This business is not BBB accredited.

Aztec Construction, Inc

Phone: (720) 260-3217 13791 E Rice Pl, Aurora, CO 80015 ! Aztec Construction, Inc is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Aztec Construction, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 19, 2011 Business started: 01/11/2008 Business started locally: 01/11/2008 Business incorporated 09/02/2009 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Denver Building Department
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver CO 80202
http://www.denvergov.org
Phone Number: (720) 865-2770

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chamroeun Darow Chea, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chamroeun Darow Chea, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Contractors - General

Products & Services

This company offers construction, roofing, and siding.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13791 E Rice Pl

    Aurora, CO 80015 (720) 260-3217

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aztec Construction has received full payment but has failed to provide a number of services promised to me. Early this year I went into contract with Aztec Construction to provide services to repair hail damage to my home. This included replacing the roof, cleaning gutters of debris, straightening gutters and insuring proper drainage of roof to prevent damage to stucco, re screening of damaged screen in patio door. After several delays the roof was completed in what appears to be a satisfactory manner and I released the insurance funds to Aztec with their promise to complete the gutter inspection and screen door in a couple weeks. Four months later, the gutters are still full of debris, rain water is pouring down the stucco instead of through the gutters, the screen door has not been re screened. I have left multiple phone messages with no response...including informing them that if they did not return my call I would be contacting the BBB

Desired Settlement: I want them to provide the services they promised. I or my representative need to be present to verify that the gutters have been cleared of debris and are functioning properly. I or my representative need to be present while they run a hose test to verify that the roof is not draining improperly on to the stucco instead of into the gutters and if it is they need to fix that. They need to re screen the patio screen door as promised

1/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "**********************************., failed to repair the house according to the insurance claim. He has been *********** me. I want to make a formal complaint against a company and its owner. The name of the company is "******************" and the owner goes by the name, "*****." He would not divulge his full name and company address when requested by me. His business address is *******************, *********-Aurora, CO. XXXXX. The office phone number is ************/fax: ************* I hired him to re-do my roof and paint the house and deck. We agreed upon a certain type and color of shingles, but he delivered and installed shingles I didn't agree to. He kept insisting that the insurance claim did not cover anything but the base paint of the house. No trim was painted, no soffits, no deck-railing. His painter spent half a day "touching up" the base color in various spots around the house. I feel like this is unacceptable and incomplete. Now he is *********** with a **** on my house if I do not pay him the $3,300 left in the insurance money allotment for the painting of the house. He failed to complete the job according to the specific claim by me on October 29, 2014. He has become combative and argumentative towards me regarding this matter; his tone is ***********. All I ask is that this matter be resolved by him completing the job according to the insurance claim. That is not too much to expect, in my humble opinion. It has been unpleasant dealing with him regarding this matter. On his invoice statement, he specifically has the**** logo in plain sight name, however, he does not run his business according to**** standards. I hope this matter can be resolved in a timely fashion as I now have a second claim from catastrophic hail damage on September 29, 2014. Also, this man offered me $600 to hire him to do the second insurance claim, stating that he would finish all the work not completed in the first claim, which it would be done during the second claim. Sincerely, **************

Desired Settlement: From the business, I am just seeking for a satisfactory job done correctly according to the insurance claim.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/01/01) */ From: ******************* (**************************) Sent: Thursday, January 01, XXXX X:XX PM To: ************** Subject: Re:************** XXXXXXXX Happy new year. I never got any call or voice mail from you. I though this complaint already been resolve already. ********************* already work out our misunderstanding issue. ********** already should have send a satisfied letter to your firm already, or it was about 3 weeks ago. I can also send you a copy of that letter to you. Please give me a call when your back from vacation. We like to take care of this ASAP. Happy new . Thanks you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 16, 2015/01/06) */ See more info from consumer dated 12/15.

11/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company had a subcontractor who harassed and threatened us. Owner said he would give us a 20% discount. Now he is not keeping his word. The remodel of our basement because of flooding issues began December 10, 2013. A subcontractor was used. He stated the job was to be done by the 20th of December, which it wasn't. There was a financial dispute with the subcontractor and the owner of the company which resulted in the subcontractor asking us for money to pay for the amount the owner owed the subcontractor. The subcontractor text me on January 7th saying we needed to pay him $2800 or he would put a lien on our house. He also stopped by our house on the evening of January 8th when I told him we would not be giving him any money because that was something the owner of the company was to do. I was very distraught and I contacted the Owner of the Company, ***** and told him about the harassment and he said he would contact the police on my behalf, which was never done. I also told ***** that it wasn't okay to have this type of a person speaking to me or my husband, or even to have him come to my house. I said that since ****** (the subcontractor) knew where I lived and came to my house requesting money, threatening to put a lien on my house; I wanted a 20% for these problems. ***** said that was something he would do. The job is not completed because of some issue with our electrical wiring in our ceiling in the basement, but Aztec is done because of the issues I have listed above. ***** has stated that he never told me he would give me a 20% discount and he stated in a text 2/10/"please don't you ever put words in my mouth ever again, and insult me like that." As a response to me asking why he didn't keep his word about the 20% discount. He also said that his company gave us a really good price for the remodel, when in fact three other companies had given us lower estimate. We went with Aztec because the timeline was more preferable than other remodeling companies. Now we will need to use our own electrician for the wiring problem and have the owner of Aztec think we are taking advantage of him. ***** will be picking up the remaining amount owed - which has been stated by ***, his manager, is now $4300. Aztec's bid for our remodel was $9800. I paid $5000 up front with the $4800 as a balance. However, the %20 discount would make our ending balance of $2800. ***** wants a check for the amount of $4300 today and I want to give him $2840.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the 20% discount that ***** told me was doable when I explained harassment and threat from his subcontractor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ Our relationship with this homeowner began just before Christmas of last year. She made it clear that she would not be able to spend more than $10,000 for the basement remodel she wanted done, because that is all the mortgage company would approve. If she had other bids, they must have been substantially over that number, or she would not have chosen Aztec. We gave her a bid to remodel the hallway, the master bedroom, the living area and another small bedroom for $9,800. We made it clear to the homeowner that this was a "bare bones" bid and she was very appreciative that she would not have to come up with any money out of her pocket. We used a subcontractor that we have used for several other projects and the work began the week before Christmas. To our dismay, the contractor was much slower than what he had expressed the time needed. So, because of the holidays, and the fact that the homeowner had major back surgery over the holidays, we lost several work days and the job stretched longer than we anticipated. Around the first week, of January the sub-contractor tells us he is finished and wants to get paid. When we went to check his work, we discovered that he had not even touched the small bedroom area, yet wanted to get paid in full. It is important to note, that the homeowner is a severe hoarder, and the room in question was overflowing with junk. The contractor we hired knew that, and was to include that in his bid for the job. He refused to touch the room, so we hired two people to come clean the room and they hauled out 50 bags of trash. We then discovered that the room had holes in the sheetrock and unfinished walls that we couldn't see because of the trash in the room. When we refused to pay the contractor his final invoice until he completed that room, that is when things escalated. He told us that he would need an additional $1200 to finish this 10x12 room, and that he wouldn't do any work until we paid him the balance of the $3,500 we had agreed to pay him. We did not feel we could do what he was asking, so we refused. At that point, this individual began to harass the homeowner and make all kinds of threats to Aztec. After repeated conversations, Aztec paid him and told him to stay away from the homeowner. It was during this time that the homeowner reached the conclusion she deserved at least a 20% discount. No one at our company would ever promise her a discount of nearly $2,000 on a $9,800 contract! In fact, during this time, the homeowner asked for, and received, an itemized breakdown of the original $9,800 contract. She said she needed it for her mortgage company, so we provided that. In that breakdown, we listed a 15% line item for company profit. Why would we EVER offer a 20% deduction in the contract, when we only had built in a 15% profit for the company! Clearly, the homeowner mis-understood at best, or mis-represented at worse, our supposed statements. We did offer her a $300 discount and we feel like that was more than fair. Finally, last week we picked up from the homeowner a final payment check for $4,500. That represents a total of $9,500 paid toward the original bid of $9,800, minus the $300 discount we offered her. In our opinion, the fact that she wrote us the check is evidence enough that this claim has been resolved, and should be removed from our record. Please let us know if there is anything else you need from Aztec to bring this event to its conclusion. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Aztec was not the lowest bid, we went with Aztec because of the timeline. My husband's back surgery was on the 31 of December and no way interfered with the remodeling that began mid December. The sub-contractor said he would not do the back room because it wasn't in his bid and that he harassed me by coming to my home and calling/texting asking for money or he would put a lien on the house. I called the owner of the company and during our phone call he did say he would take care of notifying the police for the harassment issue. As stated before, this never happened. The police did not have a file on this. During this phone conversation I said that I was not okay being harassed and the owner said that he would do anything he could to help me, I said that this whole thing was not professional. The estimate given to us from Aztec was several hundreds of dollars higher than other contractors. Also, they did not complete the repair of one of our basement ceilings properly. Of course I gave them a check for their ending amount, that has nothing to do with this dispute. Aztec offered a discount because they didn't complete the job.The reason they offered me a $300 discount was because they could not fix the electricity correctly to run the new lights they had installed. I subsequently hired an electrician and the "$300 discount" was to pay that electrician. I do expect the 20% discount because of the phone conversation;I do have a witness to; concerning my harassment. My husband being a hoarder has nothing to do with the fact that the basement was to be remodeled, nor the fact that they couldn't do the proper electrical work. Aztec has been paid in full. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/02/26) */ Clearly, this is a case of he said/she said that could go on indefinitely. What the homeowner fails to point out is that right after we found out about the subcontractors harassing calls, we immediately went to the subcontractor and reached an agreement to pay him, and there were no more incidents with the homeowner. After the homeowner informed us of what was going on, and after paying the subcontractor, the homeowner never heard from the subcontractor again. As far as we are concerned, we found out about the problem, solved it, and moved on. A "police report" was never necessary because at that point, there was nothing to report, the problem was solved. We immediately hired another subcontractor, and went back to work on finishing the contract. What we didn't know in our original bid is that the electricity was already an issue before we started our project. When we realized that there was much more involved than just hanging new lights, we mutually agreed with the homeowner that we would pay for a liscensed electrician to repair the problem. At the heart of this issue is the idea that our company would offer a 20% discount on a total contract price of $9800. As previously stated, there is no way possible we could have done this job for $7840 without losing a substantial amount of money. We are very anxious to resolve this complaint and get it off of our record. Please let us know where we go from here and what needs to happen next. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/03/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our ceiling is still not repaired properly from Aztec employee's work. The drywall and paint is not a smooth finish and one of the light fixtures still has missing parts. The statement of harassment still has not been acknowledged with the owner as shown with the copies of my texts. I want financial compensation for the missing light fixture pieces, the repair of the ceiling areas in the family room and admission of the harassing text from the owner. As for the company not making money on my remodel - this is out of my control. It is not a he-said/she-said issue, as stated before there are copies of texts which have been submitted as part of evidence in previous submissions. I so have a witness to the verbal phone conversation where the owner offered the 20% discount. Obviously, the owner denies that this conversation took effect. I would like the 20% discount that was discussed, however, it appears that the owner through denial will not honor his word. So, I will accept $750 to hire another company to fix the ceiling and handle the light fixture issues. Requesting $750 does not have anything to do with the owner denying the 20% deal that he offered. It is obvious that the company will not give me the agreed discount. Therefore, I will accept $750 for above reasons.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Aztec Construction, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart