BBB Accredited Business since

Professional Roofing & Exteriors

Phone: (303) 420-0986 Fax: (303) 420-0987 View Additional Phone Numbers 5790 Lamar St, Arvada, CO 80002 http://www.professionalroof.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Professional Roofing & Exteriors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Professional Roofing & Exteriors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Complaint Information

Professional Roofing & Exteriors encourages consumers to contact Professional Roofing & Exteriors designated service manager, Daniel Cupit who can be reached at 303 420-0986 extension 113 prior to filing a complaint through our office. Professional Roofing & Exteriors committed to address these calls by providing consumers with an adequate response within two business days.


Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Professional Roofing & Exteriors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2005 Business started: 03/21/2004 Business started locally: 03/21/2004 Business incorporated 01/31/2005 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Denver Building Department
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver CO 80202
http://www.denvergov.org
Phone Number: (720) 865-2770

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel J. Cupit, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel J. Cupit, Owner/President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Windows Contractor - Remodel & Repair Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
Professional Roofing Inc.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Roofing Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Professional Roofing & Exteriors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ***** was one of 3 roofing contractors that I used to give me an estimate. I did not go with his company but chose someone else. Professional Roofing and Exteriors owned by *** ***** is sending me monthly statements asking for payment for over $3,600+ claiming that is for his "consultant fee".I have communicated with *** ***** via email and phone numerous times to ask him to stop sending me monthly bills with his estimated charges for charges he is making up. At no time did I have any written contract or agreement with him, and at no time did he inform me that he charges $150/hr. Since he wasn't chosen as my roofer, he is Now claiming he is entitled to a consultant fee from me. Again, I have never signed any type of contract with him nor was I informed of his "consultant fee" until I chose another contractor to do my roof and received an invoice from him! He has suggested that I make him some type of monetary offer and he will stop sending me statements. I do not owe him anything and his behavior is harassment. I had three separate contractors give me a bid and I chose the one I felt most comfortable with. *** ***** has sent me statements for 6 mos. now and this is becoming intolerable. This is a man who has sour grapes because I chose a competitor over him.

Desired Settlement: I desire for Mr. ***** to stop sending me monthly statements. I do not/did not have a signed contract with him. His constant billing has approached harassment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/12/05) */ Our company did not just provide this customer an estimate but worked on her behalf with her insurance company meeting and negotiating with them for her. We provided over 25 hours of service and incurred direct costs assisting ******** **** with her insurance claim and manufacturer warranty claim. We did this work based on her confirming we would be installing her roof for her. I let the client know my hourly consulting fee is $150 per hour if she wanted to pay for the time spent working on her behalf instead of having our company do the work. The customer decided to keep the extra $33,000 I directly obtained for her. She would not have received this in any way without our direct efforts. This customer was unjustly enriched by our efforts and has made no attempt to compensate us for the work we did. We billed her for the time and expenses incurred.

12/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor will not honor contract and wanting additional monies & will not start the job. Insurance check was already given and cashed by contractor Contractor has cashed insurance check for re-roofing residential home and wants additional monies before even starting roofing job. Contractor will not return a call for a resolution nor will they respond to a scheduled date to get the job started and completed. This has been going on since July 11, 2015 and I still do not have a new roof and winter is around the corner. I called the contractor and requested my check be returned to me. Contractor stated they will charge a 20% cancellation for refund of monies. At this point, all I want is my money returned/refunded via certified mail without any penalties due to this being a 4 month issue with no resolution.

Desired Settlement: refund of monies paid without penalties and sent to me via certified mail.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/11/14) */ Our company is honoring our contract. The homeowner wants us to complete the work for less than our cost which is what insurance has paid. Her insurance company really shorted her on her claim and we have been working to fix this for her. We are happy to complete the work and install our full roof system with the extended warranty once here insurance pays anything close to what they owe her. We will continue to work on her behalf to accomplish this for her. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I sent an e-mail to the owner asking about the dollar difference in the 2 different amount of estimates I received from his company. Tie figure amounts differ from each other. I have asked him to refund my money to which he responded that I will be charged a 20% cancellation fee, which I think is unfair due to the time it has taken for my roof to be replaced and is still not. I have asked him to provide me with a date that I will be put on the schedule and to confirm his response to my last e-mail regarding the difference in the amounts of the invoices, but as of today, he has not responded. I am aware that he is out of town until the 30th of November. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/12/01) */ We have responded to the customer 4 separate times in the last 2 weeks answering her questions, sending documentation and details. We have gone to great lengths to help the customer understand the numbers on this job and their claim. Their insurance company did not pay for many items required by code and to properly install her roof. We have detailed these items to the insurance company and have worked on behalf of our customer to have these items taken care of. Our company already has significant time and expense into the job. We have encouraged the customer to allow us to complete our work properly including getting these items covered as per our contract. If she wishes to cancel we let her know she can do so but must pay the cancellation fee to compensate our company for these expenses. Our fee is reasonable and we even offered to reduce it for her. We don't want to see the customer lose in this situation and have encouraged her to contact the insurance company as well, to encourage them to pay for the code items we are required to install and for which she has coverage. That is the only thing holding up her job.

11/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired to replace my roof. Accepted insurance dollars to complete work; have only completed half my roof; awaiting for months supplements to complete. Professional Roofing was contracted to replace my roof. They made several sales visits out to my home. They met with my insurance agent to review work needed. They accepted the check from my insurance company to perform the work. I was advised when the work was half completed that they didn't get the amount needed to complete the job from the insurance company and they were going to have to fill a separate supplement. that was over two months ago... no supplement has been filed. Myself and my insurance agent reach out to them every week but nothing. Basically, no answers, no call backs, no response to emails. Here are some key facts: 1- they replaced the roof on my garage thinking they could get it covered from the insurance company without the insurance companies approval 2- They have completed the south side of my roof and left the north side untouched 3- thy haven't replaced the leaking skylight which was approved by the insurance company 4- They caused damage to my home (broken molding, holes in my ceiling from the roofing nails, damage to my new decking from their lifts to get the shingles on top of the house) and haven't been out to repair the damage 5- Non of the interior painting ceiling and side walls have been completed 6- Installation of Attic Fan (extra- not covered by insurance... I was informed my cost would be between $300 to $400 by ****** 7- Electrical check as water was leaking through my electrical outlets on the south side of the house 8- Gutter replacement (all gutters on main house)... further gutter damage has been received from where your team leaned their ladders against them... probably could not be avoided but their in much worse condition than prior 9- Chimney stack repair- replacement of all work trim molding, installation of chimney cap and painting. 10- I also supplied *** ***** (Professional Roofing) and invoice for $160 for repairs I had to pay for caused by their team. I was advised by *** that the sales rep over sold and they were going to need to go back for additional funding from the insurance company. I was told in August that they were filling supplements and again in Sept the same thing. I have all this in writing. I'm in touch with my insurance agent weekly and no supplemental requests have been filed... they've only sent in a few pictures. This is a very frustrating situation as I believe I have given them every opportunity to correct and I believe they truly have not intention of fixing this issue. I will see how the BBB can assist but am ready to proceed with legal action if necessary.

Desired Settlement: I either want the work completed ASAP or a settlement for the remaining work to be completed so I can hire another company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/27) */ We require the proper amount from insurance to complete this work as they are well short of our actual cost. There are no monies to be refunded, as the actual costs incurred to this point are higher than what has been paid or agreed to by insurance. Once the proper amounts are agreed to, the balance of work can be completed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) At this point, I'm being held hostage from Professional Roofing as myself and my insurance company have reached out to them in an attempt to resolve any variances. Professional roofing has not supplied the necessary supplemental information with my insurance company and has stated multiple times over the past several months that they have or are working on it. There response doesn't answer my core questions as to when this will be completed? We can certainly move forward with arbitration on this topic as I have many documented attempts to get status on completion of this job. This is Professional Roofing issue and mess up... not an issue with me, my job or my insurance company. They agreed to the amount supplied by the insurance company to cover the cost, they took the check from the insurance company to do the work, they obviously didn't have the right person in place from a sales perspective to estimate correctly, they performed work that was not approved in hopes of getting additional funding, the didn't complete the core work that was promised and paid for, and, they haven't done proper follow-up or supplement requests or communications with me and my insurance company to get the job done. See attached communications regarding this complaint and answer the following questions 1) Why haven't supplements been supplied? What's the hold up? 2) When is the work going to be finalized? 3) Do you intend on completing my work? 4) why have you not been communicating with me when you promised you would provide weekly updates? 5) Is it your plan to handle appropriately and timely from this point forward or would you prefer to move forward with arbitration? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/11/06) */ Our company has supplied the necessary information to the customers insurance company but have not received the insurance supplement to date. We have completed more work than what has been paid for by the customer or insurance and need to work out the proper compensation from insurance so we can proceed. We are happy to complete the work once it is approved.

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Issue with the companies poor customer service and billing a trip charge that was never disclosed. My roof was still under warranty with Professional Roofing when I notices leaking in the garage (drywall was stained and falling apart). I called Professional Roofing to have them take a look, since the roof was still under warranty. I called initially on June 16th to have someone come out (No trip charge was ever mentioned). They scheduled me for the 6/19 but they couldn't commit to a morning or afternoon appointment or window. I followed up on the 18th and was told they probably wouldn't be able to come out on the 19th, so I rescheduled for the 6/27. On 6/27 the company was a no show/no call. I called on the 6/29 to talk to a Customer Service supervisor (I think ****** was her name, could be wrong). She apologized and said that no employees came into work that Saturday because they had been so busy. I rescheduled for the 7/3 (I was skeptical because of the 7/4 holiday... At 11:54am I received a call from ***** ******** stating he was going to be by to look at my roof after lunch. At 2:32pm I finally called ***** to see where he was and he stated he was held up but on his way and 30 minutes away. At 3:38pm I called and he said he was 15 minutes away. At 4:20 and not hearing from him I called the office to complain when he drove up.. He apologized and looked at the garage and the roof and determined the downspout was missing at it was forcing water behind the flashing. I looked and had one in the garage and he offered to put it on for me since the ladder was in place already. At no point was any "trip charge" discussed. On 7/23 I receive a bill to 150.00 with a 50.00 credit payable upon receipt. Since the charge was never disclosed to me I feel that I shouldn't have to pay. Since all the issues with a roof that was still under warranty and that they had me waste to days off waiting for them, I REALLY felt that this shouldn't be paid. On 7/24 I called and spoke to ****** detailing my experience and she said she would research and call me back that dat. It's now 8/6 and she hasn't called me back but she has left 2 messages at my home phone asking if we received the bill and when will we be paying for it. I'm going to call her back but I have no faith they have any documentation on any of the above and nothing will get resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want this charge credited

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/07) */ The customer shared that he was very happy with his roof when it was installed and we would like to let him know we appreciate his business. We are happy to do this repair at no charge. The leak the customer experienced was caused by the gutter and not the roof we installed. On non warranted items we give our customer a discounted price of a $150 minimum repair instead of the normal $350. In this case the $150 charge would normaly be valid. We will, be crediting this charge for the customer, as he indicates this charge was not clearly expressed up front. It also appears the customer had to reschedule with our service department for the repairs more than once. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I had a lengthy conversation with *** and he was very accommodating. He said he will credit the invoice and I'm happy with that decision.

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty Issue: Failed to repair damages caused by the roof leak. or pay **** ***** ******** **** for work performed. We contracted Professional Roofing and Exteriors **** ***** ******* ******* *** X-XXX-XXX- XXXX in June 2014,to replace roof damaged by rain and hail. It has failed three city inspections due to work not done correctly. On 06/05/2015 the third city inspection failed due to ice and water shields not being installed to city code. 05/19/2015 The roof leak damaged the ceiling, wall and flooring in the breakfast room. We received no telephone response from Professional Roofing, so we called **** ***** *********** *** to check for water and they proceeded to dry the walls to prevent mold and further damage. On 06/17/015 ***** with Professional Roofing came out and performed a tub test, which indicated the leak was coming from the ice and water shield that was installed 01/06/2015. At this time, ***** and crew had to scrap ice and snow from roof to install the ice and water shields. We can provide documentation if needed. We are not getting any response from Professional Co., the President, *** ****** *****, has ignored two registered letters we have sent to him with documentation regarding this matter. The warranty he signed was a five (5) year warranty.

Desired Settlement: Solution: Repair the ice and water shields, pass City inspection ,as it has failed three (3)times, repair the damage cause by the leak in breakfast room and pay **** ***** ******** **** for work performed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/15) */ Our company repaired this roof for our customer and we were more than happy to do so as his roof is under our warranty. We have been to this property 4 times to address the ice and water and leak issue. We were originally told it was coming from a skylight which turned out not to be the problem., We since worked on the area with the leak, added extra ice and water shield and flashing to handle pooling water from heavy rain. We have had a lot of heavy rain since our final repair with no call backs so it must have done the job. We feel bad that the customer filed this complaint as we had been working with him. The customer sent a certified letter to directly to me a day after I left town for 3 weeks. He was rightfully upset I did not respond. Of course I did not get the letter until I got back and by then the complaint had been filed and the issues taken care of. We will continue to work with our customer to address any issues that may come up. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/07/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We don't agree with *** *****. Professional Roofing has been insisting it was the sky light, we and **** ***** disputed this. ***** (Prof. Roof.) did a tub test and found the origin of the problem, and it was not the sky light. SOLUTION:WHEN CAN WE EXPECT THE FOLLOWING TO BE TAKEN CARE OF: ICE & WATER SHIELDS TO PASS CITY INSPECTION (FAILED 3 X),REPAIR INDOOR DAMAGE (WALLS, CIELING, FLOOR) AND PAY **** ***** FOR WORK PERFORMED. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2015/07/30) */ Wed. 7-29-15 - In response to Prof. Roof., as we have stated so many times, our first attempt when we experienced the leak in the breakfast room on 5-10-15, was to contact Prof. Roof. We were unable to reach anybody including the emergency number and nobody called us back. We contacted **** ***** in ******** *** Their fast response and intervention kept mold and further damage from occurring. We contacted Prof. Roof. at the end of the week-end. ***** (Prof.Roof)said he could not do anything because of the rain, so of course **** ***** had to dry the walls and ceiling a longer period of time. On sunny days they didn't come right away either. I contacted **** ***** today with regards to *** ***** saying he had contacted them regarding the invoice. They have not heard from him. He should have the right company, as their address is on the invoice. The Company # is (XXX)XXX-XXXX. **** ***** contacted Prof. Roof.this morning but were not told why they thought the invoice was high. They were told this would be discussed and they would call back in 15 min.,but never did.*** ***** and **** ******** owner could have discussed this when they were both at our home. With regards to the interior damage, *** ***** keeps ignoring it as though it will magically disappear if we don't discuss it and try to solve it. He apparently knows people who can do great work for a lot less then others, it should not present a problem. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2015/08/03) */ The customer did not call our office or the emergency number when their leak occurred. They called the repair technicians cell phone number. Had they called the number on their contract and literature we could have sent someone to help them. We are working on resolving the interior restoration for the customer. Even though the customer incurred the liability from **** ***** and we were not given the opportunity to address the situation per our contract we are working on a resolution for the customer with **** ******

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incomplete repairs on a leaking roof above sliding door both which they installed. Back in mid 2012 our area had a hailstorm that damaged our property. Professional Roofing was the company that we contracted to do the necessary repairs which were, new roof, new exterior painting, new 6 windows and a new sliding door in the back. We filed a complaint with them in 2013 when, at the back of the house, the roof above the sun room area over the sliding door started leaking. They sent someone to come and fix the roof leak but never sent anyone to come and fix the interior wall and paint damage due to this leak. Our house is still in disrepair due to that leak.

Desired Settlement: We want the damage to our walls fixed by this company or offer to fully compensate us should we decide to use another contractor to fix this problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/29) */ Our company has received no correspondence from the customer regarding this complaint. We would have been happy to address this with the customer but a complaint without even contacting our company first. We do our best to take care of our customers often performing repairs for them that are not even related to our work if they are simple to fix. We honor our warranties but have no opportunity to do so if we are not notified of a problem. Our correspondence shows the customer had an issue with his sliding glass door over a year ago. Our company did not install or work on that door. We we did, however, come out and perform a repair for him at no charge to solve the problem. We have not heard from the customer since then. This same customer already filed a BBB complaint that was resolved in 2013. We are still happy to help this customer but are unsure why a subsequent complaint was filed without any contact from this customer for over a year. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Let me just clarify something here. Yes, I did contact them in 2013 about water leaking above the sliding door, and someone was sent to fix it. The resulted in the wall damage around and above the door and the person who was sent then to fix the leak said that the company will send someone else to fix the walls damage. We are still waiting. I am not sure about this statement here, "Our company did not install or work on that door." We had our roof, several windows and the sliding door replaced, and our house painted. We paid the check to "Professional Roofing & Exteriors" for all the work done. They on the other hand subcontracted the work to other companies with whom I had no contract or agreements. So for them to make the statement above is disingenuous! Please send whoever you subcontracted to our house to fix the wall damage around the sliding door that resulted from the water leak. I need to put it on record that nobody for Professional Roofing & Exteriors came to examine the completed work to make sure that everything was done to code. I had two different contractors come by my house for other projects and what was interesting is that they both remarked about how the windows and the sliding door that were replaced by your subcontractor are protruding from the wall instead of being flush with the wall. Maybe if someone from your company had bothered to do a quality control check afterwards these things would have been caught and corrected. After those windows were installed, nobody came to paint on the edges of the windows and sliding door since the left smudges of that white silicone all over the place. I would appreciate it if someone could come out and fix these issues! Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/12/23) */ We have contacted the supplier, Alside, that installed these windows and given them 30 days to fix the issues. If they do not take care of by then we will. The homeowner has been contacted and brought up to date. We will also send one of our inspectors out to check and make sure it is taken care of. If Alside does not respond or take care of the issue within the next 30 days we will do our best to help take care of it for him. I only wish the customer had contacted our company first to make us aware of the issue. We would have been able to address this for him much earlier. We last went out to service this customer in Sept 2013 that issue was taken care of at that time. We are happy to honor our warranty for this customer. We do ask that he contact us first if he needs anything so we can better serve him.

11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Professional Roofing to recoat our roof on our main building. They did the work at the end of May, 2014. They provided us with a description of what they would be doing for this work. It included pressure washing the surface, four different types of seal penetration with a Tite Bond Sealant and polyester mesh, sealing seams with a roof patch, installing silconized coating and so on. They provided a 10 year warranty on some items, a 20 year on another and a 3-year labor warranty. They performed the work. At one point while they were doing the job, it rained and a great deal of their sealant came off of the roof and poured down the side of our building. They had to come off of the roof and clean up the side of our building because we had that sealant all over the building. I question now whether they actually replaced the sealant that was lost. They finished the job at the end of May. We had a rainstorm with hail at the end of June. We experienced a number of leaks so I reported the damage to my insurance company. The insurance company sent an engineer out to examine the roof. They denied the claim stating that there were fasteners missing on the roof and they could not see other hail damage. They did not feel that the hail was a cause of damage to the roof. The insurance company did allow us some funds to repair the skylights and metal panels in our front entrance, but denied the actual roof that we just had done. I sent this report to **** at Professional Roofing hoping that he could help with this claim. I sent this to him on August 26, 2014 and never got a response. I then proceeded to contact *** with Professional Roofing explaining to him that **** had the engineers report. *** did come out and take some pictures and apparently sent those on to our insurance company. My manager had scheduled with *** to come out on that Friday to fix the skylights and the front entrance panels. . However, that is the last we heard from ***. He never showed up. He never called. We have been unsuccessful in getting anyone to call us back from Professional Roofing. We have asked Professional Roofing to warrant their product as they put on their contract with us. ***, in one e-mail to me said The rest of the work will be performed under our warranty. We finally asked another roofing company to look at our roof and see what they can do. We are experiencing many leaks in our business and just need our roof fixed. The other roofing company has noticed many cracks in the sealant. This apparently should not be the case with a brand new coating. We do not feel we should pay for another company to perform work that should be under warranty. We would either like our money back that we paid to Professional Roofing ($12,672.72) or our roof fixed to our expectations. Product_Or_Service: Roofing Account_Number: XXXXX, XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We would either like our money back that we paid to Professional Roofing ($12,672.72) or our roof fixed to our expectations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/06) */ Our company did in fact coat the roof for this customer's car wash earlier this year. We quoted the customer several options to repair this roof as it had many issues. This included a re-roof, a long term, coating with a 20-yr material and labor warranty and a 10 year coating with a 3-yr labor warranty. The customer chose the 3rd and least expensive option. The 10-yr material and 3 year labor warranty. Once the roof was coated we received no calls with any issues from the property owner until June 24th of this year just after they were hit with a large hail storm. This hail storm broke through their skylights and broke the seals on the coating around other skylights and flashings. It also severely damaged the vent caps on the roof. Contrary to what the owner states I did inspect this roof myself and put together a detailed report in regards to what was found. I also met with the owner and the onsite manager. They had showed me each of these leaks and where they were coming from inside while I was onsite. I inspected each of the locations directly above these leaks and at each and every leak there was a vent damaged from hail. I had shared this with the property owner along with a copy of my detailed report. I also indicated to them that regardless of what the inspector from the insurance company may have told them they had extensive hail damage that was definitely responsible for leaks into the building. The owner requested a an estimate to repair this hail damage which I provided to them. There was never an approval for that work. I also told the property owner that there were items on the roof that we would take care of for them including the broken seals at the skylights. Even though the hail damage voided our warranty as stated in our contract under severe weather. Once hail has impacted the metal roof the force and vibration from the impact breaks seals and damages the coating whether visible or not. Our company is still taking care of the minor items for the property owner but never agreed to and are not being paid to restore the hail damage to this roof including the skylights. I would be happy to go over any of these details and assist the property owner with the hail damage to their roof. Thank you

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One of my fence panels sustained damage. Professional Roofing took the panel to find a match a month ago, leaving a hole in my fence. No updates. One of my fence panels sustained damage in July 2013 from a hail storm. My HOA took almost a year before Professional Roofing & Exteriors was contacted to replace the broken panel. Towards the end of June 2014, the company removed my broken fence panel without my authorization and left me a note saying they would bring it back on June 23rd, 2014. It is now July 18, 2014 and I still have a hole in my fence where the panel used to be. I have called numerous times and have either not received a call back or been given some bull **** answer. I would like my missing panel returned so I can have a real company come in and fix it. If I want to sell or rent my house I can't because I have a hole in my fence. I can't let my dog outside by himself because I have a hole in my fence. I have to look and see my neighbor's courtyard (who is also effected) because I have a hole in my fence. This is ridiculous. The company should either return my panel or provide me with the compensation that it would take to replace it on my own.

Desired Settlement: I want the panel returned and put back in the fence intact or the financial equivalent of what it would cost to have another company replace the panel.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/21) */ We are happy to take care of Ms ***** right away. Apparently our field technician had a very hard time locating a matching panel and was going to replace the entire 8 ft section for her. It is my understanding this had been ordered and should be available. We will ensure she is taken care of right away! I have posted my phone number and direct extension for our customers and would be happy to assist Mrs. ***** with this or any other need as it is important to us that her needs are met. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) If I had been kept up to date on the status, this complaint would not have been necessary. It's very frustrating to leave messages or talk to your service department and told I am going to get a call back with an update and receive no communication. As I've stated previously to your rep, I receive no communication from my HOA. It took them a year to even take action to get it fixed and they did not tell me it was getting fixed or when. This is not your problem, but when there's a hole in my fence for longer than a week and I'm told through a note on my door that the panel is going to be brought back by a certain date and it's not, I want to know what's going on. As long as a replacement panel has been ordered and is on its way, I accept this response. I hope that once it's here, it will be installed promptly. Thank you.

4/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The job was not completed when discussed. It rained on bare plywood, the gutters were the wrong color, and I did not get the right amount of windows. When starting the project I talked to the sales person about the timeline that I expected, I would look elsewhere if this wasn't agreed. He said that he would have it done by the end of 2013. The shingles were delayed a month. When they were delivered there was not enough shingles so the job was left 1/2 done. Between the time they stopped until more shingles were delivered it rained on bare plywood. Most of the roof was covered with underlayment but there were areas that were not. Upon finishing the shingles one of the workers broke a window. When the gutters were to be installed I noticed they were the wrong color. I called and the salesperson told me that the they picked up the wrong color. At this point they were already installed and it was too late. After this was complete they asked me for a check. I was never given an invoice at this time, the sales person just called me and told me what amount he needed. At this time I agreed to pay him the amount because I had no reason to think he would attempt do anything dishonest. This was on December 23rd. He told me that he would meet up with me but then did not show up nor try to contact me. Later that evening I contacted him and he said that he would come over December 24th, he came and collected the check but again never offered any invoice. Just wrote the amount paid on the original estimate which had changed several times by then. At this point I was told that the windows would be done the 1st week in January. This was past the deadline but I said that it was ok. In early January the office started calling me because they had not received payment. I told them the check was given to the sales person. For some reason it was not handed over to them or cashed. This is also when I received my first invoice and started noticing discrepancies.The price included prime and paint of the gutters and replacement of guards. None of these things were done. When I tried emailing about the questions I had regarding the invoice I would wait a week with no response and have to try contacting them again before I would receive any information back. At this point I started dealing more with office because my sales person seemed to disappear. No one contacted me to get the windows done. Last few days of January I was told that they would be coming to install my windows the 1st week of February. When they arrived I noticed that they did not have enough windows. This is when it became the last straw for me. I notified the company of my concern and wanted work to stop unless I was compensated appropriately for the headache and unprofessional nature in which this job was handled. I originally asked for the 20% that they make. I was offered $500 dollars on a job that was close to $30,000. This was less than 2%. I responded saying that I wanted work to stop unless I was given at least 10% as I felt that I could have done this myself but would split the difference. This is when the communication again stopped. This was on a Friday and by the next Thursday I still had not heard back. I told them the check was in the mail and I was not going to have anymore work done to my house. I wanted my relationship with them terminated and made them aware of my intention to contact the BBB. This is when the responses from the company started coming again. They were sending me final invoices. Because the last window wasn't complete the offered me a $473 credit. Only the 5 windows combined were around $6,800. This was one of the larger windows so it should have at least been the average of all combined which was 1,300 a piece. I again questioned the invoice. I also noticed that things were being added back on that were not completed like the paint and guards to the gutters. This is again when the communication stopped and they would not return answers to my questions. After this experience I started looking at prices and noticed that I was being charged above average. They also went up $8,000 from the 1st estimate.

Desired Settlement: I was offering originally half of there upcharge to continue work but the unwillingness of the company to take responsibility for there unprofessional nature is not acceptable. There seems to be a greediness about them as to just get the most money possible. The service, materials, and the customer come 2nd. I would think that anyone off the street with little or no knowledge could put together a job of this nature and as such I am seeking 20% of the job's final cost. This is due to the fact that they did not deliver as expected and were not helpful in trying to fix this issue in a timely manner. I feel I could have done this well on my own and avoided having to hire a general contractor to oversee the project when it is evident that was not done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ We are surprised to see this complaint as we have not only worked with the customer but credited him money above and beyond the amount for items he wants to complete on his own. In fact, Mr. ******** sent us a payment that was $1,172.86 less than the balance due and $572.86 greater than the credit we had offered him. We agreed to accept his payment as payment in full for the work completed. If he did not agree to this amount why did he offer and send it to us. Mr. ******** did not mention that he is keeping $4,251.93 for scopes of work in addition to $4,640 for painting that was part of our contract. We did not force him to let us paint his house nor charge the 20% or $928 for cancelling this work that was negotiated for him. All together Mr. ******** is keeping $11.840.60. $6,286.02 of this amount came out of our pocket. This left our company with a low margin on this job. The customer says our company was greedy but how can that be when he made out with $6,286.02 that should have gone to our company. We have a significant amount of correspondence with Mr. ******** indicating that we had addressed all of his concerns. I'm not quite sure why the customer settled on an amount he offered to us and then filed a complaint indicating he was not treated fairly and wanted more money. It seems from this and our correspondence that if he wanted something different Mr. ******** would have offered a different amount. As it is he is the one that came out ahead. It is said that he does not see the extra work our company has put in for him including many hours of customer service just corresponding and working with him. When you look at the numbers and what we have already done for Mr. ******** it is hard to see what else our company could do to be fair with him. Our company is the ones at a loss, not him. There is really nothing else for us to offer as it was his settlement offer and he is already far ahead. There have been 4 people from our company working to help Mr. ******** we can only hope he appreciates our efforts in the long run and enjoys the benefit of his upgraded roof system and full lifetime system warranty he received at no additional cost to him. We will honor this warranty and are available to Mr. ******** as we have been. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I filed a complaint because even when I tried to settle on the final invoice there were things being added back in and people were not contacting me in regards to their decisions. I even found out the window was cancelled for delivery but no one from the company bothered to contact me and let me know if they would or would not be continuing the job. The reason the payment was less than what you said I owed was because things were added back in to the invoice that were not completed. There is still no explaination of why I was charged almost 7,000 dollars for 5 windows and then offered a credit of only $473 to finish the last window myself. It should be close to $1,400. I also contacted the same window company and they gave me the prices of what they would charge me. This was 1/3 the price I was upcharged from you. You cannot say that there is no profit margin in that. Also, the money I am keeping is for work that I still need to have done. I would gladly return some to the insurance company if it turned out it was more than I needed, the point is you did not deliver as promised and you should not get it. No money came out of your pocket to compensate me for this experience so I would like to see where that figure comes from. You were paid for everything completed and the job wasn't finished because every aspect up to this point was wrong. There is still no explanation of why the service was the way it was. Or any answers to the things I have pointed out as red flags. I was even given the owners phone number and asked to call him if I would like. I did this on Feb 16th and still have yet to hear back. I fail to see how you can justify that this was handled appropriately by the company. I sent the check because I wanted to make sure that through this I did not somehow get blamed for having a late payment. What I want is not just compensation as I asked for but just as important is an explanation of the problems I listed in my statement and why things have been handled this way. How come I was asked for checks without invoices? Why was I told the salesperson would come by and then wait all day only to not have him show and not call? How come I was promised dates that clearly couldn't be made? How come I was given the owners number yet never got a return phone call? How come it took over a week to get a response about an invoice only to have those mistakes added back in at the end? I have never been given answers on any of it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/04/15) */ We are still uncertain as to why the customer is still upset about this cost of this job. Not only was it quoted and agreed to up front but Mr. ******** is the one that offered us the settlement amount for $1,200 less that we accepted. This $1,222.86 credit was after we had already taken care of the issues he brought up. The amount charged for the windows is what was agreed to up front and allowed by insurance. There are other scopes of work for which we received a very low margin. Often in insurance work one scope of work comes in low and another comes in higher which helps pay for it. If Mr. ******** paid less for the windows we would have to credit that to insurance, not him as insurance done not owe more than it costs to complete the work. Many homeowners are under the misconception that they can just pocket the money or that the contractor is overpaid. Our margins are where they need to be to pay our overhead and insurance costs and stay in business. I myself did speak with Mr. ******** and have answered multiple emails from him as have others at the office. He has by no means been ignored by anyone; Mr. ******** just does not want to agree to the final amount that he had offered to us. By contract we could have forced him to pay the full amount but did not. Instead we made a concession for him and he is still not satisfied with that. In my previous response I indicated how Mr. ******** is keeping $11,840.60 in insurance funds from his claim. $6,286.02 of this amount should have come to our company for the work that was agreed to and is in our contract. It's unfortunate that this is not enough for him and he wants more money. Our work with insurance and in restoring Mr. ********'s home has put him in a much better place both with the condition and value of his property and monetarily. Additionally, his current roof system is far better and carries a much better warranty than the one he had. Fair or not, he just wants' more and refuses to settle for less. We have given him the numbers it is clear in his insurance paperwork, insurance breakdown and his contract; he just does not want to abide by them. In regards to the rest of Mr. ********'s complaint we certainly did deliver as promised by our contract and we honored our work just as stated. We addressed any issues he brought up, took care of them and credited him money. We gave him a complete breakdown on his invoice that matches his insurance paperwork and everything is in order. He has and was given all of this information he just refuses to accept it. Mr. ******** is still under warranty for his roof which has passed city inspection and we will honor this warranty. We have accepted the money and offer he made us and there will be no more credits to him.

2/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company states that we signed a contract. we did not sign a contract.they billed us for 20% of a service they did not provide. they yell at me. bad hail storm left our roof with damage. professional roofing canvasser - ****** - came to home and asked if he could give estimate 8.6.2013. I said we are not ready yet. he said it would only tak a few moments. he gave estimate then told ***** (my husband - when i wasn't around) that ***** had to sign contigent portion of contract for ****** to work with insurance company. when insurance company came ****** was very late finally ****** came and talked with woody, claim adjuster. before ****** left he said i need to give him $1,000. I said no we haven't made decisions. we werent ready. then a couple days later ****** called and wanted to come over to sign contract. we weren't ready, ****** couldn't answer our questions, i had to work late etc. Then ****** called and said he wanted to come over and sign contract. when he came - i had concerns about the contract. I said no we are not ready. ****** said i could sign the insurance check over to him. i said no. ***** and I decided to get other estimates because of the pressure from ****** and the unclear contract. we found a roof company that we trusted. so i called ****** and told him we decided to go with other company. ****** got mad at me and said he would bill me. i said we didn't sign the bottom portion of contract. we do not owe him. he said he would have his boss call me. 5 min later his boss called and yelled at me. i said he was bullying me and i did not and would never sign contract with his company. he continued to yell and said if their company doesn't do the work then they will bill me. I said you can't bill me we did not sign that part of contract. he continued to yell at me. i said i was done talking. then today i got a bill in the mail i called the billing office to tell them they sent bill by mistake. we did not sign a contract. and the billing lady got defensive and would not talk to me. i am worried this company will hurt our credit. we did not sign contract agreeing to have them do work. the contingent part of contract was not for work to be done. it was only for ****** to talk to insurance co. and i would have never allowed any signature any where, i feel ****** waited until i was gone and then made ***** feel like he had to sign contingent portion.

Desired Settlement: i would like professional roofing to acknowledge that we did not sign contract and we do not owe money. and **** and *****y could appologize for raising their voices with me and trying to bully me into signing a contract. i am scared for the elderly and other people that this company is bullying into signing contracts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/05) */ Response to BBB Complaint by ***** 10-04-13 This contract was signed by a franchise office in Fort Collins. I have reviewed the contract documents, spoken with both the representative the manager of that branch and the customer. The customer makes reference to ****** as their sales rep. There is no ****** working for any of the Professional Roofing companies. Their representative's name, ***** ********* is written clearly on their contract and they were given his card. I'm not sure if he is being confused with a representative from another company. After reviewing the information it is evident that Mr. ***** signed the contract, Mr. ***** had to have known what he was signing. The contingency clause was read to him, he followed up with the salesman and gave a copy of his insurance to the salesman 6 days later, cementing the contract. When I spoke with Mrs. ***** I indicated the company would be happy to install our superior roofing system for them and honor their contract if they were willing to honor the same. Their representative, ****** has an easy personality and is by no means "pushy", he followed procedures, and did work for the homeowner on their claim. I'm not sure why the customer decided not to have this work completed. The company does not force a customer to sign an agreement and gives them 2 chances to cancel their contract. 72 hours after is signed and another 72 hours after they receive their insurance paperwork. Neither of these occurred. I would like to assist in resolving this issue and get both parties to agree to a solution. In the meantime Mrs. ***** has been guaranteed that no one is going to pursue them for payment at this time as the company wishes to achieve a fair resolution is agreed to by both parties. By signing the contract, the *****'s agreed to arbitrate with the Better Business Bureau per the arbitration clause in the case of a dispute. The company therefore requests the assistance of the Better Business Bureau in resolving this matter. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1.I got mixed up with the name ****** and ****** Later after I looked at the paperwork I saw that it was ***** ********* I explained this to Mr. *** ***** during our 1st conversation. 2.Mr. ***** (my husband) signed the contingency statement only. But it WAS NOT READ to him. Mr. ***** did not have his hearing aids in either. He also was not given time to read the contingency statement. ***** and *** **** told Mr. ***** that the signature was needed for ***** to speak to our insurance adjuster and that was all. a. At no point was a 72 hour cancellation explained. - (that portion is on back of contract that we did not initial or sign) b. At no point did anyone explain that by only my husband signing the contingent portion of the contract that Professional Roofing would hold us accountable for the whole contract. Even though neither my husband nor I signed the bottom of the contract -which would be agreeing to the contract and agreeing to have the work done, agreeing to the cancellation schedule, and agreeing to the 20 micro font paragraphs on the back of the contract - that we didn't sign. c. I also explained this to Mr. *** *****. 3.When Mr. ***** (my husband) signed the contingent portion, he only knew that he was agreeing to let ***** work with the insurance company. And that was only because ***** kept going on about he had to be present during the adjusters visit. I also explained this to Mr. *** *****. 4. I am sure ***** is very nice to Mr. *** ***** and probably not pushy at all with his supervisor. However, we felt pressure, from the very first visit with ****** a. Visit #1 ***** insisted ***** sign the contingent portion of the contract within minutes of meeting him - without me being present. b. Visit #2 - ***** asked me to sign over the insurance check to him - (no way) c. Calling frequently to have us sign the contract - agreeing to have work done (which we never did) 5. When we (my husband and I) did review the contract, we chose not to sign it because there was an unclear portion that made us think we were going to get hit with a bigger bill than what the estimate was. I also explained this to Mr. *** *****. 6. We felt pressure and we thought we were getting scamed. And that is why we chose a different roofing company. I also explained this to Mr. *** ***** during both of our conversations. 7. I can see from reading Mr. *** ****** response that his and my 1st conversation was a "save the sale" conversation because he was very pleasant and sounded honest and concerned. Our second conversation was not the same and his response posted here is quite a different tone. However, as I explained to Mr. *** *****, I am happy to resolve this issue as soon as I receive in writing, a notice that Mr. ***** and I are not responsible for the money Professional Roofing has billed us. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/10/15) */ As indicated to the customer previously we would like to resolve this matter as well. The customer agreed to arbitration with the Better Business Bureau as part of our agreement. We are happy to resolve this matter with the BBB but are awaiting a response from our representative there. When we get different stories from both parties I am sensitive to the misunderstanding that can take place. We don't want to see either party harmed and want what is best for everyone. We would like to resolve this for the customer as quickly as possible and allow them to move on. We eagerly await the response from the BBB as to how this complaint will be handled.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They put on the wrong roof,lied about it, until we provided proof. Then, our siding began to ooze water and warped. They have not complete repairs. We hired Professional roofing to install a new roof on our home in September 2012. We had many problems. One of the big issues was that company put a cheaper, thinner shingle on our roof then what we contracted for. When brought to their attention, the representative lied about it and tried to cover up the fact that they were the cheaper ones. Once we produced the proof, (packaging materials with the skew numbers and the delivery receipt) the company admitted you installed the wrong roof. During the winter, we noticed that water was leaking from beneath our siding on 3 sides of our home. The siding was warped and ruined on one side of our home. The roofing company came out several times to try and determine what was causing the problem. On two areas of our roof, they had changed the roof design and put in ridge line vents with soffit vents. After removing the siding, they discovered that our attic did not connect to the soffits, so when they added the soffit vents, it resulted in venting the wall instead of the roof. This caused cold air to come up the inside of the wall and mix with the warm air from the heat ducts, causing condensation in the wall. The condensation then warped and ruined the siding. This is what the owner stated needed to be done to fix the problem: I have determined a solution to fix the problem which is 3 fold: 1. Block the soffit off again and allow for more ventilation through a different method. There are ways to achieve this result. 1) Duct the soffit vents into the attic or completely close them off and 2) install 3 or more new roof vents spaced along the ridge cap or 3) Install shingle over Smart Vent 6 to 12" up from the eave on the roof at the bottom of the main gables to allow for proper air intake. 2. Remove the siding over each area with heat duct and properly seal these to eliminate the source of moist warm air. 3. Replace the damaged siding and paint to match. They agreed to do the soffit/vent repairs and that we would split the costs to replace the siding. We paid $750 for the siding repair, which I believe was the full amount (not one half). They were supposed to close the soffit vents and install new vents to do the job the soffit vents were supposed to do (see item 1 above). They did close some of the soffit vents, but were interrupted by weather. I don't know that they closed all. They did not add the new vents to "allow for proper air intake." We have contacted this company many times to get them complete the work on our roof. My husband dealt with months of messages not being returned etc. They refuse to finish the job. I may not know a lot about ridgeline vents, but the manufacture makes it pretty clear that air needs to flow in threw lower vents and out the ridge line vent.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to finish the work they said was required in order fix our problem. I would like to have my roof inspected by someone unrelated to their company to determine any other issues we may have as a result of the venting issue, to determine if I need to seek further settlement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/04) */ Mr. & Mrs. ********* ordered their roof from a representative of a franchise location under separate ownership. When their rep was unable to help them, as needed, we took over serving the customer. We value our customers and our integrity. The customer ordered lifetime dimensional shingles and were delivered the same. Unfortunately the supplier delivered the wrong type of shingles. What the customer is not telling you is that we offered to replace their shingles or credit them the difference. In fact, we credited the customer $3,533.65 which is triple the difference in cost. The customer still retained the full 50-yr Golden Pledge warranty which is the best in the business. The ********** 's had their choice and chose the credit that was given to them. In regards to the ventilation, this ventilation was installed, as ordered, per manufacturer specification. Their roof is under a full system warranty from our company and the manufacturer. The new ridge vent is not the problem. What the customer is not telling you is that they had returns on their heater vents, venting under the siding, which is the cause of their problem. We had nothing to do with this installation. When asked to take the soffit vents we did so. We worked with the customer and went to their home on multiple occasions. We removed and replaced their damaged siding and closed off the soffit vents per their request. I gave Mr. ********** my extension and personal phone number to contact me but have not received a call since then. The customer was advised that they needed air intake at the eaves, but since they had us block off those vents that reduced the airflow through their attic. Installing more roof vents would solve this issue as was indicated to Mr. **********. Had he requested us to do so we would have installed them for him at cost. We are still willing to do so in order to help the customer. They still have issues with the venting of their heating system that is not related to the roof. The customer's roof was installed to manufacturer specification, to roofing code and passed the local building department inspection. I wish the customer would have contacted me before filing a complaint but we are just as happy to help them. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2013/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, this company keeps blaming the problem on the HVAC contractor and a bad connection for the heat run. Let's not forget that the brown water oozing from behind our walls was in many different areas and was a direct result of venting the wall. The soffit vents allowed cold exterior air to draw through the walls where it mixed with warmer air to create condensation. This happened in all of the walls where they installed soffit vents. The condensation was so bad in the area with the poorly taped duct, that the siding was damaged in a matter of months. Had we not realized the problem, the other areas would have damaged over time as well. Had the HVAC contractor properly taped the heat duct, we still would have had a very big problem. The home was built in 1998. No problems until now and they want to blame the builder? This company keeps stating that we never called to order the vents. Why would we? They agreed to install them at their cost to fix the problem created when they changed our roof. They did the soffit closing as they had stated and we called many, many times to get them to finish what they agreed to. We called the person who was doing the work and others that we had been dealing with throughout the entire process. We called the office. We emailed the owner. When we would get someone to return our call, they insisted that we did not need to add more venting. This was contrary to what the owner had stated in his letter to us. Now that we filed with the BBB the story changes again and they say we were supposed to call and order the vents. It goes from "We'll put the vents in at our cost" to "You don't need those vents" to "You never called to order those vents." Let's not forget how they lied to our face insisting that the proper roof was put on, hoping that we would not come up with the proof that they put the thinner/cheaper roof on. It was not our idea to make these changes. They said they were going to make improvements. I am sure that the changes resulted in more labor and materials costs then had we kept what we had. They sold us on the improvements to drive up the cost of the roof. They never looked in the attic prior to investigating the damage. If they had, it is possible that they could have seen that the soffit did not connect to the attic which is the root of the problem. When they first began investigating the problem, ***** stated that the problem was directly caused by changing the roof and that they would fix it. We are not paying this company another cent. We don't even want them to do the necessary work. We cannot trust that they will do a proper job. We want to hire another roofing company to complete the work and we want Professional Roofing to pay for it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/11/06) */ Please see attached.

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to repair our roof,with a signed contract ****** ******** Delay after delay has occurred. The owner called to tell me the job was cancelled. Contract number XXXXXXXXXX was cancelled by ***** ****** via email and confirmed by the owner *** ***** via phonecall, **** ******** Delays began after the contract was signed, *** ******** Another form was sent via email to be signed besides the original contract. I felt it should have been present with the original contract. The form was signed and was advised would be picked up by the representative, ****** He did not, so it was mailed. Then we were told delay in receiving the form;then delay in placing us on the schedule.Then the heavy rain storms were nature delayed.Understandable.The third week of ***** we blocked out three days because of guests at our home and did not want any noise.We were told work could be completed in one day,after delivery of products. The fourth week, we were told the work would begin on the **** by ***** via email. Then a phone call was received and I was told the work would begin either the **** or **** of ***** Confusion.Then another phone call from *** *****, the owner who said the job has been cancelled.I disagreed with him, and told him about the signed contract,article #12.A fee has to be paid by the consumer,$500 or 20% contract price. I do not want to pay any fee to this company and cancel this contract without a penalty,in writing. A decision for this roofing company was decided upon company trust and quality,not price. The original price quoted to the insurance company was 10,713.00 . Our insurance company,Farmers,refused to pay for our roof.We decided to pay for a new roof,ourselves,and the price was then,$6688.55 . Cash deal.Why the difference in price, I questioned, but was told negotiable. I feel the company did not want to approve the lower price,from me the customer,as opposed to the insurance company paying the higher price.Based on one phone call, the owner asked me "if I could pay the price for a new roof".He was rude and nonprofessional.We need a new roof, and will contact another roofing company. As a settlement agreement, we would like to be released from our contract with Professional Roofing without any penalty fees or cancellation fees to be paid by us the consumer. We do not want to pay any fees. Money has not been exchanged nor has any work begun,nor any materials delivered. The contract needs to be cancelled in writing without penalty. Three attempts,via email and phone calls,have been made to this company and they have not responded.The only item we have from this company is their sign on our lawn.It needs to be removed.We need to be released from this signed contract without penalty. We have delayed more than 30 days, and our mortgage company has dropped our insurance with them, because we do not have a new roof installed. We have to pay a higher premium, until we can get a new roof,to the mortgage company.This has been time consuming for us and stressful and now,a money issue.

Desired Settlement: Cancel contract #XXXXXXXXXX, without penalty fees to be paid by us,the customer. Item 12 on contract indicates a fee of $500 or 20% of the contract price has to be paid if contract is cancelled. We do not want to pay either. A signed statement by Professional Roofing, "Cancellation without any penalty fees paid by us the customer." We will settle for this signed statement. The insurance premium to our mortgage company, should be considered,as well as stress and time,but our main concern is to be released from our contract without any penalty fee. We do not want to pay Professional Roof any fees. We have waited more than 30 days for a new roof, and felt we had chosen a quality company based on trust and quality. We were wrong. Their company sign has to be removed from our lawn.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/04) */ Mrs. ********* ordered a roof from our sales manager, ***** ***** on ****** ***** ***** Mrs. ********* was told at the time that we required a deposit of $2,340.99 as written in the contract signed by her. Mrs. ********* never paid her deposit and was told on multiple occasions that we would be happy to install her roof for her as soon as she did. She pressured our sales manager to install her roof anyway and then insisted on a $1,000 discount. At the request of our sales manager I spoke with Mrs. *********. She insisted we give her a $1,000 discount to install her $6,688 roof. This is a 15% discount and would cause us to lose almost $400 to install her job and there was no justification for the discount. I let Mrs. ********* know we could not discount her order and that we would be happy to let her out of her contract at no cost to her. She insisted 3 times in our conversation that we install her roof without a deposit, give her a $1,000 discount and do it right away. I again told her we could not do that if she wanted us to do her roof it would have to be for the full $6,688.55 and that she would have to pay her $3,340.99 deposit and we could load her roof and have it started within 2 days. She refused to listen to me and kept insisting on the discount. I asked our sales manager, ***** to speak with her and just let her out of her contract. Mrs. ********* called me back the next day and insisted she never demanded a $1,000 discount. At this point she still had not paid her deposit and she was told she was no longer bound to her contract and we would send her a letter relieving her of any obligation. I made it clear we will not charge her any fees whatsoever. Our company has done nothing wrong and it is unfortunate that we received this complaint for our efforts. When Mrs. ********* signed out contract she agreed to the arbitration clause with the Better Business Bureau . We would be happy to participate with Mrs. ********* but have already canceled her contract for lack of performance on her part in paying the deposit and relieved her of any obligation to us. Our contract is not binding on our part if it the deposit is not received and the contract then signed and authorized by the company. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/10/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) THE STATEMENTS ABOUT THE INSTALLATION DATE IS INCORRECT.Professional roofing had THIRTY DAYS TO INSTALL THE ROOF and delays on their part were their errors; they refuse to admit.I expected the roof to be completed by the **** of ***** when guests would arrive. It was not. I only asked for three days, so the noise would not interfere with guests in our home. They still did not install or set a date after the ***** Much later, after I asked for a discount, the receptionists called and said it would be on the **** or the ***** when ***** emailed and said it would be on the **** of ****. Why the difference in dates, I didn't know, but I feel their company isn't professional nor do they know what is going on with customers. I finally received a letter from them on *** ** ***** The letter head date was, of course, **** ******* but postmarked *** ** ***** The letter indicates "release from contract at no cost to me." It also indicates a deposit was required to begin the work, which is another lie by Professional Roofing. I have a signed contract indicating "a down payment of $2340.99 shall be paid upon delivery of material to my property." The material was never delivered. I feel Professional roofing does not want to do business with the little guy, but the big insurance companies, because money is lost. The cost for me the customer was $6688.55 instead of collecting from the insurance company, $10,713.00 . Think about it though, who do you think owns the big companies; the little guys. I want others to know how this company treats its cash paying customers, with no respect or urgency. Instead they would rather deal with insurance companies who pay out more money. This is wrong. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/10/15) */ It is unfortunate that Mrs. ********* is not sharing the entire story. We have a chain of emails and recorded conversations that tell the entire story. The truth is that the customer did not ask but demanded first a $500 then a $1,000 discount. When her roof was first scheduled to be done we were told it could not be installed because they were having a family party. We certainly understand that and rescheduled her work for her. Mrs. ********* continued to call us and demand when we install her roof right away and give her a discount. We relieved the customer of her contractual obligation because of her demands. We would rather she work with another company and we offered to share the information we had gathered for her with them. This letter, our conversation and subsequent email already indicates that she has been released of any and all obligations to our company and owes us nothing. We are stating it here again for her. I have checked our documentation and spoke with everyone that corresponded with Mrs. *********. She received continual correspondence and was treated fairly. Our company provided a service to Mrs. ********* for which we are not asking for anything. We also volunteered to assist her with another contractor yet instead of moving forward she continues to berate our company. My conversation with her and those of our employees were the same way. She was very demanding and put us in a tough position. Just as Mrs. ********* has a right to chose her contractor we reserve the right to choose not to proceed with her contract. We wish Mrs. ********* the best and are still willing to provide any information needed to another contractor. We are just asking her to please move on.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Professional Roofing & Exteriors
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart