BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Excavation - Wet Utility Excavation is a specialty trade – trust the professionals at Apex Plumbing to keep risk and “collateral damage” at bay! 
Sewer Lines - Apex Plumbing has a long-standing reputation for handling complicated sewer line issues. We do the job right, the first time, and we stand by our work! 
Trenchless - Let the experts at Apex Plumbing take care of your sewer line replacement in the most low impact way – Trenchless! 
Tap Repair - Let Apex Plumbing guide you through the complicated, and often times stressful, tap repair process. 
Water Lines - If you have concerns or are experiencing problems with your water service line, Apex Plumbing is the company to call! 
Fire Lines - Licensed, Bonded and Insured across Colorado’s front range to repair or replace fire lines – from mains to structures and everything in between! 
Plumbing - Contact us about your everyday plumbing needs and we’ll see to it that you are put in good hands! 
Site Restoration - We have the equipment and expertise to handle the entire job in-house, from start to finish. 
Video Inspection / Locating - Sewer line locating is now standard procedure prior to excavating and underground plumbing, eliminating guesswork and added costs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apex Plumbing Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Apex Plumbing Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 1992 Business started: 04/30/1991 in CO Business started locally: 04/30/1991 Business incorporated 02/14/1995 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Plumbers
1560 Broadway Suite 550, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brian Wilkie, President Mr. Jim McLemore, Marketing & Sales Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim McLemore, Marketing & Sales Director
Principal: Mr. Brian Wilkie, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
APEX Plumbing Co.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Apex Plumbing Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12275 W. 48th Ave.

    Wheat Ridge, CO 80033


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apex Plumbing failed to assess the problem and fix the sewer line in our home, resulting in damage to the home and the the need to hire someone else. We had a sewer line break outside near the house. Apex Plumbing fixed it for $2,700 on 7/10/15. The camera showed the line was in good shape but found another break in the alley attaching to the main sewer which cost $6,500 on 7/14/15. Several times I asked if the entire sewer line should be replaced, because if it had two breaks, logic would dictate the pipe entire pipe would be in the same condition. I was assured again and again that it was in good shape. In the course of these repairs the following errors were made: 1. They forgot to have the sewer by the kitchen inspected, so after it was completed it had to be dug up again the next day for the city to inspect. 2. They left the garden hose on next to the house, flooding the basement. 3. They dug a 14 foot deep trench in the alley and missed the sewer hook up. They left at noon blocking the alley for the entire weekend, returning Monday to fill it back in and dig in another place. After $9200 was paid, the sewer line that they fixed backed up in the basement a week later. Their response was that they would now need to dig a hole through the garage floor where there was a blockage, and that would cost an additional $3,000. They said it was not their fault, since it had nothing to do with their repairs, which were at the beginning and end of this line, the blockage was in the middle. We tried to talk to the owner, but was told his was rarely in the office and couldn't be reached. We talked to a project manager who wouldn't take any responsibility for the problem, then he emailed over the weekend communicating that they penalized the crew with unpaid time off. That action didn't do anything to resolve my back up issues or inability to use water for a week. The end result was hiring ********* ********* who solved the problem by replacing the sewer line and re-routing the line that ran under the garage, around the garage. They were able to adequately assess the situation, fix it, and guarantee their work. The money spent with Apex was totally wasted. In addition to what Apex charged, we incurred addition costs due to their flooding the basement. After their repairs, the sewer backed up in the house, putting pressure on water pipes behind the washing machine, and then that needed to be replaced, along with drywall, mold mitigation, and flooring. I believe a refund is warranted due to the incompetent repair which did not fix the problem and actually caused damage to my home.

Desired Settlement: I believe a refund is in order as the work that Apex not only failed, but caused further damage. Because the line backed up in the house my additional repair bills will or have included: $5,000 of plumbing in the basement drywall replacement mold mitigation flooring replacement having another company complete the sewer repair

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/10/23) */ To say the least we were surprised to see the complaint from **** along with the bad reviews on other sites. Our recollection of how the job went is quite a bit different than hers. I would like to meet with or at the least speak with **** prior to submitting our full answer. I have attempted to get **** to call me with no luck. I will make a few more attempts and if I am not successful, we will submit our response with the BBB. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2015/10/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The letter from Mr. ******* I uploaded states that ***** is open to discuss the matter of compensation. That monetary figure is what would move this forward. Again, we have paid Apex $9,200. We paid a contractor this weekend $5,616.00 to repair the flooding damage in the basement from our garden hose which was left on by a basement window. We also paid another company to fix the sewer. When Apex left that day, we could not put water down any drains because they repaired the two ends of the sewer pipe and said the blockage that was in the middle was not their fault. Their recollection that the job well is curious. Being able to flush after a sewer job would be an indication to me that it went well. They needed to fix the clog without the additional $3,000.00 cost and digging a hole in the concrete foundation in the garage. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2015/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not heard a proposed resolution from the company. What concession is offered? Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2015/12/07) */ When we initially arrived, the line was already backed up into the basement through the broken kitchen line. Apex made the repair at of that line and re-scoped. The tap was found to be cracked. The customer chose to have the tap repaired as well. The rest of the line looked good. A month after we worked at the property, the line backed up again and a 3rd repair was needed due to a break under the garage. We did give the customer price to fix that break. The customer did not choose to move forward with that repair. At no time did the repairs performed by Apex fail. Both repairs made by Apex are intact. The Apex warranty only covers pipe repaired by Apex. The break in the clay pipe under the garage would not be covered under warranty. As far as the mitigation goes: Apex was not the cause of any backups at the house. The customer could have had the full line replaced if they wanted to make sure the line never backed up again.

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishonest company practice We hired Apex Plumbing to replace our rental property water lines 20 months ago. The quote was to replace outside lines and there would be no more leaking pipes. We paid $3,450 for the work. 20 months later, the pipe burst and we incurred over $1,000 water charges. We called them to fix the issue. First of all, we have to call multiple times for someone to come out. After that, they did not fix it right away. Instead they came back the next day (so we continued to pay for the leaking water fees). After they fixed it, now they refused to honor the warranty and sent us a bill for $2,500. There is no estimate and/or approval (whatsoever) before they started the work. We were under the understanding the company will honor the warranty. They hold us hostage at this point and tell us they fill file a lien on our property. Usually there is no way to know if a company is honest or not until things happened. I'd never use this company anymore and I'd make sure the community aware of this and think twice before anyone will hire them again.

Desired Settlement: We believe they should honor the warranty and stop the dishonest practice to cheat on consumers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/06/25) */ In July of 2012 we (Apex Plumbing) replaced a water line at Mr. ****'s property from just outside the meter pit to the building. In April of 2014 Mr. **** contacted us regarding a leak. We immediately dispatched a repair crew to correct the problem as it seemed the problem would be covered under warranty. We excavated the area in which the water was visible and found a soldered connection underground. We also found the water line was carrying electricity. The crew members were being zapped when handling the copper line. We spoke with the tenants and they mentioned a similar problem when showering. We turned off the electricity to the house and continued our inspection of the pipe. We found that the solder connection (against code, underground) had a pin hole. We did not install that connection. Furthermore we feel the fact that the line was energized and grounding out to the earth caused the pin hole in the pipe. Once we determined this, we contacted Mr. **** and gave him the news and repair price of $****. He agreed to the repair and we moved forward. Once everything was complete, Mr. **** claimed his wife would not allow him to pay because they feel our warranty should cover this repair. The pin hole was not in the pipe we replaced and furthermore we would never use a solder connection underground being it would not pass inspection. Lastly the line being energized most likely caused the pin hole. We continued to have dialogue with Mr. ****. cont... Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2014/06/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response Apex provided consists of some true and some false facts (as usual). Important information is omitted and facts are twisted. The day when the pipe was burst, we called Apex and they did not come out until 3 more calls. So when they claimed they came out immediately, it's a lie. They came out at the end of the day, took a look and told us they'd come back and fix it the next day. It costed us additional $500 of water fee. The next day when they fixed the pipe, we did not hear anything until the work was done. According to him, the pipe was bursted due to leak of electricity and told us to hire an electrician. He also informed me it's not cover under warranty and when I asked the cost, he said he'll let me know a few days later. We hired an electrician and the electrician said even it's leaking electricity, the pipe should not burst, it does not make sense to him. And it's relate back to the work Apex did 18 months ago. 3 days later Apex called and told me the cost was $****. I was shocked and told him he did not give me an estimate before he performed the work. Then he lowered the cost to $****. I told him I wanted to talk to the owner. 1 week later, he called and wanted me to pay $****. I said I wanted to talk to the owner and he threatened to put a lien on my property if I did not pay the $**** right away. So we paid and filed a complaint right away. He called the next day and told me he would get fired if the owner find out he did not give me an estimate before he performed the work. The work is not an approved job on our part. He did not inform the owner the whole time. He want us to help him cover his mistake so he'd save his job. The intent of me filing a complaint is not to get him fired. But rather to discuss the unapproved work he performed when the whole time we thought it's under warranty. My wife does not want to pay it's because estimate need to be provided and mutual agreement need to be met before work is performed. It's not an acceptable business practice to perform work and charge whatever the business wants to charge afterwards. When Apex called me last week, he asked me to delete the complaint. I told him I am willing to negotiate and wants to talk to the owner, he hang up on me. At the point, we have 2 requests: 1. Talk to the owner (as this is the request at the beginning). The owner needs to be aware of dishonest and rude employee the company has.g). 2. Refund us 50% of the cost because it's not an approved work. And we were under the impression it should be covered under warranty. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/07/10) */ In short: Mr. **** called in complaining of his water line leaking. We dispatched a crew under warranty and removed asphalt and excavated down to the water line to address the leak. Once excavated we found the water line was carrying electricity and a pinhole leak had developed in the water line between the meter and our previous repair. Our previous repair was not damaged or leaking. There was a soldered connection in the line and that is where the pinhole had developed. It is against code to bury soldered connections. Our diagnosis was that the electricity grounding out caused the pinhole. The estimator called Mr. **** and explained the situation. Mr. **** was told that the repair would not be covered under warranty and the price to repair was $****. Mr. **** approved the price and we moved forward with the repair. Once the job was complete, Mr. **** claimed his wife was angry and would not allow him to pay for the repair. After a couple weeks of going back and forth, we agreed to lower the price to $**** and Mr. **** agreed to pay and paid with is credit card. A couple of weeks later, we were surprised to receive the complaint from the BBB. We reached out to Mr. **** regarding the complaint and he said his wife had submitted the complaint and he was going to talk to her. We feel we stood behind our warranty 100%. Our pipe did not fail and the pipe was energized with house power. In a ********: We dispatched a crew to make the warranty repair, once uncovered, it was determined the repair was not a warranty issue, the customer was called and the price was delivered, Mr. **** approved the price and the repair was made. We feel we dealt with the customer and situation in a professional matter. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2014/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Both responses are all lies and BS. Extremely disappointed. I am getting tired to deal with a dishonest company. At least we know there is one company we are not going to deal with anymore. And we'll share this with our friends and neighbors. What an expensive lesson for us to learn. I wish more customers will file complaints with BBB and let potential customers aware of this.

5/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are attempting to charge us an excessive amount for unauthorized work. OUr neighbor had sewer work done by Apex. When Apex did their work, they discovery our sewer was incorrectly hooked up. They unhooked it, the city told them to rehook it properly since it was already full dug up and they then billed us $4k and threatened city assessments and liens if we did not pay it. We spoke to the city inspector who informed us that no significant work was done that only a small piece of exposed pipe was run and he instructed them to do it b/c the work was so mininal. It should not cost $4k. And they should not be threatening us with liens, city assessments (with the city inspector says is inaccurate).

Desired Settlement: I would like them to stop threatening us for money they are not entitled to.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/05/07) */ While excavating our customer's tap, we found Mrs. ******'s sewer line to be illegally tied into her rear neighbor's line (our customer). Apparently when Mrs. ******'s sewer line was replaced, the contractor did not want to go through the trouble of legally connecting her sewer to her tap 14' deep, pulling permits or filling the alley with flowable backfill, which are all requirements of Denver Waste Water. In fact Mrs. ******'s sewer tap was left completely open and eventually would have caused a void in the alley and could have backed up the entire sewer main. Being we generally charge over $5000 to repair a 14' deep tap, we felt $4000 was fair. After Mrs. ****** continued to show her displeasure, I lowered the amount to $2000. I asked Mrs. ****** what she felt was reasonable, and she replied $100. $100 does not even cover the permits and is an insult. As of right now we are willing to offer Mrs. ****** a price of $750. She must remove her complaint with the BBB and cease and desist any further or past actions or complaints regarding Apex Plumbing.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Apex Plumbing Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart