BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Core MLS services, ancillary products relevant to Real Estate transactions.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that REcolorado meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for REcolorado include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on REcolorado
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 16, 1995 Business started: 03/02/1984 in CO Business started locally: 03/02/1984 Business incorporated 03/02/1984 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate
1900 Grant St Ste 600, Denver CO 80203
http://www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166
real-estate@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kirby Slunaker, President and CEO Ms. Deborah Shipley, Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kirby Slunaker, President and CEO
Business Category

Real Estate Services

Method(s) of Payment

Check, ACH, VISA, MASTER CARD, DISCOVER, AMERICAN EXPRESS.

Alternate Business Names
Metrolist Inc

Additional Locations

  • 6455 S Yosemite St Ste 500

    Greenwood Village, CO 80111 (303) 850-9576

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decided to retire from real estate work in Colorado as of 12/31/15 I called REColorado in December 2015, to tell them to stop billing me for MLS services as I was retiring. They did not record that fact correctly, and billed me again in January 2016. I notified them of their error in Jan 2016, and they won't remove their bill to me. They now indicate that since I won't pay that they are going to send their bill to me to collections. I believe that they need to stop billing me further, and zero out my account balance due.

Desired Settlement: Zero out the amount due by me to the REColorado organization.

Business Response: I have investigated this customer and the issue he describes.  Apparently the first person he spoke to in our company in December did not document the request in full nor did he follow up with the customers request.  Because of that the customer continued to be billed.  When the customer questioned the billing, our reps did not fully further investigate.  I will contact the customer, apologize and credit the entire balance. 

12/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my account & when I logged in to check, they still had not canceled my account. They finally canceled November 12 & charged me for 1 month I received my notice that my bill was due. I called a day or two later to speak to someone about canceling my account. Someone was suppose to cancel it and call me back. I checked my account twice and they still had not canceled me. On November 12th I received an email that stated I had been canceled and denied any more access and would be responsible for any late fees. I emailed back and inquired about why there might be any fees. Now I get a bill and finally a phone call back stating that I owe for the entire month of November (even though they cut off my service) and they would not credit me even though I called in the begining of the month and they did not take action till the 12th. RE Colorado's excuse was, "because I logged in 3 times I owe them for a full month." I logged in to see if I had service and why they did not cancel it as requested.

Desired Settlement: I desire that they remove all charges as I had canceled, RE Colorado did not cancel me in a timely manner and then they charge me for a month that I had no access to an account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/25) */ This customer has been past due every month over the past year. She has been suspended 4 times for non payment. We bill in advance, which means that on 11/1/15 she was invoiced for November. She did not call us until 11/11/15 to close her account. We did. She then called us on 11/12/15 to ask us what her balance due was. We told her it was 44.29 for the month of November. She did not notify us prior to November 1 that she wanted to close her account. The customer then called 12 days later on November 24th to request a credit even though she said that she wanted to pay her bill and in an email dated 11/12/15, that she was "solely responsible" for her bill. We explained that we do not prorate or refund and that she accessed our system in November. Instead of requesting to speak with a manager like myself, she reports us to the Better Business Bureau. My team follows the rules and policies of the company. They treated this customer with respect and followed her instructions. She in turn failed to pay us in a timely manner for a year and a half, then wanted special consideration and then retaliated once denied.

11/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ReColorado will not allow me to decide that I no longer wish to use their services. Once signing up, they feel it is a lifetime contract. I signed up for ReColorado after signing up with my brokerage firm, ****** ***** ********** several years ago. Since that time, I have found that there is a better *** option available to me in my area. I went through the appropriate steps of filling out a cancellation form for ReColorado through my broker called a "Change of Jurisdiction form." I was denied the cancellation. ReColorado claims that all the agents at my brokerage firm must be members of ReColorado, which is false. They will not allow me to cancel. If I do not pay them, then they charge my employing broker for my membership, even though I have asked for it to be cancelled. This forces my employing broker to send me a bill or make my license inactive. They have put my livelihood and my families livelihood at risk by putting my license at risk. I am a hostage to a company that that I have made every effort to separate myself from. I choose not to be a part of ReColorado and I have that freedom and that right.

