Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Doctor Fix-It Plumbing, Heating & Electric

Phone: (720) 251-2171 Fax: (303) 783-2072 View Additional Phone Numbers 363 W Evans Ave, Denver, CO 80223 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.calldoctorfixit.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Doctor Fix-It Plumbing, Heating & Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Doctor Fix-It Plumbing, Heating & Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

196 Customer Reviews on Doctor Fix-It Plumbing, Heating & Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 192
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 196

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 23, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 03/30/2001 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Adams County Building Department
12200 Pecos St, Westminster CO 80234
http://www.co.adams.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 453-8700

Board of Plumbers
1560 Broadway Suite 550, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
plumbing@dora.state.co.us

Colorado Electrical Board
1560 Broadway, Suite 550, Denver, CO 80203
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
electrical@dora.state.co.us

Denver Building Department
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver CO 80202
http://www.denvergov.org
Phone Number: (720) 865-2770

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Jusseaume, President Ms. Megan Jusseaume, Customer Service Manager Ms. Nancy Jusseaume, Owner/Vice President Mr. Marques Mansanares, General Manager Mr. Anthony Nicosia, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Jusseaume, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Marques Mansanares, General Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Duct Cleaning Boilers - New & Used Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Deer Creek Plumbing, Inc.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Doctor Fix-It Plumbing, Heating & Electric has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 363 W Evans Ave

    Denver, CO 80223 (303) 697-5883 (720) 251-2171

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Doctor Fix-It advertised through Dave Logan in a mail out card that they did rooter-oscopy, drain cleaning, and rooter service for $99. I contacted them and scheduled a drain clean out for $99 advising the company that in the past it was necessary to pull a toilet to clean the drain and asked them to confirm the charge would be $99. I was told that it would be. I also scheduled a pipe repair and a water heater flush for $58. A Plumber came out and was supposed to do all three jobs. He did the water heater and pipe for the price stated. He said he didn't have the equipment to do the drain properly and someone would have to come tomorrow to do it. They arrived, looked in the crawl space for a clean out and then told me they could go into the crawl space after taking the machine apart and reassembling or go through the toilet, but it would cost me $315. I showed him the card with the $99 price and he called the company who said they would not honor the $99 price, and would not do it for any less than the $315. I believe this is a bait and switch and an example of a company trying to take advantage of an older single woman.

Desired Settlement: This company tried to upcharge me for work and did not honor the advertised price or the quote given me over the phone. This negative practice should be reflected in their reviews and in their rating.

Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to perform work in your home, we are happy the first visit went well for you. Unfortunately there must be some confusion, I have attached the recording for the call, at approx. 3 minutes and 20 seconds our CSR clearly states there could be additional charges. We do honor the $99.00 drain clear if there is suitable access to the drain, if we have to modify our equipment or remove toilets, furniture, shelving, etc. there may be extra charges. We were very clear with the process of the services. Thank you

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 11408396

I am rejecting this response because: I do not believe it is realistic to believe when I am told there may be some additional charges for a toilet removal, such as a small labor charge and parts such as the wax ring, that the cost should triple from $99 to $315.  I was not given a specific price, but when the person was here to do the work, I was shown on an ipad, that this was a standard preapproved price by Doctor Fix-its management for toilet removal.  The technician called the manager to see if it could be reduced and was told, no. So, I should have been given this price in advance.  Not on the second visit by the company when they knew I was in a bind with my sewer problem.

Sincerely,

***** ****

Business Response: We understand that you are upset with the situation and we sincerely apologize, but your complaint states we "Bait and Switched" and also makes negative remarks towards our business practices. We did not charge you to come to the home and give you an estimate, we did not start the work and add additional charges once the work is in progress. You made what you felt to be an informed decision not to go ahead with the work and we respected that. The reason we charge to remove the toilet is to ensure the toilet and all of its components are properly re-installed including any other necessary parts, according to you this is a reoccurring issue in your home, meaning the toilet has been removed multiple times, this is not a proper way to clean a main sewer line and doing it this way causes other problems to the plumbing system. Eventually your toilet flange will need replaced along with the water supply to the toilet and possibly more. We are a legitimate plumbing company and perform our procedures by code and not how our customers tell us. We recommend you remove this complaint, we are a family owned and operated business and our reputation is very important to us. If our services are not for you then don't use us, if you have an APPROVED means of clean-out for your sewer installed then we are happy to clean the drain for $99.00 Thanks  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 11408396

I am rejecting this response because: Another company did come and clean out the sewer drain using the roof vent line for half the fee you proposed.  They gave me the cost as soon as they arrived, not the next day after sending a second truck and technician, and they did the job without pulling the toilet.

Sincerely,

***** ****

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Doing business with this company has been nothing short of frustrating and the customer service leaves a lot to be desired. The following is our attempt at reaching out for additional information. All of which are still to-date unanswered and it is pointless even trying to call anyone at Doctor Fix-It for they all seem to have an attitude. Please be careful doing business with this company. They seem not to have all their ducks in a row and items that they should advise ahead of time, they fail to do so and then when you try to reach out, all efforts are blocked. All the follow-ups were via contact form as phone gets you right back to the same inexperienced staff that leave you more frustrated at the end of the call. City inspection – Follow-up #3: Furnace - (Home Address here) Can we have someone call to advice? Just called the city of Lakewood and they say the scheduling needs to be done by the contractor that pulled the permit, in this case Doctor Fix-It as there needs to be a Permit #, a Contractor Code and an inspection Code all things we do not have. They further advised that the payment should never have been made prior to inspection, again something Doctor Fix-It never advised. This is rather frustrating. At this point we leave it to Doctor Fix-It to advise and since reports are that the General Manager is out this week and next week, we hope that someone knowledgeable can give us a call in his absence. City inspection – Follow-up #2: Furnace - (Home Address here) Customers cannot be expected to schedule their own inspections. We received a voicemail stating that we need to call the City of Lakewood, “what department?” “who in the city of lakewood?” “what do we say?” “what forms if any do we fill out?” “What happens post inspection if you guys have to come back to fix stuff?” Is that included as part of the warranty or do we then have to pay again? Is there a follow-up inspection? Are inspections done for everything including spring servicing, or are they limited to installations? These are but a few of the questions we still have and were hoping to get comment from your general manager in a professional manner without so much attitude as has been displayed thus far from the staff. Again, this goes back to our disappointment at how this whole thing is being handled and thus our lack of confidence in the current staff handling this as it seems to merely be pushed back to the customer. If you are going to provide this type of directions, how about a number, a department name, a point of contact? Again going back to the first email, we have to-date received communication via email. The least your team could do is even attach in email a copy of what was supposedly mailed out advising of the inspection. At least then we have some direction. As it stands, we have little to no direction other than ****** will be gone for this and next week and there is no one else to speck with. The manner in which this is all being addressed is hugely disappointing. City inspection – Follow-up: Furnace - (Home Address here) I am still seeking to speak to your General Manager. ******* or ******* called and said this is not possible as he is out. When asked how else is there in his absence she declined to offer this information stating that it is just ******. I find it a little disturbing that when a customer asks to speak with your General Manager or the next in line, your staff will refuse to assist. Your website states, “Our Customer Comes First”. I would like to see this exercised. I am happy to schedule an inspection. I have questions that I would like answered based on how all this has been handled thus far. The only person I have confidence to address this, is your general manager, as the representatives that have come on line have all unfortunately been not too helpful and keep stating that ****** is away and will be gone for a while. So what is a customer to do? I will keep writing until I can speak with the General Manager or the next in line. It is my hope that Doctor Fix-It staff can facilitate this in order that we can complete the referenced inspection in a timely manner as by what we have come to learn, this should have been done last year but ******* only just found out that it was not done. So your help in this matter will be appreciated. Again, we seek to speak with the General Manager on questions we have. As customers we should be able to ask questions and feel confident that they have been addressed to our satisfaction. To be pushed to the side and not given the opportunity to ask questions is rather unprofessional. So once again, please have your General Manager – ****** call to provide comment to questions we currently have on how this whole process has been handled to date. (Contact Phone Provided here).

Desired Settlement: Provide answers to questions asked in the email correspondence indicated above and proceed to complete the inspection arrangements as from our call to the city of Lakewood the Contractor should schedule this as there is information that we cannot have that the contractor (here Doctor Fix-It) will have i.e. Permit # (permit was pulled by the contractor), Contractor # and Code #. Per city of Lakewood, contractor should not have been paid prior to inspection, something we did not know as Doctor Fix-It did not advise of this. We want this issue resolved so that we can move on from this terrible experience with Doctor Fix-It.

Business Response: Doctor Fix-It has made multiple attempts to satisfy this client. Doctor Fix-It has already contacted the city of Lakewood and informed them that this client refused to let us set up an appointment for inspection. We are not going to contact this client any further. We advise the client to contact the city of Lakewood and set up the inspection, the permit is open and active, if the city needs any information we will be happy to provide it. Thank you 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .11175384, , and find that Mediation is necessary. My requests are simple:  Have the business direct all calls moving forward to the General Manager as I have had a tough time getting help from any of the employees and will no longer accept the run-around issued that prevents me from escalating concerns.  I believe it is only right that customers have someone that will listen to and address concerns in a timely manner.  All employees that I spoke to failed to provide complete answers and in fact took a defensive approach which in my opinion shut them out to understanding what I was trying to ask.  I will not deal with staff that refuse to listen.  If the General Manager cannot step in to try to reach a resolution,  then I worry about having to deal with such a company.  As it stands work was completed that has a warranty for the next few months.  Should something go wrong with the unit, I do not ever want to be put through what I was last week on 02/26/16 and 02/29/16.  As a paying customer, if I have a concern on a unit I paid for, I should not have to struggle to get service for the unit.  I refuse to deal with rude and unprofessional employees that only end up messing up my day.  I want to avoid confrontation moving forward until the warranty on the unit is over and I will speak to only one person, that being the General Manager based on poor experience speaking with others in this company and in particular Melisa.  I am happy to leave a message and wait and hope that he will provide a response in a timely manner.  Last week I was told he was out for the week, that then changed to he will be out for 2 weeks, this to me is unacceptable and a run-around that I do not appreciate as I saw that he responded to my BBB responses so I get the impression he is actually in and just choosing not to reach out.  If ever there is work to be done, I will deal with only one person - the General Manager.  If the business has an issue with that then I would like them to explain why. 

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response:

At this time the consumer has not really given any specifics as to what they want. 

1. Job was done at a fair price

2. Job has been inspected by the city

3. Doctor Fix-It has always fulfilled any promises made to the client

4. The transaction is complete and there is no reason to further any conversation with the consumer

5. Doctor Fix-It will honor warranty included with the equipment

As you can see, there is nothing more to mediate. We are sorry we are unable to perform at the standards the consumer expects, thanks.

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father contacted this company to do some minor plumbing services. He was never given an estimate prior to billing and the charge was triple the avg The "technician" did 3 minor services including replacing 2 shut off valves under the kitchen sink, replacing the main water shut off valve and running new hot/cold water lines for relocating the washer and installing a new drain. The total of this service took less than 3 hours and the cost of parts at a standard retail store is less than $75. However my father was charged over $2500 for these "services". I have contacted at least 3 other licensed plumbers to get an estimate and the highest of those bids was less than $1000.

Desired Settlement: I don't want the work for free but I want a fair price for the services rendered. Not to exceed $800.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/08) */ There are some untrue statements in this concern. We always get a signature before any work is started, which we can prove, and the work described is not a "little" amount of plumbing work. Relocating the washing machine plumbing is some what of a major plumbing service. Our client was initially pleased with our service and only had an issue with price after they spoke to a cheap plumber. We have spoken with the client and resolved the issue. Thank you

5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Writing to lodge a complaint about a mechanical service (Doctor Fix It Plumbing) for my home humidifier system. I was billed in the total amount $373 Dear BBB, I am writing to lodge a complaint about a mechanical service (Doctor Fix It Plumbing) for my home humidifier system. I was billed in the total amount of $373. We felt that we were being overbilled due to wrong diagnostic by the technician in this first place. We made a service call to Doctor Fix It and Plumbing on March 16th to inform them we need to have our home humidifier looked at, as it stopped working. We were informed there will be a $39 diagnostic charge and a technician will come by on March 17th between 2pm to 4pm. On the day of service, we received a couple of phone calls from Doctor Fix It informing us the technician is running late but will be arriving as soon as he gets done on a previous job. Technician in the name of ******* arrived around 4.20pm and started looking at the humidifier system. Based on his initial analysis, it was determined the pin valve on the hot water heater providing water to the humidifier must be corroded and a piece of that pipe and new valve needs to be replaced. I was quoted a price of $322 including all parts and installation. I presented a coupon with Discount of $59 from Doctor Fix It and Plumbing and Ulysses indicated it can be applied to the work so I gave ******* the go ahead and he proceeded to obtain the parts from the warehouse and he left around 5pm or so. Technician ******* arrived back around 6.20pm and started working on replacing the pipe and pin valve with the new parts. Around 7pm the work is completed and upon testing the humidifier still does not work and have no water going through. Ulysses proceeded to check on the solenoid valve on the humidifier as well as the humidifier controller and later determined the solenoid valve has gone bad. ******* indicated it will be another $100 for the replacement of the Solenoid Valve and indicated he will be back the next day to get the work done. ******* arrived on March 18th and proceeded to replace the solenoid valve and upon testing, the humidifier system is finally working as intended. Even though the work is finally done we felt the initial work was due to the wrong diagnostic and we should not be billed the full amount. The total amount came to $373. As a result, We contacted Doctor Fix It and Plumbing on March 18th, after the work was done, and asked to talk to the Customer Service to clarify this matter and ask for a resolution. Customer service took down our complaint and indicates Marcus, the General Manager, will give us a call back within 24 hours. We received a voice message from Marcus on March 19th evening to ask us to feel free to call him back to discuss. I called Marcus direct line on March 20th and left his a message as customer service told us he is out of the office. We received no response from Doctor Fix It and Plumbing since then. After a week of waiting and no response from Doctor Fix It and Plumbing, and on March 26th we decided it is time to call our Credit Card to suspend payment and submit a complaint until this matter is resolved. However, we were informed by our credit card there was nothing they could do as the service was being rendered. We felt we are only obligated to pay $100, which is the agreed upon amount for the Solenoid Valve that went bad, not the rest of the payment that included the other work, which was the result of the initial wrong diagnostic. As such, we kindly request BBB to investigate this claim and dispute the payment for a total of $273 ($373 - $100) until this matter get resolve. Thank you. Sincerely, *** Liang *** XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@hotmail.com

Desired Settlement: We felt we are only obligated to pay $100, which is the agreed upon amount for the Solenoid Valve that went bad, not the rest of the payment that included the other work, which was the result of the initial wrong diagnostic. As such, we kindly request BBB to investigate this claim and dispute the payment for a total of $273 ($373 - $100) until this matter get resolve. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/06) */ We are willing to refund this client the $273 they are asking for. The client states we replaced a needle valve first and that is correct, needle valves are against code to use, because they leak and plug up, we had to replace that part first so that we could get water to the humidifier and then see if there was anything else wrong. I am refunding the client, not because we did any unnecessary work, but because our technician did not explain the process correctly. Please be advised that a check will be mailed today. Thank you so much and I hope we can continue to do business together in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response from the business. I hope better communication will be there in future. Thanks

5/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attached.

Desired Settlement: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/03/31) */ We stand behind our Price for the furnace and the electrical service upgrade. We have made multiple attempts to satisfy the client and the only resolution is to give them money back, which we are unwilling to do. As far as the concern about work not being completed, this is untrue. We permitted the furnace and it passed inspection 10/27/14, we permitted the electrical work and it passed 10/22/14. For the amount of work and materials used our client was charged a fair price. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dr. Fix It states that they made several attempts to resolve this issue, but numerous phone calls and messages were left with them, it was hard to ever get a hold of them. When we notified them that we were going to the BBB that is when they reached out to us. ****** scheduled an appointment with me to bring one of his electricians out to talk about the work they did, and confirm that the work was actually needed. When I raised concern that the person they were sending was someone who would say whatever Dr. Fixit wanted them to say ****** said "oh no he is a respectable family man that wouldn't lie" That comment alone is insulting. The appointment was set but later canceled because it was a direct employee to Dr. Fix-It. They stated that we needed 220 wiring; to this day the 220 wiring is not connected, and not needed to run the furnace they installed. I received quotes from three other businesses regarding the electrical part of the job that was done. They are as follows: Azteca Electric Company $2,800-$3,000 Strugeon $2,500 Custom Electric $2,500 The price we paid Dr. Fix-it was $7,785, more than double the quotes we received. Your continued help in the matter would be greatly appreciated. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/04/20) */ The work is complete, we did in fact set up an appointment to look at the job and possibly come to an agreement which was canceled by the daughter, not the home owners. We are done with this concern. We are sorry if this consumer experienced buyers remorse and in the future we recommend that you get multiple bids BEFORE you hire a contractor. As stated before our job was inspected by the city of Denver and the work passed, meaning this can only be a price complaint and the BBB should recognize this.

1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Questionable charges - Plumbing tech charged my elderly parents $886.00 for installing a 3" plumbing pipe repair (40 minute job). 4 msgs. No response. My parents called Dr Fix-It and explained exactly what they needed: Replace a cast iron clean out 't' fitting behind the drywall. From the time the tech walked in the door, cut out the drywall, and replaced the fitting (no welding required, simple PVC glued attachments top and bottom) to when he walked out was a total of 45 minutes. Upon leaving he then presented a bill for $886 (no prior indication or discussion of cost) with the description "Install 3" test tee on 3"copper/cast iron stock in laundry room" My parents are 83 years old and, when I heard about this I felt that they may have been taken advantage of. I have left four messages (over a three week time period) with the receptionist who insists that she has given them to the office manager but I cannot get anyone to return my calls to discuss it.

Desired Settlement: Either justify an $886 charge for a one hour service call or a refund for any excessive charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/09) */ We have reviewed the concern and contacted the client. Our company charges a fair price and does not charge by time. We charge flat rate and the job was approved before the work was started. Nevertheless, we did not handle the concern in a timely manner and for the frustration this caused we are going to refund the client $586.00. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I spoke with the general manager and came to a resolution. My parents received their check for the amount that we agreed on in a timely manner.

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wasn't called to cancel service until 35mins into the service window. This is the second time this happened. I let it slide the first time, but I have now taken off work twice to be cancelled on during my window. I've scheduled my whole day, including not going to work around this company and they cancel last minute. I don't feel like I should have to pay for this service when I'm already paying for taking the day off for no reason.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to come during my time window and I don't want to pay for the service ($99).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/03) */ We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, we try to get to all of our clients and sometimes staffing vs. scheduling becomes an issue, with that being said, we understand that your time is valuable as well. We would be more than happy to refund you the $99.00 dollar service we performed on 10/31/2014, please contact Marques(General Manager) at 303-340-3400 to proceed, Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you.

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company threatened to red-tag furnace to extort a high priced sale on a furnace that was functioning. Furnace was inappropriately shutdown. On September 22, I used the services of*********** to do an annual inspection and maintenance of the furnace. I was informed that my furnace needed to be replaced immediately and they gave me a price of 3900.00 and told me they would red tag my furnace and shut it down if I didn't buy a new furnace from them. There was no gas leak or any safety issues which was confirmed from someone looking at the furnace this morning. The red tag that was provided turned out to be a bogus red tag and not legitimate. The heat was inappropriately shut off causing a health issue for young puppies that were too cold the night the heat was shut off. Causing a health concern to housing inhabitants and issueing bogus red tags just to make a sale is obviously not good business practice.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $39.00 I paid to the company for inspection to be refunded as well as an additional $20.00 in electric costs that I had to utilize to keep the puppies warm as there was no heat. But I also want other consumers to know of the **** where they threaten and shutdown someone's power just to make a sale.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/09) */ We have agreed to refund the client for the amount of $59.00. We were never informed with the clients dis-satisfaction until receiving a notice from the **** We stand behind our techs findings and his concerns for the clients safety. He only did what he felt was right for the client. We only hope that the service man that looked at the furnace after we did was qualified and did not put the client back in an unsafe situation..

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The cleaning fee was to be applied to service that was never performed. A voicemail message from the manager promised an expedited refund My wife and I received a coupon for an air conditioner rejuvenation in the mail from Doctor Fix-it. I scheduled an appointment for Thursday July 3 with an early afternoon window. The time came and went, the technician called, gave me a time and said he was on his way, but was late again. After a thorough inspection, the technician found issues that were not yet problems but certainly had the potential. Since he arrived so late he was unable to complete the cleaning part of the service call. The technician provided several repair and warranty options. We told him that we would need a day or two to decide what option worked best for us. We paid $59.00 which was the price of an inspection on the condition that the fee would be applied to the repair bill. I phoned Doctor Fix-it Monday July 7th and scheduled an appointment for Friday July 11. When scheduling the appointment I made sure to ask if the parts had to be ordered or were in stock. I was told that the parts were in stock. My wife arranged to work from home to accommodate the repairs. Two employees showed up around 10:30 and appeared to be ready to work but then seemed confused. After showing them where everything was, they still seemed confused. Assuming they would get started, my wife went upstairs to work. She noticed that one of them was on the phone outside for some time; at least 30 minute. They then came in and she asked them if they had everything they needed to get started. They advised her they did not have the parts and that this was "Shane's deal" and that he had the day off so that was why they were there. They advised her that they would not be able to do the job - no parts, and that Shane would have to be scheduled to do the job. He also advised her that they had no paperwork for any of the financing we had discussed with Shane prior to committing to do the work. My wife provided him with my personal information on a piece of notepad paper (which we most assuredly regret doing now) and they left the house. At this point I called Doctor Fix-it. I was unhappy as this seemed to me that I had been lied to. Either when I was told that the parts were in stock on Monday the 7th or when the technicians showed up without the parts. Since I had $59.00 invested I rescheduled for Friday July 18th at 8:00 am for which I would have to take a vacation day from work. Fast forward to Friday July 18th, at 8:30 I called to find out where the technician was. I was told that there was a company meeting and that the technician was on his way. 30 minutes later my wife called me to say that Doctor Can't Fix-it called her and cancelled. I was furious, I called the good Doctor and they said no, we are still coming. The technician is in Castle Rock and won't be there until approximately 10:00 am. I asked why we weren't the first call at 8:00 as promised, I never received an answer only apologies. So I wait. 10:30 comes and the phone rings, the technician is running late, it's going to be another couple of hours. At this point I have had enough. I tell them to cancel the appointment and tell them I want my $59.00 in the mail immediately. The person on the phone could not authorize this so I was handed off to a woman who acted like she was unaware of any issues with my repair at all. I personally do not believe this for one second. She tells me the money will be sent and nobody will bother me further. I can't go along with that, I ask that someone from billing / accounting call me before the day is out with an estimate when the check will be sent. The woman agrees. 3:40 pm arrives with no phone call so I call Dr. Fix it. The person that answers the phone informs me that everyone has left for the day, and he is the only one in the office. On July 23rd a person that identified himself as the manager left a message on our phone promising to expedite the reimbursement of the $59.00. As of July 30th the check still has not arrived.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the promised refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/21) */ I apologize for the circumstances around your service call. A refund check was processed on 7/25/2014 and was mailed to your home. We show on our end that a check was mailed to your home.

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband called for a plugged drain in the basement coming down from the kitchen. He was told the charge would be $99 for one drain and if it were two or more it would be $199. they came and unplugged one drain only and charged us $199. The young man that they sent out did a nice and clean job, so there weren't any complaints about his work. I called this business and complained about the charge and was told they would connect me to the manager. I left a voice message and was not called back. I called again, left my message and still have not heard anything from this business. We have used this business before when they were *** ******** and never had a problem with them. I only want them to stand behind what they had told my husband up front! This took place on July 10, 2014. Product_Or_Service: Drain cleaning

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Check for the overcharged amount

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/01) */ We will absolutely refund you the difference of $100.00. The refund will be processed today and a check will come to your home within 10 business days. We apologize for the experience that you had and the slow response from our company on the resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We received a check and an apology left on our answering machine.It just seemed a shame this couldn't have been resolved with the first phone call to this company. Poor business practice!

5/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scheduled a/c tune-up for $29 coupon price and tech never even looked at a/c unit, just wanted to sell me a new furnace and a/c. On 4/21/2014, **** W. with Doctor Fix-It showed up for a scheduled appointment to perform an a/c tune up. I scheduled the appointment on behalf of my elderly father-in-law who is the owner of this property. I had a coupon for $29 for this service. **** W. explained that the first part of evaluating the a/c unit was to check the air flow in the furnace. He performed this service and thoroughly explained why the air flow was less than efficient. I asked how to repair this problem and his response was "clean the furnace". When I asked for a price for this service I received no response but was then told that the best thing to do was to take the furnace out and reinstall it with a return air box underneath and a closed filter box. My response was that this would probably be an expensive process for an 18 yr old furnace and he agreed and right away went into that a new furnace would be best. I told him that the furnace seemed to be operating just fine and that wouldn't a good cleaning help the situation. **** W. said he would get us some qoutes. I thought he was going to quote us for cleaning but he came back with 3 options to replace the furnace and a/c unit. One of the quotes was for a furnace and a/c exceeding $15K with payments of $196 monthly if we wanted to finance, when I asked how many payments he said 5 years (60 payments) and when I brought it to his attention that 60 payments of $196 wouldn't even cover the $15K principal balance, he ignored me and went on to explaining all of the "good" things about this option. **** W. walked up to our a/c unit outside but never even took off the side panel nor did he look at it in any way, just made a snide comment about the XCel Power Saver switch we have installed on it. I requested an a/c tune up and DID NOT receive any service whatsoever on my a/c unit - it wasn't even inspected let alone "tuned up". I feel that Doctor Fix-Its $29 a/c tune up coupon was just a scam to get one of their salesmen into my home. The tech did NOTHING even resembling a tune-up or repair and would not even quote me a price for a cleaning, his only interest was to sell me an overpriced furnace and a/c system. Very disappointed and would suggest that others be cautious when using one of their coupons for a service -- they are not interested in providing service or repair, only trying to talk you into buying a pricey replacement.

Desired Settlement: I know that $29 is not a lot of money but I expected to get the promised service in return for my payment. What I ended up paying for was a sales call that I was not even interested in. I request that my $29 be refunded in full as I received nothing for my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ Spoke with customer regarding the service call on 4/21/2014. She restated the issues she mentioned in the complaint. We discussed each point & I assured her that our main goal was to provide excellent service. I offered to reset the appoint with a different tech. She already had a friend that's in the hvac business coming out to take care of it. I asked if there was anything we could do for her she declined. She just wanted her $29 refunded.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

196 Customer Reviews on Doctor Fix-It Plumbing, Heating & Electric
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart