BBB Accredited Business since

Vivax Pros

Phone: (720) 331-9735 Fax: (303) 997-5467 501 S Lipan St, Denver, CO 80223 http://www.vivaxpros.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vivax Pros meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vivax Pros include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

44 Customer Reviews on Vivax Pros
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 43
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 44

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 07, 2004 Business started: 03/24/2004 Business started locally: 03/24/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeremiah T. Owen, President Mr. Scott Bondy, Director of Marketing Ms. Lindsay Winters, Director of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremiah T. Owen, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors Contractors - Solar Energy

Alternate Business Names
Vivax Pro Painting Vivax Systems, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Of the 10 Promises and Expectations, eight items have not, and cannot be completed. The VIVAX Pros Promises and Expectations: 1."Pressure wash..." a.Completed adequately 2."Scrape loose and failing paint." a.Very little, if any scraping accomplished. Multiple areas of the house indicate failing paint even though they have been painted with new paint. This indicates the surface was not prepared properly. 3."Apply a primer coat to any bare surfaces, wood, or metal to provide adhesion and durability." a.No primer was applied to the house. Sections of siding and trim were replaced by VIVAX but never primed. One coat of paint was simply applied to the bare surface. After discussing this with the painter manager ***** he said the best they could do was apply another coat of paint to the areas know to be bare. b.Bare flashing along the edge of the roof has been painted (without primer) in areas and yet left unpainted in other areas. From their own statement, primer was not applied and now "adhesion and durability" are in question. Simply adding another coat of paint on top of an improperly applied base coat does not solve the problem of preparing the surface correctly with primer. 4."Full prime on the bottom edge of the three bottom siding boards around entire home. (1st level & roofline)" a.Again, no primer was applied to the house. The "adhesion and durability" is again in question as the surface was not prepared appropriately prior to the first and final coat of paint being applied. 5."Use commercial grade urethane elastomeric caulking to seal any cracks, seams or holes." a.Completed adequately 6."Nail holes will be filled if set deeper than 3/16th of an inch, pound in loose nails." a.Numerous areas of nail holes not filled adequately nor loose nails pounded in. 7."Loosen any fixture such as lights, numbers, hanging plants, etc." a.Loosen of any fixtures was not accomplished. Masking was used to simply cover fixtures. Bare spots around these fixtures provide evidence of this step not being followed correctly. 8."Mask off windows, doors, and brick. Drop cloth walkways, decks/patios, and landscaping to prevent unwanted drips and over-spray." a.Improper use of masking and drop cloths is evident throughout the job site. In almost all areas where siding meets brick, overspray on brick is evident. The patio has evidence of paint over-spray/drips. Areas of grass are now accompanied with over-spray. Rocks and window wells have areas of "unwanted drips." 9."Pain on consecutive days until completion of project. Weather permitting!!" a.While the weather has permitted the project to be completed on consecutive days, apparently a family emergency in ***** prevented the two painters assigned to our house from making it. After talking with ***** the paint manager, he stated he assumed the painters were working Friday, October 9, 2015 until he received a mid-morning call from the painter's son stating they will not be on the job. 10."Clean up of job site performed daily. Equipment will be stored in ________________." a.Simply leaving their trash along the side of the house for my disposal is not an acceptable "clean up" of the job site. Under the Additional Considerations: VIVAX will: item #2, "secure loose metal shat above left garage side wall." This has not been accomplished yet it has already been painted. VIVAX will not: item #1, "Get paint on brick or on new roof!" Both of these have now happened and I have contacted the original roofer for an estimate of damages incurred to the roof installed May 2015. As the roof is under warranty, ***** the paint manager, said they will most likely not be able to repair it themselves and have to incur all expenses for appropriate repairs. On Friday, October 9, 2015, I met with **** the paint manager and he stated he simply has to get someone here to finish the job. The surface throughout the house has not been properly prepared. Simply finishing the job does not guarantee the quality of workmanship nor the lasting durability of the product.

Desired Settlement: I expect VIVAX to simply accomplish the job using the criteria they set forth in their contract. Meeting two of the ten expectations they have set out for themselves is unacceptable. Seeing as this is a contract, the expectation is for them to complete the work they said they would perform for the price they quoted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/23) */ Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We take the Vivax Promises and Expectations very seriously and certainly admit that they weren't delivered upon. I hope that the project is now up to the standard it should have been in the first place. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can do. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for the opportunity to make things right. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After bringing the shortfalls to ****'s attention, he sent a new painter over to completely redo the entire project. The finished product is now exactly what we expected. Thank you to **** for continuing to make sure the work was completed in accordance with the Vivax Promises and Expectations.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vivax Pro Painting did not complete their tasks in a promised time and did not adhere to the policies and promises given. ****** the Northern Colorado Manager, promised the following as well as Vivax. On Monday, August 18th, we were scheduled to start painting on the exterior of our home. It had been on Vivax schedule for over a month. They were to show up at 9am. At 11am, the territory manager, ****** showed up and said they would be there after lunch. By 2pm, we called ***** multiple times and he "didn't know where his crew was". At 2:08, one person showed to figure out how many ladders. They started painting around 3pm. The 4 man crew was down to 2 at 5pm. When asked where the crew was, the guy pretended he didn't speak English - until we asked in Spanish. Then, he all the sudden knew and said the other members left already. This is the beginning to how terrible their customer service was. That night, we spoke to ***** ******** boss. **** said that it was ok and that we would still be done by Tuesday as it should only take 1.5 days to complete. He promised us that although it was a rough start, he would "make it better". Here are some items that happened: 1. They didn't caulk or sand. Even after we pointed out areas, they still didn't do it correctly. 2. The taped up my sports car! They left the tape on it that night and peeled it off the paint of the car the next day. 3. Radios were blarring. 4. It took 5 days to complete. 5. The left the gates open so my dogs got out. 6. They painted (and killed!) my sod when they did the shutters. 7. They broke my screen door. 8. The forgot multiple areas to paint - just forgot about them - until instructed. 9. The 3rd day, Trent didn't know where his crew was either. They were an hour late. 10. They kept my husband up 2 extra days during the day (he works nights) because they couldn't finish the project. He is elliptic and had a seizure which put him out of work for 2 days due to lack of sleep and stress. 11. We've called everyone at their office ******** without a phone call back to talk about things. 12. They ruined some of our landscaping. 13. They painted our water spiket and had the hose on all day 14. They left behind trash and moved rocks into the middle of the yard. 15. Half the time, no one on the grounds spoke English for us to communicate with. 16. They failed on all of their guarantees: calls back immediately, sanding/caulking of work, taking care of your home, cleanup, etc. After everything they put us through, their resolve was $200/off. It will cost me $200 to replace the screen door!

Desired Settlement: I'm looking for the amount to paid to us for the refund of the home plus the refund of replacing items broken as well as money lost from my husband not be able to work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/09) */ I believe that ****** is happy with how we resolved all of her concerns.

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called in March for warranty work to be done, have been given 2 false dates since and the last time i called 6 wks ago would not even give a date I had Vivax paint my house 6-12-12 it came with a 4 year warranty. I had some peeling and cracking issues this year so I called mid March and was told the crew was booked until early June I said thats fine and booked. No call no show, I finally had to call them and was told they were behind but they would get to me early July, again no call no show.I called and left a voice mail cause they don't answer there phones and waited and waited no call back so i called again voice mail again so i threaten filling a complaint and a law suit.. Surprise they called right back and blamed their phones said they were real busy but I was a priority. They would not give a date this time I waited 6 weeks have heard nothing so I called and got voice mail. This may be the only way to get through to them its been 5 months I'm done waiting and I think new customers should know their business practice once they have your money.

Desired Settlement: I would like warranty work to be completed in a timely matter. Or a refund as they are in breech of our contract. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ ***** was completely justified in his complaint, we had some temporary employee problems that resulted in poor service in the area of our business that we take the most pride in. Our goal is to deliver amazing service on the warranty side of our business because we know that we can really stand out there. These temporary problems have resulted in some very good changes and the addition of some checks and balances to make sure that nothing like this slips through the cracks again. ***** and I have spoken and it is my understanding that he is very happy with the results and we have delivered on our end of the bargain. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After filing my complaint with you, I was contacted the next day and the work was completed by the weekend. Thank you for your assistance, they went above and beyond my expectations so I would like to remove my complaint, Thank you again *****

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company deliberately ignores "No Soliciting" signage and continues to coldcall and doorhang. Company deliberately ignores "No Soliciting" signage and continues to coldcall and doorhang. No Soliciting signage is large and red and clearly visible from the exact same door these fools are hanging their advertisements from. This seems to be a dual-business, as one side of the hanger advertises "Vivax Pro Painting", and the other side displays information for "Erbert Lawns" lawncare. Erbertlawns.com is actually a non-functional website so I can't even complain directly to them. When they answer the phone they say they are sorry, but are back again 2 weeks later. Was doorhung probably 6 times last summer, and twice already this summer. I highly doubt they have a local permit for peddling and are probably liable for a fine.

Desired Settlement: Request business owner's and/or employees learn to speak english, read english, and apply it to their business practices. No Soliciting should mean No Soliciting...even for the lawncare guy and the painter guy. Truthfully, I'd like a sign that says "No Soliciting, unless you have cookies." Alas, such a sign does not exist.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/16) */ Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are always trying to improve our flyer process and work with the company that distributes them. I will make sure they add your address to a No-Flyer List. I apologize for the inconvenience and certainly understand your frustrations.

3/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vivax Pro Painting is continuously soliciting in covenant protected communities. Knocking and leaving literature on the ground. On March 11, 2013 two employees of Vivax Pro Painting were seen knocking on doors and leaving sales propaganda on doorsteps. This happened in The Haven at York Street community located in Thornton. This was done between 4:00 and 6:00 p.m.. There are three entrances to the community which all have very large signs that read "Covenant Protected" and "NO Soliciting". Several other members of the community along with myself are quite tired of being disturbed during the evening hours with our family and having to clean up the trash left by these irresponsible companies.

Desired Settlement: I would like Vivax Pro Painting to STOP soliciting work at The Haven at York Street. Stop knocking on doors. Stop leaving literature which ends up in the streets and in the yards and parks.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/14) */ Thank you for your feedback. I do want to apologize about the impression we left regarding our company. We are a very active and growing small business and a good portion of our work comes from hitting the pavement and working hard to generate leads. As a family owned and local business (our estimator actually lives in the area) our intention is certainly not to litter or make any homeowners uncomfortable. To avoid this we only knock in neighborhoods that we actively work in and offer free bids to the neighbors. Many of the neighbors were excited that we were there and asked us to come back to give a free estimate. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response left by vivax probably painting is unacceptable. It is nothing more than a justification of their bad business practices. This is a NO SOLICITING neighborhood. It is posted at every entrance. I have talked to 63 other homeowners in this neighborhood. Not one is happy with the unethical business practices of Vivax Property Painting. From the response given it seems like Vivax feels it is okay to walk into covenant protected neighborhoods, ignore all signage, leave fliers everywhere, and knock on doors during dinner hours simply because their estimator "lives in the area". I know for a fact that no employee of Vivax lives in this subject division. Even so it still would not be okay.