This business is not BBB accredited.

Beyond The Brush Painting

Phone: (303) 435-4960 Fax: (303) 645-4045 10001 E Evans Ave Apt 86A, Aurora, CO 80247 http://www.beyondthebrushpainting.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 12/17/2015 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Beyond The Brush Painting include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Beyond The Brush Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Beyond The Brush Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2010 Business started: 01/31/2010 Business started locally: 01/31/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Tina Wright, Owner Mr. Sal Espinoza, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Sal Espinoza, Manager
Principal: Ms. Tina Wright, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10001 E Evans Ave Apt 86A

    Aurora, CO 80247

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The exterior paint on our home is peeling and cracking after two years. It is under a seven year warranty, but the company has not fixed the problem. Beyond the Brush Painting finished painting the complete exterior of our home on June 19, 2013. We paid them in full in the amount of $2570.00. This cost included a paint upgrade which extended our warranty from five to seven years. After two years, the exterior paint is peeling and cracking. We first contacted Beyond the Brush Painting on July 1, 2015. The office phone was never answered in person, but we left two voicemails on 7/1/15 and 7/7/15. ****** left a voicemail for us on 7/8/15. We then left three more voicemails on 7/8/15, 8/7/15, and 8/21/15 before finally receiving a return call from ****** on 8/22/15. At that time we scheduled an appointment with *** for 8/26/15. During the meeting with *** at our home, we pointed out the areas of cracking and peeling paint on the siding, trim, and garage door. *** agreed that the paint on the siding should not be peeling after two years. He said the issue was probably due to improper preparation. *** removed and took a piece of the peeling paint from the siding so that he could have the color matched to use to repair the siding and garage door. We agreed to provide our leftover trim paint to be used to repair the trim. *** agreed to have a crew come to our home to scrape, prepare, and repaint the areas of cracking and peeling paint on the siding, trim, and garage door. He did say that, because our garage door is older, they would only make one attempt to repaint it. He asked us to give him 7-10 days, at which time he would have a crew out to complete the work. After not hearing from the company for over three weeks, we left three voicemails on 9/18/15, 9/25/15, and 10/6/15 and have received no return calls. It has now been over six weeks since *** came to our home to see the issues with the paint, and over three months since our first call to Beyond the Brush Painting requesting our warranty to be honored.

Desired Settlement: We would like Beyond the Brush Painting to remove the cracking and peeling paint on our exterior siding, trim, and garage door, then appropriately prepare and repaint the surfaces at no cost to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/11/02) */ We do apologize for inconveniencing the customer. It has been our busiest year thus far. We did attempt to schedule the touch ups at one point and the customer did not respond. The customer will be contacted by our office to schedule the touch ups shortly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We are not happy with the excuse ("It has been our busiest year thus far.") and dishonest statement ("We did attempt to schedule the touch ups at one point and the customer did not respond.") provided by Beyond the Brush Painting. First, the company claims on its website to be "focused on providing high quality service and customer satisfaction". It is disappointing that, for the last four months, the company has presumably continued to recruit and paint for new clients if it has been too busy to honor a warranty (which we were told would only take about 4 hours to complete the work) for an existing customer who recently invested $2570 in painting provided and warrantied by the company. Second, Beyond the Brush Painting made no attempt to "schedule the touch ups at one point". If we have been interested enough in having this warranty work completed that we have contacted the company eight times over the last four months, kept a record of those calls, and ultimately filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, why would we not respond if the company actually called to arrange a time to complete the work? After meeting with *** on 8/26/15 and being told to give him 7-10 days by which time he would be in touch, we waited three weeks before leaving three more voicemails on 9/18/15, 9/25/15, and 10/6/15. We resorted to filing a complaint with the BBB on 10/12/15. Until the company response this morning, 11/3/15, we had received no communication from Beyond the Brush Painting since meeting with *** on 8/26/15. These things said, our goal is still nothing more than to have this warranty work completed to our satisfaction at no cost to us. If Beyond the Brush Painting contacts us and completes the work as such, we will accept the response as satisfactory.

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company painted interior of home and several rooms are two different tones of brown and is very noticable. They started painting the interior of my home on July 14, 2015 and when they finished a few days later I noticed a few of the walls had two tones of beige, the color I selected. I was told to wait until it dried but that didn't correct the problem. I've left *** the owner several messages and sent him a text but he is complelety non-responsive.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the problem corrected so the walls are one color and not two different tones.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/09/01) */ We have addressed the complaint, and have scheduled to repaint 15-20% of the interior areas painted due to product defect not application. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2015/09/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I just wanted my calls/texts to be returned and corrective action taken in a reasonable time. The fix hasn't happened as of 9/14/15 but there is a scheduled time for the work to be performed. I'm hopeful all necessary preparation that should happen before painting a room such as covering furniture and floors takes place and owner provides supervision. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2015/09/22) */ Please reopen this complaint. The owner of Beyond the Brush painting came to my home and confirmed several walls needed to be repainted and he was going to assign a different crew to "get the job done right". This was supposed to take place Saturday, September 19th. As is typical with *** he doesn't return phone calls and he doesn't honor anything he says he will do. Anyone who is considering using this business is exposing themselves to a poor painting job and a non responsivie owner. I will continue to keep this case open with the BBB until he does what he says he will do and that is to correct the problem. I can't hang curtains on the windows until he corrects the problem. I'm beyond frustrated. ****** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2015/10/17) */ We havecommunicated with the customer, came to an agreement and settled on a partial refund amount that both parties agreed was fair and satisfactory.

10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beyond the Brush has not serviced warranty paint issues after advising they would correct them. Failed to remedy. Contract (XXXX) was entered 8/24/12 and paid in full on 8/30/12 for 4300.00 with a 5 yr labor and material warranty. The owner of Beyond the Brush inspected peeling paint and worn out paint issues, primarily on our house's trim on July 30th, 2015 and advised that his crew would rectify/fix the worn out paint within the next week. No one has been to the house to service the warranty. We have tried contracting Beyond the Brush several times and have not received a reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like Beyond the Brush to honor their warranty as verbally discussed and fix the painting issues that have arisen.

3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeated tried to have *********** or office call me to provide signed warranty and signed paid invoice. He requested ck to be made out to him, not co I need the promised warranty and signed invoice Poor customer service when I repeated called several phone numbers to receive documents. No one called me back.

Desired Settlement: I want the warranty papers and a signed invoice as I requested. Calling a customer back is a pretty simple request!!!!! They had no trouble getting paid, I expect the same courtesy!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/09/12) */ After job was completed a walk through was done with customer before receiving a check to insure satisfaction. at no time during the walk through were any of the complaints discussed that are listed. Regarding the warranty we do not always have signed warrantys on hand but the warranty is stated on contract so thus far have not had any complaints. Generally we email an invoice and receipt we have no problem giving a signed physical copy when requested however it may take a couple days after request as end of summer is the busiest time for us. After customer tried contacting and left a voice message I did attempt to contact her. We have no problem supplying the paper work requested .problem giving a signed phy Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No one was here on Sept 12. The company received the check 7.10 and at no time did *** do a walk thru. I called several times for someone to call, I was told I would receive an invoice. I still received no calls, no invoice, no warranty. He could mail them. I don't know what the problem is if the company stands by their workmanship and products. As far as the contract goes, I'm the only one that signed it. When the job was done, everything did look good, but it's the issues that may arise in the next couple of years and the warranty papers and invoice state the work will be good for seven years. All I want is the invoice and warranty papers I was promised!!!! Final Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2015/03/18) */ See scanned warranty provided by company. From: ****** ********* Sent: Tuesday, March 17, 2015 6:42 PM To: Lori Lannholm Subject: Re: BBB Pending rebuttal complaint Case# XXXXXXXX Consumer: ******, **** Here is our signed contract and start date + warranty information

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beyond the Brush Painting contracted our business to advertise for their company. They have not paid for advertising that ran in 2012. We ran an annual advertising program in 2012. Beyond the Brush cancelled the last ad scheduled to run in 2012 because of a family emergency. We cancelled the last ad in good faith and expected to get paid on the ads that ran. They were paying a monthly invoice but the card he provided was no longer valid. The company will no longer return phone calls or emails. Beyond the Brush currently owes our company $2013.41.

Desired Settlement: i want the amount they owe our company paid in full.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 36, 2013/11/26) */ From: btbpainting Sent: Monday, November 25, XXXX X:XX PM To: Heidi Pittaway Subject: Re: Unanswered Complaint - XXXXXXXX Beyond the Brush Painting RESPONSE BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX I ****** ********* would like to address the allegations submitted by ***** *******. In the ****** of 2012 *** ******** person in charge of Beyond the Brush Painting's advertising accounts had a family emergency and was out of town for a portion of the ****** and therefore could not make the appointments that were scheduled to discuss the matter. Previous to the emergency he and ***** ******* made a verbal agreement regarding advertising for the ****** months. While *** was away I and *** spoke with ***** multiple times via phone regarding the areas, magazine issues and amount that was agreed originally. *** and ***** did not have the same understanding of what was agreed and could not come to an agreement regarding the amount that reflected what we understood to be the verbal agreement . We originally were going to settle in court but after being a customer of *****'s for years decided to settle out of court and keep the business relationship in good standing. The business card that he was charging was declined because of fraudulent activity on the account not the issue of not having the funds. We advertise with multiple magazines and have not had any issues of any kind before this. We are currently advertising with ***** in his magazine and both parties are satisfied with the outcome of the situation.