BBB Accredited Business since

Boulder Valley Transfer

Phone: (303) 530-7333 481 S. ARTHUR AVE, Louisville, CO 80027 http://www.bouldervalleytransfer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boulder Valley Transfer meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boulder Valley Transfer include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

38 Customer Reviews on Boulder Valley Transfer
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 36
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 38

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1912 Business started locally: 01/01/1912
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission
1580 Logan St Ste 1550, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/puc/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2070

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Voigt, President Mrs. Lucy Trujillo, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Lucy Trujillo, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Voigt, President
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Boulder Valley Transfer has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 481 S. ARTHUR AVE

    Louisville, CO 80027

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a bill and credit card authorization form for $1642.50. Boulder Valley Transfer then charged my credit card for $1742.50. I signed a bill and credit card authorization form for $1642.50 on July 26, 2014. Boulder Valley Transfer then charged my credit card for $1742.50 because they say their employee should not have given me a $100 discount. I called to resolve the dispute. The employee (**** I believe) said that they don't issue discounts in the last week of the month, so I wasn't entitled to a discount. I explained that I signed a bill and credit card authorization form for $1642.50, not $1742.50. She said that the higher amount was proper and there was nothing they could do. This is an unauthorized charge that I did not sign for. I have initiated payment dispute with my credit card provider.

Desired Settlement: I would like $100 refunded to my credit card. It is a serious issue to knowingly charge a customer's credit card for more than what that customer signed for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ Boulder Valley Transfer will credit back $100.00 back to the customers credit card. Boulder Valley Transfer will mail an invoice to the customer for $100.00 as no discounts are applied to any moves on the last week or first week of the month. Customer can mail a check for the $100.00 to *** ** ****** **** *********** ** XXXXX. The customer was aware of the discount exclusion via email. Customer was also aware of the exclusion when she called our office and asked about the discounts. We told the customer that our coupon says ask for details. Boulder Valley Transfer does not apply any discounts to moves on peak days during the summer as those dates are high demand and book out 2-3 weeks out. Originally customer had inquired about our moving services on July 17th for a move July 26-July 31st, **** ******** emailed her on July 17th and informed her that we were booked that entire week. Customer called on July 22nd again inquiring about our dates. We informed her that we may have an opening due to another customers closing falling thru. We were able to accommodate her with packing and moving services on such short notice. Customer is correct he did authorize credit card for the amount mentioned. We spoke with our accounting department in regards to the charge and they will issue credit back on the card today August 6th, an invoice for balance due will also be mailed today and payment needs to be received with in 15 days. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not acceptable. Boulder Valley Transfer still trying to bill me for more than the final bill and credit card authorization form that its employee presented to me and I signed. The email estimate Ms. ******** refers to says very clearly: "This is only an estimate and not to be construed as a binding contract. Final bill is determined by total services and materials." The final bill prepared by Boulder Valley Transfer's employee and signed by me is for $1642.50. Boulder Valley Transfer's employee presented me with a final bill. On that bill he included a $100 discount. Perhaps he did this because the estimate for packing materials was $200, but we used our boxes instead and were still billed $180 for packing materials. Perhaps he did it because 2 of his 4 crew members were 20 minutes late, and that time was not deducted from services. I don't know why. But the fact is that the final bill Boulder Valley Transfer's employee presented to me and I signed is for $1642.50, not $1742.50. I am attaching a pictures of my copy of the final bill that shows $1642.50 as the final tally. Everything in the document other than the signatures was prepared by Boulder Valley Transfer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/18) */ We have issued the credit back to the customer as we said we would.**** ****** is the person filing this complain but our office never spoke to ****. We only spoke and emailed with ****** ******. We have the email sent to ****** on July 23rd at 1:38 p.m. on were we stated "Final payment is due upon completion of the move. You can pay by check , cash or credit card. * no coupons or discounts are applied to moves at the end or first week of the month". **** at the office had a conversation with ****** a couple of days prior to the move. ****** asked **** about the discount and **** informed her that we don't apply discounts to moves at the end of the month. ****** understood and continued to confirm her move. We spoke to our driver, he apologized and was aware that we didn't take coupons but at the end of the day he was fatigued and he spaced it out without thinking and applied the discount (human error). The customer was informed Twice (verbally and by email) that we did not accept coupons and yet they still gave the driver a coupon. We did not lie about the discounts not being valid to ******. **** was probably not aware as he was not part of the conversation or the email. The balance remains. This is not an overcharge it is part of the services performed to the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not acceptable. Boulder Valley Transfer's response is factually inaccurate. I never presented any coupon or asked for a discount. It was offered after I noticed issues with the bill. As I said, we provided the boxes for the move, yet were still charged $180 for packing materials. The driver tried to call the office to check whether the bill was in error but couldn't reach anyone. f Boulder Valley Transfer would like to renegotiate the final bill that they presented and I signed, then I will again raise my objection to the packing materials charge and total time spent on the second day. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

12/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Estimate was a difference of $695.00 with some minor changes of the work performed. Requested $800.00 in damaged claims, the business offered $400 The money paid of $2370.00 was no where the estimate of $1675.00 even though there was a minor change to take our furniture to Boulder for the night of September 26 and deliver to our new address on September 27th at **** ********* ******** Co. This was an additional $695.00. We submitted a claim for $800.00 damage and the business offered a final payment of $400.00, a take it or leave it deal. On the estimate we had a $50,000 full replacement value coverage for free which I agreed to, We also had a broken freezer handle that was broken and notated that we forgot about and nothing was said or paid for this item. I tried to call **** the part owner numerous times on his cell at XXX-XXX-XXXX and he will not return my phone calls. His office manager, ****, is very hard to deal with and it is her way or no way. I feel that they were paid and do not want to deal with our issues. I have never filed a BBB claim before but this has been more than justified.

Desired Settlement: An additional $400.00 based on our damaged furniture. Also a logical discussion on the money paid versus the estimate plus a $150.00 dollars for the broken door on our freezer that was noted with the movers that we forgot to mention on our original claim. Again, the only dealing we have had was with **** the office manager. I think the owner ought to be involved since he gave us the original estimate and the insurance that I mentioned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/06) */ We will be submitting email exchanged between **** and Mr. ****** Everything was in writing between them. I ******* ***** am the owner. **** ******* is the estimator that met with Mr. ***** (2 different persons) **** informed me of the situation prior to replying to the emails as she needs authorization to make any type of offer or settlement with customers. In addition she checked with the movers and ****. The customer made some changes to his original estimate which increased the original estimate. At the end, the move exceeded 1 hour and 20 minutes which for a large move of his size it is realistic. The email will explain the coverage, what our legal liability is, what we offered and the customers acceptance. ******* ***** (owner) Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I want the BBC to know that I have tried to discuss this issue with several of the managers/owners and they will not return my call to even discuss the issues involved. I do not want to discuss this issue with their office manager, ****, because she made us a final offer of "take it or leave it." If all else fails with the BBB, we will contact Channel 7 and 9 News in Denver to attempt to resolve. We plan on also going to small claims court if necessary. This is not a threat, but a fact. Never have I done business with such unscrupulous people in my life. As the company stated in their last response, I did make changes to the original estimate of 1 hour and 20 minutes and they held my furniture overnight. This again is a cost difference of $695 from the original estimate and $550 less than the claim for our damaged belongings that was to be covered at full replacement value with no deductible per the estimate. The company does not mention that on day 2 of the move we only had FOUR MEN instead of the FIVE PER THE BID. I was told that this equates to $30 per hour at 5 hours, or $150 that I over paid for that day. (The company won't mention this on any of their responses.) The bid was not totally fulfilled per our agreement. The company will only talk about my deviation that they charged us at an exorbitant rate. They offered me a $400 "take it or leave it" settlement for damages to belongings. If we did not accept, we wouldn't even get the $400. We decided to take the check in lieu of nothing and then file a complaint at a later date, which we are doing. The company also stated that when the check was cashed we would lose all rights and that all claims are closed and settled. That's ideal for them because they basically robbed us and called all the shots once the move was completed. They took me for an additional $695 over the bid, plus failed to pay $550 for full replacement value on our destroyed property. This totals $1245. I am one senior citizen that will take this as far as I can. I surely don't want to see this happen to my fellow citizen. It more than likely already has from what I am gathering. I cannot believe that this company will not own up to the agreement that was made with us. I am willing to accept $550 to settle this claim. Once we proceed in another direction, it will be for te actual $1245, plus legal fees, court costs, and punitive damages. It is very strange that a manager or owner will not discuss the problem with me. I think there may be a little guilt complex or they could care less about their customers or any resolution. I could not imagine in my former business to blow off one of my customers like they have done to me. This info should be public. They are scamming people. One final point: we had to identify damaged items at the time the move was finalized before they even left our house. As we continue to unpack we are still finding broken or damaged possessions. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/20) */ The customer filed a claim with Boulder Valley Transfer. **** explained the breakdown of the final charges with him. The customer made changes to the original estimate. The changes made by the customer added extra drive time plus overnight charges. After taking the changes and additional cost the move exceeded by an hour and 20 minutes. The customer accepted and understood the charges. Secondly the customer filed a claim. Please see Emails exchanged as it was all in writing. We offered him a settlement amount of $400 via email were it stated that this would be our final offer and that it would expire after 15 days, he replied via email "We look forward to receiving a check as soon as possible". The check was mailed and cashed/deposited by the customer. All claims are closed and settled upon depositing of the check. We at BVT have already replied to all of his claims back in October before the check was issued. It is redundant to continue to go back when this has already been resolved. We went beyond what the legal compensation to him would have been.

