BBB Accredited Business since

Jones International University

Phone: (800) 811-5663 Fax: (303) 552-9181 9697 E Mineral Ave, Centennial, CO 80112 http://www.jiu.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jones International University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jones International University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jones International University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1978 Business started: 09/08/1969 Business started locally: 09/08/1969 Business incorporated 09/08/1969 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Private Occupational Schools
1560 Broadway Ste 1600, Denver CO 80202
http://highered.colorado.gov/dpos/
Phone Number: (303) 866-2723

Business Management
Ms. Samara Rasmussen, Director, Student Affairs Mr. Glenn Jones, Chancellor/owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Samara Rasmussen, Director, Student Affairs
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities


Additional Locations

  • 9697 E Mineral Ave

    Centennial, CO 80112 (800) 811-5663

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Collection agency is attempting to collect on erroneous charges! I was informed via email, no forms were needed to drop classes. I complained to my numerous Admission Counselors numerous time and informed them I needed to drop, because I was getting grades for assignments I had not even done. I also told them some of the other students in my class could not even spell. Explained how unhappy I was and continued to feel pressured. I have emails where I was told "No paperwork is needed; I have dropped your classes." Now, Jones International allowed a collection agency to add fees to an amount they say I owe for dropping classes. They're also holding my transcripts and refuse to let me have them, unless I pay all of the fees. I tried my best to get my education; however could never get accurate information from anyone at the school. I did not want to get a degree and not have learned anything, therefore I dropped my classes. After that I was informed I could only get my transcripts if I signed a promissory note; I HAD NO CHOICE! I then informed them via email, I lost my job and could not pay. I have been hounded by the collection agency and I do not owe them or JIU any money. I have spoken to several people at JIU and nobody could help me; all said "Well you signed the promissory note, so now you have to pay it!" JIU is wrong for having done that! I am in debt for less than 20 hours and HAVE NOTHING TO SHOW FOR IT! I want my transcripts and want for this collection agency to leave me alone!

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY TRANSCRIPTS AND WANT THE COLLECTION AGENCY TO LEAVE ME ALONE! JIU LIED TO ME AND SAID THEY WOULD DROP THE CLASSES THEN CAME BACK AND LIED! SAID I NEEDED TO FILL OUT THE PROMISSORY NOTE FOR FINANCIAL AID REASONS!!!! LIARSSSSSS

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/17) */ Dear Consumer: This letter is in response to your complaint that the University did not honor your request to drop classes thereby causing erroneous charges that were eventually turned over to a collection agency and that the University is refusing to send you official transcripts. In the matter of the University not honoring your request to drop courses, your claim is incorrect. We did formally drop your courses (SCI201 - Physics of Modern Technology and ENG102 - English Literature) for the September 2012 term on September 18, 2012. The courses were registered with a grade of NDR for Non-attendance Course Drop. The University honored your verbal request and the tuition charges were credited to your account on that very same day. Upon dropping your September courses you were advised via email on September 27, 2012 that the institution would be required to perform a Federal Student Aid Return to Title IV calculation (R2T4) and that those funds may need to be returned to the lender. You responded, via email, on that same day inquiring about the potential amount owed and were subsequently informed of a potential balance. At that point in time you were informed that the balance due was as a result of dropping these two courses during the financial aid term of July-October of 2012. The return calculation is required by Federal Student Aid regulations and the balance is due because you were awarded financial aid on a full time schedule (four classes for the July-Aug and Sep-Oct academic term) for the financial aid term of July 2012 and only completed half of the courses during that term. You were disbursed funds for these four classes on August 22, 2012. Your September 2012 courses were then successfully dropped and credited to your account on September 18, 2012. This is after you had received aid for a full time schedule. The official R2T4 calculation was then performed on October 1, 2012, the University returned the funds to the federal government and the outstanding balance of aid you received from the disbursal on August 22nd was now due. The balance due is a result of the dropped courses which you were deemed ineligible to earn and retain. In October of 2012, University Collections informed you via email of the outstanding balance and the potential ramifications of non-payment, this included not being able to register for new courses, hold on grades and a hold on transcripts. It is within the institutions rights to withhold official university records due to non-payment. At this point in time you entered a promissory note arrangement with the University to create a payment plan to work off the resulting balance. Your account demonstrates a period of several payments against the promissory note for a short time and then no activity. As a result of non-payment, your account went into bad standing and was eventually turned over to collections. You were notified on October 31, 2013 of your account standing and transfer of your account to the collection agency. At that point in time you would have been directed to work with the collection agency to remedy your account. The University refutes your claims of not honoring dropping your courses as we have demonstrated that we have done so. The University refutes your claim of erroneous charges as we have demonstrated that we followed Federal Student Aid regulations properly and the University is due those funds. The University must retain its right to collect valid debts and keep its control over institutional records and we will only release official transcripts upon the outstanding balance being paid in full. However, we will honor a request for Unofficial Transcripts according to our official university policies. Unofficial Transcripts may not be honored by other institutions for admission, however, you will be able to obtain an academic history of your efforts here and it would be up to the receiving institution to accept or deny this document for admission purposes.

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I graduated from JIU in 2011. I received Masters Degree. Need my records to be able to get certified. They are closed and no answer. How do I get v How do I get verification from this school? I talked to CDE and they are in need of verification form that I completed the program so I can get my certification as a Principal. Now I owe $42,000 for a Master's degree that I won't be able to use? Seriously?

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to get my Principal license. This is why I took the program and complied with everything they asked me to.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ Dear Consumer: It is true that ***** International University ("JIU") is closing, however we not "closed". We remain a fully accredited and operating university until we formally close sometime early to mid-2016. We are in a wind down and closure mode as opposed to a hard close. As a graduate you should have received an email letter confirming this information and information on how to obtain your records. While JIU is still open you may contact the Student Services Hotline number X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. As you can imagine there is a large call volume, so if you have left a message you are in a return call queue and we are working those call backs as fast as we can. You may also visit the website www.jiu.edu and access our existing services. Once JIU formally closes the Colorado Department of Higher Education will become the repository of all student records. Please call into the Hotline to have someone assist you directly as we are precluded from offering a solution here due to disclosure rules within the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act ("FERPA"), otherwise we could disclose more here.

12/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bait and switch. Lied to me, and I can't take this lying down. In April or earlier this year. I was contacted by Williams and Fudge lawyers or collections. I orignally owed $2100. I was contacted by ****** ***** He said and Quote" that ***** will settle for $1500, and after I paid this amount. I will be able to contact ***** and receive my degree". I did just that and I reconfirm this agreement more than once with Mr. **** More than once!!!. I contacted ***** to confirmed they received payment thru the collection company and they did. The director said I still owed $700 dollars. I asked how? We entered into a settlement and $1500 was the agreed amount. She said I made the agreement with them and it was a trick. She was very pompous and arrogant speaking with me.. I entered into an agreement on a recording. "I said " if there is a recording, I want to hear it and I want them to find the recordings of me reiterate this is the final payment. When I pay this settle amount all debt will be paid in full. Not owing anything to *****. ****** **** agreed. When I found out they This is why I'm angry. I'm going to the CEO. They did a bait and switch. I paid the money confirmed this will be the final payment, and when I contact ***** for my paper work they claim it's not. That's not what a settlement is??? I want the $700 dollars to be removed and I want them to honor their arrangement. I have never done business like this. Where are the recordings, because I clearly stated this payment allow me to receive me degree. Mr. **** from Collection stop taking my calls. I contacted him after the converstaion and he couldn't even explain. I want my degree. I kept my part of the deal.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking that ***** Send my Degree and honor the arrangment (setttlement) with their collection company. ( William &Fudge) I want my degree mailed to my home. Listen to the recordings, I clearly said and was under the assumption it will be paid in full.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ The collection agency, Williams and Fudge, provided the wrong information to the student. The collection agency will pay the settlement difference to JIU to put the student's account into good standing so the student can receive her diploma. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cannot continue coursework without university approval of proposal, which they have failed to do. No feedback or contact in over 6 weeks. I have been unable to continue coursework due to the lack of timeliness on the part of the university. I have been turned in my proposal three times. The first time (in January) I was to make changes. I made changes and resubmitted April 15. After not hearing anything by mid May, I contacted the university. They claimed they lost it and asked me to resubmit. I did so the same day. I have not heard anything from academic services since. I heard from my professor June 19 and that is the last time I have been contacted by anyone from the university. Originally, my graduation date was end of October, now it will be next year summer at the earliest. I have been charged for the same class twice even though I was unable to complete the class because the university "lost" my work.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least one of the classes refunded and my proposal moved forward so that I may continue my coursework and finish the last year of my degree.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ Student has not received the necessary approval for her dissertation research study from the IRB. We have asked student to resubmit proposal directly to the Office of Student Affairs, addressing the concerns from the IRB Committee. As of this date, student has not submitted proposal to anyone on the IRB committee or the Director of Student Affairs. Once student submits proposal, the IRB will review the proposal and make the appropriate recommendation. Collecting data from human subjects is a very serious undertaking and all research methodologies from JIU doctoral student must be approved by the IRB. It is understandably frustrating to students when proposals must be reviewed and rewritten multiple times; however, rigorous review and IRB approval are the hallmark of quality doctoral study. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have resubmitted the proposal with requested changes and a change matrix to the IRB email address provided by the university on April XX X:XX PM to ***@international.eduand then again on May XX XX:XX AM to **************@international.edu. My dissertation chair signed off on it June 19 and said I should have approval within 2 weeks and never heard from her again. I had been informed that JIU "lost" my proposal turned in April 15 due to the person in charge of submissions leaving during that time. I am not frustrated that I need to rewrite portions, it is expected. I am frustrated at the lack of response from the university. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not true. The resubmission a were made to the email addresses provided earlier on those days and times. If they are not the proper emails the school should have advised me as to what email they request it sent. I will forward ALL of the emails ONCE more to **************@international.edu. This will be the last time before I consult an attorney. If this is not the correct email to contact the director I better be advised as to what email I should be using. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/09/12) */ We are very pleased the student has opted to continue working on her program and is attentive to the steps required. Her previous work affects her course grades and outcomes and is reflected in the feedback provided her. At this point, the student should be communicating directly with the school, and not seeking remuneration or further resolution in a public forum. The school is working with the student and continually offers the student the opportunity to talk with and present her case through the appropriate channels.

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for online schooling with the notion i would be getting a scholarship which they assured me was being handled. Around the beginnning of 2012 I was told about an online college that had greta scholarship opportunities to children of military veterans. I alreayd had a large sum of student loans on my record and did not want to go that route again so i was onyl going to go to school with help in the way of a financial aid or scholarship. I signed up for classes and began speaking with a respresentative for the scholarship department. They needed information from my father like his military ID and some other credentials. I faxed them and they assured me that it would be handled and just to start my quarter and the scholarship will cover it. Needless to say it never went through for some reason and I ended up getting billed for these classes I took. They then signed me up for the next quarter as well but I never even did anything in the second quarter I believe because I was unsure what their plan was for me. I tried communicating with them and figuring it out and they never had proper information I was looking for or weren't getting back to me. I do remember I called as soon as I got a bill from them and told them I wasn't going to pay because of the "promise" that my scholarship was being handled deal and the guy I spoke with wasn't taking that as an option. On top of all of this, I never learned anything in my one quarter doing the classes yet got 4.0's. It seemed as if this school was just a lackluster online college that had less than mediocre professors that were jsut out to collect a handsome sum from people and provide them with false achievement. I was displeased with the learning process, I was displeased with the scholarship process, and I am displeased with the way they wanted to handle my complaint.

Desired Settlement: I just want the whole thing wiped off of my record so I can build my credit back up without a collection that I feel I never deserved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/07) */ The student was eligible for a partial tuition waiver because of his military affiliation. He received this waiver. Our records also indicate the student was in the process of submitting financial aid documents, but did not complete all steps. The student did not respond to our efforts to contact him regarding his financial situation, so in 2012, his account was forwarded to an outside party. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never received any efforts to finish any financial aid papers because I did not apply for any financial aid but this military scholarship. I was told about this college from my girlfriend who had an aunt that worked for a different department there. My girlfriend also had the same problem with JIU not completing her military papers too. I have gone to college at a real campus and paid $200 per class so if these classes are $750 per class WITH a discount it is outrageous and frankly a joke. I felt like this was a scam to get money because the lack of effort that was put into learning, grading, testing, etc during these classes I took. I also literally remember being told quote "just start your classes and we will finish the financial aid for you" and if there were problems I would have stopped taking the classes knowing I didnt have the financial aid to continue. I would have never signed up if I wasnt told that this military scholarship would cover my class cost because I knew that I wouldn't be considered for any financial aid since I was on academic probation at the college in my town due to violating a financial aid policy to have at least 12 credits. I am willing to make this a legal matter since I have my girlfriend, now fiance, that had the saem problem but chose to jsut pay it and get it over with and also have plenty of other negative inquiries on BBB from other claims.

7/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The school inaccurately reported my student loans to be past due to a third-party company. I received several calls and a letter from Higher Education Solutions on behalf of Jones International University to assist in "getting caught up on my student loans" and "assist with my financial struggles." I am not now nor have I ever been late on my student loan payments. After several conversations with Higher Education Solutions about how they received my information and where they saw I was past due on my student loans, I discovered that Jones International University reported to this third-party company that my loans were past due by 37 days. Again, this is inaccurate.

Desired Settlement: I respectfully request that Jones International University review their processes for finding this information. I am certain that this information did not come from my student loan provider, ****** ***. Please refrain from reviewing any of my personal financial information including but not limited to my student loans. I also request that Jones International University refrains from reporting any information about me to Higher Education Solutions or any other organization without my express written permission.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ *** has investigated the student's claim their account was submitted to a third party collection company. This is FALSE. *** has NOT reported this student delinquent to a third party. Her loans are being serviced by another company completely. We strongly advise the student NOT to speak to this company about her loans and do NOT make any payments to them. The student may contact *** directly for more details about her loan and who the legitimate servicer is for her loan.

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in online classes with ***. I'm disputing the charged for the courses. I enrolled in ****** and ****** online classes with *** starting Oct. of 2013. I had been having difficulty with the online system of the classes and talked to their support staff numerous times getting help to see if it would work for me. After the courses had started my "student support adviser" advised me to write my teachers a letter to show I was involved with the course. On Oct. 16th I signed into the classes with his help, writing this "I realized I have missed week one of the course. I would like to know if what, if any ways I can make up the lost points. I'm still trying to work my way around the online courses and have been having a hard time with it. Please let me know what I can do to get up to date with the class. I have been working with my student support to get back on track. Thank you, ******************" I was concern and didn't want to take the course if I would already be behind in them while having challenges even getting to the course. I signed again a few days later to see what the teachers had replied an did not see one. After the courses where done, (and I assumed I was dropped) I was told I now owed the full tuition for them. I explained I hadn't done any class participation or homework, why was I still enrolled in the class? Writing the teacher asking what needs to be done, and that I have had a hard time is not "class participation" it is a private one way conversion with the instructor. I never received a reply back, until their collections department sent me a letter to my private email. We have gone back and forth with this, and I feel I was unfairly charged for courses I did not take. And feel they only talked threw the letter to the teacher, to have me charged for the course. Now that I'm in collections, I was later told I needed to fill out a "drop course" form, but I was never told that while voicing my concerns of the difficulty I was having and being unsure if I should stay enrolled. Thank you for taking the time to review my case, I appreciate all you can do to help me. ******************

Desired Settlement: I'm disputing the charged they are asking me to pay for the courses. I have not pay any part to them, but am willing to pay for the books for the classes even though they are unused an unopened.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/14) */ *** has reviewed the student's case, recorded telephone conversations, and collaborated with the appropriate offices to conclude the student had ample opportunity to drop her courses within the 100% refund period. *** reviewed recorded calls where this was explained to the student in detail, and where the student states she is going to pay for the 2 courses. Had the student intended to drop within the 14 day refund period, she should have communicated that to her SSA, who would have explained the Course Drop process. She would not have incurred charges had she adhered to those time restrictions. Not only did the student have the opportunity to inquire about the course drop process in this October 16, 2013 conversation, as the SSA specifically referenced the course dropping process several times, but the process is also detailed in the Student Handbook. It appears the student did not intend to drop until after the 14 day period, after which point she was well aware she would be held financially accountable. The Enrollment Agreement the student signed states the following under "Tuition Refund and Course Drop": "*** Students may drop any course during the first fourteen (14) days of the course (the "No Obligation Period") and receive a 100% refund of the tuition paid for such course. No refunds are available to *** Students or will be granted by *** after the No Obligation Period (i.e. once the third (3rd) week of a course has commenced)."

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: JIU kicked me out of school because I asked for an extended leave of absence due to being a flood victim. I ******** *****-**** became a student at Jones International University I believe in 2009. I say I believe because I do not remember a lot due to several surgeries that I have had since becoming a student at JIU. I was seeking my second Masters Degree in Elementary School and chose Jones International University because it supposedly offered a discount to military personal. My first few semesters at JIU was fine until I had an on the job injury and had to have a total right hip replacement. I remained in school while on heavy pain medication and seemed to be doing well. It was after the surgery that I started to have problems with JIU granting me a leave of absence due to the surgery and doctors orders. After much arguing over the phone with JIU counselors I was granted a leave. When I was able to return to JIU to finish my education I was told that I would have to reapply and do another background report. I had to call several different departments at JIU until we found someone to come to my home to fingerprint me. I could not walk I was in a wheelchair. I was fingerprinted and had to write several different letters to get back into school. After returning to JIU and in student status I found that JIU had kicked me out of school stating that I had a felony on my record. I contacted the Colorado Department of Education and asked what was their process of applying for a teacher's certification. I was called by an attorney from the Colorado Department of Education and told them what was on my CBI background report. I was told that they (Colorado Department of Education) would decide if I would be able to obtain my licensure for teaching in Colorado. I then paid to get my CBI report and it had the same things on it as was on it when I first applied to JIU so I contacted the Department Chair over the Education department at JIU and told her the same thing that the lawyer told me and stated that the reports had not changed. I was allowed into the university with the same police background report when I first started but now I could not come back. I was finally let back into school but I had to sign a paper stating that JIU would not be responsible if I did not obtain my licensure from the Colorado Department of Education so I signed the paper. Then I started having problems with my financial aid. I applied for my military discount, sent in my deceased husband's DD-214, his ID, death certification like I was asked to do by financial aid. I was awarded my discount and then it was taken away because I did not send in our marriage license. I told them it was in my basement and that I could not get to it because I had just had hip surgery so they took my financial aid discount away from me. At this time I started have problems getting my financial within the semester. I would have to borrow money to purchase books and pay for all other school items out of my pocket. I did complain to student affairs and the US Department of Education to no avail. In June of 2012 I was bit by a spider on my job and had to have my toe removed. I contacted JIU and was told I was unable to take a leave of absence. I fought as usual and finally got one. In 2013 I had to have eye surgery because of a torn retina in my left eye and applied for another leave. At this point I had finished all of the classes and only had to do my student teaching intern. I asked if I could get a paid student intern and was told no because it would do something to my financial aid. I called several other colleges and the Colorado Department of Education and was told that they did not understand this rule and it was not set forth by them (Colorado Department of Education). I also inquired about help in finding a school to do my student teaching in and was told by JIU that they don't do that and I would have to find a school on my own. I was to come back to school on December 1, 2013 but right after eye surgery I was in the flood here in Aurora, CO. I contacted the school and spok

Desired Settlement: I would like to be placed back in school and for Jones International to honor my request for leave.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/30) */ JIU is reviewing the student's history. Currently, we are waiting for the student to complete paperwork correctly to begin resolution of this complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/01/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Jones International University has discriminated against me not only because of my age, race and sex. They have discriminated against me due to my disability. Jones International University has a form for students to fill out for an extended leave of absence. When I first took a leave of absence it was due to a hip replacement. When I came back no one told me about the disability services that are provided to students. The next leave was due to right toe amputation, again I was not made aware of the disability services. Now I have had eye surgery and have to have a revision surgery on my hip because it is on the recall list. I have my student teaching left and have finished all curriculum at Jones with a 3.40 GPA. My race is Black and I am a female and Jones knows this. I have been told many times by several different counselors that they have not had any 'woman' take as many leaves as I have. I asked many, many times about student disability services and to this day have not gotten a response. When you ask the counselors at Jones a question you never get the person you asked the question or you never get the same answer. I have probably had over 10 different counselors at Jones which not one of them have any answers, it is always 'I don't know' or look at the student hand book. When I first filed this complaint I was told by my counselor 'that my injuries or illnesses are not reasons to ask for any type of leave.' He (counselor) 'asked why would I choose to go to school if I was sick.' My response to him was because I want to work with children, this is my passion. I understand that sometimes a person has to weather the storm and I feel that I have done this. Right after my hip surgery I was in the hospital bed doing home work. I continued to try and keep my grades up, but the surgeon told me I would have to take a leave of absence. When I asked for this leave last year I was told I could not have one. I stated that I needed the leave to recover. I was told that I had to go take the teacher certification test before I could do my student internship. If I would have been granted that leave in a timely manner I would have been back in school, have taken the test and would have had my internship almost over. I was offered the internship through Denver Public Schools but could not accept it because I was fighting with Jones over the leave of absence. Jones International University has told me time and time again that there is nothing no other agency can do if I go over their head. They mocked me, my disability, my age and my race. After I made this complaint I was sent a email telling me that I have to do what they say and if I don't I will be kicked out of school for good. I feel that they are retaliating against me because I made this complaint. In making me sign a volunteer leave of absence has caused my financial aid go into default. This has never happened to me before. These are some of the reasons that I don't agree with response Jones International University has made to your organization. ******** *****-**** Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/23) */ The university has provided the correct leave opportunity to the student because the student has used all her other options. The student has been given the opportunity to take a leave of absence and to return to school for classes. The student has also been provided a timeline and details of the necessary steps for successful completion of her degree program.

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel ***** bribed me by forcing me to take more courses in order to remove the reason for leaving on my transcripts as dismissed when I withdrew. I registered with this school to take online courses. On the 2nd course I took, I had major ethical issues with the instructor. I then found out the school was in jeopardy of losing it's accreditation. I did not want to spend more money there if the school would lose it's accreditation. I withdrew from the course. My transcripts from the school indicated I was dismissed. I was told by the school that I could have the reason for leaving the school changed from dismissed if I took more classes from there. I felt bribed to take more courses from the school. I am issuing this complaint to try to protect others.

Desired Settlement: I would like my reason for leaving on my transcripts to read "withdrew from the program" since that is what I told the school when I left.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/09/27) */ The University is investigating this situation and has offered a compromise resolution to the student. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 30, 2013/12/30) */ I just received notification from Jones University that they will change my transcript to show I withdrew. I am pleased with this decision I received today. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2013/11/07) */ JIU has collaborated with the student to find a resolution. JIU requested student complete an enrollment verification letter which was sent to the student on 10/1/2013. There has been no response from the student regarding whether that action sufficed.

10/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had enrolled into jones international university but shortly after I had dropped out of it. They have since been charging me repeatedly I had dropped the classes and still JIU continues to harass me over the $3180.00. Every time I try and settle it through them the call always gets "disconnected". I have called on humorous occasions with the same result. Not once have they tried to resolve this matter. Also I submitted the class drop forms before I even participated in the classes and they claim to have no record of it. I don't know what to do.

Desired Settlement: I want them to leave me alone also wish to be paid for the harassment and emotional stress caused by all of this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/12) */ JIU has researched this situation and attempted to contact the student via email with details of the case. Emails were returned as 'undeliverable.' Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not contacted me on my email address ********@yahoo.com Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/09/17) */ The student provided a working email address on September 17, 2013 and we resent the message dated September 12, 2013 to his correct email address.