This business is not BBB accredited.

Mile High Spas, Inc

Phone: (303) 789-2366 3109 W Hampden Ave, Englewood, CO 80110 http://www.milehighspas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 4/28/2016 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mile High Spas, Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mile High Spas, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 02, 2006 Business started: 12/19/2006 Business started locally: 12/19/2006 Business incorporated 12/19/2006 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Gonterman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Gonterman, President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3109 W Hampden Ave

    Englewood, CO 80110 (303) 789-2366

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mile High spas worked on a hot tub at my home, the work caused damage to the spa in excess of $1000. Burned heater and board components and a broken cosmetic exterior panel. Mile high spas billed $1418.13 for repairs. Via Email I have been in contact with the owner ****. **** is unwilling to repair the damages or adjust his bill. **** Has turned this into collections and has liened the home.

Desired Settlement: Any kind of adjustment or resolution action would be acceptable. Perhaps even an apology would have sufficed. But now we need to remove the collections report and lien.

3/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Mile High Spas for repair of our hot tub last year because I had used **** in the past and trusted his work. After the first call,our problems were not resolved so I called and complained.****'s employee that was sent to do the work admitted he did not properly diagnose the problem and he replaced a heater element and that problem was resolved. We had to call for two other issues and both times the same employee was sent out and did the work incorrectly and had to return a second and third time. Both times I asked **** to come and do the work because I didn't trust his employee. The last time he came he admitted he was not sure he fixed the problem (leaks) so we waited to fill the tub until Christmas as time because during the summer each time he came and drained and filled the tub we were paying a water surcharge. When we filled the tub again the leaks had not been fixed and the water tempura ture did not go up. I called **** to lodge another complaint but apparently he didn't want to deal with me anymore because he didn't respond. I had another person come and look at the spa. Apparently all the work that had been done in the past was done incorrectly. The heater element was burned out and the same parts were leaking. I would like a refund for all the incorrect work that was done over the last year. We paid over $750 in parts and labor.

Desired Settlement: At this point I no longer trust Mile High Spas to do the proper repairs or to respond to my complaints in a timely manner. I would like a refund for the parts and labor for this past year since all the work was done incorrectly and the replacement parts are destroyed.

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hot was presented as being thoroughly refurbished and in very good working condition. Spa was not as represented and service was not either. Purchased spa in September and **** came out 5-6 times to repair. Each time it was under warranty but a nuisance. By June I just unplugged the spa. In September I called **** again and told him it was the same old problems. He came out and repaired it again and let me a bill. I contact him and told him the old issues had never been taken care of. He came out again and said the the circuit board was bad. 2 months later I walked outside and the tub was running again. No phone call no nothing but a letter asking for a passed *** bill. The spa stopped running 4 days later and I called another company to repair it. The spa quit running again 10 days ago. The *** repairman came out and told me the mother board was bad and it was not new but soldered together and fried and that is why it didn't work. The warranty was not honored to completion and the hot tub was not as advertised. I now have to pay $******* for a mother board to repair the tub. ************* should pay the bill

Desired Settlement: Total refund of my money or pay for the repairs to be completed in full

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/04/04) */ The hot tub was sold in very good working condition.(it was my personal hot tub!) I put a 1 year warranty to assure a customer that it will work fine. It is a product full of mechanical piece of equipment. (Most competitors give a 90 day warranty) Purchased 9/19/12 delivered 9/22/12 1st service call was 1st of November ***** issue Came out inspected for problem turned spa breaker off/ on worked fine. Nothing consistent wrong to show a problem. 2nd call 2 weeks later ***** This time it was diagnosed as a pressure switch, replaced worked fine. 3rd service call 12/18/12 Diagnosed as a #1 pump failure - replaced 10/23/13 serviced call no heat. One month out of warranty charged him for a heater replacement. Bill still outstanding. 11/5/13 called still not working. Board had a problem sent to supplier for rebuild. NO Charge to customer. When returned from my supplier went and put it in and was working perfectly. Left him a notice on door. Every time Mr. ***** called, we were there either same day or next day. When a problem happens in a spa, it must be definitive to make sure that what is actually wrong or failed. I think that is very good customer service! The bill in question is for a **************. It is effected by a number of factors. Mostly by, water chemistry which is the customers responsibility. It was after the warranty. A failure after 4 days and no call. What is that about? I guess it is his prerogative as the spa was out of warranty. He chose to use someone else and that is his problem. Whoever he used did not know what he was doing so he just replaced what he thought was a problem. As for as the board, I would have warrantied it if that was the problem. The type of repair I had done on the board is very common. If he paid $**** for a board, that tells me the tech. he used did not know what he was doing. When a board "fries", my average charge is less than $***. Rarely, does it go much higher. I don't know who he called or why he would not call me. Used hot tubs are like any other used products. Certain items may fail. I have responded to Mr. ***** throughout the year very promptly and professionally. For him not call me put the responsibility on him. If Mr. ***** did not get "ripped off" on the board, I would go out and warranty it with my parts and labor. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 18, 2014/04/17) */ April 15,2014 BBB 1020 Cherokee Street Denver, CO 80204 RE: Case #XXXXXXXX I am responding to your letter of 4-17-14. A thanks mainly to you Mile High Spas has contacted me and finally took care of their issue and replaced the motherboard. Gary also left me a message that the mother board his company installed was reworked and of very poor quality. I am not sure why his company would not have taken a look at the parts they were installing before the put it in the hot tub. I still believe the hot tub was not as presented by Mile High Spas in the beginning and you can see from their own admission they came out numerous time in the year and continued to have similar or the same issues during that period. If it was thoroughly examined and updated, how can you have that many service calls? I appreciate your help getting this resolved. Thanks **** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mile High Spas, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)