BBB Accredited Business since

Roofing The Rockies

Phone: (303) 337-7663 2452 S Trenton Way Unit A, Denver, CO 80231

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Roofing, Gutters, Whole home restoration

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roofing The Rockies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Roofing The Rockies include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on Roofing The Rockies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 2013 Business started: 08/17/2009 Business started locally: 08/17/2009 Business incorporated 08/17/2009 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Denver Building Department
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (720) 865-2770

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Justin Carrigan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Carrigan, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Windows Contractors - Gutters

Products & Services

Roofing The Rockies sells the following brand(s): CertainTeed, GAF, Owens Corning, Tamko

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check all major credit cards
Industry Tips
Roofing Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Roofing The Rockies has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2452 S Trenton Way Unit A

    Denver, CO 80231 (303) 337-7663


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After contracting and planning for a projected 21-day project according to our contract, the project completed 6 months late with chronic project financial errors, and the vendor refuses to update the final invoice to reflect that when Roofing the Rockies receives payment, the contract will be fully satisfied and no subsequent invoice will materialize History: - Our 9-2-2015 contract stated that all work would be completed by 11-4-2015, but work was instead completed six months later on 5-6-2016 - After demolition, Roofing the Rockies failed to replace our garage patio FOR MONTHS - After demolition, Roofing the Rockies failed to fully replace our gutters FOR MONTHS - After demolition, Roofing the Rockies failed to fully replace our Bird spikes FOR MONTHS - Cleanup was chronically unsatisfactory - Final fees far surpassed contract amounts - We were billed for lumber never purchased - Project financials were otherwise chronically incorrect - As a result of vendor delays we had no solar electricity for months - The city building inspector office reports that an inspection was not requested - Project Managers and owners were not responsive - Colorado weather was typical, so the WEATHER is not a valid excuse for failing to replacing gutters and the garage patio roof FOR MONTHS

Desired Settlement: Simply clarify the invoice to reflect that that when Roofing the Rockies receives payment, the contract will be fully satisfied and no subsequent invoice will materialize.

2/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
10/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work delayed, poor communication, promptly took my money. Work on our property was scheduled to begin July 27th- August 10th. It is now September 10th and no work has begun. My deposit was cashed on July 9th. They only call me after I call them to complain. At first the excuse was a back order of material. Then it was the permit not being approved in a timely manner by the city. I called the city who found my permit and said all has been approved and they are now processing permits in one day. Now I'm being told by Roofing the Rockies that the inspector has not yet approved the material going on the house. Each time I have to solicit an answer from them as to why no work is being done. This company has clearly taken on too much business that they do not have the manpower to keep up with.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/10/16) */ Roofing The Rockies was contracted to perform the roof work on the property and prior to work being started the homeowner added fixing multiple trusses to the scope of work. This work requires additional permits, not just a roofing permit and Roofing The Rockies was in the process of acquiring the proper paperwork. This unfortunately delayed the project and the homeowner was informed of this. Once the paperwork was acquired the homeowner was notified of a date of install. Unfortunately prior to the agreed install date the homeowner decided to complain about the length of time the process took. This resulted in Roofing The Rockies canceling the contract as obviously the homeowner was upset with the process. Roofing The Rockies does not cut corners and does not perform work without the proper sign offs from the city. Roofing The Rockies decided to part ways once the complaint was made as time became more important to the homeowner than quality of work. The home owners $1,000 deposit was returned. Roofing The Rockies wishes the homeowner the best in finding a company he is more comfortable with doing the work.

9/18/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company reneged on their contract both written and verbal agreements.They have been dishonest, have billed us for an amount already paid in full We had a new roof put on our house due to hail damaged. We contacted our insurance company ********** about the damage and they referred Roofing the Rockies. On September 24, 2014, **** ****** from RTR came to our house and gave us a quote. He gave us 3 discounts on the work. He told us our total would be $6622.86 and he wanted payment in 2 separate checks. We asked him 3 or 4 times if we would owe any further money and he said no. We set up an appointment for them to start on the roof at the end of October or early November. On October 29 we had 2 cashier checks made out to Roofing the Rockies. **** came by and we paid him in advance of the roof being done. The roof was completed on October 31, 2014 and that should have been the end of it. On December 9, 2014 we received an invoice for $1591.35 demanding their money. On January 9, 2014 we received another invoice for $2091.35. Both of these invoices were back dated to October l, 2014, one month before the work even started, however the insurance company did not get the invoice until December, 2014 according to **********s claims agent. This company states on their owe contract that we would not owe any further money. On December 7, 2014 they erected a ladder that blocked part of our entrance to our home and told us it was for the City of Aurora inspector, who would be here on December 8, 2014. The city still hasn't inspected the roof. On December 16, 2014, ***** called from RTR and demanded money. We told him to take the ladder down because of a storm that was coming and it would be in my way to shovel. We told him when the inspectors come we would furnish the ladder for inspection. He said he would be here and remove it on December 19, 2014. He never showed up nor did any of his employees remove the ladder. We removed the ladder 3 weeks after it was put up and secured to a fence in the front yard for them to pick up. It was finally picked up on January 8, 2014. We find their billing department completely disorganized and their business practices deceptive.

Desired Settlement: We don't owe them any further money. The agreement was for $6622.86 and they were paid before the work was completed. All costs should have been in the original bid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/01/23) */ Mr. ***** has filed a fraudulent claim against Roofing the Rockies! I have attached his original contract for your review. His 1st claim is that he does not owe us anymore money... He states his agreement was for 6622.86 which is actually his deposit amount. His ESTIMATED contract total was 7,706.14. This amount was for the replacement of his house roof, shed roof and upgrade to IR shingle. House is 6,795.10, shed is 411.04 and the upgrade was $500. All these amounts can be found on the attached contract and loss statement from his insurance co. While we strive to stay as close to our ESTIMATED contract amount there are some items beyond our control such as code required items that didn't previously exist, over sights by insurance and we always have to supplement the insurance company for at the very least the permit amount which is never known at the time of contract. Any of these items will of course increase the contract amount but only in terms of insurance proceeds. This does not increase the home owners amount of money out of pocket. Our final settlement amount with State Farm was $8,214.21 thus becoming our new contract price per our contract. Mr. ***** has not only failed to pay his current contract price he never even paid his original contract amount. The work is complete, my company did our job and we deserve to be paid. In reference to the inspection process Mr. ***** even recognizes the fact that aurora can't even tell him when they can get there but still blames us. He wrote this in a letter which I have also attached. Also ***** our Q/C inspector does not collect money so this claim of ***** demanding money is far from the truth. Also in reference to his complaint about odd requests for two checks...?? This is not a practice of ours no body in my company has every request a homeowner get a certified check let alone two for two different amounts. The project on this file is my business partners little brother and has been with us from inception. He is highly trained and very effective in the field. He has had zero complaints here in his more than 3 years. I have highlighted the items above on the attached documents for your review. Please let us know what we can do to further assist you! Thanks! ****** ******** Roofing The Rockies XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/02/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If there is any fraudulent claim it is with Roofing The Rockies. First of all, we have never refused to pay them however we have never received an itemized bill showing all amounts. We have been asking for this bill since the beginning of November and all we get is the full amount, which escalates $500.00 each time they send a bill. We now have 3 different prices from them. The contract has the $500.00 upgrade on it and they were paid that amount with the $1500 check and they know it. **** asked for 2 different checks not certified. I never said he asked for certified checks that was our doing to make sure the money was out of our account. He actually insisted on 2 checks from our checking account which threw up a red flag. The contract says that we DO NOT HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING ELSE OUT OF OUR POCKETS. Our portion had to be paid before the work was started, according to ****, it wouldn't start until we paid it and we did. I find it strange that Roofing the Rockies knows more about what our insurance paid us then they should know. The contract was signed in August, 2014 and the work was completed on October 31, 2014. They had more than 30 days to get the codes and fees to us and tell us about them but they never contacted us about any overage, because we didn't have to pay them anymore. ****** states he doesn't know what the fees or code costs are and they are not included in the original contract and the contract amounts are in terms of the insurance proceeds. If there was an oversight by the insurance company, then their complaint is with them not us. Perhaps he needs to get with the insurance company for them. In August we sat down with **** and he and his brother *******, whom on the speaker phone with us) gave us 3 different discounts and they have reneged on that verbal agreement. The fees are done at the time you take out a permit and they didn't take it out the permit until the day they finished the work which was October 31,2014. I find their billing department inaccurate and they do not honor their verbal or written agreements. Because of this dispute, we have contacted an attorney. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/02/27) */ The contract amount is clearly stated on our contract, it also clearly states that it is an approximate amount. In his complaint he states he paid in full for 6,622.86 which is his deposit amount. He is confused and is lying there is no other way around it! Our final settlement amount with his insurance company was 8,214.21 paid specifically for work we completed. Therefore our contract amount per our contract became the amount agreed upon by the insurance company and us. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/03/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have not lied and they know it. They have not honored their verbal or written agreements. Their billing practices and procedures are highly questionable. This matter is now in the hands of our attorney.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

11 Customer Reviews on Roofing The Rockies
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart