BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2008

Metro Construction, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (303) 242-8444Fax: (303) 935-2606View Additional Phone Numbers2641 Walnut St, DenverCO 80205-2230

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Metro Construction offers roofing, insulation, painting, gutters, windows, and siding. We specialize in storm damage restoration and exterior work. Serving the Front Range with offices in Denver, Pueblo, Loveland, Colorado Springs and Cheyenne, WY.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2008

BBB has determined that Metro Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Metro Construction, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 23 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Metro Construction, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service22
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Metro Construction, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Metro Construction will not repair my faulty roof that they installed.
My roof is about 1 year old and has never been right. It has already been repaired once and still needs more repairs. I called Metro Construction about 3 months ago to do this repair and they still have not done so.

Desired Settlement
At this point I would like to have someone else do the repair at the expense of Metro Construction.

Business Response
Our company was first notified of an aesthetic concern with this customer's roof eight months after his roof installation and his roof passed inspection by the local building department. After we sent our employee to the property to complete the repairs on his roof, our employee advised us a roofing crew would be required to properly complete the repairs.

When we last spoke directly with this customer on August 25, we advised him a roofing crew was in the process of being assigned and they would be on site within two weeks to complete the aesthetic repair. We apologized for the delay and informed him a roofing crew was needed to complete the repair properly, which is extremely rare for a new roof that passed a local building department inspection within the last year.

The following week, I answered an outside call to our main office and the person said it was ***** *******, see the attached file to hear his comments. He made legal threats against our company, stated he was going to hire a lawyer to pursue our company legally and he wanted to have someone else complete the repairs, then he hung up before we could discuss the issue and come to an agreement to his satisfaction. His roof repair was scheduled to be completed in less than a week by one of our roofing crews, per our last conversation on August 25, when he made this last call. Unfortunately, he gave us no choice but to cancel his scheduled repair.

Our company will reimburse this customer for the cost of his roof repair as long as it is completed by a locally licensed roofing contractor and we are provided with an estimate prior to completion.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It sounds like they will try to get out of paying for the repairs by saying I did not send an estimate or something like that. I want Metro Construction to complete the repairs so I don't get stuck paying for it. Plus I am trying to sell my house but the sale is being impeded by this roof and may take longer if I use someone else.

It is not aesthetic repairs, it is damaged shingles, improper installation and fault material.

The comment about me first contacting you 8 months after the install is a lie. My roof was repaired once before about 4 months after install by Metro Construction.


Final Business Response
Our field construction supervisor has an appointment to meet with ***** on Saturday, Sept. 20, 2014, to inspect and mutually agree to a plan to repair the issues with his roof. We will complete the repairs within 1-2 weeks or sooner after the inspection and re-inspect the roof with ***** after the repairs are completed to assure they are satisfactory.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
A representative from Metro Construction came to my house and inspected the roof. Metro Construction is scheduled to repair my roof this week.

Consumer Response
Consumer filed a duplicate complaint: Case# XXXXXXXX Consumer: *******, *****

Metro Construction started re-roofing my house a little over a year ago and it is still not 100% complete. It still needs repairs to complete it.
In October of 2013 Metro Construction began re-roofing my house at **** W **** st in ******** Colorado.

Four months after the roof was supposedly completed it leaked and damaged dry wall in 3 rooms of my house. After waiting 5 weeks Metro Construction fixed the leak on the north side of my house.

I still have minor leaks on the south and west sides of my roof. I have been trying to get Metro Construction to fix the rest of the issues with this roof and complete it 100% for over a year now.

I just want my roof fixed or a complete refund of $8051.64 since it has not been completed in a timely manner.

I am tired of the lies from everyone I talk to at Metro Construction. The last guy they sent on September 20 2014 to inspect the damage on my roof named ********* did not even go on the roof like he was suppose to. He just complained about his legs hurting. He told me the roof would be repaired the following week and that was almost two months ago. Obviously that was a lie as usual but that is how Metro Construction does business. No one has ever called to reschedule when they don't show up. To me that means they are not going to show up.

This time I am not closing this complaint until the roof is 100% complete and right in every way or I receive a total refund.

If this matter does not get resolved by this complaint my next step will be to call the media and have my roof and leaks shown on the news. I will also tell the whole country about my horrible experience with Metro Construction. My first and fourteenth amendments protect me in doing so.

Repair the roof immediately or a refund of $8051.64


Business Response
Hello *******,

We spoke with the HO on Friday and will be sending out a crew to make any repairs that Metro is responsible for. We are re engaging with this customer and will satisfy his concerns and make any repairs necessary to fulfill our obligation to our customer. I will update again as we make progress.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Metro Construction contacted me about a week ago and said they were sending someone to look at the roof for a third time and that I would be contacted again on Monday 12/15/14.

No one has come by, no one called me as they promised but that is how Metro Construction does business.

You have violated terms 7 and 26 of the contract for my roof. The roof still requires work to be finished and is not to code. Its been about 15 months since the roof was started and still is not complete.

I am going to get together with all the ****** off customers and former employees of Metro Construction and start a CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT.
Look at **************** to see what I am talking about.

But before I start the class action law suit first I will form a picket line in front of your building, pass out flyers explaining the situation, and have it all shown on the local news.

Not to mention this is border line INSURANCE FREUD, maybe I need to contact STATE FARM while I'm at it.

I already complained to Owens Corning about your platinum rating through them. They were here about 2 weeks and they saw what kind of work you are doing. They also took two shingle and sent it to their lab for analysis for the warranty.

You have one month before I do everything I can to hurt Metro Construction.


Business Response
Our field construction manager, was out to inspect the roof last Friday, December, 19th. We recorded all issues being addressed by homeowner as he marked on the roof for us. We took pictures of external and internal damages and it is our intention to address and resolve by next week, we will be coordinating a next appointment with Mr. ******* today, any possible delays could be due to weather and Mr. *******'s availability.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will believe you when my roof is fixed.
I will not close this complaint until its fixed.


Business Response
Update, snow and extreme low tempatures, along with holidays have impacted progress to Mr. ******** roof.. We will update on progress, as it is our intent to fix Mr. ******** roof ASAP.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Excuses are all I ever get from Metro Construction. Roof still leaks and Metro Construction still will not fix it.
Nothing has changed, more people need to be fired at Metro Construction.
Metro Constructions rating with the BBB needs to be lowered to reflect the kind of business they do.

I was not joking when I said you have one last month to do this.
January 20th I will form a picket line in front of your building in Loveland, pass out flyers explaining everything, and have the local news covering the event.

January 21st I will form a picket line in front of your home office in Denver, pass out flyers, and have the local news covering the event.

January 22nd I am starting my class action lawsuit against Metro Construction. I am coming for a full refund.

The only thing that will stop this is my roof being fixed. No excuses will be accepted.


Business Response
In response to Mr ******** repairs, up and foremost we must apologize as uncontrollable delays have continued to get in the way of successfully completing his repairs; we had our repair team scheduled to head on up for repairs this past Monday 1/19/15, as they were in route to Mr. ******** address our team got into an unfortunate wreck on the highway, we attempted without success to have someone else complete repairs on that day. Unforeseeable weather, snow and extreme low temperatures have also been a factor in completion. Our intent is to have this completed by this weekend, pending on weather and snow being off the roof, we have been and will continue to be in contact with Mr. ******* and keeping him updated.
Thank you for your understanding.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Finally my roof has been repaired by Metro Construction. I am happy with the repairs as long as it does not leak any more.


Business Response
Repairs to Mr. ******** residence, have been completed as of 1/26/15, I talked to Mr. ******* this morning and verified all repairs were done, he said they appeared to be, I asked Mr. ******* to please contact us if any further issues.

-****** *******
Office Manager

09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2 times wrong windows, removed damaged windows & replaced with wrong style/model, screens, trim Painting unfinished house & gutters & HVAC unfinished
November 1, 2013 new Metro Project Mgr ***** ******* brought by work order for windows. Also learned that ***** ****** original project mgr was no longer with Metro. 2 times Metro brought wrong windows, first time (November 2013) windows had wrong gridlines & type, 2rd time (Jan 7, 2014) Metro removed damaged windows & replaced with wrong style/model, & took screen from upstairs bedroom window & not returned. The broken glazing bead trim on all (8) windows not replaced yet. Torn/damaged window screens not replaced yet due to hail damage. Painting unfinished on house as to date only painted back of house, not painted other sides that were paid for by State Farm. Gutters & down spouts were not primed prior to painting and gutters were not painted on the inside or top so looking out from upstairs windows you see a half painted gutter. Original gutters painted same color inside and outside. Hail damaged fins on air conditioner not combed.
Original Metro agreement signed 08/26/2013 with Metro Project Manager ***** ******* By 09/20/2013 I had paid Metro $15,977.86 by 2 checks for roof repair (new Grade 4 Hail resistant shingles, 30# felt under lay, 90# in valleys and 8 new turtle back vents. 11/01/2013 signed agreement with Metro Project Manager ***** ******* for 3 new windows (same type) to replace broken frames & also replace all glazing bead trim damaged on other windows. Metro came out November 2013 & brought wrong windows as had wrong gridlines & window type - up and down instead of sliding). Metro said they would go back and order correct windows. Received bill & Paid Metro 11/20/2013 $1,075.36 for windows. 12/16/2013 received another Metro bill for $1,075.38 but called on 12/20/2013 and was told to disregard bill as bill sent in error. So, in August it will have been a whole year and I still do not have my house repaired by Metro. The new gutters which were put up in the fall were white on the back ground of dark red, so all winter had to suffer thru a unsightly house due to the white gutters. Metro finially painted the outside of white gutters in April 2014.

Desired Settlement
I would like Metro to pay me $3,311.26 and release the contract they have so I can obtain another contactor who will install the correct windows & fix the glezing bead trim, do the painting correct on house and gutters and comb the air conditional fins so as summer weather heats up I can use unit without causing overheating issues.

Business Response
During our last conversation with ***** ******* on May 29, 2014, we advised her we would grant her offer to deliver the last window yet to be installed and credit her $115.00 for the labor since it will be installed by another contractor per her request. After we deducted the above credit from her balance due, she still owes Metro Construction, Inc. $1,460.38 for the two windows we installed, the yet-to-be-installed window she asked us to deliver and a small remaining balance due for other work we completed last year.

Many claims of unfinished work that were mentioned by ***** are not accurate. For example, we will not repair the air conditioning unit since we are not an HVAC contractor, which was explained to *****. Also, we explained to ***** we do not replace 'glazing beads' on windows, therefore, she was not charged for this work either, but she still claims it's our responsibility. We explained to ***** the issue with the incorrect windows being delivered was the fault of the manufacturer and our distributor, but we still apologized numerous times for the delay.

Also discussed during our last conversation, ***** advised she wanted 'exact' windows, even though our contract she signed stated 'like' windows were to be ordered and installed by Metro. She attempted to use this as a reason to justify cancelling her entire window order after we had already installed two of the three windows and planned to deliver and install the third window according to our contractual agreement. After I finished the last conversation with *****, as our Collection Department Manager, I immediately advised upper management she was using unjustified reasons as an excuse not to pay her balance due of $1,460.38 and as the result of her refusal to pay her balance due I recommended we file a small claims lawsuit in Denver County Court, as allowed per our contract and Colorado State Law. We were waiting for ***** to let us know what date she wanted us to deliver her last window when we received this complaint. Also, her request for a $3,311.26 is neither reasonable, nor justified, since the total cost for the three windows was only $1,370.57 and we already offered her a labor credit for not installing the last window per her request. This is another example of a customer who is unfortunately using the BBB as a means to not pay for a legally owed debt for work completed according to our signed contract and Colorado State Law.


Consumer Response
First I do not appreciate the case marked as being closed, as I travel extensively and have not had the opportunity to respond. When first contacted by Metro Construction this was one of their major points that Metro had on site managers to handle all details of the reparis & I did not need to be present to oversee the repairs.

The complaint against Metro Construction has always been about trying to get Metro to do a quality repair job and has never been about money as alleged by Metro Construction. The only leverage we as a homeowner have had is to withhold payment until Metro performs the work properly. State Farm Insurance covered the cost of repairs and we the homeowner do not care to be accused of fraud! The money for repairs is available once Metro decides to complete the repairs correctly. Every repair performed by Metro has involved mistakes. During replacement of the shingles Metro failed to purchase enough turtle back vents and tried to install a used and dented vent. We agreed to pay half the invoice and when the old damaged vent was replaced we would pay the rest fo the amount due for the roof replacement, which we did promply when Metro completed the work. Also, Metro apparently over ordered squares of shingles (3 Squares) which they took when their crew came to replace the damaged turtle vent. (So where is my credit for 3 squares of Grade 4 Hail resitant shingles?)

The fall of 2013 white gutters instead of red were installed with the promise they would be completely repainted red, but as described in the last correspondance, the gutters have not been painted on the inside and the view from the second floor of home shows a gutter that is white or blotches of red & white mixed!

The problem with the windows were described in the last correspondance. When a consumer who is not involved in construction see the statement "replace windows with like" we assume it means the windows will be like the ones damaged and removed. Within a week after the installation of the incorrect windows on January 7, 2014 Metro knew that was a issue with the windows as ***** ******* (wife) called Metro representative during installation and told ***** that the wrong windows were being installed. ***** came to the house and took photos of the windows. In June when ***** ******* call Metro office the person she talked to said they had no knowledge of the wrong window issue. One of the slider windows (frosted glass for bathroom) was replaced wth a double hung window which was completely wrong & unacceptable. When Meto called June 2014 to set a date to put in the slider window the appearence of the window was the same as before and not correct. There have been many problems associated with the windows. First the grid patten was incorrect on the 3 new windows & the appearence of the window frame are different than the other windows. We as homeowners were never told by Metro Construction that they would not replace the windows with the same style until June 2014 and in June we were told that we had missed our opportunity to do anything about getting the correct windows.

***** ******* was told by two Metro representatives and three window installation crews that the other windows with damaged beading and glazing would be done by Metro as part of the insurance covered window repair.

We understand in talking with Metro Construction representative (*****) the we will need to get a HVAC person to replace the vent cap for the fireplace and comb the hail dents out of air conditioner, which is differnt that what Metro initially promised in the begining of our agreement.

We the homeowner have paid Metro Construction $17,053.22 for work completed. Metro Construction policy is that payment is not due until work is completed and we do not consider the work completed until window mistakes and painting issues are corrected!

WE AGREE TO PAY METRO CONSTRUCTION $1,075 IF THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS ARE MET:
1. METRO CONSTRUCTION WILL PROVIDE TO US OUR ORIGINAL CONTRACT WHICH HAS THE ORIGINAL SIGNATURE OF **** R *******. A SIGNED & NOTORIZED STATEMENT IS TO BE ATTACHED TO THE CONTRACT STATING THE CONTRACT IS TERMINATED AS OF JULY 8, 2014 AND ANY PROJECTS NAME IN THE CONTRACT WHICH HAVE NOT BE COMPLETED AS OF THAT DATE WILL NOT BE DONE BY METRO CONSTRUCTION.
2. METRO CONSTRUCTION WILL HAVE A SIGNED & NOTORIZED STATEMENT THAT WHEN THE $1,075 IS PAID BY **** R OR ***** ******* WE THEN OWE NOTHING TO METRO CONSTRUCTION NOW OR IN THE FUTURE AND ALL MONEY DUE IS PAID IN FULL!
3. THE UNSTAIRS WINDOW SCREEN THAT WAS REMOVED BY METRO CONSTRUCTION ON JANUARY 7, 2014 WILL BE RETURNED, REPAIRED AND INSTALLED ON UPSTARIS WINDOW.

Final Business Response
Our company agrees to the settlement offer made by **** *******. We will need to measure and order a new screen for the upstairs window since the location of the original screen is unknown. Assuming this is acceptable, we would like to proceed immediately to resolve this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Consumer Response
7/24/2014 BBB Notified that Metro contacted and corrected screen issue.

FYI: Once again Metro is not telling the truth as we have not seen anyone from their operation or heard from anyone. ****


Business Response
After our last conversation with **** *******, he agreed to pay us $1,075 when we deliver his screen that is on order.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, I will accept this offer if and when Metro delvivers the screen and the agreed upon documents.

A Metro person came out the afternoon of August 6th after lunch and measured the window size but no one has returned with the screen or documents.


Business Response
We delivered and installed the window screen, about a $40 cost item, last week and are waiting for the $1,075.00 final payment according to our settlement agreement for this past due account.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Wednesday September 17th I will travel to the Metro main office at **** ****** ******* Denver, CO XXXXX and pay by crdit card the $1,075.00 final payment according to our settlement agreement. At which time Metro will provide me with a statement stating that all work has been paid for and the contract is terminated with no penalties.

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
From: **** ********* (mailto:****@plantmandenver.com)
Sent: Monday, July 14, XXXX X:XX PM
To: **** ********
Subject: (SPAM) RE: Unpaid Invoices

Hi *****

We started working with ***** ****** and Metro Construction when they in August 2010, called us to get a bid on Plants and Containers for 2641 Walnut Street their main offices. They bought plants and we started maintaining those plants.

Less than a year later they asked us to bid on plants across the street at **** Walnut for Real Green Marketing a Division of Metro Construction, they approved the bid and we got plants, containers and started maintaining those plants.

In October of 2012 we were told Real Green was moving to **** Stout Street and that Scope Technologies was to take over the location at **** Walnut Street and they would continue with our maintenance services. We bid plants for **** Stout and a designer got the containers for that location and we started maintaining those plants in November 2012.

In 2013 the payments became more erratic and one or another of their businesses started to get behind. By the end of the first quarter of 2014 all three accounts were at least 3 months behind.

One thing that was the last straw for us to stop maintaining their plants was that one day late in March when I was in *****'s office watering his plants he stopped his conversation on the phone to ask if we had gotten his check and at that point we had not received a check from them since before the first of the year so we thought he was just yanking our chain.

Enclosed are the Invoices we sent him on July 1, 2014.

If you need any thing additionally from me please let me know.

**** *********
Sales Manager
20% Owner
Plant Man Denver

Business Response
From: **** ********
Sent: Friday, August 29, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: **** ********

Subject: Re: FW: Unpaid Invoices

Dear *****

Below is our written response to the issue regarding The Plant Man referenced below:


Earlier this year, *** with The Plant Man provided us with a quote to deliver and maintain 'White Birch' trees for our offices. The reason we specifically chose this type of tree was because it would best match the interior design of our offices. Unfortunately, when the trees were delivered, they were not 'White Birch', but they all were 'Bamboo'. When we contacted ***, he advised the 'White Birch' trees were out of season, so they would not be available until a later date and at an increased cost of $3,000.00. When we were advised there would be an after order increase for the exact same product we ordered and were previously quoted, we were very concerned since this appeared to be a 'bait and switch' strategy implemented by The Plant Man. Therefore, this is the reason why we have not paid for the open invoices.



Thank you for your assistance.

Have fantastic holiday weekend!!!


Kind Regards,


**** ********
Channel Account Manager
Metro Construction, Inc.
Direct # XXX-XXX-XXXX
Main # XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 307
Cell # XXX-XXX-XXXX

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible work that caused damage to my siding and gutters. They promised repaint & replace gutters for months but continue to not show up.
We began this horrific process with Metro Construction in July, 2013. Our roof needed replaced and our house painted. The roof is ok, but the paint is a nightmare that continues nine months later.
Metro has been difficult to schedule jobs, has not return calls in a timely manner and finally painted our house in November, 2013. We said it was too cold but they said it was fine.
In the days immediately following their work, we notified ***** ******* of the many problems with their work, including, but not limited to: Issues due to the cold weather; damage to our painted porch; we paid for two coats of paint, only one was applied; paint not sprayed evenly; bubbling on the gutters that we asked them NOT to paint and the gutters and downspouts need to be replaced.
Metro Construction received $9,233.99 for all of the work at our house. The paint is horrible, pealing and uneven.
After discussions with several contacts at Metro Construction, we conctacted their corporate office at 1732 Wazee, Suite 205, Denver, CO XXXXX.
**** ********, Channel Account Manager (XXX) XXX-XXXX has been one of our contacts since November, 2013. On December 4, 2013, **** sent us a "Promise Letter" confirming that they would repaint our house "in the Spring". It is now August 18, 2014 and Metro continues to give us the run around on when our house will be repainted. Metro agreed to replace all of our gutters and downspouts that they damaged.
Metro Construction continues to lie to us about completing the work as promised.

Desired Settlement
We want Metro Construction to repaint our house (two coats as we paid for)and replace the gutters they damaged AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, before the weather changes. They promised this work to be completed "in the Spring" and it is now August 18, 2014.

Business Response
Mrs. ****** called our office after this case was filed to make arrangements to schedule her re-paint and gutter replacement. We mutually agreed on Monday, Sept. 15 as the firm date for this work to be completed. During our conversation, I expressed our deepest apologies for the delay since this Spring to resolve this issue, because painting during the winter months was not advisable. The original paint sub-contractor was terminated from doing future work for our company specifically due to the issues with this customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
With hesitation, I accept the response of Metro Construction. Since May, 2014, Metro has scheduled time to complete this work, but they have not done so. On August 27 Metro power-washed our house for the 2nd or 3rd time stating they would start work on August 29. They did not show up for this scheduled time. We continue to live with the unsightly appearance of our home.

01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was promised, in writting that I would receive back 400.00 dollars when my check to them cleared.
They promised roof ridge vents and did not instal.
I was promised ridge vents and signed a contract with Metro to have a new roof, with the ridge vents installed.
Old style vents were reinstalled.
I was sad and upset with ***** *********
He assured me we could reach and agreement.
The agreement we signed stated; ( and I have a copy of this) "Metro Const. did not install rolled roof vent on ****** ******* PR-XXXXXX home as stated on our contract. He does not wish for metro to install, and so we metro are reimbursing $400.00 to Mr. *******.He is paying in full the total amount of $5694.57 on Oct. 23 2013. Once the check clears our bank a check will be mailed to Mr. ******* at *** *** st. ******* Co.XXXXX. "
We waited about 6 weeks and called **** P ( in denver?) and he said our insurance was not covering ridge vents.
He stated that we got new turtle vents as per insurance.
So, therefore no 400.00 dolllars to me.
I signed a contract with a rep from Metro in loveland Co.
I Met him in his office and was promised in writting by that rep that it was a simple mistake on his part, and the $400.00 dollar figure was Metros cost to rip off the new roof down to the turtle vents and re-do it as promised - put on ridge vents.
I refused to let them back on my roof, based on the hassel and headace so far.Due to their unprofessional rep.

We just got off the phone with **** P. saying no money to us.
We sent a copy of the signed letter to him, and the insurance settelment.


I believe that Metro Should honor what their rep signed with me.

Desired Settlement
I simple want the $400.00 Promised to me in writting from the Loveland office rep of Metro Construction.
This Rep admitted to me it was a paper work mistake on the work order, and it was all his fault.
I'm tried of discussing insurance with them.
This is the reason for this complaint.
I understand the rep in question no longer is employeed there, so we are basically out here with a 2 broken promises from them.And a signed letter that they will not honor.

Business Response
****** *******'s written agreement was based upon the approval of their insurance damage claim. Their total price and all related line items for roof replacement were approved by their insurance company, ******** ******* before we replaced his roof. The insurance approved price of $5,694.57 for their roof replacement DID NOT include any line items for 'ridge vents'. Therefore, Metro Construction, Inc. removed and replaced their existing 'turtle vents', according to their insurance damage claim, as they agreed to in our written contract.

****** ******* was not invoiced for any 'ridge vents' and did not pay for any 'ridge vents. Therefore, it is impossible and would be in violation of Colorado State Law(SB38) for our company to refund any amount that our customer was not invoiced for on a residential insurance damage claim over $2,000 because that would be considered a discount or rebate from their $1,000 deductible. Also, we have yet to receive any documents from ****** ******* regarding this matter.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was never explained to me that insurance was the reason for the turtle vents verses the ridge vents.
Until trouble came up.
I was issued a written contract and told insurance would cover the new type vents.
When I came home to find the old vents I called my rep for Metro.
He said - my mistake on submitting the paperwork.
He offered to rip off the part of the roof and install the ridge vents.
I said no. They were willing at this point to change the vents out. They ( their rep ) offered the 400.00 dollars as a way to make me happy and I accepted his written letter that he signed in their office, as a way to put an end to this mess, they created. We called their denver office and sent in a copy of the letter.
There was actually 2 signed letters that day . I kept my copy for proof. I'm not surprised they do not have their copy.The rep and I signed 1 copy for them and the rep signed one copy for me.
I guess at this point, I give up!!
Signing a contract with them means nothing, and getting their rep to sign an agreement letter, in their office means nothing to them.

At NO time during the agreement was insurance EVER mentioned as the reason for the changes.
IF they would have explained this, there would have been NO problem.
But to use insurance after the fact kinda stinks.
I was promised in writing 400.00 dollars.

I guess their contracts and written agreements are just for show.

I am sad at the outcome.

Metro Construction should educate their reps better to avoid signing agreements that they refuse to pay out on.

I feel as if they should be forced by law to pay, but they are using the law to avoid paying back the promised refund. This promised payback was for the mistake and had nothing to do with my deductible. Until now.
I'm done, they win.



Final Business Response
We are pleased that ****** ******* realized we followed through as per our written contract and why Colorado State Law would prevent us from refunding $400.00 for an item they were not charged for and since it was part of an insurance damage claim.

Page 1 of 4
05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for insulating both attics. When they opened up the second attic,it did not require insulation and they have yet to refund me since 10/28/2013
10/22/2013 - contracted for insulating attics. Note that we have 2 attics, the second one is over an added bedroom and did not include anyway to access it.
10/28/2013 - insulation was provided in the first attic but they needed a roofer to cut a whole in my roof in order to access the second attic who was not available 10/28 so scheduled to insulate the second attic on 11/2/2013.
11/2/2013 - When roofer cut whole in roof, it was discovered that I did not require any insulation! Workers advised that someone from their office would contact me.
Nobody ever called. I waited until I received my first bill from the finance company to see if it was adjusted. It was not, so I called the office. The project manager who sold me the insulation no longer worked there (****** P ******** but he did leave notes in their system that I was due a refund because they did not insulate the second attic. Even though they charged me $332.75 for insulating the second attic, they advised that I was only due a refund of $257.88 which I did not understand but did not want to argue with them. They advised that I would receive payment in 4 to 6 weeks. No refund was received.
Called back approximately 8 weeks later and spoke to **** who apologized and advised he would take care of it and to allow another 6 to 8 weeks. Today is April 16, 2013 and no refund has been received. I called **** today and left a message that I still have not received my refund and he has not yet returned my call. I am convinced that I will have to file a small claims court lawsuit to get my refund, but I thought I'd try complaining to the BBB first.

Desired Settlement
The $332.75 they charged me for insulating my second attic. This charge is clearly stated on my contract. I would also like this complaint noted in the BBB records so other potential customers can see what kind of ethics this business has.

Business Response
We mailed a second refund check for $257.88 to *** ***** on April 16, 2014, the same day he left a voice message, see attached, advising us he did not receive the first refund check we mailed to him after our last conversation in January and the same day he filed this complaint.

We are very disappointed Mr. ***** filed this complaint the same day after he left us a voice message advising us for the first time he did not receive the refund check we sent to him in January. He was very calm and did not seem upset when he left his voice message. We would have called him back immediately to advise him another check was going to be sent, but we thought calling him back early next day would be sufficient. Unfortunately, by that time, he had already filed this complaint.

Respectfully, this situation is not a matter of ethics, but is a matter of communication and allowing a company a reasonable amount of time to respond after being made aware there is an unresolved issue. For example, the amount of the refund was explained in detail to Mr. ***** in January according to the average square footage cost for his insulation installation and at the time he said he understood and did not dispute the amount of the refund we mailed to him.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Metro Construction is a liar. There is no way I believe they mailed me a check in January, and by the way they provided the service in NOVEMBER. I had to call them not once, not twice, not three, but 4 times and to this day I believe they would not have sent me a refund if I did not file this compliant. Another thing, I did not file this compliant until the END OF THE DAY after I called for the FOURTH time which was first thing in the morning, so they had ALL day to get back to me and the secretary I talked to before leaving a message with **** said he would be out of his meeting within 10 to 15 minutes, but he never returned my call. Now I receive a check at the end of APRIL and they act like they are doing me a favor. Are you kidding me...??? And of course I paid them $332 for the insulation in the second attic (attic "B"), see attached bill invoice, and my refund is only for $257. I can only assume that they on purpose made receiving my refund so difficult that I would be happy with any amount they decided to refund me! Any "ethical" business would have contacted me the day after they completed the job and refunded my full overpayment within a week. Anyone who chooses to use Metro Construction runs the risk of running into the same problem that I had. I guess my only recourse at this point is to take them to small claims court. What a nightmare it has been dealing with Metro Construction! Thank you for taking my compliant.

Final Business Response
We are concerned why Mr. ***** admits to making assumptions regarding our supposed motivation for paying his refund in a timely manner and in his own words, seems intent on damaging the reputation of our company over a check that was lost in the mail and a $74.87 dispute.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As you can clearly see from the attached invoice I was charged $332.75 for insulation of the second attack and the refund that was sent was only for $257.88. I can pursue the remaining amount of refund due to me via small claims court. I expected no less from every response I have received from Metro Construction and if I had not contacted them numerous times, actually it wasn't until I filed this complaint, they would have not sent me ANY refund! Enough said except I would not recommend Metro Construction for any services.

12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We do not have a valid contract. There is no price or material info. Amount we received from Ins. differs from Metro $21,690 versus $15,489 we recvd
Metro Construction was the 3rd company to contact us, ***** ***** was the project mgr. who contacted on 06/19/13. He left Metro shortly after. I also told Metro that I was getting other bids. We had no contact for awhile, I then looked up their complaint record and became uneasy doing business with them.
I had no valid contract with Metro,there were no specific figures or product information what so ever. My wife called Metro and informed them to contact our attorney: ***** ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX).
I Decided to do business with ******** ***** Roofing and signed a valid contract with them on 08/14/13 and work was done on 08/20/13.

We received a letter from Metro Construction, **** ********, collection department manager, XXX-XXX-XXXX. Stated that the original Insurance
Claim Coverage = $11.348.55 INCREASED Insurance Claim Coverage after Metro consulted with our insurance company = $21'690.46.
305 of the of the Claim Coverage (21,690.46 x 30% =$6507.13) due according to terms & conditions of our written agreement, please see term #8 $6507.13

Total payments Made(Below are the payments recv'd)
000.00

Balance Due $6507.13

this invoice is due upon receipt. Please remit this payment in full immediately or contact our office to make other arrangements.

We have not responded to this letter.
******* and ****** ****
**** ***** *****
************ CO ***** ************ ***'s cell


Desired Settlement
We do not owe Metro Construction any money and they do not have the right to consider that we had a valid contract. Therefore we are not liable to pay 30% for approved Replacement Costs. Plus the amount we received from State Farm Insurance was not $21,690.46.
1st payment was $7206.68
2nd payment was $8281.92
Total payments-$15488.60

Do not know where Metro Construction came up with
$21,690.46.

We are seeking no monetary settlement due to Metro Construction. We owe them $00000.00.

Business Response
******* **** signed our contract on June 19, 2013 and cancelled over a month later, which is outside of our three-day cancellation period, which is clearly stated in our written agreement and was acknowledged in their complaint. The contract price is based on the approval from their insurance company, ***** ***** Their price was approved by ***** **** on July 29, 2013 in the amount of $20,727.08. The ***** notified our company of their intent to cancel AFTER their insurance company increased their roof claim amount by $9,378.53, because ***** **** approved the roof installation price we submitted.
After their roof price was approved by ***** ***** this project was moved into production and more time was invested my Metro Construction, Inc. to place their order for materials and schedule a subcontractor for installation before the Citos cancelled the project.
The original estimate from ***** **** was only for $11,348.55, because ***** **** was including a sub-standard or lesser-quality shingle to replace the T-lock shingles the ***** had on their damaged roof that is no longer available. After our prolonged negotiations with ***** **** on behalf of the ****** ***** **** approved our submitted Xactimate report for $21,690.46, which included the same or better quality shingle style, 'Fiber Cement Composite Roofing - Shake Style', if compared to their original T-lock shingles. (Copies of the original insurance report, our approved roofing submittal report, signed contract, contract terms & conditions and the collection invoice are all attached.)
As Mr. **** stated in his complaint quoting from our invoice, they violated our terms of cancellation, therefore they owe our company a cancellation fee of 30% or $6,507.13 of the insurance approved amount. This complaint is solely based on a customer that violated the terms of our written agreement by not following our cancellation terms, refused to pay the amount legally due and didn't even attempt to contact our office after they received our invoice.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did not receive a written estimate from Metro-nothing-- until the complaint was filed and saw it on BBB report. I just received the pink copy that I signed on 6/19/13 that I was told was necessary for Metro to work with ***** **** Ins. We received several harassing phone calls from Metro that we were bound to do business with them. Wrote Metro a letter stating to call our attorney, ***** ****** they did not. Under Colorado Law a contract without an amount is unlawful.

Final Business Response
The initial insurance price was $11,348.55 that was established by their insurance company as an estimate for the needed roof installation to be covered by their insurance damage claim. According to our contingency contract signed by ******* ****, the price for the roof installation is contingent on the approval of the insurance company. Therefore, the contingency contract is finalized, in compliance and fully enforceable, once the insurance company approves a price that is submitted by our company or our company agrees to proceed with the roof installation for the initial insurance price.
Since their insurance company formally approved our submittal, the final contract price for their roof installation to be performed by our company would be for $20,727.08, according to our written agreement. Even though we are legally owed 30% of this approved insurance price since they were in breach of contract by cancelling after the three-day cancellation period, that is mandated by state law and is included in our terms, our company would be willing to settle for 30% of the lesser amount of $16,488.60.

07/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
window intaller is rude. Attic insulation leaks in bathroom and no one has called or come to fix.
I ordered a window in February.I was told installer would call to set up a time for him to measure. I wrote the check and gave it salesman ************. two weeks went by and I didn't hear from installer and my check had been cashed. I called **** and he said installer would call that week. Installer never called. When **** came the day I had attic insulation done I told hom I was upset that I had not heard from the installer and my check was cashed. by this point it had been 3 weeks. I told **** to fix it or I'll get my money back and go elswhere. **** apologized and said he would fix it. the installer came that day and measured and was done in five minutes. After 4 weeks I contacted **** and asked the status of the window. He said it was in and the installer would be contacting me that week. A week passed and the installer didn't call. I called the main C/Springs office and spoke to manager *** and complained about the whole ordeal. The next day the installer named ************* called to tell me he was coming the following saturday. He didn't even ask if I was available. I informed him I work every saturday morning and that wasnt good for me. He huffed and sighed very loudly and said rudely "then I'll have to switch with someone else! ok, fine, we'll come saturday afternoon." He started to get off the phone and I had to ask him what time he'd be coming! He said between 1-2pm. That saturday my son was home alone and called me at work (around 9am) and said the installer was there! He didn't open door because he's not allowed. I called *** and complained. When I got off work at 12pm the installer was waiting for me. It was not *****, it was someone name ***** (I think) and his son. ***** told me ***** told him to be at my house at 9am!! I was not mad at ***** because he was doing what he was told (if he was telling truth). I am so disgusted at how I've been treated by the installer. That is ridiculous. when I called *** to complain about the installer *** said that ***** was really good at installing things. I don't care how good he is at manual labor, he's terrible at customer service and Metro Construction will lose business because of him, I have at least ten more windows to purchase and I will NOT be buying them through Metro Construction. My other issue is in my bathroom when the fan turns on pink fluff sprinkles down. I told *** about it when I called to complain about *****. Nothing has been done about it and that was 2 weeks ago, at least. I am so disappointed in the service I have received from this company. ************ is the only good asset they have, he's been trying to help me through out these issues. I love the new window and I'm satisfied with that but I will get future windows elsewhere to avoid these problems.

Desired Settlement
I paid $740 for the window that I ordered in February and received in April. I don't know the break down of the price of actual window and the price of labor. I would like a refund for the cost of labor for all the trouble and headaches and rudeness I had to deal with.

Business' Initial Response
The standard time frame from order to installation for custom-sized windows is approximately six to eight weeks. Our project manager makes initial window measurements, but we require the exact window size be confirmed by the window installer before placing our order with the window manufacturer, since it's a custom window size. One person in our main office and our window installer made numerous attempts by phone and left messages for ****** to schedule an appointment to re-measure the window and we did not receive a return call. The delivery time for a custom window is usually between three-four weeks after we place the order with our window manufacturer. Therefore, with the need to confirm the window measurements by the window installer (1-2 weeks), the window delivery time required (3-4 weeks), schedule appointment and install window (1-2 weeks), our standard installation is usually complete within six to eight weeks. ****** ordered the window on February 27, 2013 and we completed her window installation on April 27, 2013, which was approximately eight weeks. Also, the concern regarding her insulation has been resolved as of this week.

As with most contractors, when we contact our customers to schedule an appointment, we offer them different time periods and days we will be in their area. Regarding ******'s appointments, we gave her appointment options during the week, Monday - Friday at different times, and even offered an appointment during the weekend on a Saturday morning. Unfortunately, ****** was apparently not available for those times when we spoke with her. Therefore to accommodate her schedule, we scheduled a window appointment with her on a Saturday afternoon.

Last week, we had a scheduled appointment with her to resolve her insulation concern between 9-11am, but she thought we were going to be there after 11am, so unfortunately we missed each other. Due to her busy schedule and the unintentional miscommunications between both parties as described above, we were only able to repair the insulation this week after we rearranged our repair schedule to meet with her on the day and at the the time she requested.

We sincerely apologize for any miscommunications with ****** and if we did not make the six to eight week time frame regarding our window installation clear to ****** when she ordered.


Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are numerous lies in this response. One of them being they contacted me numerous times & left messages to schedule and/or reschedule for the window installer. I have caller ID and an answering machine that I checked daily. The only time the installer called me was when I called main office to inquire about it.
Another lie, when the window installer finally contacted me he didn't even ASK when I was available! He called me and TOLD me when he was coming without even asking if I would be home!
Another lie, I was told numerous times that Metro Construction only come down to my area Thursdays, Fridays and sometimes Saturdays. I was NEVER told that they were available to me Monday thru Friday. Never.
Another lie, when I talked to Ron about having someone come out to fix the insulation issue, he told me Friday was the only available day. I told him I was available 11am & 3pm & gave him my cell number. He didn't LISTEN and told the guy to come 9-11am. No one called my cell. When I got home I saw there were two messages. One from Rob, one from Ron. When I called Ron he was gruff with me and told me I was available 9-11. And he said he just remembered that he had my cell number. I called Rob & he gave me his number & we worked it out between us for him to fix issue.
I am appalled & outraged at how this company had mistreated me, not listened to me, been out right rude to me. It's bad business. I have more windows to order & I will never order any service from Metro again. They haven't even TRIED to keep my business. They lie, they don't listen, and when I call to complain they make excuses and don't accept any responsibility. I will be sure to tell everyone I know to NOT use Metro unless they like being treated like crap. I understand people make mistakes. I believe in second chances. But treating customers like this is unacceptable!!!!!

10/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Painting Contractors, Insulation Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/02/2008Business started: 06/04/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2007, WY

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerod Raisch (President)Mrs. Candace Cunningham (Admin Asst---licensing Only)Ms. Kathy Mowrer (Office Manager)Mr. Andrew Tsakalakis (General Manager)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Painting Contractors, Insulation Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

We offer Owens Corning roofing and blown-in insulation, as well as other leading brands. Metro Construction also installs windows, vinyl siding, gutters, and paint. We focus on energy efficient upgrades and offer an energy use audit.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

Denver, Pueblo, Loveland, Colorado Springs, Cheyenne

Industry Tips
Insulation Advice
Roofing Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Metro Construction, Inc. has received 4.03 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Metro Construction, Inc.

2641 Walnut St

Denver, CO 80205-2230

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Metro Construction, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (720) 381-2921
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Insulation Advice
Roofing Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.