This business is not BBB accredited.

Aspire Family Medicine

Phone: (303) 835-9915 9620 E Arapahoe Rd, Greenwood Village, CO 80112 http://www.aspirefamilymedicine.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aspire Family Medicine include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aspire Family Medicine
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 2011 Business started: 06/24/2009 Business started locally: 06/24/2009 Business incorporated 06/24/2009 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Medical Examiners
1560 Broadway Ste 1300, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/medical
Phone Number: (303) 894-7690
medical@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Benjamin Schnurr, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Benjamin Schnurr, President/Owner
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Family Practice Physicians & Surgeons - Osteopathic-D.O. Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Alternate Business Names
South Denver Primary Care

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9620 E Arapahoe Rd

    Greenwood Village, CO 80112 (303) 835-9915

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Covered services billed to insurance company incorrectly; promised to re-bill insurance twice but never done; threatened me with collections. My health insurer, United Health Care (UHC), requires an annual health assessment including basic screening numbers (blood pressure, cholesterol, etc.), which is covered by the plan since they require it. On 10/24/2013, I had an appointment with ****** Macumber at your practice for this purpose. Since this visit should be covered 100% by UHC, I assumed all was well. In August, 2014, (10 months later!) I received a bill for $126.61 for this visit. I immediately called the practice and spoke to ******** in the billing department. During the conversation and reviewing my account on the UHC web site, I discovered that, while the visit should have been billed as a blood draw and office visit, it was billed as two identical blood draws. UHC promptly denied the second blood draw as a duplicate, which it was. ******** promised to resubmit the bill to UHC for the office visit. On November 3, 2014, I received another bill for $126.61 and called the practice the next morning. Again, I spoke to ******** in the billing department and explained the issue. Reviewing the my account on the UHC web-site, there was no record of the visit being re-billed in August; however, ******** again promised to re-bill UHC for the visit, stating that it will take 2-4 weeks for UHC to process it, but she will contact me by phone once she has a response from UHC. On November 11, 2014, I received a third bill for $126.61 with a threat that my account will be sent to collections. Furthermore, this statement, and threat, is signed by the same ******** I have spoken to each time regarding this issue. This office visit is covered by UHC. It is not my fault your office failed to correctly bill UHC for the visit. It is not my fault your office failed to notify me in a timely manner; 10 months is excessive. It is not my fault you office promised to re-bill UHC twice, yet there is no record of that occuring.

Desired Settlement: I paid the $126.61 to prevent this from going to collections this evening by credit card; however, I expect to be reimbursed this amount, 100%. I will assist your office in properly re-billing UHC in an attempt for them to cover the cost of office visit if it is not too late. Regardless of the outcome, though, I still expect to be reimbursed. I should not be penalized for your office's mistakes and lack of follow through. If UHC still refuses the claim, your office should write this off due to internal clerical/office error.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/16) */ Due to the federal HIPAA privacy and security standard laws in which we are bound, we cannot legally reveal any medically related information, including billing information, for any patient of our practice. Doing so would subject our medical providers to fines from the federal government and would put our providers at risk of losing their medical license. If we have a signed release from a patient that allows us to post their medical related information on the BBB website, we can comment on a specific complaint if appropriate. Regarding this complaint, again we cannot comment specifically on the BBB website. If this complaint is from one of our patients we will address their concerns directly with them. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/12/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I received a phone call from the office manager today. This issue is not resolved yet, but she is working on it and needs up to 45 days or so to work the issue. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aspire Family Medicine
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)