BBB Accredited Business since

Hurricane Drain, Ltd.

Phone: (303) 722-1000 View Additional Phone Numbers 800 S Broadway, Denver, CO 80209 http://hurricaneplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hurricane Drain, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hurricane Drain, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hurricane Drain, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 19, 1992 Business started: 09/01/1991 Business started locally: 09/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Plumbers
1560 Broadway Suite 550, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
plumbing@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jay McGee, President Ms. Cindy Roe, Office Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay McGee, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Cindy Roe, Office Supervisor
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repair on toilet resulted in water leak that damaged hardwood floor in room adjacent to bathroom. Business refuses to accept responsibility for damage Problem Date: 6/13/2014 Purchase Date: 6/10/2014 Contract #: 127840 Business Manager:****** Plumbing Technician: **** The issue began on June 10 when I contacted Hurricane Drain to help repair a toilet with a slow leak along the bottom of the commode in a main floor powder room. We had a small amount of water damage to the wood floor immediately beneath the toilet - maybe 8 square feet in total. Probably a bad wax seal around the flange we thought. Hurricane Drain's plumbing tech, ****, came out and informed us that he believed we had a problem with the soil pipe and the flange had been set too low. The water damaged wood floor beneath the toilet was going to be an issue but he suggested that he install some spacers to correct for the distance. We took his recommendation and thought we would plan to have all of the floors refinished in the main floor of the house. He said that he would need to return with the spacers and allow the wood below the toilet to dry out. On June 13 he returned to install the spacers and after he left I tested the toilet. It immediately began to leak into the basement and along the floor between the hardwood and the plywood flooring - seeping into an adjacent dining room area that subsequently warped and cupped. I contacted Hurricane and told them of the leak (we were unaware of the severity of the leak at this time). We immediately took the toilet out of service and removed all water with a shop-vac as we were leaving for a 3 week vacation trip. Upon our return in late July, the dining room floor (as well as adjacent hall closet floor) was an undulating creaking disaster. I had a several phone calls with the local business manager,******, who was willing to take a look and see what they could do. On August 1, Hurricane sent their lead plumber **** out to look and he was very circumspect asking in essence, "how do we know that the floor wasn't like this before?" He returned on August 8 with two men wearing Carpet Exchange t-shirts to get their opinions on whether the damage in the dining room was related to the earlier small toilet leak or the leakage caused by the Hurricane repair job. One of the guys from Carpet Exchange said "no doubt" that the damage was recent and related to the repair job. Apparently he has since changed his mind. Shame on me for not making him write that down for me as Hurricane has since come back to me and said that they don't think they were negligent at all and that they aren't going to do a thing to make things right. I've had half a dozen hardwood floor folks come out and say, without equivocation, that the toilet "fix" that Hurricane provided caused the extensive damage in the dining room. Three such estimates were provided to Hurricane on August 28. In a September 8 phone conversation with******, she indicated that the plumbing tech would have his paycheck docked for the damages because "he didn't do what he needed to do to protect himself" - I guess that means he should have checked the adjacent room floor to ensure that a customer wasn't going to game them. Amazing enough of a business practice to not stand behind your own employee, but to shirk your responsibility to your customers is inexcusable.****** told me that if the damage was less than it was, she could act on her own to do the right thing. Since the damage was more than she was authorized to approve, she had to take it to her boss. I even offered to speak to her boss but she declined. To be clear, I was never asking them to repair the existing floor damage in the bathroom, just to correct their employee's "repair job" that has resulted in well over $1K of damage. Mistakes happen - what counts is how companies respond to those mistakes.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of the $319.30 charged for the plumbing "repair" and have asked Hurricane Drain to pay for the damages related to the leakage that ran beneath the floor and into the adjacent dining room area. I have received estimates that indicate that the cost of tear-out, installation and finish of new hardwood, removal and installation of damaged floor trim board on the affected wall. The August 28 email that I sent to Cindy that details the estimate is copied below: "Hi Cindy, Here is how I would suggest we look at these estimates: The area that requires replacement was estimated by one vendor at 100 sq. feet, 144 sq. feet by another and the third at 150 sq. feet. I believe the reason for the difference is that two of them included the damaged area in the bathroom (which is not what I am asking Hurricane to address - that damage was due to the original leak and not the subsequent repair). If I measure the damaged area in the dining room I come out with about 100 sq. feet so let's call it that. There is also damage to the base trim board and so I would ask that Hurricane address the costs associated with the removal and replacement of that as well. The typical cost for installation of new flooring is somewhere around $8/sq foot. The estimate that seems to be the most reasonable is that of Restoration Floorworks - they assume a flooring install cost of $7.65/foot and a base trim repair cost of $105. If we take their $7.65 for 100 square feet, that would come to $765 + $105 = $870. I will have the plumbing issue dealt with by another company after the repair of the floor and so would ask that the original job cost of $319.30 be refunded as well. I hope that makes sense - I appreciate your company wanting to do the right thing. Give me a call if you have any questions or want to discuss further." I received a phone call on September 22 from Cindy and she indicated that their review of the issue was that they had not been negligent "in any way" and that they were not going to acknowledge or mitigate the damage that I have incurred. The issue has been going on for over two months and I cannot recall a situation where I have been more disgusted or disappointed in a business's performance, competence or willingness to take care of damage that was caused by their employee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/25) */ Writing a poor or bad on-line review is one thing and a consumers' right. But intentionally trying to damage a company and the livelihood of its employees because you cannot leverage a personal financial gain, is another. Hurricane Drain and Plumbing did not cause any of Bob Kumagai floor damage. The floors were completely water soaked and showing signs of lifting prior to Hurricane Drain performing any work. Bob Kumagai has distorted and omitted many of the facts. Here are the true facts: 1. Our serviceman arrived at the home on Tuesday June 10th (visit #1) finding completely water soaked, twisted and lifting floors in the main floor bathroom. Our serviceman suggested that the floors would need to be replaced before we could cut out the toilet pipe, extend it and add a new toilet flange. (Someone had added wood floors and subflooring to the home and had counter sunk the toilet flange - approximately 1 1/4"- into the floors, without raising the flange to the top of the floors. This left an open area, not a sealed pipe for water to saturate the wood floors for a very long period of time.) The serviceman also offered to put in spacers as a temporary fix - but provided "0 warranty" for the service. He informed Mr. Kumagai and his wife that "the floor would be an issue". Mr. Kumagai confirms this part of the conversation in his review. 2. The homeowner asked for the lower cost spacer option (the serviceman did not recommend this) but our serviceman could not even perform this work that day because the wood floors were so saturated with water. The floor was already lifted at this point and needed to dry at least for a few days. 3. The serviceman returned on Friday June 13 (visit #2) to install the space blocks. Mr. Kumagai says in his own review that there was a "slow" leak before we ever arrived. In fact the existing leak was substantial. He also writes that he admits that there was at least eight(8) square feet of floor that was "visibly damaged" - 8 square feet was substantial damage not just minor. We know that the floor was water soaked and damaged under the floor area that was not visible because the floor is laid in the same direction as the dining room (i.e. it was already water soaked in the dining and closet area prior to our work because of the way the water would travel with the grain of the wood) Bob Kumagai also says in his review that "we are planning to have the floors finished in the whole main floor of the house". . . Why? 4. Our same serviceman returned the following Thursday June 19th(visit #3) because Mr. Kumagai stated the unit was still leakingand that he had shut off the water supply to the toilet almost immediately after Hurricane Drain had left on Friday June 13th. Our serviceman informed him that the toilet should remain disconnected. We had no proof of the leak. The homeowner agreed that he would replace the wood floors and later we would be called to properly "raise the 3" toilet floor flange " once the floors had been replaced and extended closer to the 3" pipe (this would create the proper base to secure the toilet flange since it was recessed to the floor). Mr. Kumagai states that we sent out a guy on a second visit(actually #3) who stated the "damage was recent". This is completely false and misleading. The man that returned was the original serviceman who charged nothing for the visit and confirmed with them again that they needed to replace and repair the floors as a next step. This conversation with another serviceman never happened. 5. Approximately five (5) weeks later on Friday August 1(visit #4) one of our master plumbers and the original serviceman returned. They concluded that the water damage had gone on for quite a while previous to any work of Hurricane Drain. (This was our fourth (4) time returning to the home at the request of Mr. Kumagai still insisting Hurricane Drain was responsible.) 6. The same two (2) company employees returned on Friday August 8 (visit #5) and met with a third party evaluator who has done hardwood floors for over 25 years. He looked at the floors and determined that the damage from water had occurred over a period of time and not simply a couple of times flushing the toilet. The evaluator expressed his opinion to Mr. Kumagai on this day in front of both Hurricane Drain servicemen. 7. On Monday September 22 Cindy from Hurricane Drain informed Mr. Kumagai that our insurance carrier suggested that he file an insurance claim (his insurance could subrogate against Hurricane Drain if they thought Hurricane Drain had caused the damage) and he would not be charged with the claim. He refused this idea clearly knowing there was prior existing damage. His last statement to Cindy was "Now I get to smear Hurricane all over the world". Hurricane Drain did everything possible to provide good customer service to Mr. Kumagai. Mr. Kumagai paid nothing extra for our time, knowledge and revisits to his property. In conclusion the water damaged floors were pre-existing, and the responsibility of Mr. Kumagai - the homeowner. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/09/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It appears that we have a fundamentally different view of the issue. My response is attached in the pdf file. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/10/21) */ On the advice of our insurance agent, flooring expert, Master plumber/service foremen and office manager, Hurricane Drain is not negligent for Mr. Kumagai's pre-existing floor problem. This concern has been analyzed by both parties with different opinions and views that are not going to change. Having another objective third party expert examine the area may get the same results. Hurricane Drain is willing to meet in the middle even though by doing so we are not admitting to guilt and continue to stand behind our employees. We are a 24 year old company with integrity and with that comes the understanding that sometimes it is just the cost of business to do what is right. We are willing to compromise with Mr. Kumagai in good faith and willingness to have this matter resolved. Hurricane Drain is offering to split the total cost of which he was asking ($1189.30) in the amount of $594.65 upon the removal of the Goggle Review. Thank you.

11/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company failed to fix problem & broke toilet in process. When contacted company failed to stand by product & claimed damage not due to their "repair" On July 10, 2013 at approximately 2pm we called company to clear clog in sink/drain as water was leaking under sink and into basement. Serviceman snaked the pipe twice - once came up through toilet in main bath and once went through roof. Serviceman told my husband that the problem was due to improper plumbing in wall, which had been going on for quite some time, and the repair would be over $1,500 to fix. We decided to get a second opinion, and paid Hurricane Drain $197 for the snaking of the drain (though they didn't fix the problem). Service number ******. Due to the possibility of mold, we called a restoration company who informed us that it appeared the clog was in the main line from the sink due to the water build-up/saturation on the ceiling under the sink. He recommended having a real plumber come out and look at it. We called another plumbing company who indicated that they had several customers who had used Hurricane Drain and were quoted outrageous prices for work that didn't need to be done/resolve the problem. It appeared that our experience was a common modus operandi for Hurricane Drain. This new plumbing company came out, pulled the toilet and snaked the main drain. Problem solved! However, when the plumber was pulling the toilet, he noticed that an approximately 1 inch chunk of the toilet had broken off. The puncture point was from inside the toilet (approximately 1/4 inch) with the break radiating outward from the puncture point to the exterior of the toilet. This chunk removed causes reduced suction for the toilet to function properly. As the toilet wasn't broken prior to Hurricane Drain coming out, and the serviceman hit the toilet when snaking the drain, we called them to discuss the problem. The manager took several days to call me back, and only did so after I called twice. She sent the serviceman and another plumber out to assess the damage. When the serviceman and plumber from Hurricane Drain came out, they indicated that it wasn't their problem but stated that they would go troubleshoot on some old toilets to see if they could recreate the damage. The serviceman and plumber never even took pictures of the problem to bring back. They indicated a manager would call me with the results in a few days. Over three weeks passed, and I received no response from Hurricane Drain. I called Hurricane Drain and spoke with *********, a manager, who indicated that the problem wasn't theirs and they would not cover it. When asked about standing by their service, she curtly indicated that they wouldn't have been in service for over 20 years if they didn't stand by their product. She indicated that her master plumber knew what he was talking about, and that the damage was caused by an external source such as hitting the toilet against something (despite the puncture from the inside). She did indicate that she would have her master plumber call me. He eventually called three days later to indicate that they would not cover it.

Desired Settlement: Since it is apparent that they will not stand by their product, I would like at minimum a refund of the service call as they did nothing to fix the initial problem. The most acceptable solution would be a refund of the service call, and a replaced toilet.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/09/30) */ We apologize for your experience with Hurricane Drain and Plumbing. We have built our business by standing by our work and absolutely fixing any issues that we cause. In your situation we were called to clear the kitchen line (a secondary line) that was backed up. For this task, we use a secondary line machine. At the time, we found an out of code plumbing issue which made it impossible for us to clear the kitchen line (the "T" was installed upside down - causing the cable to go out the wrong direction and out the roof vent). Our recommendation was cutting out the "T" and replacing it, which we would do for around $200.00. You chose to do the repair yourself, and told us that you would call us back to run the drain line. After our original appointment, but before we heard back from you, you had a private plumber come in to pull and reset a toliet. Pulling a toliet indicates that you are running a main sewer line - a task which requires a much larger machine and bigger cable. Two weeks after our original appointment, we received the call about the hole in the toliet. We sent out our service foreman and service tech the next day to address the issue. Both agreed the hole was consistent with pulling and resetting a toliet. It is impossible to access a 2" kitchen from the "P" trap and have it come up the 3 or 4" toliet main line resulting in a broken toliet. Our service foreman tried to reach you both the day they came out and the next day and was unable to reach you. He did leave mesaages both times but did not hear back from you. We did ask to see the invoice from the other plumber so we could understand what work he did and move forward with resolving this problem. As of this point in time, we have not been provided with that invoice. We do care about our customers, and strive to provide excellent service every time, and still hope to resolve your concern to your satisfaction. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 29, 2013/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Faxed invoice 11/5 Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2013/10/31) */ Please fax to ************ attention Cindy. Thank you for the removal on goggle.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hurricane Drain, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)