This business is not BBB accredited.

Denver Dermatology Consultants PC

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 426-4525 1551 Milky Way, Denver, CO 80260 http://www.denverderm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Denver Dermatology Consultants PC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Denver Dermatology Consultants PC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 2003 Business started: 06/01/1982 Business started locally: 06/01/1982 Business incorporated 06/01/1982 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Medical Examiners
1560 Broadway Ste 1300, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/medical
Phone Number: (303) 894-7690
medical@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Robert Wright, Owner Ms. Amanda Farrara, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Robert Wright, Owner
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Dermatology Skin Care


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Denver Dermatology Consultants PC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1551 Milky Way

    Denver, CO 80260 (303) 426-4525

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2970 Quebec St Ste 200

    Denver, CO 80207

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8550 W 38th Ave Ste 108

    Wheat Ridge, CO 80033

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received injections into my keloid scars on my chest on 4/10/2014. The injections failed to yield any result or change in my keloid scars. On 4/10/14, I received injections for my keloid scars from Dr. Joseph Simodynes. I have received injections to reduce the size of my keloid scars routinely for many years from different dermatologists in the Denver area. Every time I had ALWAYS seen a result which was a reduction in the size of the keloid scar or scars injected. That is what I am paying for when I agree to undergo the procedure. My wife and I have called several times since the 4/10 procedure to express our concerns about paying for a procedure that was ineffective. We have spoken to several people at the practice regarding the 4/10 procedure. This week we were eventually routed to a doctor. The most recent conversation occurred the morning of 7-23-14. The doctor my wife spoke with said they would not refund us the money we paid for the service. In his explanation he compared the keloid injections to having a biopsy done. This is ludicrous. A biopsy of skin tissue or tissues and an injection into keloid scar or scars are two completely different things. I never signed any documentation prior to my treatment saying that the treatment might not work and that I could very possibly pay for a service that yielded no result. I feel like I took $100 bill and flushed it down the toilet and no one at this office is concerned that I paid for a service that yielded no result. I went back on 6/24/14 to have more injections into my keloid scars. This service DID yield a result, and I have no problems paying for that service. In closing, I know what to expect when I book an appointment to receive keloid injections. On 4/10 I did not get what I paid for. The doctor I spoke with made it clear on 7-23 that we were going to get stuck with paying money for a treatment that yielded no result. Ethically, that is wrong. I am not looking for anything free, but I do not feel it is right to pay for a service and not receive any type of positive outcome.

Desired Settlement: I want $104.67 credited to my account for receiving a keloid treatment that yielded no result.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/29) */ The patient paid for a service that was rendered by the doctor. Results are never guaranteed, and sometimes more aggressive treatments may be required, and they are billed separately. Regardless of how the body reacts to any treatment option given, the physician provided the service and it was billed appropriately. The expectations of the patient do not enter into the equation; when a physician performs a service, the patient is billed for the service. Patients are never billed for results meeting their expectations. For example, if a patient had in vitro fertilization and it didn't take, they would still be required to pay for the service, even though they did not get the desired result. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response from the business. If a patient is paying for a mole to be removed, the expectation is that the mole is to be removed. If a patient is paying for in vitro fertilization which was described as an example in the response above, there are documents signed by the patient that explain that results are not guaranteed and there are failure and success rates associated with that procedure. No document was ever signed by me, the patient, stating that: a. The keloid injections may not work b. There are failure rates/percentages for keloid injections and that I understood that prior to the injections. I was simply charged for an injection with the expectation that it would yield a result. I was also never told that it might not yield a result. As I stated in my original complaint, I have always had keloid injections yield a result with other dermatologists who have treated me. The response by the business is not acceptable because I never signed any documentation stating that the treatment I would be receiving may be unsuccessful. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/05) */ On the date of the visit in question (4/10/14), Dr. Simodynes documented in the patient's electronic chart: "Condition discussed in detail with the patient. KENALOG INJ (JXXXX) (Informed verbal consent obtained before procedure was done. 0.6cc of 20mg/cc of ILK was injected into the site. Risk of atrophy, hypopigmentation and telangiectasia formation discussed before proceeding.) (12 Units) Post Procedure Care Given" The patient paid $104.67 on June 20 for the patient responsibility per their insurance agreement. On that same day, our Operations Manager talked to the patient and explained that sometimes skin conditions require more aggressive treatment. The patient scheduled a visit for 4 days later. The patient returned for treatment on June 24, and we increased the dosage to 30 mg/cc. The patient responded positively to the increase in dosage, however, the patient still owes $60.46 for this date of service, and has yet to pay their patient responsibility for this encounter. On July 23, the patient's wife (****) called the office to complain. She spoke with me directly. I am the Practice Administrator, and I am not a doctor. I never misrepresented myself as being a doctor; apparently this assumption was made by the patient's wife. I reiterated the conversation that my Operations Manager had with her on 6/20, and said that the encounter was billed appropriately. The patient's wife adamantly refused to accept that we bill for services rendered, not expectations. I gave her a clarifying example, which she did not appreciate. I told her that if we performed a biopsy and the results came back from the pathologist as inconclusive, that she would still be expected to pay for the biopsy, because the service was performed. She failed to make the connection, although I thought it was pretty clear physicians bill for services rendered, not results meeting patients' expectations. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not acceptable. The above response pertains to billing. I never signed any documentation stating that the keloid treatment may or may not work. It is concerning that this practice does not care that the treatment that I received did not yield a result.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Denver Dermatology Consultants PC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart