BBB Accredited Business since

Tundra Restaurant Supply, Inc.

Phone: (888) 388-6372 3825 Walnut St Unit E, Boulder, CO 80301 http://www.etundra.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tundra Restaurant Supply, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tundra Restaurant Supply, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tundra Restaurant Supply, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2002 Business started: 12/12/1994 Business started locally: 12/12/1994 Business incorporated 04/30/2010 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Lewis, President Jeff Day, VP of Ecommerce Mr. Michael Lewis, Vice President Ms. Cara Schlarb
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jeff Day, VP of Ecommerce
Principal: Mr. Ryan Lewis, President
Business Category

Restaurant Equipment & Supplies Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor

Alternate Business Names
Tundra Specialties Tundra Specialties, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tundra Restaurant Supply, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3825 Walnut St Unit E

    Boulder, CO 80301

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company failed to refund full amt. of 362.46. Instead gave me only 289.97. The diff. of 72.49 was a Manufacture restocking fee. 12/30/14, Inv. XXXXXXXX-XX, Cust # XXXXXX, Sales Rep ***** Item # ******* ***** ******* ******** Paid by *** Amt 362.46, From day one this unit would not stay in alignment to properly cutting lettuce. It was very difficult to operate by our staff with the recommended 1/2 head of lettuce. contacted customer service they contacted Redco and a new on was sent out. The very day it was received and set up the blade on the unit was bent cutting a 1/2 head of iceberg lettuce. I called and told them I wanted my money back. They said ok and I had already a return authorization for the first defective unit so I sent back both units to the Manufacturer. This was in the January/February 2015 time frame. I had to contact them again because the ****** gal in customer service didn't return my call in regards to credit. After a couple phone calls Feb/Mar time frame she finally called me and I demanded my refund again. I finally received my refund on 4/9/15 via ** minus the Manufacture restocking fee they passed on to me. This I found out on May 1st from their accounting department. So I guess if you get a piece of equipment that is defective or doesn't live up to the manufacture's claims (Video and all) then this customer sticks it to you! I've never been treated like this before by a restaurant supply company. This is a company NOT to do business with!

Desired Settlement: I want the difference of $72.49 refunded to my ** account and I don't want to ever do business with this company again!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/07) */ We are contacting the customer and will be crediting the full amount of $72.49 to the MC. Sorry about this but it was entered incorrectly on our end. Have a great day.

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: no notice was given of two large pieces of restaurant equipment. A cook was ask to sign for delivery. one of the units was damaged. and the other seems like it was not finished being built. The pallet was badly damaged and the unit is dented and scratched. The one has a open seem and we were told to caulk it shut. This caulk would be on/near a food prep surface. Because they are large there is no place to put them. They are outside right now. And they wait till end of day to inform us because a cook sign for them we own them.

Desired Settlement: just deliver what WE ORDERED. not DAMAGED AND INCOMPLTET ITEMS.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/25) */ By the time that this claim was received on 9/25 this issue had already been resolved. After speaking with the customer we reached out directly to the manufacturer of the damaged equipment. They in turn delivered new equipment and picked up the damaged equipment in question. We believe that we have resolved the customer's initial concerns and apologize for any inconvenience. Equipment often gets damaged in transit which is why we always encourage our customers to fully inspect their items before signing for them which helps to expedite the damage claims and returns process.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was guaranteed next day delivery on an essential item to my restaurant, It was not delivered next day and I was never allowed to speak to supervisor I am the owner ******** ****** ******* we have two locations, one in the DTC and one in LODO. I also am partner in several other restaurant and bars on the front range. We have used Tundra in the past, and other than a few minor instances, charging for return shipping for example, and one major instance in our buildout five years ago, they have been decent enough to deal with. However, things changed last month... We, as a salad restauarant, use a commercial grade lettuce spinner as we wash an unbelievable amount of lettuce each day. My Manager, ******* ********* called me early one morning to say that the motor was done, and we needed to get a new machine before the next day. Anyhow, as it was still early, he was on the line with Tundra as I was speaking to several of their competitors. We made the decision to use eTundra as my manager was "guaranteed to have the item their the next day if the order was placed before 10am". This employees name was ******* ******** The product did not show up until two days later, after we had paid an additional $*** for next day delivery. We were initially told that we would receive the whole amount for expedited delivery back as a credit, then the next day told very curtly that we would only receive $*** of the over $*** we paid for shipping. My manager, ******* spoke with ******* several times, left several messages to no avail. I called and spoke to her asking to be in touch with her supervisor, **** I believe his name was. **** who headed "customer service" would not hear me out and was perhaps the rudest "customer service" person I have spoke to... ever. Soon after I emailed ******* again several times with a detailed summation of what transpired in an attempt to get her to fwd this on to her supervisors, not **** but who ever else in Sales. I never heard from anyone so I have repeatedly sent emails asking for supervisors information as well as sent messages to the website looking for answers. The bottom line is that this cost me well over the actual price of the piece of equipment. First of all, If I knew the spinner was going to take 2 days to be delivered, I could have driven and picked one up from an outlet for a thousand dollars less than Tundra's price, secondly, the labor hours added to having to run to my other store to use their equipment, the potential quality issues used in doing so, and finally, having to buy pre washed and dried lettuce costing me in the end well over $1500 in difference in the end. All I would like back is the total $*** for next day delivery, that we were "guaranteed" to have. Furthermore, if we were not told by ******* that we would get the entire delivery amount refunded after the product was delivered we would have returned the item!! As a small business owner I do not feel it is right to get pushed around by dishonest actions and this was clearly the case on the part of tundra.

Desired Settlement: I would like the full amount of next day delivery, which was over $***.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/29) */ This item was ordered on Tuesday 04/29 by ******* from ******** ****** Salad Works for next day air delivery. It normally takes this vendor 3 days just to get it out the door regardless of ship via. Selecting a specific expedited option for shipping only comes into play after the vendor in question has processed the order and is ready to ship. You can view that info here which is consistent with what was relayed to ******* during phone order: *****://***************/****************/*********-supplies/salad-spinners/electrolux-dito-XXXXXX-greens-machine-stainless-steel-electric-vegetable-dryer/. The customer support representative mentioned above went out of her way to contact the vendor and try to get the item out faster. She got verbal commitment from the vendor to ship it 04/30 next day air UPS tracking #*****XXXXXXXXXXXXX for Thursday 05/01 delivery. She contacted ******* directly and, b/c he had already paid for next day shipping, issued a credit in freight because it would take a day longer to arrive. Originally ******* was charged $677.65 for next day air shipping. The cost to ship the item 2nd day air instead of next day was $447.41. We credited ******** ******** Salad Works $****** for the difference in shipping price since it was a day late. At the time ******* seemed fine with this resolution. We felt that the resolution was fair given the circumstances. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Many factors in their response are complete fallacies; the bottom line is their sales representative guaranteed us the product would be there the next day. I will never do business with this company again, and I will advise anyone I cross paths with that they have dishonest practices. I have written a letter to the Colorado Restaurant Association and I will make sure to let members of my restaurant group know as well. Very disappointing when a big company thinks they can take advantage of a small business. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/10) */ We attempted to reach the customer on 6/9. On 6/10 a full credit was issued for the remaining shipping in question. The customer should see that credit within the next 72 hours. If he does not within that time he can reach out to us directly for an updated status. As always we apologize for any inconvenience. We believed our original course of action to be fair but understand that those assumptions may fall short when being evaluated be the final customer.

12/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order product arrived damaged / reshipped product still damaged Order table from Tundra on there Amazon Store paid 261.16 product arrived extremely damaged. Contacted Tundra direct, they ask what was wrong with product explained the damage and sent 9 pictures showing overall damage, table unusable at the time. I stated was in lite cardboard box and contents inside moved around freely creating all damages as well. The said they will ship out new table and have it packed better. I agreed.. They were sending call slip for 1st table offered me to buy for 79.09 so they would have to ship back. They charged me full price for damaged table and charged me 182.07 for second table that came in just as damaged. 80lb table wrapped in two cardboard boxes but all contents were not even secure down yet again. they have shipped me two tables unusable and and charged me 442.00 I wanted new tables, if I wanted scratch and dent I could of went to a used wholesale shop and got this for 80.00 that would have been in better shape then this **** they sent me, not to mention the waste of time, as well as we need this for our new kitchen area, so I had to go buy cheap tables at a Walmart to use as prep tables .. not very eye pleasing to my customers. I went off there review from there website, which makes me believe that these were self written by the company. I want this issue resolved, The table price agreement for the first damaged table is to be 79.09 as agreed in our email, thus I sent this table out locally to be repaired. as for the second table .. well this claim is still new and active and on going....

Desired Settlement: we are looking for the credit back to credit card for the first table less the $80.00 that we agreed as for the second, they either offer a scratch or dent price or ship us another table that is not beat to **** and back. When I purchase a new car I expect when its shipped to my dealer it arrives as I expect and get what I pay for. Just because this is a table makes it no different from the car. I purchased a product, once my card is charged it is my product and i am new owner. so all in all they damaged or created opportunity to damaged my product. so they are held responsible to replace this product undamaged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/27) */ Customer had originally ordered a product from Tundra Restaurant Supply's Amazon Marketplace, for a total of $261.21; This price included shipping cost of $55.61 The customer contacted Tundra directly to explain that the original order arrived in a heavily damaged condition, and provided supplemental photos as well. The damage was not argued, as we do not ship the item directly from our warehouse, and have no control on the packaging. We offered to replace this damaged item in full. From there, we were to issue a call tag, and started to ship a new one in replacement, free of charge; but needed a card on file in case the first was never sent back. This was handled in this manner because the customer was in a time sensitive matter to receive this item, as we normally wait until the damaged return has been picked up before we send the replacement. The customer then stated that they would keep the first table in its damaged condition if I could offer them a discount for it, as this had already shipped and the customer had been charged for it. Since it was charged in full, I could offer a partial refund as a courtesy credit for the amount of $79.05; and the customer accepted. The second item sent as a replacement, also arrived heavily damaged. However, since the customer decided to keep the first damaged item at a discount, this was not a replacement, and instead was a new order; thus charged $205.60, minus the shipping cost of $55.61 Once we were informed of the second damaged item received, we set another call tag to return the second damaged item. At the same time, the customer complained to the previous credit amount issued. We issued another partial refund as a courtesy credit in the amount of $80.05; totaling a partial refund of $159.10 We are currently awaiting the arrival of the prepaid call tag via UPS, and once we are contacted that it has been picked up for return shipment, we will issue a full refund in the amount of $205.60 for this second damaged item. As of Tuesday, November 26th 2013, the customer is satisfied with the stated agreement through both verbal and written confirmation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tundra Restaurant Supply, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart