BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BlackFin IRS Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for BlackFin IRS Solutions include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on BlackFin IRS Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 2012 Business started: 06/25/2010 Business started locally: 06/25/2010 Business incorporated 06/25/2010 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jack McDonough, President Theresa Daniel, Managing Attorney Mr. Tim Heasley
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Theresa Daniel, Managing Attorney
Principal: Mr. Jack McDonough, President
Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Accounting Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

BlackFin IRS Solutions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7100 E Belleview Ave STE G12

    Greenwood Village, CO 80111 (303) 881-2396 (303) 904-1450


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with BlackFin on 4/5/16 and have not received a single response to my calls and emails asking for the status of my case or answering my questions. I am repeatedly told by the receptionist that my contact has left the firm, is out of the office, is sick, etc. and promising a quick response that never comes. It's been over six weeks and I am continuing to receive notices regarding the tax issue from the state concerning mounting penalties and fees.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the fee advance

Business Response:

BlackFin IRS Solutions has resolved the case with Mr. *****. We have fulfilled our BlackFin Promise to him and refunded all of his payments.

Due to a critical injury that occurred from a car accident with Mr. *****'s attorney, we were unable to fulfill his wishes in the timeframe that Mr. ***** preferred. We did communicate that the attorney had been involved in a car accident and the senior attorney would be in charge of his case. However, Mr. ***** was not satisfied. We then fulfilled the BlackFin Promise and refunded his money. 

7/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A COMPLETE TOTAL FAILURE to communicate with me, costing me thousands in interest fees, and possible fines, and/or Civil Penalties. Blackfin IRS has done a wonderful job for me, until last year. Sadly, my Representative ******* had died in a boating accident, on July Fourth. May he rest in peace. I was contacted by another Representative of the company, explaining the situation, and informing me that ***** ***** would be taking my case. I thought that Ms ****** would need some time to familiarize herself with my case. Within a few weeks, I called to speak with Ms Greer, only to find, that an "appointment" was required. After making, required "appointment", the return call was missed. A message was left, stating that she was sorry, and that I may call again, to "make another appointment". After a few weeks of this, I requested to speak with **** *********. AMAZINGLY ENOUGH, within TWO MINUTES, Renet Greer was calling me. I explained that I was HIGHLY insulted by her attitude, even MORE insulted by her call, being that I requested a call from **** *********. When I questioned her, about her arrogant desire for an "appointment" for a phone call, she informed me, "That I must make an appointment, to see a Doctor". I felt compelled to educate her, in that a Doctor, goes through many years of advanced education, to make "Life or Death" decisions. Her attitude suddenly changed from "Less than professional" to "Outright argumentative". I was appointed a new Rep, Doug Milliken. I went to the office to meet him, and explain the situation, so that we could move forward with another issue. I was instructed, by Mr Milliken, to write a letter to the IRS with regards to the situation. The IRS replied with something I did not understand. I called back to Blackfin for help on this, only to find out, that Mr. Milliken was no longer with the firm. After numerous phone calls, I finally received a call from **** *********. His advice was, close down the company, file your finals, then the W-2 issue, will "Go away". That advice really didn't make me think that jail time, and/or property confiscation, would not be in my immediate future. Yet another Representative, Tim Heasley, was assigned to my case. He was kind enough to inform me, that a Power Of Attorney (POA) was not filled out "any other issue that I may or may not have with the IRS". This notification was received NINE MONTHS, after I contacted Blackfin IRS about this situation. I was given some advice, as to how to handle this situation. I was requested by the Social Security Administration, that I send a copy of the IRS letter. It took MORE than a month, to get that back from Blackfin. That and a very scathing letter. In making MULTIPLE attempts to resolve this, I have now met with un-businesslike attitudes, and an ABSOLUTE REFUSAL from them, to return my calls.

Desired Settlement: Due to the VERY untimely response, about 10 months now, to all of this I feel compeled to request that Blackfin IRS pay the additional interest fees, and any other charges, caused by their lack of competence in this issue. I would also think it be fair, that due to their lack of competence, that **** ********* himself, resolve this situation with the IRS, at his expense.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/07/06) */ BlackFin IRS Solutions has been in frequent contact with **** ****** regarding his tax liabilities with the ******** ******* ******** The *** issue was not a part of the services we were retained for as it is with a different agency, the ****** ******** *************** We advised *** ****** that this was not a part of our services, and he stated he understood. We advised him on the other issues that we were retained for regarding the ******** ******* ******** In keeping with the BlackFin Promise we have resolved this issue with **** ****** and he has decided to contact the ****** ******** ************** himself. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2015/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Blackfin has indeed resolved the issue, in fact, going above and beyond my expectations.

10/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to provide services promised. On XX-XX-XX we hired Blackfin to handle our tax problems with the IRS and State. That is to review documents, contact IRS and State, coduct analysis, assist in prep of 433A and B as needed, Appeal **** and ****** Installment agreement, Offer and compromnise,Audit consideration for three years, Penalty abatement request, unlimited assistance with revenue officer. There attotney and representative met with me and my wife on several occasions and said all this would be done. Then later the owner **** said it would not. They were paid there 7500.00 up front.

Desired Settlement: Either do what you promised or refund the money. Just be honest business people as you represented yourselves to be.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/10/14) */ I would like to thank the BBB for giving us the opportunity to respond to Mr. *******'s complaint and for presenting BlackFin IRS Solutions with the BBB 2013 Gold Star Certificate for having zero complaints over the last 3 years. Our goal at BlackFin IRS Solutions is to provide exemplary professionals services, which exceed the industry standards. To support that goal we live by the BlackFin Promise which says: We offer our clients a written promise of satisfaction with our services. We are able to make this promise because of our confidence in our skills, experience, judgment and commitment to delivering high quality, client focused service. We promise to put our clients first by working with them to identify, address, and effectively pursue their objectives. To ensure that we provide this level of dedication, we framed our promise in these terms: We promise that as our client you will receive cost-effective services delivered in a timely manner. We promise to involve you in strategic decisions and to communicate with you regularly. We cannot promise outcomes but we do promise your satisfaction with our service. If at any time we do not perform to your satisfaction, we ask that you inform us promptly. We will then resolve the issue to your satisfaction, even if it means reducing our professional fees. Communication is the key. Our Promise is structured to foster an open, candid relationship with our clients. We pledge to provide services that effectively address each client's specific objectives. In return, we ask our clients to promptly inform us if they are dissatisfied with our services and to allow us an opportunity to correct any service related issues. This input from our clients helps us to improve all of our service relationships. OUR CLIENTS' SATISFACTION IS THE MEASURE OF OUR SUCCESS. Also we operate within the BlackFin Code of Ethics which are; 1. To Provide Clients a 100% Free Face-to-Face Consultation 2. To Supply Clients with a Written Description of Services to be Provided 3. To Offer Clients a Fixed Fee for Representation with the IRS 4. To Supply Clients with a Written Copy of the BlackFin PromiseTM 5. To Confidentially Represent Each Client with Their Best Interest in Mind 6. To Possess a Current State License to Practice 7. To Communicate With Clients on a Regular Basis Until Their Case is Resolved 8. To Complete Annual BlackFin(r) IRS Problem-Solving Continuing Education 9. To Always Uphold the BlackFin Code of EthicsTM 10. To Be an Active Participant in our Local Community. As outlined in the Code of Ethics we provide every taxpayer a free initial consultation in order to best understand the taxpayer's situation. We assume taxpayers will provide true and accurate representations during this free initial consultation so that we can be sure to suggest the appropriate professional services. During the initial consultation we suggest several potential resolution strategies based upon what the taxpayer tells us about their situation. Mr. ******* selected the Bronze Package was provided a written Engagement Letter, which outlined the services we would provide and the fee of $2,500. After reading it Mr. ******* requested we add more professional services that increased the fee to $7,500. Mr. ******* was then presented with a Gold Package Engagement Letter to read and sign. Because Mr. ******* did NOT have $7,500 BlackFin agreed to accept payments from Mr. ******* over the next 3 months as a courtesy to him. In his complaint Mr. ******* listed a number of services that we supposedly agreed to provide. Mr. ******* included in this list an "Offer and Compromise", however this was NOT contained in the written Engagement Letter he signed (see attached signed copy). We require every client to sign a written agreement to avoid any misunderstandings of the professional services included. We believe the only way to be fair to the client is to provide them a written agreement which outlines the specific professional services which may be required to solve their particular IRS Problem. Mr. ******* hired BlackFin to keep the IRS Revenue Officer assigned to his case away from him, to stop the IRS from taking all of his personal and business assets and to negotiate a reasonable monthly payment to the IRS that he could afford each month. After 5 months of negotiation with the IRS Revenue Officer, we kept the IRS away from him, prevented the IRS from seizing his personal and business assets and we were able to convince the IRS that Mr. ******* should be placed in a status called Currently Not Collectable, which meant that his monthly payments to the IRS were $0. At this point, Mr. ******* told his BlackFin representative Attorney Justin Byrd that he was happy with this resolution. He also wanted us to provide him future bookkeeping and tax services. We prepared a new written engagement letter outlining specific bookkeeping and tax preparation services which Mr. ******* read and signed. Several months later Mr. ******* contacted BlackFin Attorney Justin Byrd that he no longer wanted BlackFin to provide these additional bookkeeping and tax preparation services. Mr. ******* mailed us revoked copies of the new bookkeeping and tax preparation engagement letters and BlackFin refunded Mr. ******* $1,295 which represented 100% of the fees he had paid to us for these additional services. BlackFin IRS Solutions resolved Mr. *******'s IRS Problems with a better solution than he ever thought possible and it bothers us greatly that he has filed such an unwarranted complaint against us after we provided him, his family and his business with solutions that allow him to continue to operate without threat of the IRS taking his personal or business assets while having to pay the IRS $0 per month. God Bless America Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Actually Mr. Byrd told myself and my wife in person. That is face to face in his office that he would be filing the offer and compromise and it was included in our agreement. So he needs to quit lying. We are prepared to testify to that fact in court if necessary. That is the bottom line. Blackfin is a typical IRS resolution firm in our opinion much like JK Harris was. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/10/27) */ It's unfortunate that Mr. ******* is accusing Attorney Justin Byrd of lying. Justin passed **** earlier this summer so its difficult to corroborate what was said. We do know Mr. ******* signed up for a package of services which included an Installment Agreement. Justin negotiated the best possible Installment Agreement called Currently Not Collectable (CNC) where Mr. ******* pays ZERO dollars per month to the IRS. While Justin and Mr. ******* may have discussed an Offer In Compromise. Mr. ******* never retained our firm to prepare one. Please see the attached signed Engagement Letter, which does not mention nor include an Offer In Compromise. Our policy is to outline the scope of possible services we may provide a client in writing based upon the representations each client makes to us. Mr. ******* was no exception. If clients are unhappy or feel that they're not getting adequate service they are instructed to instantly let us know at that time. They don't typically sign up for additional tax & bookkeeping services months later.... and then decide they want different services than the initial ones which they agreed to in writing and were delivered. This is exactly why we only provide services, which are agreed to in writing in advance of providing the services. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2014/10/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) How convienent for BlackFin. The only problem being it was not only I that this was told to. I have a witness to back me up. Very typical IRS resoulution firm. Their tactics are well documented. We stand by our statements as they are factual.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on BlackFin IRS Solutions
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart