BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/1999

20/20 Tax Resolution

Phone: (303) 938-9981Fax: (303) 938-9986View Additional Phone Numbers11800 Ridge Pkwy STE 400, BroomfieldCO 80021-6538

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/1999

BBB has determined that 20/20 Tax Resolution meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised 20/20 Tax Resolution's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

BBB serving Denver/Boulder is the Headquarter BBB for processing all BBB complaints. 20/20 Tax Resolution encourages consumers to contact 20/20 Tax Resolution's designated customer relations contact (David Miles) at their Executive Offices, who can be reached at 303-938-9981, Ext. 114 prior to filing a complaint through our office. 20/20 Tax Resolution has committed to address these calls by providing consumers with an adequate response within two business days.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

66 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on 20/20 Tax Resolution

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 66
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 66 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
06/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

we hired 2020 back in August of 2013. we paid in advance our contracted amount. 9 months after if we don't pay more they will drop case and no refund
On August of 2011 we paid in advance $4,150.00 to help us negotiate a re payment plan with the IRS. I was told that my case could be resolved easily and this has not happened. To make matters worse, now all I keep getting is phone calls form Mr. ******* ******** our case worker, that if we don't pay an additional 1,500.00 by June 3 2014, that they would drop the case. Mr. ******* keeps telling me that His supervisor is asking for more money and that if I don't pay he would stop helping Us. I have asked to speak to the Supervisor, but He is never available. WE feel 2020 is Using Un fair business practices to pry more money without results. I told Mr. ******* that I was willing to Pay more once the case was resolved. We feel that since they know the position we are in, and the need of a resolution to stay in business, they are using it against us to collect more advance fees. I feel we have paid a reasonable advance fee of 4,150.00 without results.Mr. ******* Told me on the phone that they had stopped IRS collections when in effect we keep getting IRS letters and we even got a letter that the appeal was denied due to failure to provide the documentation the appeal officer had asked for. WE supplied all information to Mr. ******* of 2020 tax services in a timely faction. We got a letter from Mr. ******** from the IRS appeals office that our appeal was denied. Mr. ******** in the letter stated that He spoke to Mr. ******* on April 16, 2014, that He gave Him Until April 18, 2014 to provided requested information. That on April 22, 2014 Mr. ******* asked for another extension and was granted. That Mr. ******** states on same letter that Mr. ******* never supplied required information to Him as of the date on the letter, May X XXXX, and because of that He was denying the appeal. I contacted Mr. ******* immediately and was told By Him that the information on the letter was incorrect, that He did sent all requested information and that He had called Mr. ******** but was told that He was on vacation until May, 27 2014. I truly feel that all of it was done on purpose to pressure Me into paying more fees.

Desired Settlement
All we ask is for 2020 to resolve our Tax issue with the IRS. WE have paid asked amount in the beginning of the contract and In advance, and we have seen no resolution in a reasonable amount of Time. We do want them to finish our case, but we strongly feel that we had prepaid a reasonable amount up front and it should be enough to finish our Case.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

I want to first thank Mr ****** for his concern. We appreciate and respect his feedback. I want to urge him to contact Mr. ******* ******** regarding any case related issues. Mr. ******** manages that aspect of our office and is very helpful in addressing concerns.

As for the timeline related concern I can only offer apologies for the possible poor communication. Our case work is very hard to estimate for a completion date due to many variables. For that reason we try to steer clear of setting any expectations.

I hope that the case work is finished to Mr. ******' satisfaction.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
we did talk on the phone and we came to an understanding.


04/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We were contacted by 2020 tax to resolve our business back taxes owed. Once we paid our fee in full then we were treated differently.
******* ******* was our sales man helping us in our issue. once we did his job on getting paperwork for him...all calls stopd and emails and we have called in the last 2 weeks various times and only getting his voicemail..also receptionist screen our calls. we are wanting our 1200.00 returned in full and will no longer use 2020taxresolution in the future. We think that they take advantage on businesses and personal everyday people in all tax situations. we will never use a tax service again. we are wanting a full refund asap!!

Desired Settlement
Reembursment in full not satisfied in service !!!

Business Response
As you know we are happy to look into any issues with our service to see how it can be rectified. If it cannot and a refund is warranted one will be granted. This is first time we are hearing of any problems with this case. I implore the customer to contact us directly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As of this date of 4/15/2014 a refund or paperwork has not been received by mail or email.

11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

20/20 Tax Resolution did not resolve my case; however they collected from my bank account all the money indicated in the contract. I have evidence that the case was resolve for other company. I am just claiming that my money should be returned.

Desired Settlement
Please refund my money.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

It is my understanding that this consumer received a refund as the result of their request to cancel our contract within the timeline allotted in our cancellation policy. It is my further understanding that the consumer was to contact the BBB in an effort to rescind their complaint.

It was agreed that there was no reason for the complaint since my firm had previously agreed to the refund and was simply organizing the case closure per our internal policy.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The refund was received, however I never received in writing that the refund was in process. Thank you.

10/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Repetitious, harassing phone calls to our patient medical phone lines asking for business owner.
This company has called our emergency dispatch center numerous times a day, every week day, asking for the business owner for a tax matter. Our dispatch center has repeatedly told them to stop calling these lines. Today, I picked up to speak with him after he had called back three times (I am the business owner). I told him to stop contacting my company, that I am not interested in doing business with him. He began to laugh hysterically, (thought we had a mental health patient on the line actually) and asked me why ************************* was so angry with him. He continued to laugh. I explained that we have no tax liens and we are angry because he is tying up our emergency lines while patients are trying to call in to us. Every time he calls, we have to place a patient on hold to answer his call. We have all explained this to him and then we hang up. He turns around and immediately calls and laughs again! I have reported him to the FTC, and am reporting to my state Attorney Generals Office. I am attempting to place this on file with you as well.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that this company cease all communication with my corporation. I am following up with a certified letter to them and as I stated above, am filing complaints with the FTC and the State Attorney Generals Office.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

On behalf of my firm I am terribly sorry for any inconvenience. It is not our intent to continue to call or to offer our services to a taxpayer that is not interested in our help.

As for the existence of the debt itself we received third party information indicating that the company did owe taxes. If that is not the case I will happily address it with the information provider.

Finally, I have spoken with the caller and reviewed the call logs. The caller indicated that he was hung up on, and not by the owner, before receiving an explanation about the nature of the business.

Still, we now understand the situation in a clearer light and want to again apologize for the inconvenience. The company has been placed on our do not call list.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Salesman made promises on a recorded line, he said if I was not satisfied I could back out of the contract. 20/20 continues to bill me.
20/20 contacted me by phone about my comapnys (mendon ventures Inc.) sales tax debt. They told me my current agreement with the state of michigan was in default and therefore null and void. They promised me to get a moratorium on collections and to get me 60-90 days without making a payment to the state. I explained to them that I HAD to have that time without payments to the state in order to pay their fee, as I had no other money. He told me that If they did not deliver I could back out of the contract. He even scheduled the first payment extra days out giving me extra time to "see what they could do for me". However after I paid them the first thousand they informed me that my instalment agreement with the state was still in force, and that I needed to make those payments. I told them that was not going to work and he said he would check into it and call me back, when he did not call me back I asked the bank to stop them from taking money out of my account. A few days later I got another call and the man was belligerent, he told me that NO ONE hangs up on him and that if I did not have the money I should not have signed the contract. I explained to him what the sales man said and he said "that is highly unlikely" but I told him I had recorded the call, and in fact they said they were recording the call too. In the end he agreed to close out the case at the end of the month. However they are still refusing to give me back that original one thousand dollars and have since taken another one thousand dollars from my account. They were wrong, my installment agreement with the state was not null and void, they also promised me additional abatements on penalties that they were also unable to deliver. As far as getting the payment plan rescheduled they told me that they "may" be able to do something in 5 or 6 months. Now they are promising me help on my federal tax problem, and I do have one, but their fee represents %40 of what I owe the federal government, and the feds have already agreed to list me as "uncollectable" for the next 5 years while I clear up the state problem, meaning whatever service they could offer me is already completed by some one besides them, the things they promised me they are incapable of delivering, their salesman talked fast and promised me the ability to back out and then they changed their minds. 20/20 should have a recording of the second call that was made to me, the one that we both recorded where the salesman very clearly says I could back out if they do not deliver, if they refuse to produce that recording or make good on his statements then I have the recording on my phone. I can play it, but I do not know how to get it from my phone into a format that I can email. But I will figure out how to get it to you if I have to, It would be better if they were just honest and did not try to rake people over the coals.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back, If I do not get it I may not be able to pay my bills, as a result my store will close, five people including myself will be out of jobs and the state of michigan will take my home and my car leaving me on the streets. You may think I am a bad guy because I have a tax debt, but I am not, the tax money was embezzled by my X wife right before she divorced me. I live on about 13 grand a year while I fight to save this business, 2 grand out of my pocket for which I get nothing in return may very well be the last straw.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

I want to first thank Mr.****** for bringing his displeasure to our attention. I also want to assure him that his issue will be handled appropriately. I only wish that Mr.****** had contacted a manager here at 20/20. I am certain this would have been handled to his satisfaction.

My research into the case seems to indicate that there was some confusion about how the case was going to be closed. We were under the impression that Mr.****** has approved our keeping the initial $1,000 payment towards our time and resources but that no other payments would be made. Contrary to the information in the complaint only $1,000 has been paid in total.

Nonetheless, Mr.****** is not happy. Therefore, I am recommending that my firm return the $1,000 that we believe had been approved by Mr.****** to him. We hope that this will resolve Mr.******' issues. I apologize for any confusion.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I encourage 20/20 to talk slower and listen more. I also encourage them to get facts before making promises. There is nothing of significant value 20/20 can do for me that has not already been handled. If I let them keep any money it would be money I received no value for because they didn't listen, promised the world and had no ability to change my situation for the better. The full refund does resolve the matter but I would like to note that a second $1000 ACH WAS taken out of my account on the 23rd, but I had already told my bank to block the funds and my bank returned it to me on the 26th.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Since I never received any services or representation from 20/20, I have been attempting to receive a refund since 11/14/13. I want my fees refunded.
In mid-April 2013, I entered into an agreement with 20/20 Tax Resolution to fully represent myself and my wife, ***** to negotiate a resolution with the IRS to reduce our tex debt with the IRS and establish a payment plan. My initial contact was with ***** ******** until I signed the agreement and sent payment in full. Then the account was turned over to **** *************** fully and has been in his control ever since. On September 21, 2013 I received notice from the Office of General Counsel of the IRS Criminal Prosecution Court demanding that I appear at the IRS offices in *********** WV on Sept. 30, 2013 or face criminal prosecution in circuit or federal court for failing to appear and cooperate with the IRS. Mr. ********** was formally listed as my power of attorney to discuss all matters with the IRS and he was responsible for communicating with them on my behalf beginning in April. In fact, 20/20 made it clear to me and through their paperwork that once I hired them to represent me, I would no longer receive any contact of any form from the IRS. They were to handle all matters. I attended the Sept. 30, 2013 meeting in *********** WV with Mr. ***** ******** IRS agent from the *********** PA offices. At that meeting, Mr. ******* informed me that at no time during the period 20/20 was hired to represent me, had he been able to contact Mr. ********** successfully. He went so far as to state that he attempted multiple times via multiple forms of communication to reach Mr. ********** and inform him of the hearing on Sept. 30th. None of his messages were returnedMr. ********** nor anyone else from 20/20 ever bothered to contact me to warn me of the hearing, nor did they send anyone to represent me. They didn't even bother to respond period to Mr. ******** He showed me paperwork at that meeting that showed **** ********** was listed officially as my power of attorney and he showed me notes detailing the multiple attempts to contact him. At this time, he also told me that there had been a similar hearing on August 1, 2013 held. Mr. ********** and 20/20 were notified in advance about this meeting as well. Unfortunately, I was not sent notice of this meeting. So nobody attended this important meeting which certainly left me more vulnerable to criminal prosecution for ignoring their demands. On Nov. 14, 2013, I sent my first request for a full refund to Mr. ********** and he stalled trying to make good and provide the services that should have already been provided. At this point, I had already entered into an agreement with Mr. ******* to settle the balance by selling a piece of real estate I owned. I felt I could no longer wait on 20/20 to begin representing me for fear I would be prosecuted. I again stated I wanted a refund and he sent detailed emails of how I didn't provide enough info for them to fully negotiate on my behalf. This of course was a stalling tactic to try and get me to revert back to them representing me to avoid refunding my money. On 11-15-13, he said he would request the refund through accounting and his superiors. On 11-18-13,I once again contacted him and he promised to do what he could to expedite the process. After no follow up, I again emailed him on 11/25/13 and 12/09/13 but never received any response. Again on 12/19, I emailed him to which he responded he had been off for personal reasons. He again promised to expedite the refund, cautioning me that the holidays would probably slow things down. I took a break from pursuing the matter during some personal health issues and emailed him on 6/18/14. He responded by saying he never heard back from accounting and admitted he forgot about the matter after Christmas. Once again, he is stalling trying to contact me to reopen the case. Currently the case is being handled by my attorney and is out of my control. 20/20 did nothing for me and they have done everything to avoid refunding my money. I have all emails confirming everything. Thank you very much.

Desired Settlement
All I am seeking from 20/20 is a full refund of the full amount I paid them in April of 2013. They provided me no representation and left me vulerable to criminal prosecution. They violated the contract we had saying they would represent me with the IRS. They did nothing for me at any point in time other than process my payments and avoid handling my situation. I feel that a company the size of 20/20 should not play games for 8 months given the facts of this case and do everything to avoid refunding my money. The approx. amount I paid them was in excess of $ 2600.00 I believe. I do not have the amount in front of me right now but I feel I am entitled to a full refund. I have been advised that I could file a civil damages suit against them for breach of contract and other things according to a veteran attorney. I am not electing to sue them at this time provided they simply return what I paid them. I can't understand why they would even risk any damage to their reputation as a reputable tax representation firm. I was wholly fooled by their presentation on their website and their professional mailings in addition to what they told me during my initial discussions with them. They are not the company they pretend to be and they know I rightfully deserve a full refund. Thank you

Business Response
Mr. *******,

Let me first apologize for any apparent delays. That would not be done intentionally. In actuality our management team first became aware of your request for refund on June 18th.

In response to your request we immediately called and emailed you. I was told that the phone numbers we had on file for you were out of service and that we did not receive a response to our email. The next action was this complaint.

I am, as is our manager ******* ********* happy to discuss your request for refund. Mr. *********** name may sound familiar to you as he introduced himself to you by letter at the start of our work. Let me add that a request for refund will be handled timely as it should have been at the end of last year if that is when the issue first arose.

Because of the issues with our recent attempts to contact you I ask only that you call ******* ******** at ************ ***** Thank you.

12/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

2020 has been continually calling me, sending me emails and texting me even after we decided not to use their services.
Our company was contacted by 2020 about a month ago over the phone regarding some back taxes we owed. We received a quote and everyone was very helpful. Lacking the funds to hire them we told them that we would contact them if we decided to hire them. They called me the week after and I told them that we were not going hire them. They contacted me again a couple of weeks later and I told them the same thing and would they please not contact me again. They have since texted and emailed me twice.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to leave me alone.

Business Response
I certainly apologize for any issues regarding our contact. Obviously, it is not our goal to continue to contact taxpayers that have opted out of our service. This taxpayer has been removed from our call/contact list.

Final Consumer Response
Consumer filed duplicate complaint: Case# XXXXXXXX Consumer: ******, ******

2020 was asked repeatedly to quit contacting us and has continued to do so.
2020 was asked repeatedly to quit contacting us and has continued to do so.
We had previously filed a complaint with the BBB which we were told had been honored. We were contacted again by 2020 tax resolution about a week ago and asked if we would like to hire them.
I have told them that we would never hire them ever and I feel like I'm being harassed by them.

Just stop calling me!!!

Final Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

My apologies for this call. This consumer had been placed on our do not call list. However, because of her prior interest in our firm there was a paper lead that was called again as a follow up. it was a mistake and has been rectified.

Our sincerest apologies.

02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/04/1998Business started: 08/03/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

There are rules governing those who may practice before the IRS. Specifically, consumers should understand the rules that govern the recognition of those individuals that may represent taxpayers before the IRS by visiting, Circular 230 for further information.

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Biffle, E.A. (President)Customer Contact: Mr. David Miles, E.A. (Customer Contact)
Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives

Products & Services

20/20 Tax Resolution services businesses and individuals in all 50 states that have outstanding county, state or federal tax debts. 20/20 Tax Resolution's direct responsibility is to negotiate on clients' behalf with the IRS and state taxing authorities to achieve goals of equity protection and business solvency. This is done mainly through installment agreements, assistance with locating financing, and the use of other applicable programs such as the Offer in Compromise.

Alternate Business Names
20/20 Financial Consulting, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

20/20 Tax Resolution has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 66 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos


1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 20/20 Tax Resolution

11800 Ridge Pkwy STE 400

Broomfield, CO 80021-6538

To | From


1 Locations

  • 11800 Ridge Pkwy STE 400 

    Broomfield, CO 80021-6538

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*20/20 Tax Resolution is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 880-7318

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Taxes - Consultants & Representatives


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.