Desired Settlement: Cancel may membership, do not charge myself or my broker for the membership. Do not contact me ever again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/06) */ This customer is licenses under one of our member offices. This means that his employing broker signed an agreement with us to follow our Rules and Regulations, acknowledging that all users who are licensed under the supervision of a Participant must also be assigned a unique username and password. Should a user become delinquent on their financial obligation, the Participant (employing broker)will become financially responsible for that user as long as he is still licensed and under the supervision of the Participant. Please see the attached license documentation showing this customer licensed under ****** ***** *********** I don't know why this customer would state that our own rules and regulations are false, except for maybe in his own mind. The fact that his employing broker is charging him fees has nothing to do with us and this customer should understand that he needs to discuss this with HIS EMPLOYER. This same customer, on top of being licensed with one of our customer Participant/office, also used our system extensively. He has even called in for technical support. See the attached log in report. This customer also submitted an incorrect form for agents that are out of our jurisdiction. He is in our jurisdiction. His office of employment is in ********* ******** on the same street as our office. His listings have an address in our jurisdiction. This customer should understand that he had a choice to hang his license under ****** ***** ********** which is our customer. He also has the choice to move that license anywhere he would like, even with an employing broker out of our jurisdiction and use another **** All fees are accurate and due upon receipt. If not paid, past due fees will be sent to collections and future fees will be the responsibility of his employing broker. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) "This customer is licenses(d) under one of our member offices. This means that his employing broker signed an agreement with us to follow our Rules and Regulations, acknowledging that all users who are licensed under the supervision of a Participant must also be assigned a unique username and password." Thank you for acknowledging that I am the customer. Nowhere in your rules and regulations does it say that I cannot choose to no longer use your services. I have yet to see this anywhere. "I don't know why this customer would state that our own rules and regulations are false, except for maybe in his own mind." What I stated was false was your claim that ALL *** agents are signed up with ********** You claim they all have to be, which they are not. I am simply choosing not to be signed up with you anymore, as many of my colleagues have already done. "The fact that his employing broker is charging him fees has nothing to do with us and this customer should understand that he needs to discuss this with HIS EMPLOYER." This is the least intelligent of the many unintelligent arguments above. My employing broker only charges me when ********* charges him. How are the two unrelated? If you stop charging me, he stops charging me. How does that have nothing to do with you? "This same customer, on top of being licensed with one of our customer Participant/office, also used our system extensively. He has even called in for technical support. See the attached log in report." Yes, I did. I paid for those services as well. Now I am choosing not to use the services and therefore should not be charged in the future. Past use does not allow for future charges. I purchased a *********** hamburger about 10 years ago. I have yet to receive a bill from *********** in anticipation that I will purchase another one. *********** and I have a clear business arrangement. If I receive services, they will charge me. I'm not quite understanding how you think business works. "This customer also submitted an incorrect form for agents that are out of our jurisdiction. He is in our jurisdiction. His office of employment is in ********* ******** on the same street as our office. His listings have an address in our jurisdiction." Never seen a jurisdiction map from this company. I have no idea what this even has to do with the argument. You're implying that if I'm in your made up jurisdiction you own me for the entirety of my real estate career. Disagree. I can choose to work with whichever company I wish to work. Regardless, as I've explained, my actual home office is in *********** I do the majority of my work north of the *** office. On a side note, why are you choosing to make your customers angry? This is such an odd stance for a business to take. Never was I asked why I was leaving, never was I asked how they could have served my business better. You seem desperate to hold onto customers as if business is not going well, which makes me very uninterested in your services in the future. The more you do business this way, the more likely it becomes that someone will create a better model and put you out of business. You remind me of *********** ****** Your business model should stand on it's own and not rely on forced subscription, because once challenged in our society, it will fall apart. It is only a matter of time before someone decides to challenge this. I recommend a new customer service approach. One of my biggest questions is, "how do you see this ending?" Do you really think I'm going to pay you for the next 30 years of my real estate career even though I'm not going to use your services just because I used them in the past? That is illogical, and won't happen. Do you really want to try to force your customers to turn their lives upside down to change brokers just to get out from under you? You are just making your customers resent you. Again, try a different approach. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/10/12) */ "Section 1.26 Participation" in the *** ***** and *********** discusses unique users ID's and 100% participation. However, should a licensee under the supervision of a participant state they do not want access and do not qualify for a waiver (which means that they are not practicing residential real estate) the following rule governs: Section 7.0 Assessment of *** ***** ...Recurring Participation Fees (Monthly Maintenance Fees): The fee of each Participant shall be an amount equal to the monthly maintenance fee times each Participant or individual User this includes all who licensed and under the supervision of the Participant: administrative assistants licensed and unlicensed, those licensed as a broker or an associate, or licensed or certified appraiser. This does not preclude the *** from making all Users responsible for such financial obligations. However, should a User become delinquent on their financial obligations, the Participant will then become financially responsible for that User provided that User(s) is still licensed and under the supervision of the Participant. An *** ensures cooperation and compensation between licensed brokers along with accurate and timely data. Without 100% participation, there is no guarantee that everyone plays by the same rules. This is why a managing broker signs the Participation Agreement, agrees to our terms and conditions, agrees to our Rules & Regulations, which are stated the above. Our company works very closely with this office to make sure that they follow the Rules & Regulations and our policies. If this customer is insinuating that his office is somehow dishonest in their reporting, we would be happy to contact the employing broker and complete a full audit, billing those agents where appropriate. Also, REcolorado cannot control the fees that are charged to him by his employing broker, nor do we have any visibility of those fees. My suggestion would be to speak to his managing broker regarding the fees charged to him by the managing broker, the 100% participation policy as defined by the ******** *********** of ********* ******* ************ and ******* Our jurisdiction is not made up by us but is defined the our ******* *********** ******* If you do not want our services, again, you may want to transfer your license to a non-participating office that is north of our jurisdiction. We are not choosing to make this customer unhappy. We are simply attempting to have him fairly adhere to the rules and policies that every customer must follow. The only solution is for one or both of us to discuss this matter with his managing broker. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) "Section 1.26 Participation" in the *** Rules and Regulations discusses unique users ID's and 100% participation. Here it is: Section 1.26 Participation: All Participants must sign the Participation Agreement to become Members of the **** An Office ID will only be assigned to the Participant and must be used to participate in the **** Every User will be assigned a username and password, which may not be used by any other person. Each User will be responsible for the safekeeping of his or her Password. Your password ** for your exclusive use in conducting real estate brokerage duties. You agree to not share your password **** any other User, including but not limited to any customer, client, other brokers or assistants, vendors or 3rd party service providers. All Users must follow these *** Rules & Regulations as a term of their membership with the **** This includes acknowledging that all Users who are licensed under the supervision of a Participant and all administrative assistants either licensed or unlicensed must also be assigned a unique username and password. All Users of REcolorado sharing username and passwords **** those who should have their own account (all users who are licensed under the supervision of a Participant including unlicensed administrative assistants) will be assessed a $500 fine. Repeat offenses will be determined by the *** ***** & *********** ********** with potential fines of up to $15,000. All Users of REcolorado sharing username and passwords **** those who would not be approved to have REcolorado Membership will be assessed a $5,000 fine and subject to immediate suspension of their account. Reinstatement of account will require payment of the fine and application to the *** ***** & *********** ********* and /or the ***** of ********* for reinstatement. Repeat offenses will be determined by *** ***** & *********** ********* and may include fines of up to $15,000 and possible legal action. That is the entire section. 2 important things. Please find for me 100% participation. You can't, because it isn't in there. Second, this section refers to participants, which I choose not to be anymore, so it doesn't apply to me. You're entire argument is based on a figment of your imagination. "My suggestion would be to speak to his managing broker regarding the fees charged to him by the managing broker, the 100% participation policy as defined by the ******** *********** of ********* ******* ************ and ********* Straight from the Section E.1. of the NAR Handbook on *** Policy "No RealtoRs(r) shall be required to participate." "The only solution is for one or both of us to discuss this matter with his managing broker." No, there are more options.

4/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am attempting to close my account with REcolorado, however they do not comply with closing it. They allege that I must have permission from my managing broker (real estate), in order to close it. My managing broker did not open my account with REcolorado, they did not pay my fees, therefore their permission is not needed to close my account. I have not entered into a contract with REcolorado, nor have I granted another party to represent me or act on my behalf in any agreement. If REcolorado has an agreement with a third party, the agreement is between them, because I have not given permission to anyone to represent me in an agreement.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am requesting that my account with REcolorado be closed as of March 5, 2015 without anyone else's consent. It is my account, and not anyone elses account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ This customer has a history of late payments. His account was sent to collections in May 2013 at which point he complained about our lack of communication. We can only contact him based on information provided. He paid his collections but we made notes in his record regarding the source of each of his communications to us. After his account was reinstated, he continued to be past due almost every month and paying for 2-3 months at a time. In August of 2014 we were notified by his ******* *********** that he was no longer in good standing with them and no longer a member. We charge a higher fee to agents that are not ******* *********** members. This is because we have to provide extra services to those customer that is normally provided by the associations. We also require an orientation class that is given by a Real Estate attorney. The agents are given 7 days to notify us of reinstated ******* *********** membership to avoid the change in fees. They are also give 90 days to take the class. While the customer eventually paid his fees through October 1st. He failed to take the class. He also did not respond to any correspondence and reminders to take the class. His managing broker contacted us on 1/13/15 requesting information on his account, which was forwarded to the customer. On 1/14/15 the customer finally contacted us at which time we explained that his access to our system was "suspended"- not closed. We cannot have an agent have access to the system without taking the required class. It is an issue of risk and responsibility. He was given 90 days. His office has an account with us. He requested access to our system and used the system along with our technical support services. We do not close an account until requested by his managing broker and the license is inactive. It is obvious he did not comply with association requirements or did not pay his **** and then did the same thing to our company. The charges are valid. Our records indicated that he agreed to our terms and conditions when he logged into our website. He says that he has "paid for our services long enough". The problem is, he doesn't pay. He also does not comply with membership requirements. This is a monthly flat fee subscription that is cancelled when the agent's license is no longer affiliated with the office that is our customer and we are notified by his managing broker or his license is inactive. As of today, the customer is still licensed with our customer office. In my opinion it is more unethical to not pay your ****, disregard membership requirements for access to a system that one used and requested. I **** also try to contact his manager to resolve his past due balance and dealing with a request to close his account once the license is updated accordingly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I choose to rebut the response on the following basis: The facts are: - The account that was turned over to collections was due to the fact that I had resigned from my managing broker, and they failed to communicate to REColorado, since the account was set up by them. - I opened the account. - I paid the fees regularly, as verified by my Payment Confirmation emails. - REColorado is untruthful to say I was not in good standing with my realtor association, because I was NEVER a member of an association. - REColorado is inaccurate to state that I never responded to emails (my documentation clearly shows otherwise). - REColorado is untruthful to say my account "continued to be past due". - REColorado is untruthful to state "the Problem is he doesn't pay". - I have requested my account be closed on many occasions, but refused. - I have been charged for services not provided. - I don't have a contract with REColorado, nor have I given anyone the authority to enter into such an agreement on my behalf. Please see attachments. Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The documentation ReColorado has provided, still does not prove that I have entered into an infinite binding relationship with them. ReColorado's attachment simply verifies my name, agent information, managing broker information, my login to ReColorado, and record of email communication. Regarding the same, "Successful Authentication" simply means I logged in with my user credentials, and enrolled with a password. I have never denied opening my account, never disputed my identity, nor have I denied accessing the ReColorado account I was paying for, AND my managing broker continues to be Summit Realty. It is absurd for the author of ReColorado's response, to continue claiming my account was not paid regularly. I have provided documentation CLEARLY proving otherwise. My complaint against ReColorado is because they continue to charge me for services NOT rendered, and for refusing to close my account without my managing broker's consent. I opened the account, I should be able to close the account. ReColorado cannot provide a policy signed by me, stating I am obligated to pay, unless my managing broker closes my account. Just because I logged into my account does not mean I agreed to a binding agreement with ReColorado, it only means that I was using the account I was paying for. The complaint against ReColorado continues to be that they are attempting to hold me responsible for something I never agreed to, and they continue to assess fees even AFTER I requested my account to be closed. I continue to receive "Past Due" notices despite my request to close my account. ReColorado cannot provide a signed policy / agreement supporting they fully disclosed terms and conditions of the relationship. For consideration, the profile of ReColorado is: - They do not fully disclose terms and conditions to its customers; - Assesses charges to customers during frivolous suspension periods; - Refuses to close accounts, in order to continue assessing charges; - Is a highly contentious business that has absolutely no idea what customer service is. - Slanders customers, but in order to generate revenue, refuses to close the customer's account; - Is deceptive and untruthful, just as their responses validate; Current and future customers of ReColorado should not be subjected to these types of deceptive business practices. Colorado consumers deserve better service than ReColorado can offer. Fortunately for real estate brokers, ReColorado is not the only choice as it once was, and ReColorado is assisting their competition by chasing customers to them. Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */ Since this complaint first started, I have attempted many, many, times to contact both this customer and his employing broker with no response. This customer can close his account if his license is no longer associated with his current employing broker who has an agreement with us. If this customer does not pay his ****, his current employing broker maintains the ultimate financial responsibility. This customer just has to follow the required steps to close his account. In order to be fair and equitable to all of our customers, this process must be followed. As a final attempt to make contact and explain to this customers employer the circumstances and to instigate a response, I have suspended access on the employing broker. I really cannot make an exception to the policy on this one customer and have tried to call him to give him options. Not paying the **** and reporting us to the BBB is not the appropriate and professional way to resolve this. I don't know what else to do.

4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a real estate broker,I begun to work with ****** ***** *********** where they requested me to be a member of ************ ********** but they never gave me any information about the service or contract. I only received a form where I had to put my information and it was already with the brokerage info on it. Last year on May I had a car accident so for many months I was working less than full time; my financial ability to pay was locked, I was even receiving food stamps assistance. The administration of ****** ***** ********** was calling me all the time to request me to pay to RE CO and they told me that if I didn't pay, the ********* was charging to the brokerage, which I didn't understand. I was behind in my payments when I decided to move to a different company. I became to work with a friend of my that she decided to be independent also, but she has an employing broker license, so she told me come to be under me until you can be independent. Before to get that decision I have called to RE Colorado to request them to inactive my license. When I left ****** ***** *********** because I knew that I didn't have the possibility to pay because I didn't have any money, I requested them to inactive my service until I could be able to pay. I had a difficult time talking with them even if I explained them that I didn't have money, my account in that moment was with only $60 for almost two month. I'm a single mom with a 12 years old daughter and I was eating because the food stamps. When I called them, they were very rude and they told me ok if you don't pay your broker has to. Actually my account was suspended, so I couldn't even use the system, but even if I asked for the inactivation they were still charging me every month. By that time I transferred myself to work with ********* ******* RE Colorado is charging me for all the months that my account was suspended and I had request for the inactivation. Today they told me that me that my broker will be responsible for the payment, that's crazy. Product_Or_Service: Multiple Listing Service for Real Estate

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want to pay what for the amount when I use the service and of course for a reactivation fee, but not for the months that I didn't use the service. And also I don't think my broker has to pay for some bill that is my responsibility. Why if my broker has a membership with them, I have to be obligated to pay for the service if I can't, if I don't have the money. My broker is a friend and a worker like me and she doesn't have the money to pay for both. That is unreasonable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/23) */ This customers account was 60 days past due in October 2014 and her access to our system was suspended. In November she made a payment and access was restored. At that time she was required to take a *** *********** ****** *********** ****** This class is required for access to our system because we provide services and education that would have been provided by the ******* ************ Between November and January the customer was late, missed the Orientation class and her account was suspended again. We suspend access to trigger an action such as making a payment or taking required classes. On 2/12/15 the customer called to find out what her balance was, get on a payment plan and asked how to transfer to a different office. On 2/17 she received notification that if she did not pay her bill, her managing broker (who is ultimately responsible and signed the Participation Agreement) would be charged. That same day we received a transfer request form for the customer to transfer to a different office. There is a 25.00 fee to transfer as indicated on the form. She was charged that fee. Our fees are a subscription based monthly flat fee, regardless of access. When those fees are not paid the account is suspended. As of today the customer has not paid for December January or February or March. According to our 100% Participation Policy and the Agreement with all Managing Brokers, there is a monthly flat fee for all agents within an office. Both the previous and current managing broker have signed that agreement with us. The fee is not usage based but a monthly flat fee subscription that adheres to the agreement. This customer wants to bounce in and out of our system in order to avoid payments. At the very same time she wants to eventually set up her own office. She was notified that she must be in good standing with us to open that office account. If this customer continues to be past due, remaining balances will be the responsibility of her managing broker as long as she is licensed with that managing broker. All fees are valid.

1/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked to cancel the account, was charged anyway and then later charged late fees. When charged on December 2nd I called to cancel the account since I no longer needed the service. I assumed this had been done however next month I received late fees for not paying the account. When I called to politely resolve I was treated like a criminal. The entire call was incredibly disrespectful, ****** ***** was demeaning and unprofessional. We have been members for over a year and always paid on time, to be treated this way when trying to cancel truly shows the character of the organization.

Desired Settlement: I only wanted the $70.11 refunded however I am very disappointed in the disrespectful and unprofessional manner in which this was handled.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/07) */ This person called our company demanding refunds and credits and for the account to be closed. He spoke to several people in the company that explained to him two things: 1- he was not a customer or a signer on the account and we could not take direction from him or discuss the account with him. 2- All of the charges were valid charges. When the call was escalated to me, he explained that he wanted to take care of this account for his wife. I replied to him the same information that was previously given to him but he became demanding. Finally, he began saying (as he did above)"I asked to cancel" and "I received late fees" and finally...the worst "I no longer needed the system". This account was in his wife's name. It is a severe infraction to share access with anyone other than the paying licensed user. It is against the law and the Division of Real Estate to practice real estate without a license. I am not sure if his wife is aware that he is doing this or if she conspiring with him. The account was requested to be closed. However, it falls under our 100% participation policy. This means that she is licensed under a participating office and contractually there is an obligation to pay the monthly flat fee. The request to close was unsubstantiated. This account will be reviewed for violation of sharing access and the 100% participation policy. I understand that he could be just an over zealous husband that wants to fix the account. We cannot accept instruction from him on someone else's account. More importantly, his words imply that his wife is violating our policies.

8/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved to Colorado last August and wanted to do real estate. I did it for about 4 months and then my father passed away. I put everything I had on automatic billing and contacted Metrolist to cancel my subscription. I didnt want to be billed for a service I was no longer going to use. After talking to numerous people in the Metrolist office it became clear that they didnt understand what I wanted. I was away with my family and helping my mother deal with items that needed to be taken care of. During this difficult time I received emails and phone calls from Metrolist. This infuriated me! I wanted to cancel not keep my subscription and they continued to bill me. I reached out to *** the controller at Metrolist and she was not only rude by arrogant as well. Saying things like, Ill bill you for June too. Dealing with the death of a parent is hard enough without having to deal with people who just dont get it. I wanted to cancel and they continued to bill me during a difficult time, and thats something I wont ever forget. I wanted to *** to contact me about my bill and she said shed call me back and look into it. The next week I got an email stating they had sent me to collections. She then had to pull it back from collections because of her error. I think someone needs to have a conversation with ******* ***** from Metrolist and let her know her actions are in poor taste. Bottom line is, Im not paying for services I didnt receive after I wanted to cancel for months. This isnt a bill I owe and legally they cant put it on my credit report. However I dont think thats going to stop them.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) They need to come to an agreeable solution on what is owed. At this point I have the email stating I wanted to cancel and they won't listen. I want my account cleared.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/08/06) */ Metrolist is a multi-listing service. According to the National Association of Realtors and Metrolist Rules and Regulations in order to ensure cooperation compensation and accuracy of the data, 100% participation is required when an agent(said customer)is working for an office that is our customer. This is understood by his office/managing broker and was explained to the customer. All forms to open or close an account must be signed by the employing managing broker. In March 2014 ***** contacted our office to let us know about a death in the family. He also made a payment. He was notified many times regarding past due amounts and the requirement to attend a class. On April 7th he called and asked to put his account on hold and it was explained to him that we did not have that status/option. We explained our 100% participation rule and the basis of his balance. On 4/16/14 he called in and placed his account on auto pay with a credit card. This does not reflect the actions of someone who wants to close his account. His card declined and he then called and wanted to close his account. We explained the need for his employer to submit a signed form, confirming that the agent would no longer be licensed under ****** ***** *********** Many calls and emails have gone back and forth with Metrolist explaining policy and balances and the customer threatening not to pay. Finally on 5/29/14 Metrolist tried to contact the customer one last time before submitting to a collections agency but his phone was not accepting calls. On 6/3/14 the customer called Metrolist Member Services with a very belligerent tone and threatened to come into our office to be rude and angry to who ever he spoke to. As a courtesy and because I was out of the office when he called, I rescinded his collections and credited the collections fee with the understanding that he would pay his bill by 6/13. When I contacted ****** ***** *********** they confirmed that the above customer still worked there. They also confirmed that when they finally submitted a request to close his account it was not because the above customer requested it. It was because they did not want to be stuck with his unpaid bill. At that time I notified the customer that his account would be activated and billing would begin if his license was not updated. I also informed his that he could come and speak to me at any time as long as the meeting was calm and professional. On 6/4 we received a long disgruntled email from the customer but he still agreed to pay his bill. We have spent a lot of time responding to long, peculiar emails and long emotional phone calls. He never paid his bill so he was sent to collections. His license was updated on 7/7/14. He has not been billed the monthly membership fee since 5/1/14. He actually owes us for June but we are not going to bill him for that month. All charges are accurate.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on REcolorado
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)