This business is not BBB accredited.

Tree Busters Tree Service

Phone: (720) 987-2450 1305 Otis St, Lakewood, CO 80214 http://www.denvertreebusters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tree Busters Tree Service include:

  • Failure to respond to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tree Busters Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2013 Business started: 12/01/2011 Business started locally: 12/01/2011 Business incorporated 12/01/2011 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Nathan Evans, Co-Owner Mr. Phill Brizendine, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nathan Evans, Co-Owner
Business Category

Lawn & Tree Care


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tree Busters Tree Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1305 Otis St

    Lakewood, CO 80214 (720) 987-2450

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** quoted $ amount for service did not complete service, quoted $ amount for another service partially did service then upped the $"s to complete I hired ****** to REMOVE two pines and plant two that I had bought, he removed the two planted only one, quoted $90 I paid him $100, Quoted $65 to REMOVE two plums and $150 to trim the neighbors trees that where hanging over my drive, gave a discount to prepay we payed him the $65 and prepaid the $30, he CUT down the two plums and left saying "the roots were tough and he had to come back. We tried to get ahold of him over and over finally after texting only did he reply and said that to remove the roots were going to be $70. I said that he did not quote that he said it would still be $70.. We have over paid him $40 and still he has not completed what he promised...should have read the reviews he is a ripoff artist

Desired Settlement: Would like this so called business on record so others can do their do diligence and not use this Company

9/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took $500.00 for a deposit. Did not show up to do work on either scheduled day. Address is bogus. On August 12th 2014 ****** ***** came out to the property to give an estimate for some major tree work. Agreed to start on August 16th 2014 at 900 am. They never showed up and they did not return phone calls. On Monday August 18th they called stating they were in an accident but would come out to get the stump grinding done and then trim the trees on August 23rd 2014. On August 19th 2014 they request a $500.00 deposit. A check was written to ****** *****. It was cashed on August 20th 2014. On August 23 they did not show again and no phone calls returned. We went to the business address and was told he no longer lives there. The address on all of his paperwork is wrong and the ad he has states he is accredited with the BBB which is also a lie. We either want the work done or our money back.

Desired Settlement: We want our $500.00 back

8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was given a written proposal for work to be performed, verbally comunicated worked to be done, and delivered something completley diffirent. I received a proposal from this company on 7-7-14 to provide a first class trim and removal of small limb on my 40 foot cottonwood tree for the sum of $250.00 dollars. ON 7-14 I contacted ****** ***** Owner/Operator to inform him that I would like to proceed with the work and to schedule it. During this call it was explained to me that the scope of work was for a first class trim, top to bottom and complete cleanup of debris, and that the work would be performed by a licensed arborist. I was then informed that they could be here on Tuesday 7-15 to perform the service between 1 and 2pm. They did not show up on the date agreed with no follow up phone call. Without notice they showed at approximately 10:30am on 7-16 at my neighbors home behind me as she to was having them do some work for her. They began work on my neighbor's yard, and at 11:49am I received a call from my neighbor that they were just getting started on my tree. At approximately 12:22pm he had climbed out of my tree and tossed a couple of very small branches and limbs over the fence into my neighbors yard , I had been periodically looking out the window and then they were back working in the neighbors yard. I continued to monitor their activities all the while thinking that they would return to complete the work on my tree based on their proposal. At approximately 2:00 pm they came over and knocked on my door asking for payment and before doing so I went with them to the back yard to survey their work on my tree, and nothing more had been done since they left my yard at 12:22pm. I asked them then why they went no further up into the tree than the lower 15 feet and was told by the person doing the work that he could not trim the upper 25 feet that it would harm the tree, that it would affect the photosynthesis and that it would cause too much harm to the tree. I tried to explain to him at that time that is not what was discussed with ******, nor what was on the proposal. He maintained that he could not do that and demanded payment. As they were a day late, my wife had returned the check book to her purse so I told them that they would have to wait to get a check, he said he would be back the next day. Before paying I wanted to address my concerns because the work performed was not what was written nor verbally communicated. We met at the tree and I politely asked if they would let me speak without interruptions to voice my concerns, and when I was finished I would listen to them. I was continually interrupted never allowing me the chance to convey my dissatisfaction. I did however get them to admit that they were only in my tree for approximately 25 minutes and that maybe it took them that long to clean up the debris. During the entire conversation they kept demanding that they did me an awesome job the proposal was for $250 and kept demanding full payment immediately. I maintained that what was done was not what they proposed, the scope of work, and the proposal had changed, they told me that they did not care they charge a minimum of $250 per hour period, this to was never disclosed nor anywhere in writing. I believe it was their way of saying they were not leaving without full payment, my words fell on deaf ears and I realized this was going no where. To defuse the situation I agreed to pay they and that I would go another route being this action. I informed that they would have to wait 2 hours until my wife came home from work with the checkbook or that I had $200 in cash which we keep for emergencies. I told them they can take what cash I have and leave now or that I would call the police and let them sort it out, they chose the cash option. I got a receipt and I have before/after photos as well as some video to substantiate my claim. I do not take this matter lightly I am 52 years old and have never in my life had to go to such measures. Personally I think they grossly underbid my neighbors work and I my job was to fill the difference.

Desired Settlement: Just as they told me time is money, then my time is valuable as well. I tried to give them the benefit of coming to some amicable resolution to this I was not seeking a way to not pay them for what little work they did rather they do what was written in the proposal or that they change the price because this was not what was agreed. Due to their hostility, and inability to listen they will not be allowed back on my property. They performed one 1/4 of the work initially proposed and at the time I would of gladly paid them for that or to have them complete the work, they would not even give me the chance. At one point I even thought I would pay them half of the proposal which was more than what was done just to make them go away and I would take no further action. As it stands I am out $200 and have had to go to these lengths to resolve this issue and demand a full refund because now I have to go back to the drawing board so to speak and find someone to come pick up where they left off. As they stated time is money and they charge $250 per hour, my time is valuable time spent on this complaint, finding another contractor, the time wasted trying to work with them to resolve, etc. I think a full refund is in order. I would like to reiterate that I have never had to go to these lengths to resolve an issue. As written on their proposal form, verbatim "We are committed to providing quality work for quality prices and we always guarantee 100% satisfaction" I will not be 100% satisfied unless I get a full refund and they never approach me again. I would like for them to stand behind their commitment

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pre-paid for the removal of 7 stumps, but only had them remove 1 with the understanding that I would receive a refund for the remaining 6. I had several trees removed by Tree Busters. The base of the trees were so dense, that they had to be stump ground down to grade. I was told that this normally costs $50/stump but they would do all 7 stumps for $331 if I prepaid. I agreed and provided full payment with the understanding they would be back in 1 week. In the meantime, I discovered that I could remove all but one of the stumps myself. When Tree Busters returned, they ground the 1 stump and told me I would receive refund within 2-3 weeks. Its now been 3 months and I have not received a refund. I have left 5-6 messages on their machine and no one calls me back.

Desired Settlement: Based on the pre-paid price per stump that Tree Busters quoted ($47.28/ea), they owe me a refund of $283.71.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/12/09) */ In response to the within complaint filed by **** ********, we are responding accordingly. Mr. ******** prepaid and requested us to remove seven (7) stumps. He prepaid an amount of $331.00, that amount included coupon reduction for a bundle package. When our company arrived to perform the work, we brought with us two full crews to remove all requested stumps. The customer was not there when we arrived and he had someone tell us we were only to remove one (1) stump, which was the largest in the most remote spot. To resolve this matter we are prepared to refund Mr. ******** $128.33, which amount is the price for one stump removal, with no coupon reduction, a 7% fuel charge and labor. We believe strongly that this ia a fair and equitable refund amount and we sinerely hope that this concludes this matter. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called your office to let you know I only needed one stump removed several times. No one ever answered, so I left a message on your answering machine explaining the situation. You did not show up for the appointment we had scheduled to remove the stumps, so I was not present when you arrived. I was able to get my father-in-law to go to my house to explain the situation to you on the short notice you provided. The fact the you brought too large of a crew is fully your own fault. You should have checked your messages. You have sat on my refund money for over 4 months now. I will accept nothing less than a $250 refund. $81 is a generous price for the removal of one stump. Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2014/02/05) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond. We take pride in our work and our word. Tree Busters stands on its response that we availed the client two full crews, gas mileage and materials to perform the work he originally requested. We showed up on the scheduled occasions and performed the work he requested. We attempted to refund a portion of his money but he changed his story mid-complaint and would not work with us on that premise. I feel that we offered a genuine good faith offer based on the work we performed. It is difficult to defend a situation as this because this client insists on receiving a refund for work performed - and performed well. Again, it is our sincere hope that our clients are happy with our work and we will continue to offer the best service possible. Consumer Response /* (3000, 35, 2014/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not proposed a resolution. They claim that I changed my story, but I only provided additional detail. Does this mean they are providing no refund? Business Response /* (4000, 42, 2014/03/25) */ As stated before, we are prepared to refund monies to the client, along with an itemized statement containing the work performed, as well as the amount for the refund. Again, the coupon was negated at the point the client requested we do less work than originally planned. This refund will be made in the next seven days. Again, it is unfortunate that this situation occurred and we stand on our merit of work completed and requested. Please let us know if you wish us to explain further or if there is something additional we can provide. Consumer Response /* (2000, 44, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I don't really feel this is a fair settlement, but I'm left no other course of action. Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2014/02/05) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond. We take pride in our work and our word. Tree Busters stands on its response that we availed the client two full crews, gas mileage and materials to perform the work he originally requested. We showed up on the scheduled occasions and performed the work he requested. We attempted to refund a portion of his money but he changed his story mid-complaint and would not work with us on that premise. I feel that we offered a genuine good faith offer based on the work we performed. It is difficult to defend a situation as this because this client insists on receiving a refund for work performed - and performed well. Again, it is our sincere hope that our clients are happy with our work and we will continue to offer the best service possible. Consumer Response /* (3000, 35, 2014/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not proposed a resolution. They claim that I changed my story, but I only provided additional detail. Does this mean they are providing no refund? Business Response /* (4000, 42, 2014/03/25) */ As stated before, we are prepared to refund monies to the client, along with an itemized statement containing the work performed, as well as the amount for the refund. Again, the coupon was negated at the point the client requested we do less work than originally planned. This refund will be made in the next seven days. Again, it is unfortunate that this situation occurred and we stand on our merit of work completed and requested. Please let us know if you wish us to explain further or if there is something additional we can provide. Consumer Response /* (2000, 44, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I don't really feel this is a fair settlement, but I'm left no other course of action. Consumer Response /* (3000, 52, 2014/04/29) */ Its been over a month and no refund has been issued by Tree Busters. Business Response /* (4000, 54, 2014/05/03) */ Customer was sent a refund and we thought this matter had been resolved. Consumer Response /* (4200, 56, 2014/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When was the refund check sent? Nothing received to date. Business Response /* (4000, 58, 2014/05/07) */ I will have my accountant look into the refund. We do have mail get lost from time to time in the mail, if the check was not cashed then we will send you another one certified so we are assured this matter gets resolved. We will cancel the first check and when you get the first one please shred it and we will get you a new one in the mail again certified so there is no problems and we can get this matter resolved. Thanks and I apologize that this has not been concluded have a great day Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2014/02/05) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond. We take pride in our work and our word. Tree Busters stands on its response that we availed the client two full crews, gas mileage and materials to perform the work he originally requested. We showed up on the scheduled occasions and performed the work he requested. We attempted to refund a portion of his money but he changed his story mid-complaint and would not work with us on that premise. I feel that we offered a genuine good faith offer based on the work we performed. It is difficult to defend a situation as this because this client insists on receiving a refund for work performed - and performed well. Again, it is our sincere hope that our clients are happy with our work and we will continue to offer the best service possible. Consumer Response /* (3000, 35, 2014/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not proposed a resolution. They claim that I changed my story, but I only provided additional detail. Does this mean they are providing no refund? Business Response /* (4000, 42, 2014/03/25) */ As stated before, we are prepared to refund monies to the client, along with an itemized statement containing the work performed, as well as the amount for the refund. Again, the coupon was negated at the point the client requested we do less work than originally planned. This refund will be made in the next seven days. Again, it is unfortunate that this situation occurred and we stand on our merit of work completed and requested. Please let us know if you wish us to explain further or if there is something additional we can provide. Consumer Response /* (2000, 44, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I don't really feel this is a fair settlement, but I'm left no other course of action. Consumer Response /* (3000, 52, 2014/04/29) */ Its been over a month and no refund has been issued by Tree Busters. Business Response /* (4000, 54, 2014/05/03) */ Customer was sent a refund and we thought this matter had been resolved. Consumer Response /* (4200, 56, 2014/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When was the refund check sent? Nothing received to date. Business Response /* (4000, 58, 2014/05/07) */ I will have my accountant look into the refund. We do have mail get lost from time to time in the mail, if the check was not cashed then we will send you another one certified so we are assured this matter gets resolved. We will cancel the first check and when you get the first one please shred it and we will get you a new one in the mail again certified so there is no problems and we can get this matter resolved. Thanks and I apologize that this has not been concluded have a great day Consumer Response /* (3000, 65, 2014/06/05) */ It has been a month and I still have not received the refund check. Please send a certified check. Consumer Response /* (-5, 70, 2014/07/14) */ Its been 11 months and I still have not received a refund. This is ridiculous. Please send a check by certified mail ASAP.

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tree Busters Tree Service damaged my property and tried to hide the damage. Then then said they would give me a 250 gift card but never delivered it. Tree Busters Tree Service cut down 2 of our cotton wood trees and damaged our property in the process. They dropped at least three segments of the tree on my house and property. We found that the falling debris damaged the railing of our porch, poked a hole through one of our lawn chairs, and smashed my new grill. We had to throw the chair out. They also stood on our outdoor shelf and knocked it over. They left it laying on its side with muddy footprints on it. The worst part was that they tried to hide the damage. They stacked a chair on the damaged one to hide it. So we know they were aware of the damage. I then proceeded to go back on forth over about 6 months with the owner trying to get the grill replaced. He agreed to give me a 250 dollar gift card for the grill but then never provided me with this and now ignores my emails. This company is very unprofessional and unsafe. I would never use them again and would never refer them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: The owner agreed to provide me with a gift card for 250 dollars to cover the grill. I didnt ask for anything for the chair that was destroyed or the deck railing that was damaged.

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Cottonwood was removed by Tree Busters last Fall, but the roots removal and stump grinding was never done. Multiple calls have not been returned. We had a large Cottonwood tree removed from our yard last September 27, 2013 for $800.00 (ck. # ***** and then $250 (ck.# ***** on October 2, 2013 for stump grinding and root removal, but the job has still not been completed. The roots removal and the stump grinding need to be completed. We have called multiple times and none of the calls have been returned. We paid by two checks, which have been cashed, the full amount. We would like to settle this so that we can sod the area. We would like a return call. We dealt with the owner ****** *****.

Desired Settlement: Complete the work in a timely fashion so that we can sod the area. At least give us the courtesy of a return call explaining why the incomplete work and no return calls.

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to return phone calls after quote was submitted and customer requested the 25% off tree service with coupon. Not backing advertisement. On April 17, 2014, ****** and a co-worker provided a quote in the amount of $1,550 to cut down a cottonwood tree, trim another cottonwood tree and haul off all the brush. I called back to schedule the work and suggested that I had a coupon which advertised 25% off all tree service. ****** stated that he did not think that he could honor the 25% discount and that $1,550 was the asking price for the work. I attempted to contact ****** approximately 2-3 times a day requesting a call back to confim the work. I left a voicemail with every call requesting that they notify me ASAP so that arrangements could be made to complete the job. Now I feel that the company is intentionally avoiding my phone calls because they do no want to perform the work for the quote they provided (with the 25% off tree service coupon).

Desired Settlement: I want Tree Busters to support the quote that they provided along with the coupon (25% off all tree service) which they advertised in a local mailer. The original quote was $1,550 and with the 25% off coupon, it brings the total price of the tree service to $1,162.50.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ After going out to give the customer a bid we were aware that the customer had got at least 10 bids. That was an automatic red flag for us as customers generally do not get that many bids. We bid his two trees at our rock bottom price to be as competitive as possible. We bid his trees lower then any other price he had gotten to get the work done, this job would generally be about 2500-3000 normally so at 1550 we were at the very bottom mark for us to get the job done and we made it clear to him that that would be our bottom dollar. The coupon that the customer has is a coupon for 25 percent off of any other licensed competitor not 25% off of our price. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We had approximately 10 quotes provided because we wanted to get an average on the work to be completed. The coupon stated "25% off all tree service" with no exceptions listed. Without the 25% discount, numerous businesses were in the same price range as tree busters. In fact, we decided to go with another company that was only $15 more than Tree Busters. In summary, Tree Busters is putting out coupons that they are not willing to accept. This is false advertising and should not be allowed! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/03) */ We stated to the customer that the price we gave him was the lowest price we could give. Once again the coupon is 25% off any other tree service, ******* was informed of this. We tried to be as competitive as possible and ******* was aware of this, we told him that we could not do the job any lower then the 1550. The customer informed us of the other bids he got and we came in lower then any other tree service. Our coupon is for 25% off any other licensed tree service as we informed him and as we came in lower then any of his other bids we were not able to apply the coupon. We can not apply a coupon for 25% off any other tree Service if we were the lowest bid he got. This coupon is to be used if a customer gets a bid that higher then ours then we apply the 25% off, but again the coupon is not to be applied off of our bid


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tree Busters Tree Service
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart