BBB Accredited Business since

Lawn Doctor of Denver

Phone: (303) 936-8001 Fax: (303) 934-7967 View Additional Phone Numbers 5315 W Mississippi Ave, Lakewood, CO 80226 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lawndoctor.com/lawn-service-denver-colorado-co.htm


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lawn Doctor of Denver meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lawn Doctor of Denver include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lawn Doctor of Denver
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Agriculture Department Consumer Services
2331 W 31st, Denver CO 80221
http://www.state.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 477-0086

Business Management
Mr. Brent Harl, Owner Ms. Dorothy A. Allen, Secretary/ Treasurer Mr. William R. Allen, President/ Owner Mr. Scott McDonnell, Operations Manager Owner/Manager Juston Thornton, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brent Harl, Owner
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Pest Control Services Lawn & Tree Care

Alternate Business Names
D B A Enterprises Inc Green Growth, LLC Lawn Doctor of Broomfield and Westminster Lawn Doctor of Douglas & Elbert Counties, LLC Lawn Doctor of Northglenn & Thornton Lawn Doctor Of SE Denver, Littleton & Englew

Additional Locations

  • 5315 W Mississippi Ave

    Lakewood, CO 80226 (303) 936-8001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Lawn Doctor twice and requested that they cancel my account. I examined my phone records to determine the date when the first cancellation was requested. My first call to Lawn Doctor at ###-###-#### was placed at 4:22 PM on 4/21/2016 at which time I requested that my service be cancelled. The woman that I spoke with told me that my service was in fact cancelled at the end of that call. I received a voice mail from Lawn Doctor on 5/10/2016 stating that a technician would arrive on 5/11/2016 in order to administer a lawn treatment. I returned Lawn Doctor's call at 2:21 PM on 5/10/2016 in order to ensure that my account was cancelled. The woman that I spoke with told me that it appears in the computer system that my account is cancelled. She offered to make sure that no one would be coming out to provide service at our home on 5/11/2016. At 10:11 AM on 5/11/2016 I received a voice mail from the Lawn Doctor branch manager, which is saved on my iPhone, stating that he was in front of my house to perform the lawn treatment. Fortunately, our dog was in the back yard so he was unable to go ahead with the application. I logged into my Lawn Doctor account at roughly 12:45 PM on 5/11/2016 and it does not appear that Lawn Doctor has cancelled my account following the two previous calls that I have placed. Please verify that they will cancel my account as I no longer want or need these lawn treatments. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Verifiable cancellation of lawn treatment services.

Business Response:

*****, We are so sorry for the miscommunication. I assure you the account is cancelled. Moving forward you will receive no visits from Lawn Doctor unless requested. This is not a matter we take lightly & we will be sure that necessary steps are taken to prevent this from happening again. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to call.

Thanks so much for your patience in dealing with this issue.

4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tues. April 12, 2016 Lawn Doctor came out to aerate my lawn. When I got home I noticed they had smashed my downspout on my patio. Called the next day (13h) and week later (20th). They say they'll get back to me and never have. They want me to go buy the parts and fix it and they'll pay for the parts. My husband and I are both in our seventies and he is disabled. I don't feel it should be left up to us to fix their mistake.

Desired Settlement: For them to come out and repair the downspout.

Business Response: *****, We are so sorry for this mistake. I will be sure to send out a manager to repair the downspout asap. Lawn Doctor guarantees all of our work by covering the cost of repairs or repairing the damage on our own. We will be happy to replace your downspout.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ****** 

10/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lawn Doctor provided service which was neither requested nor authorized. When I refused to pay for services, I was threatened with being sent to coll Had contract service summer of 2014 and advised no further service wanted. Service Specialist ***** ***** showed up 4/20 to spray lawn and I gave hem permission for 1 application, but told him no more until written information provided. Company returned twice without notice and I refused to pay and I wrote them why. I was then given notice I was being referred to collections. I paid the disputed $138. This week I returned home after work to find they had again sprayed without permission and left me a bill for $68.

Desired Settlement: At a minimum I want this bill cancelled and I want them to stay off my property

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/13) */ We are sorry for this mix-up. If you need to discontinue services be sure to call the office and let us know. We will be sure to resolve the outstanding invoice for the service rendered. There is now $0.00 due and the account has been cancelled. Lawn Doctor operates under a continuing service agreement just like all other seasonal businesses as stated in your annual renewal letter. We're sorry for the mix-up. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am familiar with a continuing service agreement, and I advised them last fall and again this spring to discontinue service which they chose to ignore at my expense, and then threatened me with collections!

10/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceptive business practices: Perform services that were specifically requested not to perform. Then, billed me. During the third week of May 2015, Denver, Colo, area received heavy rains. It was necessary for Lawn Doctor to cancel their scheduled lawn service for us. On May 22, 2015, I called Lawn Doctor and specifically asked them to not perform any further services at our home without approval from me. We were out of the country and did not want anyone on our property or have them tape their invoice to our screen door, as in the past. While out of town, Lawn Doctor came to our house on TWO separate days, performed services, billed me $160 and taped two invoices to our screen door. After we returned, I called the Lawn Doctor office and complained. I spoke with the office manager and told her I did not order these services. She told me that "they didn't want to get behind in their routes and maintenance" so she authorized the services. I told her I wasn't going to pay and asked to be removed, permanently, from their service route. Lawn Doctor sent my information to a collection agency. I paid the bill so my credit wouldn't take a hit. This company does NOT have the right to show up to my property whenever THEY want, without authorization or an appointment, and then bill be for the services. This is deceptive and dishonest business practices. This type of business practices must be reported to Better Business Bureau and other agencies. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded $162.12 for the unauthorized services performed at my property.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/08) */ We are terribly sorry for this misunderstanding. We typically schedule services while we are in the neighborhood for logistic reasons. We will be sure to issue a refund of $162.12. ******** ****** ******** does not affect your credit score while in Tier 1. There will be no negative impact on the customers credit. We apologize for this inconvenience. It will take about 10 business days for the refund to be cleared. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of 9/18/15, Lawn Doctor has not sent a refund check to me, as per their response. This is not resolved unless they honor their commitment for the refund. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/21) */ This matter was originally brought to the attention of the Assistant General Manager 9-8-2015. After reviewing the account Lawn Doctor concluded that the services were done in error. At that time the *** ******* had already paid the invoices. The Assistant General Manager issued a refund to accounting. Unfortunately there is a process on that end of the business that takes 6-7 business days for a refund. A check was issued on 9-17-2015 Check ***** in the amount of $162.12 and put in the mail for delivery 9-21-2015. Lawn Doctor appreciates the patience and understanding from *** *******. As a company Lawn Doctor apologizes. We look forward to a resolution in this matter, and will work toward making sure this never happens again. Thank You Lawn Doctor Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Refund check received on October 1st.

9/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They said we didn't respond to an automated call which meant that we wanted our lawn fertilized. We never received a call & didn't agree to the work. I called to have someone come out and check our lawn to see if we needed to have fungicide or bug and grub sprayed again. We had this done a month prior, but it still looked bad. They said someone would come out on Monday or Tuesday, Aug. 31 or Sept. 1. We received an automated call saying someone would be out Tues. Sept 1. We don't know if anyone came out because we didn't receive a flyer in the door or a phone call. Today, Sept. 4, Lawn Doctor left a flag in our yard saying pesticides were applied. I called in to see what had been done. They told me they had applied fertilizer. I have never had them fertilize because I do that myself. I told them I did not authorize that but they said they called us with an automated call on Sept. 2. The call said that they would be out to fertilize on Sept. 4 unless we called them back. Our caller ID showed that Lawn Doctor had called that day but we never received a message. I told them I would not pay for services I had not requested, the service rep said I still had to pay. After talking more about it she said she could give me 50% off. I asked to speak to the manager. I talked with ******* and he also said that I would still have to pay because he showed we had gotten the message and we got the fertilizer. He said he would email us a bill for $32.00. Our account number with them is XXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: We want the bill credited for $32.00. We don't feel that we should pay anything for a service that was not authorized by us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/08) */ We will take care of the amount due on the account. It sounds like our automated calling system had an issue reaching the customer. We will be sure to take care of the outstanding balance. Sorry for the confusion. I made sure to cancel the account. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE CAME HOME FROM WORK YESTERDAY 4/29/2015 TO FIND OUR HOSE IN THE DRIVEWAY, A YELLOW FLAG ON OUR YARD, AND A BILL STUCK UNDER OUR PORCH FROM LAWN DOCTOR THAT THEY HAD SPRAYED. WE GAVE NO ONE PERMISSION TO DO THIS. MY HUSBAND HAD IT SPRAYED LAST YEAR JUST TO SEE WHAT THE RESULTS WOULD BE AS WE COVERED THE YARD WITH ROCK. NEITHER MY HUSBAND OR I WERE HOME WHEN THEY SPRAYED, THEREFORE THERE WAS NO ONE THERE TO EXPLAIN THEIR SO CALLED "CONTINUAL SERVICE AGREEMENT" I CALLED THEM AT 1700 ON 4/29/2015, AND TOLD THEM WE WOULD ABSOLUTELY NOT PAY THIS BILL FOR 103.00 AND THAT IF WE HAD TO TAKE THEM TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT, WE WILL. HOW CAN THEY GET AWAY WITH THIS? I HAVE READ THE BBB COMPLAINTS AND OBVIOUSLY THERE ARE A LOT MORE PEOPLE HAVING THIS PROBLEM. IF THEY CAN GET AWAY WITH THIS(LEFT 2 MESSAGES THAT THEY HAD AN APPOINTMENT TO COME) THEN I GUESS OUR DENTIST OR DOCTOR'S OFFICE CAN DO THE SAME THING AND CHARGE US. WHY IS IT OUR RESPONSIBILITY TO CALL THEM BACK AND SAY WE DON'T WANT THE SERVICE. THAT IS TOTALLY WRONG!! AS AN ASIDE, THEY GOT MY HUSBAND'S NAME TOTALLY WRONG ON THE BILL: BILL SAYS: *** ******* WHAT HIS NAME IS ****** ****** WE ARE GOING TO FIGHT THIS, WE WANT IT RESOLVED AND THEY BETTER HOPE THEY DON'T SEND IT TO A COLLECTION AGENCY OR THEY WILL BE PAYING MUCH MORE THAN THEY CAN IMAGINE. THANK YOU, ********* ** ****** -****** ****** ******

Desired Settlement: we are not paying the 103.00 bill, we didn't ask them to do this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/06) */ We will take care of the outstanding balance. The balance due on the account is now $0.00 PLEASE NOTE: continual services are standard practice in the green industry. We convey this through multiple calls and letters throughout the off season. This is far more than our competitors do to reach out. Our renewal letter states "your property is scheduled for the following services for the 2015 season:" We also left 2 messages stating that we will be out to do an application on this day, if you would like to reschedule please call us by 6am the day of the appointment. If we don't hear from the homeowner we continue service as most customers realize that services are continual as stated in our letters. It also says on all of our invoices that services are continual. It is up to the homeowner to call and cancel if they do not want a service. If the homeowner chooses to use another company they should know that this is standard practice and the next company will also operate under a continuing service agreement. I suppose this was an oversight, but it seems it was not on our behalf. We did everything we could to communicate that we were coming out & these forms of communication were ignored. Regardless we will write off the amount that is due. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/4/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were a client of Lawn Doctor during the summer of 2014. They aerated our yard and treated it several times with satisfactory results. We got several flyers/postcards in the mail advertising /recommending their services for this year.We did not send the notices back requesting the services nor did we call them renewing the contract.Neither did we get any calls at any time from them in an attempt to sign us up again for this year.On March 20,2015 I got home from work to find that my yard had been aerated and there was a bill from Lawn Doctor for the amount of $73.00. I called and said that I had not requested the service and I was not interested in their services and I had no intention of paying for services that I had not requested . They told me that the previous years contract was extended automatically since they assumed their previous customers would want to continue the service. They said that they had tried to contact us by phone to confirm the service.I had at no time gotten a phone call or message from them wanting to know if we wanted them to service our yard. I spoke with the local office manager and he supposedly checked and said that we had indeed not gotten any phone calls. He offered to cut the bill in half if I would pay for an entire ****** **** **** program( approximately $400.OO)in one lump sum. I told him that I was not only not going to pay the $400.00 but I was not going to pay the $73.00. He passed me up the line to his " regional manager" and we went through the story once again with the same results. I told him I was not going to pay the $73.00 or the $400.00 and he again offered to reduce the $73.00 bill by 50%. I repeated that I did not want their services at all . They were supposedly going to show up several days later to begin the yearly service but they did not show at all and I thought everything was settled. On April 20,2015 I got another bill for $73.00 plus .48 cents for interest. I called and told them again I was not going to pay the bill.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) They told me that it was a legal bill and it would stay on the books. I advised them of my intention to file a complaint with the BBB and they said that it would not do any good to contact you. I spoke with one of my neighbors and he said that he had gone through exactly the same thing with Lawn Doctor. I would like the bill cleared because it was for a service that I did not request and they do not have any form of signed contract with me requesting any of their services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/30) */ We will resolve the outstanding balance. We apologize for the misunderstanding. There is $0.00 due on the account. We do our best to convey in the pre-pay letters that *** ******** received that we plan on continuing services. The letter states 'your property is scheduled for the following services for the 2015 season:' Lawn Doctor operates under a continuing service agreement just like all other lawn care companies in the state of Colorado. The outstanding invoice has been resolved & we hope that *** ******** will be kind enough to return to Lawn Doctor as a customer if he needs any help with lawn or tree care services in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate the quick response and their cooperation. Thank you **** ********

4/16/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lawn Doctor came out a couple weeks ago to service my lawn, I had not contracted for service this year, although I did have them service last year. I sent the guy away telling him I had not contracted for service, the price had gone up substantially and I did not want any service on my yard. While on vacation, lawn doctor apparently came out and fertilized and left a bill of $70 on my door. I called and reiterated that I did not want the service but they are claiming that the service is "continual" and that they intend to bill me for the service. When I sent the guy away a couple weeks ago that was their notification that I did not want the service. I can't be any more clear than to prior to their attempted service to tell them directly at the address of service that "I didn't want their service." To come back again and service while I am not here is an unethical business practice. Service was cancelled prior to this through the prior attempted service. I do not feel I owe anything and would caution any customer not to use their services. They stated they will continue to bill. My lawn is brown and dried up since the service, the fertilizer is burning my lawn up. I have not had anyone out to get my sprinkler system going yet and this service has damaged my property. Account_Number: Customer # XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like written statement showing a zero balance, that I do not owe for this service I didn't request, and that I have previously prevented them from doing. I would like to never be contacted again by Lawn Doctor being removed from their phone list, email, and mailing list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/15) */ We are sorry for the misunderstanding. We were under the impression that *** ****** wanted our services this season. The technician never conveyed that *** ****** wanted to cancel services. There was a note that *** ****** wanted to negotiate pricing for applications, our prices are negotiable after the first service has been completed. Because of this note we assumed *** ****** was expecting us to service his lawn throughout the 2015 season. We used a dry granular to fertilize the lawn, since granules do not break down until watered there is no chance of un-watered granules damaging a lawn. We will be sure to write off the balance due leaving a zero balance on the account. The account has been marked as cancelled moving forward. We are so sorry for this miscommunication. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although I do not agree with everything said, the fact that there is no balance due makes me satisfied. I will never use Lawn Doctor again. I am confused as to why they would think that if I turned away service once, it was ok to come back and service while I was away? The first thing they wanted to do was to negotiate for the one time service I didn't request. It's an unethical business practice that I'm sure they repeat over and over. I had referred business to them in the past, I will no longer do so. Buyer's beware!

4/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Lawn Doctor last summer for my lawn and shrubs. Services were discussed via phone and a proposal was sent to me via email. I accepted the proposal and a confirmation email was sent to me which was accurate.Through the season I had them return to repeat service 2-3 times due to less than adequate results. I paid for the services as they were provided last season. Due to the less than desirable results I had no intention of using them again this year. They left me several voice mails and sent propaganda via snail mail during the past several weeks. I did not listen to any of these voice mails or open any of the letters as I was not planning on using their services again.Last week I returned home from vacation to find a bill on my door for fertilization. The amount was $71.00. I called the office and explained the situation to a women on the phone. She stated that I need to pay or they will turn the bill over to collections. I then asked to speak to a manager. ****** came on the phone.He explained to me that he is the company manager and that they "assume" if I used the service last year that I will continue it this year. He went on to state that he had no way of erasing the bill and that it is my problem for not calling them or answering their voice mails. He also confirmed that he would turn the bill over to collections.I asked to speak to his boss and he told me "he is the boss and he runs the entire company." I doubted this and after much prompting he gave me the company owner's name, ***** ***** He did refuse to connect me with *** **** or take a message for him to call me.I have closely reviewed Lawn Doctor website, the original proposal and confirmation email and have not found anywhere that it says the service will continue until I ask them to stop.The practice they are using is no less than fraud and extortion. This must be stopped and my name and bill cleared. I can provide the proposal and confirmation upon request.Thank you for your help in resolving this matter. Product_Or_Service: lawn care Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Bill erased and the practice of fraud and extortion stopped.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/02) */ The correspondence that *** ******** admittedly ignored explained that there were services scheduled for his property. We were unaware that he was unsatisfied with our lawn and tree care program & if he had called to discontinue services we would have cancelled the program immediately. We send out multiple letters throughout the off season stating "your property is scheduled for the following services:". Two days prior to his service we placed a call that said "we will be out on Wednesday for your tree and shrub application, if you have questions or need to reschedule your service please press 1" If there is no response to these letters or calls we do continue services from year to year as stated in our letter. This issue could have been avoided if *** ******** had listened to the call and let us know that he was not planning on using our services. It is unfortunate that all of our correspondence was ignored. We do our very best to reach out to customers to let them know that we will return each year. Although *** ******** admitted to receiving all forms of correspondence, all of which state we plan on continuing services from year to year, we will write off the amount of $71.00 on his account. This will leave an amount due of $0.00 If customers are unhappy with services or wish to discontinue they must call and let us know. If there is no communication we do assume the customer is satisfied and wishes us to continue. If *** ******** chooses to use another lawn care service he will see that all green industry practices are seasonal and continual. We certainly didn't intentionally upset *** ******** or provide services that he didn't want, we simply expected some form of response to all of our attempts to reach out to him.

2/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled Service, settled bill, Service continued, Lawn Doctor agreed to void charges. Without informing me, sent $52.54 bill to collections. I began using Lawn Doctor shortly after buying a house in 2009. I was a satisfied customer until Feb 2013 when I elected to manage my own lawn care. I called Lawn Doctor directly to cancel the upcoming services and paid my final bill Feb 2013 of $45 via Discover Card. They agreed the services were cancelled and no other charges would be incurred. A few weeks later, I noticed Lawn Doctor had serviced my yard without permission. I called Lawn Doctor to let them know this service was unauthorized and I would not pay for it and the manager agreed and said he would remove it from my bill and cancel future services. I thought nothing more of the matter, taking him at his professional word. Then, over a year later, I applied for a loan and had a credit check. The credit score displayed one adverse item for $52.54 for "Medical Payment Data" which was quite a shock as I fortunately had zero medical incidents during the time. After digging into the issue, the "Medical Payment Data" was Lawn Doctor charging me for services which had been cancelled, never contacting me, and then sending it to a collection agency. I paid the collection agency immediately to fix my credit report. The charge is invalid and should be fully and completely removed as it is impacting my credit. The impact of their practice was a 100 deduction to my otherwise perfect credit score. Searching on Google "Lawn Doctor Denver" brings up the BBB complaint page as the second hit and after reading others comments, this is appears to be a common practice for Lawn Doctor. What a disappointment, they do such great lawn work but have such awful business practices. I hope Lawn Doctor will do the right thing by fully and completely addressing my settlements. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Donate the amount in dispute ($52.54) to a local charity Deliver a signed letter from the owner(s) declaring that the charge was invalid and never should have been processed. Deliver the signed letter to major credit agencies (Experian, TransUnion, Equifax, etc...) to fully and completely remove item from my credit report and their records. Fully and completely support my position as the dispute moves forward with the credit agencies. Instruct American Profit Recovery (collection agency in question) to fully and completely remove the item from their/their affiliates/their subsidiaries/their partner's records Immediately cease and desist from sending me marketing materials

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/12) */ After reviewing Mr. ******** account no services were provided after canceling the account on 2-18-2013. As of 10-18-2012 the account balance was $90.00, for 2 services rendered 10-1-2012 aeration service for $53.00 and 10-18-2012 fertilizer service for $37.00. Lawn Doctor Records show no attempt to resolve this debt before 2-18-2013, by that time this account had been submitted for collections. This account had gone through our standard collections process. On 2-18-2018 a representative agreed to split the balance due on the account, and we processed a payment for $45.00 on a discover card. Our records show the remaining balance was adjusted to zero. Unfortunately the balance was not addressed in a timely manner by the customer, and this is what led to the collection and credit reporting process. This issue was brought to our attention in July of 2014. Lawn Doctor Management contacted American Profit Recovery immediately to make sure collection process has been cancelled, which it has. Unfortunately the damage has been done and really cannot be reversed. This is something Mr. ******** could have avoided by addressing the original balance in a timely fashion. Also see attached account history as proof. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Lawn Doctor provided the complete statement which lists charge and clarifies the timeline. Citing the statement, I made a payment of $74.49 via Discover card on 9/26/12 setting the balance to zero. This is when I also cancelled the Lawn Doctor services via a phone call to their main office. They dates stated in my original complaint were incorrect as I had baselined the cancellation off of the last payment. With the statement in hand, the original complaint stands with dates corrected. After cancelling the services on 9/26/12, Lawn Doctor provided an unauthorized "Core Aeration - Fall" services on 10/1/12 for $53. I placed a call to the Lawn Doctor office indicating the service was not authorized and I would not pay the bill. They agreed and to void the charges and cease and desist further services. Surprisingly, on 10/18/12, Lawn Doctor provided another unauthorized service ambiguously titled "Fall" and billed me an additional $37, raising the total bill to no $90. Another call to Lawn Doctor was placed again they agreed to void the invalid charges for the unauthorized services. They did comply and provided no additionally lawn services post 10/18/12. Records show, I had no further contact with Lawn Doctor until the 2/18/13 payment of $45 via Discover card. Curiously Lawn Doctor elected to charge me $45 of the alleged $90 balance and THEN send the remainder ($45) to a collections agency. Had they offered up the collections agency threat for me to pay the $90 balance, I would have paid. Unfortunately, just as they had promised to void the charges for the unauthorized services and failed to follow through, they take a hostile action AFTER collecting what they declared a "full payment." Looking at the final dates, Lawn Doctor had from 2/18/13 through 7/14 (almost 18 months) to do the right thing. It was likely brought to their attention as 7/14 I pulled my credit report and initially noticed this item and immediately paid it. After payment, Lawn Doctor was likely notified and now claims to be powerless. The facts clearly show that AFTER paying the agreed amount to settle the bill ($45) they THEN submitted it to a collections agency. From 2/18/13 through 7/14 they nor the collections agency made an attempt to collect the invalid payment. Had Lawn Doctor adhered to either of the prior two commitments or contacted me via a reasonable method (email, call, text, bill on the door as is their normal practice, etc...) this matter could have been handled without the BBB or alerting the public to their dishonest business practices. Judging by Lawn Doctors thorough, yet incorrect explanation, they have a habit of attacking their former customers. I regret doing business with Lawn Doctor and urge other reading this heed this warning. I do not accept Lawn Doctors response and request they deliver the Desired Resolution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/02/05) */ Lawn Doctor spent money with APR to fix Mr. ********'s credit. This is why it was removed from the credit report. We worked closely with the BBB to go over the billing statements, notifications sent, services requested, and contact history. Although based on our records this was a valid invoice, we were able to reverse the negative credit score. We did put Mr. ********'s number on the do not call list. He may have received a call from a list generated before this issue came about. We have removed his phone number from our system, and will be sure to remove the contact from all call lists. The recent call was completely unintentional. We recommend registering on the national do-not-call registry. We will continue donating annual services to the Cancer League of Colorado and the South Westwood Improvement Council. This season we will also include an aeration courtesy of Mr. ********. This entire situation could have been avoided if the outstanding balance was paid on time. We apologize for any inconvenience. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2015/02/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Lawn Doctor provided the complete statement which lists charge and clarifies the timeline. Citing the statement, I made a payment of $74.49 via Discover card on 9/26/12 setting the balance to zero. This is when I also cancelled the Lawn Doctor services via a phone call to their main office. They dates stated in my original complaint were incorrect as I had baselined the cancellation off of the last payment. With the statement in hand, the original complaint stands with dates corrected. After cancelling the services on 9/26/12, Lawn Doctor provided an unauthorized "Core Aeration - Fall" services on 10/1/12 for $53. I placed a call to the Lawn Doctor office indicating the service was not authorized and I would not pay the bill. They agreed and to void the charges and cease and desist further services. Surprisingly, on 10/18/12, Lawn Doctor provided another unauthorized service ambiguously titled "Fall" and billed me an additional $37, raising the total bill to no $90. Another call to Lawn Doctor was placed again they agreed to void the invalid charges for the unauthorized services. They did comply and provided no additionally lawn services post 10/18/12. Records show, I had no further contact with Lawn Doctor until the 2/18/13 payment of $45 via Discover card. Curiously Lawn Doctor elected to charge me $45 of the alleged $90 balance and THEN send the remainder ($45) to a collections agency. Had they offered up the collections agency threat for me to pay the $90 balance, I would have paid. Unfortunately, just as they had promised to void the charges for the unauthorized services and failed to follow through, they take a hostile action AFTER collecting what they declared a "full payment." Looking at the final dates, Lawn Doctor had from 2/18/13 through 7/14 (almost 18 months) to do the right thing. It was likely brought to their attention as 7/14 I pulled my credit report and initially noticed this item and immediately paid it. After payment, Lawn Doctor was likely notified and now claims to be powerless. The facts clearly show that AFTER paying the agreed amount to settle the bill ($45) they THEN submitted it to a collections agency. From 2/18/13 through 7/14 they nor the collections agency made an attempt to collect the invalid payment. Had Lawn Doctor adhered to either of the prior two commitments or contacted me via a reasonable method (email, call, text, bill on the door as is their normal practice, etc...) this matter could have been handled without the BBB or alerting the public to their dishonest business practices. Judging by Lawn Doctors thorough, yet incorrect explanation, they have a habit of attacking their former customers. I regret doing business with Lawn Doctor and urge other reading this heed this warning. I do not accept Lawn Doctors response and request they deliver the Desired Resolution.

11/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lawn Doctor enrolled me in a recurring service, without any disclosure or my consent. They refuse to drop the cost of the service I did not authorize In the late summer of 2013 I agreed to a Lawn Doctor phone promotion for 3 visits. I paid for the service in full, over the phone, by credit card and received my 3 visits, which I was very happy with. In the spring time I was charged for an early spring visitwhich I did not authorize or sign up for in any way, shape or form. I did not schedule the visit that occurred. In fact, I was very upset to find signs on my front lawn stating that lawn doctor had been by, after allowing my 1 year old and 3 year old to play in the back yard. I had no idea what time they had been by. i never asked for or authorized this service, which apparently occurred on 4/8/14. When I called to dispute the bill and to complain about the service being performed without ANY form of authorization from me, the woman told me that I had been signed up for a recurring service and should have received information in the mail. I do not open solicitation mail, which is all I'd ever seen come from Lawn Doctor. She refused to remove the balance from my account, and it is now outstanding with ******** ****** ********* a collection agency. Account # XXXXXX I have the e-proposal I was originally sent from Lawn Doctor for my 2013 service, and there is no mention of an early spring 2014 service. I originally set up the 2013 service with ***** ******* I do not know the name of the woman whom I spoke with in 2014. She was dismissive and unhelpful. I feel completely taken advantage of. And I was extremely concerned that I had let my children play on grass that may have been recently sprayed for weeds. Again, without any consent or authorization from me. Basically they decided when my yard was going to get a service, what service it would be, performed the service, and then charged me for it. This is completely unethical.

Desired Settlement: I want the $49.99 balance dropped and any credit agency reporting removed from my credit report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/04) */ We will be sure to write off any amount due on the account. We send out multiple letters in the offseason to inform the customer that their property is scheduled for certain services. Apparently these letters were discarded without review, they were not advertising pieces they were renewal notices. Please keep in mind all green industry service companies operate under a continuing service agreement. there is no amount due on the account and it has been cancelled, moving forward we will require pre-payment for all services if you choose to use Lawn Doctor again. We apologize for any misunderstanding or miscommunication. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for rectifying the issue. In this situation, there was no disclosure of any recurring service. I signed up for a concrete number of services, based on a promotion. I appreciate your immediate attention to the matter, and will keep this in mind when contracting with any green industry service company in the future.

11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OK'D SERVICE FOR 2013 ONLY & PAID IN FULL. THEY SENT REP TO HOUSE EARLY SPRING 2014 AND SPRAYED WITHOUT CONSENT FROM ME & BILLED ME $68.29 I CONSENTED FOR SERVICE FOR 2013 ONLY & PAID IN FULL AT THAT TIME. WHEN I CONSENTED FOR THE 2013 SERVICE IT WAS AGREED TO AT THAT TIME THAT IF I WANTED SERVICE TO CONTINUE I WOULD CONTACT THEM. I DID NOT WANT TO CONTINUE SERVICEUNTIL I SAW RESULTS & THIS WAS EXPLAINED TO THEM & AGREED TO. EARLY SPRING 2014 WHEN I CAME HOME FROM WORK THERE WAS AN EMPLOYEE FROM LAWN DOCTOR IN MY YARD SPRAYIN WITHOUT MY CONSENT. I CALLED SEVERAL TIMES AND SENT NOTES IN WITH THE BILLINGS THEY WERE SENDING ME THAT I WASN'T GOING TO PAY FOR SERVICE I DIDN'T CONSENT TO. I HAD TO LEAVE SEVERAL VOICE MAILS THAT WERE NEVER RETURNED. THEY HAVE TURNED THIS ISSUE OVER TO A COLLECTION AGENCY WITHOUT EVER SPEAKING TO ME AND TELLING ME WHY THEY SENT SOMEONE TO MY HOUSE TO SPRAY WITHOUT MY PERMISSION OR CONSENT.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE THEM TO DISMISS THIS BILL BECAUSE SERVICE WASN'T AGREED TO FOR 2014

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/20) */ We will write off the service price to bring the balance due to $0.00. Lawn Doctor has a continual service agreement. It sounds like this was not explained properly when you were signing up. Sorry for the error. APR does not do credit reporting unless the account goes to tier 2. I do not show this issue was sent to tier 2 so there will be no negative impact on your credit. Please call with any questions.

8/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lawn Doctor charged me for services I never agreed to or consented. In March, I ordered lawn doctor to service my lawn. Without my permission, consent and or agreement, they trespassed onto my property and serviced my lawn in May. I never agreed to and or signed a continual service contract and therefore, I am unwilling to pay for service that I didn't confirm. When I contacted Lawn Doctor about the bill, they said it is normal industry practice and that they called and left VM's. They have since sent this to a collecting agency because they are unwilling to handle this themselves. Bottom line is I am not willing to pay for services that I did not authorize at my own house. I don't care if this is industry standard, it is a binding contract and manipulative business practice.

Desired Settlement: I am disputing the $98.97 dept that was sent to the collection agency.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/11) */ The bill of $98.97 is absolutely valid. Customer signed up for a full 6 service program and we completed a total of 3 services before hearing that he didn't want service. If the customer had let us know he didn't want services after the first application we would have happily discontinued services at his address. We explained this to the customer over the phone. We also sent a phone call 48 hours before each service was scheduled. The reason for the call is so the customer can opt out of service if needed. This was never done so services continued as scheduled. Since a resolution could not be met over the phone with the customer we will send it to our 3rd party collection agency. It is not a binding contract, the customer can opt out of service at any time, but we need to hear from the customer to cancel service. A demand for discontinuation was never communicated to us until after 3 services were completed, because of this we will require full payment for services rendered. We apologize for any miscommunication but we do everything we can to explain that our services are seasonal and continual. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never signed or agreed to a 6 service program. If this is true than provide the documentation. Otherwise, I never authorized the last two services and therefore, I am unwilling to pay the 98.97. I never opted in the service so how could I opt out? Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response. I never signed up for the 2nd or 3rd service. I paid for the 1st service because I called and requested it. However, I never agreed or wanted the 2nd or 3rd service and therefore will not pay it. At this point I **** be going to small claims court and filing a lawsuit for damages and trespassing. Lawn Doctor was not permitted to be on my lawn in May. Unless this can be resolved that **** be my course of action. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/08/27) */ Mr. ******* allowed Lawn Doctor to service his property 3 times prior to his cancelation. Mr. ******* also took advantage of Lawn Doctor service guarantee and our free supervisor callbacks, this guarantee is only available to program customers. Lawn Doctors collection agency **** no longer pursue this debt, however it **** still be a valid debt in our system. This debt **** not be written off and **** prevent Mr. ******* from receiving Lawn Doctor Services in the future.

8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint:Lawn Doctor has billed me for services I never authorized. Lawn Doctor came to my house, without my permission, without an appointment authorized by me, and sprayed my front yard. (Lawn Doctor did not spray the backyard because the gate is kept locked.) They sent me a bill for $51.84. I called to complain about this unauthorized bill and unauthorized services and **** was very rude, threatening to send me to collections. I also talked to a manager, ******, who was also rude. I will not pay for services I did not order. I now see that other consumers have been filing similar complaints against Lawn Doctor, for the same reasons, but they refuse to conduct business according to acceptable standards. I would appreciate it if you would discuss this matter with them. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to quit harassing me with their bills.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/01) */ We will write off the amount due on the invoice. This is the third year we have provided this service for *******. She should have received 2 renewal letters and 2 calls stating that this service was scheduled for the 2014 season. We also convey that service is scheduled 2 days prior to the service. In order to keep a good rating with the BBB we will take care of the bill. We certainly apologize for any miscommunication. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you!!!

4/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lawn Service was done at my house and billed that I did not authorize. I had used lawn doctor service the summer of 2013 with gift certificates I had received as a present. I did not sign any contract nor entered into a verbal agreement with lawn doctor about the continuation of my service. I signed up for a selected amount of services in 2013. Lawn Doctor came to my house on 03/13/14 and performed service to my lawn. I did not authorize this service. Lawn Doctor told me that if they do not hear from me they automatically renew service for the next season. They agreed there is no binding contract they operate under the assumption that if I do not call, then I want service. I refuse to pay for service I did not authorize.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel I am obligated to pay 111.oo for services I did not authorize.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/22) */ Lawn Doctor does have a continual service agreement. We express this in 2 renewal letters. We also sent 2 renewal calls throughout the off-season. We also call the customer 48 hours in advance to their initial service. This is far more than our competitors offer, most businesses in the green industry just show up without trying to contact the customer. The customer did not reply to any forms of contact. We operate under the assumption that if we don't hear from the customer then they expect us to continue the same services as the previous year. We operate the same way a mowing service or a gardener service would. Services continue from year to year unless we are told otherwise. This issue could have been avoided if the customer would have replied to any of our forms of contact with a cancellation. We did offer to split the bill with the customer & that offer still stands. We're extremely sorry for this misunderstanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the written response listed on this complaint. However, lawn doctor did call me and remove the charges in full and the issue was resolved via telephone. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/04/28) */

4/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They treated my lawn at a rental property. I did not authorize this service. In 2013 I contacted and paid Lawn Doctor to provide chemical treatment of a lawn at a rental property. This agreement was for 6 treatments with a total cost of $251.74. On 03-13-14 they applied a chemical treatment to the lawn. I did not authorize or approve this. On 03-14-14, I called Lawn Doctor and spoke with ****** ********. When asked why they did this, he said I never called to cancel the service from last year to continue this year. He says it is their business policy to continue service if the customer does not call to cancel. He says I will be billed for this service. I said I will not pay for a service I did not authorize. They also could have damage my lawn if I had already applied treatment prior to them. I looked at the service agreement from last year. It does not say anything about service being automatically continued next year unless I call to cancel. They billed me $48.00 for the lawn treatment I did not authorize. Now I'm concerned they will pass this onto a collection service if I do not pay and that will affect my credit rating.

Desired Settlement: I would like this charge of $48 to be dismissed. Invoice on the bill is #XXXXXX. Customer #XXXXXX. Address the service provided is **** ** ***** St. ******* CO XXXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/22) */ We will write off the amount due on the account. Moving forward we will require pre-payment from this customer if any further services are requested. We apologize for the misunderstanding. Please feel free to call or write with any further questions or concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lawn Doctor came to spray my lawn without permission and are charging me for it. In spring of 2013 I hired Lawn Dr to provide fertilization and weed control for my lawn. I purchased a package of I believe 6 services ending in September. They did not do a good job getting rid of my weeds so I did not intend to hire them again in 2014. They called my cell phone several times but did not leave any messages. I also believe I may have received mailings from them but since my service was done I did not open the letters considering them junk mail solicitations. On 3/28/14 I came home to an invoice on my door saying they had fertilized and sprayed for weeds and I owed them $49. I called and they told me that it is "industry standard" that they keep coming back every year. I asked them to show me something that I signed agreeing to that and they just said it is "industry standard" They also said they left me a voice mail message advising they were coming to spay today which they absolutely did not. If they had I would have called right away because I have already contracted with another company and they sprayed 4 days previous. I never signed an unending contract with Lawn Doctor and they never gave me anything in writing stating that they would keep coming back forever. I chose a package for the summer of 2013 only. If they did send anything in the mail and I didn't respond that should be taken as me not being interested. I do not expect to pay for this charge as I did not agree for them to enter my property and I have already paid another company for the same service. This seems like a scam to trick people into continuing service by default.

Desired Settlement: I want the $49.00 charge to be cancelled an any further treatment ceased.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/01) */ Lawn Doctor does have a continual service agreement. We express this in 2 renewal letters. We also sent 2 renewal calls throughout the off-season. We call the customer 48 hours in advance to their initial service. This is far more than our competitors offer, most businesses in the green industry just show up without trying to contact the customer. The customer did not reply to any forms of contact. We operate the same way a mowing service or a gardener service would. Services continue from year to year unless we are told otherwise. This issue could have been avoided if the customer would have replied to any of our forms of contact with a cancellation. We did offer to split the bill with the customer & that offer still stands. We're extremely sorry for this misunderstanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I NEVER received a voice mail stating they were coming out to perform service all I ever got were missed calls during while I was at work with not a single voice mail left. Also I never received any mail from them and the paperwork I did sign last year did NOT say it was continual service...I purchased a stated number of services for that summer nothing more. As I have already paid another company for the same service and NEVER told Lawn Dr to come back out I do not expect to pay anything unless they can show me in writing where I agreed to continue service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/04/24) */ Although we conveyed services are continual through several forms of contact & did everything in our power to let the customer know this, we will take care of the outstanding balance. Lawn Doctor will require full pre-payment for any future services rendered at this property. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have a lawn mowing service and they had the courtesy to call and leave a message asking me to call and advise if I will be needing their services this coming year. I did not receive or sign a copy of this "continual service agreement". Also I NEVER received a single voice mail from your company!! As for mail, nothing I received said if I did not respond you would assume I wanted your service! Every piece of mail looked like a solicitation making me offers of prices if I wanted your service!!

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prepaid for 5 services. LD notified me that my zip is out of LD's service area and I will get a FULL refund. Got a partial check, short $60.56. Initially, all seemed going pretty well - sales person on the phone was very pleasant, price was decent, and I signup for a lawn care. Prepaid for 5 visits and got the first visit in few days. That's where all the niceness ended. I got a bill which was WRONG. Instead of charging a special fee for the first service ($29.99), I was charged the full price of $51.00. I brought LD attention to the mistake and was promised a refund for the difference. After two weeks of dealing with the company, haven't got the refund. Instead, I kept getting an explanation: "my GM is working on the refund" or "we already sent the check" - a week later I got apologies that the check hasn't been sent at that time but it was sent "yesterday" and I should be getting my refund. A day later I got a call from Lawn Doctor, stating that my zip code is out of service and I will be refunded FULL amount due to their sales person's mistake to take my business. Following the call, I contacted my rep that I was dealing via emails to confirm that I will not be receiving the service anymore and full refund is on its way. I got an apology and confirmation that check in full amount has been sent. BTW, the websites shows my area on the map as servicing area and my zip code is listed in their array of zip codes that the company serves. Yes, I did receive a check with refund... which was short about $60.00. Brought the General Manager's attention to the shortage and got bunch of explanations how he is sorry for the sales person's mistake and he "feel' that it would be only fair that Lawn Doctor gets paid for the service that they provided. Full price - no discount, no special deal, no going back to "quality guarantee" promise, or emails regarding the FULL amount refund. General Manager feels that LD needs to be paid for the service they provided - he blames sales person for taking my service and charging me and he is not sure why the other two employees promised a full refund. Initially, when I prepaid for the services, I was assured that if company didn't meet my expectations and the lawn doesn't look better after few treatments, I would be refunded my money. Well, my lawn doesn't look better, I am given bunch of run arounds.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $60.56 and apology for the stress they caused and delay that I have - I could have had another lawn company starting the treatment on my lawn instead of prolonging it for another month. Not blaming each other within the company, but accepting the fault as a company. Taking my zip code off their website since it's out of service area.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/01) */ Again, so sorry for the oversight that allowed us to take your business in the first place. As you now know we do not service your zip code 80249. We did not realize this until the service technician brought it to management's attention, unfortunately the 1st service was already done. We would have rather given you a full refund prior to any services being rendered. Going to your area and providing a singular service increased our cost drastically. We feel that we can only charge you full amount for the service, just as though you had only ordered one service. This matter has been addressed with the sales and administrative staff. We will do our best to make sure that this inconvenience does not happen to you or any other person in your area in the future. We hope that this didn't delay your lawn care for 2014, we did apply a custom blended fertilizer, broadleaf weed control and a mite spray. Additional services will not need to be rendered by another company until sometime in May. We are terribly sorry for this misunderstanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. Company's website http://www.lawndoctormetrodenver.com/ lists 80249 as their service area - both in the zip code listing and on the service area map. See images in the attachment. 2. 3/5th: On the phone, when I provided by Visa card info I was told that 1st service will be $29.99 and subsequent services $51.00. The bill shows I am charged $51.00 3. 3/5th email from ***** ******* "I apologize for the confusion. This is an error on our part, I will get it fixed. Your first service is $29.99 not $51." And another with "we are issuing a refund, you will receive a check in the mail next week." 4. 3/24th email from me to ****** "Got a call from Lawn Doctor today stating that I live out of service area and I will be refunded the full amount. Please confirm and let me know when the check is placed in the mail." FYI... no refund has been received at this point. 5. 3/25th email from ***** ******* "Yes, you should be receiving your full refund in the mail any day (the check was mailed on Friday). I think this is what held up the check in the first place. Our GM wanted to service you since you had already prepaid, but we had to get approval from our owner. Legally you are out of our service area, and we are unfortunately able to service you. I apologize about the confusion." 6. 3/28th: Check came in the amount of $193.80. I was charged $254.36. That is a difference of $60.56. 7. I am requesting Lawn Doctor to refund $60.56 as promised via phone and email. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/09) */ So sorry. We are not changing our stance with the situation. A one time service would be $51. This is the amount due for the service completed. We're sorry we took business out of our territory, it is our policy that the $29.99 first service is only valid with a full program. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was NEVER told I will be charged full amount for the service - not when I provided my credit card information, not when the first service was set, not when someone called and emailed me canceling the service. I agreed to pay $29.99 for the first service when I provided my credit card information over the phone, nothing else. Then, I was told I will get a FULL refund. Therefore Lawn Doctor owns me a full refund - you can't tell a customer one price, charge the credit card and then say oops, we'll change the amount and charge your card differently what we promised.

4/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had hired Lawn Doctor last year(2013) to treat my lawn. I paid them in full for their services for 2013. I never called them to renew my services for 2014. I came home the night of March 21, 2014, to find my front and back yard were aerated. I was confused because I never agreed to anyone coming onto my property to perform this service and I had no idea who would of came on my property without my permission. The next day, I found a invoice from lawn doctor for $49.50? I never renewed any contract or requested their services for the 2014 year. I email lawn doctor, and they said they called me several times, sent letters, and because I never responded, they just took it upon themselves to resume the services for the new year. I never agreed to any renewal of any service from them and advised them they were trespassing on my property and I was not going to be paying for the service that I never agreed to or authorized. The agent from lawn doctor responded saying since I never called to cancel the services for 2014, that they came onto my property and performed the aeration? How can I cancel services I never agreed to in the first place? I advised them that if any damage to my sprinkler system happened due to them performing the aeration on my property without my permission, that they will be responsible for the repairs. I refuse to pay for a service that I never agreed too and am upset they feel that they can trespass on my property whenever they seem fit to do so. The agent from lawn doctor responded there was nothing he could do. I refuse to pay for a service I did not agree to and lawn doctor seems to believe they can assume I wanted to continue services.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want the invoice removed from my account as I am not paying for a service that I did not authorize or request.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/26) */ Lawn Doctor does have a continual service agreement. We express this in 2 renewal letters. We also sent 2 renewal calls throughout the off-season. We also call the customer 48 hours in advance to their initial service. This is far more than our competitors offer, most businesses in the green industry just show up without trying to contact the customer. The customer did not reply to any forms of contact. We operate under the assumption that if we don't hear from the customer then they expect us to continue the same services as the previous year. We operate the same way a mowing service or a gardener service would. Services continue from year to year unless we are told otherwise. This issue could have been avoided if the customer would have replied to any of our forms of contact with a cancellation. We did offer to split the bill with the customer & that offer still stands. We're extremely sorry for this misunderstanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response from Lawn Doctor due to the fact I never requested or approved their services. They had no right trespassing on my property without my consent. What gives them the right to assume anything? What gives them the right to make a financial decision for me without my approval? If somebody does not reciprocate their efforts to contact them, in my opinion, reflects they do not want your services. They received no confirmation from me to assume I wanted their services. They had no right to trespass on my property based on their assumption. Trespassing is illegal! I am not paying for a service that they assumed I wanted. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/28) */ Although it is against our policy, we will write off the amount due on his account. This will prompt us to require a pre-payment for any future services and we will make note of this in our system. The service WAS requested in 2013 and services ARE continual, as stated in our paperwork. Regardless we will be sure to resolve the issue as requested. We apologize for the miscommunication. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) as long as the balance is removed, then I am satisfied.

3/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company provided service without my authorization, demands payment for the unauthorized service. Had Lawn Doctor Service last year, had no intention of using the service this year. Came home and found a bill for $55.00 for a lawn treatment. Called them, said I had not ok'd the service or renewed my service for this year. Lawn Doctor claims they attempted to contact me several times and had left an voice message Monday, I did not receive a voice mail nor have I visited with tem at any time leading up to the unauthorized Lawn treatment. I believe before any service was performed for me this year they have to contact me and receive my verbal or written permission to enter a new agreement for 2014 before any service is completed.

Desired Settlement: Just want the invoice cancelled for the unauthorized service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/20) */ Lawn Doctor does have a continual service agreement. We express this in 2 renewal letters. We also sent multiple e-mails and 2 renewal calls throughout the off-season. We also call the customer 48 hours in advance to their initial service. This is far more than our competitors offer, most businesses in the green industry just show up without trying to contact the customer. The customer did not reply to any forms of contact. We operate under the assumption that if we don't hear from the customer then they expect us to continue the same services as the previous year. We operate the same way a mowing service or a gardener service would. Services continue from year to year unless we are told otherwise. This issue could have been avoided if the customer would have replied to any of our forms of contact with a cancellation. We did offer to split the bill with the customer & that offer still stands. We're extremely sorry for this misunderstanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will accept splitting the bill, but for the record and something I would like to share with the company,I was never offered that when I called the company to complain, as I would have taken it. Furthermore, I have received no e-mails, as far as I know they do not have my e-mail. I did search my phone records, I did receive a call 48 hours before the service occurred, but there was no voice mail, just a caller Id number. Thanks much to BBB for helping me with this.

12/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have paid for all services rendered up to the point I cancelled the service due to it not working. They trying to bill again, sending it to collecti I am writing to you for help to see if I can get this issue resolved with Lawn Doctor of 5315 West Mississippi Ave, Lakewood, CO 80226. I have tried to contact them to get this resolved, but nothing happens except that they continue to send me an invoice. In early May 2013, I contacted Lawn Doctor to see if they could help me with the rings of dead grass at my house. I discussed the issue with someone who answers the phone and they said that the technician that came out would be able to recommend a treatment plan that would clear up the patches of dead grass rings. I met with the technician on May 22 and he said that he would apply a fertilizer treatment and that the rings would start to go away. He said he would come out between 4-6 weeks to reapply. He also mentioned that there was a satisfaction guarantee that if it was not looking like progress was happening after a week of treatment, they would come back out and spray. The first treatment was really slow to get the lawn to react and about a week after the application I asked if they would come out to reapply. They did shortly after I called. The technician came out some time about 4-5 weeks later to reapply. He did this one more time. Each time I paid my invoice within the month. In August, I was seeing some improvement to the green-ness and lack of weeds in the grass, but the dead rings of grass where not filling in and not improving that I could see. (To this day, I still have dead rings of grass.) I called them early on August 28th, 2013 to cancel any more applications. After that I received another invoice. I thought it was the fact that the payment and invoice crossed in the mail and disregarded the invoice. However about 2 weeks later, I received another invoice. I thought it was strange but figured something did not get posted. I know that I had paid for all services so I didn't think much of it. Finally, after the 3rd one, I called and left a message that I had paid for all services prior to August 28th and that I think it was a mistake. I did not hear back from them about this and thought the issue was fixed. A week later, I received a notice from a collection agency (albeit it was a confusing letter with 3 addresses and 4 phone numbers and I could not tell if it was legitimate). Instead of having my credit dinged, I decided to at least respond, just in case, but I did not send money. It is hard to tell what is real and what isn't. I sent a letter to this "collection agency" as well as the same letter to Lawn Doctor. I explained the situation and the fact that they had promised a satisfaction guarantee and yet, I still have the dead grass rings to this day. Again, about a week later, I got another notice to send in money from a collection agency. So, I have tried to write a letter and have called to get someone to take care of this matter and I cannot get this fixed. I have done my part of this and yet I still have to find a way to get the dead grass rings fixed since their solution did not work. Please, can you help me to get this resolved once and for all.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to remove their invoice/bill to me from collections and to be sure that it does not enter into my credit report in any way. I would like the fact that their service did not repair the problem of my lawn that I originally had them come out to fall under their "satisfaction guarantee" and to have this business relationship end I owing them nothing more than what I have already paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/27) */ Lawn Doctor of Denver has reviewed the account in question. Lawn Doctors service guarantee policy is, if for whatever reason the customer is not satisfied we will return and redo the service for no charge or credit the account for the most recent service. However it appears that our staff members did not honor this guarantee. As of December 27th 2013, the account in question has been credited in full and canceled. Lawn Doctor of Denver has issued a stop of collections efforts with ******** ****** ********* No further collections actions will be taken against ******* ******* XXXX XXth ** ******* CO by Lawn Doctor of Denver or ******** ****** ********* ******** ****** ******** is a Tier 1 collections agency, and therefor they do no credit reporting. Lawn Doctor of Denver is truly sorry for any inconvenience we caused. We appreciate your patience and willingness to bring this to our attention. Our service guarantee will be reviewed and enforced with our customer service team. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for resolving this matter. Please be sure to check the spelling of my last name is ******** when contacting the collection agency. Thank you. ******* ********

10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bad sales practice after first application. This is the first and last time I will ever use lawn doctor. After the first application they kept calling to get me to apply more of their products which I did not want at the time. They kept calling at least once or twice a week but I would not answer. one day they left a message they would be coming by but did not say they would be applying their product to my lawn without my permission. After they applied it they left a bill on my door. I called them back and asked for an explanation which they told me it was normal practice for all lawn care companies to do this. So I canceled their service immediately but was not happy paying the bill.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling as my number is on national do not call registry and do not apply products to my lawn without permission as it is trespassing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/25) */ Mr. **** signed up for a yearly continual service. We return each year unless requested otherwise. Each fall, winter and spring we send out a renewal letter explaining which services are scheduled for the next season. If the services are unwanted we expect the customer to let us know. Mr. **** did not respond to our letters. We also place 3 calls reflecting that services are continual. By the time we were out on the lawn in the spring we had contacted Mr. **** 5 times. 99% of our customers expect us to return yearly so we thought Mr. **** wanted service. Just like a gardener, mower or even cable service, we ask that customers let us know when they wish to cancel services. The national do not call registry allows us to contact previous customers for up to 18 months since a service was preformed on the property. We were sure to remove Mr.****s contact info from our database. We will no longer contact him regarding services. We certainly apologize for the mix-up.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lawn Doctor of Denver
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)