BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Pool & Spa Experts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Pool & Spa Experts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Pool & Spa Experts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Business Management
Mr. Randy Reardon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Reardon, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Reardon Construction Enterprises

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Pool & Spa Experts has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10248 W Chatfield Ave

    Littleton, CO 80127 (303) 788-1330

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damage to electrical lines with delayed recognition. Electrician that did repair says related to digging tools. Only digging tools used in this area recently were used by Reardon - Pool and Spa experts.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund for the costs to repair.

Business Response:

The customer felt that we had negligently damaged his 35 year old underground electric lines.  We were very careful with the lines when we dug them up. We took pictures of the lines just before back filling the trench to show their condition. These lines were inspected by an engineer the building dept and our Construction super Micah. Not to mention the plumber and Electritian who installed the lines in the trench.  The pictures and information have been sent to the customer. We were not negligent in any way. Additionally our contract excludes liability for underground utilities. I am sorry the customer is having problems with these old root infested lines....

Thanks

***** * ******* **

President

Reardon Construction Enterprises

Business Response:

The owner in his first complaint accused us of doing a pour job of digging up his utilities and damaging them. Clearly the owner has now stated that we were not negligent and that his utilities were pristine after we dug them up. Our contract with the owner states under "Responcibilities of Buyer". All existing services (gas water electrical sewer cable) "are the responsibility of the owner".  it is a shame that the owner will not recognize that we did a good job (better than his Electritian who damaged a cable digging it up which was half of the repair cost). We were very carefull not to be negligent. In the absence of being negligent the responsibility for the utilities lies with the owner. 

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There is little logic in it. It is ridiculous to assert that the electrician damaged the line that he repaired.  The only logical explanation for the line failure is damage from the last party that exposed it, i.e. the pool installer.

I will not rescind my complaint.  I will continue to reject your responses.  We are entirely reasonable people that expect quality work for the amount of money we paid (maybe this is an old fashioned notion).

As far as I am concerned this conversation is over.

Sincerely,

**** ******

10/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Promised completion of swimming pool by July 4th, still not complete. Company also damaged landscaping and irrigation system. This is a basic breach of contract. The company simply refuses to finish the job. They promised completion of a swimming pool by July 4th and are no way near completion. In fact, work has been at a standstill. When I complain, the representative blames me for a "bad attitude". I simply can not get the goods and services promised in a written contract.

Desired Settlement: I want my project completed as specified in the contract. I also want the damages the company caused fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/02) */ Reardon Enterprises received its first notice of this complaint on 9/2/2014. The first notice from the BBB was never received. We take these complaints very seriously and will always respond quickly. Copy of signed contract dated 4/28/14 is included with this response. Contract does not commit to any specific completion dates nor would it since there are too many factors beyond Reardon's control like permit approval (by city), HOA approval (by client), landscaping (by client), deck (originally by client), inspections (by city), etc. Ms. *******/*****/******** was aware that HOA approval is the client's responsibility and construction cannot start until HOA approval is received. She sent us notice of receipt of HOA approval on 6/17, more than 6 weeks after signing the contract (see attached email). Construction of the pool started immediately after receiving notice of HOA approval from the client. Client was made aware prior to, during and after signing the contract that Reardon is not responsible for any damage done to the property including landscaping, fencing, irrigation systems, etc. This is normal for pool builders and is expressly written in the contract that she signed. It was also reiterated over and over with Ms. *******/*****/********. We are surprised to receive this complaint because she had acknowledged that these items were her responsibility many times and she had complained of landscaping and other contractors that did not show up or return her phone calls. Ms. *******/*****/********'s decking contractor backed out of his commitment to her for the stamped concrete decking. Ms. *******/*****/******** then asked Reardon to build her deck although it was not included in the contract. At her request Reardon added the deck into the scope of work which increased the contract amount by nearly 20% and added additional time to the construction schedule. Reardon finds Ms. *******/*****/********'s complaint to be completely baseless and born entirely of her frustration of not being able to swim as soon as she would have liked. Reardon was on her job site nearly every day during the construction process and responded to her every request (we have 100's of pages of emails and texts from the client that show constant progress and reasonable satisfaction from her at our progress). The pool and spa were completed on 8/27/14 when they were plastered and started up on 8/29/14 (when they were filled) in time for her to enjoy the pool and spa for the Labor Day weekend. The spa cover is being custom made to fit her unique shaped spa and will be installed as soon as it is done. The pool cover will be installed this week (week of 9/1). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/09/29) */ The project is NOT finished. They have yet to deliver the custom cover for the hot tub. Also, there is still concrete splatter all over my home, patio furniture, etc. There is tons of damage that needs to be fixed. I was told there would be MINIMAL damage to the landscaping. I was never told the entire sprinkler system would be destroyed. Also, there was NO care in trenching. They cut the roots of a $1500.00 tree, that died because of this. They could've gone around it, but chose to be careless. Regarding timing ... In order to get the contract, I was promised the pool would be completed by July 4th, then by the end of July, then by mid-August. The ONLY reason it was somewhat completed by Labor Day is because of the filing of this complaint with the BBB. I DO NOT WANT THIS COMPLAINT CLOSED!!!! They have yet to finish the project and are lying when they say they have! Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/10/13) */ The spa cover is a custom built lid with details and dimensions that are critical to get right. The cover has been in production since early September (see attached supporting documents). We hope to receive the cover from the mfr sometime in the next week or so. The order timing can also be verified by calling the mfr ******** Spa Covers at ************ (www.prestigespacovers.com) Regarding the landscaping, the customer is aware that our contract specifically states that we will take every reasonable precaution to prevent damage but she is ultimately responsible for all damage to the landscaping. During construction she was asked to have a tree moved (that she wanted to keep) multiple times over the span of a few weeks prior to the deck being poured (the tree was in the way of the deck). The client never moved the tree. She was also asked numerous times to get the grading and retaining work done uphill from the pool. That was also never done. ***** told us that she could not get the landscaper to show up and do the work or even return her phone calls. So she assigned her son to do the work. I called and made an appointment with her assistant to meet her son and walk the property with him to discuss all the landscaping needs. I showed up at the job site on time and was told by *****'s assistant that *****'s son was not feeling well and could not meet with me. I walked in the back yard and saw him laying on the lawn furniture until he saw me and ran inside the house. Despite all of our efforts we could not get the homeowner to fulfill her responsibilities to get some landscaping and other items done during construction of the pool. The sprinklers where the pool is located were dug up when the pool was excavated. This is normal for any pool contractor and as per our contract, our discussions with the client, it is the homeowners responsibility to repair the sprinkler system. This was also never done during construction of the pool despite promptings from our staff. Our crews took great care in the trenching and excavation and we did a great deal of extra work so that we could continue progress since the client was not fulfilling her responsibilities. During the (roughly) 9 weeks of construction the client had never complained to us about any of these items or we would have addressed them then. Some of the clients complaints about us are the result of her own inaction and some are merely fabrications to try to get the BBB to keep this ticket open. We have built her a beautiful pool and spa that she and her family have been enjoying for weeks now and we have more than satisfied the terms of our agreement (please see copy of contract attached to our first response). The only open item is the spa cover that will be delivered as soon as it is received. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on The Pool & Spa Experts
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart