BBB Accredited Business since

ASAP Plumbing & Rooter

Phone: (303) 288-1933 Fax: (303) 371-1663 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 360, Commerce City, CO 80037 http://www.asapplumbingandrooter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ASAP Plumbing & Rooter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ASAP Plumbing & Rooter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on ASAP Plumbing & Rooter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1994 Business started: 03/30/1994 Business started locally: 03/30/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Plumbers
1560 Broadway Suite 550, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
plumbing@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Benyak, CEO Ms. Lisa Benyak, Vice President/Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Benyak, CEO
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
A Sewer & Plumbing Works Inc ASAP Works, Inc. ASAP Works, Inc. A Sewer and Plumbing Service

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 360

    Commerce City, CO 80037

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This plumber arrived too early to clean the main line, and when we could not allow him in at the time of his arrival, he got upset and drove away. On August 14, 2013, I had an appointment after 4 PM with ASAP Plumbing and Rooter to clean my home's main line. The appointment had been rescheduled twice, the first time because ****, the master plumber, called me and said that the agreed-upon date was inconvenient in his schedule, and the second time, because I found out that I could not be home by the agreed-upon time on the agreed-upon date. Thus, on August 14, I left work and arrived home at 3:25. To my surprise, **** had already arrived. I was surprised not just because he was 35 minutes early, but also because he had not called me 30 minutes prior to his arrival, which he had said that he would do. I told him at 3:25 PM that unfortunately, the home's other occupant would not be done using the shower, sink and toilet until closer to 4 PM, which was the scheduled appointment time, so he would need to wait. He then became angry and went back to his truck. I assumed that he was waiting, but then was surprised to see him drive away. I figured that he was coming back, but about 5 or 10 minutes later, he called me on my cell phone and told me that he was not going to return, and he no longer wanted to "service my home." I was not happy, but waited until the next day and called ASAP's office. I explained that **** had shown up 35 minutes early on the 14th, and when I had not been able to let him do the work on the main line due to the plumbing being in use, he had left and not returned. I asked for an explanation and an apology from ****. The customer service person told me that earlier in the day on the 14th, **** had a crew on another job that did not follow his instructions, and as a result, he was very angry. I told the customer service person that ****'s situation was certainly unfortunate, but that did not excuse his behavior toward me, especially considering that I now had to find another plumber and arrange to be home on yet another day by 4 PM. The customer service person said that his master plumber was a very busy person and that he (the customer service person) was not going to tell **** to call me and apologize. He also said that their company had an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau, and that showed how happy their customers were with them. I said that I would contact the Better Business Bureau if necessary, but I would prefer an apology call from ****. It was not my fault that he had a bad day, or that he failed to call me 30 minutes in advance of his arrival, or that he showed up when the main line was unavailable to be cleaned, but he treated me rudely anyway and did not complete the work for which I had an appointment.

Desired Settlement: I would like a personal apology from the company's master plumber for his behavior, and for the inconvenience I endured.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/29) */ August 29, 2013 To Whom it May Concern: In response to Ms. ******** complaint I have never had a complaint about arriving early to a job, but it comes as no surprise that Ms.******* would complain. I have been servicing Ms.******* and her family for several years and servicing Ms.******* has been on most visits challenging to say the least and this years scheduled visit was no different. The scheduling issue was hers when she made the first appointment she gave me a wrong date when I left a message after identifying the oversight she changed the appointment with our office and then called to change it again to the date in question. So on August 14th the time was set by Ms.******* for after 4pm not at 4pm but anytime thereafter and it is true I did arrive at 3:35pm the front door was open so I did go to the door when Ms.******* answered the door she was wearing shorts and sandals coming from her back yard like she had been working in the garden. When she came to the door she seemed upset and began to chew me out, wondering why I'm here and why we did not call. Several attempts were made to contact Ms.******* but no message was left so knowing Ms.******* for many years I apologized for being early and she calmed down and stated that she would see if her roommate was done with running the water so I could clean the mainline as needed which was a preventative measure that we do every year so no drains were backed up at the time. She began still upset rambling on over why I was early and why we did not call, but I could not get a word in edge wise so I told her it was all right I apologized a few more times before returning to my vehicle at which time I contacted my dispatch and told them of the issues with Ms.******* it was decided that it would be best if I called Ms.******* and excused myself and our company from servicing her that day or in the future. I thanked Ms.******* for her years of loyalty to our brand and again apologized and informed her she would need to find a new plumbing company to service her needs. She and I hung up and the next day she called our office stating she was offended and demanded an apology from me. I spoke to dispatch and told them that when speaking to customers it is not our policy to disclose any problems our plumbers or employees are having are not to be discussed with customers. I was not rude to Ms.******* in any way I am not at all surprised that Ms. ******** complaint is focused around us being early for an appointment in 20 years in business this is a first. Perhaps Ms.******* should reflect on her actions to the situation which caused us to react in such a way as to not want to service her any longer we are not in business to turn customers away however incompatibility does exist and this was not the first time Ms. ******** demanding actions made one of our employees feel uncomfortable so with no reservations we politely asked Ms.******* to find another plumbing company. We invoke the same rights as our customers to refuse service to anyone for any reason. I will not be calling or sending any kind of apology to Ms.******* for arriving early or for refusing her service. Thank you, ***** ****** ASAP Plumbing and Rooter ************ ************************************ (****) Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have absolutely no idea how **** ****** could have written that response with a straight face. I have no idea what he means by the assertion that I have been a challenging customer. The plumbing issues at my home have been complex, but all I have ever asked, is for him to fix those plumbing issues. Secondly, I did not give him the wrong date. When he called and said that I had given him the wrong date, I let him know that the date he had written down was the same one that I had written down. That call took place the day before the scheduled appointment, and on that day, not the day of the appointment, I rescheduled because something had come up with my work and I knew that I would not be able to make it home in time to meet him. Third, I did enter the house from the back at 3:25, not 3:35, because my garage is in the back of my house, and I had just arrived home from work. Fourth, I was in shorts (and shoes, not sandals) because I am a teacher, and during the first week back to work we have to do rather dirty work getting our classrooms back together before the students arrive, and thus we do not dress in clothes that must be dry cleaned. So, I was not working in the yard, as he implied. Fifth, the idea that he tried to contact me is a complete lie - phones have caller ID functions and "missed call" notifications in 2013, and neither my cell phone nor home phone had any missed calls from **** or ASAP. Finally, while I was not happy with ****, I was very calm in my brief interactions with him, was not rambling, and I had no need to "calm down." All that I said when I met him at the front door was that I was very surprised he was 35 minutes early, especially without a phone call, and I would have to see if I could make the earlier time work, although I doubted that I could. I left the front door to go speak to the other resident of the house, and when I came back, **** was already most of the way to his truck, so there was no opportunity for "rambling." When he called to say that he was not coming back to do the work that he had contracted to do that day, I explained, very calmly, that I was not trying to create a problem for him, but the plumbing was being used, and there was nothing I could do about it. I was also very calm but firm when I spoke with his customer service person the next day. As **** admits in his response, he had a bad day on the 14th due to a problem with a crew on another job, and his customer service person let me know that, apparently accidentally. I still expect an apology, and if **** treats long-time customers like this, people should be aware of that and not call ASAP Plumbing. The other households in my family who used him in the past certainly will not use him after the way he treated me. He was in the wrong on the 14th, and lying about my actions do not change that in any way. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/04) */ I will not go back and forth with he said she said issues. If all Ms.******* has to complain about is that I was early for an appointment and refuse to service her because she is difficult I will not apologize for being early or for refusing service as a business we have to do what we feel is in our best interest. We have tried for years with Ms.******* and of course she will not see herself as difficult. I wish Ms.******* the best with her next plumbing company. Thank you ***** ******