BBB Accredited Business since

Ultra Black Hair Products

Phone: (303) 745-8899 Fax: (303) 758-6592 View Additional Phone Numbers 2171 S Trenton Way STE 220, Denver, CO 80231 http://www.ultrablackhair.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

UBH offers a line of hair care products that includes shampoo, creme moisturizer, spray moisturizer and deep conditioner that improves dry brittle hair to stop hair breaking. Founded in 1989


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ultra Black Hair Products meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ultra Black Hair Products include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ultra Black Hair Products
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 03/05/1993 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cathy L. Howse, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cathy L. Howse, Owner
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Publishers - Book

Alternate Business Names
UBH Publications Inc
Products & Services

We offer Ultra Black Hair products


Additional Locations

  • 2171 S Trenton Way STE 220

    Denver, CO 80231 (303) 745-8899 (800) 754-8751

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a refund for an order placed on 5/15/2014 that hasn't shipped as of 5/19/2014 and the representative hung the phone up on me. To whom this may concern, I called and spoke with ***** today regarding a status on the order; I placed for an 8oz Starter Kit. I was informed by ***** that the order was placed on hold until you get all of the products in. Since, I wasn't sent a follow-up e-mail informing me that my order was placed on back order pending the arrival of all the components of the starter kit. I opted to cancel my order. I was shocked to have the phone hung-up in my ear, once I asked to have my order canceled. So, I called back and spoke with ***** who proceeded to lie and say I hung up on here when, I was still holding the phone saying hello. I asked again to have my monies refunded and ***** informed me that ***** or **** would have to return my call regarding the refunding of my monies, since she only handles placing orders. Please be informed that I want all of my monies refunded immediately, today. This seems like some sort of in the basement scam operations, refund $67.09 of my monies today, I no longer want your product. Sincerely, ***** ** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: I want my monies refunded in full, A.S.A.P. with no delay.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ Apparently this customer did not read our FAQ posted on our website regarding "when will my order ship". It clearly states "We try to ship your order same day if your order is received before 3:00 pm MST. Occasionally we will have a backorder and will ship your order as soon as our stock is replenished." We issued the refund immediately after we got the request. It did not have to escalate to a complaint had she read the FAQ. We have more than 1 order on backorder and can not call every customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Business is just not customer service oriented, unapologetic and the response provided his, aggression and attitude oozing from the text. You should call every customer that has an order on back order its the business norm. I received my monies eventually, however, i will tell everyone, I know don't purchase any products from this company, unfortunately like most black owned business they may have a good idea and product, however mismanagement and bad customer service will always be the cancer that kills the business.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ultra Black Hair Products
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)