BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/06/1998

Ackermann Painting Perfections

(303) 666-4384128 Autumn Ct, ErieCO 80516-6814

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/06/1998

BBB has determined that Ackermann Painting Perfections meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ackermann Painting Perfections' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ackermann Painting Perfections

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unprofessional, inexperienced paint job received. Did not receive work as advertised.
It has been since September of 2013 that Ackermann Painting Perfection painted my home. I have been trying to get past the very poor paint job I received but every time I find something else done wrong or see another house prepped and painted in the way I was promised but did not receive I get angry all over again. This is way I am submitting this complaint to the Better Business Bureau. I do this for the purpose of providing this information to potential customers of Ackermann Painting so they may know the very poor paint job I received to help them in their decision in choosing the right painter for their home. First, my job was bumped up to any earlier date and I have always suspected that something happened to the experienced crew because the crew that painted my house was very inexperienced. This is what I experienced:
The crew never put in a full day of painting. They arrived late and left early
Crew left paint supplies in yard and ladder left on roof
I was told that all my nails in the siding would be filled. This was never done.
I was told I would receive two coats of paint. I was also told my fence would be sprayed and back-rolled twice and I am certain the fence was only sprayed once. The fence was painted on the last day by men that I had not seen until this day. I was told by the crew foreman the day before that they would arrive at 9:00 a.m. The crew did not show up until after 11:00 a.m. I know how long they were here on that day and I am certain there is no way the fence received two coats sprayed and back-rolled in the amount time they were here.
I hired Ackermann based on this advertising of his years of experience and not a drop of paint out of place. I am reminded that this is not what I received when I see the sloppy work I received. This crew was obviously not experienced and I suspect was a new crew painting my home.
I asked the crew twice and mentioned to Mark at least once to protect my deck because Trex stains very easily. I have a permanent caulk stain on my deck after caulk was spilled on it and a crew member tried to clean while it was wet instead of waiting for it to dry. If he waited for the caulk to dry, it would have peeled off. An experienced painter would have known this.
I called Mark Ackermann on 10/29/14 after finding areas of trim that had the color of the body paint on it. I never received a call back.
I also discovered that the 2" inside lip of the garage door was never painted. I rolled up the garage and got on a ladder and had to paint the inside lip of the garage myself.
I also noticed damage to the siding by the garage that most likely was hit with a large paint can.
There was spilled paint on my driveway that they did clean up after job was done and paid for.
Spilled paint on the roof above the garage that I see every time I look out my window.
Noticed in April of this year that they did not paint the underneath of the gas meter. They chose to paint this the color of the body of the house but did not paint the underneath.
When spray-painting the down spouts, they were not painted underneath that required them to redo this. After this was done, I still had to get the paint out and paint spots that were missed. They did, however, get paint on the landscape rocks.
On Monday, 5/19/2014, I noticed two places on the trim around the front door that needed to be touched up already (not even a year later). It was easier for me to use the sample can of paint trim to take care of this instead of dealing with the larger can of paint that was left by the painters. I was surprised to find the colors did not match. I looked at the paint can used by the painters and it was labeled with the color Exile. The color for the trim I chose was Willow. They didn't even use the color I chose for the trim and never told me. Ackermann clearly has no integrity as a business owner to allow his crew representing him do such poor sloppy work. Shame on you!

Desired Settlement
I am not certain how this can be fixed. I couldn't be more disappointed in the false advertising and the sloppy work that was done.

Business Response
I received notice of *****'s complaint today. I just left a message with Heather Vicars---my BBB representative in an attempt to meet with ***** personally to resolve our issues (I don't have *****s phone # and don't recall her address.) We painted her home last summer.
I want to resolve this with integrity and in as fair way as possible. It's been many years since my company has had any form of BBB complaint.
Thanks, ****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was such an unpleasant experience that should have been done right the first time. I did not receive the work I was promised. I placed a call to **** previously with my call back number when I continued to find things not done right and my call was not returned. After not having my call returned and continuing to find issues with my paint job, I decided I needed to file a complaint/customer review for the very least for myself. Also, I have not had any contact from his BBB representative to arrange a meeting. I have no desiret to meet with **** or have him or his crew anywhere near my home with a paint brush because the experience was so unpleasant.

Final Business Response
I have tried more than once to reach the complaining party with no response. I've tried to reach her by phone and have done so in a very friendy, professional way.
My company has carried the A+ and Gold Star Award (no complaints in at least 3 years, and it has actually been much longer than 3 years) for us up until the current issue. I would prefer to resolve this personally, but would be open deal with this under the customers terms if need be.
My company does not claim to be perfect, but after 38 years in business, I also know that there is that rare customer that can not be pleased (I will call these folks the 1% group).
I know that this complaint can not be revoked, but nonetheless want to make any reasonable effort to resolve this in as professional way as possible.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
(I do not accept this business' proposed resolution because I am not seeking a resolution at this point. I merely want to provide information for future customers.)

The fact is it is a shame you chose not to be as diligent in returning my call several months ago last October when I was continuing to find issues with your work. That would have been the time to resolve the issues in your friendly and professional way. Since I have been dealing with these issues for several months now on my own, I have no desire to meet with you for a resolution after all these months of taking care of the issues myself. All of this could have been avoided if my call was returned several months ago. It is unfortunate for you to have this mark on your rating with the Better Business Bureau. However, after several months of continuing to find issues and finally just as recent as this May when I discovered when touching up my trim that the color I chose and provided to you was not the color my trim was painted. It was at this point I realized I owed it to myself to share my experience with others. I also do not think the problems I have discovered and, especially the fact that you didn't even use the chosen color for the trim, does not qualify me as a rare customer that cannot be pleased. It was a sloppy job. It is unfortunate that I was the one to receive this poor work. I hired you because of your years of experience and I did not receive those years of experience. At the very least, this review of your work will keep you honest and will ensure the jobs you do from now on will receive those years of experience.



Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1988Business started: 01/01/1976
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Ackermann (Owner)
Business Category

Painting Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ackermann Painting Perfections

128 Autumn Ct

Erie, CO 80516-6814

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ackermann Painting Perfections is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.