This business is not BBB accredited.

Baseline Painting, Inc.

Phone: (303) 933-2330 Fax: (303) 933-6665 9457 S University Blvd, Highlands Ranch, CO 80126 http://www.baselinepainting.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Baseline Painting, Inc. include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Baseline Painting, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Baseline Painting, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2002 Business started: 10/17/2001 Business started locally: 10/17/2001 Business incorporated 05/05/2005 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Ankenbruck, Owner Mr. Brian Strain, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Ankenbruck, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors Commercial Painting Contractor Cabinet Refinishers Drywall Contractors

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9457 S University Blvd

    Highlands Ranch, CO 80126

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract to paint 8/5/2011 with an additional 6 year warranty for $200. Reported warranty issues 8/1/2014 and for 12 months no response to repair. Contracted Baseline to paint house. Contract 8/5/11 with work completed 9/8/15. An additional 6 year warranty included for an additional $200. Front porch showed some blistering/pealing within 3 years. Contacted Baseline August of 2014 to have warranty re-paint. Indicated it would be in the Fall when it slowed down. Contacted them Oct 3, 2014 to follow-up. Emailed a complete set of contract info as they indicated the originals were lost. No response in the Fall. Contacted them April 3, 2015 to find out date of painting. No action from Baseline. Emailed May 6th follow-up, no action. Called to make an appointment 6/22/15 with ***** ******. He visited the house and confirmed that there was issue with the paint. He pealed additional areas around the garage and determined that there were other areas to address with the re-painting. He committed to have the work done prior to July 4th. No response from Baseline. Texted ***** ****** on 7/24 asking what is the problem. He forwarded the message to the owner ***** ********** to reconfirm. Still no action. Sent email August 1st on 1 year anniversary of initial email and as of today, August 19, 2015, no contact, no warranty work, no courtesy call, no action.

Desired Settlement: I seek that Baseline comes out to the house, scrape and powerwash the affected areas, prep the entire area with a solid base coat and repaint the porch and other trim areas that show wear and tear no later than September 15, 2015. In lieu of that I would like a total refund of $2,910 to enable me to re-contract with a different painter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/27) */ Dear All, we require our customers to email a copy of their signed proposal and proof of payment from a processed check from the bank and or a paid credit card statement before we inspect and determine warranty work claims. We have not received thise item(s) from ****** ******. Sincerely, Baseline Painting Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I previously emailed all this information twice. The first time was October 3, 2014 and the latest emailed on April 3, 2015. The information I have sent includes the signed contract with the 6 year warranty highlighted, along with the two (2) cancelled checks (one deposit, second balance). The salesman, ***** ******, on his visit in June also saw all the information I had emailed to them in October and April and he indicated that there was no need for additional copies being sent. However, I will attempt once again for the third (3rd) time to send the information to both ***** ****** as well as the owner ***** **********, to resolve. I also have attached the documents to this record.

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Driveway/other areas painted in 2012. Peeling occurred and driveway so slick it is dangerous to walk on. Came back in 2013 but work not completed. Note to owner (****************): "Since the last communication on September 3, the only thing that has been completed is the stripping of the pool area, which started on September 5 and took eight days with only one person working sporadically. No other areas have been touched. On September 11, *** left a voice message with you to call me directly to discuss status as we need to schedule the closing of the pool (which includes the installation of a winter cover) and cannot do so until the painting in this area is complete. I did not receive a call. *** also left a message with **** on Thursday, September 12. On Friday, September 13, *** left another message. We are getting desperate now as we have to get a date set to close the pool as well as getting this project complete before the onset of winter. On August 28 you committed to being personally involved and indicated that by August 30 you would get back to me with a schedule. This was not done. On September 3, you indicated that the ******* ******** rep would be at the house and that the schedule would be worked that day or the day after. Again, I have seen nothing. For a correction to the work we had done last year and was known before this summer began (last winter), this is totally unacceptable for a company that has a B+ BBB rating. What is the status and what is the timeline to complete the remediation to the pool, driveway, courtyard and the side patio? If I do not receive a written response, I will have no choice but to take further action." Mr. ********** has not responded as of this date. The 2013 remediation work began August 5.

Desired Settlement: Remediate the peeling, slick paint ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/24) */ Dear *****, Firstly, there is no warranty on the finishes that we provided you, but we elected to help you at our expense. I sent you an email last week and copied my office staff asking you if we could begin the final phase on your project re-do 9/23/13 or 9/24/13 with no response from you. We would like to begin the final phase of your project re-do. Please get back to me so we can schedule day to begin. Regards, ***** ********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2013/11/25) */ Baseline had one guy working on and off on Friday and Saturday and we are not happy with the results (still some bubbling, paint matching issue, swirl marks). Thanks, ***** & *** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 50, 2014/09/09) */ From: ***** **** Sent: Tuesday, September 09, XXXX X:XX PM To: Heather Vicars Cc: ********@comcast.net Subject: **** - Baseline complaint Heather, Here is the original complaint. Driveway/other areas painted in 2012. Peeling occurred and driveway so slick it is dangerous to walk on. Came back in 2013 but work not completed. Note to owner (***** **********): "Since the last communication on September 3, the only thing that has been completed is the stripping of the pool area, which started on September 5 and took eight days with only one person working sporadically. No other areas have been touched. On September 11, Kim left a voice message with you to call me directly to discuss status as we need to schedule the closing of the pool (which includes the installation of a winter cover) and cannot do so until the painting in this area is complete. I did not receive a call. Kim also left a message with Nick on Thursday, September 12. On Friday, September 13, Kim left another message. We are getting desperate now as we have to get a date set to close the pool as well as getting this project complete before the onset of winter. On August 28 you committed to being personally involved and indicated that by August 30 you would get back to me with a schedule. This was not done. On September 3, you indicated that the Sherwin Williams rep would be at the house and that the schedule would be worked that day or the day after. Again, I have seen nothing. For a correction to the work we had done last year and was known before this summer began (last winter), this is totally unacceptable for a company that has a B+ BBB rating. What is the status and what is the timeline to complete the remediation to the pool, driveway, courtyard and the side patio? If I do not receive a written response, I will have no choice but to take further action." Mr. ********** has not responded as of this date. The 2013 remediation work began August 5. As indicated in January 2014 correspondence, the paint was already peeling again on the rework done at the end of 2013 as well as other areas. We were seeking to get our money back to get the job done by another company since Baseline's work does not last even a few months. Since January the paint peeling has really become bad. Thanks, ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 54, 2014/09/16) */ Dear ***** and Heather, I responded to *****'s most recent complaint prior to the September 9, 2014 complaint on January 31, 2014. I invited ***** to meet with me and walk his property to inspect the areas in question. I received no reply from ***** and it was my understanding the BBB closed the file. Baseline Painting Provided no warranty on the coatings in the pool area, front patio & entry, walk ways and driveway. I will email a copy of the signed proposal by Kim **** to you. When ***** and Kim first contacted Baseline regarding the peeling I scheduled a meeting with *****, (The Baseline estimator for that project) to review the proposal & project applications. He and I had this discussion knowing there was no warranty on the material or their applications. At that point we could have washed our hands of the situation, project and moved on to other business, but we decided not to do so. Baseline Painting is a good company and ***** & I take pride in our work and made a commitment to go back and prepare the effected surface areas which included stripping the coating from large areas, sanding and re-applying stain mixed with a non-slip shark grip product from Sherwin Williams. We came back to the project with a large crew and re-finished all of the effected areas. Following ***** and Kim contacted us said there was a color differential from the old finish where it didn't peel and the newly stained areas. This is common on concrete and exterior siding on homes. following touch-ups on surfaces that are months old the newly painted or stained areas will flash and look a different color. When you reapply a new coating next to coating that was applied previously it will flash due to UV and weather exposure. Generally it will take 12 to 36 weeks to blend in and in some cases it never does 100%. ***** and Kim contacted us again and said the reapplication was unacceptable and wanted us to redo the entire project again. With no warranty in place and Baseline had just refinished all the effected areas and invested a considerable amount of money and resources; ***** and I discussed it again and decided to go the extra mile for ***** and Kim **** and re-coat 100% of the surface areas listed in the contract. Following the 100% re-application we had some peeling and bubbling in some small square footage surface areas so we brought our Sherwin Williams representative to the project so he could make recommendations on how we should proceed. We followed his recommendations and we still had more bubbling, we re-finished those areas 2 or 3 more times. We have gone the extra mile for the ****'s. At this point I don't know how much more we can do, but I'm willing to an inspection at the ****'s home. Sincerely, ***** **********

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Owner charged me for products that I NEVER recieved intimidated me in my home for a Pymt & never heard from him again I tried texting only got Threat I contacted *****/Baseline Painting for a proposal to stain my wood. He came to my home in Feb unannounced scared my kids for a pymt. I was called by my children and came home ASAP to find ***** in my driveway talking about how he needed money for samples he had "Supposedly" done for me & how much everything wasI asked where they were? ***** said I will bring them in the morning never came. I gave him the chk for 450.00 to leave my Property as I was frightened by him. As soon as he left I was terrified/Ill about what just happened and felt like I was just Swindled out of my money YES I felt it! thats how much I was intimidated!! I chked my children & locked all the doors ran to my computer to cancel check to find that it was already cashed within 15 min. of ***** Leaving my home. I texted him asked for my custom stain & money back only to be threatened from him. Til this day I never recieved so called expensive samples which I was never told there was a price for them in the first place. I tried called another # I had to someone who worked with him he said he no longer wrked with *****/Baseline Painting due to Money issues and seeing him steel from Potiential clients. Former Employee also said that he could not take the immorality and unprofessionalism from ***** and he was still waiting on monies owed to him. I was just so shocked I dropped my ph. I found Baseline Painting in the Parker Home Magizine assuming that this was a good standing company only to be terrified and have money stolen from by *****. I have requested my money & my custom stain back which I have yet to recieve. AT this point I do not want any so called samples or anything to do with Baseline Painting I am so disgusted that there are people out there stealing from hard working people. Please help and stop him

Desired Settlement: I would only like my multiple requests I had made to Baseline Painting/***** for my $450.00 and my custom stain which cost me 75.00 to order. This would be all I ask for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/05/26) */ ***** ***** signed a contract with a Baseline Painting sales representative for cabinet and wood refinishing through out her home on the first and second levels. Following I came out to *****'s home to go over the existing contract and to discuss other work she wanted done in her home including carpentry. During the process I've been to the ***** home a total of 5 to 7 times to measure, discuss many aspects of the project as it was extensive, to review photos ***** provided of cabinets that she wanted samples, which we provided and dropped by her home. I had to meet with our carpenter to go over photos and measurements to produce an estimate for the carpentry work she wanted done to her kitchen island and cabinetry. in addition I worked on a stain match from a quart she provided to us; I did this at a company that produces special concentrated mixes of stain to mix with a vinyl sealer for cabinet and wood refinishing. This is a very expensive concentrate that will produce 20 gallons of stain mixed with a vinyl sealer for her project. ***** did give me a check for $450 dollars to help cover my cost of stain, samples and working on her project, this was to be credited towards the amount of the project cost total. ***** had texted me and sent an email that she wanted to do the work herself and cancelled the project. Our contract specifically states that there is a 10 percent cancellation fee which is well above the $450 dollars she gave us. We have this clause in our contract because the amount of work we put in following the signature. I will email a photo of the stain that was produced for *****, it has her name on the container and we will return her quart along with the stain we produced for her. I have a considerable amount of time and hard cost into *****'s project and that is why we have a cancelation fee. If ***** did not sign our contract and had no intensions of having Baseline provide the services we outlined in the proposal in addition to the work listed in my email correspondence; I would not have engaged in any of the costly activity and spent time on all the areas I listed above. I will provide all email, texts, photos, the Baseline signed contract by ***** and a photo of the stain container we produced for her with her name printed on it by the MFG. Baseline honored it's obligation under the contract to *****. I haven't asked ***** for the remainder of the balance she owes us under our agreement. We'll be happy to work with ***** on a settlement lower than our cancellation fee. I'm confident we can come up with something we both agree to. Baseline would like this complaint to be removed from our file as we honored our agreement with *****, in fact we went above and beyond and did not ask for the full cancellation fee, our cost and time were significant. I will forward the relevant documents to Lori Lannholm BBB and ***** ***** in an email. Sincerely, ***** ********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/06/03) */ Sent: ********* *** *** XXXX X:XX ** To: Better Business Bureau Subject: (SPAM) Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX) Importance: Low Good afternoon ***** I have not received anything from Baseline painting. He basically intimidated me took money from me and I never heard from him again. He charged me for supplies and services back inFebruary that he never provided. And all I want back at this point is my $450.00 back and the cost of a custom order stain I paid $75.00 for. Further more I do not wish for him to contact me at all ever since he has threatened me I did call the police and explain in which they said there was not much else I could do other than sue him civily which wi be my next step. I do not want Baseline Painting/ ***** to do this to another person who works hard for what little they have. I know that he has done this to multiple people in my community already & ripped off ex employees. Please help me put a stop to this company/owner. ***** ***** **** ****** ***** ***** ******* ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/06/15) */ My position remains the same as my first response. I'll re-send all the info I mentioned in my first reply to this complaint.

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Waiting for a promised paint pen. Excuses provided continually, but not paint pen to deal with scratches. We have been waiting for almost one year for a paint pen to deal with paint scratches. They came and did repair work and did not leave us the two pens. They left one....they promised two. I have asked repeatedly via text for this other pen and I get various BS responses - which I am happy to share.

Desired Settlement: I want the pen they have repeatedly promised. There lack of response concerns me very much as we still have warranty on their product and I don't believe we will ever get this based upon this very frustrating experience we are having with getting a simple paint pen.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/24) */ Dear **** & *******, Our contract to refinish the *********'s cabinets did not include a stain pen for touchups. Following the completion of the job I mentioned to the *********'s that I would provide them with a touch-up stain pen at no cost to them. I delivered the stain touch up pen as promised and Pete ********* ask if I could supply one more pen, he mentioned that **** made that request. I told Pete that I would be happy to supply another pen and when I got back to my office we were out of stain pens. I called our supplier to buy new pens and they were out, I made that information available to Pete *********. Our supplier for what ever reason was not being resupplied with the pens so it was a long wait. I looked online and tried other suppliers, but didn't find the pens we needed for stain. Our supplier received there pens at the beginning of last week 9/15 or 9/16. I bought the pens and notified the *********'s that there pen would be on the way. I FedEx'd it to them. During the time we didn't have the pens **** made several request for the second touchup pen and I made her aware our supplier was having trouble getting them in and when they received them I would make one up. Additionally, during that time we came back to the *********'s to refinish a large section of the project and completed touchups. We were not avoiding the *********'s as we made ourselves available. We're sorry the second pen took so long to come in, but it was out of our control and the *********'s had the first pen for touchups in addition to Baseline coming back to the project for touchups during the wait. Again, we're sorry for the wait and we really enjoyed working with he *********'s on their project and wish them well. Regards, ***** ********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We finally got our paint pen, but only after BBB got involved. HOWEVER, the paint color is Espresso - a very dark brown. Our stain is Cinnamon, a lighter brown with red tones. Seriously. Now I am really concerned that they can't match the paint color. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/10/29) */ Dear ****, As mentioned, the pen I sent you must have come from the bottom of the stain can and the reason for it being darker. I sent you and Pete a text yesterday; the stain came in, I made a new pen and it went in the mail today. Regards, ***** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2014/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The stain is still too dark and brown. I suspect that the stain color "recipe" has been lost and that is why a match cannot be made with the last 2 attempts. I am at a loss as to how we can get out point across to ***** that the 2 pens he sent is not the same color.

10/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company didn't honor they warranty. The company didn't response my request. The company painted my house last spring, there are chip in the gargage door and this should be covered by warranty. I tried to contacted the company many times, finally they set up a time with me to take a look the situaction, but they never showed up.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to have the company to fix the chip.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/26) */ All touch-ups were completed 9/20/13. Sincerely, ****************

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been waiting 9 weeks for the delivery of a final pieces of molding on cabinets we had refinished by Baseline Painting. Repeated calls! Baseline refinished our basement cabinets in early June. There was damage to two pieces of molding (side cabinet molding and kick plate). When contacted they returned to our home, took the two pieces of molding and responded they would return within 7-14 days. That was 9 weeks ago. We call weekly and receive the same response "someone will call us back". No one ever returns our calls.

Desired Settlement: We want our refinished piece of molding and kick plate piece that were taken from our home as well as the marker for touch ups! I just want my cabinets finished as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/25) */ We completed a stain and lacquer project for the *********'s in June. Following the completion of the project the *********'s damaged some of the trim areas and ask the we purchase new trim pieces, refinish them and reinstall. We have purchased the trim pieces and I notified *********'s 9/24/13 that we would install the new pieces by the end of this week. Regards, **************** Baseline