This business is not BBB accredited.

Nationwide Security

Phone: (303) 337-0302 3190 S Vaughn Way #160, Aurora, CO 80014 http://www.mynationwidesecurity.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Nationwide Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nationwide Security
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 2009 Business started: 10/27/2008 Business started locally: 10/27/2008 Business incorporated 10/27/2008 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bill Barnes, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Barnes, Owner
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Systems Consultants Home Improvements


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3190 S Vaughn Way #160

    Aurora, CO 80014

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid in full for a 3 yr contract that the system we paid for was unusable for all but 1 month b/c of tech issues leading to us not being able to use. We had an ADT alarm system (DSC 1616) installed by Nationwide Security on 8-22-13. On X-XX-XX the code that was given to us by the installer to set our alarm was actually a code to send a distress distress signal. We didn't get a call from the police or the alarm company on that until we were 45 mins away from home. Not very fast for a distress code. I was less then impressed with that. Thank goodness we really weren't in trouble. We then had our first system problem on 9/27/13. According to the paperwork provided by Nationwide and the contract I signed I was to call ADT for service related issues and NWS (nation wide security) for sales related questions. So we called the ADT number provided. This call resulted in a work order from ADT to NWS but no calls were ever returned from NWS. At this point we were unable to turn our alarm on to provide the service and safety in which we paid for because of the error code within the system. We couldn't reset a monitored zone. We called again in June of 2014 for a new service job request. ADT gives us a number for us to call NWS directly. The same number that is on our paperwork (XXX-XXX-XXXX). This today is not a working number and NWS admitted to me that they had changed their numbers and didn't provide the new number to ADT or to it's customers, but had apparently just recently found out that all of NWS numbers weren't updated within the systems. March 2015, another call by us. This time an apt was scheduled but the local service tech never showed up or returned calls. July 11th 2015 - Called NWS and got no call backs. August 11th I called ADT and NWS to check on the contract dates. Reached NWS, no call back. August 7th & 25th 2015, I called ADT to discuss my disgust and was told I need to call NWS because they were our service provider. When I talked to ADT I reached their corporate Customer relations department and discussed the situation. They agreed with me and said they would e-mail NWS about the disputes of paying in full and not having any service calls returned, scheduled, or completed (because they had the documentation of them contacting NWS for service calls). I call NWS on 8/26 and left a VM about my disgust on the customer service and trying to reach a resolve and a refund. The same day I get a VM from NWS asking me to call them back to discuss the situation, but said they were calling b/c of an e-mail they received from the ADT corporate offices regarding this case. I called them back the same day and got a VM recording in which I left a VM to have them call me back. They never called me back. I had to call them back and discuss my issues. They claim they didn't have record of any service calls from us or ADT and weren't willing to do anything because they "didn't get a chance to fix the problem". We finally agreed to gather information (i already had it) and contact one another in a week. I again had to call them back and **** was the one gathering information and he was on vacation and I'd have to call them back later. 10/15 I called again and ****, who was on vacation earlier, was out of the office again. I left my cell number (again) and asked for **** to call me b/c I had initiated every phone call since this point. 10/27 I still had no call back and told them this was originally part of my complaint in that the customer service and communication was non-existent and it completely showed during this transaction. They have continuously told me they had no records of me calling and they would have fixed it if I had called them. They can't fix a problem they don't know about, which I agreed, however both ADT and I have records, why can't they find them? Ultimately I paid for a service I never received aside from the first month and there were no problems because we didn't turn it on until the first call on 9/2013. ADT has been more than helpful in this situation, but NWS has taken our money and hidden from the reality of the situation.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a refund of the $1,289.70 that was paid up front and in full the day of install on 8/2013. We paid for a 3 yr service contract and we were unable to set the alarm due to system trouble. We followed the contracts instructions on who to call and for what situation, called the correct numbers provided, and we were never updated with any change of phone number or corporate address. We often attempted to give NWS the benefit of the doubt by continuing to call and request service, but never received return phone calls or on the one rare occasion we had an appointment set up, no one showed up. You may ask, why are we just asking for this now? Truth be told it gets exhausting calling an asking for something or leaving a VM and never hearing anything back. A call would be made a few months might go by and we want to set the alarm and it would trigger us to call again. I was over it and persistence kicked in until we are at this point. Two months of trying to work individually with the two members of NWS, one of whom is the president of the company, and it has again become laughable and exhausting. I think it is clear that we attempted several times to ask for their help, but what is even more clear now is that once the problem has been made real to NWS, they still never called or initiated a call to me but once and that was only in response to ADT corporate initiating an e-mail on my behalf. I gave NWS 2 months to work on this with me and we have gotten no where. ADT corporate even told them the BBB would be involved if it wasn't resolved. We feel because of the continuous efforts of reaching out to the company over the years and the documentation we have, (but they can't seem to get their hands on even from the same place I received it) we are entitled to a full refund in this case for paying for something we never received and that was an active alarm system. Nothing else in America is it "ok" to buy a service and not get it. This is not an exclusion.

6/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading sales rep, and the actual equipment installed do not match. Unwilling to fix without me putting in more money. scamming me into a 3yr agrmt This has been the worst experience ever. As a business owner I try to protect myself from the unknown when I am not around. I feel I have more to fear from a Company like Nationwide Security than I do someone who has a gun. The guy with a gun is more up front with you and you know what to expect. What is even more pathetic, is a company that it represents ******** doesn't take responsibility for its subcontractors. *** hands out their name to whoever they want. I had my system installed in August 9th of 2014. I told the sales rep, *********** what I wanted covered. Front door, back door, cash register, and parking lot. Not a problem, and I should be impressed that I am getting all this stuff for free. He also told me that if at any time during the first 6 months I wanted to cancel I could. The sales rep who is not the installer tells me all I will need are these 2 cameras. 1 outside and 1 inside and that I will be able to see all of my parking lot, and all of the inside of my business. The installer comes out installs the 2 cameras, and says that we may need to make some adjustments, not to worry. In the parking lot I can only see 2 spaces in front, 3 spaces in back. I need to see about 10 in front and 10 in back. The 1 camera inside is so far away from the cash register you can't see or make out faces. He comes back out to adjust and now I can't even see the cash register or front door. I call and tell them it is not good enough. Nationwide says that in order to do what I want they will have to add more cameras and I will have to pay more. I said no, come get your stuff and then they tell me too bad, it's beyond your 30 days. I'm stuck for 3 years. I call **** ********* *********** ****** they give me the run around, call this person and that person. I have 2 numbers that I have called and have left many messages. No one picks up and no one calls me back. When I try other numbers I'll talk to someone who says that my dealings have to be with Nationwide Security not **** even though its ****** name is on the product and I'm using *** software. I call Nationwide security and they tell me that as long as there are not any problems with the 'service', I can't cancel, but if I wish to cancel I will pay 75% of the unpaid balance, or I pay extra money to have the cameras installed correctly, either way you have me for more money. Good little scam, get people sucked into a 3 year agreement, provide crappy service, then when we complain, we have to pay even more. The cameras aren't covering what they need to is a SERVICE ISSUE. I had the alarm in my business go off one morning at 5:40am, I logged in and I can't even see the front door or cash register area, unknown as to why the alarm went off. Had to drive down to my office 20 miles away just to check. What is being secured, my business or your wallet! In February I got an *** sale rep, ********* to stop by and review my cameras. He said that the cameras used on the outside were substandard cameras. They weren't even outdoor cameras. They were lower models of the camera that I have on the inside. The camera used on the inside isn't even a camera to be view at a wide angle, more for a single hallway, narrow. I hope people read this review before you start up with this shady, misleading, under handed, company. Do not go with *** or Nationwide Security. They are worse than the crooks your trying to keep out!

Desired Settlement: I want the contract canceled WITHOUT the early cancelation penalty associated. I want their equipment OUT OF MY SCHOOL!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/03) */ First let me say I take great offense to *** ******** comments about my business. Nationwide Security installed an *** system for *** ***** on 8/7/14. The system that was installed consisted of 1 control panel, 1 motion sensor, 1smoke detector, 3 door contacts, 2 remote controls, 2 indoor camera's and 1 outdoor camera. **** ***** was only charged $131 for instead of $696 which would have been our normal install price for a system containing this amount of equipment. Nationwide agreed to this discount to earn *** ******** business. We subsequently sent our ********** ******* ***** ******** to "service" the account on 9-18-14 and 10-28-14. We adjusted the cameras and offered to add additional cameras to cover more area at our wholesale cost. *** ***** declined. Our offer still stands to install any additional equipment to make *** ***** happy (at our cost). I have over 37 years experience in the Security Industry and my company has the highest rating with the BBB that it can have. The disparaging remarks from *** ***** are unwarranted and I am willing to make a reasonable effort to make the customer happy. Thanks **** ****** President Nationwide Security Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You may very well have all of the experience, but the people who represent you are not operating ethically. When I was sold the system, ****** told me what was included free of charge and what I would pay. No one gives away any for free, eventually you will more than recover your costs of equipment. ****** told me I could get out of it during the first 6 months. I told ****** that the coverage was not what I asked for, he said that it was too bad, but to fix it would cost me more money. I feel like I was duped into doing business. You are the experts. When I as for something, if you can do it for $400, then tell me that, If you do it for $200 and then later tell me, after I am locked in for 3 years, that it will cost me more money, shame on you for not giving me the proper costs, ALL, up front. There are not 2 cameras inside, only 1. 1 was and is not sufficient, this I told ****** and the Technician this during my 30 days. Originally there was only 1 camera outside, now 2, but the 1 was not sufficient you can only see 2 parking spots in front and 3 in back. I had an *** sales rep, look over my system and he said it was a substandard system. And that it really should have cost me $1,600. If this is what I would have been told from the beginning I would of said NO! Honesty upfront, NOT in the END! I want the contract cancelled and your equipment removed! Final Business Response /* (4000, 32, 2015/06/02) */ This complaint has been resolved. Nationwide Security installed an additional camers at no charge to the customer and the customer has indicated that he is completely satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 34, 2015/06/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No I am not completely satisfied with my service, that implies that there are no more issues, that I am happy. I am just recently satisfied with the camera coverage I wanted from day 1, however it took more than 6 months of aggravating communication to get that taken care of. The fact that I had to involve BBB says that there was not enough open communication between me and Nation Wide Security. I am still not satisfied with the lack of customer service that I got. When I sighed, ****** said that I could end the agreement in 6 months, that was a lie. I am now legally committed to this contract for 3 years. Counting down the days! AND no one has ever bothered to do a follow up call at any time to see if I needed anything else or was truly happy. No true Customer Service.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: UNWANTED CALLS TO MY NUMBER USING PHONE NUMBER XXX-XXX-XXXX, THIS COMPANY HAS CALLED ME NO LESS THAN 3X PER WEEK FOR THE PAST TWO MONTHS. ON FOUR SEPARATE OCCASIONS, I HAVE ASKED THAT THEY REMOVE MY NUMBER FROM THEIR LIST SINCE MINE IS NON PUBLISHED. I HAVE GOTTEN NOTHING BUT EXCUSES AND FEEBLE ATTEMPTS AT EXPLAINING TO ME WHY THEY CONTINUE TO CALL EVERY WEEK. I HAVE NEVER DONE BUSINESS WITH THEM NOR DO I INTEND TO AFTER BEING HOUNDED WEEK AFTER WEEK. I DO NOT WANT THEM TO ARGUE WITH ME ABOUT WHY THE CALLS CONTINUE, I WANT THEM TO STOP. PERIOD, PLAIN, AND SIMPLE.

Desired Settlement: N/A

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/05) */ We have not received this complaint until today. We first want to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused Ms. ****. We typically only call new phone connects and new homeowners and we scrub all numbers against all State and National do not call lists. Ms. ****'s number may have ended up on more than one list. That said we will permanently remove XXX-XXX-XXXX from all calling lists. In addition we will post a special notice on all phones with this number and "Do Not Call" instructions. If there are any other numbers we need to remove for Ms. ****, she may contact me (**** ****** / President) at XXX-XXX-XXXX or *******@nationwidesecurity.us. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/02/07) */ Our response was based on the information the consumer gave in the original complaint. We will immediately institute "do not call" procedures for XXX-XXX-XXXX based on the new information

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told when I signed the contract that I could cancel any time for any reason within 6 months of the contract terms. I have olny been in this contract for 1 week and the said company will not cancel the contract. I was told that I can cancel the contract any time for any reason with in 6 months. I called the corprate office to stop the install "ADT" and left a message on the evening of **** at **** to cancel the contract but no one would awnser the phone. I have phone records showing me making the call as well as 3 wittness reddy to testify to the false statments made by Nationwide

Desired Settlement: Cancel the contract and pull out the equement that was installed with no charge

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/29) */ Mr. ********* was never told he could cancel his agreement for any reason within the first 6 months. Mr. ********* admitted he misunderstood our sales rep. Nevertheless, Nationwide Security sent an installer back to Mr. *********'s home and installer a less expensive solution at Nationwide's expense. Mr. ********* claimed to have been pleased with the resolution. This change was at a cost of $400 to Nationwide security but the goal was to please the customer Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Nationwide Security
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)