BBB Accredited Business since

Colorado Orthopedic Rehabilitation Specialists, LLC

Phone: (303) 457-2022 Fax: (303) 457-2320 11325 Colorado Blvd, Thornton, CO 80233 http://www.coloradoorthorehab.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Colorado Orthopedic Rehabilitation Specialists, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Colorado Orthopedic Rehabilitation Specialists, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Colorado Orthopedic Rehabilitation Specialists, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 22, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2005 Business started locally: 04/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Physical Therapy Licensure
1560 Broadway Ste 1340, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/physical-therapy/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2440
pt@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brad Schoonveld, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Schoonveld, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Physical Therapists


Additional Locations

  • 11325 Colorado Blvd

    Thornton, CO 80233 (303) 457-2022

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I experienced back pain. During a scheduled appointment, the doctor administered therapy insisting that it was making me feel better but it wasn't. It increased the pain. On my way out, he scheduled me for several more appointments. When I got a reminder call for the first appointment, I informed them that I didn't want to return. I keep getting calls for the other appointments. When I didn't show, I got a bill for co-pays unpaid. The unfairly billed copays were forwarded to a collection agency. I disputed the debt with the collection agency in writing within the listed 30 days. I acknowledged the dispute was timely but kept sending me the same issue to dispute within 30 days. I could not keep up with the repeated 30 day limits. The collection agency put a negative mark on my credit report. I feel I was being setup for repeated treatment that was designed to only get money from my health insurance and not to make me better. Even though the clinic scheduled me all at once for repeated appointments not by my request, it would not let me cancel all my appointments together. It kept calling and billing me for copays. Product_Or_Service: Medical Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXxxxx

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) The amount is not a concern to me. It is only $128. I will pay the amount. My main concern is to remove the negative mark on my credit report. But I would like to have Colorado Rehab cease with the predatory tactics of pressuring injured people into appointments that do nothing to heal but only to get money from insurance companies.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/12) */ Patient was seen for 2 appointments by myself July 22 for his initial evaluation and treatment, his follow-up appointment was August 14 which was in 3 weeks. As I always discuss with any patient when there are spine issues, the goal is to reduce the inflammation to the area at which time symptoms should subside. The progress is determine how he responds to treatment and how long symptoms are reduced which determines how subsequent visits will progress. Given he had a time span of 3 weeks between appointments and after the initial appointment where he did feel better but I was uncertain how long he felt better it was hard to determine if there was progress made. As with any sprain to any body part, there is never immediate response with any treatment and does take time to resolve. I usually like a minimum of 4 appointments that are within a fairly short time period. I usually see patients 2 times a week for 2-4 weeks before I can make a judgement whether physical therapy will help. This is often required by insurance as well before they will authorize an MRI or further treatment. Physical therapy is the most conservative treatment before more aggressive measures are taken. Our clinic does not force individuals to make appointments,we base the the scheduled appointments to the recommendation of their physicians prescription and how they respond to treatment. Our office packet is filled out with our consent and patient information at the initial visit,documents show paperwork was signed and initialed by patient where the cancellation policy is clearly noted in two areas of our paperwork. Our cancellation policy states as follows,I know that keeping my treatment plan is important getting back to normal and also for the insurance coverage, I agree to call Colorado Orthopedic Rehabilitation Specialists, LLC 24hrs before my visit when I am unable to be at my scheduled appointment. I know my referring DR and/or insurance may be informed regarding my attendance. I am fully aware that if I do not show up for any of my scheduled appointments there will be a $60.00 fee assessed to my account. This fee must be paid before any further treatment. Our clinic will give patients a warning if they miss an appointment because mistakes do happen and also remind them of their next appointment with a warning about our policy of not showing up for their appointment of the $60 charge requesting a call back if they are not coming back. Our office called and left a messages with patient where we never received a phone call back and he proceeded to not show up for his second appointment.Our office again notified the patient that he will be charged the 120.00 NS fee. Our no-show policy was instigated when patients would not respect our time making our office less efficient and holding patients accountable for their appointments. This is done in most doctors offices and is strongly enforce to assure appointments are accounted for and clinics are productive. Multiple attempts were done at our office to collect the $120 done both by statements that are mail to patients residence every month. Patient never contacted our office to dispute the amount owed or to dispute any questions or concerns regarding his treatment. There were 2 phone calls made by my office to collect payment, 12/27/13, 3/4/14 with warning that his account will be sent out of our office. On 03/11/14 his account was sent to a collection agency. The collection agency allows patient 30 days to make payment before it will effect his credit rating as a stand policy. I do not believe our tactics are excessive but more forgiving, Our office takes many steps before to get the matter resolved before patients credit is impacted.