BBB Accredited Business since

Adams Plumbing & Heating Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 670-9171 1552 Bergen Pkwy, Evergreen, CO 80439 http://www.adamsplumbingheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Adams Plumbing & Heating Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Adams Plumbing & Heating Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Adams Plumbing & Heating Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 18, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 07/15/1997 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Plumbers
1560 Broadway Suite 550, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300
plumbing@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harvey Adams, President Ms. Terry Adams, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harvey Adams, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Terry Adams, Vice President
Business Category

Plumbers


Additional Locations

  • 1552 Bergen Pkwy

    Evergreen, CO 80439 (303) 670-9171

  • PO Box 3908

    Evergreen, CO 80437

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Possibly non-new rebuilt product installed. Possibly an older rebuilt product where ****** ***** buys his Watts PRV. Watts Model # 3/4 ********** ****** ***** sent a technician to replace our Pressure Reducing valve a couple weeks ago. I watched the technician do the work as I held a flashlight for him for an hour. I was very surprised to see him take the replacement WATTS Model # 3/4 ********** out of an old dirty Watts box with outside dents in the cardboard. There were dirt and stains inside the box. I thought it was maybe just a transport box and did not ask. Three weeks later I go down to look at the PRV after receiving invoice. I was looking for a model number which is on the PRV. I was very surprised to see all the flat screw heads to the unit have bent heads. Watts sells rebuild kits so I thought maybe ****** got a rebuilt one from his supplier by "mistake". I emailed ****** three times asking for a possible new PRV. I then called him and he was very defensive. He said the dirty box issue was that the boxes bounce around in the trucks. That does not explain the inside dirt. He added that maybe the technician "tightened the screws". I invited him to come to my house and look at the PRV in person. ****** comes out with the technician and said all new PRVs have bent screw heads. He said all new watts PRVs have that because they are put on by hand. ****** called me **** three times and then I told him that was not my name. He said he thought my name was ****. Obviously he did not really care what my name was after receiving my emails and speaking to me twice on the telephone. I have now ordered a new Watts Model # 3/4 *********** from **** ***** for $68. ******'s invoice was for $125 for his Watts Model # 3/4 ***********

Desired Settlement: New product installed out of new unopened box. ****** will not do this so asking for an invoice $125 less at a minimum.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/30) */ Adams Plumbing dispatched a technician to the home of this customer on June 24, 2015 to install a Pressure Reducing Valve (PRV) at his home. The technician performed the work and had to install the PRV, a 3/4" x 1/2" T, a boiler drain, a 3/4" ball valve and a small length of 3/4" copper pipe to do so. ***** was invoiced for said work on July 6 and he came by with a check for payment on July 9 and it was deposited July 9. The next communication from ***** was via email. He emailed Adams Plumbing and Heating three times; on Saturday morning July 11, at 6:30 am, stating that 2 of the flat screw heads had the metal bent at the screw driver slot (his complaint filed with the BBB indicates that all the screw slots have burrs), again at 7:25 am and again at 9:51 am to say that he intended to stop payment on the check. (Please see copies of emails embedded below.) Our office is closed on Saturday and Sunday, but takes emergency calls and our greeting informs callers of this. There is absolutely no credibility to ***** *****'s claim that a rebuilt product was installed at his home. His claim is unwarranted and absurd and an insult to our company. We buy only new products to install and provide warranty on all of our installed products and labor. The Pressure Reducing Valve (PRV) was installed by a professional plumber/licensed technician and is in good working order. Our supplier does not even handle rebuilt products, only new. On Monday July 13, ****** *****, the owner of Adams Plumbing & Heating, received the e-mails and called *****. ****** explained that our trucks are stocked with inventory and that sometimes a box can get worn if it has been in stock for a period of time, he also indicated that PRVs oft times have slight damage (burs) to the screw driver slots as the screws are assembled by hand at the factory. ****** offered to come to his house the very next morning, Tuesday, July 14 to show him another brand new PRV with the same small imperfections, first hand. The burrs on the screw heads are very slight and have no bearing on the products' performance. They have 8 screw heads on top, nicks appearing on 2 of them is very minimal and normal. (I have attached a picture of one that was just taken out of the box and 3 of it's screw heads have the burrs on them.) On Tuesday morning July 14, ***** called shortly before the scheduled meeting (****** was in his truck enroute) and indicated he had to cancel. (***** had sent an e-mail at 5:25 pm on Monday night, again after business hours, saying that he wouldn't be able to meet him the next morning at 8 am (which is the start of our business hours) ) ****** pleasantly rescheduled the meeting for the very next morning, Wednesday, July 15. Adams Plumbing's shop is a very busy business and rescheduling definitely affects our productivity, not to mention the time to make another, unwarranted, trip to this customer's home, but he was more than willing to do that to put the customer's mind at ease. By the way, ****** and his technician were going to numerous stops on Wednesday and the next one was for a customer with the first name of **** and in the confusion of dispatching his technicians out for the day ****** inadvertently called *****, ****. ***** corrected him and ****** apologized. In reference to the amount ***** could purchase a product for at **** ****** the products that **** ***** provides are not always equivalent and there are times that **** ***** can price the same as our suppliers. The product we installed is a Watts 3/4" LF25AUB-S-Z3. He was charged our cost, which is more than what he is saying he can get it for at *********t and includes tax, and a reasonable markup for cost of doing business, inventory, handling, etc., (this particular unit received a 37% mark up) We now do not have payment for work and material that has been installed at ***** *****'s house. He stopped payment on the check without cause. *****'s resolution of us installing another PRV is unreasonable and unnecessary, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the one that is already installed and there is no reason for our company to go to the expense of replacing a perfectly good product. His offer to install a product that he buys from **** ***** and crediting him the amount he was charged for the product we installed is ridiculous! Most importantly, the model numbers are not consistent and may not be the same product. We are expecting to receive payment for this work and we will have no other recourse but to lien his home for the amount owed if we do not receive payment ASAP. EMAIL #3: From: ***** & ***** (email blocked) To: adamsplumbing <*************@aol.com> Subject: Follow-up: Attn: ****** Date: Sat, Jul 11, XXXX X:XX am ******, We dropped off the check for the invoice on Thursday this week. We now have decided to discuss this PRV issue with you before releasing payment on the check. I talked with my bank today regarding a stop payment. The check will not deposit. If we can resolve the problem then I can call my bank to release payment on the check. Call me any time. Thanks, ***** xxxx C# (cell phone blocked out) EMAIL #2: From: ***** & ***** email blocked out Sent: Saturday, July 11, 2015 7:26 AMTo: '*************@aol.com'Subject: FW: Attn: ****** ******, If we I buy a new PRV, this same model (click here), will you install it for us (1 hour or less)? The new ball valve installed above it can be shut off so the pipes hoepfully wlll not have to drain (?). It looks like a new PRV will screw on and off or not? ***** (cell and address blocked out) EMAIL #1: From: ***** & ***** e-mail blocked out Sent: Saturday, July 11, 2015 6:31 AMTo: '*************@aol.com'Subject: Attn: ****** ******: This is ***** last name and e-mail blocked out) Was the Watts PRV installed a rebuilt unit? Model # 3/4 LF25AUB-Z3 Two of the flat screw heads on the PRV have the metal bent at the screwdriver slot. The body of the PRV has little nicks off the gold body. Please let me know. I will have to get a new one to be totally happy. Thank you, ***** (last name deleted) Cell# (number blocked out) Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 7, 2015/07/22) */ The model # I bought from **** ***** is Model # 3/4 ********** (not ************* Z3 not Z30. It's an identical Watts PRV model installed by *****. Thank you, *****

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problem originally reported to Company not repaired. Performed unauthorized services. Performed unsafe electrical repairs. Tech had hostile attitude. April and May 9, 13. Called *****-C/o furnace going on and off. Flames turn on then off. Not heating. Tech comes out, I'm at work. Did not contact me after diagnosing problem before repairing work. Changed electric plug on furnace without going to fuse box. Unsafe. Had he gone to fuse box he would have noted that fuses were turned off thus realizing the elec cord was not the problem. Tightened up duct work not asked to do. Another HVAC tech scheduled to redo existing ducts since ***** does not perform this type of service. Warm days, did not turn on heat. Total bill $275. 3 weeks later, turned on heat. Original problem occurring again. Called ***** reporting furnace not fixed. Sent same tech out again. Not friendly. Stated he had to go down to the dungeon to work. (partial basement, partial crawl space). I went to basementwith tech and asked if he turned off the breaker the first visit. He said No that he never went to the fuse box. He then found problem, a part needed cleaning. No new parts put in. Came upstairs, kept insisting to do more work "since he had his tools out, stating he might as well". Was portraying he was doing me a favor. I kept saying "no, i can do it". (Like changing the filter). He then presented me a bill in the amount of $175. $75. trip fee. Business is 6 miles from my home. $100 for 1 hr service. He was only there 40 min. I TIMED IT! I said I can't believe he was trying to bill me again. I said the original amount of $275 was horrendous. I then stated this was crazy to charge me as the problem should have been fixed the first time. He stated there were 2 different problems. I said no there wasn't. The same original problem was occurring, therefor how could it be two different problems. He then got very nasty and argumentative to me. Yelling that it was different issues. He yelled at me stating "Do you think i want to come back here and go in that dungeon again if i didn't have to". How professional is this. I told him he needed to leave that I will call the owner and speak to him. His attitude was threatening and totally uncalled for. He then took the bill off his chart board and threw it at me across the kitchen island. He said you need to sign it. I have NEVER been treated like this by any person I hired to do work. I refused to pay. I did not hear from ***** until a few months later when they called and stated they just realized I had an outstanding bill. I explained this to the female who works in the office. She spoke with the owner, then called me back stating that they will drop the trip charge, but I still owed $100. I told her he was only there 40 min. Then she went on to say that my electrician must have done something wrong. I said "my electrician NEVER went in to the basement". She said the tech had to do wiring to the thermostat". I said "that wire is only millivolts "has nothing to do with electrical to the furnace". She continued stating different scenario's as to what the tech must have done". It was ridiculous. I told her "I would pay the invoice" but I was very unhappy and was going to contact the BBB. I have perfect credit and do not want this event to hurt my credit record. I said to her that how can they charge $75. for a trip charge when they are only 5 miles away. She then stated that I should have inquired about the rates before I hired them. I figured it was useless to continue as I was getting nowhere explaining to her the issue. She also stated to me that every customer "just loves this technician". Obviously this Company did not care and were not apologetic over the way I was treated. I would not, & could not, even attempt to fabricate this story. Not to mention waste my time writing to the BBB if I was treated with professionalism and respect and didn't feel threatened in my own home. I try and support local businesses, but never again with *****'s. Very disappointed.

Desired Settlement: Pay back the $75 I paid for the 40 min service call.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/28) */ Adams Plumbing & Heating Company's technicians are always very customer focused, professional and knowledgable. This technician, in particular, is an expert in this line of work and if service was suggested on her system, it was justified and would never have been performed in an unsafe manner. Adams Plumbing & Heating has been proud to provide quality service to its customers for the past 21 years, with virtually no complaints. It is unfortunate that this customer found the service to be less than satisfactory. We could not satisfy this customer and she was given a total refund of her money for the the first service call to her home ($275.00) and the second invoice has been voided. Adams Plumbing & Heating Company's rates are very competitive, we charge $100 (varies due to distance from the office) for the first 15 minutes of work and $25 for each 15 minute increment thereafter, plus material. The plumbing office may be a particular distance from a customer's home but our techs travel from job to job. They could have been coming from quite a distance away to get to her job, it is a variable. Our employees are well-trained and covered by Worker's Compensation Insurance. Our vehicles are insured and we carry liability insurance. There is always a cost of doing business no matter what line of work you may be in. Our rates are very much in-line with other companies of like service. We appreciate the opportunity to respond to this customer complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/10/29) */ see previous "more info from consumer" dated 10.17.13

7/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid $1025.00 and they did NOT fix the problem with my heat. Now they say if I pay another 5000+, well this time they will fix it. The boiler was shutting off and not putting out heat. They came and said they repaired it, but. The exact same thing keeps happening today.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back. They did not fix the problem. $1025.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/11) */ ***** Plumbing was called out on a "no heat." ***** responded and found burner delay and backfire at ignition. We calibared air baffle and gas valve air and gas ratio. Ignition was better but still intermitent lock out. We inspected ignitor assembly. Lots of debris and corrosion. We took apart flue and removed heat exchanger assembly, burner, and fan; and cleaned, reassembled, purged air from zones, and recalibrated. We also conferred with boiler manufacturer's tech support. Their conclusion, after all efforts were taken to clean and repair, were that boiler was in too bad of shape to be repaired. They suggested total replacement. ***** talked to local sales rep and got a special price on a replacement with a price which would help homeowner recoop back most of money for inital serive call. ***** left homeowner voice mail with replacement info. ***** never got a courtesy call back or any other contact from homeowner. ***** spent over 8 hours to try to get this boiler repaired. ***** offered the best long term help possible Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response I got from them was basically to stop bothering them and tough luck. So, no I do not accept their response. I paid them 1025 dollars for absolutely nothing. What they did was the equivalent of taking my car to the shop with a flat tire, and the shop replacing the starter, and telling me it's fixed. I refuse to be ripped off like this. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/04/25) */ ***** Plumbing & Heating Company's customer was never told to "stop bothering us and tough luck". After spending 8 hours at the customer's home and working with the boiler manufacturer's technical support to attempt to get his boiler up and running and trying all solutions possible to get the boiler completely functional, the only option left was to replace the boiler. This customer was a new owner of this home and we advised the customer to call the realtor involved in the transaction, as a certification of the heating system is standard protocol during the home purchase process. We were willing to go over and above and help him with this situation. In addition, we offered him the option to replace the boiler at a price that provided him credit for the money he already spent on the repair time. We were able to accomplish this offer by negotiating a lower cost of the boiler with the local Laars representative and were willing to pass *** savings directly on to the customer. Again, proof that our company was willing to go over and above to help this customer. The customer contacted you, the BBB, without further contact/discussion with our company on the offer outlined above. We were more than willing to help him. This solution was a fair solution for all parties involved. We are still willing to replace this boiler for him if the boiler model/ negotiated price is still available from the manufacturer. The customer can contact us and let us know if he would like to proceed. We take great pride in our customer service and our ability to work through difficult situations with customers, this one is no different. Sincerely, ***** Plumbing & Heating Company Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2013/06/15) */ I submitted my response on time I think. But, I noticed today that the case was closed. Why is it closed? This is not even close to being resolved. Please respond when possible. And please, feel free to call XXX-XXX-XXXX. If I could speak with someone it would make the case much more clear for you. Thanks ahead of time. Business Response /* (-10, 23, 2013/06/28) */ From: ***** ******** * ******* ******** ** *** ***** **** ****** ******** ********** ** XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX, *********************, **************************** (mailto:*********************) Sent: Friday, June 28, XXXX X:XX AM To: ************************** Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#75193082(Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXXX) What is the status on this? I was trying to call you but can't find a number. How is it that the consumer doesn't meet deadlines but can continue to reopen issue. We have offered them a solution and are being more than fair. Please advise, Thanks, ***** ***** Adams Plumbing & Heating Company