This business is not BBB accredited.

SET Corporation

Phone: (866) 664-7256 Fax: (866) 738-0748 PO Box 4145, Englewood, CO 80155 ! SET Corporation is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on SET Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated 06/01/2006 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Egan, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Egan, CFO
Business Category

Marketing Programs & Services

Products & Services

SET is a service firm which assists job seekers throughout their job search. First, they develop marketing plans that act as a road map for a client's job search. Here, SET identifies personal strengths and transferable skills, provides solutions for any liabilities, pinpoints new industry options, and provides an action plan to guide each search. SET does not not place people or guarantee people jobs, levels of income or activity.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 4145

    Englewood, CO 80155

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Services marketed or sold do not match what is being delivered There is a significant disconnect between what I was sold and what is being delivered. The sales person indicated that I would be assigned a mentor who would guide me through the job search process and that the motivation for that individual to help me was that they would be paid once my job search was completed. The guidance given thus far has been minimal and only up front. This included training on how to conduct my job search through the companies website. I also paid for creative materials (resumes, cover letters and general marketing materials). These materials were completed in a very short period of time along with the training and I was essentially left alone after that. This is not what I was sold and the price was 3450.00 (very expensive considering the product). I questioned the disconnect a few times and discussed that with both parties several times. I felt like I was being put in the middle of a dispute between my sales person and mentor on what I was sold and was told several times that because of my experience the sales person had too soften his sales approach. I purchased these services in the late March timeframe and have attempted following the process given to me with little to no results and minimal guidance. This is not what I thought I was paying for and is certainly not worth the amount of money I paid.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a fair price for what I agreed to. I am also asking that I be serviced in a fashion that is transparent to the internal issues being experienced within the SET Group. The service I received up front was the complete market analysis, and creative materials. I have received no assistance after delivery of these services as I was promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/11) */ I have tried to contact Mr. ****** to no avail. Our initial investigation shows that we have met our contractual obligations. There are a number of alternatives that we can discuss. If we cannot reach a mutually agreeable resolution, we would seek the help of the BBB in arranging to arbitrate the dispute. We will continue to try to contact the consumer to resolve matters but until we do, we cannot offer a refund since it appears we have lived up to all of our promises. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have exchanged voice mail at least 3 times and I have provided availability time slots to Mr. *********. The first item is absolutely out of context as I have returned every call made to me. As it relates to my interaction with both the Sales and Execution Channels of what I was sold I see nothing in this repsonse that touches on that. My compliant is based on that disconnect, which was acknowledged by both Mr. ***** and Ms. ******* to my point in the complaint about Mr. ***** needign to soften his sales approach. If the merit for this response is solely based on a contract, as opposed to, what I was sold/told, then I am not sure how to respond to that and my complaint stands on the grounds of integrity. Final Business Response /* (4000, 35, 2014/11/07) */ I reached out to this client on October 6 in an attempt to resolve matters. We are not intractable and we are eager to find a solution up to and including arbitration if necessary. If he responded, I have no record of his having done so. I have a range of options that I would like to discuss with him. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 37, 2014/11/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I recieved no response from SET as indicated in this response. As previously stated, I have responded to every call made to me to date. I have no record of the call on 10/6. SET has all of my contact information including, home, mobile and work phone numbers. If they are open to options to resolve this then I would think a follow up after the implied 10/6 call would have been in order and I have recieved nothing in terms of a follwo up outside of this through the BBB. They can call any contact they have listed as an option. I will accept nothing less than what I previously stated through this communications thread. If they are not agreeable to that then arbitration might be the only option.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Promises made by the sales associate were false. I am unemployed a year later. I have requested partial reimbursement of my investment but no response On July 29,2013 my contract with SET for Level 2 Senior Service at a cost of $3495 went into effect. I paid via Paypal per the company's requirement. I worked with **** ****** as the initial contact and sales associate. Initial contact from **** was via a cold call. **** promised 97% chance of successfully securing a position that met my expectations and salary requirements within 12 weeks by working with an assigned marketing director, using the resume materials provided to me, and following a personal marketing strategy. I was happy with the resume and other materials provided to me. I was happy with my initial marketing director, ******* ******* However, ******* left the company when the company underwent an organizational restructuring and changed business models, and I seemed to have fallen through the cracks. In January, I was required to complete an online acceptance of services to retain access to the TAPIT career site, even though I had not secured a position. I continued to follow the personal marketing strategy, but 12 months following initial contract I am unemployed. While I believe I received some benefit from SET, they did not live up to the advertised services and I am seeking partial reimbursement of my investment. I contacted **** ****** directly to request this and he has been unresponsive (I received one email that he would look into what happened, and then no response to my follow up over the past 2 weeks.)

Desired Settlement: Partial reimbursement of my $3495 investment, at a level fair to both me and SET.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/08/26) */ I spoke with the client and we are well on our way toward resolving this dispute. Lines of communication are open Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 15, 2014/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This matter has been resolved to my satisfaction.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is terrible at returning calls and having phone access to staff. The service was terrible and no return of funds. I called in **** to request return of funds paid because I was unhappy with service. They called back only once, left first name, but their phone system does not allow access to staff without knowing full name that was not left on my voicemail. The guarantee money back, but this service is terrible. I live near many businesses and they promised a huge mailing. They only mailed other recruiting firms. I was unable to follow up because I went out of country on humanitarian project because I had no job. Back in US but unable to reach this company at all. They are hiding for a reason. Their service is terrible.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their contract that is no questions asked money back guarantee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/15) */ There is a money back guarantee. It must be exercised at the time of the presentation of materials. That presentation took place on ********* *** ***** At that time amd at that time only, Ms. ****** could have exercised her right to a money back guarantee. She did not do so and her money back guarantee expired. This is clearly spelled out in the contract she signed and initialed. Regarding our alleged failure to return phone call, our records indicate that we made many phone calls to her and left messages. She did not return our calls. In addition, I have called her on three separate occasions since receiving this complaint and left messages. Again, she returned none of my phone calls. I have reviewed her contract and find that we have met or exceeded all of our obligations. Accordingly, we see no reason to offer a refund.I had hoped to discuss matters with Ms. ***** but she will not return our calls. Accordingly, we will not offer a refund. If necessary, we are willing to submit this dispute to arbitration as called for in the contract with Ms. ***** and we will seek the aid of the BBB in expediting the proces. Consumer Response /* (-5, 10, 2014/07/29) */ this case should not have been closed. After nearly a year I have received a few calls and exchanged email from someone at SET who insists on speaking to me rather than just refunding me the money I spent with them based on a money back guarantee in their contract. I am asking that this case be re-opened and that it be escalated. Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/07/29) */ Their contract does not limit the time of the money back guarantee. their comments on this case are not valid. Nor have they sent me any information regarding their declaration that the contract has a term about the time limit of a money back satisfaction guarantee. They have only insisted I call a number that does not allow me out of the phone system and says that all voicemail are full and cannot accept messages. Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/08/26) */ On July 29, I sent a copy of the contract to the client. It appears below. "Here is the contract. Please see money back guarantee language on page 3. It is quite specific. Regarding your attempts to contact me, what number are you calling and from what number are you placing the calls?" **** ********* Since the contract has too many characters to include here, I will forward it to the BBB. Our position remains unchanged. The contract is straightforward. The money back guarantee language is clear and easy to understand. I will again try to contact Ms. ***** but in the meantime, since we have fulfilled our agreement under the contract, no refund will be offered.

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by the salesman that I would have access to the hidden job market. I asked for the contract I signed and have not received it. I am a security professional with over 25 years in security, with most of my experience in the US Army and government contracting. I contacted SET because I was in transition from one position that ended and I needed a new job. The SET company uses the sales pitch of "getting access to the hidden job market." I signed up with SET because I was told my resume could be improved and I would have access to the "hidden job market." After getting my resumes, one with all my data and another called the Universal resume (one page summary) I was told to go to the Tapit Website and start searching for a job. The Tapit website (I do not know why SET uses Tapit or why their email address have "job success.com") had positions selected for me, but when I tried to apply to many of them, they were already closed or cancelled. I called my "job coach" and was told "go to the other sites (Indeed.com, etc); I could have done this without paying money to SET. The Tapit website benefit consisted of a page with links to other job sites. My other benefits were a series of letters that I could send to companies that had a new merger, product or expansion, and the instructions were to find these companies and send letters and my resume to them. This information is not specific to the Tapit website, and can be found on Dow Jones or other financial sites. I used the SET service from mid-September 2013 to Dec 2, 2013, and had one interview using their methods. I sent my Universal resume to hundreds of job openings, hiring authorities, recruiters and others and only received one response. I received a reply from a security recruiter with 25 years of experience, and he was appalled at the one page resume, stating that "you get one chance to get someone's attention and you will not get anywhere with a one-page summary." He told me to get rid of the one page resume and use my longer resume in applying for jobs. The one page resume is a major part of the SET approach; I was told by my job coach to use the one page resume for all job applications. At this point (November 2013) I realized that SET had a major disconnect between what their sales people promised and what their operations people could provide. I was also told by the salesman before I signed up that the "process to find a job was about a month and a half." My job coach sent me a "job plan" which was an email attachment that had goals; I was to send a certain amount of letters out per week, etc. My plan was emailed to me with other documents and was never discussed with me or checked. My job coach contacts consisted of a email that stated "how are you doing?" and phone calls that consisted of "just checking in." We never reviewed the job plan. On December 2, 2013 I called SET and asked for a refund. I did not get a response, so I sent a letter via certified US Mail on Dec 6, 2013 requesting a refund. In a series of emails and phone calls I was connected to **** *********, EVP of SET, and was told that "I could have gotten a refund after my materials were sent, but missed the opportunity to get a refund." I asked him for a partial refund since I used their services for 2 and a half months. Mr ********* made me an offer of a 10% refund in an email dated Dec 31, 2013; I asked him for a copy of the contract I signed and have not received it as of today's date.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $2500. refund from SET.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/21) */ We have reached a resolution. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We have reached a resolution to my complaint.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Set Corporation promised services that were not only not rendered, but where false and misleading. The service contract agreement was never met. Summary: A timeline of events is included to show how the issues with the services of ***** ********* and SET Corporation have occurred. In my perspective as the consumer of services, the major breakdown occurred via the actions, and or lack of action, of ******* ******* I firmly believe there is great value potential in the products offered, hence the reason I purchased this service. However, due to lack of oversight and internal motivations of ******* ******* the product received has been incredibly lacking. This has caused an extended 'pause' in job searching time with four identifiable occurrences of embarrassment into the professional community that I am seeking employment as a result of *******'s lack of attention and rigor to quality and detail. This is not including the potential of those who have access to the website as a result of clear motivation to have the four contacts view the page. For these reasons, I am seeking a refund of services. Although amenable to a 'redo' of services to have a point of positive reference for future recommendations, referrals, and repeat use if needed; a full refund is what I am requesting to resolve this issue. Week of 07/29/2013: Initiated contact with ***** ********* for executive job search assistance program to decrease job search time through services and support offered. Established connection with *** ***** in sales. Frequent communication and review of services offered done. This experience was comprehensive and identified with my needs on how TAPIT Worldwide worked to develop and implement strategies to decrease search time while increasing potential to secure the ideal position. 08/02/2013: Contract signed with *** ***** at ***** ********* that indicated intent to purchase "executive services with full private team support." It was indicated that if I was not fully satisfied that there was a money back guarantee. Price for services $2495, after final payment to be received on 08/15, meeting was set with team for 8/20 to start services. Payment submitted at this time via PayPal credit card ($300) and Capital One credit card ($700). 08/03/2013-8/14/2013: Completed marketability and history profile on ***** website, was introduced to ******* ****** as Personal Marketing Manager, and maintained frequent email communications and phone communications with *** and *******. When it appeared that ******* had minimal response, I directly asked on the phone if she was comfortable or familiar with my career history and goals. She was able to provide clear feedback on her past experience as well as give a verbally concise account of what I was looking to accomplish. This was after marketability profile was complete. ******* presented she was the right match for my needs. 08/15/2013: Final payment of $1495 paid from PayPal cash funds ($1000) and personal bank account via PayPal ($495). Confirmation received of payment from *** ***** and ******* ******* Verbally confirmed that meeting on 08/20 to start presentation of services with private team. 08/20/2013: Phone meeting with ******* ****** only. Received email of materials just prior to meeting without knowledge this information was sent so close to meeting time, I was unable to review prior to talking with ******* on the phone. During review, it was clearly evident that there were errors of omission on the resume and other items included that did not present a clear 'picture' of professional accomplishments. ******* verbalized understanding, sounded as if she was taking notes and indicated that these changes would be made later. When meeting was concluded, Ms. ****** indicated I needed to complete a questionnaire to rate her verbal presentation of what she planned to do in the future. Services were never rendered or completed. Company refuses to remove poorly written and false information about me from the internet as well as refuses to issue refund per contract. No completed presentation was given.

Desired Settlement: I am setting the company remove my information from the internet as well as issue a complete refund in total of $2495 for services never provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/04) */ I have reviewed the complaint and our contract with Ms. ********. We have a money back guarantee. It provides that at the time of presentation only (August 20, 2013), she may request a full refund. After having reviewed the resume and all the other deliverables that we were obligated to provide, she could have exercised her right to the 100% money back guarantee. Instead, she did not do so but rated us as "Excellent" in 10 of 10 areas we asked her to evaluate, including the resumes and letters. Regarding her allegation that we failed to return phone calls, our records indicate something quite different. I called her and left messages on 9/23, 9/24, 9/25, 10/1, and 10/4. None of my calls were returned. The purpose of my calls was to attempt to reach resolution to her issues. We also have a log of our contacts with the client that shows that we were in frequent contact with her. I should also point out that she filed a credit card dispute which the credit card company closed in our favor. If necessary, we can provide copies of our response to the credit card company as well as copies of supporting documents. In summary, we have provided the services for which she contracted. She rated our services as excellent yet later claims she never received them. Furthermore, she did not respond to my calls to discuss matters with her. In the absence of any input or feedback from her other than written complaints, we will not be offering a refund since there is no reason to do so. In the event that Ms. ******** does not agree with our position, we would be willing to submit this complaint to arbitration and would seek the help of the BBB in expediting this process. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2013/12/16) */ SET and I have settled the matter to my complete satisfaction.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased job search and resume services from this company. Their service was substandard and failed to deliver on the implied guarantee. The service I subscribed to was their 'premier' services that included a resume services, marketing placement with employers both locally and nationally, placement of my resume with a national list of recruiters, and an implied guarantee that I would have several employment offers within 90 days should I follow their process. It has been over a year and a half. Having followed their process I have had zero offers of employment. Their employer marketing yielded no results. The recruiter placements yielded not one lead, but in fact I was contacted by several recruiters demanding to know who this company was and that they stop faxing resumes to them. The resume service has not yielded interviews with prospective employers. Their 'customer service agents' only contacted me to ask if I had any "additional questions about their service". They claimed that they are helping people find employment, but in fact are doing no such thing. This company is blatantly ripping off their clients in a down economy and pedaling services that are available for free. I have now been moved to their 'inactive' roster. The fact that I haven't found employment despite an extensive search is irrelevant to them.

Desired Settlement: A refund for a substandard product and failure to deliver on promised services.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/01) */ We contacted the client and spoke with him on July 22 regarding our position which is that we have more than met our contractual obligations. We sent him a letter on July 26, offering some alternatives to resolve the matter. At this point, we have not heard back. We have met our obligations. We are careful to point out in our contract that we cannot promise any number on interviews or offers. Mr. ***** acknowledged that he understood our contract and that there were no agreements beyond the contract. To now say that he was promised certain things is not correct. We have worked with Mr. ***** far beyond the termination of the contract at no extra charge to him. We are willing to continue to do so as I informed him in our conversation of July 22 and letter of July 26. However, We have more than met our obligations under the contract. He has been given alternatives to solve this matter to which I am awaiting a response, Should we be unable to resolve this dispute, we will be happy to submit the matter to arbitration and will ask the help of the BBB in expediting matters. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/08/13) */ Matter has been resolved Business' Final Response /* (-10, 10, 2013/08/07) */ I spoke with the client today and he told me he had accepted our offer in an email he sent on July 29. While I did not receive his email, I have no reason to dispute what he said. The matter is settled.

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am extremely unsatisfied with the results from this company and have no access to the site and no one is returning my emails. I want a refund. This company does not stand behind their product and does not stay in touch with consumer. I am extremely unsatisfied with the results from this company and have no access to the site and no one is returning my emails. They claim to redo my marketing campaign after 6 months but have not contacted me to do so. The last message I received was a call indicating that I was being placed on a resource (?) list. I have sent them an email and I have not received any email back from them. This company is a scam and does not produce results they claim. When I started they claimed if I was unhappy they would refund my money and that isn't the case.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of the $2459 I paid on 11/09/13.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/02) */ I have spoken with the client and everything is resolved to his satisfaction. He has agreed to corroborate. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/07/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) At this time I am willing to work with the company since they are speaking to me again.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on SET Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart