BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/11/2001

Johnson Storage & Moving Company (Headquarters)

Phone: (303) 785-4300Fax: (303) 785-4300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service23
Total Closed Complaints34

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (34)BBB Closure Definitions
12/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
About $10,000 worth of belongings were lost from our move. We have been reimbursed for some of it, but about $2,500 remains unreimbursed.
We concluded a move from Castle Rock, CO to Orange Beach, AL on October 16, 2013, after our belongings had been in storage for more than a year. The move started in exemplary fashion, even through the off load. Then we started unpacking, and discovered that what appears to have been at least a full crate of our belongings never made it to the finish line. We have filed three separate claims for missing items, and have received some compensation from all three. However, the last two settlements have been reduced based on the weight of the items. The company claims that the items (which included two ladies' wool coats, three ski outfits, etc) were not listed on our "high value" list, and therefore are subject to valuation based on weight. This meant that the final claim was reduced by more than $1,200, despite the fact that we purchased "full coverage" on the value of our belongings. The second claim was reduced be $1,500 due to weight limits imposed on about 200 music CDs that were lost.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that ************************** issue payment for the additional $2,700 value of the items that were lost during our move in view of the fact that I purchased "**********" ****************** on the complete inventory.

Business Response
We regret the confusion about the claim here. We will re-open the claim and reassess the *******************.

Consumer Response
(The ******** indicated he/she ******* accept the response from the business.)
This response does signal the start of a potential *******************. Whether I am satisfied depends on how ************************** decides to resolve the issue.

Final Consumer Response
************************** agreed to settle this dispute by paying an additional $1,000 against the $2,700 claim I filed. ************************, but agreed to accept it believing the ******* would refuse to pay any of the remaining loss if I refused it. So far, I have not seen any payment from the *******.

Final Business Response
Sorry for the delay. We will expedite the agreed upon $1,000.00 payment and send next week.

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A few issues:
Move was completed several days late.
Many items were broken or missing.
Customer service is terrible.

Contracted with them to move from Florida to Colorado (Claim UXXX-XX-X). Ultimately they were late in delivery, my family slept on air mattresses until property arrived. When property arrived, we found a host of items broken and missing. For the most part, they have agreed to pay for broken items... but will not pay for any lost items. Service after the mishap has been terrible. Weeks between returned emails, few calls. Once the total of damaged and lost items started adding up, they simply won't return calls.

At this point, they still owe us for a Polk Audio Powered Sub-woofer for a home theater, Chess Pieces and a ladder.

The will not reimburse us for a damaged desk

Desired Settlement
I would just like replacement cost for the remaining items and compensation for putting my family out due to late delivery.

Business Response
We are pleased to relate that we have amicably settled Mr. *******'s complaint to both parties satisfaction. This file should be closed.

10/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company engaged in dishonest pricing for their service. Their estimate was unreasonably high and reflects either gross incompetence or fraud.
On May 16, 2014 I received an initial quote from Johnson Moving and Storage for an interstate move from Superior, CO to Mesa, AZ. The estimate was for 16,251 pounds which carried a cost of $11,581.
The estimate number is UXXXXX********, work order number is UXXX-XX-X-X, lot # XXXXXX.
I knew this was far too high for what I could afford, and much higher than Johnson's online estimating tool predicted for a house my size. The online tool estimate was $7200. The estimator offered to come back and re-estimate after we had discarded many of our things, in order to provide a more accurate and affordable quote for service.
The estimator's information is
**** **********
Relocation Specialist
Johnson Storage and Moving
**** ******* *** ***** 3
*** *********** XXXXX
(XXX)XXX-XXXX
He returned on June 20th, just five days prior to the packing and loading date, and provided a new estimate of 15,540 pounds, which would have cost $9473.
I emailed him after the last estimate telling him I knew we had far less than 15,000 pounds of goods because we had given away or discarded so many items.
Because time was running short, I had no choice but to accept this weight estimate. I paid a $5000 deposit using a credit card, with the balance to be paid upon delivery with cashier's check.
After our goods were delivered to our destination on 6/29/14, I paid the outstanding $4473 as I promised. When I requested the actual weight of the shipment from the driver, he showed me the weight document. It reflected a weight of our goods as only being 12,660 pounds.
(Both the moving crew and the packing crew expressed serious doubt that our goods weighed as much as the estimate.)
This large difference (XXXXX-XXXXX) equals 2880 pounds, or 22% too high. I was told by their customer service manager on a phone call on 6/27/14 that they typically are within 10% of the actual weight.
It is my belief that this estimator and this company are either grossly incompetent, or purposely engaged in fraudulent practice in order to charge me too much money for the service I received. It is for this reason I am disputing $1400 in charges.

Desired Settlement
$1000. They already refunded $428.

Business Response
Mr. *******'s shipment moved under the motor carrier authority of United Van Lines in Fenton, MO (St. Louis). His Agreement was with United Van Lines and this complaint should be filed with the St. Louis BBB under United Van Lines.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I only spoke with and interacted with CO representatives of this company. I never once spoke with or saw a person from MO. Johnson Moving and Storage are deflecting their responsibility in this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Johnson Moving and Storage has not contacted me again regarding this matter. I interacted with them in CO, NOT in Missouri. They are deflecting responsibility in this matter, which exemplifies their behavior to date. They are not accepting responsibility for addressing this valid complaint.

Final Business Response
We have settled with this customer within the weight and pricing parameters outlined in the agreement he signed. We regret that Mr. ******* remains dissatisfied but we have upheld the terms of our agreement with him.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Seeking return of our missing items or full claim of $4907 from ******* Moving & Storage for damage/missing items from our move from 7/15 - 12/16/13


The first half of our relocation from ********* ** to ****** ** went very smooth, without a glitch. On 7/10/13 **** ****** a VP and Sales Rep for ******* Storage and Moving came to our home **************, *********, ** in response of our online quote on 7/7 for a our move. On 7/11 we received ****'s quote for the move and on 7/15 we accepted the quote an provided a credit card to proceed, then on 7/22 our household was packed and shipped to the ******* Storage facility in Centennial **, the packers and loaders did a fantastic job, taking excellent care of all our possessions especially my wife's grand piano. On 7/25 we called for an additional pickup of a few items of mostly yard art and Architectural items we decited to include in the move. On 8/5 our credit card was charged $4481.09 for the first pack and ship to storage, then on 8/7 for $108 for the 2nd pick up, then on 11/1 for $1292.44 for additional storage thru 11/30.

In mid November we contacted **** to arrange for shipping our household to *************************, ****** ** where we had a house under contract, he gave us a price of $5193.38 including $486.60 for a no deductible insurance to cover full replacement value for loss and/or breakage, which was in addition to their no charge $0.65 per pound coverage. We closed on 11/27 and gave **** a firm ship date, due to scheduling we were given a 12/10 ship date and a 12/16 delivery date, we agreed and on 12/12 wired the $5193.38 including the insurance, bringing the Total for our Relocation to $12,367.35.

It is on our delivery date of 12/16 that we began to realize things had taken a turn, our delivery was scheduled for 10:00AM, the driver ********* called about 11:00 and said he had got a late start from *******, they should arrive at 1:00 PM. Called at 1:30 having truck trouble, again at 2:30 need directions to our house,
Agreed would meet him on the highway at the *********** ***** exit. I was then he asked me "we are just off loading everything to the garage right?" I told him, "no almost everything will go into the house" then he inquired about stairs, which there are none. Met him at the Community Entrance where his truck stalled no less than 3 times before we got to our house which by that time was 3:30. The first thing ********* said to my wife is "I have bad news; we were unable to find 2 of the 3 legs to your grand piano when we loaded the truck from storage, and maybe they will surface." The crew began unloading, with my wife and I directing where we wanted most of the items placed, which was a full time job considering there was 3 of them and only 2 of us. We were not made aware that we needed keeping track of the inventory by tag number which was made impossible because many of the items were packed in blankets or shrink wrapped with the tags on the outside of the wrapping and the crew was removing the blankets and shrink wrap in the truck before bringing into the house. It was 9:30 when they were finished and asked us to sign off on the delivery, when we began to inquire about items we knew at the time were missing such as the pillar cap to our artist made bed and 2 pieces of our fountain, they told us they saw them in the garage and if we were satisfied that we did have we could sign and call later and they would look for our missing items which were probably misplaced in storage and ******* would ship then to us. It was late and we were exhausted and signed under duress just to get the day over with and go to bed because we had to go to work the next day. The only bright spot was they did find the piano legs and assembled it as well as our bed minus 1 pillar cap. We spent the next week unpacking and going over the inventory and realized that we were missing more items than we originally thought and the reason the piano legs were thought to be missing is because we found the tags on boxes that did not have the legs. We called about the missing items and were told we would have to file a claim.


Desired Settlement
We have said repeatedly in written and verbal communication that what we want is a return of our missing items initial claim of $3907.00, and a subsequent verbal claim of $1000 for an adjustment to item 140 for a total of $4907.00

It took ******* over 60 days to issue us a settlement check for $437.00 for the damaged items, this amounts to 8% of our total claim and is less than $486.60 that we paid for the full coverage insurance. This is even more of an insult when you realize that the Full coverage Insurance that we purchased is an in house policy from *******.

We truly believe that the 2 boxes that are missing which contained my wife's machinist chest of jewelry labeled "Master Hers" and our Home Theater System labeled as such were probably stolen at some point, all I have is the box with the Home Theater Speakers that did make it but are of little use to me.

The rest of the missing items are rather large heavy items which were part of our secound pickup for which we paid the addition $108 and are probably included in our total shipping weight are still somewhere in *******s storage. Due to their size and weight and the fact they were brought in several days later they were probably put into loose storage apart from the rest of our shipment. We are missing 8 of the 16 items out of that later pickup.

No mention of trying to locate the missing items in *******s Storage Facility is made in the settlement letter. We feel in fact that no effort was made to find the items, it should not be too difficult to find 2 barn doors and 2 large fountain pieces, might even lead you to the smaller items. ******* made a financial decision to deny the claim rather than spend the time and money to find the items then spend more money to ship them to us.

We feel that the driver was very deceptive by not telling us up front that we needed to check of the inventory line by line and by destroying many of the invintory tags by unwrapping items in the truck. Also deceptive is giving us a verbal that all we had to do was call about our missing items and they would be located and shipped to us.

On thing in our favor is that we were never presented an Inventory Control Form at delivery to sign off on for the items in the 2nd pickup, so that part of the claim cannot be denied.


Business Response
We regret any inconvenience or stress that the *******'s experienced with their relocation. We always strive for customer satisfaction and will do so here as well. Based upon the information in their complaint, we are going to re-institute our search for their missing items and get back to them next week with the outcome. In the event we are unable to locate the alleged missing items we will re-visit their claim and attempt to settle to their satisfaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We appreciate ******* revisiting the search for our missing items and would be willing to speak to any of their personel if they need more detailed descriptions of any of the items.

Will wait to hear the findings of their search and their response if some or all of the items cannot be found before we consider the claim settled.

Final Business Response
Unfortunately, we have been unable to locate the alleged missing items in our warehouse after an exhaustive search. We will of course immediately contact claimant in the event they are ever located. We want to point out that the alleged missing items were not noted as missing on the inventory sheet completed on July 13th. Nonetheless, we are willing to settle with claimant for $.60/lb, which is the amount of valuation coverage agreed upon for the perm. storage. Based upon an expected 1,000 lbs., we would be willing to offer claimant $600.00 as a gesture of good faith.

Final Consumer Response
******* Storage &Moving Company has not as of yet resolved my claim, they asked for a week to search for my goods or offer a resolutionif they can't find them, to which I agreed to the fact that they have started the resolution process, but a total resolution is based on the outcomes of their search how they handle the claim from there. I agreed to help with more detailed descriptions if the needed to contact me.

Please do not show my case as resolved or closed yet pending *******s response.

Thanks,

*** & *** *******
***-***-****


Consumer Response
On 6/12 I agreed to ******* Moving and Storages settlemnt of $600, to date I have not recieved a check, please reopen my case.


Business Response
We have offered to settle on the perm. storage lot for $600.00 ($.60/lb) notwithstanding that the items were not noted as missing on the inventory. $.60/lb. is the amount of valuation protection that the customer selected for the perm. storage portion of their shipment. We will continue to search for the alleged missing items and immediately advise of they are located. I am happy to discuss this directly with the customer to attempt to address their concerns. *** ******* (XXX) XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the same resolution that ******* proposed on 6/11/2014 and I accepted which closed the case on 6/12/2014, but I never recieved the promised $600 so I reopened the case several months later.

I still accept this offer to settle the case, but will not show that on this claim untill I actually see the $600 promised ove 90 days ago. I have left Don ******* a VM and would like to put the matter to rest.


Business Response
We have mailed the check for $600.00 in settlement of this matter.


