BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2003

Jones International University

Phone: (800) 811-5663Fax: (303) 552-91819697 E Mineral Ave, CentennialCO 80112-3408

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2003

BBB has determined that Jones International University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jones International University's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jones International University

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
07/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The school inaccurately reported my student loans to be past due to a third-party company.
I received several calls and a letter from Higher Education Solutions on behalf of Jones International University to assist in "getting caught up on my student loans" and "assist with my financial struggles." I am not now nor have I ever been late on my student loan payments. After several conversations with Higher Education Solutions about how they received my information and where they saw I was past due on my student loans, I discovered that Jones International University reported to this third-party company that my loans were past due by 37 days. Again, this is inaccurate.

Desired Settlement
I respectfully request that Jones International University review their processes for finding this information. I am certain that this information did not come from my student loan provider, ****** ***. Please refrain from reviewing any of my personal financial information including but not limited to my student loans.

I also request that Jones International University refrains from reporting any information about me to Higher Education Solutions or any other organization without my express written permission.

Business Response
*** has investigated the student's claim their account was submitted to a third party collection company. This is FALSE.

*** has NOT reported this student delinquent to a third party. Her loans are being serviced by another company completely.

We strongly advise the student NOT to speak to this company about her loans and do NOT make any payments to them.

The student may contact *** directly for more details about her loan and who the legitimate servicer is for her loan.

05/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I enrolled in online classes with ***. I'm disputing the charged for the courses.
I enrolled in ****** and ****** online classes with *** starting Oct. of 2013. I had been having difficulty with the online system of the classes and talked to their support staff numerous times getting help to see if it would work for me. After the courses had started my "student support adviser" advised me to write my teachers a letter to show I was involved with the course. On Oct. 16th I signed into the classes with his help, writing this "I realized I have missed week one of the course. I would like to know if what, if any ways I can make up the lost points. I'm still trying to work my way around the online courses and have been having a hard time with it. Please let me know what I can do to get up to date with the class. I have been working with my student support to get back on track. Thank you, ******************" I was concern and didn't want to take the course if I would already be behind in them while having challenges even getting to the course. I signed again a few days later to see what the teachers had replied an did not see one. After the courses where done, (and I assumed I was dropped) I was told I now owed the full tuition for them. I explained I hadn't done any class participation or homework, why was I still enrolled in the class?

Writing the teacher asking what needs to be done, and that I have had a hard time is not "class participation" it is a private one way conversion with the instructor. I never received a reply back, until their collections department sent me a letter to my private email. We have gone back and forth with this, and I feel I was unfairly charged for courses I did not take. And feel they only talked threw the letter to the teacher, to have me charged for the course. Now that I'm in collections, I was later told I needed to fill out a "drop course" form, but I was never told that while voicing my concerns of the difficulty I was having and being unsure if I should stay enrolled.
Thank you for taking the time to review my case, I appreciate all you can do to help me.
******************

Desired Settlement
I'm disputing the charged they are asking me to pay for the courses. I have not pay any part to them, but am willing to pay for the books for the classes even though they are unused an unopened.

Business Response
*** has reviewed the student's case, recorded telephone conversations, and collaborated with the appropriate offices to conclude the student had ample opportunity to drop her courses within the 100% refund period. *** reviewed recorded calls where this was explained to the student in detail, and where the student states she is going to pay for the 2 courses.

Had the student intended to drop within the 14 day refund period, she should have communicated that to her SSA, who would have explained the Course Drop process. She would not have incurred charges had she adhered to those time restrictions. Not only did the student have the opportunity to inquire about the course drop process in this October 16, 2013 conversation, as the SSA specifically referenced the course dropping process several times, but the process is also detailed in the Student Handbook. It appears the student did not intend to drop until after the 14 day period, after which point she was well aware she would be held financially accountable. The Enrollment Agreement the student signed states the following under "Tuition Refund and Course Drop":

"*** Students may drop any course during the first fourteen (14) days of the course (the "No Obligation Period") and receive a 100% refund of the
tuition paid for such course. No refunds are available to *** Students or will be granted by *** after the No Obligation Period (i.e. once the third (3rd)
week of a course has commenced)."

12/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I feel ***** bribed me by forcing me to take more courses in order to remove the reason for leaving on my transcripts as dismissed when I withdrew.
I registered with this school to take online courses. On the 2nd course I took, I had major ethical issues with the instructor. I then found out the school was in jeopardy of losing it's accreditation. I did not want to spend more money there if the school would lose it's accreditation. I withdrew from the course. My transcripts from the school indicated I was dismissed. I was told by the school that I could have the reason for leaving the school changed from dismissed if I took more classes from there. I felt bribed to take more courses from the school. I am issuing this complaint to try to protect others.

Desired Settlement
I would like my reason for leaving on my transcripts to read "withdrew from the program" since that is what I told the school when I left.

Business Response
The University is investigating this situation and has offered a compromise resolution to the student.

Final Consumer Response
I just received notification from Jones University that they will change my transcript to show I withdrew. I am pleased with this decision I received today.

Final Business Response
JIU has collaborated with the student to find a resolution. JIU requested student complete an enrollment verification letter which was sent to the student on 10/1/2013.

There has been no response from the student regarding whether that action sufficed.

10/01/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had enrolled into jones international university but shortly after I had dropped out of it. They have since been charging me repeatedly
I had dropped the classes and still JIU continues to harass me over the $3180.00. Every time I try and settle it through them the call always gets "disconnected". I have called on humorous occasions with the same result. Not once have they tried to resolve this matter. Also I submitted the class drop forms before I even participated in the classes and they claim to have no record of it. I don't know what to do.

Desired Settlement
I want them to leave me alone also wish to be paid for the harassment and emotional stress caused by all of this.

Business Response
JIU has researched this situation and attempted to contact the student via email with details of the case. Emails were returned as 'undeliverable.'

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have not contacted me on my email address ********@yahoo.com

Final Business Response
The student provided a working email address on September 17, 2013 and we resent the message dated September 12, 2013 to his correct email address.

12/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
08/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged for online schooling with the notion i would be getting a scholarship which they assured me was being handled.
Around the beginnning of 2012 I was told about an online college that had greta scholarship opportunities to children of military veterans. I alreayd had a large sum of student loans on my record and did not want to go that route again so i was onyl going to go to school with help in the way of a financial aid or scholarship. I signed up for classes and began speaking with a respresentative for the scholarship department. They needed information from my father like his military ID and some other credentials. I faxed them and they assured me that it would be handled and just to start my quarter and the scholarship will cover it. Needless to say it never went through for some reason and I ended up getting billed for these classes I took. They then signed me up for the next quarter as well but I never even did anything in the second quarter I believe because I was unsure what their plan was for me. I tried communicating with them and figuring it out and they never had proper information I was looking for or weren't getting back to me. I do remember I called as soon as I got a bill from them and told them I wasn't going to pay because of the "promise" that my scholarship was being handled deal and the guy I spoke with wasn't taking that as an option. On top of all of this, I never learned anything in my one quarter doing the classes yet got 4.0's. It seemed as if this school was just a lackluster online college that had less than mediocre professors that were jsut out to collect a handsome sum from people and provide them with false achievement. I was displeased with the learning process, I was displeased with the scholarship process, and I am displeased with the way they wanted to handle my complaint.

Desired Settlement
I just want the whole thing wiped off of my record so I can build my credit back up without a collection that I feel I never deserved.

Business Response
The student was eligible for a partial tuition waiver because of his military affiliation. He received this waiver. Our records also indicate the student was in the process of submitting financial aid documents, but did not complete all steps. The student did not respond to our efforts to contact him regarding his financial situation, so in 2012, his account was forwarded to an outside party.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never received any efforts to finish any financial aid papers because I did not apply for any financial aid but this military scholarship. I was told about this college from my girlfriend who had an aunt that worked for a different department there. My girlfriend also had the same problem with JIU not completing her military papers too. I have gone to college at a real campus and paid $200 per class so if these classes are $750 per class WITH a discount it is outrageous and frankly a joke. I felt like this was a scam to get money because the lack of effort that was put into learning, grading, testing, etc during these classes I took. I also literally remember being told quote "just start your classes and we will finish the financial aid for you" and if there were problems I would have stopped taking the classes knowing I didnt have the financial aid to continue. I would have never signed up if I wasnt told that this military scholarship would cover my class cost because I knew that I wouldn't be considered for any financial aid since I was on academic probation at the college in my town due to violating a financial aid policy to have at least 12 credits. I am willing to make this a legal matter since I have my girlfriend, now fiance, that had the saem problem but chose to jsut pay it and get it over with and also have plenty of other negative inquiries on BBB from other claims.

01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
JIU kicked me out of school because I asked for an extended leave of absence due to being a flood victim.
I ******** *****-**** became a student at Jones International University I believe in 2009. I say I believe because I do not remember a lot due to several surgeries that I have had since becoming a student at JIU. I was seeking my second Masters Degree in Elementary School and chose Jones International University because it supposedly offered a discount to military personal. My first few semesters at JIU was fine until I had an on the job injury and had to have a total right hip replacement. I remained in school while on heavy pain medication and seemed to be doing well. It was after the surgery that I started to have problems with JIU granting me a leave of absence due to the surgery and doctors orders. After much arguing over the phone with JIU counselors I was granted a leave.
When I was able to return to JIU to finish my education I was told that I would have to reapply and do another background report. I had to call several different departments at JIU until we found someone to come to my home to fingerprint me. I could not walk I was in a wheelchair. I was fingerprinted and had to write several different letters to get back into school. After returning to JIU and in student status I found that JIU had kicked me out of school stating that I had a felony on my record. I contacted the Colorado Department of Education and asked what was their process of applying for a teacher's certification. I was called by an attorney from the Colorado Department of Education and told them what was on my CBI background report. I was told that they (Colorado Department of Education) would decide if I would be able to obtain my licensure for teaching in Colorado.
I then paid to get my CBI report and it had the same things on it as was on it when I first applied to JIU so I contacted the Department Chair over the Education department at JIU and told her the same thing that the lawyer told me and stated that the reports had not changed. I was allowed into the university with the same police background report when I first started but now I could not come back. I was finally let back into school but I had to sign a paper stating that JIU would not be responsible if I did not obtain my licensure from the Colorado Department of Education so I signed the paper.
Then I started having problems with my financial aid. I applied for my military discount, sent in my deceased husband's DD-214, his ID, death certification like I was asked to do by financial aid. I was awarded my discount and then it was taken away because I did not send in our marriage license. I told them it was in my basement and that I could not get to it because I had just had hip surgery so they took my financial aid discount away from me. At this time I started have problems getting my financial within the semester. I would have to borrow money to purchase books and pay for all other school items out of my pocket. I did complain to student affairs and the US Department of Education to no avail.
In June of 2012 I was bit by a spider on my job and had to have my toe removed. I contacted JIU and was told I was unable to take a leave of absence. I fought as usual and finally got one. In 2013 I had to have eye surgery because of a torn retina in my left eye and applied for another leave. At this point I had finished all of the classes and only had to do my student teaching intern. I asked if I could get a paid student intern and was told no because it would do something to my financial aid. I called several other colleges and the Colorado Department of Education and was told that they did not understand this rule and it was not set forth by them (Colorado Department of Education). I also inquired about help in finding a school to do my student teaching in and was told by JIU that they don't do that and I would have to find a school on my own.
I was to come back to school on December 1, 2013 but right after eye surgery I was in the flood here in
Aurora, CO. I contacted the school and spok

Desired Settlement
I would like to be placed back in school and for Jones International to honor my request for leave.

Business Response
JIU is reviewing the student's history. Currently, we are waiting for the student to complete paperwork correctly to begin resolution of this complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Jones International University has discriminated against me not only because of my age, race and sex. They have discriminated against me due to my disability. Jones International University has a form for students to fill out for an extended leave of absence. When I first took a leave of absence it was due to a hip replacement.

When I came back no one told me about the disability services that are provided to students. The next leave was due to right toe amputation, again I was not made aware of the disability services. Now I have had eye surgery and have to have a revision surgery on my hip because it is on the recall list.

I have my student teaching left and have finished all curriculum at Jones with a 3.40 GPA. My race is Black and I am a female and Jones knows this. I have been told many times by several different counselors that they have not had any 'woman' take as many leaves as I have. I asked many, many times about student disability services and to this day have not gotten a response.

When you ask the counselors at Jones a question you never get the person you asked the question or you never get the same answer. I have probably had over 10 different counselors at Jones which not one of them have any answers, it is always 'I don't know' or look at the student hand book.

When I first filed this complaint I was told by my counselor 'that my injuries or illnesses are not reasons to ask for any type of leave.' He (counselor) 'asked why would I choose to go to school if I was sick.' My response to him was because I want to work with children, this is my passion.

I understand that sometimes a person has to weather the storm and I feel that I have done this. Right after my hip surgery I was in the hospital bed doing home work. I continued to try and keep my grades up, but the surgeon told me I would have to take a leave of absence.

When I asked for this leave last year I was told I could not have one. I stated that I needed the leave to recover. I was told that I had to go take the teacher certification test before I could do my student internship. If I would have been granted that leave in a timely manner I would have been back in school, have taken the test and would have had my internship almost over. I was offered the internship through Denver Public Schools but could not accept it because I was fighting with Jones over the leave of absence.

Jones International University has told me time and time again that there is nothing no other agency can do if I go over their head. They mocked me, my disability, my age and my race. After I made this complaint I was sent a email telling me that I have to do what they say and if I don't I will be kicked out of school for good.

I feel that they are retaliating against me because I made this complaint. In making me sign a volunteer leave of absence has caused my financial aid go into default. This has never happened to me before. These are some of the reasons that I don't agree with response Jones International University has made to your organization.

******** *****-****


Final Business Response
The university has provided the correct leave opportunity to the student because the student has used all her other options. The student has been given the opportunity to take a leave of absence and to return to school for classes. The student has also been provided a timeline and details of the necessary steps for successful completion of her degree program.

11/15/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The professor in Managerial Accounting 503 stopped emailing me about my class. He constantly gave assignments to the class that were not in the book.
When I first started my class I bought the textbook off of Amazon.com it had the same ISBN number as the book in the bookstore. There was at least one assignment that the professor gave out that wasn't in the book, in fact it was a book that wasn't even on the Jones Bookstores website. The student advisor that I was working with told me that Amazon.com and anywhere else that I bought the book from besides the Jones International Bookstore could possibly have the wrong assignments in it or wouldn't have the assignments in it all. My student advisor told me to buy the book from the Jones Bookstore. I Bought the Electronic version of the Fundamental Managerial Accounting book from the Jones Online book store because I live in Utah and the School is in Colorado for $167.49 on September 27, 2012. Assignments 3.2 and 3.3 where not in the electronic version of the book.

Desired Settlement
The exact amount that is in dispute is $4,316.49. $4,149 because that was half of the cost of last semester one class per every 8 weeks, and that is what I took this semester as well. The $167.49 is for the electronic version of the book that I bought from Jones International University.

Business' Initial Response
The Dean of the School of Business investigated this claim and found the following:

The instructor has repeatedly asked the student to contact him regarding the assignments. The feedback in the grade book in the course shows the student posting the assignments late (up to 8 days late) or posting the wrong documents to the grade book.

The course materials state that students should always purchase their books from the JIU bookstore to ensure the edition and materials included are correct. The book/materials for this course are available in the JIU book store. Further, the student posted in the discussion forum, twice, that he needed someone to post the assignment exercises, word for word, from the book because he did not purchase the book.

The problem for Assignment 3.2 (Problem 5-13A) is on pages 229-230 and the problem for Assignment 3.3 (Problem 6-28A) is on page 284 in both the hard copy and electronic version of the book. In the electronic version the pages can be identified by using the Page Search feature in the upper right corner or through the Table of Contents feature that appears on the left side of the display.

The student is encouraged to contact the instructor with any questions relating to coursework.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The correct book was not provided, the electronic book which I bought did not have any of the assignments in it and I still paid a substantial amount for it from the Jones online book store. I did contact the Follett bookstore also. I constantly did look at the notes that the professor gave me in the grade book. The professor is a liar and he really didn't help me at all throughout the course end of story! I am sick and tired of going through with this Professor so I am closing the case.

Business' Final Response
Jones International University ("JIU" or the "University") is in receipt of the Consumer's rebuttal to BBB Case #******** and would like to respond accordingly.

JIU has been a BBB Accredited Business since March 2003 and maintains BBB highest rating of A+ because we take all complaints seriously and seek to resolve all related matters fairly. The JIU Office of the Bookstore has worked to confirm that the correct book was provided to this student. In addition, the JIU Office of the Bookstore previously contacted the student and provided the number for Follett Virtual Bookstore (1-888-273-4007) and instructed the student to contact Follett Virtual Bookstore if they have any issues with the eBook. In addition, the instructor has continued to add notes in the course Grade Book that the student can see reminding the student of their late assignments and the length of time they have remaining to turn in the assignments as a late submittal. However, no evidence was found showing that the student attempted to contact the instructor through the course regarding the issues they were having.

Under the circumstances, JIU would like to offer to the student that they can submit evidence in the form or screen captures, or another method, documenting that the textbook does not contain the assigned problems to studentaffairs@international.edu. If documentation is received showing a deficiency JIU would be happy to work with the student to resolve the issue.

10/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I do not want to pay for this JIU because I have no degree to show for their lies.
When I first committed to JIU, I was informed by my counselor ************ that there would be teachers who will be there to help me pass my Illinois licensing exam. I told him the only way I would attended this school if they offered me the assistance that I needed to succeed. They falsified their agreement with me. There was never any help when asked for it. I constantly asked around Illinois for assistance and they told me your school I was attending should help you. I went through seminars, programs online, bought books and nothing happened. I failed four times and the school told me that I didn't have to pass to student teach but when I tried to go to a school to student teach in Illinois they told me no I had to have my license. I was lied to, taken advantage of and now I am stuck with a bill with no degree to show for it plus the classes I took don't even transfer when no one told me that either. I have contacted them in regards to my situation and I was told you can go to another state, when I live in Illinois. I feel that I should not have to move in order to teach. If I were told that this school was not accredited in Illinois to be a teacher, I would not have attended nor took out loans to go here. Now, I am stuck with a loan, with no degree to show for it nor the means to pay for it. I feel this is unfair and unlawful, misleading for other students who want to be teachers. In addition, JIU is on Notice for accreditation until 2014. Even if I passed the test, I could not teach here in Illinois because of their lies.

Desired Settlement
I would like my tuition refunded and I would like my grades erased like I was never a student in their school.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Ms. *********,
We have reviewed your complaint and would like to address your concerns. JIU received initial accreditation in 1999 and we continue to be fully accredited. On June 23-24, 2011, the HLC continued Jones International University's accreditation and updated its status to "on notice." Please note that this is a new status that the Higher Learning Commission uses for public notification that the institution has issues that it must address. An institution on notice remains fully accredited and fully functioning - it is not a punitive status.
JIU would like for you to attain your degree and we want to inform you of the option to transfer into the MEd in Adult Education program where a state exam is not required. Please contact your Student Support Counselor, *********** at ************, option 4 for additional information and to have him assist you with a change in program.
Prior to admission into the MEd K-12 Teacher Licensure Degree Program you were required to sign, date and submit the MEd K-12 Teacher Licensure Degree Program Checklist to your Admissions Counselor to ensure that you read and understood your obligations for the program. We received the completed checklist with your signature on 8/20/09 indicating that you read and understood that it was your responsibility to follow the steps required to become a licensed teacher in your state. The following requirements are specifically identified on the checklist regarding state-specific exams:
(3) I know that I may be required to pass state-specific assessment exams to become a licensed teacher in my state, I know that I am responsible for knowing about and passing any exams which are required in my state.
(9) I know that, prior to entering EDU605 Student Teaching: Classroom Practicum, I must meet specific prerequisites, including: 200 hours of Level-1 field experience; appropriate state-approved assessment exams; EDU600 Teaching & Administering in Colorado and the States, a 2.5 cumulative grade point average; successful completion of at least eight JIU courses; and a regionally accredited bachelor's degree that aligns with a state-approved endorsement area.
If you have any additional questions regarding these requirements, please contact me at (***) ***-****.
Sincerely,
**************
Jones International University
Compliance Office
(***) ***-****


Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am still stuck with a bill that I can not pay for because that school never told me if my state decides not to except their degree I am still stuck with it. They only told me in their handbook if I needed to get help with exams in my state or take additional classes here in Illinois its my responsibility. They never told me that my whole two years with them was a waste of time. Thanks for taking my money that I never had and wasting it on garbage. This is not right, I am going to tell everyone in Illinois that this school is a waste of money and lies. Do not bother!! They should never be rated A+ they should be rated a D-, that is what they are worth.

Business' Final Response
Jones International University ("JIU" or the "University") is in receipt of the Consumer's rebuttal to BBB Case #******** and would like to respond accordingly.

JIU has been a BBB Accredited Business since March 2003 and maintains BBB highest rating of A+ because we take all complaints seriously and seek to resolve all related matters fairly. The University works with all students to make clear the options available to obtain a degree. Further, in an effort to guide student from various states to the license requirements of their state, JIU discloses requirements and obligations for the MEd K-12 Teacher Licensure Program on its website, MEd Licensure Handbook and through the MEd K-12 Teacher Licensure Degree Program Checklist upon entering the program. Through these disclosures and program processes JIU clearly informs students that the student must continually check and verify the licensing requirements of the state in which they intend to become licensed. One such disclosure was presented to you and you signed it acknowledging that you understood and accepted that it is your responsibility to understand the licensing requirements of your state.

It appears that you were aware of such requirements and sat for one or more assessment exams to continue with your student teaching and your program of study. At issue is the fact that you did not pass these exams.

JIU does not believe it unreasonable to assert that a degree obtained or courses attended at higher education institution does not guarantee its student's passing performance on any assessment. However, a student may utilize the credits obtained to pursue a degree (or utilize a degree obtained) to qualify to take such assessment.

Because you completed courses at JIU we expect that you pay for such courses. Accordingly, JIU is not able to grant your request for a refund of tuition.

We hope that you continue to strive for your academic goals and hope that JIU may assist you in such pursuit.

10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1978Business started: 09/08/1969Business started locally: 05/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Samara Rasmussen (Director, Student Affairs)Mr. Glenn Jones (Chancellor/owner)
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jones International University

9697 E Mineral Ave

Centennial, CO 80112-3408

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9697 E Mineral Ave 

    Centennial, CO 80112-3408(800) 811-5663

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jones International University is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.