This business is not BBB accredited.

tw telecom inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (303) 566-1000 10475 Park Meadows Dr Ste 400, Littleton, CO 80124 http://www.twtelecom.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for tw telecom inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on tw telecom inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2005 Business started: 05/10/1999 Business started locally: 05/10/1999 Business incorporated 01/24/1994 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Linda Boyle, Senior Manager, Legal
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Witt, Legal Counsel
Business Category

Telephone Communications

Alternate Business Names
tw telecom tw telecom data services llc tw telecom holdings inc. tw telecom l.p. tw telecom management co. llc tw telecom of alabama llc tw telecom of arizona llc tw telecom of arkansas llc tw telecom of california l.p. tw telecom of colorado llc tw telecom of d.c. llc tw telecom of florida l.p. tw telecom of georgia l.p. tw telecom of idaho llc tw telecom of illinois llc tw telecom of indiana l.p. tw telecom of iowa llc tw telecom of kansas city llc tw telecom of kentucky llc tw telecom of lousiana llc tw telecom of maryland llc tw telecom of minnesota llc tw telecom of mississippi llc tw telecom of nevada llc tw telecom of new jersey l.p. tw telecom of new mexico llc tw telecom of new york l.p. tw telecom of north carolina l.p. tw telecom of ohio llc tw telecom of oklahoma llc tw telecom of oregon llc tw telecom of south carolina llc tw telecom of tennessee llc tw telecom of texas llc tw telecom of utah llc tw telecom of virginia llc tw telecom of washington llc tw telecom of wisconsin l.p.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10475 Park Meadows Dr Ste 400

    Littleton, CO 80124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14405 Laurel Place
    Suite 200

    Laurel, MD 20707

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    250 W Old Wilson Bridge Rd Ste 130

    Worthington, OH 43085

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    535 Mainstream Drive

    Nashville, TN 37228

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    102 S Tejon St #210

    Colorado Springs, CO 80903

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2223 Airport Way

    Boise, ID 83705

  • 1430 Truxtun Ave Ste 875

    Bakersfield, CA 93301

  • 8050 N Palm Ave Ste 310

    Fresno, CA 93711

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9665 Granite Ridge Dr #500

    San Diego, CA 92123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5210 E Williams Cir Ste 220

    Tucson, AZ 85711

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2223 Airport Way

    Boise, ID 83705

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Twtelecom promised to deliver quality phone and internet service but failed. They won't let me out of the contract. I signed up with twtelecom for phone and internet service for my new dental office in March 2014. Instantly we noticed we couldn't hear calls due to static, dropped calls were an everyday occurrence. Many calls were not able to be answered as the customers could hear us, but we couldn't hear them. Although we had 5 lines, in most cases we never could have two calls going at the same time due to inability of the phone service to handle it. After losing customer confidence, not being able to handle day to day operation of the dental office, we tried a new phone hardware system thinking that was the problem. The problems continued. I then told twtelecom that I wanted out of the contract due to horrible service. They talked me into staying with by increasing my bandwidth and increasing my monthly payment. I didn't want to do this but they said that since I was under contract that I had to do this. I told them this remedy would not work. After attempting to remedy the problem , amongst many other issues, the phone service never improved. I decided that after 8 months I had no choice but to switch to Charter communications. As soon as we switched, all problems have gone away. Now Twtelecom has the audacity to thing I should pay $14,000 as early termination!!!! I simply refuse to pay them anything as we have suffered tremendously from their inadequate phone service. The entire office team will back me up as testimony as to how awful their service was to us despite our unrecorded and undocumented complaints. I find twtelecom as a scam company that can't deliver as promised and they are insane if they think I should have to pay them any money when they caused so much harm to my new company. Much of the stress we endured throughout that 6-8 month period was due to the lackluster phone service they provided. I probably lost over $5000 due to this issue.

Desired Settlement: Just to eliminate me from having to pay any early termination fees ($14,000). I'm not seeking damages, although I should.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2015/02/06) */ I have reached a satisfactory resolution with twtelecom. I would like to recant any negative issues I have with this company as we resolved all issues ammicably. Please withdraw this complaint.

1/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dispute is over Early Termination Liability and that I was never informed of this when I called to terminate contract and it is not clear in contract. My TW Telecom Account number is XXXXXX Disconnect Order number was XXXXXX My TW Dispute number is XXXXXX I signed a TW Telecom contract in March 2006 for 3 years with automatic renewal for 12 month terms. After getting notice of a rate increase, I decided to terminate my contract effective September 2014. I have email correspondence from TW Telecom about the disconnect notice and there was never any mention about an Early Termination Liability until the day the services were disconnected. TW is not just charging an early termination fee, they are holding me liable for all the monthly payments for the remainder of the 12 month renewal term. This is not explained in the contract and it was not explained at the time I notified TW Telecom I was terminating services. I filed a dispute and was contacted by a representative from Level 3 who stated TW Telecom will not adjust my balance.

Desired Settlement: Credit adjustment of the $2,808.39 I am being charged for Early Termination Liability.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/23) */ Customer's contract for Versipak service had an expiration date of March 23, 2015. However, the Customer terminated the contract on September 3, 2014, which left exactly 200 days remaining in the contract term. The Versipak terms and conditions provide that if the Customer terminates service prior to the end of the term, then the Customer is liable for 100 percent of the monthly recurring charges for the remaining term. In this case the monthly recurring charges were $382.50, which computes to a daily amount of $12.75. This in turn results in the early termination liability of $2,550.00, plus tax, for a total of $2,808.39. A copy of the Versipak terms and conditions is attached here.

11/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** Telecom was not able to provide the services promised in the time promised and therefore **TC was in breach of contract. On Sept. 4, 2013 ***** ********* Academy entered into an agreement with ** Telecom to provide *******munication and related services. Account *******. On Jan. 22, 2014 a formal communication was made to disconnect and cancel all services due to the fact that the service order ******* for ****** **************** had not been installed.*** ******* was unable to provide any services to ***.

Desired Settlement: We respectfully request the TW Telecom respond to our request at accept full responsibility for failure to provide service and at a minimum return the $2500.00 that was collected from LCA by way of LTD Financial Services.L.P.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/21) */ Customer entered into a settlement agreement on July 8, 2014 for $2,500 to settle the outstanding cost incurred by tw telecom of $6,058.53. A previous amount of $699.31 was also credited to the account in November 2013. Our records indicate the services were turned up on 10/8/2013. The customer was notified of Early Termination Liability at the time they requested disconnect. This account was settled and closed with a significant loss to tw telecom. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As stated in the attached letter the settlement was made to ensure that ***** ********* Academy's good name and credit rating was not tarnished in anyway. TWTC DID NOT and WAS NOT able to provide any services to LCA. LCA's total investment including the settlement was $5058.54 for nothing. No cabling was ever even put into the ground so the statement that we were "turned up" on 10/8/2013 is incorrect. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/11/19) */ tw telecom records indicate that service was turned up on 10/8/2013 and the disconnect requested on 1/22/14 making the actual disconnect date 2/20/14 (30 day notice required under the contract). By this point in time, tw telecom had all connections completed and expenses had been incurred in relation to providing this service. tw telecom wrote off $6,058.53 in expenses and projected revenue for early termination liability. A settlement agreement with the customer in the amount of $2,500 was agreed upon in July, 2014 causing an overall loss to tw telecom of $3,558.53 notwithstanding other legal expenses to the company for the handling of this disconnect. Both parties are bound by the settlement agreement which constitutes the full and final settlement under that agreement. This protects the customer from tw telecom attempting collection in the future for outstanding write-off amounts.

11/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint involves my company having to move due to lease increases. TW Telecom can't provide the same service and won't let us out of contract. Alltech is a very small company which relies heavily on internet access and performance. We have been a customer of TW Telecom since 1998. Several months ago, we renewed a 3 year contract with them. However, since then, our Property Management Group announced that when our lease is up for renewal, they are going to include a 26% increase in our monthly charges. Our company is far too small to be able to absorb this. We hired an external resource to assist us with locating new office space in our area and have been unsuccessful; there is a 98% occupancy rate. Due to this, we're will have to move to a different part of town. The office we found is apparently not serviced by TW Telecom so they must go through a different vendor to provide any service. The proposed service is 'not' the equivalent service to what we currently have. We will be forced to go from 10 Mbps service to 1.5 Mbps service which we've tried in the past and had to get rid of due to poor performance. Our current monthly charge for the 10Mbps service is $530.40 per month. TW Telecom is quoting us $602.40 per month for the 1.5 Mbps service, plus an $800 one time installation fee or, $981.60 for the 3.0 Mbps service, plus a $1,100 installation fee. The only other option that they are giving us is to buy out our contract for $15,000.00. We are a small business and cannot afford to do that. When we talked to them about just paying the monthly charges but getting a different vendor's service and not using TW Telecom, they said that's a violation of our contract; the service has to be active. I have talked to as many people as I can find and as high as I can go to try to explain that the service they want to provide doesn't satisfy our company need and that we are not moving by choice; it's being financially forced on us. I have gotten no relief what-so-ever from them. I think it is terrible that a very large corporation like this doesn't understand that we're not just trying to get out of our contract. We are moving due to the cost increase. It doesn't matter that they can't provide what we signed the contract for...they say we must stay a customer and accept the inferior product they're quoting. It's sad that small businesses like mine get trampled by these large firms.

Desired Settlement: Let us out of our existing contract without having to pay $15,000.00 to do so. We are not choosing to move on our own will. We are being forced to due to our increase in lease expense. Since they can't provide equivalent service at our new office location, we should have to stay in the contract with them. We've tried the service they're proposing in the past and it's not sufficient for our needs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/22) */ The customer made a choice to change locations and tw telecom is able to provide 10Mbps options ar the new location, although at a higher price due to the necessity to use a third party to provide services in a building where we our network is not located. tw telecom also gave the customer lower bandwidth options which he did not want. We provided a list of OnNet buildings with available leasing space where we could continue to provide the current service but he was unwilling to consider these options. The contract clearly states that Early Termination Liability is a part of the business equation in the lease and is applicable if the contract is cancelled prior to the terms of services being provided. The ETL is correct and was assessed pursuant to the contract. tw telecom contracted to provide service at 214 Centerview Drive. Rates were established for that specific location and were designed to recover the capital expenditures incurred in order to provide the specific services to which the customer subscribed. The contract does not allow the customer to change its service location at will. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Alltech, Inc. 'strongly disagrees' with the response from TW Telecom. First, we are not moving just because we want to. Our lease is expiring and the property management group is increasing our monthly rent by 26%. We are a small business and are unable to absorb such an increase. In addition, we hired an outside agency to help us locate new office space within our area and were unable to locate satisfactory accommodations. We were told there is a 98% occupancy rate in our area. Our move is one of necessity...not of choice. We explained this to TW Telecom when they gave us the list of 'on-net' locations. With that said, we were told by TW Telecom that they 'do not' have the ability to provide the fiber option that we contracted for at our new location. We currently pay $504 for the 10 mbps fiber service and the quote we received from TW Telecom for our new location is for 3 mbps T1 service at a cost of $1,100 per month and $2,100 to move our service. I have saved the e-mail from the TW Telecom account representative and will be glad to provide that as evidence. In closing, we have been a loyal customer of TW Telecom for roughly 16 years. We feel we are being forced into taking a service that is in no way comparable to what we agreed to in our contract. If TW Telecom cannot provide the service that we contracted for at the rate we contracted for, why in the world should we be forced to accept inferior service at twice the price? They are not honoring their SLA from the contract so why should we be forced to honor the agreement? TW Telecom is a very large business and is simply bullying our small business. We feel this is extremely unfair and is not acceptable. Our complaint still stands and we are extremely disappointed with TW Telecom's erroneous response.

9/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THEY DIDN'T CANCEL BILL TIMELY AND CHARGED ME FOR SERVICE WHEN I WAS NOT USING THE SERVICE. I ENQUIRED ON HOW TO CANCEL/TRANSFER SERVICE BECAUSE WE WERE CLOSING THE LOCATION WHERE TW TELECOM PROVIDED SERVICES. I SENT MULTIPLE EMAILS REQUESTING SERVICE TO BE CANCELLED YET IT WAS NEVER CANCELLED AND THEY CONTINUED TO CHARGE ME FOR SERVICES. THEY DIDN'T SUPPORT THE LOCATION TO WHERE I MOVED THE BUSINESS AND THEN CHARGED ME AGAIN. I AM A SMALL BUSINESS THAT HAS BEEN WITH THEM FOR YEARS YET THEY DON'T CARE TO RESOLVE ANY BILLING ISSUES AND HAVE SENT ME TO COLLECTIONS AS WELL AS HAVE A LISTED DR ON MY ACCOUNT THAT IS NOT EVEN AFFILIATED WITH MY COMPANY AND LTD FINANCIAL STATES HE SIGNED THE CONTRACT WHICH IS NOT TRUEI SIGNED THE CONTRACT. I OWE A PORTION OF THIS BILL BUT NOT 3836.01 AND YET THEY CAN'T GET IT RESOLVED.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THE BILL RESOLVED CORRECTLY AND SOMEONE TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR MONTHS I HAVE HAD TO DEAL WITH THIS ISSUE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ I am unable to locate the account with the information given. Please provide the account name and number. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/08/18) */ I was out of town. Here is the business name Physician Billing Solutions, INC. XXX-XXX-XXXX phone number Account Number XXXXXX Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/22) */ On 12/19/2013 tw telecom received an email from the customer to disconnect services. Services were disconnected on 1/18/2014. The initial term of the contract was to expire on 7/17/2014. Per the Terms and Conditions, the renewal contract was effective for a period of 36 months and was effective upon installation of services (07/18/2011). Thus, the $1,963.03 Early Termination Liability charge, as called for in the contract, is applicable along with any outstanding service fees.

9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** endodontics was charged wrongly for last month, and early termination charges are incorrect based on statements by local sales rep ***** ***** Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support Complaint: I opened a small paperless dental office in 2008. In order to protect my patients' information and to be in full compliance with HIPPA, I had a very expensive T-1 line installed and monthly service provided by TW Telecom. At the time of installation, I was told by my local rep ***** ***** I would have a three year contract and that in order to cancel or change service, I would need to give 30 day notice prior to cancelation or change in service. After my 3 year contract expired in 2011, I inquired on multiple occasions about changing my internet and phone service to lower costs and increase my bandwidth (the T-1 line bandwidth was very slow and could no longer support my dental office management software in a timely fashion) to a different type of internet connection (my IT company ensured me that internal firewalls could protect my patients information and the T-1 line was no longer needed). Not only had a my local TW Telecom representative ***** **** never contact me to review my service or discuss new services they provided, I could never get a hold of my original sales rep ****** ***** and was told that any rep could help me with my inquiry. On two separate requests for new service, I was emailed spread sheet proposals. Interestingly enough, the fees were almost identical to the fees I was already paying. On the second inquest, I was told that I would need to purchase new phones and sign another three year contract. Why? I already owned phones that were working with TW Telecom service. There was also a line item on the proposal for about $100 with no category listed and when asked what the fee was for I was told this was a legitimate fee but given no detail. In frustration and dissatisfaction with my service, I gave a 30 day cancelation notice and replaced the TW telecom service with a new provider that was 1/3 the monthly cost, must stronger bandwidth and better customer service. It was not until after the TW Telecom service was canceled, I was presented with a bill for the remaining 5 months in my AUTOMATICLY ANNUAL RENEWED service. I was never told about the annual automatic renewal at the time the service was installed in 2008 or on the multiple occasions I inquired about updating my service. I would have certainly organized the switch of service to a new provider based on this date. When I contacted "Customer Care" to speak to my local rep ***** ***** I was told he had a different position within the company but a manager would contact me regarding this matter (while I had my TW Telecom service for 6 years, I was never informed that I had a new local rep). I spoke to **** ******** many times who finally told me she did not have the authority to resolve this matter and passed us on to ***** ****** ***** handed me off to the manager in the Austin, TX office (my original local rep ***** ***** boss) who explained that he had no way to confirm the conversation between myself and ***** **** in 2008 and that I was bound by the automatic annual renewal in the contract that is listed right after 36 month term agreement. He was also the one who went on to tell me that the reason for the automatic renewal was to determine the companies' profits on an annual basis to report to the shareholders and those numbers could not be changed. In addition, e told me the reason for the high monthly fees in comparison to other service providers was to offset the "Great Unparalleled Customer Service". In keeping with the "Great Customer Service" my account has now been turned over to a collection agency. Seriously, if I ran my dental office the way this company is run, I would have had to close my door years ago. I feel like I have fulfilled my contract to this company by paying for outdated service well over the original 36 month contract term and giving 30 day written notice of cancelation. In closing the issue is th

Desired Settlement: Remove the early termination charges, and refund the incorrectly charged last month. Thanks!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/06) */ Please allow additional time for us to research and appropriately answer this complaint. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) TW Telecom has had almost a month to respond to this complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/08/22) */ The contract, which was signed by the customer, contains a paragraph indicating that the contract will renew on a year to year basis on the anniversary date unless tw telecom is notified otherwise. The ETL which has been calculated is correct, and was assessed pursuant to the contract. The contract provides for termination charges if the contract is terminated prior to the expiration of the initial term or any renewal term. Those termination charges are equal to the monthly recurring charges multiplied by the remaining months in the term.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company is charging early cancellation fees. Attempt was made to clarify cancellation policy before termination. We had a 3 year contract with the company. Once I our 3 years was up we decided to go with a different provider for our internet services. I contacted **********'s customer service line twice and spoke to 2 different representatives concerning their cancellation policy. Both time I was told to submit it in writing to '**************************'. They stated I would get an email confirmation once it was received and it would be effective 30 days from that date. Once I received the confirmation email I signed on with a different provider. A few days later a representative from ********** contacted me and informed me of the early cancellation fees and automatic renewal. Not once did a customer service rep tell me to refer to my contract or even mention their auto-renewal clause. I was told both times that it took only a written notice and a 30 day period. I have tried numerous time to resolve this issue with the company but they refuse to acknowledge the fact that their customer service reps mislead me and failed to provide me with the proper information in regards to their cancellation policy. I acknowledge that the terms of our contract do include an auto-renewal clause. Had the customer service reps properly informed me of cancellation procedures I would not have cancelled when I did, I would not have a signed a new contract with another provider and would not be in this position.

Desired Settlement: I would like a decrease on the early termination fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ ********************** (the "Customer") entered into a contract with tw telecom for internet service on August 27, 2010. Installation occurred on September 29, 2010. Service was provided over a T-1 circuit, at 1.5 Mbps, with a monthly recurring charge (or "MRC") of $384.25, and an initial term of 36 months (beginning on installation) that automatically renewed annually upon expiration. The agreement is governed by tw telecom's Standard Terms and Conditions, which include early termination liability (also referred to as "ETL") if the agreement is terminated other than at the end of the initial term or a renewal term. In this case, the term automatically renewed on September 29, 2013, and was scheduled to expire September 28, 2014, at which time the Customer could either terminate on thirty (30) days' notice, or allow the contract to renew again. Records indicate that the Customer called tw telecom's CustomerCare group on December 4, 2013 with a "general question." In response, he was given the email address for CustomerCare. On December 5, 2013, CustomerCare received an email from the Customer requesting disconnection of service. The Customer called in again on December 5, 2013, with a general question regarding the response from the CustomerCare mailbox, which was an automatic order confirmation. On December 11, 2013, one of tw telecom's CustomerCare representatives called the Customer and left a message "to discuss his ETL charges." tw telecom's records do not show that the Customer returned this call. The next notation on Customer's account occurred December 27, 2013, when CustomerCare confirmed the disconnect order with the explanation "No Longer Needed." On February 4, 2014, the Customer submitted a dispute with regard to the ETL, saying that "he was not told that he was under contract, called in twice, says we did not attempt to renew him or advise that he was under contract." However, based on the account notes mentioned above, it does not appear that the Customer ever inquired as to his contract status or the applicability of ETL to his disconnect order. Section 14 of tw telecom's Standard Terms and Conditions clearly delineates Customer's responsibility for ETL, stating that "if Customer terminates this Agreement or any Service Order(s) for any reason other than as set forth in Section 13 above i.e., tw telecom's breach or insolvency, all MRCs associated with the terminated Service(s) for the balance of the applicable Service Term shall become immediately due and payable." In this case, the Customer gave thirty (30) days' notice of disconnection on December 5, 2013, and the service was terminated on January 3, 2014. This left 265 days as the remaining term of the contract. The MRC was $384.25 per month, or $12.81 per day. Multiplying $12.81 by 265 days calculates ETL at $3,394.21. tw telecom takes issue with the Customer's assertion that CustomerCare misled the Customer or failed to provide him with the proper information regarding cancellation. If, as it appears, the Customer was simply inquiring about how to cancel service, then he was properly informed that cancellation had to be in writing or by email, and he was given the correct email address to accomplish a disconnection of service. Moreover, it appears that tw telecom did advise Customer of the applicability of ETL, in a follow-up telephone call December 11, 2013. Additionally, the Customer acknowledges that the terms of the contract include an automatic renewal provision. Under the circumstances, tw telecom believes that the application of ETL should be sustained, per the clear language of the contract. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I maintain that the customer service was misleading and failed to inform me properly about there cancellation policy. When I called customer service twice my questions were not "general". I told them I wanted to cancel my existing service. The customer service reps did not bother to ask me for account number or any other information. The simply told me I needed to send a letter to the customer service email address and I did. I was not informed of the ETL until after I had received the following email on Dec. 11, 2013: Alex, Thank you for taking the time to email tw telecom Customer Care. Per your request I have submitted an order. The order number is s/410329. Also the assertion that the next communication was on December 27, 2013 is a lie. I spoke with a representative on Dec. 18th, and was emailed a copy of my contract via email. I have the email to prove that as well. This was 15 days after I had already submitted my request for cancellation. I see that most of the complaints against this company are for the exact same issue as my own. This speaks volumes as to the unethical practices of this company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/06/04) */ Upon review, it appears that the early termination charges were imposed in accordance with the contract, as signed by the customer. tw telecom has therefore sustained the charges in question. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Pathetic customer service from this place. They didn't even have the class to call me and discuss the situation. Even before I reported them to the BBB they didn't call me to discuss. As soon as I complained to the BBB they sent it to a collection agency. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hold has been placed on my ability to use telecom's 10-10-987 long distance service without proper notification I utilize Telecom's 10-10-987 long distance service and had been for years. My wife had placed a higher than what the company considers normal and placed a hold on my ability to use the system based on that alone. I have repeatedly informed them that as part of my monthly phone billing, my bills have always been paid on time and they have no right to hold or discontinue my long distance service, no matter how 'suspicious' they view my bill....frankly it is none of their business

Desired Settlement: reinstatement of my ability to once again utilize Telecom's 10-10 long distance service AND an official apology from the company

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ This does not appear to be a tw telecom account. We do not provide service to personal residences nor do we recognize the terminology "10-10-987 long distance service". We are unable to address iscomplaint.

3/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved offices, and their services could not be supplied at the new address. They were not willing to work with us on early termination. When notified that we were moving, and their services could not be provided at the new location, they would not work with us on early termination fees. This was not our choice, and we tried to work out an agreement that would allow us to pay the monthly amount throughout the contract. Instead, they deducted the complete amount of our service contract directly from our bank account. When I asked why we could not continue to pay monthly they stated they could not take payments for a service they were not providing. But they could take the whole lump sum immediately, without any approval from our bank. It is not an early termination, it is a complete buyout of the contract as there are no reductions for any services they are no longer paying for to service us, nor any services they are providing to us.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our $5,740.18 returned to us if they cannot work out any other settlement for early termination. Then continue to pay the contracted amount per month for the duration of the contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/03) */ Please provide an account name and number. I am unable to locate an account otherwise. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no reason it should take 30-60 days for a refund. Plus this story is completely different than any other version their company has given us over the past few months and numerous phone calls/conversations. I cannot say that we accept this resolution, as we do not have the money and do not trust that it will ever be refunded. 30-60 days??????? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/21) */ Customer entered into a 36 month contract on 6/25/2012 for internet access and transport at $152/month. The service location was **********************************************. The installation date was 8/13/2012. Per Section 14 of the contract, if the customer terminates service prior to the expiration date, the monthly recurring charges for the remainder of the term become immediately due and payable. The contract was set to expire on 8/12/2015, but the customer terminated service 10/23/2013. This left approximately 21 months on the contract and resulted in early termination liability (ETL) in the amount of $3,288.27. It appears, however, that the customer was erroneously billed $5,112.27 in ETL. Because the customer had activated ACH payments and had not disabled that payment method, the erroneously billed amount was automatically withdrawn from the customer's account. In order to rectify this situation, tw telecom is processing a refund in the amount of $1,824.00. We anticipate the refund will be available within the next thirty to sixty days. The remaining ETL is correct, and was assessed pursuant to the contract. tw telecom contracted to provide service at ***********************. Rates were established for that specific location and were designed to recover the capital expenditures incurred in order to provide the specific services to which the customer subscribed. The contract does not allow the customer to change its service location at will.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on tw telecom inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)