Consumer Response
we recieved the $600.00 promised by ******* Storage and Moving and consider this matter Resolved

09/29/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to deliver 16 items/boxes and damaged 16 pieces of furniture
United Van Lines was hired to move our belongings. They told us at the time of the pick up they would be able to give us a delivery date per ****** *********. They did not give us a delivery date until a week later and ended up taking our belongings to a warehouse in Missouri City, Texas. They then ended up delivering our stuff 5 days past our delivery window. When the movers were unloading they acknowledged significant damage to our furniture including a nursery set that is made with special baby safe non toxic products. Chunks of wood were missing as well as a large crack in a piece of the set as well. Other significant damage included a crack across the top of our dining room table as well as damage done to our brand new floors. There were 16 pieces damaged in total. After they were done unloading they acknowledged and documented that there were also 16 items/boxes missing with the letter "M" next to each item missing and then signed off on all paperwork. I filed my claims online in the time specified. We had the full insurance on our move. Per warehouse manager on July 17th he stated our items were lost and they exhausted all options searching for them. He commented that they very well may have ended up getting shipped somewhere else with the wrong shipment and at that time they had checked all of the vaults. He turned it over to the claims dept on July 17th and stated that they would be calling me. I then reached out to the claims department and after numerous phone calls (15-20 calls) and emails they then asked us to give them 10 more days to trace the missing items and he stated he would get back to me on the 10th day with a resolution. I do not understand why they needed more time however I gave him the extra 10 days he requested. I emailed ** in the claims department on Monday July 28th asking him for a time to discuss my claim on the 10th day. He then stated he would be out of the office on the 10th day but would respond in writing on the 11th day. I have not heard back from ** yet and this is the 12th day. They do not return phone calls and they stopped answering emails. United Van lines damaged a large amount of my furniture as well as lost a significant portion of my property. I am seeking resolution of this matter.

Desired Settlement
-Nursery set needs to be replaced as they can not repair it with baby safe products. $1647 (purchased through baby cache). Baby cache has stated that the most economical resolution is to replace the furniture due to the large amount of damage done and the non toxic product needed to make the furniture safe for babies.
-I am unable to replace the dining room table as they have stopped making it. The crack in the wood now weakens the table and can not be repaired to its original strength therefore they need to reimburse me for the value of the table (Kipling dining set purchased from crate and barrel $1599) I have the original receipt
-Per the furniture company they are unable to repair the washer scratches/dents. 800$
-Compensation for all lost items that now need to be replaced ($4,194)
-All other damaged furniture needs to be repaired/touched up

Business Response
As always, we regret any inconvenience or damage experienced during Ms. ****'s relocation. Ms. ****'s shipment traveled under the motor carrier's authority of United Van Lines and her Agreement was with United (located in Fenton MO., a suburb of St. Louis). Ms. ****'s complaint should be filed with the St. Louis BBB and removed from the Denver BBB.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My claim was supposed to be handled by ** ****** of Johnson Moving and Stoarge. His company, movers claim inc, is located in Colorado.

Final Business Response
As indicated, this United Van Lines shipment complaint should have been filed with the St. Louis BBB. Nevertheless, we will have our claims department re-engage and address the customers complaints per the contract. Thank you.

Page 1 of 6
01/14/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When using ******* to move our belongings from one house to another our delivery date was changed us on when it was too late for us to back out.
A few weeks before our move we met with sales rep *** *********. We told him our plans of having our items picked up from our house on Saturday 7/26/2014, our storage unit on Monday 7/28, and the items moved to the new house on Monday 7/28 once they were done at the storage unit. Several times it was mentioned that we were closing on our homes on Monday morning. We signed an estimate for $3115.44 dollars for those dates.
Due to our tight schedule, we called twice prior to 7/26 to get pickup and delivery scheduled. We were told that we would be called the day before and were also informed that they might do our storage unit on 7/26 or 7/28 and we said either was fine. When the movers arrived on 7/26 we still did not have a delivery time.
While the movers were packing our items into the truck we received a phone call from the scheduler asking to deliver the items to our new house at 8am on 7/28. There was no mention of the storage unit. When we informed the scheduler that we couldn't because we had to be around for our closings that morning, we were informed for the first time that they didn't move people on closing day and that it was too late to schedule a different time. It had to be moved to Wednesday 7/30. We talked to two managers and were told the same thing. When we called *** we were very angry. He responded in anger, telling us we had not told him we were closing that day. (When we had informed him of our closings as we showed him around our house, he told us "well, we don't usually do moves on closing day". We also discussed scheduling the pickup of the storage unit around our closing that morning). When we finally calmed down to attempt a resolution, he hung up on us.
After being told that even if they were willing to deliver on a closing day, the fact that we wouldn't be able to take the items until around noon or 1pm would mean that "the movers wouldn't get back until about 1am and that would violate labor laws" (****** from the company), we finally decided that 7/30 delivery was our only option. We were told later on that day (not when the change was made) that while they would charge us the labor for loading and unloading the truck for $400, they would not charge us the extra hold fees of $100 per night.
Between 7/26 and 7/30 we talked to them again about our complaints and one person gave us the phone number for a manager to express our concerns to. We called the manager and left a message. Our call was never returned.
The movers were scheduled to arrive between 9-10am on Wednesday (7/30). The weather was terrible, so they ended up arriving right around noon, the time that we had wanted them to come on 7/28 but were told it was too late. Including a half hour lunch break, they were gone before 4pm to make the 1.5 hour drive back. We have no idea why we were told that they wouldn't make it home until 1am if they showed up at noon when we wanted a later arrival time than 8am.
After the delivery of our items, we requested a final bill and were told it would be a few days since they had to do a final weight of the truck.
We received a phone call from the moving company after that where they asked us to leave them a good review on their website and they would give us a gift card. When we said that we intended to leave a bad review, they called back and offered to refund the $400 holding charge. We thought about it, and later called back to say yes, we could agree to that since our major issue was the extra holding charge. We were told they would no longer honor that and would charge us the full amount. We asked for a bill during each of these phone calls and were told it was in the mail.
A few days later we got a call telling us our total bill was about $3100 but that they still had to finalize the total. We approved since it matched our estimate fairly well. The actual charge on our credit card a few hours later was $3615.44 and even weeks afterwards, we had no bill.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund of the $600 holding charge. We never received a bill from the movers to approve or dispute what was being charged. We got the bill a little over a week ago on 10/2/2014 from our credit card company documents after they denied our dispute of the charge. We disputed the charge since we were charged with out having any sort of final bill since we had never received a bill from the movers. When we disputed the charge with the credit card company they refused to take our estimate since it was an estimate and we had no bill to offer to show our complaints.
Now that we have the itemized bill (provided by the moving company to the credit card company and the fax is dated 9/8/2014 - more than a month after we were charged), we have issues that the final bill still states that the flat fee for the move was based on ***'s estimate of XXXXX pounds yet the final weight was 9500 pounds. We were told when he came to our house and storage unit that it could be a bit more than that if he underestimated the weight, but for some reason when it was nearly 3000 pounds less there was nothing taken off. We do not know how the weight is used in calculating the fee, so we are not disputing this charge, but we are very upset that it was not reduced when the weight was about 25% less than estimated.
We are asking for a refund of the $600 holding charge since we never approved this fee. It was forced upon us once half of our items were already on a moving truck and no one was willing to work with us on a different resolution. Additionally we were told that it would be about $400 even up to the last minute when they had offered to waive it and then took that offer away with no explanation.
I know that they will claim repeatedly that we did not tell them about our closings on that day, but we know at minimum we had the conversation about when the storage unit could be picked up that involved a discussion of needing to work around our first closing. We had a very busy day arranged for 7/28 and did everything in our power to get it all set up appropriately. There was nothing for us to gain by not disclosing our closings to them because of how fragile our schedule was. That is why we called scheduling twice to try and set up our times only to be told they would call us.
I have emails that were exchanged after the fact where they claim it was not known we were upset (there are at least five people we conversed with about how upset we were with the changes). I have an email where I was told that I would not be put in contact with a manager because the situation did not deserve a manager (this was at least a week or two after we had called a manager and left the message that was not returned). When getting the estimate we were incredibly impressed with how willing they were to work with us - down to driving out to check out our storage unit to see the amount of stuff it contained. After they had our stuff on a truck the staff was unwilling to work with us and hostile, especially our sales rep ***. The men who moved our stuff were extremely polite and we appreciated them. It was the sales staff and managers who mishandled the situation. The final amount was never told to us and the bill never received.

Business Response
The storage charges that Mr. ****** complains of were occasioned by changes in his dates as he acknowledges. We had to handle his belongings in and out of our warehouse due to peak season as we explained to him. The charges are legitimate. Nonetheless, as a gesture of good faith, and in the spirit of the BBB, we are willing to offer a $200.00 refund to try and address Mr. ******'s concerns. Please advise if this is acceptable.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did not choose to change the date, the date change was made for us. We talked to 4 or 5 people that morning after the 8am delivery time was told to us and we said we needed it to be later in the day (which it was already supposed to be since our storage unit had to be picked up - as documented on our paperwork). We were told the same thing repeatedly: our stuff could be delivered on Wednesday as opposed to Monday. We were not offered a choice. We signed no documentation that states that there is company policy against delivering on a closing date, yet that is what we were told over and over again. ***, our sales person, never communicated our needs to the schedulers.
Had the issue arisen earlier (when 1/3 of our belongs were on a truck), we would have gone with another company (that we already had a quote from as well and who knew our scheduling needs). But everything happened at time where we had no options and no one offered us any.
While this was filed as a billing dispute, we were also appalled by the horrible customer service provided to us. We were hung up on during one of our many conversations on pick up day. We were told that we would not be provided the opportunity to speak with a manager because our concerns did not warrant a manager - I have never been denied a manager by any other business when it has been requested. We requested a final bill at least three separate times and it was never provided to us. We were told one amount as the final amount and then a completely different amount was charged to our credit card (more than $500 higher).
The actual movers were incredibly kind, but unfortunately they were the only ones. The movers apologized to us several times for the unfortunate circumstances, but no one from the office has done anything other than be defensive about why this should be considered all our fault - including here in this response.
So no, we don't want $200 "in good faith". We want the $600 refunded that we were forced to pay and were never quoted throughout any of the process due a "company rule" we never signed off on.

Final Business Response
Again, Mr. ****** did in fact change his moving date due to a real estate closing, which caused the price to change (occasioned by the need to bring his goods into storage in transit). Had his dates not changed he would not have been charged the extra amount. Our offer of a $200.00 discount stands or we are happy to go to mediation to address his concerns.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not sure what you mean by "Mr. ****** did in fact change his moving date due to a real estate closing". We had both closings set before we even hired you and communicated these to the sales rep when we first met. We communicated that by picking up items Monday morning from our storage unit and then taking everything to our new home, we should be able to make the timing work with both our closings. When the call came to schedule our Monday delivery IN THE MIDDLE OF THE TRUCK BEING LOADED on Saturday and the only time offered was to be at our new house at 8am on Monday, we explained why that didn't work and didn't make sense. Had this call come even one day earlier (on a business day), we actually could have arranged to make it work with both our closings, but instead we were given no options. Instead we were informed that our items would be delivered on Wednesday and that was our only "option". We are happy to provide documents that show that our closings were set up long before the moving company was in the picture and are happy to provide phone numbers of realtors who set up the closing times that were never altered. It is noted on our moving paperwork about the storage unit needing to be picked up, but that was never mentioned during the scheduling phone call.
Our biggest issue with the scheduling was that it was done while our items were being placed on a truck and on a weekend day and so late in the process that no changes could be made. As said previously, we asked several times about trying to get everything scheduled since we knew we had a tight schedule and we were told that someone would call us and that we couldn't start setting something up (yet by the time we were called there were "no other options").
Such bad customer service and bad handling of the situation.

12/04/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over 50 boxes not delivered. multiple people providing misinformation. Still do not have our items.
We moved from CO to CA. Several different people told us different dates our stuff would be delivered. When it was finally delivered we were missing over 50 boxes and multiple big ticket items. When we contacted the company it was difficult to even get someone to look for our items that were left behind. When located they did not ship out in a timely and we are still waiting. We are well passed the agreed upon latest delivery date. The company clearly is at fault for not shipping our complete inventory and not providing us with our items within the window of agreed upon time frame. The company is unapologetic, unsympathetic, and has no urgency in resolving our claims. We paid well over $7, 000.00 for the complete move. We are still waiting.

Desired Settlement
I would like our items quickly and accurately told when they will arrive. I would like a formal apology and admittance of wrong doing from the company. I want someone to actually care what they have put us through.

Business Response
First, we regret any stress or inconvenience that Claimant has experienced related to her relocation. It is always our intent to provide a hastle free move and we are sorry if this did not occur in this case.

Ms. ******'s shipment traveled under the motor vehicle authority of United Van Lines in Fenton, MO. Therefore, this complaint should technically be brought via the St. Louis BBB under United Van Lines.

Nonetheless, we will expedite a her claim once she files one with our claims dept., which she has not done. All she has to do is log onto our website at www.johnsonstorage.com and click on "other services" and then "file a claim" and we will expedite the claim with United. Claimant may be entitled to a delay claim or other remedies once she avails herself of our Claims Department per her contract.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is not united van lines problem. ******* Storage and Moving did not ship all the vaults. United will be happy to confirm this. ********* and **** with United are the contact people. We were told by Lori in the claims department that it was such a large shipment to NOT complete the claims form. The claims form are item by item and if we were to complete that it would be inaccurate and impossible. We did receive some things but are still missing some items. I will fill out the claim form for the items missing and the multiple items that were damaged. Again, the company is not taking responsibility for this matter.

Final Business Response
We are glad that complainant has elected to follow the contractual procedure of filing a claim - which we will expedite.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We filed the claim on September 30, 2014. In the email we received it said most claims are settled within 30 days. This is day 37 and clearly this process has not been expedited. I have been without items or with items damaged to the point they are unusable. To be satisfied I want reimbursement for the items that were not sent to us, my broken items fully repaired, or reimbursement for these items. I want a date from this company when this issue will be completely resolved and a BBB intervention/ramification if it is not completely resolved by that date.

08/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract signed for a two phase storage and move across country "Straight Talk Price Assurance" for $16,103.81. Final bill was higher.


On April 22, 2013 I signed a "Straight Talk Price Assurance" contract with ***** ******* sales representative for ******* United Moving and Storage.This contract was to include a two phase storage and move across country. The total of the signed contract was $16,103.81. I felt this was reasonable and signed the contract in good faith. On February 26, 2013 a number of items of furniture were removed form my home and placed in storage by ******* United . At that time they requested $2,138.22, which I paid. The final move was August 2,2013. Upon arrival to our new home in New York the driver would not allow the furniture to be unloaded until he received a certified check for the total $16,103.81, which I paid.
Repeated attempts to contact ******* and ******* for explanation/ resolution, copy of contract I signed for additional charges of $2138.22 have either gone unanswered and/or not answered to my satisfaction.

Desired Settlement

Resolution/explanation and documentation of the o
additional $2,138.22 I was charged. (Please note I paid storage seperately and have itemized receipts for that)

Business Response
Mr. ******'s shipment included an interstate move for $16,103.81, plus a separate perm. storage component that was billed at $2,138.22. The perm. storage component was not included in the quote for the interstate move (storage in transit WAS included in the interstate move). The separate contract for the perm. storage is attached and will be forwarded to the BBB under separate cover. It includes warehouse receipts signed by Mr. ****** along with monthly invoices. Our Representative, ***** ******* attempted to explain this to Mr. ****** on multiple occasions, without success. We are happy to discuss this again and I will make myself available as one of the owners here. (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Don *******

Consumer Response
BBB Complaint Case # 75214652 (REF#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

From: ****** ****** ******
Sent: March 23, 2014
To: ******* ******
Trade Practice Specialist
Better Business Burea
*******@denver.bbb.org
XXX XXX-XXXX
XXX XXX-XXXX-FAX

Dear Ms. *******
Thank-you for your response to our concerns. We appreciate you efforts as Mr. ******** even with "Return Receipt Requested" through the post office, has never responded to any of our concerns. As of this date our complaint has not been satisfactorily resolved.
As stated on our complaint our "Total Price Assurance" was for $16,103.81. We paid storage separately which I have documentation to validate. My requests to ******* and ******* for a copy of a contract I was told I signed for 2,138.22 have gone unanswered.
In contradiction to what Mr ****** stated in his response to you, ***** ****** either did not answer my e-mails, phone calls, ground mail and/or did not respond to the above request. In addition, my realtor (based in Colorado) was also unsuccessful in her requests for documentation. Please note my daughter and son-in-law (advocates) have been intimately involved and a part of all meetings and correspondence. This includes the initial meeting with ***** ****** where we were given (and signed) a contract for a Total Price Assurance of $16,103.81.
Again I would like to reiterate if I have signed a contract for an additional $ 2,138.22 I would like to see a copy of it. I also would like to go on record that we were treated very poorly and unprofessionally by ******* and ******* storage.
Thank-you again for your efforts.

Respectfully,
****** ****** ******
**************@msn.com
XXX-XXX-XXXX




Final Business Response
Again, we regret that Mr. ****** was unhappy with the proposed resolution of his complaint. As stated in our response, Mr. ******'s shipment included two separate contracts - one for his interstate shipment and one for his per. storage component. Both contracts were sent to ******* Vicars on March 17th for forwarding to Mr. ******. I will forward copies again. I never received nor signed a certified letter nor any other form of correspondence from claimant.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank-you for your response. As indicated in my initial complaint, the issue of signed documentation for the $2138.22 I paid on 2/26/13 with the understanding it was part of the total cost assurance of $16,103.81 has not been answered.
Please note, on the unsigned information sent to the BBB the 6 on the Total Price Cost Assurance of $16,103.81 appears to look like an 8. It is not.
In regards to Mr. Hindmans statement that he has not received correspondence from me, I will be happy to forward documentation to prove otherwise, including a signed receipt for a certified letter addressed to him as well as validated faxes and emails. As I do not have scanning capabilities please forward a Better Business Bureau mailing address I can send these to. Thank-you.


Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Filed a claim with the moving management company (Total Military Management) on 30 May 2013 due to household property damage (i.e. 1 foot section of damaged hardwood flooring) caused by a household goods move that occurred on 13 May 2013 at ***** ******************, ********, ********. On 10 July 2013, my spouse received a letter from Total Military Management stating that household property damage had to be claimed through the moving company (Johnson Storage & Moving United). On 12 July 2013, I called Johnson Storage & Moving United and learned that I could go to their company website to submit a claim. Subsequently, I submitted the claim. On 22 July 2013, I received a letter in the mail stating that Johnson Storage & Moving United denied my claim due to a late submission (i.e. move date was 13 May 2013 and claim date was 12 July 2013). I strongly disagree with this claim denial as Johnson Storage & Moving United did not provide any claim documents at the time of the move-in date, nor did the movers provide any guidance as to where to submit a household property claim. Furthermore, delays with Total Military Management aggravated the claim submission timeline. Therefore, I request that Johnson Storage & Moving United send a claims adjustor and repairman/repairwoman to mitigate the 1-foot section of hardwood floor damage caused by the movers, who did not acknowledge their lack of momentary judgment. If the Total Military Management allows 75-days to transpire before the claimant must submit a claim, so should Johnson Storage & Moving United honor the same timeline.
Product_Or_Service: Hardwood Flooring

Desired Settlement
Johnson Storage & Moving United should send a claims adjustor and repairman/repairwoman to mitigate the 1-foot section of hardwood floor damage caused by the movers, who did not acknowledge their lack of momentary judgment.

Business' Initial Response
We responded via e-mail to******** ****** on August 8 as follows:
This shipment was booked by a United Van Lines agent out of L.A. called Blue Chip Moving & Storage. We were not the carrier on the shipment, but rather, merely acted as a destination agent for Blue Chip Moving & Storage. Since this was not our booking, customer's complaint should be directed to the booking agent, Blue Chip Moving & Storage in L.A.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Johnson Storage & Moving Company refused to provide the correct documentation within 24 hours of the original claim, nor did declare what was required within 24 hours. This complaint should remain a matter of record as it demonstrates the lack of customer service and unwillingness to be accountable for its actions. I acted in accordance with the information provided to me and the timeline (i.e. 75 days) that was made known to me on 13 May 2013. I also followed up with Johnson Storage & Moving Company once the correct information was made known that I needed to submit a claim to them (i.e. July 2013). Subsequently, Johnson Storage & Moving Company denied my claim due to a late submission, and followed that with an attempt to send me on a tangent (i.e. submit a claim with a non-responsible party).

Business' Final Response
Again, we regret that the shipper has been dissatisfied with our claims process, which requires that a claim for property damage be filed within 24 hours of the completion of the move. We allow cargo claims to be filed within 90 days but require property damage claims to be made sooner due to the magnitude of such claims and the possibility for mis-identification of the culprit (e.g., damage caused by subsequent service providers). In this case, we didn't not become aware of any claim for 60 days after the move, which is beyond our stated policy. We regret that we will be unable to deviate from our policy in this case.

09/20/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Fur Storage, Office Records Stored, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Storage-Mobile, Warehouses - Merchandise

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.