9/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company did not complete the job. Not all of our items were moved, things were damaged, and the team was not properly equipped to do the job. We were very hopeful about the move. **** came out to give us an estimate ($480.00) and the company was able to book the move on short notice. We had hoped to move a lot of the boxes on our own, but we were unable to do so. This resulted in there being more boxes to move than expected. I thought that this might be the case, so I asked **** before he left what would happen if we had more boxes than expected and if it took longer than he anticipated. He assured me that it would all get moved. That if it took longer than expected, it was okay, and we would just be charged for the extra time. When the team arrived on the 25th they did not have any equipment to help them move the boxes. They moved everything on their backs which took them MUCH longer than in the past when we have had teams that used dollies. Given that we were paying by the hour, this was not okay. They loaded all the boxes and then moved on to the furniture. By this point it was getting late in the day and they were moving MUCH slower than before. Instead of continuing to carefully plan where things would go in the truck, items were just dumped in and they started to run out of room. This quickly became a problem as there was a lot left to move. We started having to pick and choose what got moved. As a result of their being understaffed and lack of attention to details, only about 80% of our things got moved. (Please know that we have moved all of this furniture before and the group got everything into a trailer much smaller than their truck, so the issue was not with the size of our items, but with the planning that went into how to load them). Things took so long that at the new place, my fiancé and I were making trips on and off the truck with boxes to speed the process along. Additionally, to make things go faster, none of the boxes were put into the designated rooms. The final bill for the incomplete and poorly executed job was $946.50. I spoke with the company the next day to explain the situation and asked for additional help. I was told that none was available. After sending a first email explaining all of the above, I was offered a gift certificate to a restaurant as compensation. I sent another email explaining that a gift certificate was in no way adequate compensation for the inadequate and incomplete job. Had all of our items been moved and our things handled properly, I would have absolutely no problem paying for the extra time. But given that their men had no equipment (dollies) to help with the move, which made things take significantly longer than necessary, given that they did not actually move all of our items, and given that a wall and a couch were damaged in the move, I see no justification for the charges above the $480 that was quoted. I understand that an estimate is just that, an estimate. That the actual cost was nearly double the initial quote seems like an egregious miscalculation. The issue here is simply that due to the incompetence of the team Boulder Valley Transfer sent out, the job was not completed as was promised, and cost twice as much as the estimate. As I said in my second email to the company, I would not have had any problems paying the extra money had the job been completed, but it was not. And I had been guaranteed that it would be. The team was also unable to move at a reasonable speed which led to the job costing much more than estimated all showing a complete lack of professionalism.

Desired Settlement: If the company truly wants to amend the outcome of their services, the only reasonable offer would be a reimbursement of the difference between the quote given on 6/13/2013 of $480 and the actual bill from the move on 6/25/2013 of $946. That would mean returning the $466 that the company charged above the quote for an incomplete and poorly executed move. As I stated above, had the job been completed and done in a professional manner the extra money would not be an issue. But both my fiance and I lost a week of work finishing a move that I was guaranteed would be completed. I have never seen such a completely incompetent team of movers. Or movers that showed up with no equipment. They did not even have dollies to help move the washer and dryer, these too were moved by hand. I see no justification for paying double the estimated price for an incomplete job.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/15) */ Boulder Valley Transfer provided******** ******* with a moving quote on 6/13/13. This quote was to move furniture only, as******** was planning on moving all the boxes. ******* sent us an email on 7/8/13 she wrote the following.. "We were very hopeful about the move. **** came out to give us an estimate and you were able to book the move on short notice. This was great and very much appreciated. **** was wonderful and answered all my questions. We had hoped to move a lot of the boxes on our own, but due to issues at the new place, we were unable to do so. This resulted in there being more boxes to move than expected. I thought that this might be the case, so I asked **** before he left what would happen if we had more boxes than expected and if it took longer than he anticipated. He assured me that it would all get moved. That if it took longer than expected, it was okay, and we would just be charged for the extra time. This was great and we proceeded with booking the move." ******* is filing a complaint and asking for reimbursement when she states in her email that she did not move all the boxes as she had planned. She knew and was aware that if she did not move the boxes it would be an extra charge, she agreed and booked. We feel there are no questions left or monies due. Boulder Valley Transfer provided and charged******** only for the actual moving services performed, fuel and materials used on her move. We moved as much as we could in the day light. We had only planned for a 5 hour day as that is what she had arranged for us to do. If we would have been notified prior to the move that she did not move the boxes we would have started her move early in the morning and would have been able to complete her entire move. On the day of the move there was some wall damage done to her property, we sent out a repair company and they did full repairs.******** was happy that the repairs were completed. We apologized that her move did not go as planned. We thanked her for the feed back and we offered her a gift card to The Outback or to Chillis. The gift card offer is still open. We will mail her the gift card once she lets us know her preference. We feel that we provided******** with the best service under the unexpected circumstances. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) BVT's continued assertions that this is entirely my fault are appalling. I have never heard a company blame their customers before for their poor service. Had anyone at BVT told me, in any way, that I needed to call if we had more boxes than expected, I would have happily done so. But no one did. When I asked **** what would happen if there was more than expected he just assured me that no matter what, everything would get moved. This did not happen. I understand that BVT has charged me for the time it took their men to do the move. My contention has been and continues to be that the move took longer than necessary because the men were not moving materials in an efficient manner. Regardless of the amount to move, it is not unreasonable to expect a company that charges by the hour, to have their teams move quickly and efficiently. BVT has yet to address my concern that this took longer than necessary due to their team's unprofessional technique. At a minimum, BVT knew that there were several washers and dryers that needed to be moved, but their men showed up with no equipment dolly. This meant that the men had to move washers and dryers by hand. This took longer than necessary, as did many other parts of the move. The issue on my side is simply that the move was not done professionally. My next issue is that BVT continues to blame me for this issue. This complaint and their responses show BVT to have atrocious customer service. They continue to be the worst company I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Any company that blames its customers for their poorly executed job should not be trusted. The public should be aware of these issues before choosing to hire BVT. There is no need for further communication. BVT has shown what type of company they are and the type of customer service they provide. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/08/30) */ We have responded to all of the customers replies and our answers remain the same. We only charged for services performed. Yes, we scheduled the crew to do a 3 hour move prior to********s move. We gave ******* a start time of 12:00-2:00 as her move was estimated to only take 5 hours. The crew was planned to work an 8 hour day. Again, if******** would have called our office we would have changed her move to start at 8:00 and we would have taken the proper equipment. We apologize if we are repeating ourselves. Communication is the reason this move turned out this way. We understand that********s plans changed with her new house as she stated in her email. We understand that these changes were probably not her fault and probably had to do with the previous owner of the house she moved in to. We understand that she might have been under pressure and along with all the other steps that come along with buying a home and moving it could have been easy to forget to call in the changes. We can assure you that if we would have know of the changes we would have made the proper changes to complete her move. We only charged her for the hours the men worked.******** is asking for money back for labor that was provided to her. Unfortunately we are unable to refund her for labor services that we performed and she received.

8/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Final cost of move was over 50% of estimate. Many items were damaged, broken or lost. Movers were not qualified to move piano and machinery. July 11, 2013 To:****************************** dba Pride Moving ******************** *********************** Re: Move From:**************************************** To:************************************************* We have opened every box and have found the following items either missing or broken: 1. Bookshelf-damaged and returned to mover. Lucy asked me to find a replacement/cost and I e-mailed her that I found one at Office Depot for $89. 2. A desk drawer was damaged and I said I would fix it. 3. A 28"D glass table top is missing. Slade Glass quoted $69.93 to replace. 4. One particleboard shelf for a storage rack is missing. I replaced it for $7.00. 5. Two hinges are missing from the piano and Cost is $49. **** said his movers are capable of moving pianos but both Boulder Piano Gallery and our piano tuner said knowledgeable piano movers remove only the pins, not the entire hinge. 6. The bandsaw was removed from its table and the 4 bolts haven't been found. $10. 7. The lathe is not working and a cap that covers the belt is missing. **** said his movers are capable of moving heavy equipment. The drive cost $568 and the cap is $21.95 With all of the missing pieces, we can't be sure that other pieces aren't missing. The quote for the move, without storage charges was $4920-$5360. The total moving charge was $7993, which is 49-62% over estimate. I understand that a little more time was needed so I wouldn't have been surprised if we ended up with the higher estimate because of snow on the ground on the move-out but this excessive overcharge is unacceptable. A Boulder Valley Transfer representative did his estimate following a close inspection of the contents of the house and the slope of the property. We discussed the concerns regarding moving the heavy equipment. In addition, we told **** that we were moving to a higher mountain area and we didn't know how difficult the move-in would be because we hadn't found a specific home yet. Also, **** told us their storage area was climate controlled, which is one reason we chose Boulder Valley Transfer over The Moving Connection. When we went to the storage area shortly after the move, we were surprised that it wasn't climate controlled. Furniture should not be stored for 5 months in varying temperatures, especially the piano. **** agreed to put only the piano in a climate controlled area. Please respond to these issues so that we can settle them in a timely manor. I am hopeful that we can come to a settlement between us. Regards, ************

Desired Settlement: Replacement cost of damaged, missing and broken items= $806. Reinbursement for much of the cost that was more than estimate = $2000.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/12) */ On November 21, 2012 our estimator ************ provided customer with a quote of $5,817.50. This quote was to move from Boulder directly to Golden with packing labor and packing materials. This did not include any storage as at the time customer was moving from one home to another. On December 12, 2012 our estimator **** provided a revised estimate discounting the hourly rate from $270.00 to $220.00 per hour it included monthly storage of $700.00 and fuel was increased as it was for 2 moves (storage in and storage out) for a total quote of $6,060.00 no packing was included. At this point we had provided customer with the following discounts in order to earn his business. -$150.00 savings discounted fuel from $300.00 to $150.00 -600.00 savings hourly rate from $270 to $220 for 12 hours storage in quote -550.00 savings hourly rate from $270 to $220 for 11 hours storage out quote -1,780.00 savings storage from $700.00 to $255.00 per month x 4 months in storage -1,400.00 savings first 2 months storage free reg rate $700 month $4,480.00 total discounts! On move day the weather conditions were snowy. Customer's residence was up in the mountains making the move very difficult with the snow. When we arrived to the residence the driveway had snow and movers had to shovel the snow as the customer had not done so. When snowy conditions exist it is logical that the movers do move at a slower pace as they have to take into consideration their safety first and they need to protect the household goods. Movers were walking in snow thru driveway and walking up and down the ramps with furniture. Unfortunately we are unable to control the weather. In addition the customer was ill that day and was not prepared for the move. We had to do packing which of course added more labor time and packing material cost. The customer remained in their bedroom as we did not want our staff to get sick. Due to the weather it was not possible to move the machinery with only man power. We had to come out a second day with additional equipment to get the machinery. ******** ***** was out at residence on the second day to move all machinery.******** did not charge the customer for his time out on the job nor for the extra equipment used or fuel to get the equipment out to residence. Since the customer was not ready and did not have the home fully packed and prepared for the move the original estimate was void in addition the weather was a major factor of why the move went over. We did not provide the customer with a flat rate or a guaranteed not to exceed quote. Our quote states: This is only an estimate and not to be construed as a binding contract. This proposal is limited to items shown to estimator. Final bill is determined by total services, materials and additional expenses. Total payment is due at job site upon completion. The Bill of Lading states " All moves based on a time basis. This is not a flat rate. Packing charges based on time and charges per item listed." The customer paid in full for the moving services to bring his items into storage. Customer received 2 months of free storage. Customer called our office and scheduled delivery for June 4, 2013. At the time******** was working in California, he made arrangements to be here to supervise the delivery for the customer. ******** was in Colorado when the customer called to reschedule his move for June 17, 2013. Unfortunately******** had plans and needed to be back in California. We provided the customer with a quote to deliver his goods in the amount of $3160.00 the final charges were $3,473.00. ($313.00 over the estimate). We were unable to load the piano on the same load, so it was delivered a few days later. We told customer that we wouldn't charge him drive time as it didn't fit in the load and that he would only be charged for the loading and unloading time. Customer refused to pay the $120.00 that was for handling of the piano. Customer called claiming he was missing a tire, a few days later he called saying he had found the tire. Customer reported that bookshelf was broken and brought back with the movers. The bookshelf was particleboard and was not repairable. Customer claimed that the plaque and hinges were removed and were missing from the piano. He was informed to check with his piano person and get a quote for the pieces. Customer claimed missing bolts for band saw. Customer claimed particleboard shelf missing. Customer claimed that the belt cover for lathe was missing. All of these damaged and missing items fall under the Basic Value that the customer signed for. The following is stated in our Bill of lading. Customers choose and signed for the 1. BASIC VALUE (Limited Liability) unless expressly declared in writing below the shipper releases the entire shipment to a value not exceeding sixty (60) cents per pound per article. VALUATION DEDUCTIBLE $500.00 ON LOST OR DAMAGED ITEMS ON STANDARD MOVRS LIAILTY VALUATION. I understand that if a piece of furniture should be scratched, nicked, gouged rubbed or damaged in any way and can be repaired by an expert repairperson, contracted by The Company, I will pay the first $500.00. If the repair is more than $500.00 claim will go by released valuation if purchased by me or paid for at the option of The Company. Customer claimed that the Drive for the lathe was broken. It is stated on our bill of lading that "Company is not responsible for any mechanical or electrical functions of any item or appliance."" This item is void and not covered.******** when out to the customers residence and took pictures of the drive and there was no physical exterior damage to the piece. Unfortunately we are not liable for this item, as it is stated on the bill of lading. We intend to resolve the customers claim as it is stated on the Bill of Lading. We provided the customer with moving services and storage. We have provided the customer with discounts over $4,000.00 including 2 months of free storage and ½ cost for fuel. We believe that we have been generous in providing him with discounts over $4,000.00. We assure the customer that his claim will be resolved as stated on the Bill of Lading. We don't believe that after all we have provided, the customer should be refunded and additional $2,000.00 for services rendered. We will mail the BBB copies of the signed bill of lading that show that the customer agreed and signed for the Basic $0.60 coverage, agreed that final charges are based on actual time basis and the exclusions to claims and claim deductible. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 19, 2013/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their proposed resolution ignores the fact that they charged us over 45% more than their estimate. We have taken our complaint to the Public Utilities Commission who is investigating. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/08/23) */ We are unable to give Mr.******$2000.00 back on services that were performed and that he received in full. In regards to the claims. Yes, we recognize the damages and missing items except to the mechanical conditions. Mr.******signed and choose the basic value of $.60 per lb. but he wants full replacement with no deductible? We agree to pay him for the amounts he has claimed excluding the item that has mechanical problems. We hope Mr.******realizes that ****provided him with an excellent moving service. ****negotiated the rates and provided the discounts that were not on the original estimate including 2months of free storage and that in addition ****is willing to waive the $0.60 per lb. and pay him for the full amounts he is claiming excluding the mechanical claim. Please note that we are not asking or trying to deduct the labor cost for the piano delivery. We are willing to waive this charge upon Mr.******accepting our settlement. We have met Mr. and Mrs.******onsite and in our office and hope they recognize our hard work and efforts during their moving process.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

38 Customer Reviews on Boulder Valley Transfer
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart