2 sensors done, the converters will die out in a couple of months. Why didnt you explain that to me while we were on the phone? Oh, I guess that was my mistake for not giving you a grand total on what needed to be done. But for the record, the converter that we had to put in was more expensive than I quoted you, so we are eating the cost there. Converter? As in a single one? I was told that it was two. Oh, well, it is one unit. Ok, so what is the total cost right now? $1300. Well, that is more than I can pay right now. Lets see what we can do to help you out how does $1200 sound? Like still way too much for me to be able to pay. Thankfully, my friend *** was there and put the rest on her card, otherwise I would not have my car back.They two people at the counter were very condescending, and I felt very rude. I have worked retail and technical support for many years, and I did not feel that I had received any empathy on their part, and that very little was done to assist me. They were obviously in the wrong, but I still have to pay for their mistake.In the future, I will not go to Firestone ever again, not even for something as minor as an oil change. I will go to my friend ****** for recommendations, and I will do my best to discourage people from going to Firestone.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I had requested and was willing to pay for the converter at that time. They went ahead and put in the O2 sensors which is not what I wanted, and then charged me for it. I think more could have been done to help me out - after all, they did not even offer me to apply for their own credit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/12) */ Contacted customer 8/11/14 apologized for the miscommunication and lack explanation. Asked customer how the vehicle was running and if the problem was fixed and what we could to to resolve the matter. Customer stated that the vehicle was running fine and that since all of the parts were already in the car, if we refunded the labor charge he would accept that as a resolution to this matter. we agreed on a refund od $412.39 to be mailed to customer within 10-12 days.

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishonesty; fixing the wrong problem and then not fixing the right problem. Product_Or_Service: service/ air conditioning

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I have been led on for so long trying to resolve this that I know there will be no resolution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/05/06) */ Called customer 5/6/14 requesting callback at ************. I understand her fustration and want to resolve this matter once and for all.

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our first visit(3/3/14) was when my husband and I took our 2005 Hyundai Santa Fe into their shop to have an oil pan gasket replaced. We also had a tune up and fuel injection cleaning done as well. When we left the shop the car ran great. Very quiet and smooth. About a week went by and the check engine light was on so I called. They said to bring the car in . They checked the car out and told me that with the carbon coming out of the fuel injectors it triggered the O2 sensor and set off the check engine light. Then the check engine light came on again within a day or two and took the car in again and they replaced O2 sensor. During the first visit we were told that the timing chain may need a change. A few days later we noticed something leaking from the engine and took the car in again. The water pump was going so we had them keep the care and take care of it. They used a kit that included the timing belt and other pieces. The next day when we picked up our care it did not have the pick up it did before and the care vibrated. Our care had never done this at all. Even before any work was done. So we took the car back in again. They insisted nothing was wrong. We told them that there was no pick up. We left and as we were going home the care was losing power. We turned around and took the car back. They looked at us like we were crazy. My husband went with them for the ride to check it out. The check engine light came on and care lost power and then regained power. This proved to them that we were not crazy and something was not right. They needed to repair our car. We did not have any of this trouble before. They took the car in and replaced the sensor near the ignition. Car still ran rough and vibrated. We were told repeatedly it was fine and would make the trip from Colorado to Florida. Well coming across country the care ran horrible, burned gas and check engine light came on. We had Firestone in Port Orange on Williamson fix it and it runs like a new care.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I do want funds for Total of $1,042.16. With all the headache, having to come back into the store too many times, for them not listening to us and sending us out the door, the worry across country because the car ran crappy and burn more gas then it should have and having to take it into Firestone on Williamson in Port Orange to have someone fix it the right way. Come to find out, the timing belt was off 3 teeth. Obviously someone back in Littleton did not bother to listen to us or check it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/18) */ i have spoken to ****** and we truly apologize about the inconvenience of having to bring the vehicle back. we value your business and we always strive to deliver seperior service. i am glade that one our stores was able to take care of the issue and get you back on the road safley. we feel that you had to spend additional fuel because the vehicle did not run 100% efficient and for your inconvenience we would like to extend a refund of $200. thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/04/22) */ From: ****** (****) (mailto:********************) Sent: Tuesday, April 22, 2014 12:13 PM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: (SPAM) Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#73-6993-********-6-1100) Importance: Low Hello, The issue has been resolved pending refund to be put in bank account. Thank you, ****** *****

4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The engine Firestone put in my car after they completely ruined my original engine is a year older,has 20k more miles,leaks oil and is unsatisfactory On September 6, 2013 my wife took our car to Firestone for an oil change and the tech. neglected to replace the oil after draining it. The engine seized up after driving off Firestone's lot. I lifted the hood and the engine oil cap was sitting on the lip where the hood meets the front end. Firestone had it towed to their lot so they could evaluate the engine. It was then towed to a Go Chevy dealership to replace the engine. I called the Firestone store to get the District Managers contact information. After many failed phone call attempts, I called the dealership that was putting the engine in my car to obtain information about the engine. I was told it was a year newer engine and had less miles by the dealership. During the entire process I was never contacted by the District Manager or a representative of Firestone to give me any useful information or even offer me my money back for the failed oil change that started this whole fiasco. After a month I was able to return the rental car that Firestone paid for and take my car home. I looked up the VIN# off the "newer engine" that was installed, it was a year older and had 92,711 miles on it which is about 20,000 more miles than the original engine. I noticed oil was leaking from beneath the car a couple days later. After another very slow response, Firestone paid for the seals to be replaced to stop the leaks. I took the car in for an oil change today and the tech. told me that the engine is a half quart low on oil and leaking. Due to my past experiences I have decided to use the forum of the BBB in order to get an actual response from a decision maker within Firestone. My vehicle has been depreciated because the engine Firestone paid to put in my car is 1 year older than the body of my car and has 20,000 more miles on it than what the odometer in the vehicle reads. The customer service from the beginning of September has been less than satisfactory. The engine is still leaking oil. I have yet to be offered a refund for the initial oil change from September. I am requesting that Firestone acknowledge their mistakes and compensate for them.

Desired Settlement: The KBB value of a 2004 Saturn L300 with 20,000 more miles on the engine is $1353.00 less than a 2005 Saturn L300 with 76000 miles, which is what my vehicles odometer reads. I am requesting the depreciated value of $1353.00 as my car may as well be considered the lesser of the two car values. I also request a refund for the oil change.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/07) */ Have contacted customer working on getting other items repaired. Also have made an offer to refund the original service as well as compensating for the customer's concern of the the deminished value of the vehicle. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/02/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like to add that we also discussed compensation for time I have spent dealing with this issue. My hourly rate is $26.50 and I have spent an average of 2 hours a week for the past 20 weeks working to resolve this. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/03/21) */ We offered a final settlement to the customer to resolve this matter. The customer accepted our offer and the final payment was sent to the customer 3/7/14.

3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Firestone on 12/29/13 to have a nail removed from my tire. When I got home I discovered my front end was trashed, and they were the only ones who could possibly have done it. I had just gotten my car washed and had stood at the front of it and talked to the guy doing the work. Also, fluid was leaking onto my garage floor which had just been swept the day before. I found my car parked at the end of their lot where I couldn't see the damage, and finally, during every conversation they never denied it. In fact they told me they were either going to repair my car or give me a check. I gave them copies of my police report and three estimates for the repair, and then they called and said they would not pay for the repair. No reason, just that they weren't going to pay for it. My husband had a similar problem with them years before and they refused to pay for damage they had done to his car too. I am outraged that a national corporation refuses to take responsibility for damage done by one of their employees and instead expects the car owner to pay the bill which is $1,500 in this case. A different employee told me they didn't even put my car into a bay, but fixed the car in the parking lot, and I assume that when they took the jack out from underneath it, it fell down onto the top of the concrete curb. Such sloppy, irresponsible and ultimately damaging work by a supposedly trusted national company. If I could afford to sue them in court, I would. They don't deserve to be in business. Product_Or_Service: simple tire repair

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want Firestone to do the ethical thing which is to pay for the repair of my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/14) */ we are reviwing all aspect of this case.during our invistigation we don't see how we could have done the damage.we have noted on the inspection form of body damage to vehicle prior to service. we submitted the case to our claim department to sort out and make a decision.the customer has been notified of the processes.feel free to contact me with any questions. *** ***** assistant district manager. ***-***-**** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There are numerous reasons why I know the damage occurred at your location, and I have shared this information in my police report and with your manager who has never denied the damage took place there. In fact in my initial conversation with him on the phone which I have saved, he said that he would be happy to take care of take care of problem, and later he said that you guys were either going to repair my car or give me a check. Only after you found out how much it was going to cost did you say you weren't going to pay for it. And you STILL didn't deny the damage was done there, only that you weren't going to pay for it. That hardly sounds like someone who can't imagine how the damage was done. Next, when I picked up my car it was parked away from all the cars in the lot which I found curious since there were plenty of places right in front of your bays, but the way it was parked prevented me from seeing the damage. Next, I had just gotten my car detailed the previous day at Waterway and stood outside and walked around my car numerous times with the guy who was working on it. I certainly would have noticed my damaged front end then. From that point all I did was drive my car home, and then drive it to your place the next morning. There is no other place it could have occurred except there. Next, when my husband who had just swept out our garage the previous day, pointed out my front end, we noticed that fluid was leaking onto the garage floor, not a lot, but enough for us to know that this had just occurred. Next, the front end had been cleaned up; there was no debris around, and it was clear that you were trying to hide what you had done to my car in the hope that I wouldn't notice for a while and then you could do what you are now doing, refusing to accept responsibility for what one of your employees did. Finally, I even know HOW you did the damage because one of your employees screwed up and told me. You didn't put my car into a bay like you were supposed to, but jacked it up in the parking lot, and when you pulled the jack out, it slammed the front end of my car down on the concrete bumper in the front. When I came back to your place because you also hadn't balanced my tire after taking the nail out, one of your guys AGAIN didn't put my car into a bay, but just backed it up outside and balanced it there. So I know this something your employees do. I find your attitude about accepting responsibility for damage you do to cars reprehensible as well as unethical. I will not stop pursuing your repairing the damage you did to my car until you do it, and I will do whatever it takes to MAKE you do the right thing by me. Frankly, I don't know how nay of you "managers" sleep with yourselves at night. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/03/22) */ we moved the vehicle few feet from parking spot to front of the bay to repair rear tire. we did not damage the vehicle. we did do the right thing and submitted the vehicle to our claim department. they will invistage and sort out. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) And so once again you lie publicly about damaging my car. I went on the *** ****** show, and he had an auto expert look at the photos I had sent him in advance. That person said I could not possibly have done the damage to my car, that it had been done TO it, and your store manager refused to be interviewed on the air, but he did manage once again to lie to the interviewer and say that he had written that my car was damaged when I brought it in on my paperwork. The interviewer asked him to send him that paperwork, which he never did. I had the paperwork in front of me during the interview and did send it on, showing that there was nothing indicated on the paperwork that there was anything wrong with my car. When I first spoke to the store manager he told me several times that Firestone was going to "take care of the problem." It wasn't until the district manager got involved that they changed their story, I assume because they all agreed that I couldn't prove that they had damaged my car. This is what angers me so much, that a multi-billion dollar corporation would refuse to accept responsibility for damage one of their employees did, and instead force me, a retired woman living on a pension to pay $1,000 to have my car repaired. If my health warranted, I would stand in front of your store every day until I died picketing and trying to talk people out of giving you their business. In terms of your saying you have turned this over to your claim department, you know as well as I do, that your claims department has already looked at my claim and without talking to me or doing any kind of investigation at all, again agreed that I couldn't prove anything and so denied my claim. All this happened long ago. The only reason you are responding now is because my insurance company, bless them, has agreed to try to take all of this one step further and try to get you to do the right thing and repay me for the cost of the repair. Your little statement about being committed to giving the best service possible written in bold letters behind your counter makes me want to vomit. May I finally say that when your daughters and wives encounter this kind of business practice and get stonewalled and lied to at every turn, I hope you will remember me and how you have treated me throughout this entire "investigation." Shame on you! And shame on Firestone for keeping you on its payroll.

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Firestone is responsible for air in brake line and faulty brake system with no resolution. I had my brakes repaired at firestone in aurora co buckley afb building 1 stop 17.The next day they made a loud noise when I stoped, I took the car back and the store informed me they put the wrong rotors on.The store then repaired that problem but when I picked the car up there was air in the lines and now I have to pump my brakes every time I stop I was told by someone at the mississippi store in aurora colorado that sam informed them that because the car was sent to a third party to bleed the brakes firestone was no longer responsible for the problem and now I am being ignored by firestone and I want MY CAR THE SAME WAY IT WAS WHEN I BROUGHT IT IN FOR REPAIR.....A 500.00 BRAKE JOB STOPS MY BRAKES FROM STOPPING THE CAR LIKE THEY WERE INTEND TO

Desired Settlement: Repair to factory setting or refund 500.00 for brake job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/20) */ back in november 2012 we did brake job ( hardware only)on his vehicle. Mr ***** had complained about the pedal too soft. we looked further into it but we could not figure out the issue. it seemed to us the issue in the hydraulic system. after we spent great amount of time trying to diagnose we informed Mr ***** that we could not figure out the problem and we suggested that he takes the vehicle to a specilist of his choice and we will pay to diagnose and fix. we paid $300 to the repair facility of his choice and everything was back to normal according to Mr *****. a year later he's experiencing the same issue. Mr ***** refuses to take it back to where we paid to have it fixed. we feel that we fullfilled our obligation to make it right for Mr *****. iwe can provide a copy of invoice of the repairs we paid the other repair facility upon request. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response because I am now being ignored by firestone and the issue is still not resolved I still have to pump my brakes in order to stop my vehicle.This was caused by firestone and it should be repaired by firestone,maybe I should ask one of the company reps what they would do if they were in my shoe's. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/01/02) */ we have paid $300 to have that corrected at a shop of your choice a year ago. we don't see our liability at this time

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Diagnosis and repairs at this shop were not done accurately which has now resulted in further damage to my primary vehicle. I contacted Firestone last August about a problem that occurred with my vehicle and damage to the head gaskets due to some errors at this location. The manager at the location called and offered to make the repair for the cost of parts. The car was repaired. Afterwards,the car started overheating again to the point of smoke coming out. I took it back to the shop and was told that the hoses needed to be replaced. The location had put new hoses on the car on 2/27 but replaced them again at my cost. The car started overheating again shortly after that and discovered that the water pump that had been replaced with the timing belt was leaking. The water pump was replaced under warranty. This latest water pump also appears to be leaking and has to be replaced yet again. The repair worked temporarily and then it started overheating again. I took it back in once again and was told that one of the hoses had not been clamped down properly, but was repaired. The repair lasted a couple of days before the problem came up again. I brought the car back once more and this time was told that a problem couldn't be located and for the 2nd time was told by the personnel at this location "I shouldn't worry about it, the temperature gauge will fluctuate and I should only worry if it gets to the red." Considering the problems I had encountered before, I took it to another shop to have a 2nd opinion. They were unable to completely diagnose, but were able to see that the hose still wasn't clamped down properly. I was asked to keep a log and track when the problem was occurring. I did this and was given the diagnosis that the head gaskets were either not repaired completely previously or had gone bad again due to the problems I have encountered with the loose hose and parts that needed to again be replaced. This is especially disturbing after I was told to ignore the rising temperature gauge. I have spent so much time trying to get this issue resolved, missed many hours of work and spent money having repairs done that have either not been done properly or the parts were not of a good quality. I have been more than patient through this process as it started in February of 2012 and I have been dealing with this for 18 months. Almost every repair that has been done has had to be re-done. Also, when I brought this problem to their attention, I was told to basically ignore it, it was normal, only to find it was a very serious problem again. Below please find the initial new diagnosis:Cooling system pressure stayed at 11 psi for 1.5 hours of idle run time then increased to 18 psi and started pushing coolant into the overflow tank. Cooling fan is cycling on and off. Cylinder head gaskets are failing when hot. Also found the new water pump leaking again. $1650 + tax @ 8.45% ($139.43) to remove the cylinder head, send it out to a machine shop, reinstall cylinder head with new gaskets and headbolts. Install new thermostat due to overheating, radiator cap for preventative maintenance and water pump because it's leading and topping off coolant. I sent this information to Firestone on 6/26/2013. I was contacted by their corporate office and on 7/3/2013 was told they would approve having the car fixed along with reimbursement of other costs associated with this. The repair location the car is currently at began working on the car and found what caused the problem and why the head gasket repair did not work. Also the damages were substantially higher due to the inferior repair caused damage to the engine. I contacted the District Manager again with Firestone and gave him the contact name and phone number of the repair location. They were inviting him to come look at the car and see the basis of their diagnosis and what caused the problem. They were sincere in wanting to work with him on these issues. He has not responded since then to two separate e-mails. Again, another month has passed and I am still without a vehicle for work.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for the following resolution: $165.00 approved by Firestone for diagnostics run by different shop $327.00 approved by Firestone for cost of hose repair $5,000 for replacement cost of vehicle. I have averaged out the blue book value of the car. The engine has now been warped and cost to repair will almost exceed value of vehicle. $1354.34 balance owed to Firestone for repairs that have almost all had to be re-done $2000.00 lost income for the month of July. Again, I made every effort to contact the Firestone Manager but no reply was made by him to myself or the repair location. Total:$8846.34.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/21) */ As I stated in my e-mail to ***** dated 7/1/13 I would reimburse the $165.00 for diagnostics, $327.00 for the hoses and would cover the expense for the repairs to the vehicle that she had provided of $1650.00 when the repairs were completed and she provided copies of the receipts of the above mentioned repairs. The total of the reimbursement was $2281.43 with the proper supporting documentation. It was also stated the compensation for lost wages would not be considered. ***** told me to communicate by e-mail as that was the best way to reach her. I never received a reply to my e-mail fro July 1, 2013. I will still consider the original reimbursement amount with proper documentation of repairs. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As stated previously, there was an invitation for Mr. ***** to go to the shop that was sent twice the first week of July and ignored. This invitation was to review with the technician the current status of the vehicle. The repair of the Head Gaskets was done with a tool that should have not been used which resulted in the repair not working. This in turn has resulted in the engine being warped and they had wanted to go over this information with him before proceeding as the cost was going to exceed $4,000 to repair with no guarantee of it working properly. They did not want to proceed with the repair without his consent. Due to the length of time it has taken to have communication back, I had to proceed and purchase a vehicle to be able to work. There have been other charges since the initial filing of this complaint, but I was willing to go with the amount I asked at the beginning of filing this complaint. I would like to donate the car to charity but am asking for the lowest blue book value as I was unable to do any type of trade-in on the car as it is in limbo. At this point though it does not appear that Firestone is willing to correct the situation they caused. Through the entire process I continued to take the car back to them to have the situation resolved. I was told to ignore the problem by their staff which caused greater damage. Every repair had to be re-done and parts have continued to fail through this process. I was attempting to seek what was fair while still taking a loss on the experience. The amount I've asked for is less than 50% of what this has cost me. At this point I see no other option but to take this to an attorney and file suit for all damages. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/08/26) */ As stated before, I am willing to reimburse the $165.00 and the $327.00. Until I have further documentation for the inspecting repair shop to review,I cannot commit to other dollar amount for reimbursement.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Firestone Tire and Serv (Bridgestone-Firestone)
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart