Download Download Download


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Applewood Plumbing, Heating & Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Applewood Plumbing, Heating & Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

86 Customer Reviews on Applewood Plumbing, Heating & Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 68
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 17
Total Customer Reviews 86

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 1973 Business started: 10/01/1973 Business started locally: 10/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Adams County Building Department
12200 Pecos St, Westminster CO 80234
http://www.co.adams.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 453-8700

Board of Plumbers
1560 Broadway Suite 550, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
plumbing@dora.state.co.us

Colorado Electrical Board
1560 Broadway, Suite 550, Denver, CO 80203
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
electrical@dora.state.co.us

Denver Building Department
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver CO 80202
http://www.denvergov.org
Phone Number: (720) 865-2770

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Ward, President Mr. Josh Ward, Vice President Ms. Paula Washenberger, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Ward, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Water Heaters - Dealers Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Applewood Plumbing & Heating Co.
Industry Tips
Heating & Cooling Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Applewood Plumbing, Heating & Electric has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5000 W 29th Ave

    Denver, CO 80212 (720) 249-5122

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 14th we began working with Applewood Plumbing Heating & Electric. Our second floor was staying warm, around 78 degrees, while our first floor was staying cool at 70 degrees, even though our thermostat was set at 69 degrees. Both floors run on the same system, so we were concerned that something wasn’t working properly, and called Applewood Plumbing Heating & Electric and ask them to provide a technician. ***** was our technician and he spent about 30 minutes next to our furnace in the basement as well as outside near our A/C unit. He provided an estimate of the cost to correct the problem, which included replacing a compressor and cleaning the outside unit – he stated that there wasn’t enough power getting to the system to get the cool air flowing on the second floor. We paid $822.88 and he provided a receipt and stated we should see a difference in the temperature the next day. The next day we noticed at 9am that the first floor thermostat was showing that the temperature was at 75 degrees even though we had it set at 70 degrees. The second floor was warmer than before the compressor was replaced, so we called Applewood to see if they could come back out and correct the problem that they said they had corrected on the 14th of July. *****, the technician, came on the following Monday, July 18th. He took about 30 minutes to review the system, and said that the evaporator cool needed replacing as it was clogged, and that he could put a quote together to get it corrected. We ask him what the cost would be and he stated it would be at least $1000. This was very concerning as we had just paid Applewood $822.88 to fix the problem, and the problem wasn’t fixed at all and we were out $822.88 Applewood sent out another technician on July 21st after we called them to complain about paying $822.88 and not having the problem fixed. The second technician, *****, took about an hour to access everything and gave us an estimate of $4100 to clean the evaporator cooler, or $4540 to replace the 3 ton evaporator cooler. They did not offer to credit the initial $822.88 towards the repair/replacement. At this time we are out $822.88 and our air conditioning has not been fixed. We are a charity serving victims of crime and we are responsible to the Board for every expense we payout. It would be irresponsible to accept that after paying $822.88 to a HVAC company who did not solve the air conditioning issue to not demand a refund. We plan to take action to recuperate the funds that we paid to Applewood. We are hereby registering this complaint again Applewood Plumbing Heating and Electric.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of $822.88, as the repair did not address the problem, and caused the issue to worsen.

Business Response: I spoke with ***** ****** 8/1/2016. I explained that Applewood Plumbing, Heating & Electric guarantees our work and refund the full amount of the repair from 7/14/2016. Customer was satisfied with this resolution.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

 

7/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our first experience with Applewood occurred on February 17, 2016 when the lights in our Master Bedroom stopped working. After some diagnosis, we were told that the root cause was the breaker (15 amp) that would have to be replaced. Not being an electrician, we relied on him to advise of the problem and solution. In addition to the one breaker, he told us that several other of our outlets were unsafe and/or near end of life and “had to be replaced” in order to avoid electrical issues. After spending the better part of the day poking and finding, the end result was a bill of $2943.01 because he stated that we “required” a lot of additional work. He then asked us to do a **** review and we could obtain additional discounts. We did this and paid the final bill of $2502. We had no reason to question the work or price until this past Thursday (May 19, 2016) when we once again called Applewood for Plumbing because we had a situation where the HOT safety valves under our kitchen sink were leaking. *** Binder arrived around 10 am. At that time, we had already shut off the water from the shut off at the water heater. *** proceeded to turn off water at the Water Meter and then inquired as to the main shut off for the house. I informed him that it was located outside and showed him where it was located. Though very nice, he refused to believe that the shut off I showed him, was in fact the shut off and told us that we were REQUIRED by code to have one inside. He also stated that you would need to be a “Big Brut” to move the shut off that was outside because it was not budging. He again stated that we HAD to find the shut off inside the house because it had to exist and if we didn’t locate it, we could find ourselves FLOODED if this occurred again, and with Cold water. [It is important to note that my husband and I just completed a COMPLETE internal remodel of the home in early May, which was inclusive of new paint throughout the home.] *** told us that he HAD to locate the shut off inside the home. Bear in mind that at this point he had already replaced both valves under the sink and turned the water off at the meter to accomplish this task but maintained that we had to find the internal shut off. At this point, he told us that we should cut a hole into the wall in the front room (office) to find the shut off or locate the ¾ inch pipe where he would install a shut off. 4 holes in my Office closet later, my husband asked if a call to ****** ***** would help us confirm the location of the shut off given that *** would not accept my answer that the outside shut off was the appropriate location. *** advised that ****** ***** would not know where the shut off was located and continued to insist that it “must have been” buried when the home was remodeled initially in 2006. Several hours later, there were TWELVE holes in my newly painted walls in almost every room of my house. These holes range from 6 sq inches to 2 square feet. I was beside myself because every wall had just been repainted in the last 60 days and told my husband to just pay the bill and get him out of the house. Again, he was polite but it was clear that he was not experienced with older homes. Our final bill was for $593.98 ($351 for the replacement of the 2 valves and $242 for the time and effort to destroy my walls). We were in a state of shock and paid it just to get him gone. Following his departure, I contacted ****** ***** who confirmed that the shut off outside was the correct shut off. This is what I initially advised and he refused to acknowledge. Additionally, he specifically stated that ****** ***** would not know so we relied on his expertise. Following this discovery and confirmation, I contacted Applewood and asked to speak to a manager. **** ****** (Service manager) arrived at our house shortly thereafter and spoke highly of ***. In the end, they offered to credit $242 (cost of the extra time to cut holes) but did not offer any reimbursement for the materials and labor that we would NOW have to expend to fix the 12 holes in 4 rooms of my home. We are now 3 days following this incident and I have since contacted several other plumbers who ALL confirmed the following: • We were charged double (in some cases triple) the market rate for the replacement of the 2 valves. Of the plumbers we contacted, all were in the range of $150-175 but Applewood charged $351. • The shut off inside the home is NOT required (This was also confirmed by ****** *****) • We could very easily (and should) shut off at the Meter • The holes were not necessary In the last 3 days, we have spent 7 hours of our time plus $208 in expenses, for drywall, drywall patching, putty knives, drywall knives, and texturing spray and have only covered 6 of the 12 holes. We still need to purchase paint for the 4 rooms because we have been unable to accurately paint match the paint. The paint (depending on quality) will range from $30-65/gallon, thus averaging $47.50/gallon, which at 4 gallons are looking at an additional $190 in materials to get our home back to where it was when *** arrived. That puts us at $398 in materials, not factoring in the time we have had to spend and will need to spend to get back to normal. Following this horrendous situation, I had to question the electrical work that was done in February. I proceeded to contact several electricians to obtain estimates for the work that was done totaling $2502.30. Every electrician we contacted, estimated the work anywhere from $912 - $1050, which again shows that we were overcharged for the work completed. In both situations, Applewood used fear and scare tactics to convince us that we REQUIRED the additional services and that the holes in my wall were necessary to avoid disastrous repercussions. I am in a complete state of distress because my newly remodeled home has damaged walls in almost EVERY room of the home. In addition to the 7 hours spent thus far for half of the holes, I estimate an equal amount of time to fix the remaining 6 holes along with the additional time still necessary to texturize and paint these walls, which will likely be another 2 days of work. My husband and I both have very high paying jobs and our hourly rate exceeds that of a contractor. We are also very reasonable individuals and are not seeking compensation for our time, just reimbursement for the excessive charges we received for both the plumbing and Electrical, as well as reimbursement for all materials needed to get this newly remodeled home back to where it was when we met Applewood. We are looking to the BBB to help us resolve this before taking more drastic measures including, but not limited to: contacting ****** District Attorney’s Office of Consumer Fraud.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking refund and compensation to correct damage done in the amount of: $2026.30. This fee includes: 1. $1452.3 for overcharging of Electrical (Highest estimate received from 4 other electricians was $1050) 2. $176 for overcharging of Plumbing (Highest estimate received from 4 other plumbers was $175) 3. $398 - Reimbursement for Materials needed to repair 12 holes in walls of 4 rooms in my home Note: The above is NOT inclusive of the cost of our time to do this additional work. To date we have spent 7 hours to fix half of the holes and suspect another 7 hours to finish covering the holes and another 2 days to texturize and paint. This is a very reasonable request given the situation and are not seeking compensation for our time, just reimbursement for the excessive charges we received for both the plumbing and Electrical, as well as reimbursement for all materials needed to get this newly remodeled home back to where it was when we met Applewood. If Applewood is not willing to credit the above, and we cannot resolve via BBB, we will also be seeking reimbursement for the time spent making the necessary repairs and repainting. We are looking to resolve this through the BBB before taking more drastic measures including, but not limited to: contacting ****** District Attorney’s Office of Consumer Fraud.

Business Response: This was resolved to customer's satisfaction prior to notification from BBB.

8/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sewer pipe backed up in our basement drain. I called Applewood to see what the problem was. I authorized a cleaning & camera use of the sewer pipe. On 4/28/2015 the technician arrived and immediately set up to clean the pipe and using a camera to scope the pipe. After he set all this up, (in my opinion he should have called me down before he set up); he called me to come and watch a "video" of the scoping. It was pointed out that there were several "drops" in the clay pipe, (home was built in mid-seventies), and there was at least one area where the pipe was not connected and dropped causing erosion. He indicated that they could burst the old clay pipe and replace it with a plastic pipe. Also he said they would need to dig in the street to complete the job to the main. Further a cast iron pipe needed to be replaced inside the house which I do not dispute, but said the cost of just that issue would be $4000 and the entire job was $20,303.03. I did sign the contract that afternoon, but I subsequently cancelled it the next morning, which Applewood confirmed in writing. I had the impression that I would get a copy of the DVD of the pipe scope, which turned out to be false. When I asked for the video which I believe I paid for within the $454.21, I was told that they don't do that and they did not keep of video I was show themselves, which I find hard to believe. I decided to get a second opinion of the scoping and of the work that needed to be done to correct the problem. This second opinion video showed quite different results but still showed the pipe needs to be replaced. I was invited,rather it was insisted by the second opinion tech to be present for set-up as well as to watch every aspect of the camera inspection. Now I am fairly certain Applewood contracts it's heavy work out. So what that means to me is that they may be double dipping, which I feel is wrong and not ethical. BTW the contractor I am now going to use will do this same job at much less than half the amount of Applewood's $20+K. Needless to say I will not contact Applewood for any plumbing, heating or electrical work in the future. I am requested a refund of the $454.21 because I believe Applewood's scope was not entirely correct. BTW the inside part of replacing the cast iron pipe was $2000 instead of the $4000 Applewood said, which may be another case of double dipping.

Desired Settlement: Refund $454.21

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/08/13) */ This issues was resolved 6-10-15, customer's concern was the quote for the repair, which was cancelled. We refunded customer $313 and customer was satisfied.

8/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Applewood was called out to fix my furnace. After repairs were completed my thermostat now keeps shutting off. Last year my furnace was making a ticking noise before turning on. I called Applewood out to repair the furnace. After repairs were completed we noticed the timer on our thermostat kept blinking. Similar to a digital clock after a power outage. I called Applewood back out and they said I would need another repair to fix the thermostat. The thermostat worked fine before they came out now they claim it will cost me $1000+ to fix this issue.

Desired Settlement: I expect the thermostat to be in the same working condition it was in before they came out to fix the furnace.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/31) */ A technician was sent to the customers home and the customer is now satisfied.

1/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My water heater went out the week prior to thanksgiving I called applewood on the 26th of nov. they arrived and started work. The technicians name is ****, he repeatedly toted his horn on how great he is and how he is 20 plus yrs experience. however upon work he did not check for a ground line attached to my water line. he proceeded to cut my water line to fix plumbing. however without a grounding cable on the line he sent an electric surge through my house and damaged 600.00 worth of electronic equipment. I complained to applewood they immediately offered 250.00 personally hat a slap in the face and an admittance of guilt. they too spoke highly of **** however my argument is a tech that has 20 plus yrs experience and is the best at the company, should check for a ground line? he should know better he got complacent with negligence and pride and ruined my house and equipment. I lost xbox360 with Kinect,angel care baby monitor and 3 belken surge protectors. there is other items as well these are the high dollar ones. applewood stated they don't check that, which is hard to believe many homes would be damaged due to them if this is true. then I was told I should have told the tech there was no ground???? if I knew that I would not need applewood. as a home owner if something goes down i.e water heater im going to call a professional and hope they don't damage my house. I guess I hoped for too much. im blown away at the admittance of guilt with a 250.00 offer and lack of customer service. I cant believe they are accredited with the bbb. Product_Or_Service: water replacement, pressure vavle replacement Order_Number: XXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I need my value of the items lost he was here when I lost the items and my wife and child were as well, due to his negligence. I only would like replacements or the value for them. I still have all the damaged items. Im blown away at the lack of customer service and admittance of guilt with 250 offer to basically shut me up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/12) */ We are refunding $670.00 to the customer to cover the cost of the electronics that were damaged. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Applewood came came to fix our furnace blower in June. Today the blower fell apart. Despite thier guarantee. Applewood was out in June to fix our furnace blower. They no showed the first appointment. They said the wheel was loose, tightened screws and charged us. Last night the heater came on and had a horrible noise. Applewood came out today and said the blower wheel broke apart. They guarantee the fix it right the first time and 100% satisfaction. I called while the tech was here and they said the manager would call the tech. They decided to take $38 off a nearly $1000 cost to fix it again. I called back and was told there were no managers and someone would call me Monday. The tech recieved another call. I could hear the conversation and the service manager, who I was told had gone home, called me "weird" and did nothing. The tech left and we have an estimate but our blower still isnt working.

Desired Settlement: They should honor their guarantee and fix it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/28) */ Here is the series of events: we went out on June 18, 2014 and tightened screws on the customers blower wheel. We charged $36.47 and this work has no warranty. It sounds like there weren't any issues until the customer called us on 10/18 and said that he had no heat. A technician went out and found that the blower wheel sleeve was broken where it attaches to the motor shaft, the customer declined the repair at that time but called back on 10/19 at 10:59AM. We sent a tech out and are going to replace the blower motor and housing free of charge once the parts are in. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2014/10/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Kyle came out tonight and fixed everything. We appreciate the outcome and Applewood actually went beyond our expectations. I would suggest that Applewood update their guarantee (http://www.applewoodfixit.com/about-us/warranty-information.html) if it truly doesn't apply to parts and labor in some cases. The statement about fixing it right the first time can cause confusion too. The guarantee is one of the reasons we have exclusively used Applewood for plumbing and heating in multiple houses and for nearly 10 years. Clarifying may resolve confusion and frustration in the future. Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2014/12/12) */ Duplicate complaint filed: Applewood continues to fail at fixing the blower wheel on our furnace. Applewood has been out twice since June to fix our blower wheel. I filed a complaint in late October and closed it as we thought it was resolved. However, we were woken to the wheel making loud screeching noises again this morning. We expect that Applewood will honor their guarantee and fix this again but properly this time. Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/12/17) */ From: ******** ******* (mailto:****************@applewoodfixit.com) Sent: Wednesday, December 17, XXXX XX:XX AM To: ******* ****** Subject: FW: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) Hi *******, My dispute for this one is basically the same as it was before. The original work was only to tighten screws for $36.47 and had no warranty. When we went back months later for his furnace not working, he was informed that the furnace shouldn't be operated until the blower motor was replaced. Since he filed the complaint we went out and replaced parts free of charge. He then contacted us again 12/12/2014 at 6:07am and had an appointment scheduled for that day. So again, we were already working on resolving it when we were notified of the complaint on that day at 6:44AM. We took care of the issue free of charge and the customer informed me Monday 12/15 that he considered the matter resolved. Please let me know if you need any additional information. Thank you, ******** ******* Manager of Service Experience Applewood Plumbing Heating & Electric XXX-XXX-XXXX ****** ****************@applewoodfixit.com Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2014/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This should now be considered a work quality and service complaint. We went through a great amount of hassel to get Applewood to honor their guarantee last time, and then again within months it broke again. The very first tech did minor work instead of fixing the problem. This is why the bill was only $30. Applewood keeps using the low cost they charged as justification that they have done everything. This time it broke because the prior tech didn't properly tighten a set screw. They were great about fixing it a third time at no cost and low effort, but the fact that they needed to is concerning. We would like Applewood to send us warranty information in regard to materials and workmanship so we have an understanding of were we stand shoul it break again. Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2014/12/19) */ From: ******** ******* (mailto:****************@applewoodfixit.com) Sent: Friday, December 19, 2014 9:08 AM To: ******* ****** Cc: **** **** Subject: FW: Warranty Letter Good Morning *******, Attached is the letter/email that I sent to Mr. **** regarding the warranty. We agreed to give a 2 year warranty on the blower motor and wheel which were replaced as a courtesy. If you have an questions, feel free to give me a call. Thanks, ******** Teeters Manager of Service Experience Applewood Plumbing Heating & Electric XXX-XXX-XXXX ****** ****************@applewoodfixit.com Business Response /* (-10, 28, 2015/01/15) */ See pdf attachment Consumer Response /* (2000, 29, 2015/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you

11/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were willing to sacrafice our safety in order to make a significant sale! Our furnace/air conditioner were having issues leaking water on the floor. The rep came out and gave us two estimates. The first was a "bandaid" for approximately $2,000.00 which "might fix the issue" or $13,500.00 which would completely fix the issue. The rep was arrogant and never disclosed that our furnace was full of water, parts were rusted out and it was unsafe to use. I hired another well known plumber in Denver to get a second opinion. They told me not to use it as it was unsafe. They have since replaced everything for under $6,000.00. Both my insurance company and plumber said that Applewoods prices are insane and that there sales people work on commission. They not only suggested that I file a complaint with you but also that I submit copies of my invoices with a detailed explanation to the Attorney Generals Office.

Desired Settlement: First i am seeking a refund of $69.00 for the svc call fee. I will wait to see what Applewoods response is before I pursue this matter further. Our furnace / air conditioner were not only in disrepair but dangerous and NO WHERE on the invoice did they mention that it was a safety issue!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/10) */ We have contacted the customer and agreed to refund the service call fee that was charged.

7/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 19, 2014, a Service Technician from ********* repairs the Surface Igniter on the furnace, but when he was reinstalling the equipment, he incorrectly wired the A/C portion of the system. This was discovered now in the month of June when we tried to turn on our A/C and it would not come on. My husband called Bell Plumbing and Heating the Service Technician discovered that this was incorrectly put back together. This service from Bell cost us $200 which could have been avoided if the ********* Technician would have assembled everything together correctly.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like for ********* to reimburse us the cost of our Bell Plumbing and Heating bill of $200 since this was their error.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/25) */ We have contacted the customer and agreed to reimburse her for the cost of the work that Bell Plumbing did. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ********* was very courteous and understanding in regards to the oomplaint and had no issue with refunding the $200. They said they would use this opportunity as a training issue for their technicians to check their work when completed.

4/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the relay switch on the boiler was fixed but the heat did not come on upstairs (main complaint for service call). **** said i ended a new quick fill valve. The second plumber I called in said I did not. the valve was either off or turned off.It was fine. Applewood may not have check d the valve.When ****n was done the pump leaked water constantly. He left with the water leaking. I have a drain. My second plumber THAT night bill is $480. Applewood said more repairs would cost me $1365.50. I wrote a check today to Applewood for $554.44. I will have it cancelled. The work was not done today and my boiler room was left in a watery mess. I was given estimates for: replace air vent 2 at $221, replace quick quick fiullvalve $694, replace circuit pump $907. two plumbers I called said these are way over priced..all of them. my new plumber who came to save the day is doing all work for $480. The worker **** was nice man and pleasant. He did not check the water baseboards until i told him they were still cold upstairs, then he checked. He said my boiler was old and corroded as were the "parts" mentioned. One plumber I called said I HAD TO TELL BBB as there are so many complaints against them -Applewood-and they are unethical and people need to know. I have never done this before.

Desired Settlement: i only ask there be no charge. I will cancel my check. the relay was replaced but the job was not done and no heat came on upstairs. I have a broken pump and wet boiler room. I dealt with this from apx 3-4pm till now at 9pm on 4-4-14. and talked to 3 plumbers. all said i was way way over charged. Shotty work for too much. Others will suffer with Applewood Services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/11) */ We will be refunding the money that ***** paid for our service. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/04/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) i accept their response. they will send me a check for $554 in 2 weeks. this is the honorable thing to do. it is worth mentioning that Applewood in my opinion charges 4 times what a job is worth. I have compared them to to 4 other plumbers. I am not comfortable in any way with Applewood and will never use them or recommend them. I do appreciate the refund. The serviceman was nice but I don't think he knew what he was doing either, based on what I was told by plumber #2 who did fix it/the boiler and the prices I was quoted were outrageous. thanks for the refund. I will contact the BBB if I DO NOT get it in 2 weeks.

1/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tech put in a used motor for furnance when we paid for a new motor and never advised that he was putting in a used motor. Left without saying a word Tech came to repair furnance and he didn't have the parts w/him. He made some calls and said he received the parts and he put them in. At no time did the tech advise he was going to put in used parts. Charged us for NEW parts, fixed the furnance and left. A new tech came out because we still had some water leaks and advised that the previous tech did not put in a new motor but a used one. After several calls to Applewood, they scheduled a visit by a supervisor to review the work. Fine. Then a couple of days later, Applewood called saying they have the new parts and want to schedule installation PRONTO. We advised that we wanted a supervisor to come out but they said no, that wasn't going to happen but that they would schedule installation. Kept asking why a used motor was used and not a new motor, why we were never advised that a used motor was put in. Applewood would NOT respond to these questions. We advised that we wanted a new tech to come and install the new motor and that pictures be taken. A new tech came, installed the new motor with 1 follow up call by Applewood.

Desired Settlement: Would like to know why the tech put in a used part without advising us AND charging us for a new part instead. Why management would not answer the question of why a used motor was put in. And what happened to the supervisor???? Why did he/she never review the work? Lastly, why isn't Applewood more professional with the prices they charge?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/02) */ There was a problem with the part that we received from our vendor and this was not pointed out to our customer by our technician. We apologize for the inconvenience and will be refunding the entire cost of the service visit to our customer to satisfy this complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Company has addressed all of our issues and we believe they have done so professionally. We will be giving Applewood another chance to provide our service needs inn the future.

11/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Applewood sold me a service contract & now refuses to come do the fall maintenance because they are too busy & will come out when the furnace breaks. We do not have the paperwork at this time, so I do not have that information.

Desired Settlement: I would like Applewood to honor the service contract they sold me, and certainly not to be told over the phone that they're "too busy (to come do the fall maintenance) 'cause a lot of people's furnaces are breaking down" and to just give them a call "when it goes out".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/31) */ Applewood will be servicing *** ******** furnace today & we apologized for rescheduling her appointment.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

86 Customer Reviews on Applewood Plumbing, Heating & Electric
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart