BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Colorado Lawn Specialists, Inc.

Phone: (303) 692-9000Fax: (303) 366-66475994 S. Holly St #125, Greenwood VillageCO 80111

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Colorado Lawn Specialists, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Colorado Lawn Specialists, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Colorado Lawn Specialists, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
02/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Business was contacted for providing service and billing when I had called and requested no more services.
Had believed a phone conversation with the office staff had concluded that all services would not be provided unless specificy arranged. Company forgot to write that down and provided services that I should not have to pay for. They have now sent me to collections and I believe they are bullying customers into paying for services they did not intend to receive.

Desired Settlement
Agree on the companies failure to update customer wishes and then redact any collections agency referral.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ******* signed an agreement on 11/6/11 for the 2012 season authorizing the aeration program, fertilization program and wetting agent program. The following is a detailed list of all correspondence for this account:

1. 04/26/2012 12:00 PM - JHG - RESOLVED:
************ *******, said he would authorize all 3 services for 4/29/12 if we do it for $100.
************** authorized price reduction***
2. 06/04/2012 10:36 AM - MTR - RESOLVED:
**** ******* authorized fertilization for 6/6/12 and ok'd us to notify him of scheduled services by email.
3. 07/20/2012 10:25 AM - MTR - RESOLVED:
Sent email re: aeration/fertilization/wetting agent for 7/24/12. Email was returned as undeliverable. I left a voice message re: aeration/fertilization/wetting agent for 7/24/12 and asked client to call the office to update his email address.

4. 08/30/2012 03:49 PM - MTR - RESOLVED:
Sent email re: aeration/fertilization for 9/4/12. Email was returned as undeliverable. I left a voice message re: aeration/fertilization for 9/4/12 and asked client to call the office to update his email address.

5. 09/04/2012 05:07 PM - MTR - RESOLVED:
Left voice message we only did fertilization today because it was too early for aeration since we did one on 8/30/12 -We will call back with a new schedule date for aeration a little later in the fall.

6. 09/04/2012 05:15 PM - JHG - RESOLVED:
Lawn has mites left info sheet on door.

7. 09/07/2012 06:11 PM - MTR - RESOLVED:
Client left voice message on 9/4 upset saying he thought he was clear last time we spoke that he wanted to give verbal authorization for each visit and said he didn't authorize today's work and he just fertilized his lawn the day before.

09/07/2012 I assured him it would not harm lawn, instructed him to water it in good and told him I will credit his account and set it up to require his verbal confirmation and let him know that in the past he only requested email notify which is what we did.

8. 10/11/2012 10:36 AM - MTR - RESOLVED:
Spoke with client and offered him fall services on 10/13 -he said he wants to be done for the year and canceled all remaining services.
As requested by client, all remaining services were canceled.

9. 12/13/2012 11:12 AM - JHG - NEW COLLECTION CALL:
Called client regarding balance on account. Mr. ******* said to call back because he is going into a meeting. He stated that he thought we were going to write off balance because services were not authorized. I pulled mailed him a copy of his agreement showing that he authorized the services along with a statement.

10. 12/14/2012 03:30 PM - JHG - TASK - WAITING ON CUSTOMER:
I left voice message letting client know that I understand that he has questions regarding the charges on his account. I let him know to call me back because his account is in process of being transferred to a collection service and then it is out of our hands to make any adjustments.

11. 2/4/13 Mr. ******* left a voice message that he received a collection letter "which is freakin' wonderful. Apparently you did more services after I requested that not to happen. I was under the impression that we were all squared away after talking with the woman in the office. At this point you and I need to come to terms on what I frickin' owe you and then I never want to hear from you again!"
Voice mail is saved.

12. 2/6/13: *********** Left voice message for **** ******* -returning his call regarding his account.
13. Client did not return my call and account was sent to collections on 2/15/13.

Consumer's Final Response
We have come to an agreement that is satisfactory to both the consumer and the business. I would consider this issue closed/redacted.


Thank you for the update regarding the resolution to your complaint. Per BBB policy, all accredited business must respond to complaints per BBB accreditation standards. Upon receipt of the business response, I will forward a copy to you and close as resolved.


05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues
02/25/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/19/2006Business started: 01/31/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 2000, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Grober (President/Owner)Mrs. Sandy McClaury (Secretary)
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance

Products & Services

This company offers lawn aeration, specialized fertilization programs, commercial grade products to aid in water maximization, insecticides and fungicides.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Colorado Lawn Specialists, Inc.

5994 S. Holly St #125

Greenwood Village, CO 80111

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5994 S. Holly St #125 

    Greenwood Village, CO 80111Fax: (303) 366-6647

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Colorado Lawn Specialists, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.