BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/2013

Mountain Mist Pool & Spa of Longmont

(303) 772-11251240 Ken Pratt Blvd Ste 4, LongmontCO 80501-6300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/2013

BBB has determined that Mountain Mist Pool & Spa of Longmont meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mountain Mist Pool & Spa of Longmont's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mountain Mist Pool & Spa of Longmont

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service tech was unable to resolve the problem, replaced parts that were working, and broke other parts and charged for the time to repair.
Heater stopped operating after refill and service tech called on 3/18. Service tech broke a hose during evaluation, resulting in additional time and expenses. Service tech was unable to resolve problem and suggested multiple items that needed to be replaced. Service tech charge $271.04 with hot tub left in disrepair and offered additional service on following day. Additional service was declined. Another service company was called. They fixed the issue (bad relay) in 20 minutes. Asked to spend additional time to review issues noted by Mountain Mist; they disagreed that any of the additional work and replacements suggested by Mountain Mist were either necessary or recommended. Visited Mountain Mist in person to discuss, but manager was unavailable. Tried calling multiple times but manager was in the warehouse and unavailable. Have been unable to get further discussion from Mountain Mist.

Desired Settlement
Seeking refund of $202.50 for 2.25 hours of labor that did not resolve problem and later required other company only 20 minutes to diagnosis and repair.

Business Response
As the owner I would like to thank the BBB for providing this platform for us to be able to respond to issues such as this one. I would like to address each one of the customer's complaints listed. To begin with the amount paid for service and the date is correct the rest however is inaccurate. Service was performed per our records on 3/18/14. The time billed was for diagnosis and repair of a pressure switch only. The customer is correct that in fact the technician did brake off a bleed line fitting in the course of this repair. This is not uncommon (as noted in the tech notes there was significant water balance issues and the bleeder was brittle), but none the less the technician did do the repair and the customer was NOT charged for the time or the part to do the portion of the repair that the on site technician caused. After completing replacement of a bad "pressure switch" we diagnosed further issues that would have required our company to order parts. Our technician informed the customer that as their spa was under warranty through another manufacturer and retailer,they would be best served going through their warranty center and we referred them back to the company the spa was purchased at. Per the claim that "another company" fixed the spa in 20 minutes, that would be about right due to the fact the other issue was already addressed. In fact in my conversation with the customer (yes we did speak over the phone), the customer claimed that we lied about corrosion or calcium build up on the "pressure switch" because the next company couldn't find any on the part. As I pointed out to him, there wouldn't be any buildup on a NEW part since we replaced it. To address the customer's claim of never being offered any resolution with anyone from our company I can only say that is simply not true. The initial time he attempted to contact us he was informed I was the person to speak with and that I wasn't available. He left his phone number and it took numerous phone calls by me and two days from my recollection before he was able to take my call. He laid out his grievances and as I explained to him we are certainly capable of making mistakes but also eager to rectify those mistakes. After hearing his side of the story and looking at the notes and discussions with our technician I explained to the customer that I could not find fault in anything our tech had done or charged him for but in the interest of good relations, I did offer him a credit in our store of I believe $75.00. He wasn't satisfied and attempted to renegotiate the price of his service call. Once again we went over the service performed and received on the call and I told him I couldn't justify refunding him any portion of a call that was done in good faith and by all records quite appropriately. He then asked me to hold why he spoke to another party in the house and came back on the phone and informed me that he was going to refuse the charge on his credit card. I calmly explained that I'm sorry that he felt that way and that was certainly his right to do so. I then explained to him that in the interest of full disclosure, since our stance is the work was done timely, appropriate, and necessary for the situation we would be fighting any refusal with our merchant processor and if need be turn the balance over to a collections agency. To sum up our response. The charge was the amount the customer claimed, a part was broken by our technician during repair, and upon initial contact the customer wasn't able to speak with me. From there the above complaint does skew from record. I in fact did speak with the customer over the phone, we are the ones that recommended they contact the authorized repair center, we left the home under no pretense that the spa was fully repaired (to which the customer admitted to me during our phone conversation), the amount billed was paid the day of service and only after the fact did he feel the need to attempt to renegotiate the amount, the customer was not charged for the part or time to repair the piece broken by our technician, and the customer refused our good will gesture of a store credit and explained he wouldn't be coming back in again. As a business owner it is hard to admit that at times a relationship does come to the point that both parties are served best by going their separate ways but as I explained to him I am truly sorry he felt we failed him so badly. That said I still can't honestly justify his request when the situation is looked at as a whole and a accurate record is laid out of the events surrounding this customer's experience with our company. I do wish him well but unfortunately we are still at a fundamental disagreement as to what kind of service he received from our company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We agree the business did finally contact us after multiple visits to the store and multiple calls. The rest is simply false. 1) They did not recommend we seek service with a different company. The technician did not recommend we go through another company. The technician gave us a bill. We asked if the tub was now working and he said now. We asked what he thought was the problem and he very asked us "if we understood how motors work". Seems we should have asked him that question at the start. He was going to come back in the morning and did not know what was the problem and it would take time to diagnose. We called the business immediately and told them we did not want them to come back in the morning. 2) With respect to the "water balance issues", the service was following a complete flush of the system. The water had been drained and was refilling as the tech arrived. We asked the other company to look for the water balance issues. They informed us the all the lines and components looked good and there was no indication of a problem from the components. With the components in good shape and the water flushed, Mountain Man has offered no explanation for how they determined "water balanced issues" beyond the tech wrote that. 3) We obviously don't claim the new part doesn't show corrosion. Based on our observation and the analysis of a second company, no OTHER components show any corrosion any where in the system. We find it surprising that only the component removed from the tub and in the possession of Mountain Man would show an issue. 4) The replaced part did not fix the problem. An unrelated issue with a fuse corrected the problem. While it is possible both the fuse and the "pressure switch" failed simultaneously, Mountain Man spent multiple hours and was not able to find the failed fuse which took 15 minutes for the other company to find and replace. When Mountain Man gave us a bill, then told us the tub was not working, and they would return tomorrow, they only thing the tech was able to tell us was his snide question about "do you know how motors work?" If only the tech had know the tech had known how motors work. We are proceeding to small claims court.

Final Business Response
Obviously the customer has a very different accounting of events from both my interactions with him and my technicians notes and discussions with myself. I don't see the productivity in trading shots. I sincerely am very sorry that the customer feels this way. At this point the customer is beginning to insinuate that it was somehow our intent from the beginning to mislead or lie to them (by not leaving the faulty pressure switch) and making it a personal battle about our capabilities and technical savvy. It is not normal practice to leave old parts unless the customer wanted them. We would have been happy to do so. At the time of the billing nothing was in dispute, we weren't aware that we should be keeping evidence. I've been in this industry for twenty years and I wouldn't trade my technician for any of my competitors. I am more than confident in his ability, character, and truthfulness.

We have neither the time, resources, nor will to purposely fail in satisfying our customer base. I will stand by our original accounting of the entire exchange that is contained in our initial response. The easy thing for me to do as a business owner would be throw money at the "problem" and make it go away. That said I have a responsibility to our vast numbers of very satisfied customers, our employees, their families, and mine for that matter to ensure that this company does business in a manner that will ensure its survival for another 20 years and beyond. Part of that is stepping up to the plate when we screw up. Another part of that responsibility is knowing when you have to draw the line with a customer and stand with your staff when they've adequately performed their jobs. The customer has every right to be upset and seek whatever remedy he would like to, that is his RIGHT to do so. It however does not make him correct. As it will be my right to actively and accurately defend our staff and justify his billing that was paid at the time of service.

I still wish him and his family the best and I'm glad he was able to get his spa working however much our version of events differ.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is notable the response never actually addresses the technical issues or specific complaints. We obviously stand by our account and the best resolution is for the results here to be public so that potential customers will be aware of the business practices and can decide for themselves.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Sauna Equipment & Supplies, Barbecue Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/24/2004Business started: 04/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Tyler Smith (Owner)Ms. Jill Smith
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Sauna Equipment & Supplies, Barbecue Equipment & Supplies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mountain Mist Pool & Spa of Longmont

1240 Ken Pratt Blvd Ste 4

Longmont, CO 80501-6300

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1240 Ken Pratt Blvd Ste 4 

    Longmont, CO 80501-6300(303) 772-1125

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mountain Mist Pool & Spa of Longmont is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.