BBB Accredited Business since

Regis University

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 458-4950 View Additional Phone Numbers 3333 Regis Blvd, Denver, CO 80221 http://www.regis.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Regis University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Regis University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Regis University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 18, 1992 Business started: 11/27/1912 Business started locally: 11/27/1912
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Private Occupational Schools
1560 Broadway Ste 1600, Denver CO 80202
http://highered.colorado.gov/dpos/
Phone Number: (303) 866-2723

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Hathaway-Clark Mr. Donnie Veasey, Director, Public Relations
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Regis Learning Commons is violating FCC regulations regarding the providing of an opt-out link: https://www.fcc.gov/consumers/guides/spam-unwanted-text-messages-and-email "Opt-Out – The email must provide easily-accessible, legitimate and free ways for you to reject future messages from that sender." I have politely requested to be excluded from their e-mail list four times without success.

Desired Settlement: Provide an opt-out link.

Business Response: We are very grateful to receive this feedback.  We were unaware that requests to be removed from this list (and others like it) were not being honored.  In researching this incident we discovered that the individual responsible for updating the lists is no longer in the position and this responsibility was shared with the new employee.  This also brought to our attention that our communications management system does not currently have an automated "opt-out" capability.  We are researching how to move from an manual update process to an automated system.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11122446, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

11/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Internet in the graduate student housing is slow and unreliable. Pomponio Village, Regis' off campus graduate student housing, charges a fixed price and includes internet service. Since moving in early August 2014, the internet speed and connection has been unreliable. The building is not wired for ethernet, so everyone is stuck using WIFI. The complex is set up with ~5 consumer grade routers meant for single households. These routers occasionally drop the connection, and the signal does not reach multiple rooms in the apartment. This issue was first reported on August 30th and nothing has improved. The internet speed has been <1Mbps about 50% of the time between September 21st and October 1st. Websites take 10+ seconds to load and videos are unwatchable. It's next to impossible to get any work done that requires internet research, and I have to drive to campus or a coffee shop for classes that require streamed videos. Even before September 21st, the internet would close down to <1Mbps for a few hours every few days. This issue has been documented (speed test reports were sent on multiple occasions, the first report was sent on August 30) and reported to the apartment manager, the IT manager, and the head of residence life. The answer is always, "We are working on it as fast as possible." Unfortunately it's been more than a week, nothing has been done, and there is not even a timeline for getting it fixed.

Desired Settlement: Properly functioning internet speeds and WIFI.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/17) */ In late August 2014 Mr. ******* made contact with Regis University staff about the connectivity issues at Pomponio Village. While it appeared to Mr. ******* that Regis was not acting promptly enough to address his concern, the university took immediate corrective action and continued to troubleshoot the issue until it was resolved to the customer's satisfaction. o In early September, Regis did a reset of all of the routers at least 3 times to see if that would assist with the WiFi trouble. o In mid-September, Mr. ******* acknowledged that the reset helped the issue. o On 9/14, after one of the resets, Regis staff sent an email asking student residents to provide feedback on how their internet was doing. Staff received positive feedback from several residents. o On 9/24 Mr. ******* again complained about the internet service and sent speed tests showing how slow the internet was going. o On 9/25 Regis staff met with Comcast, the service provider, at Pomponio to troubleshoot the internet problems. o On 9/26 the Director of Residence Life and Housing stepped in to assure Mr. ******* that the university was taking appropriate action and was working with the internet provider, Comcast, to resolve the issue. o On 10/2 Regis staff met again with a Comcast maintenance tech at Pomponio to identify the best option to increase internet speed. o On 10/4 Comcast made a service call to the apartments to correct the issue. o On 10/14 Mr. ******* e-mailed the Director of Residence Life and Housing and reported that,"The Internet speeds have been great since Comcast came out on the 4th." o On October 15, 2014, Regis University closed the ticket and considers the issue resolved. Mr. ******* was further assured that Regis will continue to work closely with Comcast to ensure the strong internet reception continues. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What a joke. After Comcast came out on 10/4, the internet speeds improved. However, nothing was done regarding the WIFI reception. I e-mailed the Director of Residence Life and asked her if they were working on it, and also put a side note in that the internet speeds had improved. She ignored my question about the WIFI and e-mailed back on October 16th letting me know the ticket had been closed. Nothing had been done to improve the WIFI reception. On September 18th and 19th, the internet slowed down once again, as shown by the following speed tests: http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/XXXXXXXXXX http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/XXXXXXXXXX Do you plan on fixing the WIFI reception? It's been close to 2 months since my initial request. Just because the internet speeds were working well between 10/4 and 10/14 does not mean you can disregard future problems. Can you please open a new ticket and ask if the problem has been fixed before closing it? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/30) */ The affordable student housing unit where the customer lives is an older building with older infrastructure. Regis has equipped the facility with wireless internet adequate to the academic needs of the students in the building. State-of-the-art, high speed internet sufficient to power multiple devices in addition to the academic needs of students is an unrealistic expectation for this building and it is not promised to students who occupy the facility. However, Regis is also committed to keeping up with the technology that drives so much of what we do these days and so student's devices can perform in all student housing units. Regis has been in conversation with the service provider (Comcast) for that housing unit as well as all of our other units about upgrading service. These negotiations take time and as Regis has documented, Comcast has been working with us in the meantime to provide the highest level of service to the building in which the customer resides. On October 29, 2014, the Director of Residence Life and a Comcast technician again went to the housing unit, tested and adjusted the equipment and took their own measurements of the speeds. Fortunately, the customer was in his unit and the Director and the Comcast technician met with the customer personally, tested the service in his unit and left the meeting with all parties acknowledging the improvements. Since there have been intermittent fluctuations in the past, Regis is committed to continuing to monitor the situation and addressing future issues should they arise. Regis and the service provider are doing everything we can reasonably do to attend to the customer's needs.

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Regis University dropped me from a graduate course without cause. On 5/13/14, Regis University dropped me from a graduate level course in which I was enrolled without due cause. I had completed all the required coursework to date, participated in both the online and in-classroom portions of the course, as instructed. No valid reason was given by Regis for why I was dropped from the course. As a result, I was unable to access the online coursework, my financial aid disbursement was interrupted, and hours of my time was wasted in trying to rectify a mistake that was made by Regis.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for the course that Regis dropped me from.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/05) */ The student got caught by an administrative requirement that is unique to the type of course in which she is enrolled. The university has successfully worked with the student to get her re-enrolled in the course without penalty. As of the date of this response (June 5, 2014), the student is actively participating in the course. The university is considering this matter resolved.

12/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An instructor who impeded my progress within a course and a digital book that never arrived. I was charged $1610.90, I was completing the last of 2 courses this year on my 2nd Master's degree at Regis. I paid out of pocket for the first degree in 1995-97, but my MBA was paid for through my employer. I registered for the course, Legal and Ethical Issues in March. I was traveling on business the 2nd week of classes which I told my instructor. I hadn't received my digital book. To be honest, I forgot I ordered a virtual book but quickly realized and tried to gain access to the book. ******* (a vendor I wouldn't recommend) was not helpful with customer service I received an email asking for a screen print which I provided. After that there was no further communication from them. I called and emailed Inkling, and initially my calls to the bookstore provided unfruitful. They said I needed to deal with Inkling. Then, when the bookstore manager did get involved they received the same problem- no communication. I had contacted my instructor to let him know of the situation and wasn't sure if I should withdraw. He said he'd consider this in his grading and to keep him apprised. This was not the case, this was the worst instructor I have ever had and not someone who should be teaching ethics. He wouldn't accept a paper then wouldn't accept a re-write in wwek 3/4. I have only had to re-write a paper a couple times and it was b/c instructors hadn't read through the paper for the information tney requested. This was true for the 1st edition, b/c I turned this exact paper in, and received an A in the course I took in August (and I received an A for the course). My adviser suggested I talk w/ student accounts to get assistance and stated this particular instructor was difficult to work with and wouldn't accept a w/d only an incomplete. This proved to be true b/c that's what he did. The student services system online wasn't working correctly, but I attempted to complete a withdrawal before the 4th week was over. It was also Easter weekend and their office was closed. When I shared this story with the Student Services manager, she said it was an unusual situation and would likely be accepted by the review committee. Well, it wasn't even considered. I don't believe they reviewed the emails and other communications I sent along with these events. I have made many referrals to Regis University of my colleagues, family and friends, in addition to Regis making plenty of money from my academic endeavors. However, they have held fast tot heir political/bureaucratic decision-making. I'm a single mother, so coming up with $1610.90 created financial struggles for me, which were not because I didn't plan well or was in someway irresponsible. Sidenote: Inkling couldn't respond to my emails or phone calls in a timely manner, but they have me on an email distribution list which I've send an unsubscribe request several times. I think Regis should consider another vendor if they are trying to save money on books.

Desired Settlement: This was a disaster waiting to happen, but no one could give me the best direction financially. The Student Services office has changed over the years and is not at the quality as it has been in the past. I want a check for $1610.90 sewnt to me as a tuition fees refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/30) */ Regis University has thoroughly reviewed the case in question and communicated the results and the reasons for the decision to the student. While the request for a full tuition refund was denied, a refund for the cost of the book was granted. The tuition charges the student incurred were applied in accordance with university policy when a student starts, but does not drop or complete a course. Based on the date the student withdrew from the course, the student was charged a portion of the tuition for the course. The student took appropriate action to appeal the application of the policy and be considered for a full refund of the course tuition. The Registration Status Appeal Committee reviewed the available documentation, including that which was supplied by the student and reached the decision that the policy was appropriately applied. This information was communicated in a letter to the student on September 13, 2013. In that same letter the student was informed that the university bookstore would refund the cost of the book in question. Regis regrets that the student is still dissatisfied with the outcome, but considering that the withdrawal policy is clearly stated and available to all students and that the appeal was submitted and denied, Regis has faithfully considered the student's concerns and no further action will be taken. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) For one thing, stating they gave me a refund of an electronic text book would be standard business practice, and not a settlement of my appeal request. There is no accountability on Regis' part about the poor customer service and lack of timeliness in resolution between the Book Store and the vendor, ******** If they want to cut costs and use online vendors, they need to assure the vendor meets the needs of the students.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Regis University
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)