BBB Accredited Business since

Phoenix Financial Group

Phone: (888) 572-2179 Fax: (303) 325-3640 View Additional Phone Numbers 520 Zang St Ste 211-213, Broomfield, CO 80021 http://www.pfgtax.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Phoenix Financial Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Phoenix Financial Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Complaint Information

Prior to filing a complaint Phoenix Financial Group would like you to contact Michael Wright at 303-325-3640 or email him at michael@pfgtax.com.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Phoenix Financial Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 2000 Business started: 09/21/2004 Business started locally: 09/21/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Wright, President Mr. Duncan Wright, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Wright, President
Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Tax Return Preparation

Alternate Business Names
Phoenix Financial
Products & Services

Phoenix Financial Group assists businesses and individuals resolve their past due tax debts with the IRS. Phoenix Financial Group assists its client's with Installment Agreements, Asset Protection, Penalty Abatements, Offers in Compromise, Tax Return Preparation and more.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Phoenix Financial Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 520 Zang St Ste 211-213

    Broomfield, CO 80021 (888) 572-2179

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Phoenix Financial Group to help me with an IRS and California State tax debt they took my $3500 and now are not returning my calls. On or around July 2014, my bookkeeper spoke with ******* from Phoenix Financial and upon what he told her on the phone his company could help me reduce my IRS and California State tax debt for $3500.00 total. I signed the agreement and later ***** ********** got in touch with my bookkeeper and they began the process of taking care of all the paperwork needed. On or around October 2014, my bookkeeper, ***** ********** began leaving messages for ***** and on the message it said ***** was no longer with the company. She has continued to leave messages and as of today, December 4, 2014, has not received any return calls. I now have a lien on my house that I am trying to sell from the State and my bookkeeper is now trying to set up plans with IRS and State to discourage any other liens or collections. I basically wasted my entire $3500.00 and in addition have to pay ***** $30 per hour to do what I hired the Phoenix Group to do. I don't feel it's fair that they keep my money. I would like a refund due to the length of time they are taking and also I now have a lien on my home and my purpose for hiring them is now void.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $3500 refunded to me so I can apply it to my tax lien.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/15) */ The client hired us on May 22, 2014 to assist with a IRS and State of California liability. All of the contact and communication was being handled by ***** ***** on behalf of ****** *****. On May 28, 2014, we sent client a letter requesting Mr. *****'s 433-A Collection Information Statement for Individuals and supporting documentation and the client was given a deadline of June 11, 2014 to provide all documents in their entirety. The client was contacted on a regular basis as we had requested the 433-A Collection Information Statement for Individuals and supporting documentation. On June 17, 2014, the client provided us with the 433-A OIC form. The 433A OIC is used to request for an Offer in Compromise, which is not what Phoenix Financial Group was contracted for. Our service agreement states that we would work to obtain an Installment Agreement for the client. Several calls and emails were made to client requesting the 433-A Collection Information Statement for Individuals and supporting documentation. On July 1, 2014 we received the 433-A Collection Information Statement for Individuals. The form was incomplete and we sent the client an email the same day requesting additional information to complete the form along with supporting documentation to substantiate the information listed on the financial statement. We continued to follow up with the client to obtain the information needed to complete the form and continued to reiterate that the supporting documentation still had not been provided. As of August 13, 2014, we still had not received proof of the client's expenses so that we could verify the information being claimed on the financial statement. On August 20, 2014, we spoke with client regarding what documents were still needed to complete the 433-A Collection Information Statement for Individuals. We were told they were still working on the documents. On August 26, 2014, we left a message for client regarding what was still needed and we have yet to receive the remainder of what was requested. We were unable to proceed with the client's case because we did not have the completed financials that we had been requesting since May of 2014. Our contract explicitly states that client's must cooperate in order to get the desired resolution. Failure to cooperate and provide requested information results in a breach of contract. No refund will be issued

8/25/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PFG was hired to help eliminate sales tax penalties and arrange a payment plan. we paid a $1000.00 for them to do a 3 way we the revenue agent. ******** *******, a salesman for Phoenix financial group contacted me & said for a $1000.00 they could eliminate penalties and arrange a payment plan for us. I had him talk to my husband who agreed that it sounded great. We Paid $500.00 down & $500.00 one month later. He said when he talked to my husband that a representative would contact us to get things going. We did not hear from anyone else for a couple weeks. Both ******* and **** ******* (1st Representative) asked my husband if we were current, my husband informed them we weren't, as well as myself. They said that was fine, that they would take care of it. My husband asked ******* if he should send any paperwork from the revenue dept. and he said that he would contact her (Revenue Agent), and not to worry about it yet. Then we didn't hear anything from anyone until the other $500.00 came out. Then someone named ****** called me and said that he'd been taking ********** place, as he was off for training. He said that they had been trying to contact us but got no answer. We had emailed ********* it says before filing a complaint to contact ******* via email), he never responded, Thats when ****** called. We own a restaurant & do take out orders. The phone always gets answered. He was Blaming us for the delays. In the meantime, the Revenue agent had cleaned out or accounts. He said that they can do whatever they want. He also said that they do not take sales tax cases without an accompanying IRS case, THAT they could help with. Then why do we have a contract that states for sales tax only? He got more and more agitated the more I called him on what he was claiming. Then said he was going to contact to Revenue agent and set up a payment plan, nothing about the fines & fees. He hung up. About 10- 15 minutes later he calls back and says we are gonna have to fight it out, then without asking me adds the Revenue agent into a three way conversation. She was very upset, as was I. She made her demands, they hung up, and we've dealt with this ourselves. Another month later, a lady from Phoenix financial group calls my husband to inform us they are closing our case due to lack of cooperation. In a follow up conversation with the revenue agent said in her 30 some years she has never had any representative do that. My husband informed the PFG lady that we wanted our money refunded since they didn't do a thing for us, she said because of the contract I signed they didn't have to. After some talking, she said she would forward it the the business manager who would discuss a refund with us. We have not heard from them since.

Desired Settlement: We just want our money back since they did not do anything. We had to do everything. If we do not get satisfaction we will be forced to go legal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/11) */ We made several attempts to resolve Ms. ******* concerns. None of those calls were returned. When we could not get a hold of anyone, we emailed them. Ultimately we closed their case as we cannot have a Power of Attorney on file without communication with the taxpayer. ****** ***** (department manager) left several messages for them in the middle of June to address their concerns. He followed up with an email.He never actually spoke with anyone as indicated in the client's statement. Additionally current compliance with the taxing authority is necessary to resolve any past due tax debt. We advise our clients that they need to get into compliance as soon as possible. While we do more work with the IRS, we do handle state cases as well. If the client would like, we would be happy to reopen the case.

7/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Phoenix Group was retained to handle IRS tax matter for us. There was a material breach of contract. PFG has agrees, but will not refund all fees. PFG was hired to work through the IRS process to secure an installment agreement and an abatement of penalties. After nearly 25 days, they had failed to provide promised itemization of taxes, the had failed to provide the 433 form, and in fact told me that they were not going to do that, and I was to do that. We requested that they submit an installment proposal to the collection officer on or aro 9/3/13, and they failed to do this, by the time they were released on 9/18/13, because the agent handling our account abruptly quit, and left emlpoyment with PFG. They failed to negotiate anything as promised. They did file a CDP, but it only covered a small part of the tax periods. We found out later that we were eligible for a CAP. However, PFG never advised us of that option / process. PFG has offered a partial refund. We paid the requested fee of $3200 in full, over three separate installment payments during this time. At issue is all of the work that was promised and not done, and the position that we were left in with little time to react, prior to the 2 separate deadlines that were fast approaching. We believe that a full refund is in order, given the breach of contract.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund. There was a breach of contract, and we never agreed to an hourly rate for their services. We paid $3200.00 for full and complete resolution of of the installment agreement and an attempt to get penalties abated. Neither of these items happened. The agent handling the matter left employment, suddenly and left us all in a bad position.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/01) */ Phoenix Financial Group does not have a client named ****** ******** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They had a problem with an employee who did not do what he was hired to do, and left Phoenix, during this process we were told that certain things were NOT going to be done by Phoenix, as contracted. We were given an apology by a new employee, eventually offered a settlement, which Phoenix withdrew when this complaint was filed. We believed we were due a full settlement for the breach of contract, despite that we agreed to an amount, and they changed their mind, and did not follow through on the settlement offer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/11/29) */ We have nothing to add to our initial response. Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2014/01/13) */ There is nothing new in Ms. *******s response. She acknowledges again that they breached their contract two weeks prior to the deadline that we set with the IRS. Consumer Response /* (4200, 28, 2014/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I disagree that we breached our contract. Please refer to the submitted documentation, outlining the events, and the business' response. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Business Response /* (-10, 40, 2014/04/10) */ Business Statements: From: ************** (mailto*******************) Sent: Monday, April 07, 2014 4:12 PM To: ************* Subject: Re: Follow UP to Binding Arbitration Dear ***** Our response is written below. ************* will be handling the arbitration. Let me know if you need anything else. Thanks. Sincerely, ************** Phoenix Financial Group 3/11/14 Better Business Bureau - Denver Attn: ************* RE: Complaint Case #: ******** Ms. *******, ***************** chose not utilize our services; therefore, breaching their contact with us. As a result we offered them a refund based on time spent on the case. We completed all the items in the contract up to the point that they chose not to use our services. They have not demonstrated that we breached the contract. We were allowing them to breach the contract, but we wanted to be paid for the time we had spent on the case. Currently, our position is that the fee was earned on the onset of the contract; therefore no refund should be forthcoming as Phoenix Financial Group followed the terms of contract explicitly. Cordially, ************* Vice-President Phoenix Financial Group

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My business repeatedly gets calls from your company. My business keeps getting repeated calls from your company in the last 2 years. I have told them many times "do not call" "Remove us from the list". Today I have had enough. Your sales personal went too far! I said "Not interested" and hung up. I have a right to hang up on unwanted calls after I said "Do not call". Your sales department decided to play games because they did not like that. They kept calling our business and we have 3 lines and kept calling them all. 2 separate sales ladies did this. I finally returned the call to let them know I know what they are doing and reporting it to the police, states attorney etc... Calls finally stopped. I want my business removed from your list forever. Never contact ******'s ****** Inc again. Ph# XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax#XXX-XXX-XXXX. It is my right to not have to be harassed by sales calls! Date 5-15-14 Approximate time of calls 12:30pm - 1:15pm central standard time. One phone number that called me was XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Owner

Desired Settlement: Leave us alone!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ We have placed ****** ********* number into our Do Not Call system. We are sorry that this did not happen sooner. Please call me directly if anyone from our office calls again. My number is (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agents try to make you believe the IRS has a lien against you when there is not one. Approximately 2 weeks ago, I was contacted by a PNG salesman who told me I had a lien against my business. I did not. Today, a *** ******** called me and asked for me. I called back and told him to take me off the call list. Before I could finish he hung up on me. This from a guy who says "Have a Blessed Day." I do not appreciate the tactics this company is using to obtain business especially concerning the IRS.

Desired Settlement: Letter of apology and my name, company name and any information concerning my company erased from their data bases and being placed on the 'do not call' list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/09) */ We have placed Mr. *********'s number in our Do Not Call system. I apologize that Mr. ********* was hung up on. I genuinely believe that the hang up was the result of some phone troubles we were experiencing at the time. We train our sales people to be respectful and courteous on the phone. We have never had a problem with *** ******** before. I don't know the name of Mr. *********'s business so I can't look into whether a lien has been filed. But I can say that we are not trying to get a hold of people that do not have a lien filed against them. Regardless, Mr. ********* obviously has no interest (or need) in our services and we will not contact him again. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do NOT have a lien on my business. I have personally looked into it and there is none whatsoever. So for this company to claim they "are not trying to get a hold of people that do not have a lien filed against them" is false. I believe the BBB needs to further look into the practices of this company.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Phoenix Financial Group
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart