Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Brothers Plumbing, Heating & Electric

Phone: (303) 451-5057 Fax: (303) 457-0277 View Additional Phone Numbers 12249 Pennsylvania St, Denver, CO 80241 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.brothersplumbing.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The mission of Brothers Plumbing, Heating and Electric is to develop lasting relationships where everyone wins; to show our team members, clients and community that WE CARE, and to provide a safe, honest and helpful work environment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brothers Plumbing, Heating & Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brothers Plumbing, Heating & Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

The company has requested that customers contact Marvin Kansteiner, President, at 303-451-5057 prior to filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

70 Customer Reviews on Brothers Plumbing, Heating & Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 58
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 10
Total Customer Reviews 70

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 18, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Adams County Building Department
12200 Pecos St, Westminster CO 80234
http://www.co.adams.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 453-8700

Board of Plumbers
1560 Broadway Suite 550, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
plumbing@dora.state.co.us

Colorado Electrical Board
1560 Broadway, Suite 550, Denver, CO 80203
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
electrical@dora.state.co.us

Denver Building Department
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver CO 80202
http://www.denvergov.org
Phone Number: (720) 865-2770

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lynn Tomasek, President Ms. Michelle Carwin, Secretary / Treasurer Mr. Justin Kansteiner, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lynn Tomasek, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Brothers Plumbing & Heating, Inc. Dial One Brothers Plumbing, Inc.
Products & Services

Brothers provides prompt, professional and quality plumbing, heating and electrical services.
No Overtime Charges,
Open 7 Days a week, 7am -10pm
2 Hour Appointment Windows
Technician Seal of Safety
100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Industry Tips
Heating & Cooling Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brothers Plumbing, Heating & Electric has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12249 Pennsylvania St

    Denver, CO 80241 (303) 451-5057

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician did NOT provide estimate. Initially checked with meter and said everything was fine when told trip charge was waived - things changed. My furnace did not have electricity getting to the unit. I called Brothers and they said they could be out the next day. One of the "sisters" that answered the phone said there was a trip charge of $89 to get an estimate. I told them I was not going to pay $89 to get an estimate and she agreed to waive the $89 trip charge. The electrician opened and took a look at the switch and said everything looks great here. He used his meter to check various parts of the furnace. said everything was good and that it must be a problem with the furnace. Then he went to screw in the switch and got shocked. He took the switch off again and removed some electrical tape then tried to screw in a wire that was loose and said I would need a new switch because a screw was missing. I told him I was not going to buy a new switch for a screw and went to look for one. Then he said he might have one in his van. He came back and asked me to go turn off the power in the box that was upstairs. I came back and "TA DA" now the switch was bad because the wires were stripped. They had a black casing on them yesterday and this morning when he first opened the switch and it magically disappeared when he sent me to turn off the power! He said he would have to replace the switch now and I asked him how much it was because I would go get one from **** ***** rather than pay the mark-up. He said he would charge me for a regular switch box ($7.00 at **** ****** and that it would not be much HOWEVER it could make the furnace work! (At this point I knew I was being taken advantage of but needed the furnace to work.) I said like around $20 and he said uh huh. I never did get an Estimate. He was completely aware that I had waited for a different furnace company to come out for the last week and they could not fix it because there was no electricity to the furnace. We talked about the storm coming today and he knew that I was desperate to get heat and he took COMPLETE ADVANTAGE by stripping the wires on the switch when he sent me upstairs. I would assume they are paid by the job because when he found out he would not be getting the trip charge, he INVENTED a cost. I did not address his dishonesty while in the house since I was home alone until he was outside. How unfortunate that we must deal with such crooks. Hopefully this complaint will bring light to the BBB. I would highly recommend BBB read the YELP reviews that support this same behavior. Wish I had seen the reviews before agreeing to have them come to give me an estimate.

Desired Settlement: This company should be reprimanded and consumers need to be aware of the crooked representations and actions of the electrician. This was not the first time this guy has done this - he demeanor completely changed when I told him the trip charge was waived and he was visibly frantically searching for something to "fix", when there was nothing for him to "fix" he damaged the switch and left me with no alternative for my furnace to work with a big storm coming in today. He did NOT provide an estimate and eluded to a fraction of the cost for the switch. $20ish to $161 with no estimate as represented.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/24) */ Ms. ****** called in to schedule electrical service because she had another company out and they determined she didn't have power to her furnace and needed an electrician. The appointment was booked for the next day. The person answering the phone did offer to waive the $79 show up fee for her visit to get her taken care of. When the technician arrived, he found that the SSU switch that was originally there had a screw missing to the fuse holder. The last company that was there taped the wire to the fuse holder in order to make contact. Our technician tried replacing screw with a screw from an old SSU that he had on his truck. The threads on the screw holder were stripped out so he replaced the SSU. The home owner did not want to pay for the SSU and wanted to go to **** ***** to buy the switch and have him replace it. In order to take care of her and get her power and heat the technician told her he would just charge her for a standard switch a $161.00 charge. When he tried showing the price of an SSU switch compared to a standard switch she wanted no part of it. The circuit board had power and the technician went as far as trying to locate a fuse on the board and tried turning thermostat on to get her some heat. When he left the furnace had power and she received a SSU switch, which she needed and received for a discounted price. The electrician was still unable to get the furnace to kick on. They tried scheduling an HVAC tech, but we were very busy and she did not want to wait until Saturday for the HVAC appointment. The normal price for the SSU Switch is $399. The $79 show up fee was waived and the job was discounted down to $161.00. We have signatures approving the work to be done and once it was complete on the invoice. However, per our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee- Happy today or you don't pay policy, we will refund the money of $161.00 for the work completed. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No power, $700 bill, initial issue not repaired. 9/15/15 Service call to repair faulty light switch. Service provider claimed law required him to replace the circuit breaker. Job now $700. After replacing circuit breaker, was told the 15 year old home has faulty wiring and 2 electricians were now required for a minimum 3 hours to find wiring problem. Service person left and we have no electricity to the bedroom, bathroom and hallway upstairs, the smoke alarms and security sensors. Job to repair now estimated to be $2,000 and we have to wait 24 hours without electricity for them to return. I was told they have a small electrical department and did not have anyone available until tomorrow. Our switch plate is now a $2,000 job, which is incomplete and we are left without electricity. Within five minutes of electrician leaving I received the invoice, for a job that has not been completed. We are worse off than before they arrived. I've spoken to a competitor's master electrician that says the claims are "a stretch".

Desired Settlement: Credit the invoice. In addition to receiving poor service, the technician was demeaning as was the service manager.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/18) */ Ms. **** called us to her home because a switch would not come on and stay on. We sent a licensed Master Electrician to her home. When he removed the switch it had a burning smell and was arcing, so it needed to be replaced. In January 1, 2014 the CECNFPA Article 70 code went into effect that requires arc fault protection on circuits that are 15 or 20 amp rated and single family or multifamily dwellings for bedrooms and bathrooms, etc. Since the existing circuit for this switch was on a 1st generation non-combination rated arc fault breaker it required a combination rated arc breaker to bring it up to code. The tech installed the new arc fault breaker, which Ms. **** approved. The technician verbally informed client that once new arc fault breaker was installed, that if there were any issues with the circuit the arc fault breaker would detect this and is designed to open, therefore not allowing power to flow and additional work would be required. This cannot be determined until the arc fault breaker was installed. Once the new arc fault breaker was installed it detected other issues with in the wiring and therefore would not allow power through. Technician changed out Arc fault breaker twice just in case first breaker was faulty or had a manufacturer defect. It was at this point that the technician determined that there were additional issues within the home because the arc fault breakers would not restore power to the home. Given the size of the home and the fact that there are 3 panels the tech suspected that the neutralling was being improperly shared between two circuits and that there was a possibility of over-amperage because the amount of load implied on the circuit and because the circuit breaker was over its temperature rating which could result in an electrical fire. The technician informed the client that 2 techs would be required to troubleshoot this issue. However, unfortunately, we did not have 2 technicians available until the next day. The only way for the technician to restore power to her home that night would have been to reinstall a regular breaker, which would not have been up to code and put her home at risk for fire. This would have put the technician license at risk and made him responsible, and he was unwilling to take that risk. Ms. **** was unhappy with schedule restraints and pricing and did not allow us to come back out to complete the work. Ms. **** did not pay for services. We stand by our pricing and diagnosis, however we are sorry that we were unable to complete the work on the same day. Per our Happy Today or You Don't Pay, we will pursue payment for the work completed.

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a sewer smell. I asked if it was the toilet. Employee said no and said I needed to tear out wall to fix leak ($800). It was toilet wax ring ($5). I had a plumber come out because of a major sewer smell in my house. We pin pointed the smell to the bathroom. I said the toilet was just installed and could it not be sealed correctly. The toilet rocked a little when we pushed it and it was not caulked. I asked again could it be the toilet. The guy said no the toilet is fine because it would be leaking in the basement. He then said the wall on the other side of the bathroom would have to be torn down to find a leak that there might be in the pipes in the wall. He told me that it would cost about $800. Thank God, I said let me think about it. I had a friend come over the next day that used to be a plumber. He removed the toilet, replaced the wax ring, caulked around the bottom and it was fixed within minutes. Cost me $5 for materials. I called Brother's to talk to a manager about this. I was given excuses and then told the guy was a good plumber. However, the manager said he would refund my $45 for the fee to come out. Never received that refund. Very disappointed!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $45

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/04) */ Ms. ********, The refund was issued to your credit card since that was the way you made your original payment method. The refund was issued on 08/28/2015. It may take 5-7 business days for the refund to show up on your statement. If you have not received it by next week, please contact us. We are sorry for the misdiagnosis. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a plumbing problem and Brothers Plumbing advised/insisted & marked where to dig 8 ft hole to fix a pipe but turned out it was not broken at all In November 2014, I was experiencing plumbing problems at my home with the sink, shower and toilets all backing up. I searched on-line for a plumber and located the site for Brothers Plumbing. On their web-site, they represent that they provide high quality service. They claimed that their plumbers have been providing plumbing service and repair for over many years and that all of their plumbing technicians are specially trained to keep customer satisfaction in mind at all times. As they stated on their web-site, people in need of plumbing services will receive exceptional service from Brothers Plumbing. Encouraged by what I read, I contacted Brothers Plumbing and they sent two (2) plumbing representatives to my home. The Brothers Plumbing representatives appraised the situation and advised me as follows: 1) The main sewage pipe, which was located in the ground, was broken and had to be replaced. 2)In order to access and replace the pipe, it was necessary to dig a hole, 4 ft wide by 10 ft long by 8 ft deep, in my front yard. 3) Unless I performed the repairs in accordance with their instructions, my family would lose complete use of our bathroom, toilet, shower, sink and dishwasher - basically, we would be helpless and we could not continue to live in our home. The Brothers Plumbing representatives also marked the area where the hole had to be dug and provided a written proposal for the project. Their price quote was $8950.00 for excavation and repair. I trusted their professional diagnosis and recommendation but I thought their quoted price was exorbitant, so, I hired a separate excavation company to dig the hole they had marked. Then I hired two (2) other certified plumbers to perform the repair in accordance with the instructions provided to me by the Brothers Plumbing representatives. The certified plumbers inspected the exposed sewage pipe, and informed me that the pipe did not have to be replaced. Instead, it was only clogged and not broken as claimed by the Brothers Plumbing representatives. As explained by the certified plumbers, it would have been sufficient to clear the pipe by jet blow. Unfortunately, since we were forced to excavate the site unnecessarily, I had to pay $6629.44 due to Brothers wrong advice. Although that was $2,320.56 less than the price quoted by Brothers Plumbing, it was completely unnecessary. The work performed was based on the misrepresentations and fear tactics by the Brothers Plumbing representatives. They convinced me that I would have to remove my family from our home unless I had their prescribed work done. As a result, I believe it is fair and reasonable that Brothers Plumbing reimburse me for the $6629.44 incurred by me unnecessarily for the excavation work and restoration.

Desired Settlement: Brothers Plumbing should reimburse me for $6629.44 since it was their professional advice and written recommendation that a hole be excavated 8 feet down, 10 feet long and 4 feet wide in front of our house and cause our family to be displaced for over a week without water. Their diagnosis was wrong and it cost us a lot of money, time and inconvenience.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ We were called out to the clients home on 10/29/2014 to clear the mainline that was blocked. Our technician wrote on his invoice (see attached) that he ran 100' of cable through a clean out in the basement and removed a small amount of roots and suspected that the line had a belly and that a technician with a camera was schedule out for the next day. The video from the camera (see attached) shows the line is backed up and it doesn't look like the camera was able to pass ******* the blockage. A proposal was given at that time of the camera to do a repair on the line because the line was "blocked and out of service and that once the line is open we will re-camera to check the rest of the condition of the line" (see attached for the proposal). The customer chose to take our proposed recommendation for the solution to another company who did the work at a lesser price. The repair was done by the other company and this fixed the problem and restored flow to the sewer line. There are different ways to resolve a given problem. It solved their problem and restored flow to the sewer. We believe that if the other company had other solutions then they should have evaluated the situation and made their own recommendations prior to doing work. We do not believe that we have any obligation to pay for work done by another company as we have documentation and a video to support the reasons for the recommendation that was given. Our diagnosis was that the line was blocked and out of service and we gave a proposed solution. We also do not believe that this complaint should be on our record because the customer used another company for the repair and that resolved the situation that they were having. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** *** *********** */ Please see more info from consumer for the consumer's rebuttal. Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please refer to document "3", *******, *** 7 Colgate Court,Longmont sewer.pdf. I quote, "Excavate/Replace 10 feet of 4" sewer pipe. . . ." Please read the full short document to understand my position. The plumber was called in AFTER the reccomended excavation. He stated the excavation was unnecessary and jetting the line would have cleared the line and at a considerable lower cost ($2XX-XXX verses the $6,000 I paid). Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */ Contact has been made with the BBB to discuss this further. VM states unavailable for phone calls 06/11 and 06/12 and not to leave a message. Email sent 06/11/2015.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

70 Customer Reviews on Brothers Plumbing, Heating & Electric
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart