BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2011

Colorado Tax Solutions

Phone: (720) 985-2100Fax: (720) 306-28436312 S Fiddlers Green Cir STE 300E, Greenwood VillageCO 80111-4831
(Virtual Office)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2011

BBB has determined that Colorado Tax Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Colorado Tax Solutions' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Colorado Tax Solutions

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After discussing a tax issue with Wiggs he referred us to a DC attorney. The two charged us $4,000, scared us witless, did nothing but want more $.
My wife, ***** contacted Wiggs regarding a tax problem I had. Wiggs was very cordial and sympathetic and gave her various costs figures. He then charged us $4,000 and referred us to ***** ******, a DC lawyer. The two of them spent several hours doing nothing but suggesting I was probably facing fraud charges and both of us would lose everything. Without resolving a single issue they then requested nearly $2,000 more plus additional escrow monies, meanwhile suggesting constantly that we were in trouble. The fees Wiggs originally suggested for accounting purposes were tripled. When asked about them he shrugged and claimed the original numbers were only estimates. By now it was suggested by the attorney that we would need to spend perhaps tens of thousands of dollars which we didn't have. During this time we realized that even though we discussed details with ****** and requested Wiggs not participate he did so anyway without input and charged us additional monies. Wiggs at this time was not even qualified to be an enrolled agent. When they refused to help further until we paid additional monies we severed our relationship but they refused to refund any monies. We ended up finding a Colorado attorney who knew something about both taxes and integrity. She quietly resolved our issues for a total cost of $1,475.
Mr. Wiggs is nothing more than a vulture preying on people needing help with no concerns about their needs or interests, only his financial needs. This took place in July of 2012. The main reason I was slow in filing a complaint was that I truly didn't know what was going on or who to believe until my issues were resolved with minimal trouble.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of the $4,000 we paid for services never rendered. Accordingly I will not file a complaint against ************ with the Colorado Bar Association or the IRS for ********* Wiggs pretending to practice before the IRS without credentials to do so.

Business' Initial Response
The clients represented that they owed millions of dollars in unpaid taxes and un-filed returns. In preforming our due diligence all of our time billed was detailed and accounted for. We followed the terms of our agreement and accounted for all of the time we spent working for the clients. the client did not want to pay anymore and went elsewhere.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tax Return Preparation, Taxes-Consultants & Representatives

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/21/2011Business started: 02/21/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2010, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Wiggs (Owner)
Business Category

Tax Return Preparation, Taxes-Consultants & Representatives

Alternate Business Names
Tax Solutions Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Colorado Tax Solutions has received 4.70 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6312 S Fiddlers Green Cir STE 300E 

    Greenwood Village, CO 80111-4831(720) 985-2100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Colorado Tax Solutions is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tax Return Preparation

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.